Back to HazeOver page
HazeOver free download for Mac

HazeOver Reviews

1.8.5
13 November 2019

Get rid of interferences and focus on your current task.

DrPfaff
06 November 2018

Most helpful

Must have utility that helps keeps you focused during the day. Seems to work perfectly.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.1

Read 34 HazeOver User Reviews

Rate this app:

Packshot
14 November 2019
A useful thoughtful option for large screens, probably Apple will include it in the system
Like (1)
Version 1.8.5
dnegrin-1
26 June 2019
Game changer for a busy desktop and multiple desktop user like me.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.4
DrPfaff
06 November 2018
Must have utility that helps keeps you focused during the day. Seems to work perfectly.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.1
ahmedhatata-ah
29 October 2018
Best window focus app , I used many apps like desk cover but this app is awesome really it give you the reliability for switching between apps without any hazel
Like (1)
Version 1.8.1
june8
08 October 2018
Very useful for my eyes.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.1
gcr
07 August 2018
Probably the most under-recognized piece of software for multi monitor users you'll only ever care about it /after/ your mac is driving you nuts :).
Like (2)
Version 1.7.9
LeMerlot
13 July 2018
Nice features, only very small CPU footprint… – love it, bought it.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.9
MichaelHaeusler
10 July 2018
An absolute must-have. It does get in the way if you want to take a screengrab, but otherwise it makes macOS even more awesome.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.9
tiagocoelho7
10 July 2018
It does his job
Like (2)
Version 1.7.9
cig0
08 July 2018
While there are quite a few similar apps, HazeOver won me with its low CPU requirements, beautiful aesthetics, nice customization and absolutely great support from the developer -- go ahead and give it a try :)
Like (3)
Version 1.7.7
Joi
22 April 2018
Must have app... great for staying focused and saving battery on laptop. Also, works great with FlashCard Hero.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.7
Bob-the-Tomato
12 April 2018
Perfect for what it does. I always wanted the active window to stand out more than the inactive ones. Dual screen also!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.7
Steve1
12 January 2018
Simple one-trick-pony app that does just what I expected it to do. If this sounds useful to you, definitely check it out.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.7
Qimosabe
01 November 2017
Does it is supposed to do and helps you stay focused. Seamless with automagical effects.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.7
steelie
09 June 2017
Great little app! It does exactly what it claims to, and it works flawlessly for me. As someone who’s easily distracted, I love how HazeOver lets me focus on my front-most app/window, and everything else just fades away.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.6
TCalhau
27 May 2017
I love this App. The function should become native in the next version of macOS.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.6
knoa.jp
08 May 2017
Pros: Good and cute UI. It can dim with animation. Cons: I love animation, but I don't like its animation curve. I want choose another. When I kill the animation time to 0sec, it still has a delay of switching focus. Rather poor translation for Japanese. I want to hide Dock and menu bar, not always but just when HazeOver is on.
Like
Version 1.7.6
2 answer(s)
Maxim Ananov
Maxim Ananov
25 September 2018
Thank you for the review. There should be no delay after using “Improve dimming accuracy” menu option. Please contact me using “Report a Problem” menu in the app and tell me what needs to be fixed in the Japanese translation.
Like
Maxim Ananov
Maxim Ananov
09 February 2019
I’v made a new app called ActionShortcuts that would let you toggle Dock, menu bar and HazeOver using AppleScript. Please contact me through HazeOver website. I would help you set it up.
Like
Hugo-and-Luigi
11 April 2017
Does what it's supposed to.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.6
donikatz
30 March 2017
Brilliant! One of the rare productivity apps I've immediately paid for; a no-brainer. (Stardock WindowFX includes a similar feature for Windows, but there is nothing else like this on macOS.)

One feature request: the ability to whitelist specific apps to always be full brightness. Really helpful for when you require a chat window or video player up alongside the app you're working in.
Like
Version 1.7.6
Roger-Cavanagh
22 March 2017
Does what it says on the tin. Simple but useful.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.6
Richardb
03 March 2017
I was a bit skeptical reading the glowing reviews, but I'm a believer now. This has helped me from making so many errors when I thought I was in one window but was actually in another (I have a dual display setup). I would highly, highly recommend this app. It's so natural that you'll forget that it's an app, not part of the OS.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.6
Weasel
01 March 2017
Love it! Really helps you focus on the window you are viewing when there are several items on the desktop.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.6
jkesler
18 January 2017
Works great. Unobtrusive and fast. Wonder what it would be like with a blur effect but that might slow down performance
Like (1)
Version 1.7.5
Tonyfromchicago
31 December 2016
Really nice little utility, very unobtrusive. You forget about it until you get on a Mac without it and it feels difficult to use. Much more useful than you would believe without trying it.
Like
Version 1.7.5
ich-net
01 November 2016
Best App of its kind.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
orctarorga
16 September 2016
Neat design. Work smoothly.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
Marc-Nothrop
13 September 2016
Very useful on multi-screen setups - helps reduce eyestrain and focussing.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
Neostar
25 July 2016
I have a 27" iMac and this tool really helped to lower the distraction from apps that were open in the background.

This tool reduces your cognitive and mental load by a great deal!
Like (1)
Version 1.7
SMcCandlish
26 May 2016
This little menu-bar utility (or NOT in the menu bar if you don’t want it there) essentially replaces all of the following: * Focus app (that mostly dims other stuff so you stick to what you’re working on) * App highlighter that more clearly indicates which app is the current input focus, without excessively dimming others you need to read from (most Linux desktop environments have done this for years) * Theater-mode app that blacks out the rest of the display(s), when you’re watching a movie I replaced three other apps when I started using this. I especially like that it can be quickly changed to show only one window or all windows of the frontmost app, and to adjust the extent to which others are dimmed. When I’m working on documents or code development, I keep the dimming very subtle and highlight all windows of the current app, but when watching a TV episode on my Mac, I make it near-black and applicable to every window but the front one. Because it’s just inserting a layer with configurable opacity between the top window/app and everything else, not selectively "disappearing" all other windows, it works remarkably smoothly and quickly. This app plays well with the superb app f.lux (http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/37261/f-lux), and can be used with Honer (https://github.com/puffnfresh/Honer.app), though the latter is a bit buggy, and I only use it when working with a bunch of similar-looking windows, like six Terminal windows at a time.
Like (1)
Version 1.7
MichaelHaeusler
12 February 2016
One of my must-haves for OS X, together with f.lux, Menu Eclipse & HazeOver. There are some little issues, nothing big, though. HazeOver shouldn't activate for certain processes like Archive Utility, Finder file operations, dmg open, Gatekeeper verification etc. When I copy a file, I know about it already, and there's no need to make me focus on the process' progress bar, so it should stay dimmed. But that should be an optional setting, because I guess that some users actually like it the way it is. Anyway, love this app. Highly recommended. Works great on El Capitan (10.11.3).
Like (2)
Version 1.6
Sforf
27 November 2011
Totally BUGGY with Lion 10.7.2. Plus they raised the price by 100%. Doubt if they can ever get this to work properly, nice theory but much to complicated for this applet to ever work well. App Store needs to be more diligent.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.60
1 answer(s)
pointum
pointum
12 November 2015
Current version 1.6 works on 10.9+ without any know issues.
Like
Donmontalvo
25 April 2011
Some designers asked for a solution like this. I tested it on some LAb computers, then on my own. Never removed it...excellent app! DON
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Harv
04 April 2011
I tried it and have much the same thoughts as Ean. The transition was too slow & distracting for me. So again, settings please in the next version. Also, please make the displaying of the MenuBar icon an option. All said, a very commendable first release. I look forward to the next version.
Like (4)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
pointum
pointum
12 November 2015
There's an option now for faster dimming and an option to hide menubar icon.
Like
Ean
16 March 2011
A generally tasteful realization of this sort of thing. The fade needs to be faster or, better, adjustable. Maybe the "haze" level should be adjustable too. The menu bar icon is ugly as sin and doesn't "speak" to its purpose.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
pointum
pointum
12 November 2015
Recent version has faster dimming option and a new menubar icon.
Like