Back to Write page
Write free download for Mac

Write Reviews

2.5.3
03 March 2016

Simple, lightweight word processor.

Apfelz
19 March 2012

Most helpful

After 7 years I created a successor. All who purchased it within the last year received an update for free that time. Shame on me. Within that 7 years no one ver paid for an update. No one ever had to pay for big myWritings updates as well! The successor of my WordPress App was a free update for all owners. Yeah, I am really a very greedy person. This is an App Store App. I am not responsable for the App Store and its guidelines and most of all its restrictions I tried to avoud for myWritings owner and I tried to make everybody happy with maintaining two versions - which simply was a failure because no one supports independent developers directly anymore. We all use the App Store now. All who purchased myWritings within the last 3 month can request a redeem code and myWritings us updated to already work with Mountain Lion. I am really one of the worst developers out there with only one goal in mind - to ripp of my customers… I am sorry - but before acussing someone one should get the facts strait - you can say a lot about me - but ripping of people is not in my skill set. I did not just went into the App Storte and collected twice like many others and I never just abandon Apps and charge again and therefore such comments really ***** - sorry my dictionary does not give me any politically correct words for what I am thinking right now…
Like (4)
Version 1.3

Read 14 Write User Reviews

Rate this app:

mbissonn
07 August 2019
I recently purchased yKey as a replacement for Quickeys. I have been very happy with the choice. It is 64-bit compatible and does everything I did in Quickeys with simplicity and grace. Highly recommend it for those facing upgrades to Mac Catalina that will require 64 bit compatibility
Like
Version 2.5.3
Volcanus
12 July 2017
WWW-Site is https://moapp.software/index.html
Like
Version 2.5.3
Tom-Fulery
30 April 2017
Write 2 is a great basic word processor, but for me, it falls short because it doesn't seem to be able to save a 2-column landscape format as a template. So every time I open it I have to set it up that way from scratch. Not a huge problem, but a deal-breaker for me.
Like
Version 2.5.3
Monor82
11 January 2016
With tons of markup text processors these days it is nice to see a lightweight and matured »conventional« text app that can read and write several formats (rtd, rtfd, doc, docx, odt, html, etc.). Write 2 incorporates quite the same features as »Bean« but with a US$ 9 price tag. Unfortunately, Write 2 can display MS Word documents with basic formatting but falls short on more sophisticated documents. The same documents are rendered beautifully by Preview, Pages, or LibreOffice. The program´s author has no intention to correct these shortcomings and argues users should not expect such features in a program »sold for the price of a cup of coffee«. Therefore, I cannot recommend Write 2 until the author changes his attitude and the compatibility towards Word documents.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Leoofborg
02 October 2015
I love the MoApp guy. He ALWAYS does this, doesn't even check if there's another App & then just throws a name on an app. In some cases just rotates an icon and BOOM, $9 app. Am I right? Compare with Write.app from WriteApp.net, which has dark mode, OS X & iOS Apps, and is still at version 1 -- and despite no updates, still works fine.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
info-354
26 November 2014
Much better than Bean and still under active development. Had a problem this weekend and today the update came out fixing it. I wish others would offer such a support.
Like
Version 2.4
Miner
20 August 2014
And a full year has passed without updates. I am worried MOApp has added yet another app to its list of sudden abandonment!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
01 October 2014
You may be right...
On the other hand, "If it aint broke, why fix it"?
Like (1)
Orion-Mk-V
27 September 2012
Tried it. Nice little text app with it's own original approach to things (and some nice included templates in the demo). It and Bean are comparable, but $7 isn't unreasonable for a well implemented app and the developer CLEARLY states they are happy to hear feedback and troubleshoot things on the first-time launch screen.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
hwgray
hwgray
27 September 2012
So, how many stars is it worth?
Like
OsloX
27 September 2012
Just TextEdit but worse. Even for free this would not cut the bill. I can highly recommend Bean. It is free and awesome.
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Dolphinboy2u
Dolphinboy2u
27 September 2012
I'm wondering what you dislike about Write 2, since you give no specifics. Saying worse than TextEdit doesn't help, since I think TextEdit is an excellent editor. Could you give us more info. BTW, I also recommend Bean. That developer really stays with his product and supports it for years (unlike MOApp's developer, I sorry to say).
Like (3)
lemon-kun
22 April 2012
No demo?
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
Apfelz
19 March 2012
After 7 years I created a successor. All who purchased it within the last year received an update for free that time. Shame on me. Within that 7 years no one ver paid for an update. No one ever had to pay for big myWritings updates as well! The successor of my WordPress App was a free update for all owners. Yeah, I am really a very greedy person. This is an App Store App. I am not responsable for the App Store and its guidelines and most of all its restrictions I tried to avoud for myWritings owner and I tried to make everybody happy with maintaining two versions - which simply was a failure because no one supports independent developers directly anymore. We all use the App Store now. All who purchased myWritings within the last 3 month can request a redeem code and myWritings us updated to already work with Mountain Lion. I am really one of the worst developers out there with only one goal in mind - to ripp of my customers… I am sorry - but before acussing someone one should get the facts strait - you can say a lot about me - but ripping of people is not in my skill set. I did not just went into the App Storte and collected twice like many others and I never just abandon Apps and charge again and therefore such comments really ***** - sorry my dictionary does not give me any politically correct words for what I am thinking right now…
Like (4)
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
27 March 2012
Well, I don't think the paid upgrade from Schreiben to myWritings was 7 years old. But: the license fee is very small to begin with so that would be acceptable. I understand now however that all MOApps are transitioned into the App Store, so to maintain those, I will have to buy the licenses to all successors of the MOApps I own. I understand the rationale, but I have to think what I'll do. Probably stick with my current versions.
Like
Miner
Miner
05 August 2012
I now I can upgrade to a non-MAS version of Write2. Patience paid off for me!
Like
Dcannis
09 January 2012
But...It's MyWriting renamed! The Italian localization don't work..
Like
Version 1.3
Macsterdam
08 January 2012
This looks an awful lot like it's just a repackaged and renamed version of 'Schreiben', an older (and abandoned?) program by the same developer, but released under his company name 'MoApp'.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
3 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
08 January 2012
I think it is the new name for MOAppsWrite, which is the Appstore light version of MyWritings, which is the successor of Schreiben.
Like (2)
Macsterdam
Macsterdam
08 January 2012
Thanks for pointing that out, much appreciated!
Like (2)
Dolphinboy2u
Dolphinboy2u
09 January 2012
Yeah, I've bought a whole lot of his apps in the past. It took me a couple of years to see the pattern: he creates several text editor/journaling/blogging-type apps, abandons them after a year or so, only to create yet more of the same. And repeat this cycle, and then again. And again. The list of abandoned titles is long. It's an ADHD style of software development. He's good at creating apps, but I guess he gets bored maintaining them for any length of time. Granted, he's charging less per title on the Mac App Store than he was through his web store, but still,... I had migrated my workflow to his apps, but since I wizened up, i've un-migrated back out of them. I won't be buying any more of his (admittedly very nice) creations.
Like (4)
Robk
30 April 2011
Developer -- What is the difference between this app, MOAppsWrite and your other app, myWritings?
Like (2)
Version 1.1
4 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
30 April 2011
I second this question. It would be great to have some sort of comparison chart on the site. I am lost too.
Like (1)
Apfelz
Apfelz
30 April 2011
I call Write myWritings little sister (mind the price tag) - the App Store rules do not allow to talk about 'pro' versions or to link to them or any charts from within the App Store and I dropped demo versions and extra information last months for the App Store Apps - no one (yes, 1 out of 1000) leaves the App Store to take a look at the developer page or to download the demo - it simply does not make any sense to double the work and to clutter the website - I don't understand it - but that's the way people (or most of them) want it - I guess :-0
Like
Apfelz
Apfelz
30 April 2011
Write does not have TOC creation, Documents Chooser, Files Section, Paragraph Highlighting, the Focus View, advanced settings for Typewriter-like Scrolling, advanced Styles etc.
Like (2)
Zx81
Zx81
01 May 2011
"no one (yes, 1 out of 1000) leaves the App Store to take a look at the developer page or to download the demo" I am afraid this is not correct (well, as far as I ma concerned) ; the app store is not a place to get information, just a store. I always use MU site and visit the developers' sites which are way more complete and informative than the app store. I also try not to buy through the app store ; don't ask me why, just a nasty "big brother" feeling about it.
Like (4)