Back to SourceTree page
SourceTree free download for Mac

SourceTree Reviews

3.1.2
15 May 2019

Easy way to work with Git and Mercurial.

LuxLogica
08 July 2018

Most helpful

In order to use the app you are required to setup an account with Atlassian. This will set you up with an account with Bitbucket - and getting you signed up to Bitbucket is undoubtedly the main reason for Atlassian to make this app free. Offering a meagre 1Gb of storage, Bitbucket is among the most expensive git repository hosts around, and therefore has never enjoyed wide adoption among small developers. Its arch-nemesis is GitLab: a service that offers unlimited, free private repositories to all - with just about every feature available in Bitbucket, and then some. But once you get through your Bitbucket registration, you will be greeted by an interface which looks very much like a java app that has received some polish. The 'native' feel of a MacOS app is certainly not there, windows look odd, navigation is clumsy and unintuitive. But worse still: the app will only help you automatically connect to accounts in Bitbucket or GitHub - no GitLab, nor any of its other competitors. I'm guessing it may be possible to connect to these other services (just as you can connect to GitLab repos from GitHub's own desktop app), but that is certainly not the way the app was meant to be used. All in all: pass. Straight to the trash, and back to using Tower, until I find a reasonable substitute that won't charge me a subscription fee.
Like (4)
Version 2.7.6

Read 39 SourceTree User Reviews

Rate this app:

LuxLogica
08 July 2018
In order to use the app you are required to setup an account with Atlassian. This will set you up with an account with Bitbucket - and getting you signed up to Bitbucket is undoubtedly the main reason for Atlassian to make this app free. Offering a meagre 1Gb of storage, Bitbucket is among the most expensive git repository hosts around, and therefore has never enjoyed wide adoption among small developers. Its arch-nemesis is GitLab: a service that offers unlimited, free private repositories to all - with just about every feature available in Bitbucket, and then some. But once you get through your Bitbucket registration, you will be greeted by an interface which looks very much like a java app that has received some polish. The 'native' feel of a MacOS app is certainly not there, windows look odd, navigation is clumsy and unintuitive. But worse still: the app will only help you automatically connect to accounts in Bitbucket or GitHub - no GitLab, nor any of its other competitors. I'm guessing it may be possible to connect to these other services (just as you can connect to GitLab repos from GitHub's own desktop app), but that is certainly not the way the app was meant to be used. All in all: pass. Straight to the trash, and back to using Tower, until I find a reasonable substitute that won't charge me a subscription fee.
Like (4)
Version 2.7.6
r-owen
12 June 2018
SourceTree is an outstanding GIT client for viewing history and changes. The layout is very efficient and powerful: a single window shows commits, uncommitted changes and the diff between any two commits (or your uncommitted changes and any commit). SourceTree can do much more, of course, but I personally find that viewing history is where git GUI clients really shine compared to the command line. I have tried other git GUI clients, including Tower, GitKraken and GitUp. But I find SourceTree far more comfortable and efficient than the others -- especially for viewing history and changes. Still, it is worth trying a few to see what works for you. Having to register in order to use the program is a minor nuisance, but once done it's done. Personally I think it is very generous of Atlassian to make such an outstanding program available for free. I'd be lost without it.
Like
Version 2.7.6
Mikael-B
05 June 2018
I'm using 2.7.4 and there is no requirement to login to Atlassian that I can see. The app works really well, not only for Git, but Mercurial as well.
Like
Version 2.7.4
Karter
11 October 2017
FAVORITE. GIT client and gets the job done with an incredible easy-to-use interface. No more command line stuff needed :)
Like
Version 2.6.3
acuriousmind
14 January 2017
Nice and very useful tool.
Like
Version 2.4
degger
04 November 2016
Was a good tool once but since login/registration obligation it became unusable for me. The description text here on MU could also use an update, ,"Atlassian has acquired SourceTree, and it is now free for a limited time!" is not correct.

Since Oct 2016 they also decided to shut down the commenting of blog articles, probably to get rid of all the negativity regarding the latest dozens of missteps they took...
Like (2)
Version 2.3.2
Michael-Vilain
08 May 2016
I have 2.05 which stopped working saying my trial period has expired. This is supposed to be free. Tossing it in the trash. Why would I want a source code control system tied to a vendor's product? Love Atlassian's products but they're turning evil.
Like
Version 2.2.4
pe-macupdate
23 February 2016
That seals it. I won't upgrade. Whatever they want my data for, they are not going to get them. A pity, since SourceTree was a useful tool before 2.2.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Veryvito
19 February 2016
Great tool until version 2.2 released. Now pointlessly (from a user perspective at least) requires an Atlassian account login, and the login panel appears hopelessly broken. Fortunately, If you accidentally update via the app, you can still find 2.1 in your Trash can. Grab it out before it's gone (2.1 is fantastic)..
Like (2)
Version 2.2
n-spektor
19 February 2016
Bugs, Bugs, Bugs I am not able to start!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
jwjb
04 June 2015
Not able to update from 2.0.4 to 2.0.5.2 using MacUpdate Desktop and get a red exclamation point which I have reported both as a comment to 'SourceTree User Discussion' and 'MacUpdate > Report a problem'.
Like
Version 2.0.5.2
2 answer(s)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
18 November 2015
I just tested the Install using MacUpdate Desktop and it worked.
Like
jwjb
jwjb
18 November 2015
@Joel Mueller, Glad it worked for you, but it still does not work when I try and install it using MacUpdate Desktop leaving me to manually install updates through the SourceTree app.
Like
Philosopherdog
28 May 2015
Amazing git client. Recent version is rock solid. Combined with Bitbucket (free private repos) you got a match made in git heaven.
Like
Version 2.0.5.2
sketchdesigner
07 April 2015
Daily use tool!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.5.2
Geekkkker
07 April 2015
The best git GUI tool so far, works for both Mac and windows!
Like (3)
Version 2.0.5.2
jwjb
27 September 2014
For those users not comfortable with the command line and even those who are I would suggest using Sourcetreeapp.com (free Git & Mercurial client for Mac and Windows) with Bitbucket.org (free unlimited web private code repositories) which I have been testing out over the last quarter and all works great with the added benefit of a lot less typing in the command line and with 'MacUpadte Desktop' to keep the app updated deploying a powerful distributed version control system (DVCS) is an easy and painless process.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Mjmsmith
30 May 2014
"Split view staging - staged/unstaged files are in 2 separate lists with a vertical split, and you can drag/drop between them." Thank you! If you reverted 1.9 back to 1.8 like I did, you might want to take another look at it.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.3
Mjmsmith
30 May 2014
"Split view staging - staged/unstaged files are in 2 separate lists with a vertical split, and you can drag/drop between them." Thank you! If you reverted 1.9 back to 1.8 like I did, you might want to take another look at it.
Like
Version 1.9.3
kpublik
30 April 2014
I purchased SourceTree before Atlassian took over and it has always been my favourite, "go to" client for git/hg. However, the UI/UX changes in 1.9.0 have left me very disappointed. It's almost unfathomable to me that the changes to file viewing and management were seen as positive by the SourceTree development team. It's just awful as far as I'm concerned, and I hope they change it back. Otherwise, I'll be looking for a replacement.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.0
2 answer(s)
Thehobbo
Thehobbo
09 May 2014
You are not alone in feeling the pain of the new UI - shocking. However you can get hold of 1.8.1 here: http://downloads.atlassian.com/software/sourcetree/SourceTree_1.8.1.dmg
Like (1)
Popguru
Popguru
09 May 2014
I agree and am reverting to 1.8.1 for now. The developers claim to be working on improvements to appease those who preferred the pre-1.9.0 UI. See this comment on their blog: http://blog.sourcetreeapp.com/2014/04/29/sourcetree-for-mac-1-9-out-now/#comment-1374781148
Like
Stormchild
29 April 2014
Sorry for the duplicate review. The review panel was throwing an error on submit.
Like
Version 1.9.0
Stormchild
29 April 2014
Indispensable tool for managing both Git and Mercurial repos with a consistent UI. Surprising that it's free, especially given the constant stream of fixes and improvements. No matter how good you are with the git and hg command line tools, this makes it easier to browse and compare changes across any range of commits. Every day I use this to review all my changes, catch things I missed, and update my dev notes before committing.
Like
Version 1.9.0
Stormchild
29 April 2014
Indispensable tool for managing both Git and Mercurial repos with a consistent UI. Surprising that it's free, especially given the constant stream of fixes and improvements. No matter how good you are with the git and hg command line tools, this makes it easier to browse and compare changes across any range of commits. Every day I use this to review all my changes, catch things I missed, and update my dev notes before committing.
Like
Version 1.9.0
Aglee
15 December 2013
I like being able to stage/unstage/reverse lines/hunks/files. I was happy to learn just now how to see history for specific files (right-click, "Log Selected..."). It's nice seeing when I'm ahead of or behind the remote repo; not as helpful as if I were working on a team, but still helpful.
Like
Version 1.8.0.3
werkplekbeheer
16 September 2013
Sourcetree 1.7.0.1 is out.
Like
Version 1.6.4.1
Mikael-B
13 September 2013
I get "Insecure update error!" on launch. "For security reasons, you need to distibute your appcast over SSL or sign your updates. See Sparkles documentation for more information."
Like
Version 1.6.4.1
FrancoisFernandes2146
04 August 2013
Nice looking UI that simly works. SourceTree really makes working with git a pleasure!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2.2
Stormchild
18 June 2013
SourceTree is pretty solid GUI for Mercurial & Git. If you *only* use Git, you might want to take a look at Tower, but I use Hg at work, so I needed something that could do both. Functionally speaking, this works pretty well. The diff pane is quite useful. I generally review all my changes in there before doing commits; it's a great way to ensure I didn't forget anything in my dev notes, and it helps me decide what the commit summary should focus on. As expected, you can configure it to use whatever external tools you want for diffing and conflict resolution. (Oddly enough, despite all the apps competing in this space, I still find Apple FileMerge is the best one. Kaleidoscope is beautiful, but because it still can't ignore whitespace changes, it's basically useless.) What I don't love about this app is the crummy GUI. I don't care if it's pretty; that's not the issue (I actually really like the app icon; everything else is…meh, but whatever). It's just very poorly designed. Every repo opens in its own window. There's no single-window mode that lists your repos in a sidebar (in fact, your repos are listed in yet another, ill-conceived "Bookmarks" window that you have to leave floating around if you want to see an overview, as you simply can't get any of that information anywhere else in the app). I really dislike having to cycle through a big stack of large windows, especially with that awful Bookmarks window being one of them. Each of these repo windows has to be manually customized to get the sidebar/pane widths and other view settings the way you want, and to make matters worse, it doesn't even remember them reliably. All of the window adjustments you make are routinely forgotten when you close/re-open the app. Sometimes it's just comically bad, e.g. for no apparent reason, the sidebar in one of the windows will have resized itself to fill 90% of the window, and everything else is completely screwed up and has to be dragged back where you wanted it, all over again. This sort of stuff just drives me nuts. Lastly, there's the sync feature that's supposed to watch for file/repo changes and indicate when you've got unsaved changes, and any pending incoming/outgoing commits. For me, none of that stuff ever updates until I switch to the app and start interacting with one of the windows. At that point, it usually noticed which files have been modified, but it's not smart enough to recognize that I've already pulled or pushed anything until I click the sync button. Supposedly it should do all this automatically, but for me it never has. (I do a lot of these things outside of the app, on the command line, which I prefer for anything that doesn't really need a GUI.) This is something MacHg (RIP) did very well. For the price, I really can't complain too much about this app. It does get the job done, and that's the most important thing, but it manages to annoy me quite often in the process, and I would very happily pay for something better if one of the nicer apps like Tower actually supported Mercurial. In the meantime, anyone who needs to work with both Hg and Git should check this out.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.1
Philosopherdog
23 May 2013
Probably the best GUI for OS X. It's a bit overwhelming if you don't know git, but once you know the basics it adds some essential control to the command line. Some better documentation would be appreciated.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.1
Amergin
19 March 2013
No problems, free, reliable, does what it says on the tin! I can't fault this software and use it daily.
Like
Version 1.5.8
Londonskater
14 February 2013
Pretty solid, was using this in parallel to Tower to evaluate, and it's turned out that SourceTree is by far the better client. Slightly harder to use because of all the extra features, but just having Git Flow embedded is a win all-round.
Like
Version 1.5.7.1
1 answer(s)
Londonskater
Londonskater
28 December 2016
I have revised my opinion of Sourcetree downwards. Updates have made this once-fine program much, much worse and Tower can caught up on all the useful bits. Use Tower.
Like
Stormchild
23 December 2012
Looks nice, but it's currently spewing out errors when I try to log into GitHub. Unusable until that gets fixed.
Like
Version 1.5.5.1
2 answer(s)
Slime73
Slime73
23 December 2012
That's because Github is down. :P
Like (1)
Stormchild
Stormchild
18 June 2013
That's no excuse for poor error handling. If GitHub is down, a simple "couldn't connect" message would suffice. Instead I got a cascade of cryptic error messages.
Like
Nontroppo
01 August 2012
V1.5.2 is available from the developer's web site...
Like
Version 1.5.0
1 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
01 August 2012
Thanks for the heads-up! I've updated our listing.
Like
Koifim
19 July 2012
Excellent GIT client! Not to mention it is FREE!
Like
Version 1.5.0
Popguru
19 July 2012
Version 1.5.0 is out.
Like
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
19 July 2012
Thanks for the tip! Updated.
Like
dualface
08 April 2012
Perfect! Free!
Like
Version 1.3.2
liyuw
13 October 2011
This is an awesome app. Full featured, stable, easy to use and free.
Like
Version 1.2.8.1
Peternsteinmetz
04 October 2011
This looks like it had good features, but unfortunately the UI appears like a Windows 7 application, not the usual Cocoa UI. I find it somewhat ugly.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.7
kpublik
24 July 2011
SourceTree is a five star product in all respects. The interface is beautiful, it works very well, is extremely stable, and the support is simply outstanding. I looked for a long time to find a native OSX application for Mercurial that was at least as nice as CornerStone is for Subversion, and SourceTree is it. -- Actually, I think SourceTree has an even better interface than CornerStone. Prior to SourceTree I tried probably most of the free and paid OSX clients for Hg. For a while I used MacHg (free), but after discovering SourceTree, there was no going back. I was happy to pay for something that made Hg even more of a joy to use. I use ST pretty much all day, every day. It's one of my favorite apps for OSX.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.5
3 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
31 August 2011
How does it compare with Tower and GitHub for Mac?
Like
kpublik
kpublik
31 August 2011
@ylluminate - I cannot say because I use SourceTree primarily for Mercurial. Since I use GIT very little, I haven't looked at those products. However, I believe that some SourceTree customers have converted from those products. You can always download the free trial from their website and give it a go.
Like
ylluminate
ylluminate
31 August 2011
Sure, so far I like Tower and GitHub more than this for Git, but wanted to take a moment to hear someone else's reasons why they like this better if that is the case.
Like
themindoverall
26 June 2011
Great piece of software; normalizes your Git and Mercurial repositories. Integrates with Github, Bitbucket, and Kiln (it'll even create the repositories using their APIs, as well). Slick interface. All it needs is a better icon and perhaps support for other CVS's like CVS, SVN, or Bazaar.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Maruko-Drinking-Team
16 February 2011
Very good, full featured and has many time-saving touches.
Like
Version 1.1.7