Back to iZip page
iZip free download for Mac

iZip Reviews3.9

25 September 2020

Zip, unzip, encrypt, and share files.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
vallee-blanche
vallee-blanche
Dec 17 2020
3.9
5.0
Dec 17 2020
5.0
Version: 3.9
Go to app for opening archives. Handles everything I throw at it and loading as a virtual drive is a nice bonus.
dupap56
dupap56
Dec 7 2020
3.9
5.0
Dec 7 2020
5.0
Version: 3.9
Very very handy. Zip files show up in Finder like a removable USB stick and all files operations update the zip.
davebnly
davebnly
Aug 28 2020
3.7
2.0
Aug 28 2020
2.0
Version: 3.7
Awful app, try to do anything with it and it just freezes up my whole system.
bsmit
bsmit
Oct 30 2019
3.6
5.0
Oct 30 2019
5.0
Version: 3.6
Works perfectly on macOS Catalina. And it's free, thanks izip devs!
chofutaro8
chofutaro8
Oct 27 2019
3.6
5.0
Oct 27 2019
5.0
Version: 3.6
Integrates with Finder. Archives appear as removable disks. Genius! @cmyzxqkzink, no malware and it does not 'require sign in'.
cmykzink
cmykzink
Apr 28 2019
3.5
1.0
Apr 28 2019
1.0
Version: 3.5
Crap....my firewall stopped the download with a malware warning. Requires sign in...more crap.
Volcanus
Volcanus
Dec 18 2017
3.3
0.0
Dec 18 2017
0.0
Version: 3.3
Contains also iBoostUp.app, a potentially unwanted software!
James
James
Apr 11 2017
3.0
0.0
Apr 11 2017
0.0
Version: 3.0
Just finished testing it with on text file. It has a number of nice features but also an issue. I tested it by doing a simple, no frills or options compression of a simple log (text) file. No issues compressing with iZip but unfortunately the default MOS tool (Archive Utility) could not expand it, but instead generated an error. I had to use iZip or UnArchiver to expand it. This could be an issue when you are sharing zipped files with someone does not have such a 3rd party option, but is just using the MOS default option for expansion.

Another possible issue: Right now the utility is free and no plans are indicated for that to change. But should it transform into a fee based app, you might somewhere down the road have to effectively pay a ransom to uncompress your files, especially if you utilize some of the advanced optional features such as password protection and advanced compression.
LionessSue
LionessSue
Nov 23 2015
2.3
4.0
Nov 23 2015
4.0
Version: 2.3
Needs an update for El Capitan!
LionessSue
LionessSue
Nov 23 2015
2.3
4.0
Nov 23 2015
4.0
Version: 2.3
This one is better than winzip and free
Muescha
Muescha
Oct 24 2012
2.0
0.5
Oct 24 2012
0.5
Version: 2.0
- hidden bugs while extracting archives. apps and files are corrupt but still working until some point. it takes me hours to point this out :-( i always thinking some apps are with errors, but the errors coming from izip. (this apps not working if i unzip it with izip ShortCataApp, GitHub Mac App, RapidWeaver) - NO answer from izip to my 3 bugreports to the support email CONCLUSION: do not use this program because of the hidden bugs!
Muescha
Muescha
Oct 24 2012
2.0
0.5
Oct 24 2012
0.5
Version: 2.0
PRO: - nice, because i like that are the archives are visible as drives. (why? i dont like the default unarchive from OSX which spit out all files in the current directory - usualiy my download folder) CONS: - hidden bugs while extracting archives. apps and files are corrupt but still working until some point. it takes me hours to point this out :-( i always thinking some apps are with errors, but the errors coming from izip. (this apps not working if i unzip it with izip ShortCataApp, GitHub Mac App, RapidWeaver) - NO answer from izip to my 3 bugreports to the support email CONCLUSION: do not use this program because of the bugs! PS: i still search a similar app where i can mount my archives as drives
OsloX
OsloX
Sep 27 2012
1.9
1.0
Sep 27 2012
1.0
Version: 1.9
Keka supports more compression formats, does it with style, is free too, .. Do we really need another (un)compression tool? Nope
fforward
fforward
Jun 13 2012
1.2
1.0
Jun 13 2012
1.0
Version: 1.2
Avoid this program like the plague! There are plenty of good, free applications which can open zip files. This one crashes constantly (I'm running it on a brand new macbook pro which never crashes with anything else) and is totally unreliable. Additionally, the way that it converts all zip files into a "drive" on your desktop is really inconvenient. I've been using it for about a month, and after this final crash, I've decided to remove the program and switch to something that actually works!
Penguirl
Penguirl
Jun 11 2012
1.2
0.5
Jun 11 2012
0.5
Version: 1.2
Tried to open a password protected RAR file, iZip needed to connect to GoogleCode for MacFuse and then crashed. Subsequent re-launches resulted in an immediate crash, had to delete.
Peterpan23
Peterpan23
Oct 17 2011
1.2
0.0
Oct 17 2011
0.0
Version: 1.2
Does not properly install on 10.7.2
Trance
Trance
Aug 17 2011
1.2
0.0
Aug 17 2011
0.0
Version: 1.2
Since i saw no mention of a solution to this behavior i mentioned before :"stores log file in the prefs file and no way to disable ", i thought i would just try it to see if anything has been changed but it wants to install "a component" before it can run ......it doesn't tell you what component, which makes it sound suspicious, so i checked the package and assume that the mysterious 'component' it wants to install is 'MacFuse' .....which i already have installed the latest version ...so why would i want it installed again? ....and why does the app not see that it is already installed? Too much strange behaviour with this app for me. I'll pass thanks.
ronoho
ronoho
Aug 17 2011
1.2
0.5
Aug 17 2011
0.5
Version: 1.2
After starting iZip it states that some missing sofware needs to be installed, but never will. Hence the half-star-rating, since I could not test the product ...
Trance
Trance
Jul 3 2011
1.1.5
0.0
Jul 3 2011
0.0
Version: 1.1.5
just noticed, stores log file in the prefs file and no way to disable .....bad
Trance
Trance
May 3 2011
1.1.3
0.0
May 3 2011
0.0
Version: 1.1.3
am i missing something because it says i don't have sufficient permissions to delete items from archives, when i can delete them fine with any other app
Robk
Robk
May 2 2011
1.1.3
0.0
May 2 2011
0.0
Version: 1.1.3
iZip is one ofthe VERY few Mac programs that support .ZIPX files. (The Unarchiver does NOT support ZIPX). So if you have ZIPX files, you will want to try this free program.
marosko
marosko
Apr 30 2011
1.1
5.0
Apr 30 2011
5.0
Version: 1.1
Great product, love the opening of archives like a disk rather than decompressing the whole thing to access a few files.
WillemDeJong
WillemDeJong
Apr 19 2011
1.1
5.0
Apr 19 2011
5.0
Version: 1.1
Super easy to use. Already great but rating it a 5 on potential. Just needs to support some more formats and a conversion tool would be nice.
Pukky
Pukky
Mar 22 2011
1.0
5.0
Mar 22 2011
5.0
Version: 1.0
Wow! Amazing: I was waiting for a thing like this: opening files without expand them! And is free... Obviously, it's not perfect (not so configurable), but I think that in a few versions this thing will work very good for any user.