Back to Cookie page
Cookie free download for Mac

Cookie Reviews

6.0.1
30 August 2019

Protect your online privacy.

Most helpful

For those of you who would rather not purchase through the Mac App Store - A license for Cookie can now be for purchased direct through the SweetP Productions Store ***Note - to be able to use the license, you will need to re-download the updated trial binary, from here
Like (8)
Version 1.5

Read 242 Cookie User Reviews

Rate this app:

DragonMaster
08 September 2019
If you hate Cookies, Histories etc. and want to get rid of them quickly and at your discretion then this is the app to own! Buy from the Developer not the App Store! Much more flexible and updates are quicker. Support is big time!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
incrzr
29 August 2019
How do I install Cookie 5 from the App Store now? It's no longer available. And Cookie 6 is Mojave only.
Like
Version 6.0
3 answer(s)
Vitalii@macudate.com
Vitalii@macudate.com
29 August 2019
You can download it by following this link https://sweetpproductions.com/products/cookie5/Cookie5.dmg
Like (1)
Version 6.0
incrzr
incrzr
02 September 2019
TY Vitalii but the App Store version does not require a serial number :/
Like
Version 6.0.1
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
15 September 2019
As long as you bought Cookie 5 from the App Store, you can still download it from there. Try this: (1) Open up the App Store app and log in. You can log in either under the Store menu item or by clicking on ‘Sign in’ at the bottom left of the window. (2) You can now see your account at the bottom left. Click on it. (3) You now see the ‘Account’ window with a reverse chronological list of what you ‘Purchased‘. Scroll down to see if you can find ‘Cookie’. If you can, you’ll see an icon under it that is a little Cloud with an arrow pointing down. Click the cloud to download.... BUT->. (4) If you don’t see ‘Cookie’ in your ‘Purchased‘ list, then you probably HID it at some point. Press on and click ‘View Information’ at the top of your Account window. This provides a sub-window allowing access to your account information. (5) Locate the section labeled “Hidden Items”. To its right, click on ‘Manage’. The sub-window will change to your ‘Hidden Purchases’ list. Again, it’s in reverse chronological order. (6) Scroll down your list to locate ‘Cookie’. If you find it, click to its right on ‘UNHIDE’. This will move Cookie to your ‘Purchased’ list again. [Note: If you do NOT see Cookie in your Hidden list at this point, you’re SOL. Either you didn’t buy Cookie via the App Store, or it’s time to call Apple.] (7) Click on the background, behind the ‘Hidden Purchases’ sub-window to get back to your ‘Purchased’ list. You will now see Cookie listed. Click on its Cloud and arrow icon to download and install. Done.
Like
Version 6.0.1
JamesHarrisPhoto
27 August 2019
I can't find anywhere on on their site where it lists special upgrade pricing from version 5 to 6.
Like (4)
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Mbhayes
Mbhayes
27 August 2019
It's on the Cookie landing page: https://cookieapp.com/#upgrade
Like
Version 6.0
Aeschylus
20 August 2019
I'm impressed. This has worked well for years through system upgrades and is promptly updated when needed. It is quality software and I'm glad I bought this when I did. I feel like I control cookies and they don't control me. I love every time FB doesn't recognize me and wants me to open a new account - this means, they can't track me. Yay!
Like (2)
Version 5.9.13
Kenm22
14 July 2019
I have used Cookie for a very long time. It is one of a very few indispensable pieces of software I own. I wouldn't want to be without it. I find it to be set it and forget it. Russell, the developer is one of the most responsive developers out there. If only other developers would take a lesson from him. In reading Big Johnson's comments it seems to me that by having 305 cookies he is defeating the very purpose for which this piece of software exists...to reduce the number of cookies to only those you need on a regular basis and to avoid tracking cookies. Cookie does this better than any piece of Mac software I know of. No piece of software, or anything else we use for that matter, has unlimited capacity. Even if you were able to design such a thing the cost would be prohibitive and the resources it would use would be astronomical.
Like (3)
Version 5.9.12
iMacWare
25 May 2019
You absolutely must be using Cookie! The trial is enough for you to be persuaded, you need it. It's a must have. I have seen Safari fail to clear cache. Get cookie! It's better than chocolate chip malanos! ?
Like (3)
Version 5.9.9
Derekcurrie
17 April 2019
Indispensable. Excellent developer. A top notch tool in my arsenal.
Like (2)
Version 5.9.9
Aapple
14 April 2019
Tried using 5.9.8. After setting up and trying to remove a few cookies, it crashed. After having crashed, it can not start again. It never even gets to run. I still can run version 4.8 without issues. I tried totally removing 5.6.8 using AppDelete. After that it ran once, crashed and back to square one. Don't buy without trying. (MacOS 10.13.6., MacPro 5,1)
Like
Version 5.9.8
1 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
17 April 2019
this was a bug in Cookie's Firefox IndexedDB parsing. I have it fixed in v5.9.9 which is available on my store now. The App Store version will take some time for review.
Like (1)
Big Johnson
12 March 2019
What a horrible, useless pi*ce of ****** this has become!

For the past several weeks I've been using Firefox and Cookie is completely ineffective - does not function at all with FF Quantum.

FF cookies aren't ever shown in the cookies list so they can't be removed there either.

And there are two cookies shown for Chromium that are impossible to remove even though I manually deleted them in Chromium; One is a Demdex tracking cookie.

The icon in the menu bar is no longer white with black chips. For the past several version it's now dark grey with black chips and I don't like it. I'm using dark menu bar, but disabling it makes it even uglier.

Cookie routinely uses more than 120% CPU which causes my fans to race. And Cookie can almost never be quit from the menu bar - I must open Activity Monitor and quit it there.

Why is one of the choices for icon appearance a location indicator?! Cookie's not a map! That's just dumb AF.
Like
Version 5.9.6
5 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
12 March 2019
A great menu icon means Cookie is disabled - click the Enable Automatic Removals button, in the menus, or in the main window.

As for Firefox Quantum, it now locks its cookie database when open, so as is recommended - you should only remove cookies when the browser is closed (quit). You can still delete cookies while Firefox is open... but it most likely will cause corruption.

Maybe the Chromium cookies are Extensions. Cookie whitelists all extensions by default so you don't mess up any settings they require. you can change this behaviour on the Advanced tab in Preferences or by clicking the STAR icon in the bottom right of the main window.

You can easily find all these answers in my support forums.
:)
Like (4)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
12 March 2019
Since I don't use auto-removal, I guess I saw that menu entry and paused it. I've been logged out of too many sites I was actively using so I now remove cookies manually.

The one exception is I do have "remove at login" enabled
(I'd prefer it happen at shutdown).

No check mark appears to let the user know that option has been changed, only the name changes so it's easy to overlook. There's no notice given that pausing removal also disables the ability to quit the app.

But if some functions are paused, why does it continually use so much freakin' RAM?! After re-enabling it RAM usage is still excessive - I've seen it as high as 115% while typing this reply.

Firefox is listed as one of the browsers in the requirements posted above, yet there's no mention that FF Quantum won't work with your app. Quantum was released in Nov. 2017, so you've known for over a year that Cookie is incompatible with it and neglected to make it known? Don't blame MU for posting inaccurate information either - you could have easily asked them to correct it.

I specifically stated that one of the persistent cookies is a Demdex tracking cookie. You should should know that tracking cookies are NOT browser extensions!

It's also SLOW AF! Even right after reboot if I click a triangle and try to remove a cookie from whitelist, I get beachballing and it takes many seconds to complete.
Simply enabling/disabling the pause feature in the menu causes beachball for a second or two.

In fact just clicking the icon to open the menu is enough to beachball briefly almost every time. And the menu is very slow to respond, taking a few seconds before items are highlighted as the cursor passes over them.
I rebooted less than an hour ago and have almost 6.5 GB of free memory.
Like
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
12 March 2019
you must have a lot of cookies for it to be beach balling. If you leave the Cookie window open, the cookie list reloads every time a new cookie is created. And if you have a lot of cookies, that takes processor cycles to parse every single one. While you browse, Cookie is constantly trying to parse and display all the changes (while the window is open).

The same happens when you press the menu icon, Cookie needs to parse all your cookies to update the menu.

So both your issues are related to having a large number of cookies. There really is no need to keep a large number of cookies, that is the whole purpose of Cookie, to only keep the minim required for optimal browsing.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
14 March 2019
I only have a lot of cookies if you consider 305 a lot. And that’s for three browsers - people who never clean their cookies may have hundreds of tracking cookies in just one browser.
And those are just the opt-out favorites, no logins or cookies for sites I use.

You’ve known for a long time that I have a lot of cookies, yet this is the first time you’ve stated that Cookie bogs down with too many (how many is too many is unknown).

Back in April 2016 I said "I know it's not typical for someone to have 100+ favorite cookies, but I spent a LOT of time downloading opt-out cookies and marking them."

And then in June 2016 I said "It took me a couple hours to setup and download and mark over 200 opt-out cookies."

So you could have told me nearly three years ago about this problem!

As I’ve explained here before, I use Cookie to save opt-out cookies which tell sites not to set cookies. By saving those cookies, it prevents those sites from adding new ones as I traverse the web. Having these cookies prevents tracking and increases privacy. So you’re wrong - there’s IS a very good reason for having so many cookies.

Opt-out cookies must be saved in each browser, and many sites set multiple opt-out cookies per browser, e.g. I have 17 for mookie (8 Safari, 4 FF, 5 Chromium) and 18 for adtechus (12 Safari, 2 FF, 3 Chromium).

If you clear your cookies from within a browser, all your opt-out cookies will be deleted as well. That’s why I bought Cookie - so I could mark which ones were favorites and they would be saved while unwanted ones are deleted.
I had no way of knowing Cookie has severe limitations which prevent it from working with the third most popular browser in the world and only allows it to perform satisfactorily with a small number of cookies.

The former may have been caused by changes to Firefox’s architecture, but once you became aware of it you had a duty to disclose it.
You’re hiding the fact that your app is not made to work with a large number of cookies, just like you’re hiding the fact that it’s incompatible with Quantum. What else are you hiding?

If a developer knows their software has limitations and/or incompatibilities, those should be clearly posted in the description so users can have that knowledge BEFORE they install it. Someone may have installed Cookie today who will soon discover that IT DOES NOT WORK WITH QUANTUM.



For anyone interested, you can simply search for "opt-out cookies."
But a few of the top sites that can download privacy cookies for many other sites are http://optout.networkadvertising.org/, http://optout.aboutads.info/?c=2&lang=EN and (for EU cookies) http://www.youronlinechoices.com/uk/your-ad-choices.

Be aware that in order for opt-out cookies to be installed, you must first allow your browser to accept all cookies and disable ad blockers. Once you have the cookies you can re-enable your ad blocker and block 3rd-party cookies again.

After that, DO NOT REMOVE THE OPT-OUT COOKIES!
If you use Cookie you’ll need to mark them all as favorites.
Like (2)
Filou53
Filou53
19 March 2019
Very interesting discussion.
thanks for the informations
Like
Hal-Itosis
23 December 2018
Never have I seen such bizarre behavior in a list window on a Mac before. Clicking disclosure triangles [in the Websites panel] and whitelisting their contained items leads to all kinds of strange UI responses (short freezes, odd jumps). Something in Cookie's list-window code is seriously wrong.

And there's still no keyboard shortcut to whitelist an item!?!? Does the author even use his own program?

-HI-
Like
Version 5.9.4
1 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
03 January 2019
this could be due to the Websites tab reloading, which would happen if you are loading a url in a browser with Cookie open
Like (1)
mjwoolf
12 December 2018
I can't leave a zero, but that's what this piece of crap deserves. Stay away at all costs. The support website gives instruction to do things and open things that DO NOT EXIST. Run and manage the damn things yourself directly in Safari because this junk won't do it for you
Like
Version 5.9.4
1 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
03 January 2019
do you mean the library folder?
there are 3 library folders on macOS....
the folders Cookie needs access to are in the user folder.
the user folder is denoted by the ~ in the path.

Heres a useful guide:
https://appletoolbox.com/2018/02/how-to-show-your-user-library-in-macos-high-sierra-and-sierra/
Like (1)
artie505
16 November 2018
Hey, Russell,

I'm sick of creating new login identities, so I'm posting here to let you know that mail to support@sweetpproductions.com and rgray@.... is bouncing:

550: 5.7.23 SPF validation failed. Please see http://www.openspf.org/Why?id=xxx%40verizon.net&ip=74.6.130.124&receiver=lvps46-163-78-189.dedicated.hosteurope.de : Reason: mechanism

The message I've been trying to send is:

Is there any way to get Cookie to remember my column width prefs in my Cookie window?

They're a giant PIA to set in the first place, and they revert to default when I quit Cookie.
Like
Version 5.9.2
6 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
18 November 2018
ill look into it Artie.
Like
artie505
artie505
18 November 2018
It's apparently some sort of "handshake" type problem resulting from new EU rules, but I'm not sure if it's your ISP, AOL, or both that's at fault.
Like
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
18 November 2018
you mail server isn't sending a valid SPF. I hardened up my mail server, as I was tired of sifting through countless spam messages each day, to find the real messages. I'll see if I can dial it back a little
Like (2)
artie505
artie505
18 November 2018
Thanks, Russell,

I emailed AOL, but I"ve got absolutely no faith in them.

Fingers crossed.
Like
artie505
artie505
20 November 2018
No luck so far, Russell...

"Sorry, we were unable to deliver your message to the following address.

<support@sweetpproductions.com>:
550: 5.7.0 Server IP 74.6.131.42 listed as abusive. See http://spamauditor.org/best-practices/ip-reputation/ for more information. Protection provided by MagicSpam 2.0.18-1 http://www.magicspam.com"

No way for you to whitelist me?
Like
artie505
artie505
20 November 2018
No luck, Russell; back to the original "mechanism" error.

Sorry. :(

Am I the only person trying to contact you via AOL, or is lots of mail not getting to you?
Like
june8
15 November 2018
Have some problems with removing Vivaldi cookies. No reply from the developer.
Like
Version 5.9.2
3 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
18 November 2018
my email accounts were getting flooded with spam, so I've tightened up my mail server. can you post in the forum? support.sweetpproductions.com
Like (1)
june8
june8
18 November 2018
Done.
Like
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
18 November 2018
thanks, I see the problem now. ill get it fixed.
:)
Like (1)
MichaelHaeusler
07 November 2018
Firefox 63 broke Cookie functionality. None of the stored cookies seem to work anymore, i.e. I have to manually log in every time I visit a website that should log me in automatically. When I disable the setting "Remove every (x) minutes while Browser is Open", everything is back to normal again. Still a great application, though. Best cookie manager imho.
Like
Version 5.9.2
5 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
18 November 2018
Firefox 63 now locks its Cookie database whilst open. I would (and always have) recommend only clearing data once your browser has been quit.
Like (1)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
18 November 2018
That would kinda defeat the purpose, because users (at least I) would like to delete tracking cookies quickly, except the ones I have whitelisted. Hmmm…
Like
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
26 November 2018
I've switched to clearing cookies now only after Firefox has quit, but now I'm losing my bookmarks and my history. Cookie is currently unusable with Firefox. The best thing would probably be if you developed an additional Firefox add-on, a helper for the main Cookie app. Then it wouldn't be a problem to delete cookies even while Firefox is running. This urgently needs a fix.
Like (2)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
26 November 2018
strange,
I just ran a quick test and my bookmarks and history was retained?
Like
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
26 November 2018
Maybe I didn't wait long enough. This morning I quit Firefox, shut down the Mac right afterwards, and maybe Cookie was in the middle of deleting some cookies, but shutdown was faster, and maybe that corrupted the Firefox database. Don't know. Doesn't change the fact that this needs fixing. Alternatively, if fixing is not possible, you should grey out "On Quit", "Every _ minutes while Browser is Open", and "When computer wakes from Sleep" in Removal Options, at least for Firefox. I only noticed that I had lost my latest bookmarks, because I remembered adding two new ones last night. Too bad I don't remember anymore what they were. ;)
Like (1)
june8
13 October 2018
Perfect as always!
Like (2)
Version 5.9.1
Derekcurrie
28 September 2018
Cookie v5.9 is now available. It's macOS 10.14 Mojave ready. Here's what's new: • macOS Mojave Dark Mode support • Added a notification window outlining how to enable Cookie in Sytstem Preferences • Cookie app is now Notarized by Apple • Updated Sparkle Cookie is my cookie total control system. Thank you SweetP!
Like (2)
Version 5.9
iMacWare
24 August 2018
This is a wonderful software suite for privacy on the Mac!
Like (3)
Version 5.8.6
Detlevski
13 April 2018
Great for clearing cookie (and localStorage), but "fixed code signing" again?
Like
Version 5.8.1
SweetP Productions
11 April 2018
hey guys, theres a bug in the Mac App Store v5.8.1. Ive uploaded a fix to Apple, and v5.8.2 should be available tomorrow. The version from my store is not affected at all.
Like (2)
Version 5.8.1
guyt
10 April 2018
Release notes v5.8 removed Facebook links → instant 5 star rating :)
Like (4)
Version 5.7.9
1 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
11 April 2018
thanks,
I deleted my fb personal and business accounts, and have removed all fb links from all my sites and apps. I think it would be hypocritical to be selling privacy apps whilst actively supporting fb.
Like (5)
zajizee
24 March 2018
Works as it says.

Based on some of the reviews here, I did a test to see if after I removed cookies in Safari, they still persisted. Upon opening Safari, the cookies I deleted via Cookies App were gone in Safari. Of course, once I revisit the website, they will be dropped back on my computer, obviously. But I have my timer set to fire every few minutes to delete any unwanted cookies, cache and databases I don't want to remain. I've been a Cookie user for about 5 years.

Wish I could add other browsers on my own, such as Cliqz, Brave and Epic.
Like (2)
Version 5.7.9
Big Johnson
26 January 2018
Save your money, this app is garbage.

It doesn't remove anything. I logged into a site today that placed 21 cookies in Firefox. Deleting them in Cookie does NOTHING - they're all still showing in FF.

And then there's the never-ending bug of cookies mysteriously opening in Cookie's window - that is the arrows turn down and reveal the enclosed cookies.

And no matter how many times you close them, it WILL happen again, probably within a day or two.

There's not much reason to buy something that does nothing (except aggravate you).
Like (2)
Version 5.7.6
8 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
01 March 2018
I personally have no idea what you're talking about and have never run into any of what you describe. I've been writing about Mac security for over 10 years and continue to give Cookie 4.5 stars and recommend it to all Mac users who demand privacy on the Internet.

Meanwhile, I suggest you either perform a repair overhaul on your system or reinstall it from scratch. If what you're stating is really happening, it has nothing to do with Cookie IMHO.
Like (4)
xcoxco
xcoxco
02 March 2018
Dear Big Johnson.

Cookie works as advertised. There is no doubt.

Your problems may lie elsewhere.

Though there are differences between the App Store and downloadable version. The App Store requires you to install added files due to Apple's sandboxing rules.

The downloadable version installs these automatically.

I have used Cookie for >4 years, and am glad of it.

I am also a very experienced IT pro with absolutely no ties to the vendor. In future, you may want to reduce your ranting when it comes to criticizing software (calling it "garbage').

Thank you.

Like (5)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
02 March 2018
It most certainly DOES NOT work as advertised!

I’ve already tried uninstalling/reinstalling and nothing changed. This is the only app I own that doesn’t work as it should ALL THE TIME.

If I go to any of the non-favorite websites currently listed for Safari in Cookie and remove them, their cookies are still present in Safari under Prefs>Privacy>Manage Website Data.

They must be removed manually - Cookie fails every time.

And as I stated, no matter how many times I close all the website arrows in Cookie, various ones open randomly every day. I closed them all a couple days ago, now have 35 open again.

IMO an app I spend money on that does virtually nothing is garbage!
Like (1)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
05 March 2018
Big Johnson is wrong to say that Cookie doesn't work well. I've never seen a cookie re-emerge after being deleted in over 6 months of use with 4 different browsers. I really find that Cookie works just as described. If your system is not working properly, perhaps you should find out why. There could be other issues as well.
Like (5)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
05 March 2018
They don’t "re-emerge," they never really get deleted in the first place.

Have you actually removed them in Cookie and then checked the browser to see if those cookies remain?

Sure, Cookie’s window shows them being deleted, but check any browser and they’re still there - at least on all four of mine: Safari, Chrome, Chromium and Firefox.

Just for kicks I did a complete uninstall/reinstall today and updated to 5.7.8.

Well, almost complete - I left the ~/Library/Application Support/Cookie5 folder in place since it contains lots of cookies I don’t want removed.

Now I’m having to open (click the triangle) hundreds of websites listed in the window to see which contain opt-out cookies I want to keep, then checking 'em and closing the triangles again.

Because again, there’s no option to "open all" or "close all," which would make it a helluva lot less tedious.
Like (1)
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
05 March 2018
Cookie is certainly not garbage IMO but Big Johnson has a point when he says that cookies removed by Cookie still appear in Safari. It happens to some cookies in my case too e.g. bing.com, but other cookies do not appear under Safari anymore after removal in Cookie so there seems to be randomness (at lease from a user perspective). It would be appreciative if the dev of Cookie would somehow respond either here or on his website.
Like (2)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
06 March 2018
the difference in what Cookie and your browser displays are cache cookies, session cookies and localStorage. Cookie deletes cache, and localStorage (if you have it configured to do so), but most browsers don't show this change in their preferences until you restart the browser. They have been deleted from disk though.

Session cookies aren't visible by cookie, but are deleted automatically when you close your browser.

This is why I recommend clearing data when you quit your browser, to avoid any confusion (and possible site issues)
Like (6)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
05 April 2018
I did a complete removal/reinstall a couple weeks ago.

Since then I’ve only had 2 days where cookies randomly opened. The first time it was 17. The next time it was 3, and I’d just checked cookie 10 minutes before and none were open then.


However, it still does not remove Safari cookies, even after reopening Safari.

I went to a message board last night that I visit frequently.

Afterward I removed non-favorites cookies and databases in Cookie.

Then I opened Safari and checked the website data.
The site’s cookie was there as expected.
Then I hit "empty caches" in the Developer menu.
The site’s cookie was still there.
Then I closed/reopened Safari and checked again.
The site’s cookie was STILL there.

The only way to get rid of it is to delete it in Safari’s "Manage Website Data" window.

And another longstanding bug is that frequently you’re unable to click the "Remove Non-favorites" button, even when many are present.

When that happens I can usually remove them by highlighting a cookie and clicking the "Remove" button.

But very often I’m testing a website to see which cookies need to be saved to stay logged in and which can be removed.
And some sites set many cookies (Yahoo, Google - I’m looking at you) so I have to highlight each one then hit the Remove button.

Then refresh the page and maybe got logged out and have to try again until I save all the necessary cookies.

And each time if the "Remove Non-favorites" button isn’t working I must remove them manually again.

It always starts working again after a short while, but it shouldn’t stop working to begin with.
Like (1)
Shk747
28 November 2017
@dev: are you crazy to make this NOT working update to clients that payed for via appstore?!
Like
Version 5.7.1
2 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
28 November 2017
5.7.2 is available on the MAS now.
it was a receipt signing issue which snuck through review.
Like (2)
Shk747
Shk747
28 November 2017
ok thank you !
sorry for my comment ;-)
Like (3)
Big Johnson
08 November 2017
Still a horribly buggy POS!

Inexplicably opens random cookies from time to time, causing me to have to go through clicking each of their arrows to close them again. It's never just one, it's usually 10 or more at a time - this time it was 32, and not all in a row.

There SHOULD be an option to open all/close all, but of course there isn't.

I've had an ongoing problem with the Blur extension.
I'd adjust all the settings where I want them, and from time to time they'd revert to default and I'd have to set 'em again. I thought it was caused by Blur, but today I diagnosed it as being caused by Cookie.

I have the option set to "never remove browser extensions."
And all three of Blur's database files are checked as favorites, so they should never be removed.

But if I adjust Blur's settings, click the button to remove NON-favorite databases and reopen Chrome, Blur's settings will have reverted to default because its databases were deleted.
Like
Version 5.6.2
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
01 March 2018
You again? I find your comments 100% wrong and ignorable. Lay off the BS and hate and get your Mac repaired or reinstalled.
Like (2)
Mextex
28 September 2017
Is there a upgrade path for (non-Appstore) Cookie 4 users?
Like
Version 5.6
1 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
29 September 2017
sure thing,
just send me an email at support@sweetpproductions.com
Like (2)
Rusta
22 September 2017
Why are not the existing settings taken over during an update? Everything away ... Importing the previously exported favorites also does not work - of 80 entries were only 9 again improrted. Annoying!
As far as I can see, version 5.5.8 also works with Safari 10.11.
Like
Version 5.6
Big Johnson
22 September 2017
Notice: As per the dev's website, "Cookie does go on sale from time to time, and you can follow SweetP Productions on Twitter for notifications."
Like
Version 5.6
Hanstyo
24 July 2017
Paid for it, installed it, puzzled how to use its functions like for example Whitelist or Favourites (what's the difference??). Why so complex and why no manual available. Tutorial is on Vimeo which is censured in my country. I can't believe somebody askes $20 and doesn't provide even a manual. Wasted $20. Miss the days of programs like Cookie Cutter which did the job simple and effective and were cheap.
Like
Version 5.5.7
3 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
29 July 2017
Most people don't need to use the whitelist. it is only for when Cookie incorrectly flags a cookie as a tracking cookie. For example the Google NID cookie when removed will log you out of Google.
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
22 September 2017
Hanstyo, sounds like you need a VPN more than a buggy cookie app!

Tunnelblick and Cargo VPN are two free ones.

Most browser proxy sites should allow you to connect to almost any other site as well (https is often not allowed).

Here's a list of proxy sites I keep bookmarked for times when I need one briefly: http://www.proxy4free.com/index.html

Most of my proxying is done via Viscosity.

Recently I downloaded a premium cable show without a proxy and got a notice from my cable co. the following day. Now I always try to make sure Viscosity is connected before opening my torrent client.

I plan to sign up with a paid VPN soon to avoid mistakes and the hassle of using free VPNs.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
22 September 2017
Scratch that - Cargo VPN is NOT free!

I quickly checked the page when I saw it listed under Similar Software on Tunnelblick's page.

MU says it's free, but the dev. commented that "you can try it for 24 hours free and than choose the best subscription plan for you."

More trickery by MU!
Like
terrytrinder
20 June 2017
I've used Cookie for a number of years, both on my MacBook Pro and now on my iMac, although to be fair, I haven't run it consistently until recently. As a previous User, I even got a reduced price upgrade to the latest version.

What I can tell you is that 1) the product works very well indeed and 2) the developer, Russell, gives first rate (and fast) support - perhaps better than any I've come across.

The latest version v5.5.7 also supports Vivaldi, which is worthwhile in itself. The product has been developed a lot since I first started using it, and the option of timed removal is much welcomed.

My response to other negative reviews is simple: just try the latest version. It is really flexible with numerous options for cookie removal - on startup, browser exit or on demand. If you don't believe that, just look at the list of cookies before and after a manual removal or have a look at the removal notifications?

Highly recommended and better than any of the other cookie removal apps I've tried over the years.
Like (3)
Version 5.5.7
Big Johnson
02 June 2017
Oh look - another bi-monthly update.

And how many bugs were supposedly fixed THIS TIME?
At least four.

Any guesses as to how many we’ll see in the middle-of-June update?
Like
Version 5.5.7
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
02 June 2017
And marked down from $50 to $15.
My calculator says that’s a 70% reduction, but MU shows it as 81%.
One of us needs a new calculator!

Now mark the $14.99 down by 70% or 81% and that’s about what it’s worth.
Like
Big Johnson
18 May 2017
The weekly update is out!

Still doesn’t clear caches like it says it does.

And apparently the failure to clear cookies at login wasn’t fixed either - I haven’t restarted yet but the update doesn’t mention it.

After clearing cache and cookies I can still find sites listed in Safari’s prefs > Privacy section.

Yesterday I had some stuff in my cart on a shopping site. After clearing cache & cookies the cart was still full next to my name. Only after deleting the entry in Safari were my name and cart contents removed.

Not sure what this is really good for since it doesn’t do most of what it’s supposed to do and doesn’t block bad cookies at all.

Evidently it’s just for people who like installing things every week whether they work or not.
Like (2)
Version 5.5.6
Big Johnson
26 April 2017
Does NOT remove cookies at login. "Remove non-favorites" only works intermittently and is very aggravating because I use it often and I never know if it will work.
Like
Version 5.5.4
fiery12
16 April 2017
Crash, crash, crash!
When Cookie works it's a good app, but more than often it just crashes. I start it after the crash click the same "Remove Non-Favorites" button and this time it may work. Work is a very broad verb for Cookie, often it just refuses to remove some cookies. Clicking twice (after 5-10 sec. delay) fixes the problem. I haven't seen so unstable app as Cookie. In all 20 crashes of v5.2.1 to v5.5.3, not a single one is equal to another one. EXC_BAD_ACCESS is always in different functions. Console app is full of Sandbox deny file read messages about Cookie.

I use this app only to clear Firefox (latest version) cookies on El Capitan. I close Firefox, then start Cookie and click on "Remove Non-Favorites" button. I have only two favorite websites. I can't believe that such a simple task as updating Firefox "cookies.sqlite" file could be so cumbersome.
Like
Version 5.5.3
2 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
16 April 2017
could you send me any crash reports to support at sweetpproductions dot com. v5.5.3 should have fixed the crashing.
they will be in this folder:
~/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/
Like
fiery12
fiery12
04 May 2017
I installed v5.5.4 and so far no crashes. Otherwise the fix for previous version was to move away the focus from the search field (just push Tab button after starting Cookie).
Like (1)
Jgj
12 April 2017
Beware updating from 5.2.3 to 5.5.1. It will lose your favorites for Chromium, even though it will keep your Safari and Firefox favorites. By this I mean not that it will delete your Chromium cookies, but that it will fail to recognize (under the Chromium heading) that Websites X, Y, and Z were marked as favorites. For instance, I have github as a favorite in Cookie for all my browsers. Upon updating to 5.5.1, github is not listed by Cookie among my Chromium favorites even though github is still listed under Firefox and Safari.
Like
Version 5.5.1
jcastilla
02 March 2017
Since I'm on Cookie, have no way to be hijacked while browsing. Having experienced first-rate privacy and security, feel more comfortable in the Internet.
Like (2)
Version 5.2.3
artie505
27 February 2017
Hey, Russell, if you're listening, email to your support address is bouncing...Error: Connection refused & Error: Connection timed out.
Like
Version 5.2.3
3 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
01 March 2017
which Address Artie? support at sweetpproductions dot com?
Like
artie505
artie505
02 March 2017
That's the one, Russell.

The Cookie email tried and failed for four days, but I still don't know what's up with the SafariRestore email I sent yesterday at 7:09 AM
Like
artie505
artie505
08 March 2017
Still down, Russell; what's up?
Like
Derekcurrie
25 February 2017
This is the best Cookie control app for Mac users. The developer is excellent, very responsive and very responsible. He's constantly polishing and improving Cookie. I have Cookie running 24/7 on my Macs and won't surf the net without it. The GUI is very good. It's easily configurable. It has a dirt simple and effective cookie removal timer. It never causes me problems or headaches. When I have run into bugs in the past, the developer has responded and repaired them immediately. There is a learning curve as you set up and get used to Cookie. You will have to get used to toggling on and off its Removal Timer or manually dumping cookies, as you choose. As such, it's not something Granny will easily get used to. But for what it does, Cookie is well worth the investment of time and money. The closest competitor is Cookie Stumbler, but it's not as good or as cost effective. I never saw the point in paying its yearly subscription fee. Cookie can be just as effective removing cookies, if you configure it correctly. Plus, Cookie Stumbler is a bit buggy and appears to be in a state of stagnation. I gave up bothering with it.
Like (6)
Version 5.2.3
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
26 January 2018
How much did the dev. pay you for that review?
Because it's the opposite of what I've experienced.
Like
George6
03 December 2016
in principe this is a good app, but sadly there seems to be no sense at all for a reasonable gui. wish it had a simple "remove all" button in the toolbar.
Like
Version 5.2.1
1 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
06 December 2016
you can Remove All Data from Cookie's "File" menu, or the "Select Unwanted Data" > "Removal" tab, or even the menubar if you have that enabled
:)
Like (1)
June8
28 November 2016
Deleted cookies coming back.
Like
Version 5.2.1
Kenm22
22 November 2016
I don't post here often but I feel compelled to respond to the negative reviews for Cookie. To me it is, far and away, the very best cookie manager available for Mac. I've been at this a long time and seen quite a number of cookie managers. Nothing comes close to this one. Once you set it up, you forget it while is quietly goes about doing its job. Invisible is the word that comes to mind.

As far as the developer, he is one of the most responsive and helpful developers out there. He responds quickly to any questions and rapidly solves any problem that may exist, which is a rarely..

I not only use Cookie, I wouldn't want to be without it, It makes my web use so much easier and more secure.

I also use another product from SweetP named Hides. Hides invokes Single Application Mode. Its only task is to automatically hide other open applications making your workspace cleaner. It can easily be turned of or on in the menu bar.

I give Cookie FIVE STARS.

Great products, helpful and responsive developer.
Like (3)
Version 5.2.1
Big Johnson
20 October 2016
The claim that "Cookie prevents third parties from hijacking your browsing experience" is completely false.

In my experience ALL hijacking of my browser has been caused by Javascript on pages I visited. That has nothing to do with cookies. Simply visiting certain sites and clicking anywhere on the page activates a new malware window like this awful one.
http://pcnetworksteadycloud.online/?source=62968_609618_

Lets see you stop that, Cookie!

Removing cookies won't do a damn thing to prevent this.
The only way I've found to stop 90% of them from occurring was to install the JS Blocker extension for Safari from Apple's Extension Gallery. https://goo.gl/GsakKs
Like (1)
Version 5.1.3
2 answer(s)
HJRBR
HJRBR
10 November 2016
http://pcnetworksteadycloud.online/ = Deceptive Website says Apple?!
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
09 December 2016
That malware link is now invalid.
Like
zo219
29 September 2016
Lucky, lucky find, And boy, does this work. Thank you, SweetP, for your frequent updates. too.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.2
Big Johnson
09 September 2016
Found ANOTHER bug! (v5.1)

I thought I'd been doing good by having the timer remove unwanted cookies and emptying the cache frequently, but I see the items don't really get cleaned, even when done manually.

Removal options have tracking cookies, non-favorites and cache enabled.

The site I wanted to delete is NOT marked as a favorite, and disappeared when I clicked the "remove non-favorites" button. Then I clicked the "remove tracking cookies" button.

That SHOULD have removed all entries from Safari, but did not - there are still several entries listed for that site in Safari.

avatars0.websiteusercontent.com (cache)
avatars1. websiteusercontent.com (cache)
avatars2. websiteusercontent.com (cache)
avatars3. websiteusercontent.com (cache)
website.com (cache, cookies, local storage)
websiteusercontent.com (cache)

And a blacklist to prevent sites from ever setting cookies is still needed (if that's possible).
Like
Version 5.1
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
19 September 2016
Not all cookies that Cookie considers tracking cookies are bad.
For example, Google's NID and SID cookies. If I delete them I'm logged out of my Gmail accounts and my phone calls are cut off.

Therefore I marked them as favorites. Favorites are not supposed to be deleted, but when I remove tracking cookies they vanish anyway.
Why allow tracking cookies to be marked as favs if they will be removed anyway?

Sure, I suppose I could whitelist 'em, but marking them as favs should be good enough. A favorite should NEVER be removed.
Like
Jgj
28 August 2016
Cookie 5.X seems buggy regarding the export/import of favorites. I'm NOT talking about importing from Cookie4 into Cookie5. I'm talking about exporting my Cookie5 favorites to a textfile for safekeeping. For some reason it can't ever be imported back into Cookie5 if Library/Containers/com.sweetpproductions.Cookie5 ever gets deleted. I can select that file for importing, but the result is always that none of the cookies get blue checkboxes afterwards. To reproduce, export your Cookie5 favorites to a textfile "foo.txt". Quit Cookie5. Delete the Cookie5 folder in Library/Containers. Do "defaults delete -app Cookie" in the terminal. Open Cookie5 and go through the permission-granting rigamarole that spawns filesystem dialogs (there's got to be a better way to do that, BTW). There will be a screen that shows all the cookies on your machine, with blank checkboxes. You have the opportunity to manually check the ones you want to favoritize or to import from a text file. Choose import, and locate foo.txt. Hit return and feel the pain as none of the blank checkboxes turn blue. (It doesn't help if you skip this and wait until Cookie5 is fully set up, then try to "Import" from Cookie's File menu. Maybe it has to do with the fact that the exported favorites file is JSON, while the Favorites.plist file is an XML plist?
Like
Version 5.1
1 answer(s)
Jgj
Jgj
28 August 2016
Well, it's almost JSON.

Anyway, if instead of exporting to a text file, I just manually make a copy of Favorites.plist, I can then go through the deletions described in the reproduction instructions, and then manually re-copy the Favorites.plist into place (rather than attempting an ill-fated Import). That seems to work.

But that's a huge pain, partly because Favorites.plist is buried a million miles deep in Library/Containers.
Like
wickedsp1d3r
18 August 2016
Developer's website is pretty often down from some reason.
Like
Version 5.1
1 answer(s)
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
20 August 2016
I have just upgraded to faster servers... it should be good now. although i have just received notice of a planned server reboot sometime in the next 2 days....
Like (1)
Big Johnson
14 August 2016
When I opened v5.1 ALL my favorites were unchecked and only 56 domains remained out of 146! Fortunately I'd exported them before updating. After importing them all 146 were restored and marked as favs.
Like
Version 5.1
SweetP Productions
26 July 2016
it should be available also in the Mac App Store hopefully later on today.
Like
Version 5.0.12
ladyinred
26 July 2016
I got bored too much with this annoying ads popping up all the time on different sites, taking half of screen with their ads, that is not actual now. Cookie turns out to be the best solution in this situation. Million thanks to developers for making such a helpful product.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.12
Big Johnson
22 July 2016
Another week, another update. Should be up to 5.0.34 by year end.
Like
Version 5.0.11
3 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
26 July 2016
Some humans are really funny. You know that you can disable updates if they bother you. I myself prefer to have updates provided via a simply process and have glitches fixed and benefit from those fixes.
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
26 July 2016
And with some humans topics go right over their head.

It's necessary to keep updates enabled to keep up with the repairs as they're made.

My point is that IT SHOULDN'T NEED WEEKLY UPDATES!

The software was released long before it was ready, which is why the dev. is still trying to kill all the bugs.

If Apple released weekly updates for its OS people would be seething and comparing it to Windoze.
Like
SweetP Productions
SweetP Productions
27 July 2016
I’m not sure you have actually noticed, but I have also added new features/improvements into these updates.
In no particular order:
*compliance with new Apple sandboxing guidelines (after initially being accepted, this was quite a significant rewrite)
*updating of Sparkle framework
*Safari Technology Preview support
*Vivaldi support
*removal on wake from sleep
*chrome Zoom level removal
*whitelist indicators
*tooltips
*Vivaldi typed history removal
*improved Chrome data removal
*German/French/Dutch/Portuguese localisations
*Safari ContentExtension support
*social media support links
*improved Safari History removal
*improved Safari cache removal
*performance improvements

**and also bug fixes

Another popular app recently released around 6 updates in the space of 48hrs after a major update. They have a team of devs reviewing code, I have just me.

I mean, I could just lie and not mention any of the fixes in my updates, but I list every little thing no matter how small or insignificant. some of the crash fixes were extremely rare (some not so rare). one of the memory leak fixed not so long ago wasn't really an issue, and never caused problems, but i listed it for completion.

Of course some of these updates could have waited and i could put them into a yearly paid upgrade like some other devs do, but I like to pass on improvements as soon as i make them. Maybe my work schedules doesn't fit with what you're used to, but I live an unconventional life, and work when i get free time. the string of recent updates is because i have had a lot of spare time this past 6weeks to work.

Bugs creep into software without warning, I don’t know if you code, but you can make seemingly insignificant code changes which lead to bugs cropping up in totally unrelated code.


…I do my best.
If that’s not good enough, then look for another solution to do the job you want, or even learn how to code and make something yourself. It’s a rewarding experience. At the very least please give me constructive criticism, so i can improve Cookie. Telling everyone it should have never been released is not really very helpful.


you know,
I get tired of your constant Cookie bashing, i really hope people don’t come to your workplace, telling you what you're doing is not good enough all the time. If you look through all the comments here, you’ll see that maybe 80% of the last comments here are all yours?

I think this is the last time ill reply to your comments here, please email me direct if you find some issues with Cookie that need fixing.
</rant_over>
Like (3)
Mhoutman
12 July 2016
Best cookie manager ever. swift support too.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.9