Back to Moom page
Moom free download for Mac

Moom Reviews3.2.23

29 July 2021

Versatile window manager.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
mlubbers
mlubbers
Jun 4 2020
3.2.17
5.0
Jun 4 2020
5.0
Version: 3.2.17
Being able to define your own shortcuts and adjust the raster size, that's what I needed and Moom covers this like a champ.
Penguirl
Penguirl
Jan 28 2020
3.2.17
5.0
Jan 28 2020
5.0
Version: 3.2.17
First utility I install when setting up a Mac, I dread the thought of a world without Moom.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Sep 2 2019
3.2.15
5.0
Sep 2 2019
5.0
Version: 3.2.15
It works in Catalina now.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Nov 27 2018
3.2.13
5.0
Nov 27 2018
5.0
Version: 3.2.13
Unable to get working under garbage security sh**e Mojave. So many layers of 'control' and restrictions on my computer that I can no longer use many apps without endless troubleshooting/problem solving. MB Pro 2018 rapidly becoming paperweight instead of useful laptop. 5 stars for Moom, 0 for Mojave
SALAMA Youssef
SALAMA Youssef
Nov 11 2018
3.2.13
5.0
Nov 11 2018
5.0
Version: 3.2.13
I tested Moom on my Macbook Pro 13 mid-2012 ... during all the test the Moom application was fast and I did not notice any heavy process or Ram. Moom is a must-have window manager on the Mac. Despite the recent patent troll forcing the developer to resort to a tentative workaround, it is still the only window manager that gives me an option to precisely define each resizing option. Other similar apps might do a lot of what Moom does, but a small number of the additional features that only Moom offers matter a lot in my workflow, and for that, I'm more than happy to pay for MULTIPLE licenses to support this developer. The overall benefit of the app and the quality of the app far overweighs the recent unfortunate patent trolling. Keep up with good works! The design is really great ... I highly recommend Moom for Mac OSx users and I give 5 star to this application
Megavolt17
Megavolt17
Jul 18 2018
3.2.11
5.0
Jul 18 2018
5.0
Version: 3.2.11
Tried Magnet, Flexiglass, etc. and finally settled on this app. I did not think I'd use the custom settings, and within an hour had 8 custom settings set up. Easy to use (just play with it or read the help file) and to configure. There are other similar apps that perhaps have more power (and cost more), but I could not figure out how to take advantage of their added features. Moom is quite easy to set up as you wish.
theo-langstrumpf
theo-langstrumpf
Feb 21 2018
3.2.10
5.0
Feb 21 2018
5.0
Version: 3.2.10
Nice App) I like it
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Jul 4 2017
3.2.8
5.0
Jul 4 2017
5.0
Version: 3.2.8
Moom is a must-have window manager on the Mac. Despite the recent patent troll forcing the developer to resort to a tentative workaround, it is still the only window manager that gives me an option to precisely define each resizing option. Other similar apps might do a lot of what Moom does, but a small number of the additional features that only Moom offers matter a lot in my workflow, and for that, I'm more than happy to pay for MULTIPLE licenses to support this developer. The overall benefit of the app and the quality of the app far overweighs the recent unfortunate patent trolling. Keep up with good works!
Johnnyr
Johnnyr
May 29 2017
3.2.8
0.0
May 29 2017
0.0
Version: 3.2.8
Great app but it's a shame that they had to redesign the grid thingy. I don't fancy the new hexagon style at all, but I understand it had to be done because of crappy patent troll.
Dan-D
Dan-D
May 16 2017
3.2.8
2.0
May 16 2017
2.0
Version: 3.2.8
I loved this app, but the new hexgrid is the most annoying and confusing way to display the size and position of a window! How is this more natural?!? Hexagon shapes for square windows on a square display? And how does such an odd shape shorten the travel distance of the mouse? Still a nice app (if you are using only the keyboard shortcuts) but this hexagon design decision shocked me! I am so disappointed (and still perplexed), this used to be a great app and my favourite window manager!
WBH
WBH
Jan 19 2017
3.2.6
4.5
Jan 19 2017
4.5
Version: 3.2.6
Really Nice & simple app ! It's a must have. It would be a five starred app for me if we could force windows to stay on the front to the others as an option to their resizing (like a-float does as a menu option).
Elva123
Elva123
Nov 4 2016
3.2.6
5.0
Nov 4 2016
5.0
Version: 3.2.6
Very very nice application. Things becomes extreme convenient to have the tool.
Stalar
Stalar
Jun 15 2016
3.2.5
0.0
Jun 15 2016
0.0
Version: 3.2.5
There's an app called Magnet in the MAS. Does the same and costs $0.99
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Apr 7 2016
3.2.4
5.0
Apr 7 2016
5.0
Version: 3.2.4
I've tried all kinds of window managers. This is still my all-time favorite.
crisderaud
crisderaud
Feb 1 2016
3.2.3
5.0
Feb 1 2016
5.0
Version: 3.2.3
Easy to use and very convenient to have. Great for accessing your desktop while on the Internet.
Funjoy
Funjoy
May 26 2015
3.2.1
5.0
May 26 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2.1
Been using this for a couple of years now. It's like a part of the OS for me.
LKN G-Man
LKN G-Man
Jan 13 2015
3.2.1
5.0
Jan 13 2015
5.0
Version: 3.2.1
One of my absolutely most favorite utility apps.
ChrisPolus
ChrisPolus
Dec 31 2014
3.2
3.5
Dec 31 2014
3.5
Version: 3.2
I'm very picky when it comes to window management. I need it a lot, but having the right app is hard. Moom fits my personal style of working with windows the most. I'd like to have more control over snapshots of multiple windows though. I can either set a window position and then make any window fit that saved position, or I can make snapshots, taking every open window into account. I'd like a middle ground where I can say to only save the position of THESE particular apps.

Also, the configuration dialog is a little clunky. But functional. It works well. It could be just a little easier and less daunting to look at. Cosmetics.

Other than that Moom is fast, stable, and helps a lot. My favorite app in this field!
zaydon
zaydon
Dec 4 2014
3.2
5.0
Dec 4 2014
5.0
Version: 3.2
The window buttons in Yosemite behave the opposite of logical. I found myself accidently resizing to full screen instead of resizing to fit the screen. Big difference. Thankfully Moom saved the day. They have a very long trial period as well. I think I used it for three months before it said I had to buy it.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Oct 31 2014
3.2
5.0
Oct 31 2014
5.0
Version: 3.2
Totally indispensable! Simply the best! PERFECT!
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Oct 12 2014
3.2
5.0
Oct 12 2014
5.0
Version: 3.2
The best implemented and least obtrusive window management utility for the Mac. Period. Others are good. Moom is great.
JoeB8843
JoeB8843
Sep 3 2014
3.2
5.0
Sep 3 2014
5.0
Version: 3.2
I've been using Moom for several years now. I basically cannot use a Mac without it. I don't really use the advanced layout features, just the ability to put things side by side, or in quarters or thirds. Simplicity really is bliss. This is one of the few programs I recommend to friends and colleagues.
Noivad
Noivad
Nov 2 2013
3.1
5.0
Nov 2 2013
5.0
Version: 3.1
Usually I am not a fan of very simple Apps, but this one was a long time coming. I didn’t think having the ability to click to place windows precisely without overlapping wouldn’t be worth the price, but after the trial, I realized that the time savings alone would pay itself off in a matter of months. As a power user that focuses on true productivity gains, this app has made it to my recommended apps list for the increased speed of windows placement, along with Alfred, DefaultFolderX, Hazel, Fantastical, 1Password, TotalFinder and others that are among the first to be installed on a new machine. The amount of customization users can do is great, and the stability is rock solid. I can only think of one more thing this niche program could do to be better: add workflow sets to attach to program window sets (kind of like the terminal can). So in features I give it 4.5 Stars (the rating on MU seems to be jumpy and stick). Bottom line is, it is worth it to me and other people who like tidy screens & increased efficiency. Since it is free to try, don’t just take my word for it: try it yourself. If you do not find it invaluable in saving time that would otherwise be spent positioning windows, then just delete it, and hopefully Hazel will clean up any old prefs it left behind.
Cgc
Cgc
Nov 14 2012
3.0.1
5.0
Nov 14 2012
5.0
Version: 3.0.1
Long-time Moom user and it's spoiled me. Hotkeys make auto moving, centering, and resizing a snap. Brings order to my windows. Great app, highly recommend.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Jul 28 2012
3.0
5.0
Jul 28 2012
5.0
Version: 3.0
Am wondering if Moom is ML 10.8 compatible? Some strange window behaviours, including windows stretching way beyond normal bounds (eg window with 2 columns of files, when hover over green button, window zooms to right to expand window to accommodate 3 or sometimes 4 columns of files even though they aren't there..) hard to describe behaviours but quirky and unpredictable would sum up my experiences under ML
Kentpublic
Kentpublic
Jul 24 2012
3.0
4.0
Jul 24 2012
4.0
Version: 3.0
I've been using Moom now for 6 months on Snow Leopard. For other reasons, I did a wipe and fresh installation of Snow Leopard about 1 month ago. In the last week, I've noticed the WindowServer process consuming 95% CPU. At first, I thought it was Parallels, but I have recently ruled that out. I removed all my "Login Items" and the problem went away. I systematically started adding each "Login Item" back and Moom turned out to be the culprit. When I turn Moom off (and reboot), CPU usage goes down to 5% for the WindowServer. When I turn Moom back on, CPU usage goes to 60% immediately and 95% within 5 minutes. I love Moom, but I can't use my computer when it's spinning its wheels on the WindowServer process.
Larryb16
Larryb16
Jul 3 2012
3.0
0.0
Jul 3 2012
0.0
Version: 3.0
Why does the price for Moom state $5 in several places on the MacUpdate page, but when I attempt to buy its $10?
dwp-1
dwp-1
Apr 29 2012
2.4.1
0.0
Apr 29 2012
0.0
Version: 2.4.1
Would love for Moom to add the feature to minimize to TitleBar.
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Apr 24 2012
2.4.1
5.0
Apr 24 2012
5.0
Version: 2.4.1
I need to rearrange windows in my daily work very often and I want to have them arranged in very special ways (i. e. with a size of 1/6 of my screen, at the right bottom corner of the screen). Moom is the only application that I know allows to do that (others allow only a size of 1/4 of the screen which I don't like so much). I think Moom is great!
Farshidhss
Farshidhss
Feb 23 2012
2.3.3
2.5
Feb 23 2012
2.5
Version: 2.3.3
I'm glad I only tested this app. This app has serious issues need to be addressed: - To resize a window using keyboard I have to press a shortcut to activate moom and then I can finally use my shortcut to resize the window or move it. This is completely useless. A window manager is meant to be quick and easy to use !! - There are several bugs if you move between several screens while the moom is activated using the keyboard shortcut. As for one the setting window won't ever show again unless i close the app and open it again. It could be a really good app if you spend more attention to the usability.
widomakr
widomakr
Dec 7 2011
2.3.2
5.0
Dec 7 2011
5.0
Version: 2.3.2
This app is so simple and elegant in its UI, it defies logic. I think this functionality should have been built in by Apple but these developers have done a wonderful job!
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Sep 14 2011
2.3
5.0
Sep 14 2011
5.0
Version: 2.3
Neat program. Divvy and Right Zoom in one. I tried it and immediately purchased it.
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
Aug 29 2011
2.2
4.0
Aug 29 2011
4.0
Version: 2.2
Nice app, it should be OS X integrated, unfortunately I think CPU use is a little too high for such small app.
Julsa1
Julsa1
Aug 19 2011
2.2
5.0
Aug 19 2011
5.0
Version: 2.2
Great app, use it a lot since the purchase. Easy and very handy !
Keppy-Fimble
Keppy-Fimble
Jul 2 2011
2.1
5.0
Jul 2 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1
I used to use both Divvy and Breeze to keep my windows where I needed them. I ignored Moom 1.0 since it didn't have much of a feature set, but with the new grid, custom controls, and layout memorization in 2.1, I now only need Moom. It's very light on resources, much more elegant, more powerful, and a better value! Nothing bad to say here.
Penguirl
Penguirl
Jun 16 2011
2.0
5.0
Jun 16 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0
I used to use Right Zoom but it stopped working for me when I moved to Intel/SL. I downloaded the trial of Moom (thank you developer!) and within five seconds I knew that I wouldn't be parting with this app anytime soon. It does exactly what I need it do very simply, and it has the ability to much more of your choosing with user configurable shortcuts.
Wts
Wts
Jun 9 2011
2.0
0.0
Jun 9 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0
CONGRATULATIONS for providing a try before you buy version. Five bucks is not a huge fortune however why spend five bucks if it's not the application i want. So, THANK YOU for the try before you buy.
Keppy-Fimble
Keppy-Fimble
Jun 9 2011
2.0
5.0
Jun 9 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0
It's brilliantly simple and unobtrusive, but it still has plenty of useful features. The new presets are simple to set up and cover pretty much everything I need from a window manager.
Larsen2k4
Larsen2k4
May 21 2011
1.2.1
0.0
May 21 2011
0.0
Version: 1.2.1
Version 1.2.1 simply works great for me - no hiccups with HyperDock and Cinch. :)
Clarusad
Clarusad
Apr 3 2011
1.1
0.5
Apr 3 2011
0.5
Version: 1.1
Since first version, ther's still a important bug with version 1.1. After a while, windowServer process go crazy and the computer become unusable. For everything returns to normal, ther's two solutions : either trying to force Moom process out with Activity Monitor or force to reboot the computer with power button !!! Moom promises to be a great application : very good integration, being "mac OS friendly" and with a natural use. But it won't be as long as the developer won't fix this important bug.
Clarusad
Clarusad
Apr 3 2011
1.1
0.5
Apr 3 2011
0.5
Version: 1.1
Since first version, ther's still a important bug with version 1.1. After a while, windowServer process go crazy and the computer become unusable. For everything returns to normal, ther's two solutions : either trying to force Moom process out with Activity Monitor or force to reboot the computer with power button !!! Moom promises to be a great application : very good integration, being "mac OS friendly" and with a natural use. But it won't be as long as the developer won't fix this important bug.