Back to Printopia page
Printopia free download for Mac

Printopia Reviews3.0.14

11 October 2019

Share Mac printers with iOS devices.

5
kkereta
22 November 2010
Version: 1.0.2

Most helpful

excellent, loving their products and lifetime updates especially save to mac and save to dropbox no pay, no game :)
(4)

How would you rate Printopia app?

Read 73 Printopia User Reviews

5
goran1843
30 January 2020
Version: 3.0.14
I am deliriously happy with it. From my iPad to my Mac OSX 10.11.6 to my old Samsung printer SCX 4300 - a piece of cake! Saved me from buying a new printer. Thank you very much for this jewel.
(0)
2
faywalker2
19 March 2019
Version: 3.0.13
HI - I have just started to trial the Printopia and it identifies my printer. However, I still can't print from my iPhone 6Splus or iPad.
I note that the
* the app symbol is next to the printer
* the iPhone recognises the printer
* the printer note says offline
* message from phone is that the printer is busy.'
My question:
Is this an app or printer issue or MAC issue - I have Mac OS Mojave 10.14.3?
Hope you can help
PS - the printer is Epson ET-2710
Fay
(1)
4.5
Hdms
20 September 2018
Version: 3.0.12
Had this for years with non-airprint enabled printers and its worked well. It now works even better as it has become more refined. I also like the being able to 'print' to device, where i don't want to print actual paper, but want to store on a network drive, or my mac, for example. Well worth the money!
(0)
Jim-Leff
19 May 2018
Version: 3.0.8
3.09 is latest.

Also: this is an under-rated app. It's five star must-try IMO. See my review further down.
(1)
Eric•Woehler
22 March 2018
Version: 3.0.8
I am able to print from my iPhone 6s and iPad Air with inbuilt airprint feature and brother iOS app all devices and Brother laser printer all on same wifi network and works with all iOS apps Brother iOS app is 'iPrint&Scan' and is free not assoc with any commercial company, just advising about free alternative to $20 app
(0)
5
wboweng10
27 February 2018
Version: 3.0.7
Printopia is GREAT. I have used it since I first discovered it. It allows all my pre-AirPrint printers (inkjet and laser) to be shared wirelessly over the home network. This makes all the printers available to all our iOS an laptop devices. Very cool, and VERY reliable. Love it.
(0)
5
Jim-Leff
08 December 2017
Version: 3.0.4
Works like magic. Creates delight. No detailed instructions due to elegant simplicity. Awesome software. Print stuff from the living room or from across the world, it's right there in my tray when I need it (if you're on the road and need immediate hard copy, fax stuff to your hotel's fax machine!)
(0)
RogerKatz
12 November 2017
Version: 3.0.3
The current version is 3.0.4
(0)
4.5
Drdul
31 October 2017
Version: 3.0.2
Works as advertised. In my experience, version 3 works better than version 2 did. The upgrade to version 3 could have been explained better, but once installed (and version 2 removed automatically) it works well.
(1)
2.5
Knapster
28 October 2017
Version: 3.0.1
Okay, here's my experience of upgrading: • Bought this app as part of an MU bundle. Had to recover my old key from the previous developer. • Then upgraded via the site. • Why the developer needs my telephone number is beyond me. • New key not sent. I used key recovery to get it. Then the key arrived. After that my official email regarding my key arrived! • Printopia is now an app rather than a preference pane. Not a good decision IMO. • Printing images used to automatically open them 'like magic' in preview. It no longer seems to work. This feature has to be enabled by clicking on the printer, then its settings. • Closing the window should close the app, given it is not required to run to Printopia to function. • Overall, It would be better just to run the old Printopia until it no longer functions. I bought this so at least it would be supported beyond High Sierra. As mentioned, some documentation would be nice. • The PDF and App workflows are really good - but should be more obvious to the end user.
(0)
Show comments (2)
4
Jimw
26 October 2017
Version: 3.0.1
Just installed it after spending 30min trying to figure out how to do it. It has no obvious install instructions. All that downloads is an App. SQA on this product seems very poor. It demands that I use it in an Admin account which I am already logged into. There is no info or help when first launched. It also demands it be in the "Applications"folder and does not like being in a subfolder. A successful installation is not obvious. The only way I found to determine this is the presence of the drive in the printer prefs preference pane. It did not remove the previous version as the description indicated it would.. And finally; I could only get it installed by login into my machine as the "root user", which in current systems is a bit complex to set up; Apple generally advises against:; and has the potential to damage OSX if used improperly thus usually requiring a complete reinstallation of the operating system should this happen. Given this experience I would wait to upgrade until or if an update to 3.0 is released with fixes that allows users to install from an actual administrative account and offers some documentation, such as a readme with the App.
(3)
Show comments (6)
4.5
Edeerly
08 July 2016
Version: 2.1.20
Considering the cost the upgrade perfectly good hardware, the seemingly high cost is a bit easier to understand. It works well so far.
(0)
2
Evaluator
21 May 2016
Version: 2.1.20
I loved this software when I first got it. I use an older Mac Pro in a home with several iPhones and an older iPad. Our wi-fi network is the current version of the AirPort extreme. Over the past year or so, I constantly find note on my desk from other family members stating they cannot print from their IOS devices. The printer is setup on a hard-wired ethernet network (we have both wi-fi and ethernet combined). The "fix" is to print from my Mac, which apparently wakes the printer. That is unacceptable. Until this matter is resolved, I have to change my five star rating to two stars.
(0)
5
Wchnlcc
24 April 2016
Version: 2.1.19
Makes wireless printing in the house so easy, especially when friends come over. Not only does it work with our two printers without issue, but it also shares docs into Dropbox and a folder on the iMac. We have a teacher in the family and this one software has definitely been a great benefit for us!...
(0)
5
ApplesGuy
18 April 2016
Version: 2.1.18
printopia is the best solution for iOS devices to do printer sharing on Macs!
(0)
Jayaii
05 April 2016
Version: 2.1.16
"If your update does not finish, download Printopia from our website and run the installer manually."
(0)
1
Digital_Me
18 February 2016
Version: 2.1.14
Big problems with El Capitan. App tends to disable waking from sleep, power nap. The iMac just disappears from Bonjour Proxy Server list to wake up.
(0)
Show comments (3)
Kobalt
11 August 2015
Version: 2.1.11
Updated to 2.1.13 https://www.decisivetactics.com/products/printopia/dl/Printopia_2.1.13.zip
(0)
4.5
neonwizard
06 July 2015
Version: 2.1.11
Printopia 2.1.12 Fixed issue preventing sleep. Added option to prevent sleep while connected to line power. Thanks for driving me crazy for a day trying to figure out why my Mac Pro wouldn't sleep...Rant over...Still, I love Printopia, all is forgiven.
(0)
5
piquadratpi2
09 May 2015
Version: 2.1.10.4
Good as always! I never have had any problems with this really stable and good software. And I am happy that it still will be updated. I use it with all my iOS devices and it works on all my Macs like a charm. In short: a really great software. Thanks!
(1)
cansul
07 December 2014
Version: 2.1.10.2
I purchased Printopia a couple of years ago and it worked fine. When I got a new Mac this Fall I noticed that Prinoptia had not loaded intomy new iMac System Preferences. Is that why I cannot get a free update? Printopia website says updates are "free", but there is not a link associated with that statement and i don't see any update links anywhere else. Help Please!
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
Jazzyguy
26 September 2013
Version: 2.1.10.1
Great for the iPad and iPhone!
(4)
4
cssaleh
18 August 2013
Version: 2.1.10
Excellent tool to share your printer with all your mobile devices like iPhone, iPad, etc.
(2)
Drsfg
17 June 2013
Version: 2.1.10
If you already have a paid version of Printopia, it's better to update via the general preferences pane rather than running the downloaded demo. Only your registered email address is asked for.
(4)
Higherterrain
02 November 2012
Version: 2.1.8
Does anyone use FingerPrint. I'm looking at it as an alternative.
(1)
Show comment (1)
5
Digital_Me
28 October 2012
Version: 2.1.8
Fantastic. Works with old iMac on 10.5.8 along with iOS 6. The other competitor stopped supporting 10.5.8 users with iOS 6. My book, this one is a winner and worth the price.
(1)
5
piquadratpi2
17 October 2012
Version: 2.1.8
I never have had any problems with this useful app. Can't understand how I could withstand without it. Of course it's a valuable addition to any iOS device and it makes sharing of pictures and documents inside a homenet so much easier, not only printing them...
(3)
Show comment (1)
5
Fariborz
09 September 2012
Version: 2.1.7
Works like a charm for me. Have never had any issue with it. Prints whatever I throw at it. Highly recommended. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
(3)
5
Imho
09 September 2012
Version: 2.1.7
This is great. From one moment to another my iPad can print on my wireless Epson. Software as software should be for the Mac: download, double-click, print! Really great.
(3)
1
MHerndz
27 August 2012
Version: 2.1.6
Regardless of what is said here, Printopia 2.26 doesn't work with Mt. Lion. All I get is "No Airprint Printers Found". Time to Update…
(2)
Show comments (2)
5
wboweng10
21 August 2012
Version: 2.1.6
I use this almost daily to support printing from iPhones in our house. Very pleased with it. Without it, we'd not be able to access those printers from our phones!
(0)
5
CFrag
24 July 2012
Version: 2.1.6
A nice, elegant and simple solution if you already have networked printers that are not Airprint compatible but do have WiFi. Printing from my iPad (even the original iPad) is a snap. The kind people at Ecamm even helped me overcome some obstacles when I wanted to install Printopia on our Server (now works like a charm). If you want to print from you iPad, this is the best way to go.
(1)
Priscilla-A-Frappier
03 July 2012
Version: 2.1.6
I've suddenly encountered an issue where my printer is not recognized. I need to go to my computer and turn Printopia Off and then on again. Also, when my computer is asleep, it used to wake up with a print request from my iPad, but now I need to go to my computer and wake it up before I can print. Sort of defeats being able to print from my iPad! Help please. Thanks.
(0)
1.5
Fordomatic
26 April 2012
Version: 2.1.6
Since Upgrading to the 2.1.6 version, every time I boot my MacBook, I receive the following error: Do you want the application "Printiopia Server.app" to accept incoming network connections? Sent 2 support requests in a week about this but no response from the developer.
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
Drdul
10 April 2012
Version: 2.1.6
Now I can save PDFs from my iPad! I bought Printopia because I wanted to be able to print from my iPad occasionally, and it's a lot cheaper than buying a new Airprint-compatible printer. Well, it turns out I'm using it a lot more to create PDFs than to print. Until Apple adds "save as PDF" to iOS, Printopia does a great job of filling the gap.
(0)
5
mlibrescu
19 March 2012
Version: 2.1.5
I had the same experience as the last reviewer. I downloaded the demo, printed from my iPhone, and bought the registered version all in about 5 minutes. I you want to print from your iPhone or iPad and don't have an AirPrint printer or a network printer with its own IP address, Printopia is the way to go. This program worked so well and was so easy to set up and use that I actually contacted the company and asked them where I could go on the web to write a review.
(3)
5
Bazineta
12 March 2012
Version: 2.1.5
This utility is the current record holder for my shortest demo copy evaluation time prior to purchase; under 40 seconds. It's that good. Extremely simple install, configures itself immediately, works flawlessly. An outstanding value.
(0)
5
Guizmo85
15 February 2012
Version: 2.1.5
This software was part of a bundle I bought. I do not have any iOS device myself, but all my friend does. This little software will transform your Mac into a Print Server for iOS devices. If you're on the same local network, your iOS device will see via Bonjour your printers through your Mac. Of course, your Mac needs to be ON. No need to install complex drivers on your iOS device. No need to even buy an iOS compatible printer. If it works on your Mac, it will wor on your iOS. One of the feature I like the most, is that you can Print as a PDF or JPG to your Mac. your friends wants to send you a picture? no need to send it via email, or transfert it via USB, all you have to do is to "print" it by choosing to send it to your Mac. No hassle.
(1)
5
Breamrockmetteller
23 November 2011
Version: 2.1.5
I love this product! My wife prints duplex documents from her iPad to a Canon multifunction box with no idea that any sort of proxy magic is going on. Just the way it should be.
(0)
4.5
JohnKHeath
29 October 2011
Version: 2.1.4
I got Printopia for use in the office when we switched to Mac and now I use it at home. It is an effective handy application,
(0)
5
Chocky
29 September 2011
Version: 2.1.3
Printopia "just works" and in the bargain lets you "print" documents as pdf files to Preview on other Macs on your network. That feature alone is worth the price of the software. Printing from your iOS devices is a bonus ;-)
(0)
5
Pwenzel
08 September 2011
Version: 2.1.1
The fact that this application still supports PPCs running 10.5 just rocks my world. Like others have said, it "just works". I have an old G4 Mac Mini acting as an office server. Printopia just increased the usefulness that old machine. Got in the Macupdate Promo Bundle. Can't beat the price.
(0)
4.5
Matthiasr
07 September 2011
Version: 2.1.1
It works like a charm. The send to App function is awesome.
(0)
5
pcharles
05 September 2011
Version: 2.1.1
This application really has added a lot to the usability of my families iPads. I have a copy at home and a copy at work, which allows me to print most of the things I need. It even integrates fairly well with back to my Mac and printer sharing.
(0)
5
signalprocessor
19 July 2011
Version: 2.1
I've been using Printopia for a few months now. I have an old Brother laser printer, a Canon Inkjet, and a new Canon MF4350D. I tried both of the other apps but found neither allowed me to use the duplex feature on either printer. With the MF4350, the other two apps only printed the first page and then stopped working! At work, some of our printers have passwords, and again only Printopia allowed me to print to those. It seems Printopia is a complete implementation of the AirPrint protocol, as all of the features work properly, while the other apps just seem to trick the iPhone into thinking it's talking to an AirPrint device when it's not- which explains the problems and the prominent disclaimers on the other apps websites. Printopia is well done, you can tell they've put a lot of work into this.
(2)
5
Raycon
19 July 2011
Version: 2.1
Ecamm nails it every time (I won several of their apps), and Printopia is not exception. It just plain works with no set-up required. Provides several options and never found a glitch.
(0)
nonniem
23 June 2011
Version: 2.0.2
Just downloaded the demo. It seems to recognize my printers but can't send the file to be printed.
(0)
MHerndz
09 June 2011
Version: 2.0.2
Me again! Well, with this version, it actually worked - on the first try. After the first print, all the printers are gone from the list. Restarted both iPad and Mac - Printopia sees nothing, even though it sees them on the Mac. Again, it doesn't work… Stop charging ridiculous sums for something that works a 1/4 of the way…
(0)
Show comments (2)
MHerndz
10 May 2011
Version: 2.0.2
Wow! Works perfectly…! NOT… Of course, the same ol' story, install app, check all prefs, all prefs are go, go to iPad to print, network is active - doesn't see ANY printers, therefore Printopia doesn't work… Junked…
(0)
Francky76
04 May 2011
Version: 2.0.2
On sale at the moment in a bundle (www.maclegion.com) : Apps Included: Data Rescue Screenflow Contactizer Pro Virus Barrier Forklift Launchbar Amadeus Pro Radio Gaga Printopia MacPilot The first 9,000 buyers also get HDRrtist Pro PS : I would understand if Macupdate's admin would erase this comment as it is a concurrent to the MUPromo site. In case you don't, feel free to edit my message and erase this PS. I ain't affiliated to Maclegion, I just think it's a great bundle.
(0)