Back to Kensington TrackballWorks page
Kensington TrackballWorks free download for Mac

Kensington TrackballWorks Reviews

1.5.0
18 January 2019

Enables trackball customization.

Jazzyguy
11 December 2010

Most helpful

Very nice the drivers work fine. I have 2 Expert mice and one Expert Mouse Pro. The Expert Mouse Pro is no longer made by Kensington and it is sad that it is useless for the Mac as it has 5 buttons that can be configured for applications or web sites.I believe that it is still useful on Windows but I don't use Windows.I guess I'll have to list it on eBay.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0

Read 20 Kensington TrackballWorks User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dana-Sutton
28 July 2018
Just downloaded, installed. When I tried to launch I was told to go System Prefs>Security & Preferences and check the appropriate box. Tried to do so. Absolutely nothing happened. My Expert Mouse is temporarily bricked. I'll lurk, see if anybody has the problem and finds a solution (the standard trick of unplugging/replugging the EM's USB cable doesn't seem to work). Otherwise Kensington needs to be told (maybe by the MU site manager, who might get their attention better than we could?) that they have a serious problem on their hands. If it's relevant, I'm running OSX.13.6 on a late 2013-model iMac. Kensington really ought not to put out crap software that screws up their customers' workflows. This is the sort of thing that makes me start looking around for an alternative and more hassle-free product.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
4 answer(s)
Papa-Smurf
Papa-Smurf
29 July 2018
The exact same thing happened to me. My Expert Mouse is now a freaking paperweight!
Like
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
29 July 2018
I brought up the old version of Time Machine, still works fine.. I think everybody ought to stick to that and avoid this one. It's poison.
Like
Papa-Smurf
Papa-Smurf
30 July 2018
I just went to Kensington's website, downloaded and installed version 1.3 and all is good again. Now for a drink!
Like
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
04 August 2018
Let me go into a bit more detail about downgrading to v. 3. It's probably not enough to trash the v. 4. Preference pane. To be completely safe, go to Spotlight, search for this app. and you'll find a bunch of helper files. Trash them all (some of these may be v. 4 replacements and one of them might even be the real culprit). Then go to https://www.kensington.com/us/us/3693/software-drivers, download the v.3 installer and do a clean install. Then you'll be good to go (except you'll probably still have to do the unplug/plug routine every time you reboot if you're running High Sierra).

It's a shame that the Kensington Expert Mouse is by far the best pointing device on the planet (except maybe for the Kensington Blade, I've never tried it) but Kensington isn't capable of supporting it with equally good software.

Here's one more hint. Install and use the utility Smart Scroll. You'll find the way it smooths out the scroll ring action of the Expert Mouse scroll ring to be nothing short of magical.
Like
TJLuoma
17 February 2016
Version 1.3 was released on Dec 28th, 2015 http://www.kensington.com/us/us/3693/software-drivers It has an atrociously ugly and stupid download URL: http://accoblobstorageus.blob.core.windows.net/software/38c915e6-ca92-406e-bd65-84e9692d4493.dmg
Like
Version 1.2.1
info-874
14 November 2015
Anyone able to use the this device with El Capitan? Any solutions? We use several of these trackballs and could really use a solution... anyone?
Like
Version 1.2.1
3 answer(s)
yankfade
yankfade
01 December 2015
Works for me after unplugging/replugging a couple of times.
Like
Booomwhadis
Booomwhadis
05 December 2015
Works perfectly for me with El Capitan. No need for unplugging/replugging so far. Using it since 2 weeks now.
Like
harpa413
harpa413
02 January 2016
mine didn't work with El Cap at first, but it turned out i was running 1.1.1, and once i installed 1.2.1 it worked fine.
Like
Rob-Lewis
01 November 2015
I too am finding that v. 1.2.1 is not compatible with El Capitan and my Expert Mouse USB trackball. It just says "no supported Kensington trackball found".
Like
Version 1.2.1
phillipbj
29 August 2015
Any idea if this will work with the Expert Mouse WIRELESS?
Like
Version 1.2.1
Gerlad
29 August 2015
Version 1.2.1 was just listed on MU Aug 29, 2015. But this was released by Kensington in June. It is NOT compatible with El Capitan, in a major way: it will result in a kernel panic.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
Shock-J
27 May 2015
Version 1.2.1 released. They FINALLY fixed the double click issue. Changes & New Features Update to be compatible with OS X Yosemite. Resolves an issue with assigning double-clicking as a button action.
Like
Version 1.2.0
darkdoc
15 May 2015
After many years with the new 1.2 release Kensington have finally brought back the per-app profiles that existed in the old Mouseworks software
Like (1)
Version 1.2.0
darkdoc
14 May 2015
After many years with the new 1.2 release Kensington have finally brought back the per-app profiles that existed in the old Mouseworks software
Like
Version 1.1.0
Albabe
12 March 2014
New Driver 1.1.1: https://www.kensington.com/kensington/us/us/s/1550/softwaredrivers.aspx
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
SkilletAudio
SkilletAudio
02 May 2014
Thanks new version is now 1.1.2 https://accoblobstorageus.blob.core.windows.net/software/38c5e777-b2ef-4434-8091-6290cb41fc16.dmg
Like (1)
Mark-W-
26 March 2013
A new 1.1.1 version is now available at the Kensington website, this new version now appears to work correctly with Mountain Lion, and you no longer have to open the Trackball System Preferences after each start or restart. Kensington may be slow, but they typically do update their software.
Like
Version 1.1.0
Graphic-Mac
16 March 2013
The driver works perfectly on my late 2012 iMac with Mountain Lion 10.8.3. You MUST completely restart after installation. The driver does a log-out and doesn't recognize the trackball. But after a complete restart, all is well. All buttons and features work just fine.
Like
Version 1.1.0
Erik [NL]
25 November 2012
Hi, I have been looking for a workaround to activate the current version of the TrackBall Works.prefpane with my optical Expert Mouse K64325 during login and by creating a simple AppleScript… -- AppleScript for activating TrackBallWorks.prefpane during login -- Current version of Kensington TrackBallWorks v1.1 will not startup when using 10.8 Mountain Lion tell application "System Preferences" activate reveal (pane id "com.kensington.trackballworks.prefpane") end tell tell application "System Preferences" quit end tell 1. Export the AppleScript to File Format: Application, Option: Run-only 2. Put the "Kensington TrackBallWorks Script.app" in the folder Applications 3. Add the "Kensington TrackBallWorks Script.app" to the Login Items and do not select the checkbox Hide
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
Omrudi
Omrudi
18 December 2012
A brilliant idea, thank you!
Like
Omrudi
08 October 2012
Sorry to say that TrackballWorks is incompatible with Mountain Lion for me. I recently did a Clean Install of ML, and from the get-go my preferences for my Expert Mouse Trackball were "forgotten" after a restart. I could only get my preferences back by opening the Trackball preference pane, an annoying chore at launch. The software worked fine in Lion. Kensington Support use to be stellar. Several years ago I could reach a knowledgeable tech person by phone in 5 minutes. Now, they have enabled a byzantine anti-support system that is outsourced to India. Even though they were already aware of the problem, they required 4 screenshots of "About This Mac" panes uploaded to their site BEFORE they would even talk to me. Two weeks of on-again off-again replies finally led to the revelation that a software fix was necessary. Their solution? "Don't restart your computer". A software fix was projected for the "first quarter of 2013". This is for software that hasn't been updated since July of 2011. I have been a huge fan of Kensington trackball hardware for over a decade, but alas the current owners are not committed to software support, or a streamlined and useful customer support system. I am hoping they will wake up and make changes for the good in a timely fashion.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.0
2 answer(s)
Joypebble
Joypebble
14 November 2012
The problems cites here are exactly my issues after years of quality performance and support. When (after Lion) the ball and buttons began erratic behavior, Support told me that even though my 5 year warranty was sill in force, the fact that I originally bought the ball on eBay (A new item from a well-known dealer) that Kensington didn't support anything bought on eBay. (Almost every dealer now sells new goods from their store on eBay). The agent was unfriendly, and short and offered no possible fixes). ...Turns out the issue was a conflict with the old MouseWorks preference pane and TypeIt4Me's newest update. Why wouldn't a Kensington Support person know about the MouseWorks and TrackballWorks conflict. This is sad because Kensington was a shining light in customer support for years and now it's Mickey Mouse operation that has me looking elsewhere. Tool bad. (11/14//12)
Like
Tom46
Tom46
18 December 2012
I reported the same problem and got this reply: "We would like to inform you that there is not fix for this issue as of now. We are planning to release a newer version on the software to resolve this issue. The exact time frame is not know yet." At least the reply was prompt. I'm going to look into Mac.4.osx's solution of 25 Nov--sounds like a good workaround.
Like (1)
DNAgent
07 July 2012
Kensington really needs to get their act in gear regarding this software. It's still not working on 64-bit machines, and is seriously lacking in functionality, compared to the original Mouseworks software. It's a shame really, because their hardware is fine, and their customer service used to be the stuff of legends, but they just aren't on the ball as far as keeping the software working and updated.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.0
Ahammer
13 December 2011
ost the functionality that Mouseworks had to program complex strings with modifier keys (e.g., copy-find-paste with one chord). Dealbreaker for me (which is why overall rating is lower than average compared to individual ratings), and having installed it once on 10.6.8 the Mouseworks driver won't work anymore. Thanks Kensington. Pwople did complain about MW not having been updated or improved for years, but would it have been so tough to retain even the same functionality by moving it to 64 bit?
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
Yoshita
09 September 2011
Wow...so now I can't change button functionality based on application anymore? Gee, thanks Kensington; way to stay in touch with your userbase. To clarify: in previous versions (MouseWorks 3.x) one could change settings based on application, so that one could, say, have button 3+4 trigger the "Back" command in a webbrowser, but use the same combo for "Info" or "Move to trash" in the Finder. Needless to say that this is/was very nice.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
Dana-Sutton
22 June 2011
In terms of functionality, there doesn't seem to be anything new. A Lion-friendly version, maybe?
Like
Version 1.1.0
4 answer(s)
VRH
VRH
23 June 2011
Well, at least one thing I found is that the scrolling is different. They've adjusted the scrolling speed in a helpful way and they've included an "Inertial Scrolling" option.
Like
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
23 June 2011
Yeah, but the Inertial Scrolling doesn't seem to do very much for me. I don't think we should toss SmartScroll just yet.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
24 July 2011
I agree, the scrolling works better. It starts slowly, enabling finer control, and works more smoothly. Inertial scrolling seems to work only when you "flick" the scroll wheel/ring. Another important change is that it is now 64 bit - it no longer requires System Preferences to restart in 32 bit mode - which could have something to do with the improved performance. And the Snap To Default now works in Lion. However, it's still a Universal app that retains some backwards compatibility.
Like
Ahammer
Ahammer
13 December 2011
Nothing new (except, as you note, the scrolling) but a whole lot less. No keystroke sequences (text or single keystrokes only). Show stopper for me.
Like
Jazzyguy
11 December 2010
Very nice the drivers work fine. I have 2 Expert mice and one Expert Mouse Pro. The Expert Mouse Pro is no longer made by Kensington and it is sad that it is useless for the Mac as it has 5 buttons that can be configured for applications or web sites.I believe that it is still useful on Windows but I don't use Windows.I guess I'll have to list it on eBay.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
Caleb2
Caleb2
22 June 2011
would you care to skip eBay.
Like
anonymous-heron-1581
08 December 2010
This is not a new release. TrackballWorks 1.0 was released back in June of 2010.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0