Back to Printopia page
Printopia free download for Mac

Printopia Reviews3.0.18

12 March 2021

Share Mac printers with iOS devices.

How would you rate Printopia?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
Jan 20 2021
3.0.16
1.0
Jan 20 2021
1.0
Version: 3.0.16
Keep trying to re-install it after reformatting my iMac and keep getting "The Printopia service is no longer running. Re-install Printopia service". Keeps happening. Have send the developer many emails, and also via Twitter since mid-December, and I am ignored. Pathetic.
amy-liz-mac
amy-liz-mac
Jan 12 2021
3.0.15
5.0
Jan 12 2021
5.0
Version: 3.0.15
THANKYOU!!!!! I just spent hours trying to work out how I could print to my new (yes new) Epson printer without AirPrint (insert eyeball). I didn't want to have to use their app to print everything and couldn't figure out how to print emails wirelessly to my printer as the only way I can print is with their app. This program is brilliant!
Johnny-Rocket
Johnny-Rocket
Jan 10 2021
3.0.15
0.0
Jan 10 2021
0.0
Version: 3.0.15
Here's a free way to get non-airprint compatible printers working: AirPrint on macOS Get the Ruby app from here: https://github.com/PeterCrozier/AirPrint Make sure the changes from this site have been applied: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/65490698/in-browse-private-method-new-called-for-dnssdserviceclass-nomethoderror cd to the directory Run: gem install dnssd Then run: sudo ./airprintfix.rb -i
goran1843
goran1843
Jan 30 2020
3.0.14
5.0
Jan 30 2020
5.0
Version: 3.0.14
I am deliriously happy with it. From my iPad to my Mac OSX 10.11.6 to my old Samsung printer SCX 4300 - a piece of cake! Saved me from buying a new printer. Thank you very much for this jewel.
faywalker2
faywalker2
Mar 19 2019
3.0.13
2.0
Mar 19 2019
2.0
Version: 3.0.13
HI - I have just started to trial the Printopia and it identifies my printer. However, I still can't print from my iPhone 6Splus or iPad.
I note that the
* the app symbol is next to the printer
* the iPhone recognises the printer
* the printer note says offline
* message from phone is that the printer is busy.'
My question:
Is this an app or printer issue or MAC issue - I have Mac OS Mojave 10.14.3?
Hope you can help
PS - the printer is Epson ET-2710
Fay
anonymous-wallaby-5682
anonymous-wallaby-5682
Sep 20 2018
3.0.12
4.5
Sep 20 2018
4.5
Version: 3.0.12
Had this for years with non-airprint enabled printers and its worked well. It now works even better as it has become more refined. I also like the being able to 'print' to device, where i don't want to print actual paper, but want to store on a network drive, or my mac, for example. Well worth the money!
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
May 19 2018
3.0.8
5.0
May 19 2018
5.0
Version: 3.0.8
3.09 is latest.

Also: this is an under-rated app. It's five star must-try IMO. See my review further down.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Mar 22 2018
3.0.8
0.0
Mar 22 2018
0.0
Version: 3.0.8
I am able to print from my iPhone 6s and iPad Air with inbuilt airprint feature and brother iOS app all devices and Brother laser printer all on same wifi network and works with all iOS apps Brother iOS app is 'iPrint&Scan' and is free not assoc with any commercial company, just advising about free alternative to $20 app
wboweng10
wboweng10
Feb 27 2018
3.0.7
5.0
Feb 27 2018
5.0
Version: 3.0.7
Printopia is GREAT. I have used it since I first discovered it. It allows all my pre-AirPrint printers (inkjet and laser) to be shared wirelessly over the home network. This makes all the printers available to all our iOS an laptop devices. Very cool, and VERY reliable. Love it.
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
Dec 8 2017
3.0.4
5.0
Dec 8 2017
5.0
Version: 3.0.4
Works like magic. Creates delight. No detailed instructions due to elegant simplicity. Awesome software. Print stuff from the living room or from across the world, it's right there in my tray when I need it (if you're on the road and need immediate hard copy, fax stuff to your hotel's fax machine!)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Nov 12 2017
3.0.3
0.0
Nov 12 2017
0.0
Version: 3.0.3
The current version is 3.0.4
Drdul
Drdul
Oct 31 2017
3.0.2
4.5
Oct 31 2017
4.5
Version: 3.0.2
Works as advertised. In my experience, version 3 works better than version 2 did. The upgrade to version 3 could have been explained better, but once installed (and version 2 removed automatically) it works well.
Knapster
Knapster
Oct 28 2017
3.0.1
2.5
Oct 28 2017
2.5
Version: 3.0.1
Okay, here's my experience of upgrading: • Bought this app as part of an MU bundle. Had to recover my old key from the previous developer. • Then upgraded via the site. • Why the developer needs my telephone number is beyond me. • New key not sent. I used key recovery to get it. Then the key arrived. After that my official email regarding my key arrived! • Printopia is now an app rather than a preference pane. Not a good decision IMO. • Printing images used to automatically open them 'like magic' in preview. It no longer seems to work. This feature has to be enabled by clicking on the printer, then its settings. • Closing the window should close the app, given it is not required to run to Printopia to function. • Overall, It would be better just to run the old Printopia until it no longer functions. I bought this so at least it would be supported beyond High Sierra. As mentioned, some documentation would be nice. • The PDF and App workflows are really good - but should be more obvious to the end user.
James
James
Oct 26 2017
3.0.1
4.0
Oct 26 2017
4.0
Version: 3.0.1
Just installed it after spending 30min trying to figure out how to do it. It has no obvious install instructions. All that downloads is an App. SQA on this product seems very poor. It demands that I use it in an Admin account which I am already logged into. There is no info or help when first launched. It also demands it be in the "Applications"folder and does not like being in a subfolder. A successful installation is not obvious. The only way I found to determine this is the presence of the drive in the printer prefs preference pane. It did not remove the previous version as the description indicated it would.. And finally; I could only get it installed by login into my machine as the "root user", which in current systems is a bit complex to set up; Apple generally advises against:; and has the potential to damage OSX if used improperly thus usually requiring a complete reinstallation of the operating system should this happen. Given this experience I would wait to upgrade until or if an update to 3.0 is released with fixes that allows users to install from an actual administrative account and offers some documentation, such as a readme with the App.
Edeerly
Edeerly
Jul 8 2016
2.1.20
4.5
Jul 8 2016
4.5
Version: 2.1.20
Considering the cost the upgrade perfectly good hardware, the seemingly high cost is a bit easier to understand. It works well so far.
Evaluator
Evaluator
May 21 2016
2.1.20
2.0
May 21 2016
2.0
Version: 2.1.20
I loved this software when I first got it. I use an older Mac Pro in a home with several iPhones and an older iPad. Our wi-fi network is the current version of the AirPort extreme. Over the past year or so, I constantly find note on my desk from other family members stating they cannot print from their IOS devices. The printer is setup on a hard-wired ethernet network (we have both wi-fi and ethernet combined). The "fix" is to print from my Mac, which apparently wakes the printer. That is unacceptable. Until this matter is resolved, I have to change my five star rating to two stars.
Wchnlcc
Wchnlcc
Apr 24 2016
2.1.19
5.0
Apr 24 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.19
Makes wireless printing in the house so easy, especially when friends come over. Not only does it work with our two printers without issue, but it also shares docs into Dropbox and a folder on the iMac. We have a teacher in the family and this one software has definitely been a great benefit for us!...
ApplesGuy
ApplesGuy
Apr 18 2016
2.1.18
5.0
Apr 18 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.18
printopia is the best solution for iOS devices to do printer sharing on Macs!
Jayaii
Jayaii
Apr 5 2016
2.1.16
0.0
Apr 5 2016
0.0
Version: 2.1.16
"If your update does not finish, download Printopia from our website and run the installer manually."
Digital_Me
Digital_Me
Feb 18 2016
2.1.14
1.0
Feb 18 2016
1.0
Version: 2.1.14
Big problems with El Capitan. App tends to disable waking from sleep, power nap. The iMac just disappears from Bonjour Proxy Server list to wake up.
Kobalt
Kobalt
Aug 11 2015
2.1.11
0.0
Aug 11 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.11
Updated to 2.1.13 https://www.decisivetactics.com/products/printopia/dl/Printopia_2.1.13.zip
neonwizard
neonwizard
Jul 6 2015
2.1.11
4.5
Jul 6 2015
4.5
Version: 2.1.11
Printopia 2.1.12 Fixed issue preventing sleep. Added option to prevent sleep while connected to line power. Thanks for driving me crazy for a day trying to figure out why my Mac Pro wouldn't sleep...Rant over...Still, I love Printopia, all is forgiven.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
May 9 2015
2.1.10.4
5.0
May 9 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1.10.4
Good as always! I never have had any problems with this really stable and good software. And I am happy that it still will be updated. I use it with all my iOS devices and it works on all my Macs like a charm. In short: a really great software. Thanks!
cansul
cansul
Dec 7 2014
2.1.10.2
0.0
Dec 7 2014
0.0
Version: 2.1.10.2
I purchased Printopia a couple of years ago and it worked fine. When I got a new Mac this Fall I noticed that Prinoptia had not loaded intomy new iMac System Preferences. Is that why I cannot get a free update? Printopia website says updates are "free", but there is not a link associated with that statement and i don't see any update links anywhere else. Help Please!
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Sep 26 2013
2.1.10.1
5.0
Sep 26 2013
5.0
Version: 2.1.10.1
Great for the iPad and iPhone!
cssaleh
cssaleh
Aug 18 2013
2.1.10
4.0
Aug 18 2013
4.0
Version: 2.1.10
Excellent tool to share your printer with all your mobile devices like iPhone, iPad, etc.
Drsfg
Drsfg
Jun 17 2013
2.1.10
0.0
Jun 17 2013
0.0
Version: 2.1.10
If you already have a paid version of Printopia, it's better to update via the general preferences pane rather than running the downloaded demo. Only your registered email address is asked for.
Higherterrain
Higherterrain
Nov 2 2012
2.1.8
0.0
Nov 2 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1.8
Does anyone use FingerPrint. I'm looking at it as an alternative.
Digital_Me
Digital_Me
Oct 28 2012
2.1.8
1.0
Oct 28 2012
1.0
Version: 2.1.8
Fantastic. Works with old iMac on 10.5.8 along with iOS 6. The other competitor stopped supporting 10.5.8 users with iOS 6. My book, this one is a winner and worth the price.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Oct 17 2012
2.1.8
5.0
Oct 17 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.8
I never have had any problems with this useful app. Can't understand how I could withstand without it. Of course it's a valuable addition to any iOS device and it makes sharing of pictures and documents inside a homenet so much easier, not only printing them...
Fariborz
Fariborz
Sep 9 2012
2.1.7
5.0
Sep 9 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.7
Works like a charm for me. Have never had any issue with it. Prints whatever I throw at it. Highly recommended. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Imho
Imho
Sep 9 2012
2.1.7
5.0
Sep 9 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.7
This is great. From one moment to another my iPad can print on my wireless Epson. Software as software should be for the Mac: download, double-click, print! Really great.
MHerndz
MHerndz
Aug 27 2012
2.1.6
1.0
Aug 27 2012
1.0
Version: 2.1.6
Regardless of what is said here, Printopia 2.26 doesn't work with Mt. Lion. All I get is "No Airprint Printers Found". Time to Update…
wboweng10
wboweng10
Aug 21 2012
2.1.6
5.0
Aug 21 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.6
I use this almost daily to support printing from iPhones in our house. Very pleased with it. Without it, we'd not be able to access those printers from our phones!
CFrag
CFrag
Jul 24 2012
2.1.6
5.0
Jul 24 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.6
A nice, elegant and simple solution if you already have networked printers that are not Airprint compatible but do have WiFi. Printing from my iPad (even the original iPad) is a snap. The kind people at Ecamm even helped me overcome some obstacles when I wanted to install Printopia on our Server (now works like a charm). If you want to print from you iPad, this is the best way to go.
Priscilla-A-Frappier
Priscilla-A-Frappier
Jul 3 2012
2.1.6
0.0
Jul 3 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1.6
I've suddenly encountered an issue where my printer is not recognized. I need to go to my computer and turn Printopia Off and then on again. Also, when my computer is asleep, it used to wake up with a print request from my iPad, but now I need to go to my computer and wake it up before I can print. Sort of defeats being able to print from my iPad! Help please. Thanks.
Fordomatic
Fordomatic
Apr 26 2012
2.1.6
1.5
Apr 26 2012
1.5
Version: 2.1.6
Since Upgrading to the 2.1.6 version, every time I boot my MacBook, I receive the following error: Do you want the application "Printiopia Server.app" to accept incoming network connections? Sent 2 support requests in a week about this but no response from the developer.
Drdul
Drdul
Apr 10 2012
2.1.6
4.5
Apr 10 2012
4.5
Version: 2.1.6
Now I can save PDFs from my iPad! I bought Printopia because I wanted to be able to print from my iPad occasionally, and it's a lot cheaper than buying a new Airprint-compatible printer. Well, it turns out I'm using it a lot more to create PDFs than to print. Until Apple adds "save as PDF" to iOS, Printopia does a great job of filling the gap.
mlibrescu
mlibrescu
Mar 19 2012
2.1.5
5.0
Mar 19 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.5
I had the same experience as the last reviewer. I downloaded the demo, printed from my iPhone, and bought the registered version all in about 5 minutes. I you want to print from your iPhone or iPad and don't have an AirPrint printer or a network printer with its own IP address, Printopia is the way to go. This program worked so well and was so easy to set up and use that I actually contacted the company and asked them where I could go on the web to write a review.
Bazineta
Bazineta
Mar 12 2012
2.1.5
5.0
Mar 12 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.5
This utility is the current record holder for my shortest demo copy evaluation time prior to purchase; under 40 seconds. It's that good. Extremely simple install, configures itself immediately, works flawlessly. An outstanding value.
Guizmo85
Guizmo85
Feb 15 2012
2.1.5
5.0
Feb 15 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.5
This software was part of a bundle I bought. I do not have any iOS device myself, but all my friend does. This little software will transform your Mac into a Print Server for iOS devices. If you're on the same local network, your iOS device will see via Bonjour your printers through your Mac. Of course, your Mac needs to be ON. No need to install complex drivers on your iOS device. No need to even buy an iOS compatible printer. If it works on your Mac, it will wor on your iOS. One of the feature I like the most, is that you can Print as a PDF or JPG to your Mac. your friends wants to send you a picture? no need to send it via email, or transfert it via USB, all you have to do is to "print" it by choosing to send it to your Mac. No hassle.
Breamrockmetteller
Breamrockmetteller
Nov 23 2011
2.1.5
5.0
Nov 23 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1.5
I love this product! My wife prints duplex documents from her iPad to a Canon multifunction box with no idea that any sort of proxy magic is going on. Just the way it should be.
JohnKHeath
JohnKHeath
Oct 29 2011
2.1.4
4.5
Oct 29 2011
4.5
Version: 2.1.4
I got Printopia for use in the office when we switched to Mac and now I use it at home. It is an effective handy application,
Chocky
Chocky
Sep 29 2011
2.1.3
4.5
Sep 29 2011
4.5
Version: 2.1.3
Printopia "just works" and in the bargain lets you "print" documents as pdf files to Preview on other Macs on your network. That feature alone is worth the price of the software. Printing from your iOS devices is a bonus ;-)
Pwenzel
Pwenzel
Sep 8 2011
2.1.1
5.0
Sep 8 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
The fact that this application still supports PPCs running 10.5 just rocks my world. Like others have said, it "just works". I have an old G4 Mac Mini acting as an office server. Printopia just increased the usefulness that old machine. Got in the Macupdate Promo Bundle. Can't beat the price.
Matthiasr
Matthiasr
Sep 7 2011
2.1.1
5.0
Sep 7 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
It works like a charm. The send to App function is awesome.
pcharles
pcharles
Sep 5 2011
2.1.1
5.0
Sep 5 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
This application really has added a lot to the usability of my families iPads. I have a copy at home and a copy at work, which allows me to print most of the things I need. It even integrates fairly well with back to my Mac and printer sharing.
signalprocessor
signalprocessor
Jul 19 2011
2.1
5.0
Jul 19 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1
I've been using Printopia for a few months now. I have an old Brother laser printer, a Canon Inkjet, and a new Canon MF4350D. I tried both of the other apps but found neither allowed me to use the duplex feature on either printer. With the MF4350, the other two apps only printed the first page and then stopped working! At work, some of our printers have passwords, and again only Printopia allowed me to print to those. It seems Printopia is a complete implementation of the AirPrint protocol, as all of the features work properly, while the other apps just seem to trick the iPhone into thinking it's talking to an AirPrint device when it's not- which explains the problems and the prominent disclaimers on the other apps websites. Printopia is well done, you can tell they've put a lot of work into this.
Raycon
Raycon
Jul 19 2011
2.1
5.0
Jul 19 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1
Ecamm nails it every time (I won several of their apps), and Printopia is not exception. It just plain works with no set-up required. Provides several options and never found a glitch.
nonniem
nonniem
Jun 23 2011
2.0.2
0.0
Jun 23 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
Just downloaded the demo. It seems to recognize my printers but can't send the file to be printed.