Back to MacDropAny page
MacDropAny free download for Mac

MacDropAny Reviews

3.0.2
19 July 2015

Sync any folder with multiple cloud storage solutions.

anonymous-dingo-653
11 February 2014

Most helpful

While I can appreciate the immense convenience of a fine utility like this, it is being misrepresented. This does not sync with the cloud account; it links a targeted local folder with the account's local folder/directory. That is not the same thing, even though the end result is that folder/files end up in the online cloud account.
Like (5)
Version 2.12

Read 29 MacDropAny User Reviews

Rate this app:

leonasfar
02 November 2019
Hi, when MacDropAny will be compatible with MacOS Catalina
Like
Version 3.0.2
f.catus
08 February 2019
****BE CAREFUL**** Hijack your system and install other applications that you did not download to solicit money from you.
Like
Version 3.0.2
photo0410
01 June 2018
This app downloaded and snuck in another money begging app into my Library/Application Support/ folder and popped up several days later without me using it. This is a violation of my trust with my cloud password. I force stopped the app and uninstalled it.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
f.catus
f.catus
08 February 2019
Thanks for letting us know. Not gonna download it.
Like
Houdini
11 May 2018
It works great with OneDrive! Would it be possible to use it with Nextcloud Client?
Like
Version 3.0.2
Sonnendeck
21 January 2018
This works great. A big help. Thanks!
Like
Version 3.0.2
datherton1
03 September 2017
Thank you so much for this free and easy app for us new Cloud users. Where can I donate?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
anonymous-thrush-1121
26 October 2016
Caution, MacDropAny drop AdWare OSX.Genieo. Please check ~/Library/Application Support/MacDropAny/MacDropAny Donation Requester.app ~/Library/LaunchAgents/com.zibity.MacDropAnyDonationProcessor.plist com.zibity.MacDropAnyDonationProcessor.plist call MacDropAny Donation Requester.app to login. any link hijack to AdServer. Goto hell.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.2
Lounge-Deluxe
01 November 2015
Awesome app, however I discovered an annoyance (but it could be me doing something wrong of course). I already have a folder with all my photo's in it on Dropbox, but after installing a new OS on my MBP and pointing a folder on my MBP to be synchronised with the already existing folder on Dropbox, all photo's are uploaded to Dropbox again! Thats't over 10GB in my case... Am I doing something wrong? If not then please add the option to continue sync'ing with a folder already existing on Dropbox, and compare the folder to be sync'ed on the MBP with the folder on Dropbox. and only sync those files not already present in the Dropbox folder. Much appreciated!
Like
Version 3.0.2
ososX
06 June 2015
I suppose that to use this app in conjunction with any of the mentioned clouds, I also need to locally run the associated applications (i.e., DB, GoogleDrive, etc.) ?
Like
Version 2.14
1 answer(s)
Zibity
Zibity
18 July 2015
Hi Osos10,

Yes, you still need to run the syncing service's Mac app.

Cheers,

Sebastian
Like
Quantumpanda
20 July 2014
Is there any possibility of adding Amazon Cloud Drive support? (This is different from Amazon S3.) Amazon discontinued development and distribution of their desktop client for Cloud Drive some time ago. If you already have it, it still works, but if you don't have it, you can't get it from them. They now offer only web access to Cloud Drive except for music in Cloud Player, and web access isn't something readily configurable for automatic background sync.
Like
Version 2.13
ebarete
16 June 2014
Try http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/50873/dropboxtool
Like (1)
Version 2.12
2 answer(s)
steelie
steelie
19 November 2014
So, you gave this a 1 ½-star rating then linked to your own competing software? Um, that’s not exactly cool…
Like (7)
polocanada
polocanada
01 September 2015
Great, I liked you post. You are the best. No, I must be just kidding, I hope. Are you serious, you review this and send people to your own app that does almost same thing I can do through doing a symlink?
Like
Maxter
06 April 2014
Could you add hubiC support? https://hubic.com
Like
Version 2.12
ajh6960
27 March 2014
Is there any chance that after we select the folder we want to sync with the cloud we can just select a dropbox folder to sync with rather then having it create a folder for us? I'm trying to get a multiple computers to link to the same dropbox folder. Thanks
Like
Version 2.12
anonymous-dingo-653
11 February 2014
While I can appreciate the immense convenience of a fine utility like this, it is being misrepresented. This does not sync with the cloud account; it links a targeted local folder with the account's local folder/directory. That is not the same thing, even though the end result is that folder/files end up in the online cloud account.
Like (5)
Version 2.12
Tschoepler
26 January 2014
Very important. Thanks for the development.
Like
Version 2.12
Chas-m
25 January 2014
Support for copy.com would be nice ... thanks!
Like
Version 2.12
1 answer(s)
Ean
Ean
25 January 2014
Actually, it does support Copy. The description here is out of date. Admins?
Like
W-g
16 November 2013
This is really cool. Now I can simplify my Dropbox and no longer duplicate items or find myself rearranging my file structure just for Dropbox.
Like
Version 2.11
dietrein
05 April 2013
I am so happy that I've discovered this app! As a daily Dropbox user, this has made my syncing experience so much easier and cleaner.
Like (3)
Version 2.09
Max-G
29 March 2013
Excellent little utility that makes services like DropBox much more user friendly. Spudboy, symbolic links are powerful! Have a look on the developers' site, read the short manual and watch the video. I'm sure you made a mistake and will be happy using MacDropAny once you know how to use it properly.
Like (2)
Version 2.09
1 answer(s)
sebthedev
sebthedev
02 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words!
Like (1)
Spudboy
08 March 2013
Yea! It completely jacked up my Skydrive! Gee now I get to download 25Gb of data. This is the worst thing I have ever put on my computer. Sure this is not a virus? Into the Trashcan you go MacDropAny.
Like
Version 2.08
1 answer(s)
sebthedev
sebthedev
11 March 2013
Hi there Spudby, I'm sorry that you've encountered some problems with MacDropAny. I assure you that MacDropAny is an entirely legitimate app, used by tens of thousands of people all around the world. If you would like to explain what the problems, and let me help you to fix them, I would appreciate if you could send me a message here: http://www.zibity.com/contact Thank you, Sebastian Hallum Clarke
Like (3)
Ean
20 November 2012
This is now much more than a simple symbolic link creator. Great that it uses multiple cloud services. One improvement could be a small database of what links have been created for what files/directories and for what cloud. This would be handy info to have if things go awry.
Like (1)
Version 2.04
1 answer(s)
sebthedev
sebthedev
23 November 2012
Hi there Ean, Thanks for your kind words. In the update released yesterday, v2.05, MacDropAny now creates a list of your recently synced folders at ~/Library/Logs/MacDropany.log. Thanks, Sebastian
Like (2)
Dana-Sutton
20 November 2012
We have a real winner here, they should find the author (hint: trying looking in New Zealand) and carry him around town in a sedan chair. But this app. shows that iCloud is a much more capable and comprehensive cloud system than Apple wants us to know about. At least as long as you are talking about Macs and not mobile devices, iCloud can be used for pretty much all the things we use Dropbox for. Evidently Apple wants us to think iCloud is a limited-service system for no better reason than commercial purposes.
Like (2)
Version 2.02
drlipton
04 July 2012
I love it when life gets easier. This sweet little app helped my technologically challenged husband to automatically back up his work onto Dropbox without any learning curve. Our daughter installed it, and it runs silently in the background, keeping my husband up to date. I have had a few difficulties because I tried to synch multiple folders on multiple computers, not whole desktops. I wish there was a clear distinction between Macdropany and the preferences synch on the dropbox folder itself. That is my only suggestion. A short user manual with more details would be appreciated.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.2
TAOGde
23 May 2012
for what u need access to bit.ly? catching the onlinedata with this links?
Like
Version 1.8.2
2 answer(s)
TAOGde
TAOGde
23 May 2012
i explain: little snitch brings up a message with MacDropAny as Programm and curl as Task to access bit.ly. WHY?
Like (1)
sebthedev
sebthedev
31 May 2012
MacDropAny needs to connect to the internet to check if any updates are available. I use a bit.ly short link so that I can track how many times my app is used.
Like (2)
CanaryEGP
06 May 2012
Perfect! Its works!
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
jbrw
15 April 2012
What can I say? It absolutely works, and I know of no other way to create a link to Dropbox from your existing file structure, whether or not you are syncing more than one Mac.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.1
rayj
24 January 2012
I’ve found this invaluable for keeping folders in sync between different Macs. I have one or two files that I’m happy to transfer direct into the Dropbox folder but in the main I prefer to keep my file structure organised as I want it not as Dropbox wants me to. MacDropAny makes it very easy to to keep a Dropbox copy of folders from anywhere on your Mac. Then, by using the very helpful little guide provided by Stephen Foskett < http://blog.fosketts.net/2011/03/03/multiple-macs-sync-dropbox/ > you can quickly set up a second link from another Mac and keep both folders in permanent sync. This process preserves the original files on the separate computers and connects them via a symlink in Dropbox.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.1
1 answer(s)
zo219
zo219
07 June 2012
LANsync doesn't work that way?
Like
Gweed
25 March 2011
I used MacDropAny and added two folders to Dropbox on my desktop Mac. I have waited 2 days for those folders to show up on my MacBookAir and they still haven't. After the first 24 hours I realized that one of the folders had too many files in it for my first "test" run and I removed it from Dropbox by simply deleting it. So far I see no signs of syncing to my MBAir. I have no idea why. Any thoughts or ideas are welcome.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Zibity
Zibity
29 June 2011
Gweed, I'm sorry about my delay in replying to you. If this issue is still happening, please feel free to come over to the MacDropAny forum thread on the Dropbox forums to ask for help: http://forums.dropbox.com/topic.php?id=30012 Thanks, Sebastian
Like
Ean
16 February 2011
So, what does this do that Dropbox doesn't do already?
Like (3)
Version 1.5
4 answer(s)
Calamita
Calamita
21 March 2011
Good question. It creates something like an alias, so you can sync folders that aren't actually in your Dropbox folder. Macworld just reviewed it here... http://tinyurl.com/4a3m9tb
Like (2)
Ean
Ean
21 March 2011
Ah, so a better description might say "Eases the creation of symbolic links." Got it.
Like (4)
Yashrg
Yashrg
07 August 2011
I wonder if the folders outside of the dropbox folder still count towards total storage used on dropbox account.
Like
matrixbud
matrixbud
05 September 2011
Be very, very careful using symlinks with Dropbox. When it is time buy a new computer and migrate your files over, the symlink connection can get lost and then Dropbox loses the backup. This recently happened to me and to compound the problem, Apple's Migration Assistant did not transfer some of the original files. I lost lots and lots of data this way. When I checked with Dropbox support, they said they do not support symlinks. You can use them but at your own risk.
Like (15)