Back to System Monitor page
System Monitor free download for Mac

System Monitor Reviews

2.6
16 October 2019

Activity monitor from the maker of TinkerTool.

Léoren
25 March 2018

Most helpful

Been using this app since 2014, it's pretty stable and always delivers its promises. It would be cool to be able to see which 5 apps are using the network bandwidth though.
Like (1)
Version 2.3

Read 13 System Monitor User Reviews

Rate this app:

ocean442
06 November 2019
Nice tool for a nice price.
Like
Version 2.6
Léoren
25 March 2018
Been using this app since 2014, it's pretty stable and always delivers its promises. It would be cool to be able to see which 5 apps are using the network bandwidth though.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
MichaelHaeusler
17 July 2016
Oh damn, why did it take so long for the update? Now I've already bought iStatMenus. But if System Monitor is only half as good & stable as Tinker Tool System and Tinker Tool, both of which I highly recommend, then this app will be worth a lot more than $4.99. :)
Like
Version 1.6
Wts
09 October 2014
I also gave it a spin however it is menu bar hog with all the statistics it puts up. Now that i see all the info in my menu bar what do i do about it and so what? It seems to me that i can get the same info by launching activity monitor which eats up no menu bar space. If i were to spend the 5 bucks to buy this app i would like to see some icon for this System Monitor in the menu bar with a drop down menu to select the processes that this application is monitoring. However, my basic question is, so what ? I have used Macs for more then twenty years and never worried about all those processes that System Monitor monitors. If my Mac burns up so what just use apple care to replace it. So right now I am going to use app delete to trash this programme unless it has a built in uninstaller.
Like (1)
Version 1.42
I gave it a spin. It's quite complete, though I haven't enough room in my menu bar for all the items it monitors. The biggest problem I have with it, though, is the Lion/Mountain Lion style grayscale interface. That is to say, it's double ugly. That's a deal breaker for me. Until they have decent color options, I won't even consider buying it. I use a hack to restore color and custom icons to the Finder window sidebar in Lion. And I currently use MenuMeters to monitor system functions in the menu bar. It uses color and takes up relatively little room in the menu bar compared to System Monitor. Color enhances usability. Just because Apple decided to ignore this basic fact is no excuse for developers to do the same.
Like (1)
Version 1.30
OsloX
04 May 2012
Its not bad but I still prefer iStat Menus. System Monitor uses about 0.5% up to 10% when idling. iStat Menus only about 0.5%. If the dev can fix the high cpu usage I would certainly take another look at it. ATM .. promising but not good enough.
Like
Version 1.21
wickedsp1d3r
14 February 2012
This app seems promising alternative to iStat Menus. I would like to see:      • an option to configure the font sizes      • an option to view the fan exhaust on the menubar      • an option view the infos on the right side of the menubar Please add these to the update list! Looking forward to future releases.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
14 February 2012
Oh, and an option to hide the dock icon at startup.
Like
liang-case
13 February 2012
Just purchase this app from App Store. First four stars for its lower CPU consuming (less than 0.5% most of time) than other simliar apps. It has a concise drop-down menu for us to read. One point for this. But I have to say that its Preference Setting Interface is awfully ugly... Another important feature seems missing in this version… It looks like the app couldn't detect the Fan speed, Temperature, and the Battery Life.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
liang-case
liang-case
13 February 2012
Update: The Developer responses so quickly. Now the new version of System Monitor can show temperature and fan speed now. Thanks.
Like
ylluminate
13 February 2012
@developer: Could we have a little deeper understanding as to what the advantages of this over iStat Menus may be?
Like
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
13 February 2012
I'd like to know this as well.
Like
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
13 February 2012
Looks like it is similar to iStat Menus and MenuMeters. But it only costs 1/3 the price of iStat Menus. iStat Menus = $16.00 System Monitor = $4.99 MenuMeters = FREE The only question I have is which one is more stable and doesn't have a memory leak. iStat Menus has been fantastic - with a modern interface. MenuMeters is FREE can can't be beat for the price, though it has a more primitive interface. I would chose whatever has the interface one is most comfortable with. I already have iStat Menus so I probably won't be purchasing this version - though the price is great.
Like
ylluminate
ylluminate
13 February 2012
Agreed @Psychiatry, I've used MenuMeters for years and it did a great job, but graduated to iStat Menus and it has been fantastic. I don't see a need to switch, but am open to a superior option, particularly if it has a smaller memory and cpu footprint for the same functionality.
Like
lacwbo
20 April 2011
In most cases and in this case, if you go to the developer's site you can get a trial download.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
20 April 2011
I'm quite certain that wasn't there yesterday when I first saw this app posted here. The developer's site does show that the trial was posted today, so it had to have been since then. Thanks for bringing it up.
Like
Just-Annutha-Dewd
20 April 2011
Well since MacUpdate didn't like my other comment, let me try again. No demo = no sale. I can't review System Monitor, I can't rate it, I can't do anything but gamble 5 bucks and hope I like it. There's no demo anywhere… not on the developer's site, not on the Mac App Store. Is THAT comment ok???
Like (1)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
PorkPieHat
PorkPieHat
20 April 2011
I encourage you and everyone else to peacefully but convincingly signal to the megalomaniacal idiot senior officers at Apple that the CrApp Store is a hideous, ulcerous mistake that must immediately be abandoned or replaced with something that does NOT spit on the 30-year history of The Apple Way.
Like (1)
lacwbo
19 March 2011
I guess since the App Store has come along, we are supposed to assume that we are going to like the app. Gone are the free trial periods.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Skapplin
18 March 2011
A nice try but far behind iStat Menus, but then it's 1/3 the price of iStat Menus. Clutters the menubar too much, lacks color, cannot reposition an item in the menubar, no configurable clock. Marcel generally makes high quality utilities, but this one lacks appearance and configuration features when compared to iStat Menus or even MenuMeters (for pure simplicity.) I cannot criticize stability as I used it for a short period of of time. Not long enough to fully determine how stable it is. But while using it I observed no problems.
Like (2)
Version 1.0