Back to Tower page
Tower free download for Mac

Tower Reviews

3.6.0
14 November 2019

Version control with Git made easy.

svoop
16 September 2019

Most helpful

I've used Tower since 2011, seen it grow, mature and it no doubt implements quite an intuitive UI on top of git. However, unless you're really using every single feature on a daily bases, the price tag is just to hefty in the light of the countless alternatives. To add just two more to the list: Both git support in Atom as well as the Fork git client (both free) are under constant development and falls short in less and less situations. Nonetheless, I would have stayed with Tower if they hadn't switched to subscription and I might switch back should they decide to drop it again. So only one star – not for poor implementation but for the pricey subscription model.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.0

Read 51 Tower User Reviews

Rate this app:

svoop
16 September 2019
I've used Tower since 2011, seen it grow, mature and it no doubt implements quite an intuitive UI on top of git. However, unless you're really using every single feature on a daily bases, the price tag is just to hefty in the light of the countless alternatives. To add just two more to the list: Both git support in Atom as well as the Fork git client (both free) are under constant development and falls short in less and less situations. Nonetheless, I would have stayed with Tower if they hadn't switched to subscription and I might switch back should they decide to drop it again. So only one star – not for poor implementation but for the pricey subscription model.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.0
Detlevski
18 July 2019
After 1 year on subscription model for the reduced price cancelled my subscription. There are plenty of free alternatives, I am quite happy using SourceTree for my BitBucket repos. Besides that I'm totally done with most forms of subscriptions. There are two things one can do:

1. Rant on every app/site that wants to trap you (and your wallet) into the subscription model, but still continue your subscription.

2. Cancel your subscription or unless you really, really need the service don't add any new subscriptions.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.2
Mindplay
19 January 2019
Ridiculous pricing... Good app though, but overall value/price just bottomed.
Like (3)
Version 3.2.1
Aaronk
11 October 2018
$99 a year to push PRs to my self-hosted git repo when there are capable alternatives for free? $70 for version 2 was already at the upper end for this type of software and I happily paid it. I'm using version 2.6.6 still and it works fine. $99 a year for version 3 is not something I can justify to my employer when my co-workers are using SourceTree or VSCode for free.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.0
MacDefender
07 October 2018
As a long timer customer of Tower 2 im sorry to say that Tower 3 is not worth a penny as i REALLY HATE subscription based models. Will never again buy anything from this company. And you can use git for free and there are already better alternatives out there with nice GUIs.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.0
tomwats
24 September 2018
Finally with dark mode!
Like
Version 3.2.0
Al404
20 September 2018
Subscription LOL no way!
Like (2)
Version 3.1.2
t-19
11 September 2018
Simply and truly the best Git client out there. The new features are absolutely awesome: Pull Requests lets me create and manage my GitHub PRs right from the desktop; and I can finally use Interactive Rebase without breaking my head, just using drag and drop. Love the app!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
Zxi
29 August 2018
Long time user since V1. The new pricing model in V3 is insane so I will stay with v2. I use IntelliJ more than Tower, and it cost the same price as Tower. Once you stop paying the annual fee, you fall back to last version though. It seems this is a decision from a bunch of stupid sales.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.1
Macd
25 July 2018
Just… no. I used this app when it was in 2.x, and I must say I liked it quite a bit. Mostly the UI, I guess. The functionality and under-the-hood conditions were less enjoyable, and the dev would prioritize whatever sold copies (at least on paper?…), rather than fixing core issues with app's performance. Version 3 was a chance to remedy a lot of such things, but instead, after I'd say pretty short beta period (and I believe just 2-3 beta releases before final) - the app was released, and now it's subscription (liked the release notes pretty much saying - "well, you guys probably expected that, right?"). And the core performance issues still not fixed. And there's STILL not ETA (the tickets for that were up for 2 years). So I thought… well, I just vote with my wallet and NOT support this dev anymore. That said, in a quest for a replacement, I found a really nice app which is mentioned below - called Fork. The UI is a bit less polished, but it still is good in its own way. The app is very performant (no need to wait for seconds OR MINUTES for Tower to update my larger repos status), is very easy to use and seems to be made by someone who actually knows how write good software that's good not only on the surface and it pretty much is all I need. What's more, it's free. But I'd happily pay. Not subscription happily, but a good "standard" dev tools price. Bad move, fournova…
Like (5)
Version 3.1.0
lpuerto
22 July 2018
Good app, not perfect but good. I was thinking to buy a license for version 3 after being a beta tester. I saw the price and the subscription model. I nope out the here. Sorry, it's just a total deal breaker.

PS/ I recommend to all of you to check "fork". It looks really good and it's free for now.
Like (6)
Version 3.0.2
11thhour
12 July 2018
Like everyone else I loved this app but, with subscription and the cost of said subscription, will be moving to something else.
Like (7)
Version 3.0.2
ChrisDaemon
12 July 2018
1/2 star for Subscription model. The nerve! I'll recommend the video course for GIT, since they got me to understand and love the technology, but that's that. For a GUI, look elsewhere.
Like (6)
Version 3.0.2
Al404
10 July 2018
Too bad they chose to go on subscription model, it WAS a good app
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1
LuxLogica
08 July 2018
Have used and loved Tower for many years - and also beta tested version 3. Like many of the reviewers here, I also feel somewhat betrayed by the change in business model: subscription-ware is my pet hate, and I, too, will be abandoning Tower.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1
macaliasmac
03 July 2018
How much!?!?! Ha-ha-ha-ha....! I really hate subscriptions anyway but that's just taking the mick. T*ssers. Ok, time to get better and quicker at the Terminal. It's only a GUI after all.
Like (6)
Version 3.0.1
Kris-nx
03 July 2018
Sad to see another good app go subscription. I moved to Tower as a replacement for GitBox -- which I'm fairly sure has been abandoned, but still working. I'll use Tower 2 until it no longer works as I have no interest in subscribing. Besides, I find myself using the command line more than half the time. Tower along with other GIT GUI's are just a nice way of keeping things organized.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
LuxLogica
LuxLogica
08 July 2018
I've just looked at the GitHub repository of the author of GitBox, and it seems he has been working on GitBox2 - a new version, entirely written in Swift.
Like (4)
Hans_K
29 June 2018
I used to love Tower, I even beta tested v3. When the mail arrived that v3 was released I took my creditcard, ready to pay. Until I read Tower became subscription based. Ridiculous. I hate subscription models. Besides, Tower has become ridiculously expensive. So, I am out. No sale. I keep using v2 or move to other software altogether. Had they kept an identical licensing model, I would still be using Tower. What a pity.
Like (18)
Version 3.0.1
R1000m
28 June 2018
I loved this software. And charging an upgrade fee would be OK after all this time. But I don't think they have priced their subscription reasonably at all. Can you say crazy expensive? Also, I hate subscriptions. Luckily, there are a few alternatives now (perhaps not as good as Tower 2?), and Tower 2 is pretty solid and not going to stop working immediately. I hope they stay in business, but they'll have to do so without me.
Like (7)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Philby
Philby
28 June 2018
With 1 year Tower 3 rent costing more than buying Tower 1 and the upgrade to Tower 2 and using it for 4 1/2 years, their new pricing does seem to be rather ambitious indeed.
And a bit like 1Password 7, I can't really see any must-have in V 3.
Staying with Tower 2 for the time being as well.
Like (7)
Moxiesozo
27 June 2018
Version 3.0.1 has been released. Now subscription-based.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
Al404
Al404
28 June 2018
Just got an email of new Tower 3 are they joking? Subscription based?
Hope they have a stand alone version or I will switch to some other software.
Like (2)
ChikabuZ
14 February 2018
Cool
Like
Version 2.6.4
LuxLogica
09 May 2017
Excellent, feature-full git client, with a polished interface. But what is really the icing on the cake here is the extensive high-quality online manual and video series which the company makes available free for all using their app: it teaches all about git, as well as Tower, and is invaluable for newbies and regular users alike.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.0
Philosopherdog
17 February 2017
I was using SourceTree for the longest time and the CL. I grew disenchanted with SourceTree and started checking out some different clients. Gitup was definitely a consideration, but the default font is way too small for my eyes. I ended up buying Tower because I like the clean, native UI. My main gripe is that the font size cannot be changed. This is a major usability issue. Luckily the default font size is a bit bigger than Gitup, but I would love to see font sizing added. It's a very basic accessibility issue for many users to have decent sized fonts.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
Macd
01 February 2017
A nice tool, but developers seem to prioritize larger features above smaller quality of life improvements. Working on rather large codebases (in terms of both number of files, file sizes, and any combination of these), I find visual feedback lacking when Tower/git work behind the scenes. There's nearly ZERO indication that something's happening at all (files being scanned for changes, staged, committed). Contacted devs, was basically told that I'm not a normal/average kind of user (yeah, right) and most of the users work on much smaller codebases (well duh… too bad the kind of web dev I do is media rich and build systems are complicated and require lots of files/libs). Understandable, but things like "in-progress" indication for potentially long operation is 101 of UI/UX and it completely escapes me how devs live with such a non-polished approach to their own otherwise pretty nice UI. Second time (after several months from original request) I tried to remind them the problem still persists they didn't even respond. Not cool. Let's do the right thing and make it 5 stars, guys.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
2 answer(s)
fournova
fournova
07 February 2017
Tobias from the Tower team here.

I'm a bit sad to see Tower reduced to this particular aspect. We have thousands of users that are very happy with Tower making their lives easier in many areas.

Please know that we're working full-steam on improving Tower. However, we (honestly) haven't heard from other users about problems in the area you mentioned.

With all of this being said, however, I'd like to say thank you for your honest feedback, Macd! We'll continue to make Tower even better - and maybe even earn that fifth star for you, too.
Like
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
10 July 2017
Since I plan on using git in many large projects, I think I'lll pass on Tower for now. The devs have said they're focusing on "where the money is" and I get that. So I won't give them my money.
Like
Londonskater
28 December 2016
Improvements have been steady and good, Tower is an excellent git client. Sourcetree has gotten worse, and Tower has gotten better. In daily use, in fact, permanently open.
Like
Version 2.5.3
r-owen
14 September 2016
I encourage you to try both Tower and SourceTree before making a decision. I am glad there is competition, but every time I check out Tower I go back to SourceTree. I primarily use a git GUI to view history, and for that I personally find SourceTree much more pleasant. Here are some reasons: - In SourceTree's history view I can launch an external diff of a single file. Tower does not support that, much to my surprise. In both cases the in-app diff usually suffices, but occasionally I want a better diff for one or two files (not all at once, the way Tower does). - When I click on a node of the graph in SourceTree I immediately see the diffs. Tower makes me open disclosure triangles or click "Expand All" every time. - SourceTree's history graph shows all branch names associated with each node; Tower's does not, unless you use the larger commit size and make the graph panel very wide so the names are not truncated to "...". This is fairly minor, and I suspect one can get used to either. - When I view the git log of a file in SourceTree it shows me the commits I expect to see, whereas Tower includes commits I don't recognize. I'm not sure what is going on there, but suspect I'm seeing some commits I squashed away. If so, being able to see squashed commits sounds useful, but I don't want it on by default. Oddly enough, neither one seems to have good support for interactive rebase. I'd like to be able to select a range of commits to start an interactive rebase, and as far as I can see neither one does this properly. SourceTree shows me just two of the commits. Tower doesn't support interactive rebase at all. The command line is fine except I hate having to count the # of commits. You should try both out and decide for yourself. I appreciate that Tower gets regular updates, and $80 seems a fair price for a well written and well maintained git GUI. However, I strongly prefer the UI in SourceTree for viewing history, and use the command line for everything else.
Like
Version 2.5.0
1 answer(s)
Londonskater
Londonskater
28 December 2016
I agree with trying both, although I have reached the opposite conclusion. Interactive rebasing is best on the CLI, plus Sourcetree's GUI has been going backwards for some time. I feel that ST is over-complicated, and packs too many badly-done features in, whereas Tower keeps it simple, and does better at it.

Plus, there's this nonsense where Atlassian want you to sign up and sign in, giving away the software but turning the customer into a product. At least Tower is an old-fashioned application.

Tower plus CLI plus Tig in the terminal works for me, but YMMV.
Like
emce
02 June 2015
I really love this app. It cleans up and simplifies my workflow so much. If $59 seems like a lot, give it a little time and I guarantee you'll see it's easily worth that.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Xplicit
09 February 2015
This is such a good app. Clean UI, fast and reliable, very responsive developers. Much much easier to use than source tree. Saves me a lot of time. 59 bucks is quite a bargain for this tool. Great work guys, thanks.
Like
Version 2.1.7
Bazineta
09 September 2014
Have been using this app for about 2 years now; I could not be without it. The features in 2.x, in particular, git-flow support, make for a great upgrade. Had someone told me that this would make use of git intuitive, I would have, frankly, laughed at them, but it definitely meets that bar.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.6
Xplicit
12 August 2014
v2.0.3 is out
Like
Version 2.0.1
MarcelT
28 July 2014
I am a user from (appr.) day one. I have always been a big fan of Tower although I did not like all decisions made by the developers. With version 2 I am really really happy. Not much to wish for anymore :)
Like
Version 2.0.1
macpayne
26 July 2014
I like the latest 2.0 version. The UI / UX has significant improvement. It also allows you to manage your github,bitbucket and beanstalk accounts easily
Like
Version 2.0.1
brandt
22 September 2013
I bought Tower back in Aug. 2012. So after a little over a year with it, here's my take: Tower sets itself above the rest by making Git more accessible to mere mortals without abstracting away Git's powerful features. # For new users: Tower helps take some of the edge off Git's steep learning curve by providing a clean GUI that faithfully represents what Git is actually doing under-the-hood. So as you use Tower, you learn Git. # For more advanced users: If you're already proficient in Git, you're probably looking for a tool that helps you efficiently navigate a source tree and its history. Having used GitX, Github for Mac, and SourceTree, I'd say Tower provides the best "situational awareness" while digging through a repo. It also takes some of the pain out of dealing with submodules. # Criticism The only UX quirks I've come across are: - Branching off of HEAD could be a little easier (e.g. a button in the title bar). - It'd be nice to have a character count on the commit message title for those of us who try to keep it under 50 characters. Fournova seems very responsive to user feedback, so I'll send those in as feature requests. # Verdict Even with all the great free Git GUIs out there, getting Tower was worth it. It's just that good.
Like (4)
Version 1.5.0
signalprocessor
18 March 2013
Tower is my favorite git client for the Mac, aside from the command line. It's still not perfect, but has replaced the need for GitHub for my development team- everything we need is supplied by Tower, replacing some of the nice features GitHub offered. (Tower is by no means a replacement for GitHub, it just happened to cover our needs.)
Like
Version 1.4.18
NiravBhatt
19 February 2013
Pretty decent. I find it does not work very well on large repositories though as it becomes unresponsive. To be fair, I have not found an alternative that does work really well on large repositories.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.16
1 answer(s)
mscott
mscott
22 September 2013
Have you tried Atlassian's SourceTree? It's FREE and actively being developed. My entire development team uses it daily (on pre-release OSes no less) and it has been extremely stable and very useful. I can't see anything Tower is offering over SourceTree that can justify $60.
Like (1)
Londonskater
14 February 2013
A good app, but average. I personally bought four licences for my staff and we use it frequently. But, it lacks features. And parts of the UI are ambiguous and the repository management is non-existent. Once you have a lot of repos to manage, it's a mess. And it's far from stable, there are lockup and crashes and stalls that plague it from time to time. The company are very responsive, to be fair, but in light of the FREE SourceTree which supports git-flow, and Mercurial, and really exposes the advanced features of Git, it's a no brainer. Use SourceTree. Tower is good, but they REALLY need to boost it past SourceTree to make it worth buying.
Like (5)
Version 1.4.15
1 answer(s)
Londonskater
Londonskater
28 December 2016
The newer versions of Tower are very good indeed, and I would revise my review of Tower up to 4.5 - 5 stars.
Like
evilinstone
01 August 2012
What about app in Mac App Store?
Like (1)
Version 1.4.10
1 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
20 September 2012
CrapStore you mean?
Like (2)
Manis
27 July 2012
Just compiled it for my G5. Runs unexpectedly good, except that Preferences don't open. If you want to do so too: - Compile git from source - Place it in Tower.app/Contents/Resources/git I don't understand why they don't offer PowerPC support out of the box, to be honest.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.9
3 answer(s)
ltcdrdata
ltcdrdata
28 September 2012
The last PowerMac came out in 2003, the last PowerBook in 2005, that's 9/7 years ago... That's the reason... I'm actually really surprised they still support PowerPC.
Like
Manis
Manis
28 September 2012
That's absolutely wrong. The last Power Mac was replaced by the Mac Pro in August 2006. The PowerBooks in April 2006. Thats 6 years! And even if, who cares? Those machines are still very fast devices. I see no reason to replace them.
Like (1)
brandt
brandt
23 September 2013
Rather than replacing the copy of Git inside Tower, you can probably just point Tower to wherever your PPC-compatible `git` binary is: The command is: defaults write com.fournova.Tower PathToGitBinary "/usr/local/bin/git" Change "/usr/local/bin/git" to wherever your `git` binary is installed, if not there. Then Tower should use whatever you've pointed it to. FYI: Tower 1.5.0 uses Git 1.8.2 by default. As for why apps are dropping PowerPC support... I'm not the developer of Tower, so I'm speaking generally: Most devs want to get their apps into as many people's hands as possible, but it's getting trickier to support PowerPC because it's getting harder to find PPC-based devices to test your code on. Lately I've seen a lot of projects looking for PPC hardware just so that they can continue to support it. For instance, the MPlayer, VLC, and FreeBSD projects all have open requests.
Like
Xplicit
06 March 2012
This is definitely the best git frontend. Switching repositories quickly, creating new or cloning remote ones all that is no hassle anymore. And there are many more features. The interface is quite good, sometimes it could be a bit more intuitive though. Ok, Tower is a little pricey but since it saves so much time it's well worth it.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
Teksestro
21 November 2011
Wonderful app - good interface, stable, and feature-full. I have to agree with the other posters, however, that the pricing makes it a deal breaker for me. Compare with GitBox (currently $20), and SourceTree (currently FREE), and the $60 tag seems to be out-of-touch with the market.
Like (4)
Version 1.2.7
Geccoh
21 October 2011
With 1.2.0, nice colourful toolbar icons have changed to ugly Grey ones :(
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Cottser
Cottser
15 December 2011
Aye, you can thank Lion for that.
Like (1)
A very nice piece of software! Makes git easy to me... A bit expensive but it's okay for this.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
2 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
08 May 2011
Unfortunately the price is a big hangup in my opinion. Let's see a 2.0 before they charge this amount for the app and have some solid community input and further fleshing out of features / requests after real usage by actual users.
Like (3)
Cottser
Cottser
15 February 2012
The developers have been continually releasing new features, updates, and bug fixes in the year that this app has been out. 2.0 is only a number. I've been using Tower since it was in beta, and I'm still *very* happy with my purchase.
Like (2)
Londonskater
04 March 2011
Tower is a well-designed product with excellent usability and a very attractive interface. It's easy to set up projects, clone them, do all the usual stuff, but it offers nothing over the command line, especially for the rather high price. I can't see a way for any developers to justify these prices unless they start adding features that actually improve and aid the workflow. A good start would be to, say, add git-flow support. Money aside, this is a fine program and the developers were quite responsive during the beta. I am reverting, however, to SmartGit.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Londonskater
Londonskater
10 March 2011
Further to that comment, I decided to buy the app while I could still get a discount, on the basis that their responsiveness means that I might be able to persuade them to support a git-flow workflow right in Tower.
Like (1)
Robert-Sanford
03 March 2011
I use Tower to manage a world-wide group of developers. It makes it easy to check what was done by each person on a daily basis. Great UI and easy for new developers to use.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
Veryvito
24 February 2011
Crazy good support from the developer! Open to suggestions and quick to act. Thanks!
Like (2)
Version 1.0.3
Grfx-Guru
09 February 2011
Being reasonably new to GIT and having tried a few tools each time resorting back to the terminal, I have to say Tower really impresses me.
Like
Version 0.9.48
duncan-4
20 January 2011
makes version control easy, almost fun has a depth of features but still very usable for newbs
Like
Version 0.9.45
fonginator
19 December 2010
Been playing with Tower for a bit and I generally like it, although I do find it slower than GitX for basic usage. The main problem I have, though, is that pricing for the final product remains unannounced and the developer hasn't indicated (AFAIK) whether beta testers will be given discounts on the final product's cost. While others may be OK beta testing an upcoming commercial product at their own time and expense, I'd prefer to see some reciprocity in the form of free or discounted registrations.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.39
2 answer(s)
Londonskater
Londonskater
04 January 2011
I concur, it's mostly good, although they've actually made parts of the interface worse as the beta has gone on (specifically, the pull/push). But: Like the man said, I have reverted to SmartGit, which is excellent, as pricing for Tower is opaque and I don't really feel like beta testing commercial software for nothing. Open source products? Sure.
Like (1)
Sevan
Sevan
07 January 2011
Compared to other Git GUI software, Tower is indeed very slow. The interface is very nice but Gitbox or SmartGit are much more efficient (I do not comment on GitX as it always hangs while updating my main repos). The fact that the price isn't announced bothers me aswell. I went to try Gitbox and SmartGit, eventually choosing the latter due to the fact that there is a free license for non-commercial use which perfectly fits my needs.
Like (1)
mmac79
09 December 2010
awesome software! even at this early release phase. using it all the time allready. thanks guys.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.23
Cottser
01 December 2010
This may not be the Git client everyone's been waiting for, but it's certainly the one *I* have been waiting for. Highly recommended!
Like (6)
Version 0.9.23