Back to Air Display Client page
Air Display Client free download for Mac

Air Display Client Reviews

3.2
17 December 2018

Client app for Air Display's second monitor.

Most helpful

I'm not going to spend $20 on an app I cannot test drive. No try - no buy.
Like (10)
Version 1.4

Read 15 Air Display Client User Reviews

Rate this app:

michaeltf
21 March 2020
Recently bought to use with my iMac and Macbook. It lags a lot, sent an Email to their support for assistance 4 days ago, their site says they reply in usually 1 business day. I still haven't received a response despite my follow up emails in the same thread. Feels like a complete scam
Like
Version 3.2
ken-122
21 February 2020
I would give it zero if that was an option. I foolishly downloaded the client app, installed it and THEN went to get the desktop version. They are extremely behind in making it available for current systems. And now I am out the money without any refund. I would not recommend going forward with this application.
Like
Version 3.2
media-3
13 June 2015
This only works for iOS and for those whos williing to spend on both an ipad and macbooks. Check out GeChic Portabel monitors, They use usb power and HDMI for input. it will have more range of devices to connect to, like xbox/ps4, camera, go pro, mac mini, smart phone..... http://bit.ly/1PQjZbw
Like
Version 3.0
LuukLuuk
06 August 2014
I'm currently using a second MBP as external monitor. I've installed Air Display Host on my primary MBP and run AirDisplay.app on the second MBP. The AirDisplay.app is the client program. The $20 license is supposed to be used on the secondary device, so I've entered it in the AirDisplay.app. Both MacBooks are on the same wifi, I just told my primary to connect to my secondary. At first, it entered in a 'window mode' on the secondary, so I clicked full screen (using the mouse pad of the secondary ;)). It did not behave as expected, as it started using my secondary as my primary: i.e., my dock moved to the other macbook. According to the FAQ of the developer, that is something they could not automagically correct, so I just changed this behavior (using the trackpad of my primary macbook) via System Preferences > Displays > Arrangement. Just drag the dock from one box to the other. First thoughts of the performance: it's okay, but could be better. There's a bit of lag, clearly there's compression on the data stream, as I can see artifacts on my pdfs when scrolling. I wonder how to improve the performance. Don't get me wrong, it's good enough for writing/reading.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
LuukLuuk
LuukLuuk
06 August 2014
Forgot to add: my primary is an early 2011 MBP 13" with SSD and 16GB. The secondary is a late 2011 MBP 13" with 4GB.
Like
Prince-Isaac
20 June 2014
Just a note about pricing: The host app for your Mac costs $20. Then you have to buy the client (iOS) app for $10, for a $30 total for this setup. Is it worth it? I don't know yet. I'm going all in and I'll soon find out.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
LuukLuuk
LuukLuuk
06 August 2014
I think you're mistaken. The host app for Mac is free of charge. The client app for Mac (to use another Mac as second display) does cost money, just as the iPad app.
So you'll only pay for the external display you are using.
Like
Avatron-Software
Avatron-Software
26 April 2016
Hi. Just want to clarify that the host app is a free download. The client app is a paid app. So you don't have to buy client apps on both iOS and Mac OS X unless you want to use your Mac as a second monitor for another Mac or PC, as well as using your iMac as a second monitor. Make sense?
Like
RogerKatz
15 January 2014
This MacUpdate description incorrectly identifies v2.0.5 as compatible with Snow Leopard. The 2.0.5 installer Alerts to a minimum requirement of Lion on the startup disk.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Jetfiredx
11 December 2013
The 2.0 updates of Air Display do bring some really big performance enhancements. I've tried using several other options to use my iOS devices as secondary displays and Air Display simply crushes the others in ease of setup and responsiveness. (I did try for a short time with Android and while it works well enough it didn't seem quite as quick as on iOS.) As with my previous review I use Air Display to extend to my iPhone (now a 5C rather than 4S as before) so I can view realtime stereoscopic content from Blender with a my3D viewer toy. It works REALLY well when one thinks on the resolution and the speed of the content. (I do wish there was a debug option for effective FPS on the display device so I could say for certain what the speed is but my guess would say somewhere between 15 - 25fps which is not bad considering.) The other thing I have been experimenting with is using my iPad 4 in mirroring mode and a stylus to hack up a sort of Wacom style tablet to draw with. This is hit or miss I think mostly because network slowdowns can make the touch input a bit jumpy for drawing but as performance enhancements come in I'll keep checking on it. Hoping an update will bring Intuos Creative / Jot Touch support for pressure sensitivity passed on to the Mac. (A guy can dream right?) I have tried some really wacky stuff with Air Display and hit some bugs such as when using the accessibility option of zooming the entire screen on the Mac side of things. In reporting them the developers are always responsive and have offered suggestions on working around the issues but seem eager to find real fixes. They are also open to suggestions for features and feedback. The upgrade to 2.0 was well worth it for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
RogerKatz
22 October 2013
Dispite MacUpdates saying Air Display Host is OK for MacOS 10.6.6 or greater, it won't install on my Snow Leopard - it alerts me that requires MacOS 10.7.5 or greater.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.11
2 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
22 October 2013
Thanks for letting us know that, RogerKatz! The developer's site (http://avatron.com/apps/air-display/download/mac) states that the minimum OS is OS X 10.6; the software has a string which specifies 10.7. Developers don't always keep their information in synch. Moral of the story: don't believe everything you read. ;-)
Like
Avatron-Software
Avatron-Software
26 April 2016
Hi. I think the confusion here is between the host and the client. The client runs on Mac OS 10.6. The host requires Mac OS X 10.7. I'm working on fixing the MacUpdate listing, because it says "Air Display" but really means "Air Display Host." Should be resolved soon. Sorry I didn't see your message or 2.5 years! :-)

—Dave at Avatron
Like
Jaybird1
21 October 2013
Caution! It looks like you MUST purchase the new Air Display 2 on your iOS device to use this.ONly upgrade if you are will to buy a new product for your iOS device.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
kfagoora
kfagoora
27 October 2013
I tested the combo of this new Air Display v2.0 Mac host app + the legacy Air Display v1.8 client for iOS. It worked just fine for me, no issues at all; the v2.0 Mac host app seems totally compatible with the v1.8 iOS client app.
Like
Aargl
19 March 2013
I've found a funny way Air Display could be used! Say you install the drivers and the app on the same mac, now you put Air Display window on the second space so you can have a laaaaarge window as if you'd have a double-width monitor! ;-) This would be awesome for a mixer in a sound app such as ProTools, you could see the left part of the mixer in a space and the right part in the other one! Well, on Air Display's side, it's working, you can drag-resize the current window of any app to occupy both displays, it's just that the way Spaces work makes the current window disappear just after you've switched space... :-( Well, in the end it's just that Spaces is rather useless to me if it doesn't offer that behaviour. Anyone knows about an app or extension or anything that could do that? :-)
Like
Version 1.6.2
Jetfiredx
03 April 2012
I use AirDisplay along with my iPhone 4S and a discounted My3D stereoscopic viewer to cobble together a means for previewing my models from Blender in 3D. Originally I used a VNC app to view the contents of the entire screen which meant having to lower the resolution significantly to improve performance. AirDisplay offers several benefits: - Much better performance than VNC. The frame rate even using the retina support1 is smooth enough to pan and zoom around a scene in Blender giving me a nice (and cheap!) tool to get a better way to experience my creations. - Easy to setup and connect. It really couldn't be much simpler once the apps are installed than selecting your device from the menu to connect to. - More than mirroring. Because the device is seen by the OS as a second monitor I can keep my system set to its normal resolution with my main application windows open and have just the one window I need placed on the iPhone's screen for viewing. (And when you drag a window onto the iPhone's screen and see what Mac OS looks like at that high of DPI the idea of a MacBook with a retina display is a bit mind blowing.) I haven't messed with the touch input yet so I can't comment on its usefulness or responsiveness. However the virtual keyboard (including ALT, CTRL, CMD, etc...) was very responsive but is exhibiting a bug with sending two chars for each key press. (Press 'e' and get 'ee' on the Mac...) But this brings me to another point and that is that the developer is very responsive to comments and feedback on the site forums and is obviously interested in making this a tool to do what users need from it. For the price and the features I am really happy with it. I know my use is a special case but if you need some more screen space that you aren't going to be gaming on how can you go wrong for $9.99?
Like
Version 1.6
I'm not going to spend $20 on an app I cannot test drive. No try - no buy.
Like (10)
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Cybercat-Hk
Cybercat-Hk
23 January 2012
From the developer's site, re the "public beta of Air Display for Mac: Retail" : - "The beta will run for an hour of connection time before prompting for a license key, or purchase"
Like (3)
Too bad this only works on Intel Macs with OS X 10.6.6. Many of us have older Macs where this would be a useful tool.
Like (8)
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Cybercat-Hk
Cybercat-Hk
23 January 2012
From the developer's site, re the "public beta of Air Display for Mac: Retail" : - "Air Display for Mac: Retail is just like the app Air Display for Mac in the Mac App Store, but it runs on Macs that are not compatible with the Mac App Store, including PowerPC-based Macs and Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.8. Now you can dig that old PowerBook or PowerMac out of the attic and have a second monitor!"
Like (3)
Aargl
Aargl
13 March 2013
It's quite amazing: the version you mentioned runs perfectly on PPC, so I contacted them to try and get a license (even free ;-), here's the answer: "Unfortunately we're no longer able to offer support or licences for the PowerPC version of our Air Display Mac client. I even checked with our engineering team to see if we had any codes for the old version of the software but unfortunately we're not able to generate them anymore." I can't believe it! They've thrown away the codes! ;-D So ScreenRecycler is the only solution left to use a PPC Mac as a second screen. (a pity, as Air Display is cheaper... :-/)
Like (1)
Smactron
14 December 2010
If this is about the Mac software, the latest version of it is 1.2.2 and it should be listed as free, since it's the iOS app itself that costs money.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.0
David-Grant
07 November 2010
I don't get it. I have to buy this program AND the iOS app? What good would either of them be alone?
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
R1000m
R1000m
24 November 2010
No, the Mac side is free. The iOS app costs money.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.0