Back to Disk Drill page
Disk Drill free download for Mac

Disk Drill Reviews4.5.369

25 October 2021

Data recovery and protection app.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
sebpetrescugmail-com5659
sebpetrescugmail-com5659
Jul 2 2021
4.3.316
1.0
Jul 2 2021
1.0
Version: 4.3.316
If it doesn't work, you don't get your money back. This just happened to me. The $129 just vanished and their customer support person said it's their policy. Just a warning in case you want to search for free options.
lisamurphycontact
lisamurphycontact
May 23 2021
4.3.316
0.0
May 23 2021
0.0
Version: 4.3.316
This is a SCAM. I was desperate to recover a file and it wouldn't let me preview the file unless I purchased the software which cost AU$129 only to find it recovered the files only that I have used for that day! And now they're saying I can't get a refund? These sites should be reported and shut down. I then rang apple who said once it's deleted from the trash you can't recover it unless you had an external backup drive. So they're whole business model is based on a lie.
Bill-Johnson
Bill-Johnson
Apr 9 2021
4.3.314
5.0
Apr 9 2021
5.0
Version: 4.3.314
Great data recovery software with M1 support!
rmorris
rmorris
Apr 7 2021
4.3.314
1.0
Apr 7 2021
1.0
Version: 4.3.314
Be warned, this app is a virus/adware delivery system masquerading as a disk utility.
mac user108
mac user108
Mar 14 2021
4.2.274
0.0
Mar 14 2021
0.0
Version: 4.2.274
I was desperate to save a file that I just deleted! The preview showed my file and didn't allow me to download unless I purchased Disk Drill PRO. I paid the full $90 and downloaded... NOTHING! The file is corrupted and anything you download is unusable! These types of businesses are gross and despicable. Any positive video reviews are NOT by real customers. They are from the scammers themselves! I'm waiting to see if I can get a refund.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Feb 15 2021
4.2.274
0.0
Feb 15 2021
0.0
Version: 4.2.274
I've stopped using these disk drive repair/recovery apps, including TechTool Pro and Drive Genius. With the introduction of APFS and as the Mac OS becomes more and more complex, none of these apps have been able to warn me of the imminent drive failures and repair it afterwards. If Apple's Disk Utility cannot recover your drive, nothing else seems to be able to.
picokake
picokake
Feb 15 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 15 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
For me, Disk Drill is a very helpful app. I do not have a mac. But I appreciate the opportunity to install that for a usual windows laptop. Sometimes there are lots of worthy products developed for Apple devices. I am talking about apps for creativity. I work as a designer. Almost all of those apps are unavailable for Windows. But this one is an exception. And I am happy about that. I have recently bought a professional version. My av does not work as it is supposed to. So, it deletes some of my photos and templates as it suspects them to be harmful. So, I have to recover them almost every day with Disk Drill. I also should mention the fact that I paid for this app once and got an actual license. I read about it. I also know that the common situation is when you pay for a subscription.
kojimah9
kojimah9
Feb 15 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 15 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I honestly like this application. I work with lots of devices. I am a software tester, so I have an iPhone, Android phone, iPad, Mac, and a Windows computer. Sometimes it is really hard to manage all the data I need. Even a free version of Disk Drill helps me with that. I do not have a problem with losing any files. I have them in a cloud, so I have an opportunity to download them any time. But as I always edit files and create new versions of them, I can get lost. The app helps to find duplicates and delete them. It frees the storage and makes the situation clear. Also, I like the tool called Mac Cleanup. Yes, I have some troubles with data management. It cleans the storage and deletes useless files. So, I will think about buying a pro version. But now I do not see any reasons to do it.
treybuher
treybuher
Feb 14 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 14 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I wish I knew about this application earlier. When I had a windows os computer, I ofter have problems with malware. Despite I had an installed antivirus software, there still were troubles. So, a lot of files were damaged and the system crashed. I have to reinstall it to get a fresh clean system. Of course, I lost almost all the files. The only ones I manage to save were filed I store on my HDD. But if I connect it with a computer, they could also be deleted. I had so many problems with it. Now I work on mac. This is the most reliable machine ever. But there still can be such a situation when I can't find any files. That is why I use Disk Drill. I decided to pay for a pro version to get access to all the app tools. However, there is no need to buy it if there are no files to recover.
edwardheavy
edwardheavy
Feb 14 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 14 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I used to use another similar app before. But I will not name it to prevent unwanted advertising. I would probably be an anti-ad because I had to change it to Dist Drill. Although, I was paying that 99$ a month. I used it on my previous Windows laptop. I have Mac now. So, I use the Disk drill application. I have not bought a pro version yet due to my bad experience with another app. However, having a free one is also very helpful. I have a mac operational system. So, there are much fewer problems with it comparing with Windows. I have never lost any files here. But I appreciate the opportunity to preview lost files. It gives confidence in the app I use. So, I know for sure that if I had a pro version, it would be real to recover those files. Anyway, there are some good free additional tools to use.
karlberdrindl
karlberdrindl
Feb 13 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 13 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I want to share my thought about Disk Drill. There are two versions of this app. The free one allows detecting the lost files. So, at least, I know that it is possible to recover them. If I emergently need them, I can pay for a pro version and do that. But until now I have not had such a need. I also like the additional free tools. There is an ability to monitor potential system issues and do a cleanup to free storage. So, I should say it is quite a helpful application, even if we talk about a free version of it. Anyway, people who write negative reviews should know that you can recover your file only with a pro version. So, you pay 89$ for a lifetime license and get access to all the tools. I got it that way. If I am mistaken, please correct me.
koltzvonsteiner
koltzvonsteiner
Feb 13 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 13 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I work as a photographer. I have a lot of photo sessions during the week. After I took photos, I have to upload them to my laptop and edit them. I use a special adapter to upload photos from a camera memory card. Last month Disk Drill saved me and my reputation. So, I decided to write a small review here. I was using this app more for organizing data storage. In a free version, there are some helpful tools. For example, duplicate founder, cleanup, disk monitoring. It helped me to detect potential issues and prevent them. But after I used my memory card with another computer, it caught malware and almost all the photos I'd made were damaged. It said they were RAW files. I could not recover them with a free version of Disk Drill. That is why I had to pay for a pro one. And I got back all the photos.
floormilky
floormilky
Feb 11 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 11 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
Honestly, I do not think it is the best application ever. I do not think everybody needs to buy a professional version. But everybody makes his own decision. For me, this application is a great helper. I usually lose some files. I have recently bought a MacBook. So, after lots of years using a windows computer, I am a bit lost in all the processes. I still do not know where some files are stored. Sometimes I delete them by a mistake. So, at the moment I find Dick Drill really useful. I find duplicates with it as well. By the way, I do not have a professional version. I am okay with all those free additional tools it offers. I will think about a pro version later. I can recommend it to everyone who needs to organize and protect his data. You can be sure all your files, photos, videos, and music are protected.
5finally55
5finally55
Feb 11 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 11 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
This is one of the most useful applications for sure. I have already used it twice. I have a flash drive where I store some studying materials. Unfortunately, it is quite easy to catch a virus from our university computers. That is what I did. I inserted a card into a classroom computer to show the presentation and it was crashed. The most unpleasant thing was that I had already deleted it from my laptop. My groupmates told me that they use Disk Drill. It is a common situation when students got malware for the university computers. So, my friend helped me to recover the file. He has a professional version of the app. Honestly, I do not think I need to pay for that. If I have problems, I ask him for help. But even a free version is worthy to have. It suggests a lot of functions, too.
balanceblind
balanceblind
Feb 10 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 10 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I also want to tell you about this application. I bought a professional version last year. I did it just in case. It is great that you can pay once and get a lifetime license. Last week I got into an unpleasant situation. My android phone caught malware that destroyed all the photos and videos. When I was trying to open them, I got a message that those files do not exist. But I could see them in a library. I remembered about Disk Drill. I did not know how to use it properly. So, I visited their website where I found clear instructions. I saw some negative reviews on that. Honestly, I did not understand all those low marks. The application has recovered all the lost files. I uploaded them to the HDD. There are no error messages anymore. What don't you guys like about that? Before you buy an app, you should read the instruction carefully.
markultrablack
markultrablack
Feb 9 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 9 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I am here to give thanks to the developers of this application. I've read some reviews on it. A lot of people write about their emergency situations. When they lost important files and could recover them with Disk Drill. If I read all those reviews before, I would not believe them. Moreover, I would not think I would ever get into such a situation. But I did. As I do not have big storage on my laptop, I prefer to use HDD. I have all my family photos there. And there are a lot of them. My friend asked me for my HDD. He needed to reinstall his Windows OS. Guess what he did. Right, he put the viruses that damaged half of my photos. I was very angry. That was the situation when your app helped me. I decided to pay for a professional version to get more opportunities. Now I use it to help friends with such unpleasant situations.
achtenaufmich
achtenaufmich
Feb 9 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 9 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
Who writes all those negative reviews? Are you all competitors? I've been using this application for a while. So, I can say without any doubt that I have never had any problems with it. It works properly. I suppose you can call their support line if you have any troubles with it. When I did not understand how to use it, they sent me clear instructions. I have a bad experience with deleting a very important file. I needed it for my potential job. I'd been working on it for several months. Then my laptop did not deal with a high system load. Windows OS crashed. I was in a panic. Disk Drill saved me and my life. I easily recover that file and did not believe in that. So, I got a paid version and never regret it. Anyway, I paid once and got a lifetime license. I hope I will never use that. But now I am sure I will be able to recover everything I lose.
Oiselle
Oiselle
Feb 8 2021
4.1.206
1.0
Feb 8 2021
1.0
Version: 4.1.206
This software was an absolute waste of money. I feel ripped off. Not only did it not work to retrieve lost files as advertised it would (accidentally deleted less than 5 hours earlier), but I was also advised that, and I quote from my email communication with George: "The option to recover the items from the trash/recycle bin is available only if you've previously used one of Disk Drill protection features, such as the Recovery Vault or Guaranteed Recovery", There was no mention of this prior to purchasing the software which is absolutely misleading. So basically, not only did it NOT work but he wanted me to buy something else to fix it. Unbelievable :( DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PIECE OF CRAP.
omerta-3
omerta-3
Feb 5 2021
4.1.206
1.0
Feb 5 2021
1.0
Version: 4.1.206
Awful waste of money. Tried to recover a file deleted less than 16 hrs prior. Did not work one bit. Just a complete waste.
rikkonevan
rikkonevan
Feb 5 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 5 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I want to share my experience after using the Disk Drill application. I work with lots of devices. I use both Mac and Windows laptops. I also store some data on HDD and USB drivers. So, there is a huge amount of files in different formats. Drive Drill is a great helper. It is very easy to search for deleted or crashed files. I can preview them and recover. Sometimes you will be okay with a free version. But I decided to buy a professional one. By the way, I liked that I had to pay for that once. I used to have another application before. So, I paid 99$ every month. I bought the Desk Drill pro version for 89$ and got a lifetime license. Isn't that better? I prefer saving money. Especially if there are reliable alternative products like that application. So, I am satisfied with it. I do not understand all those negative reviews people write.
frankovonmayer
frankovonmayer
Feb 5 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 5 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
After a year using of Disk Drill, I also decided to share my impressions. First of all, I will tell you about the disadvantages. Actually, there are not a lot of them. It is more about a free version. It does not allow me to use all the functions of the application. Then I decided to try a PRO version. And now I will tell you about the advantages. First of all, I work on Windows OS. I guess you know about its reliability. Or the lack of it. The system crashes twice a year. So, every time I have to reinstall the whole system. Sometimes I have important files on the damaged disk. It is the case when the application helps me to recover them. The instruction on the official website is quite clear. So everybody can deal with that. Moreover, it allows recovering data from different resources.
billshiphrr
billshiphrr
Feb 4 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 4 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I work with lots of files. It's hard to monitor all of them. I delete ones I do not need anymore. But sometimes I can delete mix them up and delete useful files by a mistake. Disk Drill helps me in such situations. I used to have a lot of problems. Every time I made a mistake, my boss was anger at me. So, I had to spend extra time creating deleted files all over again. My colleague recommended this application to me. I was using a free version. It has some helpful features. But not the full functionality of the app. That is why I got a paid version. I do not think everybody needs it. But if your work is connected with a big amount of data, and you have to free the storage, I can recommend you to buy that. Anyway, you have an opportunity to try that for free.
heinrichmeiner0
heinrichmeiner0
Feb 1 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Feb 1 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I’ve been using Disk Drill for quite a while and now I decided to write a review on it. I think it’s a great recovery tool both for Mac and Windows. I have two computers and I decided to try the app on both of them. I managed to restore many files I needed. It’s difficult to make a comparison to decide where it works better but I don’t think there is any need in it because it works decently in both cases. About its tools. I use disk health a lot, data protection and quite often data recovery. I haven’t noticed any disadvantages of using it. Of course, it’s important to mention that it has a free and paid version and the paid one gives more opportunities. I don’t think it’s surprising for anyone but still. I’d also add that Disk Drill can work with Android and iOS but honestly, I haven’t tried it with my smartphones. I’m sure at “big versions” only.
cochinjeffrey
cochinjeffrey
Jan 20 2021
4.1.206
5.0
Jan 20 2021
5.0
Version: 4.1.206
I read the negative comments on the web about this product and do not understand it. Competitors? I used Disk Drill and it recovered a massive amount of files from my 2TB drive. Yes! it is a bit pricey but you get what you pay for, it delivers.
kristina01tokar
kristina01tokar
Jan 5 2021
4.1.206
1.0
Jan 5 2021
1.0
Version: 4.1.206
shitty for recovering deleted files from a laptop
flo-10
flo-10
Dec 18 2020
4.1.206
2.0
Dec 18 2020
2.0
Version: 4.1.206
When it didn't work for me and I asked for a refund an hour after the purchase, they refused to issue a refund to my small nonprofit that I explained could ill afford to spend money on something that didn't work for us. I imagine it works in some situations but don't expect a refund if it doesn't work for you.
karenannrosen
karenannrosen
Dec 12 2020
4.1.206
1.0
Dec 12 2020
1.0
Version: 4.1.206
Disk Drill does not work! They tell you it is free but since the free version does not recover anything, you will need to pay $95. Once I paid the money to run the "deep" scan still nothing. Spent a great deal of time reading all of the documents and re-scanning.... still nothing usable. They do not stand behind their product and will not refund anything. Very bad experience...
connorhunter
connorhunter
Nov 24 2020
4.0.130
5.0
Nov 24 2020
5.0
Version: 4.0.130
Great software, Disk Drill helped me to recover RAW photos from a corrupted SD card. Highly recommended!
realistindenial
realistindenial
Nov 24 2020
4.0.130
1.0
Nov 24 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.130
I purchased the Pro version of Disk Drill on after viewing a list of my deleted files with the Free version. What Disk Drill fails to inform you BEFORE purchasing is deleted files on an SSD drive are “probably not” recoverable. This means Disk Drill is completely worthless for any modern computer system built within the last 5 years. You only learn this fact AFTER purchase. Contacting technical support for help is a waste of time. They will ask you to provide some technical information about your computer and that's when you find out Disk Drill is incapable of recovering deleted files from an SSD drive. Disk Drill will deny your request for a refund and instead lecture you about having not used their software correctly. They will then add insult to injury by referring you to their Terms of Sale page. To make matters even worse, they ridicule you by adding "the great news is that you can enjoy the amazing features of Disk Drill going forward." Disk Drill is essentially a ransomware scam. It teases by showing you a list of "recoverable" files, but the end result is a bunch of unusable files. Images aren't viewable and documents are uneditable. Disk Drill is like Lucy holding the football for Charlie Brown and then pulling it away at the last second.
john-545
john-545
Nov 11 2020
4.0.130
1.0
Nov 11 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.130
It's important to note that you MUST be able to successfully preview the files you want to recover before sending them any money. If they don't preview successfully, they won't be any different when you send them your $$ and try to recover them. They absolutely refuse to refund your money. In my case, R-Studio worked perfectly, and was cheaper to boot!
davidtimwaldman
davidtimwaldman
Nov 3 2020
4.0.130
1.0
Nov 3 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.130
Disgusted. DON'T GIVE THEM A PENNY. They show you all the recovered files (remember that you're probably stressed becasuse you've just deleted imporant stuff by accident) and offer to recover them. Of course you don't to read through the smallprint to the line that says 'You can even preview these files so that you can determine which ones can be successfully recovered'. What this means is, you must do this. if the files don't preview, they're corrupt. but they make it sound like a nice to have add on. disgusted. and remember, they konw you're turning to them at an hour of need.
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
Nov 1 2020
4.0.130
1.0
Nov 1 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.130
Does this work on SSDs formatted APFS?
killeentrevor
killeentrevor
Oct 16 2020
4.0.123
0.0
Oct 16 2020
0.0
Version: 4.0.123
So far what an absolute waste of money - it crashes both my MacBook Air and my iMac when trying to recover files !!! The support team are not answering emails and no contact from them what so ever- I will be reporting the company to PayPal if I don't hear from them in the next 48 hours!!!
carlosmo
carlosmo
Oct 10 2020
4.0.123
5.0
Oct 10 2020
5.0
Version: 4.0.123
THANK YOU DISK DRILL!! I have to say I was extremely skeptical and other software wanted my to pay so much money for very little. My problem was an "easy" issue. Had a SD Cart formatted in FAT that my MAC could not read, and I wanted to recover the material safely, had only audio material in there, not very heavy, about 200MB, took 30 minutes to scan, and recovered it for free, I am very very grateful and if I could do a donation to Disk Drill I would !!
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
Sep 25 2020
3.8.977
5.0
Sep 25 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.977
I rarely write a review about software but this application is different, this application saved my life many times before , as for studies I always work with ton of files and folders and many times I deleted important work and I cannot forget the day when I deleted my presentation by mistake and empty the trash to clean up my desktop and suddenly after all the hard work that I did and I have the presentation next day , I donot have my work that I did , I froze at this moment , I opened diskdrill and scan the data and recover it with couple of clicks , I seriously can’t be thankful for any software like this one
laura-60
laura-60
Sep 4 2020
3.8.975
1.0
Sep 4 2020
1.0
Version: 3.8.975
I accidentally deleted a lot of files from my computer - long story short I didn't realize that my business partner turned on iCloud, so when I cleared out "duplicate files" I in fact deleted the main files... Anyway, I used disk drill and I could see the thumbnail of my files in the guaranteed recovery section, but wasn't able to open or preview them. So, I thought that I had to upgrade to Pro to open/restore. However, the paid version gave me the same result. When I contacted support, it took weeks to get a response and when I finally heard back they said that that they don't refund and that there is no way to get any of my files back. I was told that disk drill can get most files even after being deleted - my files ranged from word, video, zeplin, excel, picture, design, music, art files... you name it - I ran Disk Drill withing 30 minutes of deleting from my Mac but this product was not able to recover a single thing and they were happy to take my money and provide 0 result and poor service. I'd give them a -0 starts.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Aug 26 2020
3.8.975
0.0
Aug 26 2020
0.0
Version: 3.8.975
Good but needs improvement. It does do a "good" job of file recovery, I was able to recover about 60% of my files after accidentally erasing the disk for about all of 2 seconds. Better than nothing. But it could use the ability to save recovered files to a different location. So far DD only saves to the desktop, and I had to recover files in chunks due to the fact that I only has so much space on my SSD. I had an external drive ready to copy to, but DD wouldn't allow me to save to that. Varying the view options would also be great. List view works right up until the moment you're scrolling through 2k+ files.
Jminnihan
Jminnihan
Aug 21 2020
3.8.975
2.0
Aug 21 2020
2.0
Version: 3.8.975
This pile of excrement will totally slow down your TimeMachine backups with the hidden .cleverfiles/ sub directory tree in the root of your main OS volume (pre Catalina) and in the root of the Data volume in Catalina and beyond. After removing this pile of crap, it takes a near act of God to remove it from your system and any TimeMachine backups. This cleverfiles directory tree also robs you of boatloads of drive space too. Don’t ever bother using this crap.
mrcub3mr
mrcub3mr
Jul 3 2020
3.8.975
1.0
Jul 3 2020
1.0
Version: 3.8.975
Free version found over 1 TB of files. Paid for the Pro version. Crashed my system. Drive now can't be found. They say it is a coincidence that it crashed at the exact same time that I used their software.
cerian1025
cerian1025
Jul 2 2020
3.8.975
5.0
Jul 2 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.975
These guys are amazing, I had the free version (which allows you to recover 500MB) but had some issues recovering files so I contacted their support, they were extremely helpful and assisted me in getting my files recovered and I ended buying the software and could recover all my files...... Thanks guys
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
Jun 26 2020
3.8.975
1.0
Jun 26 2020
1.0
Version: 3.8.975
DOES NOT WORK ON APFS DISKS! So, if you have a modern Mac that’s formatted with the Apple File System, Disk Drill is useless to you. Also, THE FREE VERSION WILL NOT RECOVER ANYTHING! You must buy the app for that privilege.
crstarraz
crstarraz
Jun 17 2020
3.8.971
5.0
Jun 17 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.971
So, to be true, this app isn't really free if you want to recover the files the free version finds...BUT you will know if the file(s) you need to recover are there before purchasing. I recently lost a very important file after changing HDs and upgrading OS, because that particular file was in an obscure path that wasn't included in regular backups. I remembered that I had this file on another iMac that hadn't been turned on in 18 months, however, as luck would have it, its HD was un-mountable when I turned it on! After a panic, I read about various data recovery software, and installed two after creating a boot disk to get that iMac started. The first one didn't seem to find the file I needed, but Disk Drill did. After a long 15 hours (2TB HD), Disk Drill found over 1TB of data on the un-mountable HD, and it found the file I was looking for! Sure, I wasn't expecting to pay $95 (w/tax) to recover this file, but in the end I'm glad I did. Keep this in mind: if the files you lost are important to you, you probably won't find a free way to recover all of them. The tech that goes into these recovery apps comes from software engineers that must be paid; so it may hurt a little bit to pay for it, but it's not their fault you lost it in the first place ;-) I think this is a great piece of software, even if the Dr. icon is a bit creepy.
meantoine91
meantoine91
Jun 5 2020
3.8.971
1.0
Jun 5 2020
1.0
Version: 3.8.971
Scam. Don't buy it. You have to pay for the PRO version to get files recovered but your "recovered" files will all be corrupted. Customer service will not issue a refund because of the fine lines in the terms and conditions. Don't buy.
goichberg
goichberg
Jun 3 2020
3.8.971
5.0
Jun 3 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.971
Disk Drill saved my skin, I've done a big mistake when making a backup of my daughter files, I recovered almost every photos and videos. Thank You for help and support.
stephdgreen88
stephdgreen88
May 26 2020
3.8.971
1.0
May 26 2020
1.0
Version: 3.8.971
Scam in a roundabout way. Does not let you preview files, only renamed thumbnails. It had scanned my laptops hard drive, not my damaged external one (the drive only appeared on the disk drill page once I'd connected my external one). I was hopeful so paid the 89usd to retrieve the files I thought were from my external hard drive. Only to find that once it had done (some 36 hours later) not only had it scanned my accessible drive, I couldn't even open the files anyway!! Contacted support who have no idea how to talk to people, and just refused a refund and were pretty sarcastic in their response.
ollielewis147
ollielewis147
May 21 2020
3.8.971
1.0
May 21 2020
1.0
Version: 3.8.971
App may be worth it but I am annoyed at all the reviews hooking you in to downloading it by saying it is top free recovery software. In my experience it is not, you can download the app for free but that's about it, practically all functionality is locked until you upgrade by buying Pro version. Please reviewers be honest and tell people they will have to pay at least $90 to get anything worthwhile out of this app.
no-thnks
no-thnks
Apr 27 2020
3.8.965
1.0
Apr 27 2020
1.0
Version: 3.8.965
BUYER BEWARE -- AVOID THIS SOFTWARE AND COMPANY -- TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE This is one of the absolutely worst customer services experiences of my life. I attempted to use this software which looks nice, but and which the company claims you are able to fully test before upgrading. I scanned a broken drive for three days and when I clicked the recover button to retrieve the files, I was forced to upgrade in order to complete the process. Once this process attempted, the software did not work and froze multiple times. I ended up losing the session and wasn't able to start over where I was. At that point I reached out to support asking for a refund because clearly this did not work and I should never have upgraded. They just keep repeatedly telling me no one forced me to upgrade and directing me to their terms of service. Their tone is terribly rude and unempathetic, and they have no plans on trying to make a satisfied customer out of me. This is manipulation and gaslighting. Do not purchase this software.
sayhitojayne
sayhitojayne
Apr 14 2020
3.8.965
5.0
Apr 14 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.965
As a rule... I generally don't give out 5 stars. But Disk Drill has been one of the most reliable data recovery software I've come across - because the software is good but also because their customer service team is made up of actual people and they respond! I made a mistake of formatting a hard disk and tried to test a whole bunch of data recovery tools (some were downright scammy and impossible to use) but Disk Drill's free test was so straightforward AND it recovered everything I lost. I actually tried to buy Magoshare first, but looked at the comments about Digital River and got scared, lol. There was also Stellar (too $$ for me) and EaseUS.. it was a close competition between Disk Drill and EaseUS to be frank. I requested for a discount code from Disk Drill as I work for a non-profit and they approved it - another plus point. Their customer service team was super responsive when I sent in a query, which I loved. I think that's also a good way to note if a company is worth purchasing from... My tip: download the free version first to see if your files can be recovered first. Once you eff up your hard drive, unplug it and stop using it immediately lest you write over it. To those reading... all the best with your recovery! I know the pain XD
vweller
vweller
Apr 13 2020
3.8.965
4.0
Apr 13 2020
4.0
Version: 3.8.965
Works great as for the cost. I used DD for rewiping documents from an old macbook air, though there were no filenames the recovery was successful and reasonably fast
shep89pavl
shep89pavl
Apr 8 2020
3.8.965
5.0
Apr 8 2020
5.0
Version: 3.8.965
I tried it for the first after my brother stole my camera and wiped all the photos from a memory card. The free version of one of its competitors returned most of the files broken, and I was in a panic, so I bought Disk Drill. The scan process was a bit too long, and I had to leave the recovery overnight, but it did get all the photos back after all. Not their names, but they were generic anyway. This tool is a lifesaver