Back to Sketch page
Sketch free download for Mac

Sketch Reviews

59.1
22 October 2019

Design app for UX/UI for iOS and Web.

micrrhalevileal
14 May 2018

Most helpful

I like this app,easy to use and very helpful.
Like (1)
Version 50

Read 66 Sketch User Reviews

Rate this app:

G3cd
06 February 2019
Sketch 53 can't open Sketch 52.6 files, WTF???
Like (2)
Version 53
prmmupd
24 October 2018
I'm sorry but sketch is just a bad software. It's ok to build a few prototypes but in production the bugs (which haven't been fixed for years) are more and more annoying. The developers should first fix their smart guides instead of selling a dark mode as a new feature. OpenType doesn't really work either. The whole software is just a mess...
Like (2)
Version 52.2
A1D
16 May 2018
Adding a few words about their licensing.
Before you will consider to purchase Sketch licence, think about this point.
They selling a license for a single machine only. So, you've got no rights to install a copy on your laptop or backup machine.
To install a copy under your account you need to purchase an additional "seats". I think, that was one of the main reasons, why they remove their app from Mac App Store.
I believe the license have to belong a person, rather than a machine.
Even Adobe understands that better than Bohemian Coding.
Like (6)
Version 50.2
1 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
10 July 2018
I run Sketch on both my laptop and desktop while only paying for it once.
Like (1)
micrrhalevileal
14 May 2018
I like this app,easy to use and very helpful.
Like (1)
Version 50
sbenitezb
11 April 2018
Subscription model sucks. Enough said.
Like (7)
Version 49.3
3 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
10 July 2018
Um no, because there is a big difference in what one company may mean by subscription and what a different company may mean by subscription.
Like (1)
Marc-Nothrop
Marc-Nothrop
10 April 2019
This is a pretty misleading comment; their "subscription" model is for a year of updates; you may choose to not renew and continue using your license as long as you like. That seems like a pretty reasonable compromise vs being forced to pay every month you want to use an app.

We're also talking about a tool most will be using to earn income, surely it's reasonable to pay for that? I'm not against Figma (it's very impressive), but for reference their Pro subscription is more expensive than Sketch. Good on them and Adobe for having a free entry level.

As for Adobe XD, sure it's free if 1 shared prototype is all you need, but again their pricing is higher than Figma and Sketch in turn.

It's worth looking a little closer before damning a product and the team behind it.
Like
Bub1200
Bub1200
21 May 2019
I'm not quite sure how this model works. May I skip a year or two and later on renew? I guess, yes. And using the last version forever is ok. But given Apple's yearly macos switches I don't know how long "forever" will be before backwards compatibility breaks.
Like
Wonderwarthog
16 March 2018
Be all and end all of UI design apps. Nuff said. And Sketch cloud is getting better and better. It now even allows for very basic prototyping of UIs.
Like (1)
Version 49.1
Doms
08 March 2018
Poor software full of bugs with an awful subscription model.
Like (3)
Version 49
2 answer(s)
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
09 May 2018
This app is actually really good! The subscription model isn't the best but it ensures that the developer can have a sustainable income to continue living and create the app for us.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
10 July 2018
Also the subscription model is way better then the subscription model with companies like Adobe.
Like
TimRoberts
10 November 2017
Super useful for every designer!
Like (1)
Version 47.1
AlexSmith
06 August 2017
Using this for few years now. What can I say, just an amazing piece of software for every designer.
Like (3)
Version 46
Tim27
28 June 2017
I would encourage anyone that has commented that Sketch is getting worse or going downhill or having issues to give the web-based app, Webflow a try. While you are using it you'll also learn how CSS works and how elements interact with each other on a webpage with CSS, rather than just making static design comps in a desktop app that doesn't translate well to the web. I'm really impressed with it.
Like (4)
Version 44.1
Teksestro
08 April 2017
Sketch has become the 'de facto' tool for UI design - i.e., for producing mockups for both mobile apps, as well as websites. There are now dozens of plugins adding features to the app, and integrating it with external third-party services. Add to this the fact that Sketch should be receiving a healthy injection of cash from its 'subscription-ware' business model, and you'd expect a solid, refined and feature-full application. Unfortunately, IMHO, that is not the case. This is an app that has what are now long-standing, frustrating omissions and faults. THE PURPOSE OF PLUGINS An app should have all the functionality its users need 'out-of-the-box', and should not rely on extensions and plugins to provide functionality that core users may consider 'essential'. Plugins should address edge use-cases, which might not be interesting or financially viable for the developer to cater for. If I want my designs to be automatically uploaded to some third-party online sharing service, that is a good use-case for a plugin. If I want to create full-blown animations from my static designs, that is another. An app that is designed for mocking up user interfaces of websites should, however, have pretty solid built-in *auto-resizing* tools - tools which should help me align and resize my layout elements to fit into different sized canvases. That is an essential function. Sketch's "Resize" function is, however, limited and buggy: it does not resize items based on your canvas size (only on container groups). Resizing options are hard to understand, and buggy, often not allowing you to have the resizing effect you need. This forces the user to have to download a plugin in order to have 'proper' resizing functionality - such as "Fluid" or the better "Auto Layout". But the bugs and lack of functionality don't end there. Although Sketch has 'Symbols' - i.e., "master elements" that you can use multiple times in your design, overriding content but keeping styles - these don't work as expected. For instance: there is *no way* to create symbol buttons that automatically resize when the text is changed. Although several plugins have been created to try to address that - "Button", "Adjust Button Shape", "Dynamic Button Symbol", etc. - none of them actually work well, because of limitations in Sketch itself. In fact, there are limitations, gaps and omissions *everywhere* in Sketch. There are wonderful plugins that can, for instance, download an image automatically from Unsplash, and apply it as a background fill to one of your shapes. But once the image is applied as a fill, there is no way to export it, so it can be used in your actual html or code (you have to export the 'shape'). Want to document your layout with notes? You should get a plugin. Need icons from FontAwesome? Get a plugin. Want standard colour palettes - like Material Design, or Pantone? A plugin. Need to have auto-stacking, grid layouts? Plugin. So, with so much relying on plugins, we would expect Sketch's plugin architecture to be solid, and their developer support to be nothing short of stellar. PLUGIN PROGRAMMING LIMITATIONS Unfortunately, Sketch plugins are written basically in Javascript, and use a Javascript-Cocoa bridge to access native MacOS functionality. Although widely used on the web, Javascript is a notoriously tricky and difficult language for newbies to learn, and Cocoa is a gigantic framework. This means, that the developer trying to produce plugins for Sketch should expect a *very* steep learning curve. Sketch's own documentation starts by encouraging prospective developers to learn by exploring the code of existing plugins. Adding to this difficulty is the fact that Sketch's API keeps changing - as they fix bugs and add necessary features - and developers have to keep updating their plugins in order to keep them working. Many of the plugin developers, however, seem to be well-intentioned amateurs, who are trying to address the shortcomings of the program as best as they can. This means that the quality of the code is not high, and as updates are rolled out, many plugins break. Constantly. LACKING PLUGIN MANAGEMENT If plugins are so vitally important to Sketch, you'd expect the app to have fantastic plugin management features - like a way to search, instal and update plugins in-app. Sketch's official way for the user to manage plugins is, however, for them to download the plugin manually - often from a GitHub repository - then, double-click on the main plugin file (which copies it into Sketch's plugin folder), then to open the in-app "Manage Plugins" dialogue, and enable the plugin. Uninstalling a plugin involves having to open the hidden plugin folder, and manually drag the plugin to the trash. With such dismal support for plugin management, it's no surprise that over the years there have been a few projects that have tried to fill that void. "Sketch Toolbox" and "Sketch Runner" both tried to ease plugin management pains for Sketch users, and the latest one to take on the mantle is "Sketchpacks" (the most promising and feature-full so far). Some plugin developers, like Craft, have ended up developing their own plugin manager, for their own plugins. Which means that if you have Sketchpacks and Craft plugins installed, you will have 2 extra items in your Mac menubar - just to keep your Sketch plugins up-to-date. THE SOFTWARE SUBSCRIPTION MODEL I understand why some companies like the 'software subscription' business model: it's a more reliable source of income for them than the traditional pay-per-license. Ultimately, it might not cost any more money to the customer, and it provides the company with a steadier flow of cash that makes planning and everyday operations easier. Unfortunately, what is best for the company, is not always best for the customer. As a customer, I want to buy a *product*. I want the company to take responsibility for delivering to me what I'm paying for, and not deliver a promise that they will improve. If you make *substantial* improvements and add features to the software, then charge me for an *upgrade*, as this is now a new product. I should not have to pay for your software as if it were electricity, or water, or gas, or some sort of regular utility bill. If you start charging me a subscription, I will *always* give your competitors a chance. SKETCH'S POPULARITY With so many shortcomings, why is Sketch so popular? Unfortunately for us, because at the moment we have nothing better in this design space. Affinity Designer is a much more solid tool, with incredible features, but it is geared solidly at print production, and lacks the plugin ecosystem that Sketch has forced its users to build. Adobe tools suffer from the same bugginess, and the same subscription model, as Sketch. Other new tools lack in features. This lack of competition is probably the very reason why these shortcomings in Sketch have gone for so long without being addressed by the developer. We can only hope this may change.
Like (20)
Version 43.1
5 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
19 April 2017
Most of what you're saying is true and accurate of the app. To be honest, I really still miss Adobe / Macromedia Fireworks. In many cases Fireworks is still superior to Sketch. I truly wish the developers would continue to study Fireworks and use it as the de facto standard at bringing functionality to Sketch for a strong core offering.
Like (4)
Tim27
Tim27
16 May 2017
Teksestro, a much better review, although you again gave it one star, which now amounts to 2 one star ratings. I think that is still unwarranted for the benefits you get from the app.
I hope that you rate Adobe Photoshop (a FAR worse piece of software) with the same scrutiny. I don't think Bohemian Coding expected the plugins to blow up to the extent that they have within the Sketch community. That also happened with Photoshop, by the way.
I would also completely disagree that Affinity Designer is solidly geared only towards print production. It has many features that rival Sketch for UI design, especially the way it handles symbols, which I find far better than Sketch. And also Constraints.
Like (2)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
23 October 2017
One star is definitely a bit ridiculous as a rating. I'm sure if it was so easy to build the perfect vector app, and offer it for nothing someone would have done it by now. Mean while back on planet earth, developers do need to eat and bugs are a fact of life with super complex applications.
Like (2)
Doms
Doms
08 March 2018
Great review.
I gave up with Sketch years ago. Many great ideas but a ton of ridiculous bugs: an each time the same story. A new version with a lot of "cool" features but bugs still remains. And a subscription model that bring nothing to users.

I rather prefer Affinity Designer. It just works.
Like (1)
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
16 March 2018
I think your rating is completely overblown. Yes Sketch.app has its flaws, but for UI design it still beats all the competition hands down. I've tried invision beta, Affinity Designer (which has features for responsive Symbols, etc.) but none comes even remotely close.
Like
ylluminate
24 January 2017
The big thing for me is that it just doesn't quite fill the void of Fireworks. It still needs a bit of work in various areas such as bitmap manipulation and more advanced spline / vector operations. I still miss my Fireworks workflow.
Like (1)
Version 42
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
21 December 2017
Try Affinity Designer instead.
Like (1)
Teksestro
09 November 2016
This used to be a good app with great promise. It is now subscription-ware: you have to pay $100/year to keep your software current, or risk having it no longer launch after a system upgrade. Time to go and provide support for the competition - i.e., Affinity Designer, charging a very reasonable $50 one-off license fee.
Like (4)
Version 41
4 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
29 November 2016
That's a pretty unwarranted rating for a really good app. I happen to like Affinity, too, but Sketch is still a great app.
Like (5)
Arroyodorado
Arroyodorado
06 April 2017
@Teksestro: Sorry, you just cannot rate an app as "bad" because the developer "dares" to charge you for updates! These are regular people with costs and bills. Serif (developer of Affinity Designer) is probably a larger company and they can still afford their model. But for how long...
Sketch is a brilliant design tool that freed many designers from this other way more evil software company.
Like (4)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
23 October 2017
So the developer should build an app and offer it for nothing? How long do you think Affinity will be at that price point before they either stop development or switch to a sustainable model? Grow up. Just because you're used to getting everything for "free", it's not the way the world actually works. Developer time is a fortune. The money can't just come from thin air.
Like
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
16 March 2018
I also have a copy of Affinity Designer, and while I think it's a capable app, the workflow is nowhere near as smooth as what Sketch offers. I stopped using Adobe apps because of the subscription model, and I really hated it when Sketch went a similar way, however, with Sketch you can still run your old versions without subscription – they just don't get updates anymore. Adobe has you pay monthly fees for even installing and using the software. Sketch basically says if you don't care about updates/upgrades beyond a certain point, you stop paying.

How is that any different than with any other app for purchase? If you buy a version and they come out with a new version that they decide to charge upgrades for and you don't upgrade there's a chance your old version will stop working on newer OSes, but you can still run the old version on the current Mac as long as you want.
Like
Stavast
11 October 2016
My number one tool for screen and icon designs.
Like (1)
Version 40.2
LukeBussey
13 September 2016
w
Like
Version 39.1
dariusii
26 August 2016
http://s1.bild.me/bilder/240416/5490190______________2016-08-26___15.12.13.png
Like
Version 39.1
Morgan-Freeman
13 August 2016
Very cool app! I prepare to learn Sketch recently. The only point is the price, much expensive.
Like
Version 39.1
NelTim
13 July 2016
Very cool and intuitive app!
Like
Version 3.8.3
RobertBeckey58
17 June 2016
Sketch is a great App and I have used this software several years.
Like (8)
Version 3.8.3
2 answer(s)
Steeeve123
Steeeve123
16 August 2016
Do you have some tutorials?
Like
Trafficsigndude
Trafficsigndude
06 April 2017
Tutorials are here: https://sketchapp.com/learn/
Like
Picon
06 June 2016
I have an older version of Sketch. I contacted support to inquire whether they had upgrade pricing. He said they did, but didn't elaborate other than to say I could get 50% off. I inquired again, how might one go about getting the discount. He then sent me a code to get 50% off, but with the phrase "Be aware that if you don’t use this code within the next 30 days we won’t be able to generate a new one for you." I found this odd, so I inquired one last time to make sure I understood. I asked that if I don't upgrade within 30 days, would I lose my chance to get 50% off. In other words, if I wanted to wait for version 4.0 for example, would I have to pay full price? He replied, "Yes!" I wrote this post just as a FYI for those thinking about upgrading. Don't inquire unless you definitely will be upgrading within 30 days. I myself don't like their policies and will not be upgrading. I think it is ludacris to give you only one opportunity, otherwise you lose your chance. At least they should have let me know that before sending me the upgrade code!
Like (5)
Version 3.8.3
3 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
14 July 2016
Thank you for sharing this insane policy with us. Pretty customer unfriendly.
Like (3)
Mart°n
Mart°n
21 July 2016
Thanks for the information but it may look different in the light of their latest blog post. They like to switch to a different payment scheme where you could buy Sketch at any time and you’ll get two years of free upgrades – independent from the version number. After two years you can either keep your version or pay for another two years of udates.
Maybe the reply you’ve got and the limited timeframe to update is locked to their general switch. If I got it right, you’ll get two years of upgrades including version 40 if you upgrade now. They also changed their version names from 3.9 to 39 so next version will be 40 and not 4.0.
You’ll find the post here: https://blog.sketchapp.com/versioning-licensing-and-sketch-4-0-8ad98783e9ba#.971bqp3fo
Like
TomLoredo
TomLoredo
14 September 2016
@mail_240, as I read that blog post, it's just *one* year of updates that you get with a $99 license, i.e., $99/yr forever if you want to stay current. At least it's not fully a subscription, in that if you stop paying, you get to keep using the last version you paid for.
Like (1)
Arroyodorado
27 January 2016
Sketch is a great app and with their 3.5 update it has become even better, as some annoying bugs finally disappeared. I use it for professional work on a daily basis and I'm glad for every minute I spend there and not in PS or AI.
Like
Version 3.5
ylluminate
11 May 2015
Sketch has a good start. Not yet quite on par with Fireworks, but it's getting there. There are a lot of points that I think many of us still miss from Fireworks. I know that some of us who used to beta test Fireworks for Adobe and even used it while Macromedia still had a hold of it still see a lot of room for improvement in Sketch, but I think they'll probably get there. Sometimes I wonder about the developers as I haven't seen really solid replies on a few points, but I hope that things will work out.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
Philosopherdog
14 April 2015
I'm sick of people who whine about an a $100 graphics app that doesn't give you a free upgrade. What ever happened to paying for something especially if it's an app you use to make money with? Anyhow, Sketch is a brilliant app. It's built specifically for building interfaces in vector. So, yeah there are apps with more features. But so what? Sketch isn't a bloated app meant to do everything. It's task specific and does what it does very well. One of my favourite apps right now on the Mac.
Like
Version 3.3
Ivan-C-
19 December 2014
I love Sketch! This app is absolutely great! Don't listen to anyone, just try and make your own conclusions :-)
Like
Version 3.2.1
Mark-1971
15 November 2014
Complicated and overpriced program. Sorry guys, I prefer a cheaper alternative. Should I spell its name :)?
Like (4)
Version 3.1
3 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
05 December 2014
What is complicated about it?
Like (1)
Everrack
Everrack
18 February 2015
You mean Mac Affinity? I have it and is great.
Like (3)
M31
M31
27 January 2016
I switched to Affinity as well. When Sketched abandoned me in the AppStore, I abandoned them. So glad I found Affinity.
Like (3)
dwp-1
22 October 2014
I've been holding off purchasing this app for months because I was beta testing Affinity Designer. I am sure glad I did because jumping from AI to Sketch was a bit of work and the not so much with AD. Also AD is so feature rich compared to both Sketch and AI, don't get me wrong AI is way ahead of the game but AD is on it's tail and much of the team are graphic artists, give's them a perspective that a developer may not completely understand. Sketch is a wonderful application, I've always thought it was priced high and if your looking for something reasonable with all the necessary features, try Affinity Designer may be your app.
Like (5)
Version 3.1
3 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
03 December 2014
I don't think both apps are direct competitors at all. Sketch isn't so much trying to replace illustrator it's trying to replace Fireworks. I use an assortment of drawing apps for different purposes since no one program can do it all for me.
Like (1)
dwp-1
dwp-1
03 December 2014
I guess I was confused and thought it was a replacement for AI at 1/4 of the price. I retract my last comment on the grounds I didn't know what I was talking about ;(
Like (3)
Pik80
Pik80
04 December 2014
The other thing to point out about Sketch is that Fireworks is no longer being developed by Adobe so even Adobe doesn't really have direct competition to Sketch anymore. They want for us to believe that Photoshop is Fireworks replacement but I doubt that people are buying that idea.
Like
Mr-Mike
03 October 2014
Hard to use interface, way to many widgets and controls. And the upgrade $$, If I want to be viewed as a cash-cow, I'll let adobe milk me.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
3 answer(s)
M-Rick
M-Rick
22 October 2014
For almost half of the cost you'd better go to Affinity Designer which can manage even CMJN and has many other Illustrator like features. Plus the dev are listening to the users on their forum to add new features for the next updates.
http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/51688/affinity-designer
Like (1)
Pik80
Pik80
03 December 2014
Sketch gives you several free updates but Adobe hardly ever gives you free updates. It is hard for me to see the comparison. To rent a single Adobe app is $240 a year while Sketch is $99 forever and yet both products give regular updates every few months.
Like
Mr-Mike
Mr-Mike
04 December 2014
M-Rick -- aww yeah, I did pick up the beta of AD and now purchased it. Very happy with it. Was able to things in AD that took f o r e v e r to do in Sketch. Once AD has multiple Artboards it will totally be an affordable replacement for Sketch and Adobe. (Check out my Pumpkin Tutorial in the AD tutorial forums, btw). AD is the app I thought I would have when I bought Sketch.
Like (1)
chikega
03 October 2014
They do not even offer an upgrade path for Sketch 2 customers. The sales person I spoke with said it's because of the App Store. I then suggested why not offer upgrade pricing for everyone when Sketch 3 was released. She said they did, but I got no word of it. No email notifying me that there was such an offer. So I missed out. She did not want to seem to help an existing customer with a discounted upgrade. They seem to want charge as much as they possibly can with each upgrade. They have lost my faith.
Like (3)
Version 3.1
6 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
03 December 2014
They do offer an upgrade path, it's a $100. I got the upgrade discount and they talked about it long before it was released.
Like
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
14 April 2015
This isn't true. It was onsale the first week of release for version 2 people to update.
Like
chikega
chikega
28 April 2015
How would I have known it was on sale the first week? I did not receive a notification by email. I do not participate on their forums to know that they talked about it long before their release. The fact remains that the representative did not want to offer an upgrade path which is poor customer relations. It doesn't matter anyways, I've gone with Affinity Designer which is much better app.
Like (1)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
28 April 2015
@chikega what is dev supposed to do use telepathy? They're limited by Apple's crazy rules in their app store. The dev was offering a generous discount on the new app, but you have to give them some way of contacting you. You have to do your part in that contract. It's common sense.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
28 April 2015
The deal was spread all over social media long before it's launch. I don't know what you mean by they didn't offer an upgrade path. The upgrade price is the same as the initial price. With such a low entry price you can't expect them to have an even lower upgrade price.
Like
chikega
chikega
28 April 2015
@Pik80, what social media are you talking about? Did you subscribe to Bohemian on Twitter or follow them on Facebook? I wasn't following their social media, so I never heard about the upgrade pricing. And yes, they had discount pricing for one week. It was not the same as the initial price.

"Subject: Is there any upgrade price?
MAY 14, 2014 | 07:00PM CEST
Nuno replied:
Hello Gary,

Actually we did that at the Mac App Store for one week. We had a special introductory price, but it’s over, sorry.

Regards,
Nuno"

@Philosopherdog, this is probably more of an issue with the App store, but there should be some alternate path that Bohemian could have offered. Perhaps offer me a license directly from them instead of the App store. I've been buying software for 20 years. I can easily upgrade an old copy of Vegas Video from Sony using a copy from 10 years ago and they would accept it. The same goes for Lightwave3d or MODO.

One week is a very small window. What if someone were on vacation or sick. The lesson here is not to buy from the App store if one can help it. With their extreme sandboxing, it's driven some companies from using it, like the developers of CODA. Their release of CODA 3 will not be available on the App store.
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
30 August 2014
Sketch is maturing to a quite nice GUI tool with added vector drawing tools. It will have some stiff competition from Affinity Designer however, which I hope will drive them both on to delivering high quality work at a reasonable price. I see Adobe hitting a wall, largely of its own creation and following Quark into increasing irrelevancy.
Like
Version 3.0.4
keipher
07 August 2014
Bohemiancoding pulled all support for Sketch2, except lip service, the day they released Sketch3. The docs are gone, the in-app help is gone (it linked to an online help page that has been deleted). They try to blame the App Store for their practices, but the only blame is their greed. I cannot fathom removing support for an app customers paid for the day the new version is released. From the reviews of their other apps it seems that this is Bohemiancodings standard practice. If we allow these practices by purchasing their apps then they will continue to rip us off.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.4
2 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
23 August 2014
Greed? For an app that is priced this reasonably?
Like
chikega
chikega
03 October 2014
I agree. I also contacted Bohemian and they do not even offer an upgrade path for Sketch 2 customers. They say it's because of the App Store. I then suggested why not offer upgrade pricing for everyone when Sketch 3 was released. They said they did, but I got no word of it. No email notifying me that there was such an offer. So I missed out. The person I corresponded with did not want to seem to help an existing customer with a discounted upgrade. They have lost my faith.
Like (2)
Xplicit
04 August 2014
Not ready for prime time The whole idea behind this app is great. But the app still has some quirks (e.g. zooming doesn't work well, some graphical features are a hassle to deal with, etc.), some of which I have even seen in version 2 already. I want to love it (bought v2 and also v3 right after it came out) but I just don't feel really comfortable working with it. At the moment I can't use it professionally.
Like
Version 3.0.4
Philosopherdog
18 May 2014
Brilliant app for interface design. Many designers are switching from Adobe products to Sketch for good reason. I love v3. Get it.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
AlBriggs4111
AlBriggs4111
09 September 2014
For interface design you can't beat Antetype!
Like
Epantaleon
07 May 2014
I have been using Sketch 2 for quite a while. I started using Drawit and then upgraded to Sketch, then Sketch 2. They were reasonably priced apps. Now, without notice, if I want to upgrade, I have to pay again THE FULL PRICE. Beware, because tomorrow we are going to see Sketch 4 and we will have to pay full price again. US$ 79.99 is extremely expensive given that maybe it is a yearly charge. The developer didn't even advise his customers that there was a promotional price for a week.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
7 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
07 May 2014
No, you are paying the upgrade price to buy version 3. It just happens to be the same price that first time buyers pay, it's an extra low price for them. Keep in mind version 3 will have many free feature updates in later point releases. Of course they won't release version 4 tomorrow. What a silly thing to say, there were YEARS between major versions in the past so it is safe to say version 4 will come out closer to 2016. Even at that point you don't need to upgrade.
Like
Epantaleon
Epantaleon
08 May 2014
Plk80. Remember this Bohemian Coding is the same people that left both Drawit and Fontcase apps licensed customers abandoned...
Like (1)
Pik80
Pik80
08 May 2014
They are positioning Sketch and a new app called Fonts as replacements to those two programs. The decision to do that had more to do with Apple as there was some conflict going on with sandboxing. Also no one liked version 2 of Fontcase so they took this as an oppunity to think through the interface again. Fortunantly Fonts is only $10 so they are giving old users a deal. Hopefully the old features will be brought back soon as well.
Like
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
18 May 2014
Nobody is forcing you to update. Stick with version 2 if you're happy with it. If developers don't charge for major updates they will soon not be making updates and you won't have an alternative to Adobe. Anyhow, the update was $49 for the first week for v2 users.
Like (1)
Pik80
Pik80
19 May 2014
After using version 3 for several weeks now people would have to be crazy to not see the value in the upgrade. It's a big jump toward.
Like
dwp-1
dwp-1
18 June 2014
That is why I will not purchase anything from Bohemian, their upgrade pricing is non existent for all their apps. RealMac Software did the same thing when they dropped LittleSnapper and came out with a $50 Ember. I am sure much of LittleSnapper code was used in Ember. It is a shame, if they gave us an upgrade probably 75% more people when have purchased Ember and the same goes with us drawIt owners are left in the dust. I'm learning the hard way to stay away from developers like Bohemian Coding and you should do the same. Hit them were it hurts, their pocket.
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
18 June 2014
They do have upgrade pricing. The upgrade price is $80 and it is a really good deal. If you somehow don't see that as a good value then wait until version 4 and pay $80 for that. They don't charge you extra for skipping updates like many companies do.
Like
Stefano-Cecere
21 April 2014
yes, it wasn't easy to drop another 45€ for upgrading from 2 to 3.. but i had to create and edit several SVG maps.. i downloaded and compared everything to do it (i already had OmniGraffle Pro, Artboard, iDraw, Inkscape.. tried Intaglio, EazyDraw). well: nothing works better than Sketch (and i just needed clean SVG with ID assigned to objects , to be manipulated via JS) adding that i use Sketch also to wireframe my mobile games, and to create all UI vector graphics... 45€ wasn't so much at the end.. i guess that Sketch is becoming the "Pixelmator" for vector gfx (and the couple Sketch + Pixelmator is a really good one for any prosumer needs) good work, Boheminas! looking forward for the very few missing features (a default / custom object library, more plugins to create advanced shapes)
Like (8)
Version 3.0.1
3 answer(s)
Epantaleon
Epantaleon
19 May 2014
Sorry, but it is not US$ 45 but US$ 79.90. No update for paying customers of Sketch 2. How long before you have to pay US$ 79.90 AGAIN? The same thing with licenses of Drawit and Fontcase of this same developer. Discontinued without notice. Pixelmator is a completely different story. They seem pretty commited to what they do and back their customers (I have used it since version 1 and always updated).
Like (1)
chikega
chikega
28 April 2015
You haven't tried Affinity Designer then ... ;)
Like
Stefano-Cecere
Stefano-Cecere
28 April 2015
sure i have Affinity Designer also... but until they feature artboards and pages, it's not a choice for me!
Like
Simonm
20 April 2014
I'm not normally one to complain about the cost of Mac apps, but... As a Sketch 2 owner I don't see enough here to justify the upgrade price of $64.99, which is incidentally the same cost for new customers that've never owned a previous version of Sketch. As a result I'm likely to skip this version or wait until there's a significant sale of 50% off or more. I think this is fine software but developers have to consider that Apple's lack of upgrade pricing in the Mac App Store creates the impression of getting "screwed" when someone who's never owned a previous version can jump in and buy the software for the same price as owners of the previous version. This is especially the case if the upgrade feature list isn't that significant relative to the overall feature set, as I think is the case here. What's more, Bohemian coding only offer a free upgrade if you bought Sketch since March, 01, 2014 or only about 6 weeks ago, which isn't very generous. Apple's Mac App Store policies really only make sense for cheap software when the cost of major new versions is low enough that previous owners don't mind paying the same price as new customers, but $64.99 isn't a small enough price for me to shrug off.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
6 answer(s)
Simonm
Simonm
21 April 2014
For clarification, $64.99 is the AU Mac App Store Price. It appears to be $49.99 in US Mac App Store. I feel sorry for anyone who bought Sketch 2 just outside the 6-week free upgrade window when Bohemian Coding made no mention of development or release schedule of the new version. I've seen many other developers on the Mac App Store do this and as a consumer it only makes me stay away. Not communicating with customers or offering software for sale which is only current for 6-weeks with no upgrade pricing only harms trust and loyalty from your customer base.
Like (1)
Pik80
Pik80
21 April 2014
"I feel sorry for anyone who bought Sketch 2 just outside the 6-week free upgrade window" I don't feel sorry for them at all. If you bought version 2 and 3 around the same time it comes out to a grand total of $130 which is still a steal. I am getting tired of hearing people complain about this pricing when it is extremely fair for both new and old users alike.
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
22 April 2014
A few years ago I spent close to $250 on Adobe Fireworks CS3. For that much money I received software that was loaded with bugs which were not fixed during CS3's lifetime. The development of new features was trickling in at a snail's pace (about half the pace it was getting updated under Macromedia.) Fast forward a few years you can buy Sketch for roughly half the price of Fireworks, bug fixes come out at lightning speed (a 3.0.1 update has already been posted a few days after 3.0 was released.) They also put out a ton of free feature updates both point releases and version 2 and all people on Twitter are asking for is more free upgrades!?! The biggest criticism is that they don't offer a lower cost for previous owners but a copy of Fireworks is five times the price of Sketch!! The beginning price of Sketch is so low I can't understand how anyone can ask for an even lower upgrade price as well.
Like (3)
Simonm
Simonm
07 May 2014
I'm glad you feel that it's worth the upgrade price of $80 to you but it isn't to me. Now that the introductory discount is over it's even less attractive to buy Sketch again for $80 when I have Sketch 2 that works pretty well. There aren't enough new features here to justify that upgrade price. Most of them are pretty minor or even bug fix-level. I think Sketch *is* worth $80 but not as an upgrade price. This leaves a sour taste in my mouth and the impression of a developer that doesn't recognise or value early adopters and supporters or want them to upgrade. Of course, no one is saying they have to, which is why I'm voting with my feet and wallet and passing on this version. I'll consider returning at some point but if Sketch 4 becomes even more expensive or trends towards expensive and bloated (à la the Adobe model) then I doubt I'll be back. That's not what I wanted (or got) when I bought Sketch 2. The design is nice but it's not perfect or an Illustrator-level app and I don't want it to be. If I wanted a full-featured vector software I'd buy Illustrator. I suggest it's not wise when developers take their customers for granted. I've abandoned software I've bought and refused to upgrade numerous times when I feel developers have become arrogant and greedy or the software is heading in a direction I don't want. I would have bought Sketch 3 if they had an upgrade price outside of (or within) MAS.
Like (1)
Pik80
Pik80
08 May 2014
Of course the developer realized the value of early adopters. According to a their Twitter post they have put out 16 free feature updates. When was the last time a company like Adobe has done anything like that? Adobe will sometimes even charge you for bug fixes by not putting out a fix until the next major release.
Like
Simonm
Simonm
30 January 2017
Adding to this several years on. I still haven't been back and I'm glad I left. There've been and are many other similar "light but decent" vector applications and I found another one that works for me. I see that Bohemian Coding decided to leave the App Store so good for them. Probably allows them to give better support to loyal customers. For those who say they're getting great value, nothing wrong with that. I'm not saying you're wrong. I'm saying this is a software and company that started with a very cheap but very capable and promising app which was very attractive but kept driving up the price with each successive update, offering relatively less with each new update (as expected) but expecting previous customers to re-buy the software at an ever increasing price with each new version. This was a model and direction I wasn't comfortable and happy with as I've seen it happen with several other promising new entrants. My decision to leave was good for me as I wasn't comfortable. Just as someone else's decision to stay may be good for them.
Like
Davermont
17 April 2014
I've been using Sketch for a couple years now to create wireframes, mockups, icons and sprite sheets. It's pretty much replaced Photoshop as my go-to app for creating graphics, it's so much easier to use and more suited to the job at hand. Sketch 3 adds much needed Symbols, and gets rid of the clunky modes that previously were used to edit colors and artboards, and for exporting. In fact exporting as a whole is much more natural and flexible now, and I'm pretty much just using drag and drop to export graphics. In addition to its new features, using the app is even smoother and more intuitive than before. Sketch just keeps getting better and better. This is definitely a worthwhile upgrade.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Iliketrash
25 February 2014
My brief evaluation of Sketch.app (14 day demo--thanks for that, by the way). My comments are mostly related to importing foreign file formats of computer-generated plots, as some modifications may be required before publication. The program does indeed have a nice interface. It is of the kind that has contextually-changing tools, which is very efficient. I can't compare it to e.g. Photoshop or Adobe Illustrator because I have never used those programs. My basis for comparison is the likes of Intaglio and OmniGraffle, and many years ago, Canvas. On PDFs, it does import them and text is editable (not converted to outlines like some other programs) but placement of characters can be changed, for example, in a PDF generated by the plotting program PLplot, in the "Fi" in the word "Files," the F and i are too close together. This text distortion is preserved when exported back to PDF, so round-tripping will cause this distortion. I don't know how much this happens--maybe just on ligatures such as Fi. On PDFs, single-pixel dots are not rendered at all in Sketch. Possibly they are interpretted as zero-length lines, but they are displayed correctly in PDF viewers. Thus, a plot consisting of dots will appear to be empty! It imports multi-page PDFs. With a 28-page PDF of some plots, the program became sluggish and used 900 MB of RAM. A PDF in the form of an IEEE technical paper was imported. The text was editable but was broken up into many small text boxes, and line lengths within a column were messed up. Math was not rendered at all, but possibly as gibberish text. Importing PDFs correctly is hard. For a multi-page PDF, there is a "Pages" menu which lets you select a page. This menu should be more like the zoom menu right next to it by having a left-arrow and a right-arrow on the menu to allow easy navigation to the previous and next page. In imported PDFs, rotated text is converted to non-rotated text. This mistake is preserved when exporting back to PDF, another roundtripping nightmare. Since Sketch supports rotated text, this seems easily correctable. The Zoom menu should have more options than just 50%, 100%, and 200%. Really. And a settable arbitrary zoom. Two-finger pinching is no substitute. On an imported SVG, 90-degree-rotated text was displayed with each character rotated 90 degrees the other way, i.e., upside down!. With unrotated text, when Ungroup was applied to it, each character is flipped upside down! Postscript files were imported but were not editable, the Ungroup command not being available. After rotation by 90 degrees, the image was converted to a bitmap. I wish the Macintosh had a native graphics file format like the old days. Programs like Sketch that try to deal with PDF and PS files fail miserably as a class. I've never used Adobe Illustrator but I suppose it's great. But why are there no other programs that deal with these file formats natively?
Like (1)
Version 2.4.3
18 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
25 February 2014
Just out of curiosity why would you need to import PDFs? I am not sure I understand your workflow. Illustrator really isn't a very good program, many dislike it strongly. Also Sketch isn't competing directly with Illustrator it is more in line with Fireworks that has recently been discontinued by Adobe. I have found that Sketch is generally much better then Fireworks.
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
04 March 2014
@Pik80 Illustrator is an excellent program. For its uses. It would be nice if Sketch could do more of the basic tasks you can do in .ai. Opening PDFs to edit them is like anything else, maybe you need to correct something, remove/add items, change colors, crop graphics, fix problems… I suspect you just think of PDFs as text documents, not full on vector graphics.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
07 March 2014
@Rubaiyat I understand why people need to edit PDFs but I think a feature like that is beyond the scope of what Sketch is trying to do. Sketch is designed for making web graphics and interface design. If you need to edit PDFs that are several other options already available to do that. One of the best things about Sketch is that it doesn't try to do too much and therefore makes it interface easy to navigate. We don't want to change that. Just look at Photoshop it has many of the features that Sketch has but it's interface has become so bloated over 25 years that you can't even find the features you are look for. Keep Sketch very simple and it will be successful.
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
07 March 2014
@Pik80 But if I can't edit pdfs, and all my other work is in pdfs, how will I work with Sketch? pdfs are a basic core format in OSX. You can not ignore them. I presume Sketch being in OSX is writing pdf graphics to screen, so what's the big deal? Especially as Apple supplies the Core Frameworks for reading and writing to pdf.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
07 March 2014
@Rubaiyat You can edit PDFs. Just use apps like Acrobat, PDFClerk Pro, etc. Again, if Sketch added all the features you would need to edit PDFs well it would no longer be the lean easy to use program it is now which is one of the main reasons people use Sketch to begin with.
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
07 March 2014
@Pik80 How can you be so obtuse? Say I have a client logo. It is a pdf. It needs to be in the Sketch design. Do I draw it all over again?
Like
Pik80
Pik80
07 March 2014
No, why would you redraw anything?
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
13 March 2014
Like with everything, because you have to? Even for something so simple as change part of an image, its color, size, stroke etc.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
13 March 2014
@rubaiyat I usually think of PDF as a format that you export from a native file format. If you are wanting to edit the file I think it would make more sense to work with the native file that created the logo. The only exception I can think of for being able to edit a PDF is to fill out a form that you want to send to someone else.
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
13 March 2014
@Pik80 We are having the usual debate between someone who uses somethin,g and someone who only knows about it 2nd hand. You are stuck on pdfs being something you read or view. pdfs are vector/bitmap/vector+bitmap documents/with or without interactivity and media. As graphics they get used as logos, maps, illustrations, infographics, etc. Anything that can illustrate, and hence anything that NEEDS to be changed and edited. If you can't edit it in Sketch, you have to recreate it all over again in Sketch or put up with a very clumsy cycle of place, edit, replace etc.
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
13 March 2014
@Rubaiyat I guess what I should ask you is why you don't have the native file that was used to make the illustration? That seem like the obvious way to edit the illustration. Why would you not have that file?
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
13 March 2014
@Pik80 I do have the 'native' PDF file. A vector object I would like to do simple changes to in a Vector Drawing program such as Sketch.
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
14 March 2014
@Rubaiyat Is there any drawing app out there that lets you edit vector drawings in PDF form? As far as I know nothing can do this so there are probably reasons for that. PDFs and vector drawing apps have been out for a really long time so if they could do what you are asking it to do and the reasoning was logical they probably would have done so by now.
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
14 March 2014
@Pik80, are you a designer? I am not sure you know how it works. PostScript has been superseded, pdf is the modern format for vector files. It is fast, accurate and a mostly very compact file format. It gets exhausting these days dealing with the "If it can't do it, God (aka Apple or an Apple developer) meant it that way!" mentality of Mac users. We used to be so much better than this. Illustrator & Indesign work with pdfs in native format. So do CorelDraw and Serif DrawPlus. There may be more that I don't know of. This whole discussion is now moot. I have updated to the latest Sketch v2.4.3 to test it again, and it finally lets you edit pdfs. Not the way I would have liked, but it does do it.
Like (1)
Pik80
Pik80
15 March 2014
@Rubaiyat "I have updated to the latest Sketch v2.4.3 to test it again, and it finally lets you edit pdfs. Not the way I would have liked, but it does do it." I guess that is what I don't understand about the whole PDF argument. Opening PDFs in Sketch, Illustrator, etc. seems to be a hit and miss affair so why not just open the Sketch or Illustrator file and by pass all the complications involved with having to edit a PDF? I also tried opening PDFs in Illustrator CS6 and the experience still leaves a lot to be desired in most cases.
Like
Xenos
Xenos
11 April 2014
from dev's site: "Does sketch read EPS and PDF files? Last Updated: Nov 12, 2013 02:03PM CET Yes, Sketch can read and write PDF and EPS files. Support for this has been added in Sketch 2.2 and is always improving. ..."
Like (1)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
14 April 2014
SVG and PDF support has improved greatly according to the release notes for V3.0: http://bohemiancoding.com/sketch/whats-new/
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
16 July 2014
@Pik80 Opening PDF in Illustrator is hit and miss? Not if you understand how pdfs are constructed. Blends are objects and text is in slugs which may break lines, otherwise objects are objects and shapes are bezier curves and lines. Illustrator is still THE place to examine pdfs for colour accuracy, and the true arrangement of objects and drawings. Not hit or miss at all.
Like
Lvdoc
18 January 2014
I must sing the praises of this program and especially of this developer! As others have already noted, the program is richly featured and has an interface that many of us find very helpful. It is certainly well thought out. But beyond that, this developer has really gone out of his way to be helpful. I haven't even purchased the program yet (waiting until payday), but he took time to make a video for me to illustrate how to create a particular effect I needed. I will contrast this with another, popular vector program whose developer has never written back when I made a similar request. Sketch might be a bit more pricey than some of the competition, but you will get your money's worth. I've used Macs since 1987, so I feel qualified to say that I've interacted with my share of developers over the years. Sketch's develper is very much in the top 1% of those make these purchases a worthwhile venture.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.2
Philosopherdog
12 December 2013
Just downloaded it and the version number is incorrectly listed here. It's showing 2.4.1 (5291), not 2.4.2.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Gbut
30 July 2013
Amazing application !! Easy yet powerful !! I use Sketch for UI creation for iOS, Web, OS X !! Now, with Pixelmator + Intaglio + Sketch I can do my job…
Like (1)
Version 2.2.4
Glidagida
11 July 2013
Sketch is so cool the UI has got to be the most exciting thing I have played with in the last 10 years. It is NOT a replacement for Freehand or any other heavyweight, and it is never intended to be one, but in its niche it is a winner. It makes doing graphics FUN again, when I opened the demo I just played and was amazed at how simple and elegant this programme is. Overall now I use Intaglio+Pixelmator+Cheetah 3D+Sketch and pretty much I have all bases covered [I also have a 3D CAD programme for heavy lifting] at a fraction of the cost of Illustrator.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.4
2 answer(s)
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
29 November 2013
What makes the UI so special? Many people say it's special, but what is it - I can't see it. Looks like any other app?
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
11 December 2013
Maybe you should get your seeing eye dog to explain it to you.
Like (1)
JohnJung3881
14 May 2013
Was bought it few months ago and haven't used it intensively til today. It's really awesome. It's damn easy to use and powerful. Highly recommended it!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.4
Jynto
15 April 2013
Great application, terrible name. I keep trying to launch SketchUp, and accidentally launching this instead. Nitpicks aside, I hate that Sketch saves everything in its own proprietary format. Why can't it use a vector graphics format that everybody uses? SVG's only been around for 11 years now.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.3
Minder-Softworks
08 February 2013
As a longtime Freehand & Illustrator user, I was really happy with Sketch for what it is. I don't do commercial design anymore, so I just needed a vector illustration app for icons and logos and other such stuff, and Sketch fit the bill pretty well. I had to export all my EPSs from Illustrator into SVG format so I could get them into Sketch, but after that the learning curve was shallow and the feature set pretty comprehensive, especially for the price. The interface was pretty clean and I picked it up pretty quick. I appreciated the lack of Adobe-esque palette overload. I did run into a few glitches that were irritating: 1) A few times it would lock up and crash when selecting an object from an imported SVG file or re-ordering the layers. 2) It can get "too helpful" when auto-snapping things to locations, and I can't find a "turn snapping off" feature. If I want a shape or a point HERE I want it HERE not three pixels away. 3) It'd be helpful to have a keyline view and some keyboard modifiers when clicking to help me more precisely select paths and points. 4) Can't figure out how to delete a path point handle or adjust them independently of each other. 5) Documentation is lacking and more marketing than instructional. For some apps that are self-explanatory, this is okay, but for something like a graphics program that is expected to have a lot of depth, it needs some better docs. 6) I should be able to select multiple points and align or distribute them. 7) Needs a "duplicate in place" feature. 8) Transform should be "free transform", allowing me to drag any corner in any direction, or rotate the selection. Otherwise, it's a great start to a promising app. Looking forward to seeing where the developer takes it.
Like (4)
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
05 December 2013
Thanks for the in depth review. Have any of these issues been resolved in 2.4.1?
Like
Alvin-H
02 September 2012
Bought it as a part of bundle (Nov 9th, 2010) which i bought because sandvox, and never actually used this app, until 3 months ago, i need to draw something for y little online shop and my hospital team. So try to install and check an update and get it for FREE!!! I tought it'll will complicated, but it's UI is understandable for me, and the result is good (i know it's now great) but my hospital love it as using it. (the doctor team design beat the IT team design!) thank to great app.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Xplicit
16 August 2012
And I'm afraid to say that Sketch is unable to open eps files.
Like (3)
Version 2.1
2 answer(s)
Sunrobot
Sunrobot
26 October 2012
Looks like that. Pity enough, huh?
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
11 December 2013
Sketch can open .pdf, eps, & .svg since v2.4.
Like
Mlbkxbx
21 June 2012
I'm afraid to say proper "undo" and "redo" is still as absent as ever...
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
Phaleron
18 June 2012
I was pleasantly surprised to find an alternative demo link for those of us staunchly opposed to the AppStore-only philosophy. Thank you.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.3
frostFloxer
29 May 2012
It's been quite awhile since I've been truly impressed and blown away by the utility and design of a software application, and then today I used Sketch. This is one very, very, impressive app, which does wonders for the user in terms of workflow and usability. The product is a playground of clever design that adobe ought to have released years ago. Sketch is a joy to use, and should be in every web designers toolkit.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.1
Rubaiyat
10 May 2012
Thought this was a terrific app when I first saw it so ponied up for a licence to support the developer. Never used it though. Now I could use it in Lion I find I get to pay all over again for the MAS version. Wouldn't mind if the price was more in line with the use I'd get out of it.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
14 June 2012
@Rubaiyat If you have a licence for version 1 you can download the current trial which is version of course and use your v1 licence.
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
06 October 2012
Thank you Xplicit. I will try that and hopefully I can add it to my anti-Adobe suite of software! :)
Like