Back to HyperDock page
HyperDock free download for Mac

HyperDock Reviews1.8

01 October 2018

Select windows by hovering over a dock item.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
Apr 1 2021
1.8
5.0
Apr 1 2021
5.0
Version: 1.8
v1.8.0.8-dev works with Big Sur. Great to have it back working again!
PaulWilkinson9977
PaulWilkinson9977
Mar 4 2021
1.8
5.0
Mar 4 2021
5.0
Version: 1.8
No longer works on Big Sur 11.2.2. Using Dockmate now, but its not as good.
Creidenouer
Creidenouer
Nov 10 2020
1.8
5.0
Nov 10 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8
Love it. I'm on Catalina and still chuggin' Can't understand negative reviews. Always worked for me and am very glad it is provided (along with Hyperswitch)!
Pascal-Sutter
Pascal-Sutter
Aug 25 2020
1.8
5.0
Aug 25 2020
5.0
Version: 1.8
For the love of Cthulhu the almighty :-) Please update the licence Problem that comes with 10.15.6.
stanblues999
stanblues999
Aug 21 2019
1.8
0.5
Aug 21 2019
0.5
Version: 1.8
This tools hasn't worked since Mojave arrived. I emailed the developer and got nothing. Now, I've received a "This version of HyperDock has expired" message from the app itself. Was a good tool but seemingly useless now.
Noizemaker07
Noizemaker07
Mar 30 2019
1.8
1.0
Mar 30 2019
1.0
Version: 1.8
Still not working for me in Mojave. Whenever i uncheck the box in privacy & security it completely locks up my machine & i have to physically power down my iMac. :-(
Mrbunglebear
Mrbunglebear
Feb 18 2019
1.8
5.0
Feb 18 2019
5.0
Version: 1.8
I have been futzing around with this for ages, but then saw the fix that worked for me below! Removing HyperDock from the Security & Privacy Accessibility pane in System Preferences, then switching to the HyperDock preferences pane pops up the usual dialogue saying it wants to control your machine. Click allow, then switch back to the Security & Privacy Accessibility pane and tick the box and, hey presto, it works! Thank goodness!! I have been lost without this since upgrading to Mojave!!
Ashleya
Ashleya
Dec 4 2018
1.8
5.0
Dec 4 2018
5.0
Version: 1.8
WHEW. I was just going (like this minute) to contact the developers to see if HyperDock was Mojave compatible. My 2014 MBPro mac keeps bugging me to update and I was finally considering. I use Hyperdoc constantly. If it wasn't compatible, I wasn't going to upgrade. And then, magically, an update window appeared out of nowhere... Hopefully, it'll work great.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Sep 30 2018
1.8
0.5
Sep 30 2018
0.5
Version: 1.8
I just downloaded and installed it, but unfortunately, it still does not work in Mojave.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Sep 30 2018
1.8
0.5
Sep 30 2018
0.5
Version: 1.8
When will the Mojave update (1.8) be available in the MAS?
Noraa
Noraa
Sep 3 2018
1.7
5.0
Sep 3 2018
5.0
Version: 1.7
Sadly this app appears to be dead. It doesn't work on the current beta of Mojave, and it hasn't been updated in over a year and a half. It's a shame as it was rather useful.
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Jul 3 2018
1.7
0.5
Jul 3 2018
0.5
Version: 1.7
The app does not seem to work in Mojave (beta) any longer. The link to the developer's Web site does not work, either. Is this app dead?
Léoren
Léoren
Apr 9 2018
1.7
3.0
Apr 9 2018
3.0
Version: 1.7
I've purchased this app many years ago on the Mac App Store. I've had a nice time with it for a while. Today I noticed that it was no longer available on MAS. It is not that surprising given that there is virtually no maintenance since 2016. However, the app disappeared completely from my purchased app list. This is very unsettling for me. I still have a ton of other apps that no longer available in MAS but they are all still in the purchase list. Can a developer decide to give the finger to all the clients on MAS of his own app down the road?
garochristian
garochristian
Oct 26 2017
1.7
4.0
Oct 26 2017
4.0
Version: 1.7
I've used this app ever since I discovered it—it's always one of the first few things I install on a fresh OS. It's a shame that the developer has neglected it, though...
AshBP
AshBP
Aug 31 2017
1.7
5.0
Aug 31 2017
5.0
Version: 1.7
I LOVE this utility app and use it CONSTANTLY. Really, really hope the developer keeps updating it! Hate using Macs without it...
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Jul 21 2017
1.7
0.5
Jul 21 2017
0.5
Version: 1.7
This type of utility always gets abandoned at the end. Plus, when you get used to using something like this too much, you feel completely lost when you have to work on another Mac without it. Furthermore, all the milliseconds you think you might be saving is entirely erased almost instantly once you have to troubleshoot for high CPU usage, things not working right, etc. Unlike general stand-alone apps, this type of utility is hard to make it stable and reliable, because it has to handle a huge variety of scenarios system-wide with a bunch of other apps. macOS's default Mission Control works just fine. I used to use stuff like this in the past, but I found it rather redundant and unnecessary once I learned to use all macOS default features effectively.
YHC
YHC
Jun 3 2017
1.7
0.5
Jun 3 2017
0.5
Version: 1.7
Always take a very HIGH CPU!!!
ScottUpdate
ScottUpdate
Apr 15 2017
1.7
3.0
Apr 15 2017
3.0
Version: 1.7
Is anyone else having problems with their Mac Dock since installing HyperDock?
Cowicide
Cowicide
Nov 18 2016
1.7
5.0
Nov 18 2016
5.0
Version: 1.7
Makes up for (and then some) a huge oversight by Apple. Windows has this and so should macOS. The nice thing is this makes the Mac Dock even better than Windows Taskbar capabilities. I've never had issues related to this app and its built-in Window Snapping capabilities are indispensable as well. This gets installed on every Mac, period.
Philip-Bravo
Philip-Bravo
Oct 8 2016
1.6.1
3.5
Oct 8 2016
3.5
Version: 1.6.1
Wrong price. It says $6.95, but actually sells for $9.95. Misleading isn't it.
AshBP
AshBP
Sep 19 2016
1.6.1
5.0
Sep 19 2016
5.0
Version: 1.6.1
Love, LOVE this app! Have been using it since first released. I use it constantly.
Edeerly
Edeerly
Aug 13 2016
1.6.1
5.0
Aug 13 2016
5.0
Version: 1.6.1
1.6.1 seems to fix the issues that kept this from working previously. If you have an MAS version installed, the non-MAS version will detect it.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Mar 27 2016
1.6
0.5
Mar 27 2016
0.5
Version: 1.6
Now HyperDock is not working on mountain lion even with an uninstall and re-install from MAS. I find it curious that all my operating systems suddenly all tell me my trail period has ended when I paid the full price in the MAS in 2014. This software is a total rip-off.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Mar 25 2016
1.6
0.5
Mar 25 2016
0.5
Version: 1.6
No thanks to the developer I solved the problem by uninstalling HyperDock then re-installing from the MAS.
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Mar 23 2016
1.6
0.5
Mar 23 2016
0.5
Version: 1.6
I purchased hyperdock through the MAS in 2014 then recently all my macs say the trial period has ended??? Have written the developer but no response. Buyer beware.....
edmb
edmb
Mar 2 2016
1.6
2.0
Mar 2 2016
2.0
Version: 1.6
I tried out HyperDock and liked its features so decided to spend the $6.95 price to purchase it. This was at the beginning of January 2016 and I have still (March 2, 2016) not received a license. I have written the developer multiple times explaining the problem and have not heard a single word in response. I know that the payment was accepted. I have no problem with the app, as little as I was able to use it, but I would warn anyone considering buying it that your money might disappear and you will still not have the app.

The star rating is based on my experience with the developer.

By the way, if you google HyperDock license you will find that I am not the only one to have this problem.
Léoren
Léoren
Oct 30 2015
1.6
3.0
Oct 30 2015
3.0
Version: 1.6
Great app. It makes my everyday mac usage a lot more convenient than before! I've been using the MAS version since 2 years now!
star-affinity
star-affinity
Oct 28 2015
1.5.2
0.0
Oct 28 2015
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
Current version is 1.6.
At least that's what I got when downloading from the developer's website. Seems to work fine in El Capitan (10.11.1) so far.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 30 2015
1.5.2
1.0
Mar 30 2015
1.0
Version: 1.5.2
I sent the following message to the developer Christian Baumgort:You have done everything to ignore my proofs that I have your app on SnowLeopard. It is now my time to lambaste and insult your application with a my criticism of your app because you will not accord me my due as I submitted proofs to you that I paid for it.BestRegards,jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 30 2015
1.5.2
1.0
Mar 30 2015
1.0
Version: 1.5.2
I sent the following message to the developer Christian Baumgort:You have done everything to ignore my proofs that I have your app on SnowLeopard. It is now my time to lambaste and insult your application with a my criticism of your app because you will not accord me my due as I submitted proofs to you that I paid for it.BestRegards,jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 30 2015
1.5.2
1.0
Mar 30 2015
1.0
Version: 1.5.2
I sent the following message to the developer Christian Baumgort:You have done everything to ignore my proofs that I have your app on SnowLeopard. It is now my time to lambaste and insult your application with a my criticism of your app because you will not accord me my due as I submitted proofs to you that I paid for it.BestRegards,jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 28 2015
1.5.2
1.0
Mar 28 2015
1.0
Version: 1.5.2
Unfotunately I got a message from sparkel that they won't be able to update.Then I couldn't use Hyperdock at all.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Feb 25 2015
1.5
5.0
Feb 25 2015
5.0
Version: 1.5
I used DockView for many years and was very upset to find out it was being discontinued. Begrudgingly I switched over to HyperDock and now I'm pretty happy with it.

PRO: Seems very stable and fast, no issues with latest version. Matches most of the features I came to know and love with DockView over the years. I hover over an app icon within the Dock and I can see thumbnails of its open windows even if they are within another Space. I can see how far along a download of a Linux update is going within another Space without switching to that Space and interrupting my workflow, for example.

Just figured out it has a Window Management feature that allows me to snap windows to screen edges and expand them like the Windows OS. This feature is great and even works with Quick Look windows in Mavericks where other apps like Cinch fail. Also, it's great that I no longer have to run another app to have that functionality.

Lots of ways to change the view of thumbnails and behaviors.

CONS: I found a bug where if I linger on a thumbnail over the dock long enough the window will actually activate without me clicking on it and on top of that it will even bring windows from other Spaces into my current Space instead of taking me to the Space it is in (even though I didn't even want that to happen either). This might just be a trackpad issue as I haven't tested with a mouse yet.

Unlike DockView, it doesn't appear to show live thumbnails (or have the option for it). In DockView, I could see the progress of a download, etc. in the thumbnail in near real-time. However with HyperDock, I only have to the option to see a static snapshot of the window that will only update if move off the thumbnail and hover over the app in the Dock again to refresh the thumbnail. This isn't a deal killer and may just be a new limitation set by Apple in newer Mac OS versions.


MISSING FEATURE: I really wish HyperDock would offer the option of showing Safari's tabs as thumbnails in the Dock above the Safari app icon like you can do with Windows and IE, etc.


Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Feb 11 2015
1.5
1.0
Feb 11 2015
1.0
Version: 1.5
I bought this application at MAS store and I have been cotacting the Developer. He apoligized because his aggressive spam filter put my on the BAD list. But apparently he never took me off. I sent him proofs as he didn't recall me at all from our previous dialogue. Now he doesn't know thatI sent him proofs that I bought his application. What can I do.I have Snow Leopord on 2 of my Macs and I keep saying Decide Later. Can someone help me?
Jpinoniemi
Jpinoniemi
Jan 29 2015
1.5
5.0
Jan 29 2015
5.0
Version: 1.5
I work equal parts in the PC world and Mac world and loved some of the window features of Windows 7/8. This app gives me what I was missing in OS X. Now I can't live without HyperDock. Great app!
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Dec 18 2014
1.5
0.5
Dec 18 2014
0.5
Version: 1.5
No longer works on mountain lion?
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Nov 1 2014
1.5
0.5
Nov 1 2014
0.5
Version: 1.5
I like this program allot especially the snap feature. Purchased through MAS for my computer but when I try to load on a computer with snow leopard it offers a 15 days trial period. The version I purchased from the MAS was 1.5...probably would be a better option to purchase from the developer website if anyone is considering buying it. The other issue the MAS does not offer a preference pane in system preferences but at least that is easily corrected with loading the version from the developers website. Unfortunately 1.5 from MAS won't load on snow leopard so there is no way for the program to know I purchased it. Sent the developer an e-mail and will see what solution he can offer. Any ideas?
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Oct 26 2014
1.5
5.0
Oct 26 2014
5.0
Version: 1.5
Wonderful - finally it works in Yosemite too
krislinus
krislinus
Oct 15 2014
1.4.1
5.0
Oct 15 2014
5.0
Version: 1.4.1
Great app for easy window management and better general view of open apps etc. I can't live without it.
Alessandro82
Alessandro82
Jun 10 2014
1.4.1
0.5
Jun 10 2014
0.5
Version: 1.4.1
lots of crash also dock app action like 2 fingers swipe up to quit app is not reliable ,app expose is often triggered,unistalled !!!!!!!!!!!!
Tachy0n
Tachy0n
Jan 31 2014
1.4.1
0.0
Jan 31 2014
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
Download link still goes to v1.3.5 http://hyperdock.bahoom.com/hyperdock/1.3.5/HyperDock-1.3.5.dmg rather than this 1.4.1 I heard about. 31 January 2014
Castle
Castle
Jan 14 2014
1.4
0.0
Jan 14 2014
0.0
Version: 1.4
Why does this app want access to my contacts and calendar?
YukiD5207
YukiD5207
Oct 31 2013
1.4
1.5
Oct 31 2013
1.5
Version: 1.4
I used to like hyperdock but once I added a second monitor, it stopped working properly which is disappointing.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Oct 29 2013
1.4
1.0
Oct 29 2013
1.0
Version: 1.4
I had a problem with this application in as much as it would not run properly.Thedeveloper worked tirelessly with me without any regard for his time or trouble. I have to complement him on his devotion and total unselfish support to his licensees He didn't care about anything until this application ran right. Christian Baumgart is a developer that many should copy and emulate!
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
Oct 27 2013
1.4
4.0
Oct 27 2013
4.0
Version: 1.4
Embarrassing to admit a mistake, but in all fairness to the developer, I should report that after contacting the developer, it may be the copy I used may have been cracked. Since this may be the case, I have apologized to the developer for flaming out and for not switching to a purchased copy after finding it is stable. Previous review was based on the assumption HyperDock was a broken app and I was being asked to upgrade again after only having recently purchased it. New review based on performance of app while it worked and to make up for earlier negative comments.
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
Oct 27 2013
1.4
4.0
Oct 27 2013
4.0
Version: 1.4
WORST OF ALL; I SAW NO WARNING IN THE INSTALLER OR ON THE WEBSITE THAT INSTALLING VERSION 1.4 WOULD INVALIDATE THE LICENSE. WHAT A RIP! MAYBE THE DEVELOPER BURIED THAT MESSAGE SOMEWHERE, BUT I'LL BET ALMOST EVERYONE GOT HOODWINKED. WHY DID I WASTE MY TIME CONTACTING THE DEVELOPER TO INQUIRE WHY THE LICENSE WASN'T BEING ACCEPTED?
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
Oct 27 2013
1.4
4.0
Oct 27 2013
4.0
Version: 1.4
APPLE CAN PAY AN ARMY OF CODERS TO UPGRADE AN ENTIRE OPERATING SYSTEM AND NOT CHARGE THE USERS FOR THE UPGRADE (MAVERICKS), YET THIS DEVELOPER EXPECTS TO BE PAID FOR A UPGRADE I JUST RECENTLY PAID FOR??????
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Oct 19 2013
1.3.4
1.0
Oct 19 2013
1.0
Version: 1.3.4
Excellent in every way!
Matadon
Matadon
Jul 31 2013
1.3.2
3.5
Jul 31 2013
3.5
Version: 1.3.2
Nice idea, pretty good implementation, but too expensive. DockView seems to be a better alternative due to the more reasonable price.
Ivan-C-
Ivan-C-
Apr 28 2013
1.3.2
4.0
Apr 28 2013
4.0
Version: 1.3.2
I'm using the HyperDock app from the Mac App Store. Any news about updates there ?