Back to handyPrint page
handyPrint free download for Mac

handyPrint Reviews

14 August 2018

Activate AirPrint by adding or removing the required files.

How would you rate handyPrint?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
thejohnmadden
thejohnmadden
Mar 18 2021
5.5.0
5.0
Mar 18 2021
5.0
Version: 5.5.0
Installed easily on my Mac air. Worked perfectly from the start, even when the Mac was logged out and the lid closed.
Johnny-Rocket
Johnny-Rocket
Jan 15 2021
5.5.0
5.0
Jan 15 2021
5.0
Version: 5.5.0
Here's a free way to get non-airprint compatible printers working: AirPrint on macOS Get the Ruby app from here: https://github.com/PeterCrozier/AirPrint Make sure the changes from this site have been applied: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/65490698/in-browse-private-method-new-called-for-dnssdserviceclass-nomethoderror cd to the directory Run: gem install dnssd Then run: sudo ./airprintfix.rb -i
jlg89
jlg89
Dec 6 2019
5.5.0
1.0
Dec 6 2019
1.0
Version: 5.5.0
TL;DR: Ditch handyPrint, get Printopia. I used handyPrint for many years without problems...but as of Catalina, handyPrint seems to have very mixed results. It stopped working on my machines, won't even install. I've even used AppCleaner to completely remove it, restarted, and tried installing the latest version (5.5.0 as of this post). It won't even install. Downloaded the latest version of Printopia, launched it, and AirPrint started working again. The host Mac still needs to be running, but unlike handyPrint, does not need to be logged in. The Printopia daemon runs invisibly in the background. Printopia's $20 cost has already saved me over $40 in cussing. Well worth it.
info-2736
info-2736
Oct 21 2019
5.5.0
0.0
Oct 21 2019
0.0
Version: 5.5.0
I have 5.5 and it appears not to work with IOS 13.1.2
aebaron
aebaron
Feb 22 2019
5.5.0
1.0
Feb 22 2019
1.0
Version: 5.5.0
Handy Print 5.5 does not work when my iMac sleeps using Mohave 10.14..3 Did not work with 10.14.2 either. Wasted $20 on this app.! I was required to pay that much even though I was a previous customer. I hoped it would be worth the additional money, but it doesn't work. Looking for something that actually works!
Digital_Me
Digital_Me
Jan 24 2017
5.3.0
0.0
Jan 24 2017
0.0
Version: 5.3.0
Hi guys. Has anyone been able to install this with the latest Sierra? SIP prevents it from installing. I've checked the site and no updates yet from the developer to fix this.
Kennett
Kennett
Jan 1 2016
5.1.1
5.0
Jan 1 2016
5.0
Version: 5.1.1
handyPrint 5.2.0 is available from the developer's web site.
ToddS1627
ToddS1627
Oct 8 2015
5.1.1
1.0
Oct 8 2015
1.0
Version: 5.1.1
Worked once upon a time. Never updated. Support never responds. Works the first time if you know how to configure, but cannot be reconfigured.
jonathanstewart
jonathanstewart
Apr 1 2015
5.1
5.0
Apr 1 2015
5.0
Version: 5.1
A great little app, printing wonderfully to any of my printers, include VIPRiser and seems to work great! Brilliant. Amazing Apple couldn't have figured this one out themselves!! Took two Canadians to do it, figures! Congrats guys.
rr307cc
rr307cc
Nov 6 2014
5.1
5.0
Nov 6 2014
5.0
Version: 5.1
Version 5.1 works well in Yosemite.
BradMacPro
BradMacPro
Jul 25 2014
4.1.2
4.5
Jul 25 2014
4.5
Version: 4.1.2
Version 5.0.8 seems to even work in OS X 10.10 public beta.
DeanOzC3655
DeanOzC3655
Dec 27 2013
4.1.2
0.5
Dec 27 2013
0.5
Version: 4.1.2
Trial lasts 14days. THEN Requires a donation of more than $5 and you WILL need Internet connection for it to work. You can upgrade to the PRO version that doesn't need Internet to work, just local WiFi and an extra $20 to buy. This app is very basic and not worth $25+ defiantly an attempt to cheat you out of your money. Steer clear
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
Oct 20 2013
4.1.2
0.0
Oct 20 2013
0.0
Version: 4.1.2
Won't be upgrading. It's really annoying to be told you are forced to pay for a "donation." Are we idiots? That's like my government telling me that I may "voluntarily" pay income tax. Anyway, I can't see if this would even work with my iPad which has been upgraded to iOS7.
Gregm
Gregm
Sep 27 2013
4.1.2
0.0
Sep 27 2013
0.0
Version: 4.1.2
Ver 5x now available, Maverick ready (works fine on my ML). $5 (previous payments for previous versions are credited towards the $5) Is now an app, instead of pref pane.
ManfredA
ManfredA
Jun 17 2013
4.1.2
0.0
Jun 17 2013
0.0
Version: 4.1.2
v4.1.2 seemed not to be working with OSX 10.9 Maverick Prefpane is crashing instantly, v3.1.5 is working fine
Sgginc
Sgginc
Jun 17 2013
3.1.2
0.0
Jun 17 2013
0.0
Version: 3.1.2
There is a v4.1.2 at developer’s website. Lots of improvements.
bbbc
bbbc
Nov 27 2012
3.1.2
4.0
Nov 27 2012
4.0
Version: 3.1.2
Old AirPrint Activator v2.2b5 at https://code.google.com/p/air-print-activator/ .
yonaelig
yonaelig
Nov 10 2012
3.1.1
0.5
Nov 10 2012
0.5
Version: 3.1.1
Hi, I just tried to install Handyprint on my iMac that runs with Lion 10.7.5 and I cannot see my printer anymore, my System Preferences freezes when I try to go on Printers & Scanners and of course every single software, wether Mail or Photoshop, I try to print fron freezes as well. I have to force quitting all the time and although I trashed Handyprint I still cannot get to my printer...SOMETHING WENT VERY WRONG, can anyone help? Am I the only one?? ( Printers : Epson Stylus Photo R2400 and Canon IP100) Thank you
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
Oct 10 2012
3.1.0
0.0
Oct 10 2012
0.0
Version: 3.1.0
MacUpDate Admins -- a new version has been released. Please note the name change. What is new in this release: v3.1.1 (Sept 23 2012): - Rebranded application to handyPrint. - Improved installer to handle closing of PrefPane. - Added a new feature that will restart the Daemon after the computer wakes up from sleep. Should help with some exceptional cases. - Other minor bug fixes.
Bill-601
Bill-601
Sep 29 2012
3.1.0
0.0
Sep 29 2012
0.0
Version: 3.1.0
FYI: Not free. 14-day trial.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Sep 27 2012
3.1.0
0.0
Sep 27 2012
0.0
Version: 3.1.0
This USED to be free, now MU is wrong with the license listing.
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
Sep 26 2012
3.1.0
5.0
Sep 26 2012
5.0
Version: 3.1.0
Works as promised. Very nice.
Kennett
Kennett
Sep 26 2012
3.0.6
5.0
Sep 26 2012
5.0
Version: 3.0.6
Version 3.1.0 is available from the developer's site.
gcoghill
gcoghill
Sep 20 2012
2.2b5
0.0
Sep 20 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2b5
Head over to the developer's site for the latest version, this app has been updated to 3.06, and works fine under 10.8 with iOS6.
Eyeless
Eyeless
Sep 20 2012
2.2b5
0.0
Sep 20 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2b5
What about version 3.0.6 that one has to use with 10.8.2?
Cavir
Cavir
Sep 19 2012
2.2b5
5.0
Sep 19 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2b5
I have installed AirPrint Activator and everything connected on my AirPort Extreme network(IPod touch, Imac, MacBook, IPad) were available to print on my old Epson Stylus RX620! So easy and saved money...
TonyVilla
TonyVilla
Sep 3 2012
2.2b5
5.0
Sep 3 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2b5
I have an iMAC running OS X 10.8.1 Mountain Lion and just Downloaded AirPrint Activator 2.2b5 to connect my iPhone 4S and iPAD. Worked like a charm. My Brother MFC-490CW displayed immediately and I was able to test print from my iPAD.
Josue64
Josue64
Jul 9 2012
2.2b5
4.5
Jul 9 2012
4.5
Version: 2.2b5
Recently bought an iPad3 and asked my boss what he uses for his printing app. I did not want to go out and buy a wifi printer. My printer is only 2 years old. His printer is an old scuzzi that he has a usb adaptor on it and it worked with Airprint Activator. I installed it and it worked perfectly. Just what I need. I have sent a donation to the developer. Please support.
Forn
Forn
May 31 2012
2.2b5
5.0
May 31 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2b5
Without Question 5 Stars
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
May 14 2012
2.2b3
0.0
May 14 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2b3
Great little app. Needs Sparkle support though, to check for updates in the Prefpane!
NedC
NedC
May 14 2012
2.2b3
4.5
May 14 2012
4.5
Version: 2.2b3
I saved money with this app. I was about to shell out 200 for a airprint capable printer to use with my ipad. Now my deskjet F4400 works great. It was well worth the donate. Thanks again !!! Ned C:
Solosaint
Solosaint
Apr 25 2012
2.1b4
0.0
Apr 25 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1b4
Anyone know if this prints to PDF?
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Apr 7 2012
2.1b4
5.0
Apr 7 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1b4
Terrific! Now my Dell 3110cn laser printer works from my iPad. Thanks!
Skeller
Skeller
Jan 30 2012
2.1b4
4.0
Jan 30 2012
4.0
Version: 2.1b4
works like a charm. didn't try for a long time, will just announce it to the others in my network. Lion and a HP LaserJet P1006
Johnny-Rocket
Johnny-Rocket
Jan 4 2012
2.1b4
5.0
Jan 4 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1b4
worked great in Lion 10.7.2 for my Brother laser printer
restored
restored
Dec 29 2011
2.1b4
0.0
Dec 29 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1b4
I'm stopped installing it because analyzing the code (binary) it comes out some strange things that would be nice that can be explained : cd ./AirPrintActivator-v2.1b2/AirPrintActivator/helper file aparedir aparedir: Mach-O universal binary with 2 architectures aparedir (for architecture x86_64): Mach-O 64-bit executable x86_64 aparedir (for architecture i386): Mach-O executable i386
Lwieder
Lwieder
Nov 8 2011
2.1b2
5.0
Nov 8 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1b2
Elegant, free, works flawlessly with 1 iPad2, 2 iPhone 4 printing to a Brother MFC7440N over wifi (using MBPro as server). Until iOs5 or later can rip postscript to a laser printer, this is the solution. If the iDevice occasionally doesn't print, toggling the APActivator restores full function.
wschroeder
wschroeder
Oct 27 2011
2.1b2
0.0
Oct 27 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1b2
Loaded on my iMac with OS 10.7.2. Trying to print from iPad 2 with IOS 5.0. I can see my Epson Artisan 710 when I set up the AirPrint but when I print, nothing happens. I printed from the iMac normally, but when I tried again from the iPad, no joy. Please advise. Thanks.
Crunc
Crunc
Oct 15 2011
2.1b2
0.0
Oct 15 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1b2
I can not download AirPrint Activator - when I try to go to the website it tries to go to http://127.0.0.1/... for some reason. Is anyone else having this problem downloading it?
imamacwizard
imamacwizard
Sep 17 2011
2.1b2
0.0
Sep 17 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1b2
AirPrint Activator is not working for me. I can "see" printers and send a document, but It goes to iPad's "Print Center" and doesn't seem to go anywhere from there. Nothing prints. Any ideas? Could my NetGear N750 router be a factor? Printers are HP 7280 and HP 4100.
Macinman
Macinman
Sep 12 2011
2.1b2
0.0
Sep 12 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1b2
I'm wanting to try this application to see if it will enable compatibility for my HP Photosmart printer with my iPhone. currently the printer isn't showing up in the list of printers to share. I was wondering if this is because I have it connected to the airport base station via ethernet, and if connecting it by the usb port will fix this, or if the printer joust won't worth AirPrint. It sounds like from the description, it would work over usb maybe.
Steve-Frawley
Steve-Frawley
May 5 2011
2.0b14
4.5
May 5 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0b14
*** NOTE: b14 is Intel only b13 works on PPC machines How do I get PDF on a G5?
SRQ
SRQ
May 5 2011
2.0b14
5.0
May 5 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0b14
Excellent! Works for me
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Apr 22 2011
2.0b11
5.0
Apr 22 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0b11
It was more than a little disappointing to learn that AirPrint would only work with specific AirPrint-compatible printers. Buying a new printer just for that feature was not an option, and workarounds to get documents to our Mac to print was rather tedious. AirPrint Activator made all that go away! We can now print at will from our iPad or iPhones just as easily as we would have from the Mac. The minor downside is that the Mac must be on, but that's a limitation that can't be circumvented short of new equipment, or perhaps jailbreaking. I'm good with it.
tdertate
tdertate
Apr 11 2011
2.0b9
5.0
Apr 11 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0b9
Love it...set it up on my iMac with OSX 10.6.7 with an Epson 520 wired to my wireless router. My iPad and iPhones work like a charm...set up was less than 30 secs...way to go AirPrint Activator design team...if only more things in life were as easy...
MacBill
MacBill
Apr 10 2011
2.0b9
4.5
Apr 10 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0b9
I have a Brother MFC-490CW setup wireless on 192.168.x.x. The application works. I can print from my apple devices but the printer name does not appear inthe list of active airprint shared printers window. I tried just about everything mentioned on the app's forum to get it to list the printer with no success.
Mex4eric
Mex4eric
Apr 10 2011
2.0b9
0.5
Apr 10 2011
0.5
Version: 2.0b9
Running 10.6.7 on an Intel MacBook and tried to male available a Canon i450 via an Airport Extreme. Didn't work! Even after deleting and adding the printer.
Crunc
Crunc
Apr 6 2011
2.0b8
0.0
Apr 6 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0b8
Wow. This seems to work great! I'm able to share any printer, including ones on our network, and using AirPrint Activator 2.0b I can print from my iPhone 4. i can't say that I print much any more, but when I do this will come in handy. I only just started using it, so not a review yet, but in my short test it seems to work really well. Also, FYI, you don't need to keep the application running. Just use the app to enable AirPrint sharing and then you can close it. Printing still works.
Tofi
Tofi
Mar 21 2011
2.0b7
4.5
Mar 21 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0b7
well my canon printer mx 870 worked fine on 10.6. I am a little ahead of this time. Since I installed 10.7 Lion , it doesn't work, but that is my problem.
Plantguy
Plantguy
Mar 20 2011
2.0b7
4.5
Mar 20 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0b7
I installed latest version (2.0b7) on my iMac (10.6.6). Before running AirPrint Activator, checked to make sure printers - Epson Stylus Color 777i attached to computer and HP Deskjet 5650 plugged into Airport Extreme - were shared on the network. Booted AirPrint Activator and both printers showed up on list of active printers. Tested printing a PDF file from PDF Reader app on iPad 1 (4.3), and both printers worked well. I did not have earlier version of AirPrint Activator previously installed.