Back to VidConvert page
VidConvert free download for Mac

VidConvert Reviews

1.7.2
27 February 2017

Simple and easy video and audio converter.

Old-Peter
03 March 2011

Most helpful

Converted files do not play on my iPod. Guess Vidconvert cannot make stream video files. Handbreak is way better for converting and free.
Like (7)
Version 1.0.1

Read 57 VidConvert User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mshep2
15 October 2018
I've been using a paid version of VidConvert for some time now and it has worked well. However, recently it kept asking me to reinstall ffmpeg. No matter what I did, it kept asking. Now it does not work at all. After installing ffmpeg according to instructions, it refuses to convert but instead asks again for me to install a conversion engine. Maybe a problem with Sierra? I can't find anything online how to fix it so I had to use Terminal to convert something with ffmpeg. Would have been 4 or 5 stars before but now I can only give 3 for old time's sake.
Like
Version 1.7.2
2 answer(s)
Mibrilane
Mibrilane
05 November 2018
A fix to this issue is to copy the ffmpeg file into User/Library/Application Support/VidConvert - worked for me.
Like
Dadrepus
Dadrepus
12 October 2019
Original author dead. I don't know who has picked it but Reggie is no more. email support and maybe someone will reply.
Like
Version 1.7.2
RJC.NJNYC
14 November 2017
Works good and fast, although I have not compared to other similar software. Only complaint is getting message that Conversion Engine outdated, but the latest Conversion Engine seems to have not been updated, so I keep getting the message to update, even though I have the latest Conversion Engine
Like
Version 1.7.2
Polak
15 September 2015
Very basic converter with mixed results. Converted movies sometimes have choppy playback and audio gets out of sync. Compared to the free Handbrake, file sizes are also cumbersome with this converter. In general the file size is way to big for the same quality achieved with Handbrake. I see no reason to pay for something crippled and delivering poor quality or too big files.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.1
Wts
30 June 2015
I download movie files and then convert them to TS files to burn as a DVD to be played on our DVD/TV player. My brother requires those movie files to show subtitles because in addition to some hearing loss he claims and i sometimes agree many actors today mumble their words or at times conversations take place off screen. Hope this version of VidConvert fixes a bug that bugs me. For some technical reason this app does not capture subtitles that are embedded in the file or even better allow adding subtitles which other video converting apps allow. However, I still rate this app a high five when i have to convert movie files to DVD that have no subtitles available at the time..
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Reggie Ashworth
Reggie Ashworth
02 July 2015
Thanks for the review and yes not all subtitles are supported at this time. You can try using Copy Subtitles in the Advanced panel to see if that helps you. For further assistance please get in touch via my website. Thanks!
Like
Alvin-H
08 January 2015
i love this app, it's simple, and works. (and it works with audio to), i like handbrake but it not do audio, i like other free app (it do audio to) but i can't update the engine as easy as vidconvert. I get mail if vidconvert on discount on mac app store, so i just bought it without thinking, (even after that i realised small difference to non mac App Store (it can't convert .vod and no auto safe to source folder) but that not a problem for me. Conversion run smoothly , i did 9 movie conversion, fast enough , and the result is good, i tried 1 audio conversion without problem at all. Just try it, i won't disappoint you.
Like
Version 1.5.4
1 answer(s)
Reggie Ashworth
Reggie Ashworth
02 July 2015
Much appreciated :-)
Like
Bleech-Jef
01 October 2014
Basic converter that works if you need to convert to idevices. I did have problems when adding movie files with odd characters in the filename. That always creates files with no content. Free this would be good but paying $8 is too much. I would suggest using Handbrake.
Like
Version 1.5.4
Mrtomato
21 September 2014
I just wanted to say that I like this application a lot but the one thing it needs is a setting to keep the specs for the original file (i.e. dimensions, bit rate, frame rate, etc.). It's kind of a pain to have to add all of that information manually, particularly if you want to convert a batch of files. Maybe there's an easier way to do this. If there is, please tell me!
Like
Version 1.5.3
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
27 September 2014
Hi there! Basically it should do this, but could you get in touch with me via email so I could ask you some specifics? Thanks!
Like
Nimai-pandit
30 July 2014
I feel lucky to have this app. It has a nice clean interface. It works well. And the options are very useful. I've never used the advanced options but I am sure they are very useful for those who need them. This is my single go-to app for converting anything. Other apps convert either video or audio—but this does it all. Thanks for a solid app Reggie!
Like
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
22 August 2014
Thank you :-)
Like
reggie-ashworth
22 October 2013
Hi this is Reggie the developer of VidConvert. Just a heads-up that Version 1.5 is out and fully Mavericks compatible (backwards compatible with Lion/Mountain Lion). Support for older versions has been dropped in order to more easily bring advancements to users with newer OS versions (previous versions however can still be downloaded via my site or the link above). For any questions, etc. just head on over to my site (reggieashworth.com) and email me thanks!
Like
Version 1.5
2 answer(s)
Geoff6
Geoff6
08 September 2014
And for the 40% of mac users who are still on 10.6 and don't want to be on other caged animals? I was a longtime firm supporter of Vidconvert... goodbye Reggie.
Like
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
08 September 2014
Sorry for the confusion but you can still download VidConvert via my site which will run on Leopard or higher (under Other Versions - http://www.reggieashworth.com/vidconvert). There also used to be a link here on MacUpdate I will contact them to add it back right away. Let me know if I can assist further thanks!
Like
Sgt-Bob-IE
21 October 2013
Nice and simple tool. Could really do with the option to pick audio streams. But does a great job in general.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
22 October 2013
Thanks!
Like
Hilbo60
04 March 2013
Just purchased this for the ridiculously low price of £2.47 GBP, at this price it was worth a gamble I thought. Have to say that up to now, so far so good, just encoded a couple of short flash movies as fast as lightning and now encoding a ripped Blu-Ray, (35.89Gb) for which the app is showing a projected time of 1hr:5min, this same file took over 4hrs using Handbrake! Also looking at the preview, quality looks really good, will come back and give this a proper rating after some more testing, but it's looking good!
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
22 October 2013
Thanks!
Like
GeogProf
06 February 2013
This once had promise, but its halfassed developers have really dropped the ball in the last six months to a year.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.1
Hanssen-P
21 January 2013
Didn't know about this converter. I wasn't impressed by the ui but looks can be deceiving so I gave it a shot. The first .mkv file I dragged into Vidconvert result in the much hated spinning beach ball for seconds and then shows in the list. Selected to convert to iPhone Retina. Got the message it only encodes 3 minutes which is fine for testing purposes. It took about < 1sec to encode this 3 minutes which is very fast. But the encoded file had zero bytes. Not good. Tried converting the same file to a bunch of other formats .. all the same .. zero bytes files. Tried a simple .mov file and again the iPhone retina format. This time it took a bit longer and the file was actually playable. I say "playable" because it suffers from unstable framerate and stuttering. Not good. Next test: dragged an .avi file into Vidconvert. Converted to Divx format. It took a very long time to only encode 3 minutes. The encoded movie seems to be ok except the audio output had much lower volume compared to the source. Didn't look into the advanced options so maybe this is fixable. Last test was a .mp4 file to DVD-Pal. The vob file Vidconvert created was playable with VLC but again with framerate stuttering and the display aspect ratio was totally wrong. I got 4:3 instead of 16:9 This app is flawed and is unusable in my experience. The free Handbrake does the same with good results.
Like (3)
Version 1.4
leamanc
17 January 2013
Quite simply, this is the best tool I have found for this job. It is the easiest to use, processes files fast, and has a nice interface. I've tried many, many tools for video conversion in the past. They all had their ups and downs -- the worst of the worst being inconsistent output -- but I had finally settled on Avi2Demux for a long time. But that particular app had become unstable on Mac, so I had resorted to using it on my Linux box, or firing up Parallels to use the Windows build. Now I can finally dump Avi2Demux altogether, as this app does the job and does it even better. If you are going to convert videos on even a semi-irregular basis, this is well worth the $8. (Yes, it is based on ffmpeg, so there are free alternatives out there that use the same thing, but ffmpeg can be a complicated beast, and this app takes all the guesswork out of harnessing the power of ffmpeg.)
Like (2)
Version 1.3.3
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
22 October 2013
Much appreciated!
Like
Old-Peter
24 September 2012
FYI: Almost same icon as Wondershare Video converter. If I am not mistaken Wondershare had this icon first.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Geoff6
04 June 2012
I love this app. Its so easy to use and i have had very few problems with it. The developer has an open ear for complaints and acts quickly to respond or rectify problems.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
22 October 2013
Thank you!
Like
Is there a good reason why my review has been removed? I mean, I was just pointing out all the problems it still has after trillion updates and the devs ignores those problems. I have send the devs 2 mails - which are not replied to. My rating of 2 stars is still valid for the latest release.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Scotty-Beam-Me-Up-Again
Scotty-Beam-Me-Up-Again
04 May 2012
@Devs: Here is a step-by-step for some problems: - Use any mkv file as source with at least 30minutes playtime. Convert to any preset. It will only convert the first two minutes but when playing back the end of the two minutes it is out of sync everytime. - Use any prores source file and convert it to any preset: it will have YUV errors in most media players. - It also locks randomly. I tried other ffmpeg versions but same happens. My conclusion: it is buggy - period. - -
Like (2)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
06 May 2012
Hello, I've actually been in contact with the developer, and he claims that he has not received any emails from you. Because of that fact, it seemed like it might be possible that you had some other objective for bringing down this listing's star rating, hence the fact that I removed your previous comment. My apologies if I acted prematurely. I'm not trying to accuse you of anything: This is probably just a misunderstanding. What email address have you been sending those support requests to? I'm sure we can figure out what is going on here and get the developer to address your concerns. Warren Mills Web Content Manager MacUpdate LLC
Like (2)
PorkPieHat
29 February 2012
Getting better.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Reggie Ashworth
Reggie Ashworth
01 March 2012
Thanks I appreciate it!
Like (1)
Scotty-Beam-Me-Up-Again
23 February 2012
Every time a new update arises I put some energy into it to give it swirl. If I should give it a percentage how many good/watchable/playable movies it creates I am forced to tell you it is less then 25% Sometimes it just seems to hang and this action mostly results in a blank file. Other times the image quality is average. It struggles with source files with multi channel audio streams. Two times the end result had a wrong YUV format. It keeps spitting out non-smooth playing end results. They mostly/always stutter at some point. I hate that. A movies is intended to playback smoothly without any stuttering. Even if it only occurs every now and then. The developer tries to make it a good converter but it simply only copes with simple source material. Ones some more advanced features as multi audio channels, subs and non standard YUVs are kicking in it doesn't deliver. 'bout merging of files -- The encoded final result has timestamp problems in most tries. Seeing the application uses the libavcodec aka ffmpeg, the developer needs to dig into -- how to use ffmpeg correctly -- asap! I just cannot recommend this app at this stage. Back to handbrake for me. Always creates usable movies without any hassle at all. And handbrake is free too. Figures.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1
OsloX
30 January 2012
Good user interface but results are below average. Has many issues with 5.1 audio videos. Some didn't convert, some had awful sound quality. It claims Prores support, but this latest version with latest engine does not converted any Prores files I tried. Some converted the first seconds and stopped promptly. In the end a worthless converter. Handbrake is way better, free and always produces perfect quality.
Like
Version 1.2
Flavs
15 December 2011
Great app, easy to use, and good value. Well done.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Marco-2
15 November 2011
I cannot get this tool to work. It just doesn't do anything. I installed the engine correctly - I think.
Like
Version 1.1.4
Jason-Milles-76
18 October 2011
I give up. This new version still spits out 0KB files when you throw mkv files at it. Well, one mkv file did convert but could not be played on my LG. With VLC it played but playback wasn't smooth. Most probably it seems to struggle with timestamps. It works for mp4 files but it has similar issues with not playing smooth with VLC. Again timestamps are the problem and jerky framerates. mkv is basically a standard container and for me a must have. No good mkv support = no money
Like (4)
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Jason-Milles-76
Jason-Milles-76
18 October 2011
btw the free Evom works perfect.
Like (2)
reggie-ashworth
11 October 2011
Just a note to say that I will be looking into the reports below of VidConvert creating a 0kb file. If anyone experiences this please do send me an email via my website so that I can investigate. Thanks!
Like
Version 1.1.2
Jason-Milles-76
01 October 2011
In the hope 1.1.2 has been improved it was a big disappointment to see it now only creates non playable movies. Yes I use your latest 'Converting enging aka ffmpeg'. Some other things I really dislike: Get rid of the hud options screen. It is a mess and not very readable. hud screens was a hype when it was released but a good dev doesnt used it. Get rid of the ugly progressbar-pie-shart. A small default progressbar would do the job much better Get rid of the 3 minutes limit for us to try. Sorry, not good
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
Jude22
01 October 2011
With version 1.1.2 of VidConvert comes some crucial bug fixes that make this little app shine. I now find that while I own "ultimate" converters that cost as much as $69.99 that most of the time it is just simpler to use this capable little app. Several reviews below address bugs in installation from earlier versions or problems that made it hard to see how fine this app works. Reggie has rapidly responded by fixing those problems for good and optimizing the video bitrates for the codecs, optimizing the speed and performance of previewing, joining (stitching together) clips and putting the finished clip in the correct output folder. Virtually all known issues have been address in my opinion. Now, all an interested user need do is download it, try it, like it as I do and then buy it!
Like
Version 1.1.2
2 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
01 October 2011
@Jude22 (above) - I appreciate the kind words and yes I am working hard to pack more and more into VidConvert while keeping it simple to use for everyone. Your feedback helps me to constantly improve. @Maximas (below) - While there is always the possibility of a problem honestly I have not had these kinds of issues reported to me and I would not expect you to have this trouble. My apologies and please do email me about this because unfortunately I can't fix something that can't be reproduced based on a comment here alone. Thanks!
Like
Maximas
Maximas
01 October 2011
I did tried 1.1.2 to no reveal. Sometimes it works (with not-so-good quality compared to Handbrake) and sometimes it is not - ended up with a 0kb file. FYI I only tried mkv files with 5.1 audio. About audio sync issues. Enabling the 'Fix audio sync' didn't help either. If you are in need in a simple converter - then give Evom a try - it is free. Handbrake and Iffmpeg are the best when you need some sort of control of what you try to achieve.
Like
Maximas
30 September 2011
Didn't noticed this converter before. First time i tried - it presented a error telling me something is missing (add a file) but there was already a file. Bummer. Then I got a message only thee minutes for trial. Bummer. Sorry to say but I cannot test your app with this limitation. I tried several movies to convert - some resulted in 0kb files?!? The ones that got converted did not play smoothly with QT (skipping frames et all). Two converted files had audio sync issues and showed block artifacts?!? Sorry to say - in its present form it does not work as advertised.
Like
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
Jason-Milles-76
Jason-Milles-76
01 October 2011
After reading this I checked the non playing movies Vidconverter created. The filesize was 0KB. Figures why it didn't play.
Like
Anakin~mac
18 September 2011
Great video convert utility. Very easy to use and provides enough customize options.
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
28 September 2011
Thank you I appreciate it!
Like
Peripheral
15 September 2011
Pretty great software & an awesome developer! Great communication.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
20 September 2011
I appreciate that thanks!
Like
Geoff6
15 September 2011
Vidconvert just keeps getting better. It allows a non techy with little video knowledge like me to get what i need done in a simple clear way. Personally, I could not care less what it calls ffmpeg if it does the job. The developer is courteous, no judgmental and quick to reply to my questions.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
16 September 2011
I appreciate it and in response to the post below everything is explained clearly on my site. And as always I'm just an email away thanks! Reggie
Like (1)
Jason-Milles-76
14 September 2011
The dev has renamed FFmpeg to 'Conversion Engine'? Shame on you! Nuffsaid, Vidconvert is another FFmpeg converter but it cannot compete with the leading converters Handbrake, VisualHUB and iFFmpeg. Not worth paying for.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
reggie-ashworth
14 September 2011
Just a quick note to say that Version 1.1.1 has been released which fixes a potential crash for old users depending on how their preferences were setup. For any questions just let me know and hope everyone enjoys the new update! :-) Reggie
Like
Version 1.1.1
MargaretRolens
18 August 2011
Good performance
Like (1)
Version 1.0.6
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
19 August 2011
Thank you Margaret and stay tuned there is much more coming soon! :-)
Like
reggie-ashworth
21 June 2011
Hi everyone! Just wanted to post saying that I've been reading all the comments here and listening to your feedback and have a lot of things in store for VidConvert. Your feedback will help make VidConvert the best it can be. As a note...if there is a problem (such as a few posters have mentioned) please do get in touch with me via my website and let me know so that I can find out what's really happening. Any issues will be dealt with promptly. Thanks for using VidConvert! :-) Sincerely, Reggie the Developer
Like (1)
Version 1.0.6
Bleech-Jef
16 June 2011
Maybe I was spoiled when I used Windows because there are plenty of good Windows xvid converters. As a new iMac owner I am looking for a workable converter. avi and xvid are important codecs for me. The converted Xvid files VidConvert created didn't play on two of my Xvid hardware players. With the fantastic VLC software player it worked ok but had several hickups in playback. But what staggers me the most, it didn't created real Xvid files. Only the video tag has been changes to xvid but the core is mpeg2video in a avi container. This explains why it cannot be played on hardware decoders. Concl. this is my first converter I tried for Mac OSX and though I liked the simple interface, it cannot convince me to buy it because it doesn't work well enough for xvid. Will try some other Mac OSX converters and see what happens. If anyone has any suggestions, let me know.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.6
DJSquint
15 June 2011
after reading a small review at macgem I took a shot at this app but it was a very disappointing journey. After the dreadfull install instructions it managed to get it working. Dropped several h264 files on it, set it to iphone preset and let it do its work. The files didn't play on my iphone4. Tried several other presets. ipod preset worked but the quality was not good. aspect ratios showed wronly too. i tried many things to get it do better quality but failed everytime this is a time waster. handbrake is free and does it perfectly without any issues not good, sorry
Like (5)
Version 1.0.6
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
15 June 2011
Hi there, Thank you for your review and my apologies for any trouble. There are currently no known issues for anything as general as H.264 or the iPhone/iPod presets. If you could get in touch with me via my website I would be happy to investigate this promptly. Thanks! Reggie the Developer
Like (1)
Old-Peter
14 June 2011
This actaully a frontend for ffmpeg. You have to compile or download a ffmpeg first. The deveveloper calls this a engine which is not correct and misleading too. Anyways, it lacks many options to make it usefull for advanced users. Didn't like some mkv I dropped and freezed. Actaully the ffmpeg in background freezed. I prefer iffmpeg and handbrake. Both are way better in both usability and results.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
15 June 2011
Hi Old_guy, Thank you for your review. Yes VidConvert uses FFmpeg and I try to make it as easy as possible for all users to install without confusing them. And yes I will be adding more and more features for advanced users while still trying to keep things simple for others. Regarding the .mkv file generally speaking there should be no issues so if you would be willing to contact me via my website I would like to find out more about this issue. Also in the past you mentioned something about files converted to the iPod format and again if you could contact me regarding this it would be great since there are no known issues that I'm aware of. Thanks Old_guy! Sincerely, Reggie Ashworth
Like
LizBo
13 June 2011
One of the few converters to date with 64-bit support. Easy to use, very fast conversions compared to my old trusty workhorse VisualHub. I have not encountered any problems so far using VidConvert. Great tool for the arsenal. Between VidConvert and Permute I can finally say R.I.P to the defunct VisualHub.
Like
Version 1.0.5
2 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
14 June 2011
Thank you for the review and if you'd ever like to give additional feedback feel free to stop by my site and send an email. Thanks!
Like
Old-Peter
Old-Peter
14 June 2011
First 64bit is not better when converting media files, mostly slower. Secondly, vidconvert maybe 64bit but it doesnt does the actaul converting tasks. It depends which ffmpeg version you use. I can highly recommend trying handbrake (free) and or iffmpeg ($10). Both are the masters at converting.
Like
DelportF
23 May 2011
To make this work you have to go to the applications website. Search for instructions and download some sort of engine. That isn't very user unfriendly at all. End results are bad. I get vertical color bars and other strange artifacts when converting to the iPod preset. Useless for me. Sorry. Back to Handbrake which is free and much much much better.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.4
2 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
24 May 2011
Hello Delport, My apologies for any trouble. Yes you need to complete a one-time setup which should take about a minute and absolutely you should not be getting any vertical bars or artifacts when converting to iPod. If you could contact me via my website I would be happy to assist you promptly because if something is not working properly I will make sure it gets fixed. Thanks Delport! Reggie the Developer
Like
LizBo
LizBo
13 June 2011
DelportF you have to download something for most good converters. Including Handbrake. I don't know who you are trying to fool with your lies but it's not working. Also I tried a conversion to iPod and saw no artifacts or vertical color bars which makes me think even less of your useless review.
Like
Stephen-Borisoff
11 May 2011
This little app is a sweet blockbuster. I want to make my opinion clear. I like the pie chart 'progress bar"...simple and neat! Numbers, so what? Also, there are presets already. As far as retaining settings, when it comes to converting practically all media clips from YouTube and the Web (which is only one thing this mighty little app can do), the user will discover that clips never are consistently the same in their advanced settings downloainded from the Tube. Yet Reggie Ashworth can easily set up some defaults in the Advanced palette. Many users who have not canvased the Mac market can not appreciate what Reggie has packed in this little guy, like a media properties palette and enough filetypes for many devices and media players and QuickTime and iTunes at only a very low price!!! Great job, Reggie! I give it a 5 in every respect though I know Reggie will do more in the future like perhaps the ability to actually "live" view clips while doing edits and cropping precedures. If not, the app still is a mind blower as it is.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.3
2 answer(s)
Stephen-Borisoff
Stephen-Borisoff
11 May 2011
P.S. The reason that Reggie is getting 5 star ratings now in version 1.03 is that some bugs have been fixed since I climbed on board with his app. Reggie is way too honorable to have people write reviews for him. The product stands on its own. It is simple, powerful and what it cannot do does not reduce its five star rating because it does things without pretending to cost very much cash!!!
Like (1)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
13 May 2011
Thanks Stephen I appreciate it!
Like
Kotos03
18 March 2011
Just a thought but in future versions would it be possible to set something up so your settings could be retained from session to session? Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
19 March 2011
Absolutely! This along with saved presets are already in the works. Thanks for letting me know!
Like
Geoff6
16 March 2011
I was looking for a replacement for VisualHub which is sadly no longer alive. Vidconvert is simple to use, does what it says it will do and is very reasonably priced. The developer is very quick to reply on support issues.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
18 March 2011
I do appreciate the kind words thanks!
Like (1)
Kotos03
15 March 2011
Get rid of the pie chart - it blows. How about something numerical? Shows promise.
Like
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
15 March 2011
Thanks for the feedback. It could be numerical and I'll keep this in mind. I appreciate it! Reggie
Like
Old-Peter
03 March 2011
Converted files do not play on my iPod. Guess Vidconvert cannot make stream video files. Handbreak is way better for converting and free.
Like (7)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Old-Peter
Old-Peter
03 March 2011
Can the dev explain why all 5 star reviews are from new users? I bet he is writting the reviews himself.
Like (6)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
03 March 2011
Thanks for the feedback Old_guy. If you would be willing to contact me via www.reggieashworth.com I would really be interested in hearing the specifics about what video would not play on your iPod. About the reviews I honestly don't know who writes them and it's definitely not myself. My apologies that it seems that way and I can assure you that feedback whether good or bad, and whether here at MacUpdate or another site is followed closely and I consider it all helpful in making VidConvert better and better with each release. Thanks again for the feedback and hope to hear from you... Sincerely, Reggie the Developer
Like (3)
MacnaggerV1
01 March 2011
i really appreciate the work that went in to this as it make things simple for converting videos i tryed odd formats like indeo 5 and it converts with no problem same for wmv well at least for me also to me the gui is pleasing only 2 issues which are rather features requests are missing 1. Ability to create a user defined presents i usually stick to one format for converting my videos for compatibility reasons though i may use others at some point. 2.Also when it come to the conversion engine download is it possible for you to take a step out of iffmpeg book so when i user drag the ffmpeg library in to the main window of vidconvert for it to be added that way would be easier for alot of peopl.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
02 March 2011
Thank you for the feedback! For both feature requests yes this can/will happen in the future. There are a lot of things going on with the development of VidConvert and I am listening closely to all feedback. I appreciate you letting me know and thanks again... Reggie
Like (1)
Stephen-Borisoff
16 February 2011
Reggie Ashworth just put out 1.1. The VidConvert is Sweet! It has more robust bitrates in the high quality auto settings for mp4, h.264, mov, etc. and the settings are adequate for the audio file types mp3, m4a and wav. The advanced mode lets you home in on the perfect numbers and another neat panel as the qualities of the source video. The audio bitrates could be made a little more robust but using the codecs in iffmeg, I don't think it his problem. Where another product I know has many more filetypes, what I see is that for the Mac and sending the most important filetypes over to the PC, here are the perfect handful of filetypes. The value and ease of use stars on this site seem to not let me give Reggie 5's, but the app deserves 5's on these scores. Reggie's app is much handsomer than people in this comment list think it is. The new release of 1.1 today fixes a lot of issues. Reggie is just so open to improving this app. Because this app is getting so good so fast and because you can convert simply or convert to the max, I strongly recommend his new release which raises his work 1000%. If you need a good basic, high quality converter which aims right at what you actually need for the Mac, this one is a fine, well tuned little guy that really works great. I say "Buy it!"
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
16 February 2011
@ Stephen I appreciate the kind words and feedback. VidConvert will continue to see regular updates, add new features, and fix bugs as needed. I read all feedback here and both positive and negative will be used to shape VidConvert and allow it to mature over time. Thank you very much!
Like
Hendricx
15 February 2011
This app forces you to download a so called 'Conversion Engine'. This seems to be an (illegal?) ffmpeg file. Why is the dev hiding he is using avlibs with codecs he may not use without permission? Tried it anyway: Dragging a .dv file didn't work. Dragging a .vdr file didn't work. Dragging a .evo file didn't work. Dragging a .avi worked but converting to mp4, quality was not very good. Especially audio didn't sound very well (too low samplerate?) A .mkv with 5.1 audio did not convert at all. I stopped trying after this. Its clearly in alpha stage and needs a lot of work before it is actually usable. What stumbles me the most is the dev is already asking money for this. Shame on you !
Like (5)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
15 February 2011
Hello Hendricx, I appreciate very much your honest feedback. I can assure you there is nothing hidden about VidConvert. And my apologies that you had some conversions that were not successful. I will definitely be looking into these issues and if you would be willing to chat further I can be reached anytime via the Support page on my website. Your feedback can help to make VidConvert better. Hope to hear from you Hendricx and I can assure you that any bugs will be addressed promptly. Thanks again! Sincerely, Reggie the Developer
Like
reggie-ashworth
09 February 2011
Hi this is Reggie the Developer of VidConvert. Thought I'd post here to mention I will have an update coming soon to address a few issues mentioned below. And then VidConvert will continue to see regular updates. As always for any questions or support I can be reached via my website anytime. Thanks! Reggie
Like
Version 1.0
Michael-Sebrecht
02 February 2011
Converted a couple of files. 1 .ts file didn't work, 1 .mpg got stuck after about 25% converting, 3 .mov did convert but quality was very bad. One couldn't be played with the QT player because of audio synchronization problems.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
03 February 2011
Thank you for your feedback it's very much appreciated. I will be looking into these things you have mentioned. If you would like to provide any more detailed info please stop by my site and send an email and I would be happy to discuss this with you. Thanks again and rest assured that any needed fixes will come soon...
Like
Greedyfranky
01 February 2011
It is a bit too thin on features to cope with all the other converters imo. And most comparable apps are even free too. On top of this, the quality is not very good atm. This needs a big boost in the next version. Also struggles with 5.1 .mov files I tried. Conclusion: Not recommended atm For me there are two converters that stand out: 1) Handbrake is already very good and hard to match. 2) If you need more codecs, bells and whistles, iFFmpeg is clearly the best atm (though not free but very cheap). Another thing I noticed: Why are most 5 star ratings of new users with only one review? Very suspicious. ;-)
Like (3)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
reggie-ashworth
reggie-ashworth
02 February 2011
@Greedyfranky I very much appreciate the feedback and yes there will be constant updates/improvements/features added with future releases. If you ever wanted to give additional feedback and would like to stop by my site and send me an email I'd be happy to discuss things further. Thanks again! :-)
Like