Back to Moom page
Moom free download for Mac

Moom Reviews

3.2.16
16 October 2019

Versatile window manager.

Noivad
02 November 2013

Most helpful

Usually I am not a fan of very simple Apps, but this one was a long time coming. I didn’t think having the ability to click to place windows precisely without overlapping wouldn’t be worth the price, but after the trial, I realized that the time savings alone would pay itself off in a matter of months. As a power user that focuses on true productivity gains, this app has made it to my recommended apps list for the increased speed of windows placement, along with Alfred, DefaultFolderX, Hazel, Fantastical, 1Password, TotalFinder and others that are among the first to be installed on a new machine. The amount of customization users can do is great, and the stability is rock solid. I can only think of one more thing this niche program could do to be better: add workflow sets to attach to program window sets (kind of like the terminal can). So in features I give it 4.5 Stars (the rating on MU seems to be jumpy and stick). Bottom line is, it is worth it to me and other people who like tidy screens & increased efficiency. Since it is free to try, don’t just take my word for it: try it yourself. If you do not find it invaluable in saving time that would otherwise be spent positioning windows, then just delete it, and hopefully Hazel will clean up any old prefs it left behind.
Like (5)
Version 3.1

Read 39 Moom User Reviews

Rate this app:

Rjmorita
02 September 2019
It works in Catalina now.
Like
Version 3.2.15
Eric•Woehler
27 November 2018
Unable to get working under garbage security sh**e Mojave. So many layers of 'control' and restrictions on my computer that I can no longer use many apps without endless troubleshooting/problem solving. MB Pro 2018 rapidly becoming paperweight instead of useful laptop. 5 stars for Moom, 0 for Mojave
Like
Version 3.2.13
1 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
31 January 2019
Eric, you may want to contact Many Tricks (if you haven't already). I've been using Moom for a few years now and had no problems with Moom, even when beta testing Mojave.
Like
SALAMA Youssef
11 November 2018
I tested Moom on my Macbook Pro 13 mid-2012 ... during all the test the Moom application was fast and I did not notice any heavy process or Ram. Moom is a must-have window manager on the Mac. Despite the recent patent troll forcing the developer to resort to a tentative workaround, it is still the only window manager that gives me an option to precisely define each resizing option. Other similar apps might do a lot of what Moom does, but a small number of the additional features that only Moom offers matter a lot in my workflow, and for that, I'm more than happy to pay for MULTIPLE licenses to support this developer. The overall benefit of the app and the quality of the app far overweighs the recent unfortunate patent trolling. Keep up with good works! The design is really great ... I highly recommend Moom for Mac OSx users and I give 5 star to this application
Like
Version 3.2.13
Megavolt17
18 July 2018
Tried Magnet, Flexiglass, etc. and finally settled on this app. I did not think I'd use the custom settings, and within an hour had 8 custom settings set up. Easy to use (just play with it or read the help file) and to configure. There are other similar apps that perhaps have more power (and cost more), but I could not figure out how to take advantage of their added features. Moom is quite easy to set up as you wish.
Like
Version 3.2.11
1 answer(s)
Megavolt17
Megavolt17
19 July 2018
BTW works fine on OS 10.14 (Mojave) beta
Like
theo-langstrumpf
21 February 2018
Nice App) I like it
Like
Version 3.2.10
Scott-C-H-
04 July 2017
Moom is a must-have window manager on the Mac. Despite the recent patent troll forcing the developer to resort to a tentative workaround, it is still the only window manager that gives me an option to precisely define each resizing option. Other similar apps might do a lot of what Moom does, but a small number of the additional features that only Moom offers matter a lot in my workflow, and for that, I'm more than happy to pay for MULTIPLE licenses to support this developer. The overall benefit of the app and the quality of the app far overweighs the recent unfortunate patent trolling. Keep up with good works!
Like (2)
Version 3.2.8
Johnnyr
29 May 2017
Great app but it's a shame that they had to redesign the grid thingy. I don't fancy the new hexagon style at all, but I understand it had to be done because of crappy patent troll.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.8
Dan-D
16 May 2017
I loved this app, but the new hexgrid is the most annoying and confusing way to display the size and position of a window! How is this more natural?!? Hexagon shapes for square windows on a square display? And how does such an odd shape shorten the travel distance of the mouse? Still a nice app (if you are using only the keyboard shortcuts) but this hexagon design decision shocked me! I am so disappointed (and still perplexed), this used to be a great app and my favourite window manager!
Like (1)
Version 3.2.8
6 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
16 May 2017
It's because of a patent troll that owns the representation of a grid necessitating the change. A comment would have been more beneficial than slamming them with a 2-star rating without understanding the backstory.
Like (1)
snozdop
snozdop
16 May 2017
You're perplexed, yet you chose to give a low star-rating here to punish an otherwise very highly-rated app, without bothering to investigate the reasons why?

Shameful.

Like
Dan-D
Dan-D
16 May 2017
@hmurchison & snozdop:

I do understand the backstory.
But the reason why the company had to remove the previous grid display does not make the new hexgrid any better or more user friendly or natural or whatever they say it does!

The say the new hexagon grid design is an improvement – and that's just BS, sorry! It is not, the hexgrid is annoying and confusing – hence my rating!

I rated the usability of the app – which is horrible now.

It is a shame they had to remove the old grid, but telling me the new grid is an improvement is even worse!

Why don't they say anything about the background story in the description or on the app landingpage/homepage?
Why do i have to do the research?
Why was the blog post about the patent troll story removed? (i read about it but could not find anything about the story on the developers homepage)
I heard about the story from a tech blog.

I installed the update and was shocked.
In fact, i expected the grid to be removed completely, and not replaced by such a strange design.

Again, i understand the reason and it is a sad story, but don't tell me that hexagon thing is an improvement or that is was replaced on purpose or because it is a benefit for the user. Tell the truth: "Shit, we had to remove it because a patent troll tried tu sue us!" done.

And seriously, do you think the new grid is better?
Do you really think the unique hexgrid "features more natural dragging directions, shorter mouse travel distances, and a spiffy new look"?!?

Reread my rating, it's about the usability of the hexgrid, which is IMHO horrible now, sorry! (not shameful, snozdop, just honest)
Moom is still a nice app if you use the shortcuts only, but the new grid design is a disaster. Again, IMHO. If you find the new grid feels more natural or shortens your mouse travel distance, give it a 5-star rating, it's up to you.
Like (3)
snozdop
snozdop
16 May 2017
@Dan-D

Obviously we don't know why they don't reveal the reason for it. The fact that the original blog post has been deleted and nothing has been said elsewhere suggests to me that whatever agreement they came to has to be kept under wraps (for now).

No, I don't think the new grid is better, in fact I've gone back to version 3.2.6 - but it's certainly not 3 Stars worse. Functionality is the same. Just the visual appearance of the grid is different.

However, I certainly wouldn't lower my score for the whole app, based on a changed visual appearance for one feature the developer had no choice but to change

You could've just posted a comment on the developers sugar-coating of the changes, without the low-rating.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
29 May 2017
You have a SQUARE display?

Mine's a rectangle.
Like
Dan-D
Dan-D
02 August 2017
@Big Johnson:

As a matter of fact – YES! :)

On one of my Macs i'm using a EIZO FlexScan EV2730Q – a SQUARE display.

if you write code or do CAD it's perfect! (same horizontal size, but 78 % more space/pixels vertically) And it looks way nicer than a widescreen display in pivot/portrait mode, imho.

But square displays are not very common indeed, i understand your amazement. ;)
Like (2)
WBH
19 January 2017
Really Nice & simple app ! It's a must have. It would be a five starred app for me if we could force windows to stay on the front to the others as an option to their resizing (like a-float does as a menu option).
Like
Version 3.2.6
Elva123
04 November 2016
Very very nice application. Things becomes extreme convenient to have the tool.
Like
Version 3.2.6
Stalar
15 June 2016
There's an app called Magnet in the MAS. Does the same and costs $0.99
Like
Version 3.2.5
2 answer(s)
Jools912
Jools912
17 June 2016
Yes, Moom and Magnet basically do the same thing, but Moom has a number of additional features that Magnet doesn't, which are easily worth the extra.

1) Moom allows you to resize/rearrange windows by clicking the zoom window control, not just by dragging windows to the screen edges.

2) Moom allows you to set custom window sizes, whereas Magnet only offers fullscreen, half and quarter screen sizes.

3) Moom can save multiple custom window layouts and lets you restore them for whatever combination of apps you're using.

4) Moom allows you to set custom margins between windows and the screen edges.
Like (3)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
15 May 2017
If you only need a rudimentary window resizer then by all means get Magnet. But to say that Magnet does the same thing as Moom tells me you haven't tried them both extensively.
Like (1)
Rjmorita
07 April 2016
I've tried all kinds of window managers. This is still my all-time favorite.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.4
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
09 May 2016
Why?
What makes this better than the others?

I've put off trying any because there's just too many of 'em.
Even if I try try just the top-rated ones, that's at least five. Most appear to do the same things, and I don't want to waste time experimenting.

Optimal Layout seems to be a bit different, and it seems like the applications sidebar might be helpful.
Like
Millca
Millca
15 June 2016
I agree. I find Moom extremely useful. I don't like working in full screen mode but do like to enlarge windows to their max size and Moom does it so simply. I also like the ability to split the screens. Very intuitive app.
Like
crisderaud
01 February 2016
Easy to use and very convenient to have. Great for accessing your desktop while on the Internet.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Funjoy
26 May 2015
Been using this for a couple of years now. It's like a part of the OS for me.
Like
Version 3.2.1
LKN G-Man
13 January 2015
One of my absolutely most favorite utility apps.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
ChrisPolus
31 December 2014
I'm very picky when it comes to window management. I need it a lot, but having the right app is hard. Moom fits my personal style of working with windows the most. I'd like to have more control over snapshots of multiple windows though. I can either set a window position and then make any window fit that saved position, or I can make snapshots, taking every open window into account. I'd like a middle ground where I can say to only save the position of THESE particular apps.

Also, the configuration dialog is a little clunky. But functional. It works well. It could be just a little easier and less daunting to look at. Cosmetics.

Other than that Moom is fast, stable, and helps a lot. My favorite app in this field!
Like (1)
Version 3.2
zaydon
04 December 2014
The window buttons in Yosemite behave the opposite of logical. I found myself accidently resizing to full screen instead of resizing to fit the screen. Big difference. Thankfully Moom saved the day. They have a very long trial period as well. I think I used it for three months before it said I had to buy it.
Like
Version 3.2
TCalhau
31 October 2014
Totally indispensable! Simply the best! PERFECT!
Like
Version 3.2
JamesHarrisPhoto
12 October 2014
The best implemented and least obtrusive window management utility for the Mac. Period. Others are good. Moom is great.
Like (2)
Version 3.2
JoeB8843
03 September 2014
I've been using Moom for several years now. I basically cannot use a Mac without it. I don't really use the advanced layout features, just the ability to put things side by side, or in quarters or thirds. Simplicity really is bliss. This is one of the few programs I recommend to friends and colleagues.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Noivad
02 November 2013
Usually I am not a fan of very simple Apps, but this one was a long time coming. I didn’t think having the ability to click to place windows precisely without overlapping wouldn’t be worth the price, but after the trial, I realized that the time savings alone would pay itself off in a matter of months. As a power user that focuses on true productivity gains, this app has made it to my recommended apps list for the increased speed of windows placement, along with Alfred, DefaultFolderX, Hazel, Fantastical, 1Password, TotalFinder and others that are among the first to be installed on a new machine. The amount of customization users can do is great, and the stability is rock solid. I can only think of one more thing this niche program could do to be better: add workflow sets to attach to program window sets (kind of like the terminal can). So in features I give it 4.5 Stars (the rating on MU seems to be jumpy and stick). Bottom line is, it is worth it to me and other people who like tidy screens & increased efficiency. Since it is free to try, don’t just take my word for it: try it yourself. If you do not find it invaluable in saving time that would otherwise be spent positioning windows, then just delete it, and hopefully Hazel will clean up any old prefs it left behind.
Like (5)
Version 3.1
Cgc
14 November 2012
Long-time Moom user and it's spoiled me. Hotkeys make auto moving, centering, and resizing a snap. Brings order to my windows. Great app, highly recommend.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1
Eric•Woehler
28 July 2012
Am wondering if Moom is ML 10.8 compatible? Some strange window behaviours, including windows stretching way beyond normal bounds (eg window with 2 columns of files, when hover over green button, window zooms to right to expand window to accommodate 3 or sometimes 4 columns of files even though they aren't there..) hard to describe behaviours but quirky and unpredictable would sum up my experiences under ML
Like
Version 3.0
Kentpublic
24 July 2012
I've been using Moom now for 6 months on Snow Leopard. For other reasons, I did a wipe and fresh installation of Snow Leopard about 1 month ago. In the last week, I've noticed the WindowServer process consuming 95% CPU. At first, I thought it was Parallels, but I have recently ruled that out. I removed all my "Login Items" and the problem went away. I systematically started adding each "Login Item" back and Moom turned out to be the culprit. When I turn Moom off (and reboot), CPU usage goes down to 5% for the WindowServer. When I turn Moom back on, CPU usage goes to 60% immediately and 95% within 5 minutes. I love Moom, but I can't use my computer when it's spinning its wheels on the WindowServer process.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Larryb16
03 July 2012
Why does the price for Moom state $5 in several places on the MacUpdate page, but when I attempt to buy its $10?
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
03 July 2012
Larryb16, It appears as though we had an incorrect price listed. The actual price is indeed $10, as per the developer's website. The listing is now updated to reflect this. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and I apologize for the inconvenience. Thanks.
Like
dwp-1
29 April 2012
Would love for Moom to add the feature to minimize to TitleBar.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
3 answer(s)
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
08 June 2012
That has my vote, too!
Like (1)
Fishscale
Fishscale
08 June 2012
They would increase sales by at least 10 fold with this feature. I think it is too difficult to implement though requiring hacks like unsanity's windowshade x and the only app to have it working on lion deskovery. I'd buy it if they had it. Deskovery ruined the feature with too many animations.
Like (2)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
29 December 2013
Excellent point. The keyboard commands work pretty well, though. I like “offset by x pixels” from other windows & screen edges. Seems like I might get to like this, but 100 clicks are probably insufficient for me to make a determination over others I may already use. Meanwhile, Cinch works well enough for me & I don’t see enough here to buy another app that does largely the same thing. Its not quite a SWITCH incentive. If I were running on multiple monitors, I can see expanding the placement options as useful.
Like
neartheredrocks
24 April 2012
I need to rearrange windows in my daily work very often and I want to have them arranged in very special ways (i. e. with a size of 1/6 of my screen, at the right bottom corner of the screen). Moom is the only application that I know allows to do that (others allow only a size of 1/4 of the screen which I don't like so much). I think Moom is great!
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
Farshidhss
23 February 2012
I'm glad I only tested this app. This app has serious issues need to be addressed: - To resize a window using keyboard I have to press a shortcut to activate moom and then I can finally use my shortcut to resize the window or move it. This is completely useless. A window manager is meant to be quick and easy to use !! - There are several bugs if you move between several screens while the moom is activated using the keyboard shortcut. As for one the setting window won't ever show again unless i close the app and open it again. It could be a really good app if you spend more attention to the usability.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.3
3 answer(s)
Cgc
Cgc
17 April 2012
I think you need to get into the prefs and configure Moom as I have a bunch of key combinations I set up to configure all kinds of window layouts and I never have to go to the menu ever. I even set the pref in Moom to never show the dock icon or menubar icon. EXCELLENT APP.
Like (2)
Farshidhss
Farshidhss
18 April 2012
Sorry, I looked at all prefs and couldn't find how to get rid of the shortcut that activates moom, and if it's that hard to find such a functionality then for sure there is more work to be done for this app. But anyway luckily I found "BetterTouchTool" app and it's for sure the best I've tested so far.
Like (1)
Stormchild
Stormchild
12 July 2012
I haven't encountered any of the problems you're talking about. Can't imagine what could be faster than a keyboard shortcut. How else would you expect to activate it? Telepathy?
Like (1)
widomakr
07 December 2011
This app is so simple and elegant in its UI, it defies logic. I think this functionality should have been built in by Apple but these developers have done a wonderful job!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Rjmorita
14 September 2011
Neat program. Divvy and Right Zoom in one. I tried it and immediately purchased it.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Surfspirit
29 August 2011
Nice app, it should be OS X integrated, unfortunately I think CPU use is a little too high for such small app.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
2 answer(s)
Stormchild
Stormchild
12 July 2012
Really? It uses no CPU at all for me unless I activate it, and even then it doesn't use the CPU for more than a couple seconds. Are you saying it's sitting there consuming cycles while doing nothing? If so, there's definitely something wrong, as it isn't doing that for me.
Like
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
12 July 2012
Have you seen my review is about version 2.2 on 29 August 2011? Now it's on version 3 already.
Like
Julsa1
19 August 2011
Great app, use it a lot since the purchase. Easy and very handy !
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Keppy-Fimble
02 July 2011
I used to use both Divvy and Breeze to keep my windows where I needed them. I ignored Moom 1.0 since it didn't have much of a feature set, but with the new grid, custom controls, and layout memorization in 2.1, I now only need Moom. It's very light on resources, much more elegant, more powerful, and a better value! Nothing bad to say here.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
Penguirl
16 June 2011
I used to use Right Zoom but it stopped working for me when I moved to Intel/SL. I downloaded the trial of Moom (thank you developer!) and within five seconds I knew that I wouldn't be parting with this app anytime soon. It does exactly what I need it do very simply, and it has the ability to much more of your choosing with user configurable shortcuts.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
Wts
09 June 2011
CONGRATULATIONS for providing a try before you buy version. Five bucks is not a huge fortune however why spend five bucks if it's not the application i want. So, THANK YOU for the try before you buy.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
Keppy-Fimble
09 June 2011
It's brilliantly simple and unobtrusive, but it still has plenty of useful features. The new presets are simple to set up and cover pretty much everything I need from a window manager.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Larsen2k4
21 May 2011
Version 1.2.1 simply works great for me - no hiccups with HyperDock and Cinch. :)
Like
Version 1.2.1
Clarusad
03 April 2011
Since first version, ther's still a important bug with version 1.1. After a while, windowServer process go crazy and the computer become unusable. For everything returns to normal, ther's two solutions : either trying to force Moom process out with Activity Monitor or force to reboot the computer with power button !!! Moom promises to be a great application : very good integration, being "mac OS friendly" and with a natural use. But it won't be as long as the developer won't fix this important bug.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Clarusad
03 April 2011
Since first version, ther's still a important bug with version 1.1. After a while, windowServer process go crazy and the computer become unusable. For everything returns to normal, ther's two solutions : either trying to force Moom process out with Activity Monitor or force to reboot the computer with power button !!! Moom promises to be a great application : very good integration, being "mac OS friendly" and with a natural use. But it won't be as long as the developer won't fix this important bug.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
4 answer(s)
Emrys0821
Emrys0821
18 April 2011
I too have noticed this as well. :(
Like (1)
Robotank
Robotank
18 April 2011
So why don't you submit a bug report and give the dev a chance to fix the bug before you post a half-star review? That's simply not fair. Bugs happen with any software, and a single issue isn't grounds for a horrible rating. Besides, how do you expect a developer to fix a bug if you don't report it? MacUpdate isn't a dev support forum, and this obviously isn't a bug that everyone experienced (I never have). I'm sure you'll find that Many Tricks support is responsive and helpful--they certainly have been in my experience--if you make the minimal effort required to contact them directly.
Like (7)
Cgc
Cgc
31 July 2011
To Robotank: Why can't people review things and give honest ratings? For Clarusad, Moom didn't work so it was rated low, for you it's great. To allow only high ratings cheapens what MU is...we need to know the good with the bad and let the average tell the truth. Obviously, Moom is excellent but it's good to know the issue someone had. PS. How Do you know Clarusad didn't post a bug report and a review?
Like
Robotank
Robotank
27 October 2011
I'm not suggesting that only high ratings be allowed. All I'm saying is that I think that abysmally low ratings should be well justified. Granted, a bug as serious as the one described here is a major issue, but I think it's only fair to give developers a chance to fix problems like these before slamming their app. If a dev ignored user reports and left a serious flaw unfixed, I'd say that would warrant a very low rating for an unusable app. But just posting a 0.5/5 rating on MU without even filing a bug report helps no one. The dev doesn't know about the issue and can't fix it, so users don't benefit, and the bad rating hurts the dev through negative visibility. Again, all I'm saying is that filing that bug report and giving the dev a chance to fix it _before_ posting a terrible review is better for everyone in the long run.
Like (1)