Back to iPlayer+ page
iPlayer+ free download for Mac

iPlayer+ Reviews

3.0
16 December 2011

Download TV and radio shows to your Mac.

Eyebrows
02 February 2011

Most helpful

Excellent app! Brilliant at downloading BBC Video content. Thanks for the development work! (Except - I could not get it to download any radio content. Am I being a bit thick? I went to preferences and selected radio also. But nada... - Anyone had any luck with radio?)
Like (4)
Version 0.0.3

Read 18 iPlayer+ User Reviews

Rate this app:

Cybercat-Hk
02 April 2013
Was great but unfortunately hasn't worked at all for me now, for a few weeks. Developer's website also seems to be MIA - "Site not found"
Like (1)
Version 3.0
rayj
11 December 2011
Easy to use and a good interface. Works well 90% of the time but occasionally finds a programme it can't download. I've not had that problem with iPlayer Automator.
Like
Version 2.0.2
W-g
01 December 2011
The downloads work great, even in HD. However they no longer play in iTunes or even get into iTunes. I can go Open, click on the .mp4 file and nothing. Used to work. The developer's webpage has this question in the troubleshooting section but the link goes no where. I'd really love to give them some money if I could watch these shows on my AppleTV. Any ideas?
Like
Version 2.0.2
ric0ric
30 November 2011
Works so much better than iPlayer downloader or iPlayer grabber. Series link is also a big plus. Well done to this team!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
finepics
10 November 2011
Works nicely for me and so much quicker than the Beebs own iPlayer Desktop (which for various reasons I have to route through a VPN). Incidentally the latest version of Aunty Beebs app won't launch at all now and Adobe Air won't update either - Safari problem methinks!! GUI is a touch primitive but easy enough to use and nice that it saves in mp4 so I can stream straight to my TV via PS3 using PS3 Media Server (another great free app). So apart from maybe some GUI tweaks in future updates I can't think of any reason not to be chuffed to bits, especially since it's free.
Like
Version 2.0.2
3 answer(s)
zo219
zo219
21 January 2012
Let me guess. You're British, aren't you.
Like
finepics
finepics
21 January 2012
I am indeed British. Bye the way occasionally programs will fail to download due to a "failed or bad proxy". When this happens submit the report as the app asks and wait a couple of days for the proxies to be updated. This happens when the BBC makes changes and is not the fault of the app. Get Iplayer Automator has now added ITV programs so hopefully this app will follow suit.
Like
Derekjab
Derekjab
26 May 2012
Methinks you might actually be English rather than British. Wouldn't want to lump you in with the Celtic hordes.
Like
4two4
05 September 2011
Works for me!. This app does what it says on the tin. In the UK we pay a license fee hence the content is available for viewing up to a week online, but what this (free) app does is allow you to take that content and view when not connected to the net especially useful on an iOS device. The only other thing I'd like to have is the ability to receive the HD streams as opposed to SD although better than nothing would be on my wish list. Thanks to the developer for posting this a free app.
Like
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Semiotek
Semiotek
05 September 2011
Look more carefully at Settings>Formats…
Like
Semiotek
Semiotek
05 September 2011
Make that Preferences>Formats…
Like (1)
4two4
4two4
05 September 2011
Thanks Semiotek, that did the trick.
Like
Jimw
04 September 2011
Just finished reading previous comments and visiting their website. My conclusions: - Site looks like it is just in its infancy as pages are missing, including support and some pages display HTML code and indexes ftp style. - There is a 'Store' tab which leads me to believe the products will not be free once they are fully developed - iPlayer is designed primarily for the UK media and the rest of the download tools seem oriented for the European market. - Did not examine the App that turns your screen into a 'flashlight' as do not own a portable device. However my gut feeling on this is that it is a awful waste of battery and pixel life except in very unusual circumstances or emergencies. Hopefully my comments will enable readers to make more informed decisions about this developers products before spending time to download and trying them out.
Like
Version 2.0
W-g
04 September 2011
Version 2 crashes at start. Version 1.02 works just fine. I am running OS 10.6.8. Perhaps this should be looked at by the developer. I am only leaving this comment here because there is no obvious way to do it on their webpage.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
05 September 2011
*NOTE* Version 2 is ONLY for Mac OS X 10.7 Lion. (You can verify this at the developer's website). You MUST use version 1.0.2 for Leopard or Snow Leopard. That is why v2 it is crashing on 10.6.8.
Like
Djmouse
19 June 2011
This crashed the first time I used it!
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Gordonmacd
16 June 2011
Used to work for me well until last week. Now I only get "Initialising..." for a couple of minutes, then a crash. (Trying to download Radio 3 programmes)
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Gordonmacd
Gordonmacd
18 June 2011
Update: after a system restart, it worked again. So I'd give another star for functionality (only app of it's type currently working for me for radio). But the interface...
Like (1)
Whisperquiet
06 June 2011
Getting better each release. It does what is says it'll do - but the user interface? Like the other reviews ... The UI need some extra effort in layout and design.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Elijahg0
05 June 2011
Terrible interface, the instructions on the main screen to press the play button to add a program to the queue is just completely wrong. There's not really a proper list view, the queue is just a the series name with empty grey window under it. Looks really odd. Seems the coding's pretty poor too, upon trying to download an episode of Top Gear, the app crashed. Even with other shows, I've not been able to download anything successfully. It seems it's got a few handy features, just a shame nothing works...
Like (1)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Mspanola
Mspanola
05 June 2011
i'd have to say check your settings. I was able to download both a radio and TV program without any problems. Like everyone else, I think the interface could use work but it's not quite as appalling as I was expecting based on what I read here.
Like (2)
Elijahg0
Elijahg0
05 June 2011
Ah-ha, I tried it again, and hidden away in the preferences was the download location... It was set to /TV Shows, no idea how but that was causing it to crash as /TV Shows doesn't exist. To the dev, a quick check whether the directory exists when trying to write to it would prevent the app crashing... Now that's resolved, the app downloads no problem. Unfortunately MU doesn't allow editing, so I can't change my rating. If I could, I'l probably give 3 stars overall, with 3 on features, 2 on ease of use, 4 on value and 2 on stability.
Like (3)
Perrycomo
03 May 2011
Hmm.. the interface if pretty poor. The idea is pretty cool, you can set up series links, delay the downloads so your not tying up your connection but the interface really does let it down. I was left guessing what to do, most of the time I was randomly pressing buttons :) The one thing this does have going for it that iPlayer downloader and iPlayer grabber is that it's still working. These two stopped working a while ago. To the developer, sort out the interface and you are onto a real winner.
Like
Version 0.0.6.1
Macnerd1984
29 April 2011
Shockingly bad interface. It's pretty comical - If you click any of the progress indicators in the queue before downloading the indicator fills to where you click it! Poor use of icons and bad layout too (for instance, two similar "reload" type icons - Bad idea). That said, it's currently downloading the whole series of Spiral without any bother, so despite the interface it seems to be working fine. It shows promise, so I really hope that the author continues work on it to make it more user-friendly and polished. There are some useful options in the Preferences section too. Alternatives like iPlayer Grabber and iPlayer Downloader are far more together in terms of their interfaces, but suffer the opposite issue in that very often they stop working after a while (BBC Website changes?) or only download some programmes. Ultimately, that's no use, so this app could well be the one I stick with. I'm assuming that due to the version, this is a very early release, and considered in that light the interface issues aren't a big deal.
Like
Version 0.0.6.1
2 answer(s)
scorps26
scorps26
12 May 2011
Wow...I am appalled. This is FREE and you are slamming the author. I find this amazing easy to use so i suggest if you dont like it, you could always write your own program.
Like (2)
Macnerd1984
Macnerd1984
08 June 2011
You're appalled? You're appalled that I offered a critique of an app, and because it is free I didn't just say that everything about it was amazing? Where exactly was I "Slamming" the author? Do you write for the National Enquirer? "SHOCK! FREE APP AUTHOR SLAMMED BY MU MEMBER; MAN'S ENTIRE LIFE IS OVER! "I'LL NEVER WORK AGAIN!"" The whole idea of reviews is that people can comment on what they like/dislike about the app. If we take your point to the logical conclusion then there would be no point in even having a review option for free apps, since we apparently have no right to have a negative opinion on them due to them being offered at no cost. You totally ignored the 2nd part of my review, and the closing line, so it's hard to take your whining that seriously. Read them again.... Two other reviews (at least) also commented on the poor interface, so I'm hardly alone. Offering feedback to devs is what helps them write better apps, which in turn allows them to hopefully one day get them to the point where they can earn some money for their work by making the product worth charging for. If this was more polished and some of the rough edges sorted I'd be more than happy to pay for it. By contrast, your apparently black and white view of the whole issue surely means that a dev would rarely hear any constructive criticism of their apps, and therefore may not fix or improve their issues, no? If I'd have called the dev a pr1ck and said that everything he wrote was sh1t, then you'd be justified in calling me out on it, but I offered honest feedback about what I did and didn't like, so where's the harm? Seems you got your knickers in a twist over it more than the dev did...
Like
scorps26
28 April 2011
So easy to use. Staying in touch with back home again!!
Like (2)
Version 0.0.6.1
procnforce
24 April 2011
Excellent! Downloading the new series of Doctor Who right now :)
Like (3)
Version 0.0.5
Eyebrows
02 February 2011
Excellent app! Brilliant at downloading BBC Video content. Thanks for the development work! (Except - I could not get it to download any radio content. Am I being a bit thick? I went to preferences and selected radio also. But nada... - Anyone had any luck with radio?)
Like (4)
Version 0.0.3
1 answer(s)
Eyebrows
Eyebrows
02 February 2011
Actually - Radio Works now! Cool (It did not work with version 0.0.2) Thanks
Like (1)
Jon-white-bw
17 January 2011
Doesn't work. Tried to download several shows, failed every time. Beyond that the interface is clunky and over-designed.
Like
Version 0.0.2.1
3 answer(s)
Derekjab
Derekjab
17 January 2011
Works very well for me. Downloaded two films at high quality, which isn't possible with rival apps. Are you in the UK?
Like (2)
Sandy-j
Sandy-j
02 February 2011
Well it works for me, unlike iPlayer Downloader and iPlayer Grabber, which have both stopped working. iPlayer+ seems to be essentially a cosmetic rework of Get iPlayer Automator (and indeed the author of that program is credited on the "About" panel of iPlayer+). It comes down to personal perference - for me, Get iPlayer Automator has a more MacOS X interface than this one does. For some reason Get iPlayer Automator doesn't appear on Macupdate, but it can be found easily enough by Googling for it.
Like (3)
Eyebrows
Eyebrows
02 February 2011
Works well for me... Very happy with it
Like (2)