Back to Serviio page
Serviio free download for Mac

Serviio Reviews

2
22 August 2019

Stream music, photos, and video to PS3, Xbox 360, and more.

BahCmoa
16 December 2010

Most helpful

Would like to try it on my Macbook Pro with leopard but first, crashed 2 times before being able to start, and then, my PS3 can't see the server :((
Like (1)
Version 0.4.2

Read 15 Serviio User Reviews

Rate this app:

Atalantia
12 April 2019
I would prefer UMS. Because its for free and doesn't mess up the Hard drive.
Like
Version 1.10.1
Acricketer1
13 August 2018
Would recommend Plex and UMS over this. Paid for it and doesn't show up on the desktop or the tv. In the past, when it did show, it buffers heavily and subtitles don't always show. The library refreshes intermittently and the support is..'post on the forum and hope someone else has fixed it. Not worth paying for. Much better value elsewhere.
Like
Version 1.9.2
Kewl
18 February 2018
Been using Serviio for more than 5 years now: reliable and customizable. For efficient DLNA streaming, Serviio is the one get.
Like
Version 1.9.1
mark-belavia
03 October 2017
I've been looking for a free app or server which will allow me to stream my media to different devices. So I downloaded this app. I didn't expect that I had to spend lots of time to figure out how it works and I hope that in future the setup instructions and installation process, in general, will be improved. It also overwhelms my computer and it starts lagging. Probably, I have to look for something better...
Like
Version 1.9
MacJollyRoger
08 February 2016
use 1.6 and 10.11.3..and when i start the console app comes: cannot start the server.. its a useless app ;-(
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
MacJollyRoger
MacJollyRoger
08 February 2016
i dont know why, but after 2 restarts it worx.. ;-) im to fast
Like
Kewl
04 February 2016
Not really highlighted in the release notes, but version 1.6 sports a major UI overhaul: pretty, if a bit big.
Like
Version 1.6
Macmanager
23 July 2015
Wouldn't even launch. Spent an hour trying everything I could think of to get it to open.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Macs-Pain
10 July 2015
Would be quite good if there weren't some basic features missing: Play ALL songs of an artist Or showing the iTunes playlists Using google I saw these features wanted back in 2012, so in 3 years nothing in that way happened...
Like
Version 1.5.2
roundfile
04 June 2015
JUST installed the trial version. Kind of nervous when I started - not a total newb, but not crazy computer savvy either. Took me 10-15 minutes to browse "How-To's" online but Serviio found my TV immediately, so all I had to do was pick the profile of my TV in the included list (easy-peasy), which seems to be very important (don't just leave it on "Generic"). My TV still could not see Serviio and then I figured out that all I had to do was go into my Network settings on my Mac (OS X 10.9.5) and Manually create a new Wi-Fi connection with the IP Address listed by Serviio in their startup screen where it showed my TV. Once I made that new Manually Set Wi-Fi Connection and Manually set the IP Address to match the Serviio IP, then set the Subnet Mask to match my main WiFi connection's Subnet, as well as the same Router IP, and left everything else on "Automatic", then Serviio popped up right away on my Samsung Smart TV. Then in Serviio's main screen I browsed to a folder with Videos in it, and added it to the media folders shared with Serviio. Then from my T V Screen (did not touch the laptop from here on) I chose Serviio as the Source, picked a video from the TV folder that popped up, immediately found all the videos accessible from the TV Screen, used the TV controls to start the video - PERFECT! This is a GREAT product. Looks like the Free version does everything I will need, but I am almost inclined to buy the paid version just as a way to support these guys. No matter what it saved me the headache, money, and travel time of having to go buy a stupid AppleTV. Love Apple products but sometimes their proprietary practices get out of date and silly. p.s. I am NOT the kind of person to leave a 5 star review unless I am downright amazed by something. This is a winner. :)
Like
Version 1.5.2
martinb2
30 March 2013
I tried many DLNA media servers, but Serviio is the only one I would recommend. It is easy to install, has a nice and easy to understand user interface with many helpful settings, converts and streams all my media perfectly and is very stable. Thank you very much for this software!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Macinman
16 August 2012
When did Servio start charging for their server? As far as I know it's free, no one i know who use it, or even using it myself for a while has revealed nothing about a demo or needing to pay for it. Is the cost listed a missprint on behalf of mac update?
Like (1)
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
16 August 2012
Also, macupdate seems to be behind, the servio site says version 1.0.1 is the latest, macupdate is still at 1.0
Like
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
16 August 2012
Thanks for the info Macinman, i've updated the listing to 1.0.1! Also, it looks they offer a pro version for $25 with some additional features; I've added a note to our listing to clarify that.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
16 August 2012
Your welcome Ryan, I keep in touch with many software offerings of this type through AVSForum. They seem to know about software sometimes that's not listed. So i am glad i could pass the info onto you :)
Like
Talliphone
23 September 2011
Finally, a free DLNA media server for my Mac that works with a MOXI DVR. I had no luck with the previous version, but so far the current version (0.6) was recognized immediately. I'll give it a rating after I have a chance to test it all out. Thanks so much to the developer.
Like
Version 0.6
HackDefendr
08 January 2011
I actually love this media server. It allowed me to migrate all of my movies, music, and picture to my big Mac. Coming from several years of using Mediatomb (which seems to have stalled out)...and having tried a few other media servers...Serviio provided everything I needed to stream my collection to my PS3. Granted, there were a few moments when I thought it was not working. But, after waiting a few minutes for it to complete the initial startup, and then adding all of the media folders...a little more waiting for the initial database creation and imports, and Serviio works flawlessly. This server can stream every format I have and just is not slow about doing it. Features are at 3 stars, only because I think that the Console and Server should be one application, or at least have the Console be able to launch the server in the background without the need for two Application bundles. Added to this, I think the Console should have a Dashboard for statistical viewing, as well as, the current status of the server, ability to start/stop/restart the server daemon. There may be others I have thought of or will think of...but the above really would make this a solid media server capable of all 5's. As for Value and Stability...they got 5's because, face it, how hard is it to install a Mac application. And with a little patience and understanding, setting Serviio up and getting it on a network capable media player really is very easy. Other settings are very easily understood...in other words, self-explanatory. Stability is easy to explain...5 days uptime since install and initial setup and not one crash or restart needed. I did see the server app icon go un-responsive, though the actual server operation was unaffected and within a few minutes the Icon recovered without human intervention. In comparison to PS3 Media Server...in my opinion, Serviio is faster, easier to setup, and actually works. My brief experience with PS3 Media Server was painful, as everything I tried to stream or view from my PS3 came across jerky, slow, and took several seconds to minutes for images to clear up. It was not what I expected at all...and it really makes me happy to have found Serviio. Thanks!
Like (1)
Version 0.4.2
Kewl
16 December 2010
Works perfectly on my MacBook Pro (OS 10.6.5) with a Sony HDTV, Sony Blu-ray player and Oppo Blu-ray player.
Like
Version 0.4.2
BahCmoa
16 December 2010
Would like to try it on my Macbook Pro with leopard but first, crashed 2 times before being able to start, and then, my PS3 can't see the server :((
Like (1)
Version 0.4.2
3 answer(s)
Kewl
Kewl
16 December 2010
Have selected the PS3 renderer profile in the Seviio console?
Like
BahCmoa
BahCmoa
16 December 2010
yes i did Kewl ... even Bound the IP address .... Well, i just tried to launch it and once again the program "doesn't respond" even after having launched it 3 times ... Maybe i'll have more luck with a next version :( ....
Like
Kewl
Kewl
16 December 2010
The server does take a full minute on my MBP to complete its start up...
Like