Back to Rdio page
Rdio free download for Mac

Rdio Reviews

2.38
18 December 2014

Unlimited music on desktop and mobile.

Christian-Schwang
18 April 2013

Most helpful

The interface is nice and clean, but it's basically just a web wrapper. That's fine, unless your internet connection is bad. Every time I select an item it takes a second or two to load. That makes it a bit frustrating to use. Note: I only have a 1 Mbit internet connection, so take my comment with a grain of salt (also, no rating for me due to that fact).
Like (5)
Version 2.16

Read 11 Rdio User Reviews

Rate this app:

Gryffin
05 June 2015
OK, I've auditioned Rdio, Spotify, Beats, Pandora... and Rdio wins, at least for me. First of all: At work, I can't function without tuneage, and for whatever reason Rdio is the only one that I can get to through the Corporate Firewall. Secondly, the selection of artists is very comparable to Spotify; for every artist I've found who isn't on Spotify, there's another who's not on Rdio. Overall, though, they're roughly even. Pandora won't even let you play specific artists, and Beats doesn't have quite the scope to the other two. Thirdly, Remote Mode is *killer*. I can fire Rdio up on my home theater iMac, and control it from my MacBook Air, my iPhone, and my iPad. DAMN that rocks. (The one gaping hole: remote mode doesn't seem to work in Roku, which the wife has in the bedroom. I'm sure there's some technical limitation on Roku's part, but damn I wish they'd fix it.) My needs and situation aren't the same as everyone, but Rdio has a LOT going for it. It's a worthy alternative to the market leader, Spotify. Of course, next week we'll see what Apple's done with Beats…
Like (1)
Version 2.38
TCalhau
05 May 2015
My favorite streaming service! However should be a little cheaper in Brazil.
Like
Version 2.38
Mjmsmith
04 February 2015
This is the perfect music player app for people who enjoy logging into websites more than listening to music.
Like
Version 2.38
VRH
17 July 2014
Excellent features and flexibility.
Like (1)
Version 2.32
Christian-Schwang
18 April 2013
The interface is nice and clean, but it's basically just a web wrapper. That's fine, unless your internet connection is bad. Every time I select an item it takes a second or two to load. That makes it a bit frustrating to use. Note: I only have a 1 Mbit internet connection, so take my comment with a grain of salt (also, no rating for me due to that fact).
Like (5)
Version 2.16
AndyWood
30 March 2013
I like it. It has a clean UI and it is very easy to find new music. I love the fact, that you can open rdio in every browser and it looks like in the app.
Like (2)
Version 2.16
hmurchison
06 December 2012
No Airplay? Come on Rdio.
Like (1)
Version 2.16
3 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
06 December 2012
Not many apps (in fact I can't think of one off of the top of my head) from third parties include AirPlay support built in. My guess is that it's a technical limitation, but I'm not totally sure. The good news is you can AirPlay your Mac's audio if you're on ML by option + clicking the sound icon in the menu bar. There's also the popular Airfoil http://macupdate.com/app/mac/17357/airfoil if you prefer to stream only specific applications. Neither of these are ideal solutions; but hey, they work! Hopefully Rdio and others will add this functionality natively soon :)
Like (3)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
30 May 2013
How could that be, as iOS AirPlay is pretty much ubiquitous in A/V apps?!
Like
Yogi-Coach
Yogi-Coach
06 July 2013
Another vote for AirPlay - I use it all the time to play Rdio on my stereo through my Apple TV. I don't think Apple currently gives Mac access to Airplay for third party developers. I believe this facility is limited to iOS devices.
Like (1)
s-peter
20 March 2012
even so I'm a big Spotify fan, Rdio makes it really easy to discover new music. I'm currently using both services.
Like (3)
Version 2.00
Rodgerballard
08 July 2011
The native app works quite well. Have had no stability issues, it's easy to use and at $10/month there's a lot of music to use on demand which is quite different from the Pandora situation.
Like (1)
Version 1.04
1 answer(s)
ososX
ososX
17 July 2014
Rodgerballard - its $10 or $10 per month ? According to the description its just $10 (not per month) ...
Like
Jazzyguy
14 March 2011
This is NOT Freeware it is Shareware! The amount of Jazz here is miniscule. Obviously I don't like it. Someone removed my previous posts but I must reiterate that this (for me anyway) is a waste of money.
Like (4)
Version 1.04
1 answer(s)
shacklaw
shacklaw
15 March 2011
So MacUpdate is deleting comments now? Perfectly acceptable and perhaps helpful comments? Interesting.
Like (2)
shacklaw
08 March 2011
Yes, this requires flash and is for the most part a "web wrapper" for the Rdio website. However, it looks native, loads up quickly, and works fairly well. It is, to date, the best streaming service available in the U.S. (and some are saying with this app it's better than Spotify).
Like (1)
Version 1.03