Back to ffWorks page
ffWorks free download for Mac

ffWorks Reviews2.6

16 October 2021

Convert multimedia files between formats (was iFFmpeg).

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Stef-Vandenabele
Stef-Vandenabele
Jul 4 2021
2.3.5
5.0
Jul 4 2021
5.0
Version: 2.3.5
Just about the best in its class. Nothing comes close in terms of usability, features and support. A keeper.
IngeMortier
IngeMortier
May 18 2021
2.3
5.0
May 18 2021
5.0
Version: 2.3
Very easy to use application to convert my movie files with FFmpeg. You do have to install FFmpeg yourself but once this is behind you, everything works fine.
Stuward
Stuward
Apr 30 2021
2.3
5.0
Apr 30 2021
5.0
Version: 2.3
I just wanted to mention that the support is very good. Very friendly and helpful. FFWorks is highly recommended if you work with video files. The features are extensive and the quality is unseen. Thumbs up!!
Artlover_Chris
Artlover_Chris
Mar 24 2021
2.2.10
5.0
Mar 24 2021
5.0
Version: 2.2.10
Just to mention: I had a little problem converting a VP8 video to HEVC with hardware accelerated encoding. The developer answered very quickly and solved the problem for me and updated the app the next day. Unbelievable support! Kudos!
Christa_Moal
Christa_Moal
Dec 18 2020
2.2.1
5.0
Dec 18 2020
5.0
Version: 2.2.1
I bought a Mac Mini M1 last week and the first thing I did was check all my favorite apps to see if they are available in native AS. So also ffWorks. And I was pleasantly surprised that both ffWorks and FFmpeg are available for native Apple Silicon making it future proof. Thanks for keeping this app up to date. ffWorks is really indispensable for me! Kudos
Mcclough
Mcclough
Jul 16 2020
2.1.5
5.0
Jul 16 2020
5.0
Version: 2.1.5
By far the best media converter on the market. Is very powerful but still easy to operate.
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
Jun 9 2020
2.1.1
5.0
Jun 9 2020
5.0
Version: 2.1.1
Simply the best transcoding app available. The developers are EXTREMELY responsive and are always working to improve ffWorks.
Jeffk62
Jeffk62
Feb 13 2020
1.7.1
5.0
Feb 13 2020
5.0
Version: 1.7.1
ff-mpeg is one of the best encoders around and FF-Works adds the user interface that makes it simple to use while still being able to get to the power user stuff if you need to. It's rapidly become my go-to app for all my transcoding.
Gitte79
Gitte79
Nov 13 2019
1.5.1
5.0
Nov 13 2019
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
If there is one tool I can't miss it is this. A very flexible encoding application, powered by ffmpeg, that makes all other free and payed converters obsolete. The regular updates are very welcome and indicate that the makers take great care to keep improving it every single time. The ridiculously low price is fully worth it. Top application.
davidvh
davidvh
Sep 5 2019
1.4.2
5.0
Sep 5 2019
5.0
Version: 1.4.2
I'm in agreement... ffWorks is a great app. I'd like to create 8-channel E-AC3 (Dolby Digital Plus) files to play on an Apple TV. However, the resulting files have only 6 channels. I wonder if its a FFmpeg issue.
Bolt1963
Bolt1963
Aug 23 2019
1.4.0
5.0
Aug 23 2019
5.0
Version: 1.4.0
Excellent app. Version 1.4 introduced a problem with trimming (e.g. preview not working as it should). Immediately solved within one day with release of version 1.4.1.
Christel1987
Christel1987
Jun 3 2019
1.2.6
5.0
Jun 3 2019
5.0
Version: 1.2.6
I've been using this for a very long time and it's still by far the best program in its class. Gets updated very regularly with new features too. FFworks is a really great program for a low price that you should definitely have and use.
OsloX
OsloX
May 10 2019
1.2.4
5.0
May 10 2019
5.0
Version: 1.2.4
I use this for all kinds of things like converting for my iPad with subtitle rendering, reducing movies without loss of quality, making time-lapse movies and much more. You really get a lot for the low price. Great product.
Rochade
Rochade
May 10 2019
1.2.4
0.0
May 10 2019
0.0
Version: 1.2.4
I really would love to update ffWorks but they won't send me any info. I already filled out the form on their website several times and never heard back. So, sorry: if you don't want my money, I will look somewhere else. And yes, my mail address is registered and works fine. And no, the mail is not in any spam folder.
dverellen
dverellen
Feb 26 2019
1.1.16
5.0
Feb 26 2019
5.0
Version: 1.1.16
Every now and then you'll come across a program that blows you away. FFWorks is such a discovery.
I used to use the free handbrake on Windows in the past and recently on Mac and it works pretty well. But because I had to convert some files to webm, I was looking for a better solution. I found Ffworks and was surprised how powerful and fast this program is. Adding and modifying video, audio and subtitles is easy and very flexible. Tons of video and audio fx plugin are included and useful for all sort of things.

This is a real gem that any Mac user can use. For 20€ this is a bargain and for me it has become an indispensable tool.
Stephan2nd
Stephan2nd
Feb 15 2019
1.1.16
5.0
Feb 15 2019
5.0
Version: 1.1.16
Fantastic tool and the only program needed to convert media files. Superb helpdesk that answers quickly.
Macinman
Macinman
Feb 12 2019
1.1.16
5.0
Feb 12 2019
5.0
Version: 1.1.16
Hey guys, I was wondering if I can symlink to the ffmpeg binary installed with homeBrew to the ffworks support folder? It would then make it only necessary to keep one version of ffmpeg up to date.
Spike Jones
Spike Jones
Dec 23 2018
1.1.11
5.0
Dec 23 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.11
ffWorks is not free. That's a fact. But what is also a fact is that ffWorks is by far the best program to convert all your media files. It is extremely flexible, powerful and has a very clear graphical interface with which you can use all the possibilities of FFmpeg. Whether you want to easily change something like MKV to MP4, or you want to add subtitles, add audio tracks, it's all possible without any prior knowledge. It's that good! The $22 is a small price for what you get. I can only recommend this.
JacobsIvan
JacobsIvan
Oct 7 2018
1.1.6
5.0
Oct 7 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.6
A Best in class.
Morgan-Alex
Morgan-Alex
May 26 2018
1.0.10
5.0
May 26 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.10
FFWork is about the best converter app you can use. I truly appreciate the ongoing support: Super fast and helpful. Cheers
Djefis
Djefis
Apr 14 2018
1.0.9
5.0
Apr 14 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.9
The application works well with the conversion in .mkv format. I could ask, if someone would like to give an answer .... what are, in your opinion, the pros and cons of the codec H265 in a conversion starting from a 4k format? Thank you.
Mcr
Mcr
Feb 14 2018
1.0.5
0.0
Feb 14 2018
0.0
Version: 1.0.5
Had a very pleasant email exchange with OSBytes, couple of weeks ago, regarding questions I had about ffmpeg binaries. One take away is that the company rep recommended the binaries from the Tessus as they seem to be updated more frequently. To that point, on the OSBytes web site, Tessus is listed first in the list of sites to download binaries from. However, on this MacUpdate page, the link for "Recommended ffmpeg binaries" points to osxexperts.net. Although I've not problems with either binary (Tessus vs osexperts.net) , it should be noted that on the osxexperts site, it hasn't even been updated yet to show compatibility with 10.13 High Sierra; whereas on the Tessus site, you can actually download NIGHTLY builds. This alone tells you that the developers on Tessus are active, whereas osexperts...maybe not so much.
Also the Tessus builds, the developers list EXACTLY what versions of each library component are in every build, with OSEXperts.net there is no upfront documentation. One thing the OSExperts.net site DOES have is a tutorial on building your own binary, if you are so inclined, but for the majority of us who just want a binary, I think Tessus provides more up to date builds and documentation, IMO.

Maybe the 'recommended' link on this macupdate page should point to Tessus instead...if someone's listening. The link to Tessus builds is https://evermeet.cx/ffmpeg/
DavidTop
DavidTop
Feb 4 2018
1.0.3
5.0
Feb 4 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
Had a question about a feature last night and after a few emails back and forth it was fixed in this update! Also has converted everything I've tossed at it. Bravo
Mcr
Mcr
Feb 3 2018
1.0.3
0.0
Feb 3 2018
0.0
Version: 1.0.3
Question for the gallery (I posted this question on the dev site but haven't had a reply):
At osxexperts.net to download the ffmpeg binary; there are binaries listed under "Optimized for Mac OS X 10.9.x, 10.10.x, 10.11.x and macOS 10.12.x" and another section that says "Optimized x264 and x265 10bit support for Mac OS X 10.9.x, 10.10.x, 10.11.x and 10.12.x". Does this mean only the binaries in the second group support x265? Is it an either/or decision, or does the binary in x265 group support everything the 'regular' binary supports, PLUS x265? In which case why wouldn't you always use the one that supports x265 if it supports everything else that the "regular" one does anyways? Or does the first group support x265 but only 8-bit?
VLtom
VLtom
Jan 25 2018
1.0.2
5.0
Jan 25 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.2
BANG ON! That is how I subscribe ffworks. This new release has so many fantastic features it is a must upgrade for me.
Rinser
Rinser
Jan 11 2018
1.0.0
5.0
Jan 11 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
I've been using iFFMPEG since 2011. iFFMPEG handles almost all the files in my personal library. It is and remains an indispensable tool for all kinds of video files. Beginners will find in the prefabricated profiles everything their heart desires. But even professionals can activate or change every feature of the ffmpeg Unix tool and save it as their personal setting. The developers are always willing to listen and take care of problems immediately. You're doing a great job! The tool is definitely worth every cent. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
GeogProf
GeogProf
Jan 4 2018
1.0.0
4.5
Jan 4 2018
4.5
Version: 1.0.0
ff·Works is even better than iFFmpeg, and that’s saying something because iFFmpeg was the best multimedia converter on the market. It’s fast, easy to use but capable of granular control, and cheap. And, it makes much higher quality video files than HandBrake. My only complaint is that its video trimming filter will only let you trim the beginning and end of a movie, not cut parts from the middle. Overall, ff·Works is now the best multimedia converter on the market.
DonkeyKong
DonkeyKong
Jan 4 2018
1.0.0
5.0
Jan 4 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Wow, take a look at the long update list. Amazing. A great upgrade to an already great product. Well worth the small upgrade price!
Christa_Moal
Christa_Moal
Mar 3 2017
6.2.6
5.0
Mar 3 2017
5.0
Version: 6.2.6
Needed some help to transcode incompatible files to get them playing on my Samsung TV. Got a fast and friendly response including a custom preset that did the job fine. Amazing helpdesk ! Amazing tool !
bpelka
bpelka
Dec 7 2016
6.2.2
5.0
Dec 7 2016
5.0
Version: 6.2.2
super app das was ich schon lange gesucht! im diesem fall gelt spielt keine rolle!!!.Intel Quicksync wer nicht schlecht für MacBook Pro
MaxWilders
MaxWilders
Aug 15 2016
6.1.11
5.0
Aug 15 2016
5.0
Version: 6.1.11
Handling all sort of media transcoding with full control is actually iFFmpeg’s bread and butter. Superb GUI makes this a breeze to use for any level user. Customer support is great too. Highly recommended tool.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Aug 9 2016
6.1.11
0.0
Aug 9 2016
0.0
Version: 6.1.11
So how do you do Batch processing with iFFMPeg? On the command line this can be done so why not in the graphical interface?
Geoff6
Geoff6
Aug 1 2016
6.1.11
5.0
Aug 1 2016
5.0
Version: 6.1.11
This is a great app for those like me who don't have a clue how to use ffmpeg and know little about video formatting and converting. Brilliant. And the developer support is immediate and very helpful.
Jorcealva
Jorcealva
Jun 14 2016
6.1.5
4.0
Jun 14 2016
4.0
Version: 6.1.5
This app is a good video converter and makes ffmepg to a easy to use application.
ochlupin
ochlupin
May 21 2016
6.1.0
5.0
May 21 2016
5.0
Version: 6.1.0
This app makes ffmpeg accessible to anyone
Baccaroeja
Baccaroeja
May 9 2016
6.0.4
5.0
May 9 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.4
There are a lot of movie converters available. Most can be classified as redundant tools made by developers only out to grab your money. Take a look at the bucket load of Chinese garbage available that only partly work, or not at all. Those can easily be trade with the free alternative Handbrake. Handbrake is a great tool, though pretty basic and format support is minimal. Fortunately, there is one Swiss knife available, iFFmpeg. It can do about anything regarding media manipulation with stunning quality and speed, all bundled in a nice, easy to use GUI making it a great user experience . I will not go through the main features of this awesome tool, and tell why both novice and experienced users can benefit from using it but I can tell you it's the best to be found. The best part is, it's pretty cheap too and has awesome support. iFFmpeg is amazing and well worth the price tag. I cannot praise this tool enough!
Shock-J
Shock-J
Apr 6 2016
6.0.0
0.0
Apr 6 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0.0
The pricing on this is actually in Euros (18), which at the current rate is approx $20.50 (U.S. Dollars). Not sure if MacUpdate can display prices in Euros, but it should be at least a "Note" in the description.
Deardaddy
Deardaddy
Mar 30 2016
6.0.0
5.0
Mar 30 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.0
Great app … great support … just what I've been looking for for years !!!
SpiessensMark
SpiessensMark
Feb 12 2016
6.0.0
5.0
Feb 12 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.0
iFFmpeg raises the bar yet again!! Cool new features like watch folders and the much needed chapter editing makes it a no-brainer to pay for this new version. Great app!
jerrold
jerrold
Feb 11 2016
6.0.0
0.0
Feb 11 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0.0
I purchased iFFmpeg back in April 2014 and use it often but with each new version the application interface gets a bit rougher. THIS STATEMENT IS IN NO WAY A CRITICISM OF THE APP FUNCTIONALITY OR OVERALL QUALITY.

Downloaded v6 and tried to tweak the toolbar but ran into lots of issues. First, the customize sheet overlays the toolbar completely so you can't drag anything into it or remove anything. Second, I decided to turn the toolbar off for a moment and now it appears I have no way to turn it back on! I have a blank toolbar and no amount of right-clicking is showing a menu to return it. Third, a customize toolbar option is not available in the standard application menus (most of the application's functionality is missing from these menus too.)

It's also annoying that the icons in the righthand panel don't have captions or tooltips, so the only way to determine the function of an ambiguous button is by pressing it.

Again LOVE the program but getting really frustrated with the interface! Still trying to turn the toolbar back on without deleting the prefs...

(MacBook Pro [13-inch, Early 2015], Mac OS X 10.11.3)
Stuward
Stuward
Feb 7 2016
6.0.0
5.0
Feb 7 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.0
Thank you for the ongoing support. It gets my vote for the converter tool available.
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
Feb 6 2016
6.0.0
0.0
Feb 6 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0.0
This is on my very short list of apps that are such wonderful labors of love, and so uniquely useful, that I gladly shell out for every paid upgrade even though I'm not a frequent user. I'm happy to support this guy's incredibly devoted development. There's nothing like it on the Mac platform, this is incredibly important. $10 every couple years, you bet, take my (little bit of) money!
Shooters
Shooters
Feb 6 2016
6.0.0
5.0
Feb 6 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0.0
It took me less than 2 seconds to decide to upgrade. Fantastic new and improved GUI design making it the best iffmpeg experience ever. An essential tool for every one who needs video manipulation.
Caput-Draconis
Caput-Draconis
Dec 23 2015
5.8.2
4.5
Dec 23 2015
4.5
Version: 5.8.2
This app is really good and useful. Even though i have ffmpeg installed and in use for audio this app is the non plus ultra mac frontend. There is nothing comparable on the market and there is no need for one. Can definitely recommend.
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
Oct 29 2015
5.7.4
4.0
Oct 29 2015
4.0
Version: 5.7.4
great software only thing missing is the option to click on a button to show the location of the converted file after conversion and the option to quickly assign a different folder for the conversion on a file by file base without changing this in preferences. If that was in place it would be a 5star app for me.
Marioz
Marioz
Sep 28 2015
5.7.2.1
5.0
Sep 28 2015
5.0
Version: 5.7.2.1
Update does NOT show in the "check for updates" in the app itself...... ??? Is it safe to update?
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
Sep 17 2015
5.7.1
5.0
Sep 17 2015
5.0
Version: 5.7.1
The best converter I've ever used along with great support and constant updates!
Markoh
Markoh
Sep 2 2015
5.7.1
5.0
Sep 2 2015
5.0
Version: 5.7.1
Version 5.7.1 New Now fully compatible with OS X 10.11 Improved parsing FFmpeg errors. Added new Pixel Formats with alpha channels support. Improved Telecine filter. Improved Sony PS3 and PS4 presets. Better auto cropping detecting. Added "1:1 10-bit RGB" support for mov container. DVVIDEO codec for AVI container with PCM audio is now possible. Faster initialising user presets. Improved FFmpeg Error Log updating. Write MoovAtom at start of file’ is now only added when supported. Now verifies if the subtitle files are valid before hard burning subtitles. Now checks if the destination folder is available. If not, resets to /Movies/ folder. The extract subtitle sheet cannot be scaled anymore. Removed several bypass tricks (not needed anymore with recent FFmpeg binaries). Added several help tags for FFmpeg options. Now saves the metadata in userpresets. Bugfixes Fixed issue initialising the progressbar when removing trimming. Fixed issue with Trimming end point. Fixed issue exporting to .png and .jpg images (aspect ratio). - Fixed crash when selecting 'create iso' and no video stream is available. Fixed issue when encoding to DVVideo and NTSC (video bitrate is now always correct). Fixed memory leak when encoding very large files. Fixed issue creating timestamps when merging MPEGTS and MPEGPS. Fixed issue setting the position when using draw text filter.
Morgan-Alex
Morgan-Alex
Aug 6 2015
5.6.7
5.0
Aug 6 2015
5.0
Version: 5.6.7
Two thumbs up for this app and the developers who are constantly improving it. We use this almost daily for adding watermarks to small clips and upload them to Youtube and Vimeo. Always with high quality and high productivity. The feature set goes well beyond this though and we are only scratching the surface of what iFFmpeg actually can do. But it is great to know it can do a lot more than adding watermarks. :-) iFFmpeg is by far the most powerful app and clearly the best in its class.
Macfoto
Macfoto
Jul 29 2015
5.6.6
5.0
Jul 29 2015
5.0
Version: 5.6.6
Great Support! Problem resolved! My iFFmpeg works ;-)