Back to NeO page
NeO free download for Mac

NeO Reviews

1.1.1
11 February 2019

Information outlining and organizing tool.

Nicksloan
28 January 2011

Most helpful

I love outliners in general, but in particular I love NeO. For a while I toyed with TAO, but I could never quite get my head round it, then I used OmniOutliner, but somehow I was always hitting serious limitations. Tree is very nice and simple, but also limited, likewise Opal. Deep Notes too. NeO is a reborn TAO, and no simpler, but I spent some serious time trying to understand it, to the extent that I now find it actually simpler to use than OO, as well as being much more powerful and flexible. It has a wealth of unique features, such as split editing, scaling, links and clones, and just as important from my viewpoint, it gives the user minute control over every aspect of the appearance of the outline: they can look as simple and uncluttered as you like, or they can be loaded with columns and metadata. The extra power does come at the expense of complexity: it takes a while to learn, and it is not yet bug-free, though I have found it perfectly useable. Talking of expense, the most amazing thing is that it costs less than 5 bucks on the App Store—and yes I’d feel sore if I had paid $10 for it the week before, but really, even $15 for this thing is an absolute steal.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.1

Read 22 NeO User Reviews

Rate this app:

Iliketrash
12 February 2019
Not sure why version 1.1.1 is listed here as "Feb 2019" because my copy of 1.1.1 is dated February 3, 2017.
Like
Version 1.1.1
stanblues999
18 August 2018
This is exactly what I've just written in the app store review a minute ago:
"There is no way this software can be abandoned, no way. As Tinderbox is to note takers, NeO is to outliners. Sell the rights to somone else and let develop or come back to your baby, this is to valuable to give up on. Nothing comes close to this Outliner, nothing!!! Let's hope an annoucement comes out with a revamped new version :)"

I would pay anything for this app to be continued. Cahrge me $40 for an upgrade? Fine!!! Just present the new upgraded tool!! Let's hope some good news soon.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.35
Zx81
23 December 2017
Well, it looks as if Neo, Takashi Hamada and D-light have vanished. I first bought the app in 2006...It still works, though.
Too bad.
Like
Version 1.0.35
1 answer(s)
Chrisaz
Chrisaz
03 July 2018
I do not know when it happened, but at this moment in time the d-light website is up. I hope this means good things about the future of NeO.
Like
Albrecht
21 December 2017
Is this abandonware? The developer's website <https://d-lit.com> is no longer up, but neither MacUpdate nor the Mac App Store indicate what has happened to it. At any rate, I found two bugs in version 1.1.1: (1) Trying to import MORE 3 files (the reason I originally bought NeO) or OPML files now appears to do nothing (nothing opens, and no error message is given). But when I then quit and relaunch NeO, the file I want to access is opened automagically… (2) DefaultFolder does not work with NeO. A pity — this was such a promising application.
Like
Version 1.0.35
1 answer(s)
Albrecht
Albrecht
21 December 2017
Correction: NeO now _does_ work with DefaultFolder. Must have been another bug temporarily.
Like
Zx81
21 November 2016
Does anyone know an IOS app that could work with Neo? Thanks.
I'm asking this question here because I did not find any forum that could help me.
There is an app called Neo Notes, but it has nothing to do with NeO.
Like
Version 1.0.35
C-D
15 November 2016
This is truly a very promising application although it still suffers from teething troubles.

NeO offers a bunch of features you won't find in any other outliner (as far as I know). I haven't had the time to try it out completely, but I did purchase it anyway, since the prize is almost ridiculously low.

On the down side, many things just don't work as they should (e.g. styles), but I think the dev just needs a bit more time to polish his ambitious work. And I agree that the GUI looks a bit Window-ish and needs some refinement.
Like
Version 1.0.35
Alenz
25 November 2015
Together with Tao from the same developer this is the only App I know that can open legacy MORE files. I'm happy I've found it. I had a license for Tao that should have worked with Neo. But Neo is now only available on the AppStore and I had to buy it, but it's still worth the price.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.30
lemon-kun
06 June 2014
OK, this is by far the best value-for-money outliner for the mac. It is really feature rich, so that we OmniOutliner users get jealous: for a tenth of OmniOutliner Pro, you get features like cloning/aliasing, all sorts of parameters for the columns, embedded video, text zooming and hoisting, etc. etc. etc. Although NeO is much more powerful, I still use OmniOutliner because of the UI, ease-of-use, look and feel – the UI of NeO reminds me of Open/LibreOffice, and I don't get so easily along with it. However, this is just a matter of taste, and you can customise NeO so it fits your needs. Verdict: NeO is a great, powerful pro-app at a ridiculously low price.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.29
Iliketrash
05 March 2013
This update is said to be 10.0.24 but that version has been out for a while. Maybe the developer intended that this update be called something else.
Like
Version 1.0.24
Zx81
14 August 2012
The very best outliner for me : Fast great sorting options cloning Numerous importing and exporting formats custom filters etc... Developer is very helpful and quick to answer. One of the "must have" on a Mac for me.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.21.1
Zx81
26 July 2012
Great app that reminds me of my first and best outliner : More A lot more comments and reviews can be found on MU here : http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35445/neo-for-leopard
Like (1)
Version 1.0.21
1 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
26 July 2012
I forgot ; you can download and purchase Neo/Tao via the developer's site.
Like
Iliketrash
19 July 2012
NeO is sold at the Mac App Store which makes the number of downloads on MacUpdates look ridiculously low. It also makes those of us who use MacUpdate a lot hard up to find useful reviews on this site. I have purchased Neo (the price is amazingly low for such an accomplished program) but have yet to work it into my work flow. It is a high-end outliner and organizer with advanced features, yet it looks to be as easy to use in "non-expert" mode as any other outliner. I am looking forward to using this heavily in organizing scattered research notes in preparing to write a paper. For now, I'll enter a five-star rating based on perhaps two hour's of use, and based on nice things people have said on the OmniOutliner page and also on the Mac App Store comments page.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.19
Istra
14 February 2011
is there a difference in the application, if downloaded through the AppStore or the developer's site?
Like
Version 1.0.4
6 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
14 February 2011
The one from the App Store is for 10.6.6 or later.
Like
Strob
Strob
27 February 2011
Yes there are differences. First, if you install from MU, when the app is opened there is desktop watermark displayed that states the "official" version is at the Apple store. Second, as of today, the Apple store still only has version 1.0.3 not 1.0.4. So it doesn't seem that the developer updates the "official" site with the latest version? Personally I am disappointed that the developer has gone solely to the Apple store to sell Neo. Based on the incidents and policies at the Apple mobile store I don't think this is good for customers and I am reluctant to support its use.
Like (4)
Espiridion
Espiridion
03 March 2011
@Strob, You seem a bit misinformed. If you visit the product's News section, you'll see: "Submitted Version 1.0.5 to App Store. Coming soon if no problem." There's also older news mentioning 1.04's release at the App Store (not Apple Store). Also, according to the website NeO is still available for purchase via PayPal and Kagi. http://d-lit.com/macosx/neo/purchase.php
Like
Strob
Strob
03 March 2011
@ Espiridon Not misinformed but informed by the developer. Version for 10.6.6 can only be downloaded from the app store - it can't be downloaded from d-light. Regarding updates if you can't download the latest version from the app store but it is showing here at MU (with a watermark) it is a bit frustrating. News blips don't count.
Like (3)
Espiridion
Espiridion
03 March 2011
@Strob, And isn't that precisely the first reply in this thread? "The one from the App Store is for 10.6.6 or later." Saying that "the developer has gone solely to the Apple store to sell Neo" is inaccurate. I'm sure it can take longer to get new files uploaded/reviewed/approved to the App Store, but they are uploaded there as well. The Macupdate download is NeO for Leopard. If you want to use the 10.6.6 version you'll obviously have to wait until it is available for download, regardless of whether Macupdate has announced it. Those "News blips" that "don't count" come from the official source of information, which is not Macupdate. The developer is saying "Submitted Version 1.0.5 to App Store. Coming soon if no problem." I don't think that you'll have to wait for years, months, or even weeks to be able to download it. Hopefully you'll be able to use the new version shortly. BTW, I had some problems with 1.05, contacted the developer, and within a few hours he provided a fix. He is very responsive.
Like
jameskatt
jameskatt
18 July 2011
As of 7-18-2011, it only costs $15 in the Mac App Store. It costs $20 otherwise. Thus it is a bargain - so much so I bought it myself and am giving it a whirl.
Like
Nicksloan
28 January 2011
I love outliners in general, but in particular I love NeO. For a while I toyed with TAO, but I could never quite get my head round it, then I used OmniOutliner, but somehow I was always hitting serious limitations. Tree is very nice and simple, but also limited, likewise Opal. Deep Notes too. NeO is a reborn TAO, and no simpler, but I spent some serious time trying to understand it, to the extent that I now find it actually simpler to use than OO, as well as being much more powerful and flexible. It has a wealth of unique features, such as split editing, scaling, links and clones, and just as important from my viewpoint, it gives the user minute control over every aspect of the appearance of the outline: they can look as simple and uncluttered as you like, or they can be loaded with columns and metadata. The extra power does come at the expense of complexity: it takes a while to learn, and it is not yet bug-free, though I have found it perfectly useable. Talking of expense, the most amazing thing is that it costs less than 5 bucks on the App Store—and yes I’d feel sore if I had paid $10 for it the week before, but really, even $15 for this thing is an absolute steal.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
Fnurl
Fnurl
11 March 2011
Do you have any pointers to better documentation then the help file? Or forums where NeO is discussed? I am trying to learn NeO now.. Looking at Tree, Xmind, MindNode etc too.
Like (1)
Nicksloan
Nicksloan
11 March 2011
The Help file is actually not bad, though a little long-winded and not comprehensive. There was a manual in TAO format that came with the TAO download, or could be downloaded independently. (Can’t check now because the site seems to be down—perhaps because of the disaster in Japan.) This was a massive document, very slow to load, but seemed quite comprehensive, and the functionality of NeO differs only slightly from TAO’s. I know of no other resources I’m afraid. In practice I have found that the best way to learn is to experiment and make your own reference notes. The clouds soon begin to clear, and NeO seems less daunting and more friendly. I now find it far more congenial to work in than the alternatives. In earlier versions it was sometimes difficult to distinguish between bugs and misunderstanding as to how NeO was meant to work, but it is getting pretty solid now. The developer is approachable. He sometimes takes a while to reply, but is helpful when he does.
Like (2)
Fnurl
Fnurl
12 March 2011
Thanks! I found the manual now and will be digging deep.
Like
Ksrhee24
27 January 2011
I would have given a higher rating for this, but given my recent experience I cannot. I bought the NEO 2 beta version only a month ago and paid $10 to support the developer. However, today I find that I can't update my program to 1.01 and wrote to the developer. To my dismay, I was told that I need to purchase the program via App Store and pay another $4.99 for the program. I wrote to the developer that this is not the best way to support your existing customers when a brand new customer only needs to pay $4.99 while the existing customer is now paying $14.99 for the program. I have dealt with many software companies in the past, and most outstanding companies do not engage in this type of practice. I am not going to invest any more in the company product. I wrote off $10 as a lesson learned from this.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
2 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
27 January 2011
If what you're saying is true, you could rate the value of the application low, that's why Macupdate gives users the ability to rate diverse aspects of the application, including Value. Rwebber commented below that he bought NeO while in beta, and did not mention anything about having to pay again for it. I bought the beta in August and did not have to pay anything else. I installed 1.0.1 and under licenses my name and number of licenses already appear. If the developer wants to charge you again, that is clearly wrong. My experience with him and his software has been quite different, though. He offers a license for 10.5-10.6.5 and another via the Mac App Store for 10.6.6. AFAIK, other developers also have different versions of their applications at different prices. ImageWell for example costs $20 from the developer and $5 via the Mac App Store. Note that licenses are also different via the Mac App Store.
Like (2)
rwebber
rwebber
27 January 2011
You can go directly to the developer's sight and download the updated version of NeO 1.0.1. Your license is valid for this build.
Like (3)
Espiridion
27 January 2011
As posted in a reply below, I contacted the author to let him know that there was no PPC version. Within minutes he replied letting me know that he was going to rebuild the PPC binary and upload it during the day. I just got another email from him letting me know that the PPC version is up. In spite of the different time-zones and language (since neither of us is a native English speaker) I've always found the developer to be friendly and responsive. Regarding NeO itself, it does have a somewhat steep learning curve. It's easy to use NeO and do simple things, but it is worth it to read the Help to get the most out of it. At $10 it is a bargain. Since the moment I tried it I have not used my copy of OmniOutliner Pro. BTW, it is $4.99 for a short while via the App Store. Very highly recommended.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
rwebber
rwebber
27 January 2011
I must heartily agree with Espiridion's evaluation of the developer's responsive support and professionalism. He also contacted me to explain that he would correct the problem of the intel only build and then followed up when he uploaded the universal binary. Many thanks, Takashi Hamada.
Like (1)
rwebber
26 January 2011
The current build is not a universal binary -- it is intel only. I know the betas supported the older architecture. Developer, could you produce a build for those of us who still use older PPC macs? Thank you.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
26 January 2011
I don't think that the developer monitors Macupdate, but I have sent him an email about this issue.
Like
rwebber
13 January 2011
In good faith I bought NeO 2 beta 11 for Leopard 10.5 (it is currently beta 13). Now you release the app for 10.6.6 only and no longer compile it as a universal binary. Developer, I didn't pay you to beta test your application and then have you dump me for the app store. Please release a final version universal binary of NeO 2 for those of us who already paid for it. I realize my PowerBook G4 is outdated, but I selected and paid for your app precisely because it would run on 10.5 Leopard. If you are unable to produce a final version of NeO 2, please refund my money.
Like (2)
Version 2.0 beta 13
1 answer(s)
rwebber
rwebber
27 January 2011
I apologize to Takashi Hamada for the above review. In lieu of the wave of developers who abandoned their loyal users to embrace the potentials of the AppStore, I wrongly assumed that Takashi had done the same. The developer has made good on his product. I regret that I am unable to remove this review. I certainly view the product and the developer with renewed confidence and highly recommend that you try this software.
Like (2)
Zx81
23 December 2010
Just a quick comment : Tinderbox, which is suggested as a similar app is totally different of course. TBX is...what you want it to be.
Like (1)
Version 2.0 beta 13
Ca
01 November 2010
What is the difference between Tao and NeO?
Like
Version 2.0 beta 7
1 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
01 November 2010
NeO seems to be the next version of Tao with a new name. They share the same license and used to share the same manual. NeO will probably include some fixes or code optimization, as well as new features by the time of the final release.
Like (2)
Version 2.0 beta 7
Zx81
11 October 2010
I have owned Tao for a long time. Being one of the few survivors of the MORE era I have been a very happy Tao user, although the UI is rather complex. The developer is very responsive and I hope to be able to use this app another decade.
Like (3)
Version 2.0 beta 5
Espiridion
10 October 2010
Although I have a license for OmniOutliner Pro, I purchased Neo a few months ago. I won't rate it since it's still a beta release, but in summary it is very powerful and quite cheap. The license for Neo can also be used for Tao as well. The downside is the relatively steep learning curve, but it's not too bad and in return users get a lot of powerful features. From what I recall, this is one of the few modern outliners that actually has a clone functionality. I found the demo a bit limited, but given the price I decided to buy it and it quickly became my main outliner.
Like (3)
Version 2.0 beta 5
1 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
16 October 2010
I'll just add that support is great even if it takes a bit of time. There are a couple of features that I would like to see implemented, and they're likely to appear in future releases. Love it!
Like (1)
Version 2.0 beta 5