Back to LibreOffice page
LibreOffice free download for Mac

LibreOffice Reviews

03 April 2021

Free, open-source office suite.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Aapple
Aapple
Apr 2 2021
7.1.2.2
5.0
Apr 2 2021
5.0
Version: 7.1.2.2
I love the fact that it opens really old Mac word processing files which are otherwise unreadable (MacWritePro for example). It is a large program, but that is ok. For most of MS Word files, I am still using the 2008 version.
orsobou4
orsobou4
Dec 26 2020
7.0.4.2
2.0
Dec 26 2020
2.0
Version: 7.0.4.2
Thank you and goodbye LibreOffice! The latest update has made me very disappointed, because you have dropped the hyphenation in Swedish in the German version, i.e. I have the menus in German and write in Swedish.
kh-myself
kh-myself
Sep 13 2020
6.4.6.2
5.0
Sep 13 2020
5.0
Version: 6.4.6.2
MUCH BETTER THAN ANYTHING EVER PRODUCED BY Microsoft Office !!!!!!!
MaurizioL
MaurizioL
Sep 10 2020
6.4.6.2
5.0
Sep 10 2020
5.0
Version: 6.4.6.2
Note that the current LibreOffice release is 7.0.1
Naoh
Naoh
Aug 10 2020
6.4.5.2
0.0
Aug 10 2020
0.0
Version: 6.4.5.2
LibreOffice 7.0.0.3 has just been released.
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
Jul 3 2020
6.4.5.2
2.0
Jul 3 2020
2.0
Version: 6.4.5.2
As far as I can tell, LibreOffice has no ability to add alt text to images in PowerPoint presentations, making it useless to anyone teaching online classes. It’s also clunky and slow to respond. For some reason, I have to roll my scroll wheel 3 times more to get the page or any of the interfaces to scroll.
britinokinawa
britinokinawa
Jul 2 2020
6.4.5.2
1.0
Jul 2 2020
1.0
Version: 6.4.5.2
I didn't think there could be anything worse than MS Word, but this is it. It's absolutely horrible. Far too complicated and bristling with functions you'll never use. It's the epitome of software designed by a committee.
patephotographic
patephotographic
Jun 30 2020
6.4.4.2
5.0
Jun 30 2020
5.0
Version: 6.4.4.2
I run several Macs, older and newer models, personal and work stations. Finally became frustrated with Apple dumbing down their iWork apps to make them more iPhone like instead of real computer productivity software like iWork '09 was. Apple also makes sure the latest iWorks suite will only run on their last two OS versions. So I decided to take a chance on a non-Apple alternative, LibreOffice, and braced myself for more frustration and a high learning curve. I was pleasantly surprised. The software is mature, works well, various apps conveniently integrated, and there is a comprehensive help utility that works better than many paid software apps. I mostly use their spreadsheet, which is fairly intuitive. It only took me a few minutes to get up and running, and then a bit of referring to the Help utility to get preferences set and learn formatting details. Overall, very happy with LibreOffice, which I expressed with a donation towards their continued support and development.
James
James
Apr 16 2020
6.4.2
5.0
Apr 16 2020
5.0
Version: 6.4.2
This product just keeps getting better and better and the documentation is now much improved over the last year or so. Given Microsoft new Office paradigm of pay forever for your own file (data) access, and LibreOffice being offered free, on all three major computer platforms, but support by donations (yes I donated) they only question is "What's keep you from abandoning Microsoft Office?" unless you are able to get it for free or work for Microsoft.
albertop9
albertop9
Apr 16 2020
6.4.2
1.0
Apr 16 2020
1.0
Version: 6.4.2
Too many pesky bugs - and even crashes! So disappointing…
paulfrisby
paulfrisby
Mar 26 2020
6.4.2.2
4.0
Mar 26 2020
4.0
Version: 6.4.2.2
Decided to install Micro Office
a9759468
a9759468
Mar 19 2020
6.3.4.2
5.0
Mar 19 2020
5.0
Version: 6.3.4.2
Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it doesn't fail me as much as this particular one. After all, Yes, it was my choice to read, but I really believed you would probably have something useful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of complaining about something you can fix if you were not too busy looking for attention.<a href="https://www.xfinitycomauthorize.com/">xfinity.com/authorize</a>
sl977110
sl977110
Dec 30 2019
6.3.3.2
5.0
Dec 30 2019
5.0
Version: 6.3.3.2
Hey Thanks for sharing this valuable information with us. I will come back to your site and keep sharing this information with us. vISIT@:- https://anti-norton.com/
jgmcontracts
jgmcontracts
Nov 28 2019
6.3.3.2
5.0
Nov 28 2019
5.0
Version: 6.3.3.2
Ok very Simple. Im a builder and I do my own estimates. In Libre any Table you create can be used as a spreadsheet without opening a separate Program allowing you to change items in an instant and see the immediate total. This alone in my case blow Office out of the water.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Sep 6 2019
6.3.1.2
5.0
Sep 6 2019
5.0
Version: 6.3.1.2
MY number 1 alternative to Microsoft Office. Frankly it handles docx files created by Word better than Word does. LibreOffice does not create 100s of styles behind your back that you don't discover until you try to import it into a Publishing app like Quark etc.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Sep 6 2019
6.3.1.2
1.0
Sep 6 2019
1.0
Version: 6.3.1.2
It's fixed! After months of waiting and an not-good-enough first attempt, the Python script vulnerability in LibreOffice has for-realz been fully patched. It is CVE-2019-9854. Details are available here: https://www.libreoffice.org/about-us/security/advisories/cve-2019-9854/ - - Also patched was CVE-2019-9855, applicable only to Windows users.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 17 2019
6.3.0.4
1.0
Aug 17 2019
1.0
Version: 6.3.0.4
While we wait for Son-Of-CVE-2019-9848 to be patched... It turns out that LibreOffice 6.3.4 (6.3.0.4) patched three further security flaws, as per new announcements released yesterday: • CVE-2019-9850 • CVE-2019-9851 • CVE-2019-9852 https://www.libreoffice.org/about-us/security/advisories/
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 11 2019
6.3.0.4
1.0
Aug 11 2019
1.0
Version: 6.3.0.4
So I wrote to the Devs and heard back from them, for which I am grateful. Here is their response:

"It is not incorrect to state that CVE-2019-9848 was patched in 6.2.5.2, but it is fair to state that it turns out the solution is not totally sufficient and there is an additional problem with the solution.

"A new advisory will be issued with a new CVE number for the follow-up issue when the solution is ready. We're working on making it available."

Stay tuned.... Oh and continue to apply the workaround on this latest version of LibreOffice.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 10 2019
6.3.0.4
1.0
Aug 10 2019
1.0
Version: 6.3.0.4
This situation sucks. So I'm giving LibreOffice a crudy review score as a direct result. Rather than put everyone to sleep with a TL;DR, please go through the comments below for the backstory. Short Version: Lingering on has been CVE-2018-16858, a 'LibreLogo arbitrary script execution' security flaw. It was supposed to be patched in v6.2.5.2 but the patch FAILed. The developer promised a working patch in THIS version. And yet there is NO RECORD of that patch having been applied. RESULT: Utterly confused and potentially AT RISK users. That's bad. * To be safe, use the workaround I posted previously. Meanwhile: OpenOffice suffers from the same security flaw and Apache has done nothing to address it. I'm ready to switch back to NeoOffice, which does NOT have the security flaw. But you have to pay $15 for a full version.
Dont-Spam-Me
Dont-Spam-Me
Aug 10 2019
6.3.0.4
0.0
Aug 10 2019
0.0
Version: 6.3.0.4
Does anyone know? Has v6.3.0.4 been successfully patched? Is it safe to use as is, or is it still wise to delete the pydoc.py file?
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Aug 9 2019
6.3.0.4
0.0
Aug 9 2019
0.0
Version: 6.3.0.4
MacUpdate typo? The version downloaded here, via MacUpdate, is 6.3.4, not 6.3.0.4
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 3 2019
6.2.5.2
1.0
Aug 3 2019
1.0
Version: 6.2.5.2
DANGER! Patch FAIL! Version 6.2.5.2 of LibreOffice did NOT successfully patch CVE-2018-16858. It is UNSAFE TO USE! LibreOffice handlers defend suite's security after 'unfortunately partial' patch https://www.theregister.co.uk/2019/08/02/document_foundation_libreoffice_security/ There is a workaround to use in the meantime. It's provided in the article I linked in my previous post. For the sake of simplicity, here is where to find the offending file inside ALL versions of LibreOffice. The file name is "pydoc.py" and you want to either RENAME it or simply DELETE it. This will hurt nothing but the functionality of python scripts in LibreOffice, in my experience. If you don't already know how to navigate into application package Contents, then *do not do this!* You have been warned! LibreOffice.app/ Contents/ Frameworks/ LibreOfficePython.framework/ Versions/ 3.5/ lib/ python3.5/ pydoc.py Notes: • This security hole was made public in October, 2018. Seriously. • Meanwhile, Apache has not addressed the problem AT ALL in OpenOffice! But the same workaround is effective. • I have established that this security hole is NOT present in NeoOffice, the other branch of OpenOffice for Mac. It does not use the offending Python file. But note that NeoOffice costs $15/$30, depending where you buy it. It does offer a trial 'Viewer' version.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 2 2019
6.2.5.2
1.0
Aug 2 2019
1.0
Version: 6.2.5.2
For those concerned about CVE-2018-16858, the security hole in LibreOffice up through versions 6.0.6/6.1.2, but are stuck using one of these older versions on an old Mac: It's worth reading the article linked below. To quote: "As a workaround until OpenOffice releases a security fix, users can remove or rename the pythonscript.py file in the installation folder to disable the support for python." It's possible this workaround would succeed with older LibreOffice as well. I'm checking it out with a friend who's in this situation. I'll post if we're successful. Severe RCE Flaw Disclosed in Popular LibreOffice and OpenOffice Software https://hacknews.co/vulnerabilities/20190205/severe-rce-flaw-disclosed-in-popular-libreoffice-and-openoffice-software.html
nobody2011
nobody2011
Jul 22 2019
6.2.5.2
5.0
Jul 22 2019
5.0
Version: 6.2.5.2
LibreOffice 6.3.0.2 is out https://downloadarchive.documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/old/6.3.0.2/
Macintosh-Sauce
Macintosh-Sauce
Jul 19 2019
6.2.5.2
5.0
Jul 19 2019
5.0
Version: 6.2.5.2
When my Microsoft Office 365 subscription ran out I decided to check out LibreOffice. I found that Writer is quite sufficient to use on my Mac. The nice thing about LibreOffice is that I can switch to Windows 10 Pro or elementary OS 5 (Linux) and use the same files to edit, etc. Sending TDF a donation soon, because I think it's worth it. I highly recommend LibreOffice if you want to save yourself $99/year.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jul 5 2019
6.2.5.2
1.0
Jul 5 2019
1.0
Version: 6.2.5.2
Today's version numbering strangeness: v6.2.5.2 = v6.2.5002 Be not afraid.
Macfool
Macfool
May 22 2019
6.2.4.2
4.5
May 22 2019
4.5
Version: 6.2.4.2
per the LibreOffice website versions v.6.1.6 and 6.2.4 are in release. Here: https://www.libreoffice.org/download/download/
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 8 2019
6.2.1.2
1.0
Mar 8 2019
1.0
Version: 6.2.1.2
Yes, the current version is 6.2.1.2. -> As with the previous version of LibreOffice, the version number metadata provided to the Finder is WRONG. (Either someone formerly from Adobe, who never enter version numbers properly, or someone high on hallucinogens is entering this screwed up data). What you see in the Finder is "6.2.1002". -> Don't be alarmed. The actual version number, verified via Get Info and 'About LibreOffice", is 6.2.1.2. √
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
Feb 24 2019
6.2.3
0.0
Feb 24 2019
0.0
Version: 6.2.3
The newest version of LibreOffice is not 6.2.3 as MacUpdate claims. The version that downloads is 6.2.0.3 and when I asked it to check for updates it found none.
nobody2011
nobody2011
Jan 26 2019
6.1.4.2
5.0
Jan 26 2019
5.0
Version: 6.1.4.2
a newer version was released Jan. 10th 2019 https://downloadarchive.documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/old/6.2.0.2/mac/x86_64/
dlt
dlt
Dec 19 2018
6.1.4.2
4.5
Dec 19 2018
4.5
Version: 6.1.4.2
Switched from MS Office for Mac. What an improvement. Look and feel not as clean as MS Office, but functionality much better. I never trusted MS Office (crashes, crazy behind the scenes stuff going on like whirling disk drives, etc.). Deep down, I hate most anything MS. Being able to save in MS latest formats makes it work for me.
GLW
GLW
Nov 21 2018
6.1.3.2
1.0
Nov 21 2018
1.0
Version: 6.1.3.2
I'm running 6.1.3.2 on High Sierra 10.3.6 and I'm finding that "due to an unexpected error" LO crashes about every 15 seconds! Fortunately, it seems to be able to recover my progress -- even if I haven't yet saved the latest changes; but it is still VERY ANNOYING to have to reset so often.
dlink
dlink
Sep 27 2018
6.1.2.1
0.0
Sep 27 2018
0.0
Version: 6.1.2.1
Bad link for 6.1.2 update
Steve-From-Pottstown
Steve-From-Pottstown
Sep 5 2018
6.1.0.3
1.0
Sep 5 2018
1.0
Version: 6.1.0.3
Tried to donate 19 dollars with update, all I got was a credit card shut down and NO update, remove from my computer
lkrupp215
lkrupp215
Apr 9 2018
6.0.3.2
0.0
Apr 9 2018
0.0
Version: 6.0.3.2
Interesting. LibreOffice’s own website only offers version 6.0.2 so where did MacUpdate get 6.0.3 from. After downloading from, LibreOffice’s website and installing a check for updates says I have the latest version which is 6.0.2. Hmmmm...

Well that was this morning. Another check just now and indeed 6.0.3 is available for download. Ships crossing in the night I suppose.
droscar
droscar
Mar 3 2018
6.0.2.1
0.0
Mar 3 2018
0.0
Version: 6.0.2.1
Downloaded file is named "6.0.2" but the application is in fact 6.0.2.1.
eglouise6
eglouise6
Feb 13 2018
6.0.1.1
0.0
Feb 13 2018
0.0
Version: 6.0.1.1
I like it a lot.
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
Feb 12 2018
6.0.1.1
5.0
Feb 12 2018
5.0
Version: 6.0.1.1
I don't know why this is but spreadsheets load and scroll very slowly for me whether 56 cell long or over a hundred. This being for sometime now. Both machines I use are new enough (& SSD).
Foulger
Foulger
Feb 9 2018
6.0.1.1
3.5
Feb 9 2018
3.5
Version: 6.0.1.1
Works fine for me on 10.13.4 beta 2. Uniquely helpful app as it will open old apple works files!
Mcr
Mcr
Jan 31 2018
6.0.0.3
0.0
Jan 31 2018
0.0
Version: 6.0.0.3
USERS BE ADVISED, as of the date of this post, with MacUpdate listing version 6.0. Version 6 is not the stable release, but is called the 'Fresh' branch, 'fresh' as in 'fresh off the presses' as the old saying goes. The Fresh 6.0 branch is considered developmental, for early adopters. I don't necessarily object to MacUpdate listing version 6 but should be noted that this is a developmental release.

Version 5 is considered the stable 'Still' branch. This is stated clearly on the libreoffice site https://www.libreoffice.org/download/release-notes/
Dannymontani
Dannymontani
Dec 21 2017
5.4.4.2
5.0
Dec 21 2017
5.0
Version: 5.4.4.2
HOORAY LibreOffice. The printing issue seems to have been solved. I have been able to print 4 different documents with the correct orientation. Thanks guys and gals for finally solving this issue, I know its been a long road. Been using you for quite a while now and now...I know...I know...if it could just be faster and handle a large, but not huge, spread. I'll give you four stars 'cause nobody's perfect....sorry. What a great replacement for MS Word as others.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Sep 3 2017
5.4.1.2
3.5
Sep 3 2017
3.5
Version: 5.4.1.2
Of the MS Office alternatives I like LibreOffice the best, based on the interface. Unfortunately it cannot handle MS Office files. I could open Word files but the app freezes when I try to save them. This goes for .doc and .docx files. It doesn't do any better with Excel. When I looked into this on the developer's web site they said that Office files are too complex to handle effectively. Which is strange because Apple's Pages can handle Word files just fine. I thought maybe Apple had an in with Microsoft until I opened an Excel file in Numbers. Yuck! Still, the OpenOffice project, of which LibreOffice is a part, is trying to promote open standards document formats which, no doubt, Microsoft does not appreciate. So they have no interest in making things any easier for the OpenOffice project. This makes adopting any version of OpenOffice problematic for anyone who needs interoperability. If you can walk away from MS Office that's fine. But many businesses cannot afford to do so. Like it or not, MS Office is the de facto standard for business and that doesn't look like changing any time soon. The reason this is important is that Microsoft is planning on lifting support for Office 2011 for Mac. Which is tangentially important because Apple is planning on eliminating support for 32 bit apps in the version of macOS following 10.12.13 Heigh Sierra. So if you use Office on the Mac you will need to buy the standalone Office 2016, which has had middling reviews, or subscribing to Office 360.
vadt
vadt
Jul 12 2017
5.3.4.2
2.0
Jul 12 2017
2.0
Version: 5.3.4.2
A ton of longstanding macOS specific bugs, no interest in dev department to address those, broken update mechanism and extremely slow startup time made me temporarily give up on LibreOffice. Will re-visit in 1 year - maybe it can improve. For now, the user experience is too frustrating.
Sampler
Sampler
Mar 26 2017
5.3.1.2
2.5
Mar 26 2017
2.5
Version: 5.3.1.2
OS X 10.11.6, After the screen to register a database in BASE, the app beachballed for several minutes and had to be force-quit. I then installed Open Office.. Creation of a new database in OO was quick and easy. I'll give LibreOffice 2.5 stars because I'll assume that the word processing and spreadsheet modules work.
anonymous-skink-4656
anonymous-skink-4656
Feb 2 2017
5.3.0.3
4.5
Feb 2 2017
4.5
Version: 5.3.0.3
It opens very slowly on a Mac. Windows version is faster.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Feb 1 2017
5.3.0.3
1.0
Feb 1 2017
1.0
Version: 5.3.0.3
There's something creepy odd and deadly slow about the download URL MacUpdate is using to for LibreOffice. --> Use the OFFICIAL URL instead. You get the 'Donate' appeal, but it's also VERY FAST and you know you're getting the official version. http://donate.libreoffice.org/home/dl/mac-x86_64/5.3.0/en-US/LibreOffice_5.3.0_MacOS_x86-64.dmg
Uncoy
Uncoy
Oct 19 2016
5.2.2.2
5.0
Oct 19 2016
5.0
Version: 5.2.2.2
Just jumped from a 3.2.x version to 5.2.2. Wow, what an improvement in terms of aesthetic. I upgraded to stop the Java requirement notifications. I've been running a twenty to forty person company for ten years without a single copy of MS applications (and very rarely using Google Apps) largely thanks to LibreOffice. Apart from the 700 MB app size, absolutely fantastic open source project. I've donated in the past and will donate again. PS. Who cares about not tightly integrating with Apple services? Whether your digital overlord is Microsoft, Google or Apple, you are still a peon. No better to be an iSlave than any other kind of slave. Definitely not unstable.
knappeduivel
knappeduivel
Oct 5 2016
5.2.2.2
0.0
Oct 5 2016
0.0
Version: 5.2.2.2
Damn, another link to the infamous MacUpdate Installer.app for those who are not logged in. Bad macupdate!
evilinstone
evilinstone
Oct 5 2016
5.2.2.2
1.0
Oct 5 2016
1.0
Version: 5.2.2.2
Looks terrible. Unstable. Do not integrates with Apple services. iWorks still much better.
carthage
carthage
Sep 10 2016
5.2.1.2
5.0
Sep 10 2016
5.0
Version: 5.2.1.2
I don't know who doesn't have MS Office anymore, but if you don' t or you need to get rid of it but have to stay compatible with your colleagues, LO is the way to go.

It's actually got some features that are better than Office, and it's become a lot more polished in recent releases. I still don't like the overall color tone of the interface - there's something a little amateur like about it - but it performs fantastically.

I dontated $10 to them the other day because I think it's awesome that there are people out there providing free s/w for others. If you don't have or can't afford MS, you can get something that's just as good and in some ways better for free with LO.