Back to LibreOffice page
LibreOffice free download for Mac

LibreOffice Reviews

6.3.2.2
27 September 2019

Free, open-source office suite.

SylvainLacroix
01 May 2013

Most helpful

Just about the best office pack for any OS. And its free too!
Like (8)
Version 4.0.2.2

Read 181 LibreOffice User Reviews

Rate this app:

DragonMaster
06 September 2019
MY number 1 alternative to Microsoft Office. Frankly it handles docx files created by Word better than Word does. LibreOffice does not create 100s of styles behind your back that you don't discover until you try to import it into a Publishing app like Quark etc.
Like (1)
Version 6.3.1.2
Derekcurrie
06 September 2019
It's fixed! After months of waiting and an not-good-enough first attempt, the Python script vulnerability in LibreOffice has for-realz been fully patched. It is CVE-2019-9854. Details are available here: https://www.libreoffice.org/about-us/security/advisories/cve-2019-9854/ - - Also patched was CVE-2019-9855, applicable only to Windows users.
Like (1)
Version 6.3.1.2
Derekcurrie
17 August 2019
While we wait for Son-Of-CVE-2019-9848 to be patched... It turns out that LibreOffice 6.3.4 (6.3.0.4) patched three further security flaws, as per new announcements released yesterday: • CVE-2019-9850 • CVE-2019-9851 • CVE-2019-9852 https://www.libreoffice.org/about-us/security/advisories/
Like
Version 6.3.0.4
Derekcurrie
11 August 2019
So I wrote to the Devs and heard back from them, for which I am grateful. Here is their response:

"It is not incorrect to state that CVE-2019-9848 was patched in 6.2.5.2, but it is fair to state that it turns out the solution is not totally sufficient and there is an additional problem with the solution.

"A new advisory will be issued with a new CVE number for the follow-up issue when the solution is ready. We're working on making it available."

Stay tuned.... Oh and continue to apply the workaround on this latest version of LibreOffice.
Like (1)
Version 6.3.0.4
Derekcurrie
10 August 2019
This situation sucks. So I'm giving LibreOffice a crudy review score as a direct result. Rather than put everyone to sleep with a TL;DR, please go through the comments below for the backstory. Short Version: Lingering on has been CVE-2018-16858, a 'LibreLogo arbitrary script execution' security flaw. It was supposed to be patched in v6.2.5.2 but the patch FAILed. The developer promised a working patch in THIS version. And yet there is NO RECORD of that patch having been applied. RESULT: Utterly confused and potentially AT RISK users. That's bad. * To be safe, use the workaround I posted previously. Meanwhile: OpenOffice suffers from the same security flaw and Apache has done nothing to address it. I'm ready to switch back to NeoOffice, which does NOT have the security flaw. But you have to pay $15 for a full version.
Like
Version 6.3.0.4
2 answer(s)
Dont-Spam-Me
Dont-Spam-Me
10 August 2019
Thanks much for the info!
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
10 August 2019
ERROR CORRECTION:
The security flaw is CVE-2019-9848.
I pasted in the wrong one. Sorry. (;_;)
Like
Dont-Spam-Me
10 August 2019
Does anyone know? Has v6.3.0.4 been successfully patched? Is it safe to use as is, or is it still wise to delete the pydoc.py file?
Like (1)
Version 6.3.0.4
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
10 August 2019
No sign of any patch! I've scoured the dev's website. See my review above.
--> YES, rename or delete pydoc.py until further notice. Shameful situation.
Like
RogerKatz
09 August 2019
MacUpdate typo? The version downloaded here, via MacUpdate, is 6.3.4, not 6.3.0.4
Like (1)
Version 6.3.0.4
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
09 August 2019
Not MU's fault. This is now a long standing blunder (of minor proportions) going on with the LibreOffice development team. There are four places to find the version number of an app. Two of them say "6.3.4" and two of them say "6.3.0.4". No doubt this is due to two different coders on the team who each have their own preferred iteration system, and the two of them 'don't talk'. They may have cubicles next to each other (seen that IRL!) or they may be at opposite ends of the world. In any case, it's stupid. Expect this blunder to continue.
Like
Derekcurrie
03 August 2019
DANGER! Patch FAIL! Version 6.2.5.2 of LibreOffice did NOT successfully patch CVE-2018-16858. It is UNSAFE TO USE! LibreOffice handlers defend suite's security after 'unfortunately partial' patch https://www.theregister.co.uk/2019/08/02/document_foundation_libreoffice_security/ There is a workaround to use in the meantime. It's provided in the article I linked in my previous post. For the sake of simplicity, here is where to find the offending file inside ALL versions of LibreOffice. The file name is "pydoc.py" and you want to either RENAME it or simply DELETE it. This will hurt nothing but the functionality of python scripts in LibreOffice, in my experience. If you don't already know how to navigate into application package Contents, then *do not do this!* You have been warned! LibreOffice.app/ Contents/ Frameworks/ LibreOfficePython.framework/ Versions/ 3.5/ lib/ python3.5/ pydoc.py Notes: • This security hole was made public in October, 2018. Seriously. • Meanwhile, Apache has not addressed the problem AT ALL in OpenOffice! But the same workaround is effective. • I have established that this security hole is NOT present in NeoOffice, the other branch of OpenOffice for Mac. It does not use the offending Python file. But note that NeoOffice costs $15/$30, depending where you buy it. It does offer a trial 'Viewer' version.
Like (1)
Version 6.2.5.2
Derekcurrie
02 August 2019
For those concerned about CVE-2018-16858, the security hole in LibreOffice up through versions 6.0.6/6.1.2, but are stuck using one of these older versions on an old Mac: It's worth reading the article linked below. To quote: "As a workaround until OpenOffice releases a security fix, users can remove or rename the pythonscript.py file in the installation folder to disable the support for python." It's possible this workaround would succeed with older LibreOffice as well. I'm checking it out with a friend who's in this situation. I'll post if we're successful. Severe RCE Flaw Disclosed in Popular LibreOffice and OpenOffice Software https://hacknews.co/vulnerabilities/20190205/severe-rce-flaw-disclosed-in-popular-libreoffice-and-openoffice-software.html
Like
Version 6.2.5.2
nobody2011
22 July 2019
LibreOffice 6.3.0.2 is out https://downloadarchive.documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/old/6.3.0.2/
Like
Version 6.2.5.2
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
02 August 2019
Technically, this it is LibreOffice v6.0.3 RC2 (release candidate 2). It's a BETA version intended for testing purposes only. Here's the webpage for Developmental Versions of LibreOffice:
https://www.libreoffice.org/download/pre-releases/
Like
Macintosh-Sauce
19 July 2019
When my Microsoft Office 365 subscription ran out I decided to check out LibreOffice. I found that Writer is quite sufficient to use on my Mac. The nice thing about LibreOffice is that I can switch to Windows 10 Pro or elementary OS 5 (Linux) and use the same files to edit, etc. Sending TDF a donation soon, because I think it's worth it. I highly recommend LibreOffice if you want to save yourself $99/year.
Like
Version 6.2.5.2
Derekcurrie
05 July 2019
Today's version numbering strangeness: v6.2.5.2 = v6.2.5002 Be not afraid.
Like
Version 6.2.5.2
Macfool
22 May 2019
per the LibreOffice website versions v.6.1.6 and 6.2.4 are in release. Here: https://www.libreoffice.org/download/download/
Like
Version 6.2.4.2
Derekcurrie
08 March 2019
Yes, the current version is 6.2.1.2. -> As with the previous version of LibreOffice, the version number metadata provided to the Finder is WRONG. (Either someone formerly from Adobe, who never enter version numbers properly, or someone high on hallucinogens is entering this screwed up data). What you see in the Finder is "6.2.1002". -> Don't be alarmed. The actual version number, verified via Get Info and 'About LibreOffice", is 6.2.1.2. √
Like (1)
Version 6.2.1.2
Dr-Sparks
24 February 2019
The newest version of LibreOffice is not 6.2.3 as MacUpdate claims. The version that downloads is 6.2.0.3 and when I asked it to check for updates it found none.
Like (1)
Version 6.2.3
4 answer(s)
iurii
iurii
25 February 2019
Hi, I'm sorry, but you not correct - if you check info.plist, you will find - 'Bundle version - 6.2.3.', 'Short Bundle version' - 6.2.3., 'Info string - LibreOffice 6.2.0.3'
Like
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
25 February 2019
iurii, you confirm my first post. Check this, 6.2.0 is the newest right now: https://www.libreoffice.org/download/download/
Like
zirv
zirv
06 March 2019
You are both correct. It's due to a macOS limitation to limit version numbers to three digits. So what's happening is that todays release 6.2.1.2 is shown as 6.2.1002 while actually being 6.2.1.2. I brought this up with LO dev department years ago. Seems it's still an unsolved problem :/
Like (2)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
08 March 2019
Re zirv: "a macOS limitation to limit version numbers to three digits"
-> No, that is NOT the case. Check out the Google Chrome version number as an example.
-> What happened is that there was an error in LibreOffice metadata such that the Finder listing was indeed "6.2.3", which was wrong. If you did a Get Info on the app, you found the correct version number, 6.2.0.3.. IOW: Blame the LibreOffice project, not MU. Now onward to the next version...
Like (1)
nobody2011
26 January 2019
a newer version was released Jan. 10th 2019 https://downloadarchive.documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/old/6.2.0.2/mac/x86_64/
Like (1)
Version 6.1.4.2
dlt
19 December 2018
Switched from MS Office for Mac. What an improvement. Look and feel not as clean as MS Office, but functionality much better. I never trusted MS Office (crashes, crazy behind the scenes stuff going on like whirling disk drives, etc.). Deep down, I hate most anything MS. Being able to save in MS latest formats makes it work for me.
Like (6)
Version 6.1.4.2
GLW
21 November 2018
I'm running 6.1.3.2 on High Sierra 10.3.6 and I'm finding that "due to an unexpected error" LO crashes about every 15 seconds! Fortunately, it seems to be able to recover my progress -- even if I haven't yet saved the latest changes; but it is still VERY ANNOYING to have to reset so often.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.3.2
1 answer(s)
pquz
pquz
19 December 2018
Does this persist using 6.1.4?
Like
dlink
27 September 2018
Bad link for 6.1.2 update
Like
Version 6.1.2.1
1 answer(s)
dlink
dlink
27 September 2018
Fixed now
Like (1)
Steve-From-Pottstown
05 September 2018
Tried to donate 19 dollars with update, all I got was a credit card shut down and NO update, remove from my computer
Like
Version 6.1.0.3
1 answer(s)
nobody2011
nobody2011
15 September 2018
LibreOffice and/or updates are Free (see the details on the right)

Other ways to give: Bitcoin, Flattr, bank transfer - click the boxes below
Like (1)
lkrupp215
09 April 2018
Interesting. LibreOffice’s own website only offers version 6.0.2 so where did MacUpdate get 6.0.3 from. After downloading from, LibreOffice’s website and installing a check for updates says I have the latest version which is 6.0.2. Hmmmm...

Well that was this morning. Another check just now and indeed 6.0.3 is available for download. Ships crossing in the night I suppose.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.3.2
1 answer(s)
make_software_great_again
make_software_great_again
06 May 2018
LibreOffice are doing a slow rollout so updates are not instantly offered via all channels at the same time. It's a bit confusing but has been like this for a long time now.
Like (3)
droscar
03 March 2018
Downloaded file is named "6.0.2" but the application is in fact 6.0.2.1.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.2.1
eglouise6
13 February 2018
I like it a lot.
Like
Version 6.0.1.1
Dannymontani
12 February 2018
I don't know why this is but spreadsheets load and scroll very slowly for me whether 56 cell long or over a hundred. This being for sometime now. Both machines I use are new enough (& SSD).
Like
Version 6.0.1.1
2 answer(s)
ash-f
ash-f
07 July 2018
Try to change the font of cells.
I noticed that substituted fonts or some fonts make Writer very slow.
Like (1)
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
07 July 2018
Thanks for the help ash-f I'll give that a go.
Like
Foulger
09 February 2018
Works fine for me on 10.13.4 beta 2. Uniquely helpful app as it will open old apple works files!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1.1
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
10 February 2018
Thanks for the tip! I could indeed open some of my over twenty year old ClarisWorks files (and another format which I think belonged to MacDraw!) that neither AppleWorks nor Pages could open! :-)
Amazing! That alone makes me love LibreOffice! ;-)
Like
Mcr
31 January 2018
USERS BE ADVISED, as of the date of this post, with MacUpdate listing version 6.0. Version 6 is not the stable release, but is called the 'Fresh' branch, 'fresh' as in 'fresh off the presses' as the old saying goes. The Fresh 6.0 branch is considered developmental, for early adopters. I don't necessarily object to MacUpdate listing version 6 but should be noted that this is a developmental release.

Version 5 is considered the stable 'Still' branch. This is stated clearly on the libreoffice site https://www.libreoffice.org/download/release-notes/
Like
Version 6.0.0.3
4 answer(s)
Max-G
Max-G
01 February 2018
True. And indeed v. 6 seems to be not ready for release. It starts up slow, crashes etc. While v. 5 works fine generally.
Like (1)
Zx81
Zx81
02 February 2018
Hi, fast, stable, no problem for me.
Like
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
02 February 2018
The site does indeed label it "Fresh" but also does say "Stable" along with that: https://www.libreoffice.org/download/libreoffice-fresh/?type=mac-x86_64&version=6.0.0&lang=en-US
Like (1)
siamlotus
siamlotus
10 February 2018
Difference between the two versions : https://www.libreoffice.org/download/download/
Like (1)
Dannymontani
21 December 2017
HOORAY LibreOffice. The printing issue seems to have been solved. I have been able to print 4 different documents with the correct orientation. Thanks guys and gals for finally solving this issue, I know its been a long road. Been using you for quite a while now and now...I know...I know...if it could just be faster and handle a large, but not huge, spread. I'll give you four stars 'cause nobody's perfect....sorry. What a great replacement for MS Word as others.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.4.2
1 answer(s)
jjkt
jjkt
23 December 2017
Kudos to Tor Lillqvist for fixing tdf#92190...
Like (2)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
03 September 2017
Of the MS Office alternatives I like LibreOffice the best, based on the interface. Unfortunately it cannot handle MS Office files. I could open Word files but the app freezes when I try to save them. This goes for .doc and .docx files. It doesn't do any better with Excel. When I looked into this on the developer's web site they said that Office files are too complex to handle effectively. Which is strange because Apple's Pages can handle Word files just fine. I thought maybe Apple had an in with Microsoft until I opened an Excel file in Numbers. Yuck! Still, the OpenOffice project, of which LibreOffice is a part, is trying to promote open standards document formats which, no doubt, Microsoft does not appreciate. So they have no interest in making things any easier for the OpenOffice project. This makes adopting any version of OpenOffice problematic for anyone who needs interoperability. If you can walk away from MS Office that's fine. But many businesses cannot afford to do so. Like it or not, MS Office is the de facto standard for business and that doesn't look like changing any time soon. The reason this is important is that Microsoft is planning on lifting support for Office 2011 for Mac. Which is tangentially important because Apple is planning on eliminating support for 32 bit apps in the version of macOS following 10.12.13 Heigh Sierra. So if you use Office on the Mac you will need to buy the standalone Office 2016, which has had middling reviews, or subscribing to Office 360.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.1.2
1 answer(s)
xsir
xsir
20 September 2017
Have you reported a bug? Link to bug tracker please if so. Because LO should be able to handle MS Office files just fine.
Like (1)
vadt
12 July 2017
A ton of longstanding macOS specific bugs, no interest in dev department to address those, broken update mechanism and extremely slow startup time made me temporarily give up on LibreOffice. Will re-visit in 1 year - maybe it can improve. For now, the user experience is too frustrating.
Like (2)
Version 5.3.4.2
Sampler
26 March 2017
OS X 10.11.6, After the screen to register a database in BASE, the app beachballed for several minutes and had to be force-quit. I then installed Open Office.. Creation of a new database in OO was quick and easy. I'll give LibreOffice 2.5 stars because I'll assume that the word processing and spreadsheet modules work.
Like
Version 5.3.1.2
badbadger
02 February 2017
It opens very slowly on a Mac. Windows version is faster.
Like (6)
Version 5.3.0.3
1 answer(s)
knappeduivel
knappeduivel
15 May 2017
True, the program itself as well as the documents take forever to open. Takes me back to the time I didn't have a ssd.
Like (2)
Derekcurrie
01 February 2017
There's something creepy odd and deadly slow about the download URL MacUpdate is using to for LibreOffice. --> Use the OFFICIAL URL instead. You get the 'Donate' appeal, but it's also VERY FAST and you know you're getting the official version. http://donate.libreoffice.org/home/dl/mac-x86_64/5.3.0/en-US/LibreOffice_5.3.0_MacOS_x86-64.dmg
Like (3)
Version 5.3.0.3
Uncoy
19 October 2016
Just jumped from a 3.2.x version to 5.2.2. Wow, what an improvement in terms of aesthetic. I upgraded to stop the Java requirement notifications. I've been running a twenty to forty person company for ten years without a single copy of MS applications (and very rarely using Google Apps) largely thanks to LibreOffice. Apart from the 700 MB app size, absolutely fantastic open source project. I've donated in the past and will donate again. PS. Who cares about not tightly integrating with Apple services? Whether your digital overlord is Microsoft, Google or Apple, you are still a peon. No better to be an iSlave than any other kind of slave. Definitely not unstable.
Like (5)
Version 5.2.2.2
knappeduivel
05 October 2016
Damn, another link to the infamous MacUpdate Installer.app for those who are not logged in. Bad macupdate!
Like (5)
Version 5.2.2.2
evilinstone
05 October 2016
Looks terrible. Unstable. Do not integrates with Apple services. iWorks still much better.
Like (1)
Version 5.2.2.2
1 answer(s)
mugsuk
mugsuk
03 November 2016
The only thing I would agree with is that iWorks may look better; otherwise this software is VERY stable (I've used it for years), and is infinitely more functional than iWorks (and functionality is why you use any piece of software). I admit that every year I give iWorks a go again because it is certainly prettier, but after a day or so at most I am back to LibreOffice to get the job done.
Like (1)
carthage
10 September 2016
I don't know who doesn't have MS Office anymore, but if you don' t or you need to get rid of it but have to stay compatible with your colleagues, LO is the way to go.

It's actually got some features that are better than Office, and it's become a lot more polished in recent releases. I still don't like the overall color tone of the interface - there's something a little amateur like about it - but it performs fantastically.

I dontated $10 to them the other day because I think it's awesome that there are people out there providing free s/w for others. If you don't have or can't afford MS, you can get something that's just as good and in some ways better for free with LO.

Like (5)
Version 5.2.1.2
Aapple
09 September 2016
Latest version 5.2.1.2 never finishes verifying on both of two 10.10.5 (Yosemite) MacOS computers. Recommend keeping the old version until you check whether verify works or not. Version 5.2.0.4 did not have this problem.
Like
Version 5.2.1.2
2 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
09 September 2016
Re-download and re-install. Worked here. The problem you were seeing is a known apple bug which also exists in their radar system. I suggest you let apple know what you think about this bug here:
https://www.apple.com/feedback/macosx.html
Like
Billybob152
Billybob152
01 February 2017
Same problem as Aaple. Finding a link to Libre Office developers to make them aware of this problem is a problem in itself. I am running OS 10.9.5 and have not been able to verify several of the latest updates.
Like
Zx81
08 August 2016
"Simply the best, better than all the rest Better than anything, anything I ever used." Seriously, my everyday writing tool, frequent upgrades, very stable, active community. Free, but donations will help...
Like (3)
Version 5.2.0.4
Prlab
07 August 2016
Application is a fail because the database component Base continually crashes. Something to do with use of Java. Tried everything. Installed Java Runtime and it still crashed. Installed the Java SDK and it still crashed. Their web site not helpful.
Like
Version 5.2.0.4
weldonbag
04 August 2016
I use LibreOffice for work and I totally like it. Very usable and handy. Great alternative for those who do not like Mac’s built-in utilities.
Like (2)
Version 5.1.4.2
Aeschylus
25 June 2016
This is the only app that can read some of my old Appleworks files. It's reliable, easy to use, and constantly improved. It's like MS Office without some of the lags and glitches. What a wonderful gift to the Mac community! Thanks, Dev Team.
Like (2)
Version 5.1.4.2
2 answer(s)
Anthony1947
Anthony1947
28 June 2016
Actually, for old AppleWorks word processing files, Bean is a great app. It will open the files easily - and then you just have to edit out all of the 'gunk' that AW put there (probably re formatting, etc.) and do a 'Save As' into any of the formats that Bean supports (including .doc).

And, of course, like LO, Bean is FREE …
Like (2)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
28 June 2016
Yes, Bean is also a great word processor - it's light and simple to use. But if you want to open AW files that are formatted, it's no better than a text editor. That's the advantage of Libre Office - it's a fuller featured solution.
Like (2)
kscmint
23 June 2016
Very thankful for this alternative to MS Office. Contains *all* the functionality I would need in MS Office. One thing I wish is for the developers to come up with a new database app. MS Access is a poorly designed app and should be replaced and should not be copied.
Like (6)
Version 5.1.4.2
1 answer(s)
ysgad
ysgad
24 June 2016
Well good news then. The database in LibreOffice or OpenOffice was never Access, but HSQLDB soon to be fully replaced by FirebirdSQL.
Like
greenwayrod
27 May 2016
LibreOffice is just the same that Microsoft Office but free! It has all the necessary features to manage different kinds of documents. Especially Presentations, which offer a wide variety of tools. Plus compatibility with other Office suits is a convenient thing. The only drawback I have found is possible problems with launching in El Capitan. In general it's a worthy replacement to other office applications.
Like (2)
Version 5.1.3.2
6 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
23 June 2016
It's missing one important functionality: convert footnotes to endnotes & vice versa. (Or did I miss something? A function tucked away deep in a submenu?) For scientific authors like myself this is a major disadvantage.
Like
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
24 June 2016
@Michael Haeusler: Did you file a bug or have a link to an existing bug covering this feature request?
Like
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
24 June 2016
Others have already asked for this functionality… this is going back years. Nothing has happened.
Like
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
24 June 2016
Well too funny, but without a proper bug report nothing ever will change.
End of discussion for me. Good luck with your feature request that the devs do not know about.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
24 June 2016
I'm sure they know, and people also replied to these requests—read something like a weird workaround—, but a couple of years ago it wasn't high on their list. Maybe they've changed their stance… we'll see. It's not pressing for me atm, because currently I write directly in InDesign, mostly going straight to print.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
14 October 2016
Manual conversion: https://github.com/JayBrown/LOconv
Like
Dellsuxx
08 April 2016
Fantastic free open office application that slaughters Microsoft office for mac and their ridiculous yearly fees. I do NOT care about the new Icon It's not Important enough to mention.
Like (3)
Version 5.1.2.2
trim262
14 March 2016
Very useful.
Like (3)
Version 5.1.1.3
Juan-Falgueras-Cano
25 February 2016
The only application able to read old Word (MacWord fast saved) docs. Nor Microsoft Word, nor any other (antiword…) can do that. Thanks LibreOffice!
Like (1)
Version 5.1.0.3
Foulger
10 November 2015
Now that I've read the difference in development and who mainly develops OpenOffice, I have downloaded LibreOffice again as my preferred MS Office substitute. The only whinge I have and its a purely cosmetic one, is the apps icon. Probably changing the icon to something more eyecatching but practical would get more people on board. At the moment IMHO its a bit generic.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.3.2
Nealnt
10 November 2015
V 5.0.3. Upon opening get message that the app is damaged. Same when downloading from developer's site.
Like
Version 5.0.3.2
2 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
18 December 2015
Just temporarily allow any downloaded apps, open LO, then revert to a safer setting.
Like
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
07 April 2016
Even easier, no need to change the settings at all, just go into the Apps folder, and Right-Click (or Control-Click) and select Open from there. It then offers the option to Open or Cancel the app along with the warning, rather than simply showing the warning with only the Cancel option. This is only needed for the first time of opening (this works on any unsigned app).
Like
tomtomklub
16 October 2015
I know I should probably be asking this on an Apple support forum because it's probably an issue with OS X itself, but I simply cannot get LibreOffice to launch in El Capitan. I keep getting the message that says "LibreOffice will damage your computer. You should move it to the Trash." Even after I change System Preferences to "Allow apps downloaded from: Anywhere". I've tried right-clicking and using the context menu to open, but it still presents the same message. Ugh.

Anybody else having a similar problem or solution?
Like
Version 5.0.2.2
2 answer(s)
tomtomklub
tomtomklub
16 October 2015
...and logging out and then back in seems to have helped; perhaps that's what made the System Preference change stick? After logging back in, I was able to successfully launch LibreOffice by right-clicking on the app and choosing Open from the context menu.
Like
orsobou4
orsobou4
20 February 2016
When I had downloaded the most recent version today and tried to launch it, my system, OS X 10.11 El Capitan, alerted me that the file was damage and would not open it, so I reverted to the previous version, the 5.0.4.2, which works. One more thing that made me disappointed of the software, 5.0.4.2, was that I could not change the default font for writing text document.s, which was very easy in earlier versions.
Like
droscar
29 August 2015
This link downloads 5.0.1. 5.0.1.2 is only available as source code on the developer's site.
Like
Version 5.0.1.2
1 answer(s)
droscar
droscar
30 August 2015
My mistake. The dmg file name contains "5.0.1" but the app inside IS 5.0.1.2. The file at the developer's site is also "5.0.1". Confusing.
Like