Back to iZip page
iZip free download for Mac

iZip Reviews3.6

25 October 2019

Zip, unzip, encrypt, and share files.

1
cmykzink
28 April 2019
Version: 3.5

Most helpful

Crap....my firewall stopped the download with a malware warning. Requires sign in...more crap.
(1)

How would you rate iZip app?

Read 21 iZip User Reviews

5
bsmit
30 October 2019
Version: 3.6
Works perfectly on macOS Catalina. And it's free, thanks izip devs!
(0)
5
chofutaro8
27 October 2019
Version: 3.6
Integrates with Finder. Archives appear as removable disks. Genius! @cmyzxqkzink, no malware and it does not 'require sign in'.
(1)
1
cmykzink
28 April 2019
Version: 3.5
Crap....my firewall stopped the download with a malware warning. Requires sign in...more crap.
(1)
Volcanus
18 December 2017
Version: 3.3
Contains also iBoostUp.app, a potentially unwanted software!
(2)
Show comments (2)
Jimw
11 April 2017
Version: 3.0
Just finished testing it with on text file. It has a number of nice features but also an issue. I tested it by doing a simple, no frills or options compression of a simple log (text) file. No issues compressing with iZip but unfortunately the default MOS tool (Archive Utility) could not expand it, but instead generated an error. I had to use iZip or UnArchiver to expand it. This could be an issue when you are sharing zipped files with someone does not have such a 3rd party option, but is just using the MOS default option for expansion.

Another possible issue: Right now the utility is free and no plans are indicated for that to change. But should it transform into a fee based app, you might somewhere down the road have to effectively pay a ransom to uncompress your files, especially if you utilize some of the advanced optional features such as password protection and advanced compression.
(1)
3
LionessSue
23 November 2015
Version: 2.3
Needs an update for El Capitan!
(0)
4
LionessSue
23 November 2015
Version: 2.3
This one is better than winzip and free
(0)
Muescha
24 October 2012
Version: 2.0
- hidden bugs while extracting archives. apps and files are corrupt but still working until some point. it takes me hours to point this out :-( i always thinking some apps are with errors, but the errors coming from izip. (this apps not working if i unzip it with izip ShortCataApp, GitHub Mac App, RapidWeaver) - NO answer from izip to my 3 bugreports to the support email CONCLUSION: do not use this program because of the hidden bugs!
(3)
0.5
Muescha
24 October 2012
Version: 2.0
PRO: - nice, because i like that are the archives are visible as drives. (why? i dont like the default unarchive from OSX which spit out all files in the current directory - usualiy my download folder) CONS: - hidden bugs while extracting archives. apps and files are corrupt but still working until some point. it takes me hours to point this out :-( i always thinking some apps are with errors, but the errors coming from izip. (this apps not working if i unzip it with izip ShortCataApp, GitHub Mac App, RapidWeaver) - NO answer from izip to my 3 bugreports to the support email CONCLUSION: do not use this program because of the bugs! PS: i still search a similar app where i can mount my archives as drives
(3)
1
OsloX
27 September 2012
Version: 1.9
Keka supports more compression formats, does it with style, is free too, .. Do we really need another (un)compression tool? Nope
(4)
1
fforward
13 June 2012
Version: 1.2
Avoid this program like the plague! There are plenty of good, free applications which can open zip files. This one crashes constantly (I'm running it on a brand new macbook pro which never crashes with anything else) and is totally unreliable. Additionally, the way that it converts all zip files into a "drive" on your desktop is really inconvenient. I've been using it for about a month, and after this final crash, I've decided to remove the program and switch to something that actually works!
(3)
0.5
Penguirl
11 June 2012
Version: 1.2
Tried to open a password protected RAR file, iZip needed to connect to GoogleCode for MacFuse and then crashed. Subsequent re-launches resulted in an immediate crash, had to delete.
(3)
Peterpan23
17 October 2011
Version: 1.2
Does not properly install on 10.7.2
(0)
Trance
17 August 2011
Version: 1.2
Since i saw no mention of a solution to this behavior i mentioned before :"stores log file in the prefs file and no way to disable ", i thought i would just try it to see if anything has been changed but it wants to install "a component" before it can run ......it doesn't tell you what component, which makes it sound suspicious, so i checked the package and assume that the mysterious 'component' it wants to install is 'MacFuse' .....which i already have installed the latest version ...so why would i want it installed again? ....and why does the app not see that it is already installed? Too much strange behaviour with this app for me. I'll pass thanks.
(1)
0.5
ronoho
17 August 2011
Version: 1.2
After starting iZip it states that some missing sofware needs to be installed, but never will. Hence the half-star-rating, since I could not test the product ...
(1)
Trance
03 July 2011
Version: 1.1.5
just noticed, stores log file in the prefs file and no way to disable .....bad
(1)
Trance
03 May 2011
Version: 1.1.3
am i missing something because it says i don't have sufficient permissions to delete items from archives, when i can delete them fine with any other app
(0)
Show comments (2)
Robk
02 May 2011
Version: 1.1.3
iZip is one ofthe VERY few Mac programs that support .ZIPX files. (The Unarchiver does NOT support ZIPX). So if you have ZIPX files, you will want to try this free program.
(2)
5
marosko
30 April 2011
Version: 1.1
Great product, love the opening of archives like a disk rather than decompressing the whole thing to access a few files.
(1)
5
WillemDeJong
19 April 2011
Version: 1.1
Super easy to use. Already great but rating it a 5 on potential. Just needs to support some more formats and a conversion tool would be nice.
(1)
5
Pukky
22 March 2011
Version: 1.0
Wow! Amazing: I was waiting for a thing like this: opening files without expand them! And is free... Obviously, it's not perfect (not so configurable), but I think that in a few versions this thing will work very good for any user.
(3)
Show comments (2)