Back to CopyLess page
CopyLess free download for Mac

CopyLess Reviews

2.13.1
08 November 2019

Store and access up to 100 clipboard items.

Maclover1-1
14 January 2019

Most helpful

Clipboard Center (updated 2 years ago on AppStore and much older version on here..) is similar but much more advanced and still works perfectly.. Just sad it does not seem to be maintained. I tried the new Pro version of Copyless... maybe the dev could study Clipboard Center and "Copy More" so as to be as good.
PS: I hate Paste btw. Trying too hard to be clever and ends up being not so practical.
Like (2)
Version 2.11.3

Read 27 CopyLess User Reviews

Rate this app:

Maclover1-1
14 January 2019
Clipboard Center (updated 2 years ago on AppStore and much older version on here..) is similar but much more advanced and still works perfectly.. Just sad it does not seem to be maintained. I tried the new Pro version of Copyless... maybe the dev could study Clipboard Center and "Copy More" so as to be as good.
PS: I hate Paste btw. Trying too hard to be clever and ends up being not so practical.
Like (2)
Version 2.11.3
roro01
11 August 2017
The free version has a significant drawback as it allows only five favourite items - I expected at least 30 - so you will have to upgrade, paying $6.99.
Like
Version 2.8.1
roro01
10 August 2017
To developer: 1. Clicking on the menubar icon should bring up the window. The other application's menu items should be under an icon on the window thus, it will take two steps to paste an item. 2. After marking an item as favourite it should not stay in the 'All' column. Many thanks
Like
Version 2.8.1
1 answer(s)
Cookie08
Cookie08
03 October 2017
Just set the option in the preferences left click opens window not preferences.
Like (1)
June8
19 February 2017
I have been using since 3 years, never had any problem. v2 has powerful options and better UI.
Like
Version 2.3.0
Fariborz
11 February 2017
I bought “CopyLess” on App Store a few days ago. If this doesn’t put you off (I know there’s always someone to pick up a bone on this) then please read on! I like CopyLess especially for a very powerful feature that helps me out with my tedious work of copying and pasting several items in a row. It’s called “Serial Copy&Paste” and consists of copying tens of let’s say ‘song titles’ all at once and then paste them orderly and individually to the desired destination. Imagine the time one saves when accomplishing this function hundreds of time a day. I call it a "machine gun" for fun but it actually feels like a real one compared to a tiny pistol that shoots only one shot at a time! Therefore no mousing around any more for transferring hundreds of fields from one archive to another in a hefty database! Add to this the possibility of converting the rich text into simple text at the click of a mouse and assigning a shortcut to the recent ten items and you’ll get a better picture why it’s a unique program in the crowded market of similar applications. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like (2)
Version 2.2.0
Jimw
07 February 2017
In the interest of helping prospective users to make an informed decision these features are not free but cost $7. From Apple Store:

Some features are not available in a free version:
- Max clipboard history capacity and unlimited amount of favorites
- Syncing [I believe this refers to iCloud - ed]

These features can be unlocked by making a one-time payment for $6.99.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.0
donikatz
25 May 2016
My favorite OS X clipboard app. Simple, unobtrusive in compact mode, no bloated bells and whistles. I used to use PTH Pasteboard and ClipMenu (and a couple of others), but switched when each became unsupported and I had some problems. Try the free CopyLess Lite first to see if you like it. -.5 stars because of the 100-pasteboard max. Would be nice if we could save virtually infinite, like with Ditto for Windows.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.9
crisderaud
24 February 2016
I use this app continuously throughout each day. Easy to access and use.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.8
Jokyo
07 January 2016
I like this. It works well and really helps with productivity. There is one gripe however, regarding visibility. I wish we could choose the font size in the clip viewer, it is very small and difficult to see. I could work faster if I could read less of the clip with bigger text. One other thing that would improve visibility would be the ability to choose black on a white background.

This is really a form over function that many developers are adopting. In an attempt to mimic Apple's Pro apps. That's okay, but I feel it would be so easy to give users the choice in preferences.

Pixelmator has chosen this way too. So I have to adjust my screen brightness and resolution before using it. The result is, I don't use it so much.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.6
Tachy0n
27 May 2015
The host site http://www.maxbor.net/portfolio/copyless is down 27 May 2015.
Like
Version 1.8.3
5 answer(s)
Popguru
Popguru
29 May 2015
Internet Archive to the rescue:

http://web.archive.org/web/20150317005553/http://www.maxbor.net/portfolio/copyless
Like
Tachy0n
Tachy0n
03 June 2015
That’s not the point Popguru. I mean, is it a good sign that this developer doesn't keep their web presence up to date? My experience is that when this happens, the software becomes abandonware.
Like
Tachy0n
Tachy0n
09 June 2015
The new website and domain work now. 9 June 2015. Confidence restored.
Like
Temhawk
Temhawk
15 June 2015
What new website?

maxbor.net still 404's.
Like
Upright-Bassist
Upright-Bassist
20 September 2015
I do not know where you got your info about their site, but I just clicked onto the link here on top, an the website is:

http://copyless.net/

Absolutely not down at all. And the App is still being updated.
Like
Drdul
16 November 2014
This is the best clipboard manager I've found (for my needs). Things I like include that I can direct paste (via Enter, double-clicking or a toolbar button), I can toggle plain text paste (via a hotkey or toolbar button), I can paste recent clips and favourites with numbered hotkeys (without even opening the Copyless window), I can reorder favourites, and I can search for clips and filter by app. My only complaint is that I can't limit a search for clips to a specific app, as there search box is also used to filter apps, so it's filter or search but not both.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
Whitebuck
25 October 2014
Almost four years later and I can't imagine being without CopyLess. Tried others, but for my needs, there's none better. Thank you Maxbor, for an excellent clipboard.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
Runty
16 June 2014
I revisited this and I really like it, except that for my purposes, the only advantage it has over the open-source Jumpcut is the favorites list, which is a nice bonus but I don't really need it. I wish there was a way to quickly paste all the clippings, or all the selected clippings, at once. You can select multiple clippings but it turns out it's only for deleting. The 'copy to clipboard' and the 'paste direct' function work on only one clipping even when you have several selected. Too bad. No reason to buy this because I already have Jumpcut.
Like
Version 1.8.0
1 answer(s)
Runty
Runty
16 June 2014
I also don't like the serial paste option because I don't want my clippings automatically rearranged. From the manual on serial paste: "The list will rotate automatically . This way you’ll be able to paste many elements in the same order you’ve copied them and using only one shortcut." But when doing this, the serial paste option can only cycle through ten items and then you start re-pasting the first item without warning. Would be nice if the first serial-paste item is the oldest, not the newest. Then no need for a ten-item limit.
Like
Maclover1-1
08 December 2013
Issues with a couple of apps, specifically: VERY SCARY: PATHFINDER Cut a file to paste it into another folder.. and.. oops, it's gone, where ? Well it becomes a text link in CopyLess. Wonder what really happens to the file itself I must say.. But it does nit do that in XtraFinder.. where cutting/pasting files works fine with CopyLess activated. ANNOYING CURIO(Took me time to understand what was happening, thought it as a Curio issue a first). It "tends to"* copy text as image so when I paste text back I get an image of my text.. *Sometimes it copies ok sometimes not.. weird.
Like
Version 1.8.0
Runty
15 October 2013
I wish it had an append-to-clipboard function (like launchbar's clipmerge.) That way i can copy many related things and paste it all at once.
Like
Version 1.7.9
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
31 March 2014
You can't do that with this app? The dev's website says: "With CopyLess is no longer necessary to switch constantly between different applications or windows just to copy and paste several different items. Everything can now be copied at once and pasted when and wherever it is required." "Paste up to 10 recent items and 10 favorites with user-defined keyboard shortcuts without opening the main window." Maybe I misunderstood what is is you need to do, but it sounds like CopyLess can paste many items at once (I haven't tried it, so I don't know).
Like
Maclover1-1
04 September 2013
A clipboard utility is so central. I've gone through a few in circa 20 years.. Last one I've used for quite some time was iClipboard (CopyPaste Pro is so overrated.. even if it used to be good a loooooong time ago.. don't like any of the others much... I had high hopes in Shadow/Stuf when it popped up.. yawn.. it went nowhere etc etc). Some others have come and gone.. Most are just ugly, too basic.. and I love a pretty face with brains (isn0't that was MAc is all about ?!).. Oh well.. every once in while I look to see if there is anything new in this realm.. and there is.. and it's very pretty/modern.. and I just bought it :0) My new clipboard lovin' goes to CopyLess ! Honeymoon time !!! Meaow :0)
Like
Version 1.7.9
1 answer(s)
jDaniell5900
jDaniell5900
03 October 2013
dude, you are one funny bas****!!. Im buying that app, cuz if a finicky sob like you likes it, then I'm sure to do so. Thanks :)
Like
pedrotaquelim
15 June 2013
For some years now I'm a user of the fast and free "Clipmenu". I cannot use my Mac without it anymore. Copyless is more beautiful and has the same functionality, but with more options. And is $6.99. Hmmmm, I'll have to decide. :-) Thanks for the great app.
Like
Version 1.7.9
1 answer(s)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
15 June 2013
I forgot to mention one advantage of ClipMenu: I can put much more than 30 limit Pastboard capacity/history. I have mine with a limit of 200 items. But you can put more if you want. :-)
Like
SickTeddyBear
22 May 2013
Note, the free lite version is here: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/copyless-lite/id456074843?mt=12 Difference from the full version is that it can only store the last 10 items, and only allows for 3 favorites.
Like
Version 1.7.8
Ksrhee24
20 October 2012
Works great. Now a program of my choice for copying clips.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.5
Wildfox
20 April 2012
This thing is GREAT! Previous reviewers have misinformed themselves and others. I used the FREE CopyPaster 1.7.3 for a year on SL. Now it is on the App Store in two versions, CopyLess Lite FREE DEMO and CopyLess 1.7.4 pay $6.99. What more could you want?If you like a featureless Free alternative, get JumpCut.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.4
pandora-1
23 August 2011
I looked at this on MU some time ago, and came back today to check it again. There are a couple of changes: • App is now called CopyLess in the MAS. That's where you'll land if you click the Buy button above. • App now costs $6.99 in the MAS • App's version is now 1.6.2
Like (2)
Version 1.5.0
Whitebuck
24 April 2011
CopyPaster now resides on my Menu Bar, Thank you for your expeditious updates and please keep up the accelerated pace of improvements. Your time and effort is greatly appreciated and I offer a humble reprieve from my previous negative observations. Three and a half stars heading for five at the current rate of development, looking forward.
Like
Version 1.3.0
1 answer(s)
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
25 October 2014
October 2014 and I can't imagine being without CopyLess. Tried others, but for my needs, there's none better.
Like
Stevehhhhh
07 April 2011
You say this is free on the MacUpdate website, but it is NOT free. Some one is not telling the truth, but it may not be the developers.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Whitebuck
25 March 2011
When restarting Mac, I lose all my copies on the paste board! No Paste and match style, will not retain copies after a restart of machine! What the hell! RIP OFF? I do not like being cheated or scammed by thieves!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
5 answer(s)
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
03 April 2011
Explanation of Rip Off, Selling a software product as complete, before it's completion, is practiced way to often in the software industry. For example; Apple, 8 updates to get 10.5 finished and 10.6 - 7 updates or more for some machines. After we gave our hard earned money for a working product and I don't believe they are yet done updating or developing it. Basically they sell a Beta Software product and finish it's development at the expense of our time, inconvenience and money. This is a corruptly flawed system and practice, which needs to be stopped and it's up to us the consumer to stop excepting this perverse behavior in the software industry. Please do not confuse the aforementioned comments and observation with Security updates. Which because of our morally bankrupt society will unfortunately, be forever necessary. Also, I retract scammed by thieves, for I do not believe they scammed me, nor do I believe the makers of CopyPaster to be thieves. That said, I still feel Ripped off and cheated. If they get the product fully developed, It may find a permanent spot on my Status Bar! If not, I will continue to use ClipMenu And donate to their software and un-install CopyPaster, with lesson learned!
Like
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
03 April 2011
Correction: Spot on my Menu Bar not Status Bar.
Like
Penguirl
Penguirl
07 April 2011
Obsess much?
Like (1)
Foulger
Foulger
20 April 2011
Calm down man - you will bust a boiler if ur not carefull. If u dont like it then just dont use it instead of venting your spleen?
Like
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
24 April 2011
CopyPaster now resides on my Menu Bar, Thank you for your expeditious updates and please keep up the accelerated pace of improvements. Your time and effort is greatly appreciated and I offer a humble reprieve from my previous negative observations. Three and a half stars heading for five at the current rate of development, looking forward.
Like
Whitebuck
25 March 2011
Waste of time and money, No Paste and match style, What the Hell? ClipMenu, Free and much better. Thanks for nothing, Rip Off!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.0
Drdul
24 March 2011
Over the years I have tried a bunch of clipboard apps. CopyPaster is one of only two that has remained on my Mac. A lot of thought has been put into this app, and it shows. The interface is attractive, simple and the app is easy to use. The built-in help is excellent. I like that I can save up to 100 clips, and I really like that I can QuickLook them. The only features that I would like to see added to CopyPaster are the ability to paste text plain without formatting, and the ability to save clips as favourites (ideally with a hotkey associated with each favourite clip). Then it would be a five-star app.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
25 March 2011
You must be getting paid to write this crap! A lot of thought my ass! ClipMenu Blows CopyPaster away and it's free. Now that's A lot of thought.
Like (1)
This appears to be a rip-off of the name of a well established clipboard manager, CopyPaste. I expect to see a complaint filed with Apple over this obvious copyright infringement.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
3 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
22 March 2011
Although I respect your appreciation for that program and developer, I also think that one has to be realistic about certain matters. Please search MacUpdate for, say, the word "note" or "notes" and see how many programs have nearly identical names. That's just one example. If you're going to create a program that performs very specific functions, then the program name should reflect that in order to guide consumers looking for programs of a particular nature. Most programs cannot get around this need. Similarities are inevitable in many cases. Otherwise, could one also assume that the creator of CopyPaste should be sued by Apple and Microsoft for appropriating the terms "copy" and "paste?" Should every cereal with the word "flakes" in its name be subject to copyright infringement? Should every word processor with "word" in the title have to fear a lawsuit? As long as the program names are not identical, I don't see an issue with similarity. I would assume that the MU community is savvy enough to do comparison shopping. Please note that I do not work for Maxbor or have any affiliation with them. (Check my comments in MU; you can also check under "Easer," which was my old MU name.) But I like CopyPaster and have had good correspondences with them. I feel the need to offer at least an alternative perspective here.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
22 March 2011
There are many other clipboard manager utilities that have names that don't mimic a well established competitor. Most of them use the word "clipboard" in their name is some way, but otherwise are well enough differentiated to avoid any real confusion. This is the first example I've noticed where CopyPaste - which was there first many years ago in OS 7.x - has been, to my way of thinking, ripped off. Now it's true that names tend to be recycled. This has happened to Alfred, for instance, but the original app is no longer in development so it can be argued the name has been abandoned. Another example is Flux, which is the name of a number of apps that are otherwise dissimilar. This shows a lack of creativity, but no obvious intent to copy someone else's app and ride on their reputation. It's just my opinion, but I think CopyPaster crosses the line of ethical behavior in this regard. Whether it has any legal implications remains to be seen.
Like (1)
Maudlin
Maudlin
08 June 2011
I absolutely agree with Jefferson Le Blanc - its pretty disreptutable for these guys to call their product "CopyPaster" when an existing product "CopyPaste" has been around for so many years.
Like