Back to CodeBox page
CodeBox free download for Mac

CodeBox Reviews

1.6
07 April 2012

Full-featured code snippet manager.

Fishscale
09 January 2011

Most helpful

So everything is now shareware w/o the trial period now with the app store? Every single app now costs money and I see no way of obtaining a trial version. Not just speaking of this app but every app since I have seen the app store open. It's crazy. Dev's take back your hard work! Apple has enough money. This is a comment as I can't try the app obviously as I am missing something about the app store or apple has just taken it too far.
Like (6)
Version 1.0

Read 28 CodeBox User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mikael-B
12 July 2019
To the developer: So is this now abandoned?
Like
Version 1.6
mymon
23 February 2014
Im using this app for months now and its great just one issue - if you work on a quite long snippet at some stage it keeps moving you to the top even you are working on the lines on the very bottom I'd like to see a fix for that as I have few long snippets Im working on
Like
Version 1.6
Iaminsane
24 January 2013
I recently gave up on snippets (the app) and wanted to find a new snippet manager. Looking at 3 or 4 I thought codebox best. It's a nice effective app that does the "basic job". For that it deserves 4 stars. The extra features that could make it a 5 star app are in the app, but are really really "rough". Having absolutely no documentation doesn't help. If the developer can bring it together soon, it will be a 5 star.
Like
Version 1.6
Xplicit
05 July 2012
Anyone know where to find a demo?
Like (1)
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
15 July 2012
no demo, MAS only.
Like
Dan-D
26 March 2012
This seems to be a great app, just purchased the latest version today and I love the UI/Design. I cant say anything about all those great features as it takes a while to work them all out – There is no manual at all! There's just a huge list of features on the developers website, but no manual, tutorial or info on how to use all those features. The are some "Tips and Tricks" on the website and a few videos on Youtube though, but a manual would be nice, especially for an app with that amount of features. Cheers, Dan
Like
Version 1.5.2
3 answer(s)
Shpakovski
Shpakovski
26 March 2012
Noted, thank you Dan.
Like (3)
Dan-D
Dan-D
20 April 2012
Here's an update to my first post above (btw, thanks for your quick reply Vadim): First of all, the more I use this app the more I love it! I was a little frustrated at first as it took me some time to figure out some features (e.g. I had to use google to find a blog post with some details about the abbreviations feature! And I still have no clue about the "variable placeholders" function), but once you know most of the functions, its a pleasure to use an app. Some of my favorite/most used features are: * CodeBar with modifier keys * the abbreviation function (which I just figured out how to use ;-)) * multiple Assets for each Snippet (like some demo html code for your fancy new jQuery function) * snippet management using folders, groups, tags and smart groups * system-wide services * sync via FTP and Dropbox * nice syntax highlighting * huge amount of supported languages I can't wait to see what the developer will come up with in the next version! A function to set/change the cursor position after pasting a snippet would be great. (or is this the "variable placeholders" function mentioned on the developers website?) And whats that "text replacement" function mentioned by Teksestro, btw? Cheers, Dan
Like (1)
v-s
v-s
20 April 2012
@Dan-D. Thanks. There is no way to define cursor placement after Paste in the current version, but I will consider it for the future development. “Text replacement” means an Edit Code panel available from the CodeBar menu, where you can edit a snippet before pasting it into the active app.
Like (2)
Ulyssesric
26 March 2012
Can't download the update since the previous update. The App store always says: "The product distribution file could not be verified. It may be damaged or was not signed."
Like
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Shpakovski
Shpakovski
26 March 2012
It seems like everything is okay with other users. Could you please contact me by email codebox@shpakovski.com to provide more details? Sorry for inconvenience.
Like
NotUsed
25 March 2012
Where's the demo???
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Shpakovski
Shpakovski
25 March 2012
There is no trial, but you may find useful these videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GSZ_Q97LXH8 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNEwltyKDWY Sorry for inconvenience, I'll consider to make a Demo version.
Like
Teksestro
22 March 2012
Arguably the best general, system-wide snippet manager for the MacOS. Very feature-full. PROS: * syntax highlighting for numerous languages * system-wide integration (via menubar app & services) * various ways to split and categorise your snippet library: folders, groups, tags , or just divide your collection among separate libraries * ability to group code snippets that should go together - like a CSS trick with the accompanying HTML - into a single snippet containing 2 clips * simple text-replace-before-paste feature * active, responsive and friendly developer CONS: * lack of proper manual or help files, so the user has to rely on experimentation to discover and learn some of the program's best features - like text replacement and abbreviations * syntax highlighting sometimes fails - i.e., PHP files that have an open tag, but not a closing one, do not highlight CONCLUSION: Excellent value for money, and considering the responsiveness of the developer, we can expect it will only get better. Although many of the code authoring tools these days have built-in snippet managers, if you user more than one of these, and prefer to have your snippets in a central, neutral location, it will be hard to find a better program than this.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Shpakovski
Shpakovski
22 March 2012
Thank you for the comprehensive review, I will use your feedback to improve the app.
Like (3)
bobembry
17 March 2012
Needs full text search and a couple of field navigation shortcuts then it get 5 STARS.
Like
Version 1.5
2 answer(s)
Shpakovski
Shpakovski
20 March 2012
Thanks for the feedback. Version 1.5.1 brings support for search through code and notes.
Like (2)
bobembry
bobembry
20 March 2012
Thanks, that was quick. After a test drive, I bump my rating.
Like
Cgntoonartist
06 March 2012
This app is a time saver! A must have if you are a programmer.
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
Shpakovski
Shpakovski
20 March 2012
Thank you!
Like
Xplicit
10 October 2011
I wouldn't say it like Daktari but said things are basically right. The MAS may offer some advantages ... but mostly for devs and not for users. How often have I - even after intense testing - bought software that later turned out to lack something important or have other flaws. So for me it's no testing, no buy. Just looking at screenshots and reading what other people think just isn't enough. Although I must add that's Apples fault and not Vadim Shpakovski's.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
Trashie
Trashie
19 January 2012
Yeah good post Apple need a test system the App Stores biggest fail is that they offer no test drive and seek to catch you on an impulsive purchase alone. I also hate how app Store cannot register your previously bought apps or apps you buy off it...that probably is to stop a price war against them off the store. Apple are not stupid this all about milking and they need to learn some lessons that milking is bad business strategy and freedom lasts longer.
Like (1)
mymon
27 August 2011
Great App! Little behind Snippets but it's way cheaper and does the job so can't complain
Like
Version 1.4.1
hawken
09 May 2011
I started using CodeBox today after having it installed for a while. After entering a few snippets and working just fine, it started completely thrashing my machine. I managed to force quit, and everything was fine. I restarted the app, and it began bogging down the machine again (i.e. machine nearly unresponsive, can barely move mouse cursor, etc.). At this point, I had to power down the machine and reboot. Tried CodeBox once again, and it continued to behave the same way. I have no idea what could cause this. I only have 19 snippets in the program right now, so I'm going to trash the prefs and the data file and see what happens.
Like
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
hawken
hawken
09 May 2011
Deleting the prefs and/or the data file did the trick. I did both at once (shame on me), so I don't know which was the actual culprit. Fortunately, I didn't have a lot of data in my snippet library.
Like
v-s
v-s
11 May 2011
This is likely to be caused by the syntax highlighting engine. If snippets are quite large, then CodeBox may generate memory leaks. This problem will be addressed in the upcoming update. Till then, if snippet cannot be highlighted, please try to change its file type to Plain Text and relaunch the app. It must help. I'm really sorry for temporary inconvenience.
Like
Daktari
02 May 2011
App Store only? Hmmm... I really do like the look of this application and it wouldn't take me long to decide to buy it. But only available through the App Store? I don't think so. Sorry, but developers making apps available through App Store only are shooting themselves in the foot. Lost sale. Will purchase your competitors product instead... In case you wonder why (some) people hate the App Store, please (web) search and you shall find!
Like (3)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Trashie
Trashie
07 August 2011
Your missing the point the guy works solo if he sets up a payment gateway it will cost him to maintain a payment system. Apple do all this for him in app store for a small fee so he can get on with coding. While I agree with you apps SHOULD be available in and out of app store it is not that simple for solo developers trying to get an app off the ground alone. App store for all it's evilness allows single developers to come to market at lower cost. If you did not notice at $10 he is passing some of that saving on to you. Just wanted to say I think there is more to it than shooting himself in the foot per se. You don't need a trial look at the web site there is not that much to this app just now that a trial will benefit you much. It is just an XML based database to collect text only code snippets in. That is it nothing fancy. I know a trial is always better but again the hassle of programming protection is mitigated just now while the author works on the code. The last thing he needs at a $10 price tag is a CORE keygen coming out on him. It is not so simple....
Like (1)
Mextex
01 May 2011
There seems to be no trial version, so I need to ask: In the MacAppStore I saw some comments that the newest version has no syntax highlighting? Also it seems that the latest update has less features than the older version? I am a bit confused. Usually it would have been an instant purchase....
Like (1)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
v-s
v-s
02 May 2011
Version 1.1 was rewritten from scratch and some features from 1.0 were missed. Probably, you saw the old reviews from February. However, current version 1.3 has all features that you may expect from the code snippet manager and even more. For example, highlighting engine has support for over 100 syntaxes. The app is constantly developing, and the next version is coming. You can find more details about supported features at the official website. Also, feel free to ask me any question regarding CodeBox functionality by email.
Like
Bosmonster
11 April 2011
Great little tool for a great little price. There are a few minor issues to fix, but overall very good value for money. One of the issues is that it does not save view state. I prefer using the tag-view, but it keeps opening with the folder-view.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Madmacmad
Madmacmad
23 April 2011
I prefer using the tag-view, but it keeps opening with the folder-view. Me tooo hope for the next Update
Like
Madmacmad
10 April 2011
Hello, well i also develop APP's and other stuff... was looking for a code collector but all other i found where too expensive to me for the features... Now i found this brilliant pice of software... not to expensive and a very responsive Dev ! All important features are build in and you can sync it with Dropbox or other... thats a very important feature for me because i have a Laptop when i working @ my customers and need my snippets from home... @ Dev: Superb' Start ! go on with it and implement some features you have on the list ! Mobile Me Sync would also be fine but not necessary !
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Trashie
26 March 2011
Okay I had a go what the heck £2.99 is the price of a coffee. Snippets has more features still. Codebox UI is by far superior to the Snippets UI. I can't find import/export options. I can't see mobile me syncing. Asset idea "very good" needs more work to bring binary attachments but an interesting idea. Code editor integration very smooth and simple. Icon needs to be more descriptive of the product. Basically Codebox is still in fast development. There is a lot missing if you compare side by side with snippets but there is also signs of better things than snippets has. The cheap price will let you watch development and probably get a discount when it is ready I hope? ;) If the speed keeps up I would not think it long until this app is at the Snippets level. I also looked up the developer he is young and is rather approachable from what I was reading from his online posts and blogs. I'll be watching this one.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
CodeBox
CodeBox
09 April 2011
Thank you very much for the feedback! Please find my comments below: >> I can't find import/export options. Now you can drag & drop sources files from Finder right into the Sources view to import snippets located on the Hard Drive >> I can't see mobile me syncing. CodeBox has native support for syncing via any Folder or Cloud. For example, you can move the CBXML library file into DropBox folder. Then you'll be able to open it from any other Mac.
Like (2)
Trashie
24 March 2011
Is this app better than Snippets and Code Collector? Looking for some perspective anyone got them all and can comment? Thanks.
Like
Version 1.2
Macgruder
11 March 2011
Seems pretty good and it's cheap. Some immediate issues which hopefully will be fixed: * the paste into (with BBEdit) doesn't seem to work from the Toolball (only the copy then paste) * Syntax coloring is buggy. MySQL keywords capitalized break it in PHP * You require to get the syntax coloring. But you don't want this because they then get pasted into your code * When you do command-S the syntax coloring disappears. Minor annoyances essentially.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
CodeBox
CodeBox
09 April 2011
Thank you for problem reports! * I implemented workarounds for BBEdit and TextWrangler apps, * Syntax highlighting engine has been much improved in update 1.3, * The bug with Command-S is fixed too so check for update :) Please do not hesitate to contact me by email if you have any issues with CodeBox.
Like
Beige
03 March 2011
ok - the menu bar seems to be an OS ACL issue and now Vadim answered my email to solve the issue. thx
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
CodeBox
CodeBox
09 April 2011
It seems like the issue with Login Items has been fixed in the Mac OS X 10.6.7. Please be sure to have the up-to-date System Software. Thanks!
Like
Beige
01 March 2011
arg. Why is the menu item still broken? It doesn't show up at all - 1.1.1 and 1.2 .
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
CodeBox
CodeBox
01 March 2011
This is a known issue and there is a workaround: http://cl.ly/4P6y The problem is reproducible only on some macs and is related to operating system. I have contacted Apple technical support and we are doing our best to find the root of the issue. Any additional information from users is highly appreciated, so please do not hesitate to email me. Thanks in advance!
Like
Trashie
30 January 2011
Do Lucky Ants own the source on this app? Cheap but why? Is this a make a quick buck before Lucky Ants legal catches up...or is this app in the legal clear as far as the source goes? I know this guy coded it but who "owns" the source? $5 is very suspicious.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
CodeBox
CodeBox
01 March 2011
The company Lucky Ants does not exist since October of 2010. CodeBox is my own product written from scratch, so I own its sources myself. Consider $5 as introductory price :)
Like
Trashie
Trashie
24 March 2011
Thanks just curious after reading on Snippets site about this app. Did not want to buy it then you vanish.
Like
Pixelspring
18 January 2011
Does exactly what it needs to do. Good application, great price.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
CodeBox
CodeBox
01 March 2011
@Pixelspring @W77 Thank you very much! The app is actively developing and I have many features and improvements in plans. Stay tuned :)
Like
W77
15 January 2011
This app works great, it slots in nicely to any developers workflow. Very easy to use and good ability to organise large library of code. Use with any editor, I use espresso simply open codebox it is added to your toolbar menu, then you can use the mouse or shortcut key to search your snippets click on the one you want and it's added to the page.
Like
Version 1.0
Jo*
15 January 2011
Something to consider when trying to find the "right/genuine" code-snippet app: http://www.snippetsapp.com/blog/snippets-whats-happening.html I'm not commenting, just making aware... And I'm not affiliated with Lucky Ants aka snippetsapp. Was just looking for a code-snippet app and came across the above blog-post. You make up your own mind.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
.
.
01 March 2011
There is also http://fuelcollective.com/snippet which I like because it's on the menubar.
Like
CodeBox
CodeBox
01 March 2011
@Adrian CodeBox has menubar helper named CodeBar. It provides access to all your snippets even if CodeBox is not running: http://cl.ly/4vqD
Like
Fishscale
09 January 2011
Guy's instead of half of one star reviews just write a comment as we all have no tried the app and it's unfair to give the app half of a star because of the app store and not on the quality. Ratings like this could hurt the app very much and confuse potential customers who see it's overall review compared to it's competitors even if it is a better app it will seem worse unless you followed our complaints. Thanks. MU, please take care of this and give the dev a chance.
Like (4)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Gobra
Gobra
09 January 2011
I agree that 1/2 star ratings are no fair, however, "try before you buy" is the way most users find proper for software world. AppStore broke it with iPhone, now the same happens with Mac software, sad... But Mac developers at least are free to place demo versions at their own websites!
Like (4)
Fishscale
Fishscale
09 January 2011
Completely agree Gobra! Read my post which is 2 posts below your response and you will see I said the exact same thing as you before the half-star ratings started to pour I kind of wanted to stop the bad ratings which are really not ratings. I completely agree though, just read my post below. Cheers.
Like (1)
Fishscale
09 January 2011
So everything is now shareware w/o the trial period now with the app store? Every single app now costs money and I see no way of obtaining a trial version. Not just speaking of this app but every app since I have seen the app store open. It's crazy. Dev's take back your hard work! Apple has enough money. This is a comment as I can't try the app obviously as I am missing something about the app store or apple has just taken it too far.
Like (6)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Tfindlay
Tfindlay
10 January 2011
Some developers offer trial versions on their own websites to get around the Mac App Store limitation.
Like (1)
@timi
@timi
13 January 2011
And the fact that after emailing the developer he refuses to make a trial version is why this app absolutely deserves it's half star reviews.
Like (2)
CodeBox
CodeBox
01 March 2011
If a user is not satisfied with his purchase, Apple allows to refund the full price within some time period after downloading. Instead of developing two separate versions, dealing with custom distribution, licensing and payment processing, I prefer to concentrate on development and improving of my apps while Apple takes care of all those things.
Like