Back to Switché page
Switché free download for Mac

Switché Reviews

2.31
06 June 2012

Easily CMD+Tab between applications.

Px9-855
12 August 2010

Most helpful

Tried this with a lot of skepticism but it turned out a lot better than I thought. Switché makes the command + tab function more up to date in both looks and use. I also feel like I am in more control of command + tab operation. Previously, if the mouse pointer happened to be over some app in the regular command+tab window when activated I would detour and end up in another app than I intended. With Switché that user quirk doesn't seem happen. Thank you, this really improved my workflow. One small wish though, can you please add 'H' as a hotkey for 'Hide Application' (in the same way 'Q' and 'W' are currently used)?
Like (4)
Version 1.07

Read 19 Switché User Reviews

Rate this app:

Kohoutek
09 June 2012
This is getting better. It no longer crashes, since the most recent update, on Lion. It was unusable here before that. The full-screen coverflow needs to continue to come along, however. Compositing remains slow. It lags by about 3-4 seconds, with application windows blurred until compositing finishes. The developer should try to get this along at least as far as Compiz in Ubuntu, including not just basic issues like compositing, but more features like semi-transparency. One thing everyone is happy with is the dev's responsiveness. That's encouraging. However, it's hard to justify monetizing this app in its current state.
Like
Version 2.31
mauriz
13 February 2012
Last week I bought this software with a Macupdate promo without (blame on me!) trying the trial version of the software. Unfortunately I found out that I couldn't even use it, as after few seconds it crashes. After few attempts, I then sent an email to the developer asking for a refund, but as I expected I haven't received any response yet. I'm really astonished how this respectable MacUpdate company can offer a promo of a software that even doesn't work with the latest update of the Lion OS. No words for the developer too...
Like (2)
Version 2.29
Sgginc
07 February 2012
Let me know when it works in Lion (10.7.3). Just crashes now. Thanks ... Ken
Like (3)
Version 2.29
Revco
03 December 2011
Problems with Illustrator CS5. Shows the same preview for all open docs.
Like (1)
Version 2.29
KLOCK
15 January 2011
oddly, it does not recognize the new App Store from 10.6.6. :(
Like (1)
Version 2.28
Ctkmnd
12 January 2011
Did the development of Switché die off completely or what? This used to have an update almost daily... :S
Like (1)
Version 2.28
Mac007
02 November 2010
This is a nicely designed application but it does not have one important feature Lite Switch X has which is the ability to use the Q key to quit the highlighted application. If the developer were to add that feature he might get even more sales. As for myself I've already paid for Lite Switch X a long time ago and see no need to buy another similar application even though it is cheaper.
Like (1)
Version 2.28
2 answer(s)
Mac007
Mac007
02 November 2010
I should add one more thought in fairness to the developer. Right now Lite Switch X works fine but the future is in doubt as only the download link works and the software now looks like it might be no longer in development. If that turns out to be true I may give this software future consideration especially if Lite Switch X fails to work with future Apple OS upgrades.
Like
Version 2.28
Kapeli
Kapeli
12 November 2010
You can use the "Q" key with Switche as well, and a lot of other keyboard shortcuts. Check the Tips pane in Preferences for a full list.
Like (1)
Version 2.28
Px9-855
20 October 2010
Would love Switché even more if it had a "Single Application-Mode" feature... ;)
Like (3)
Version 2.26
Nicksloan
03 October 2010
Switché has soared in a short time, from conceptually interesting but impractical beginnings (using Exposée) to the first full-featured substitute for LiteSwitch (plus Witch) that I have found. The developer is rather amazing: I emailed him with about 7 suggestions yesterday, and he has implemented 6 of them overnight. Apart from a few very minor quibbles, my only remaining concern with Switché is that CoverFlow is actually not quite as efficient as Cmd-Tab's straight row of icons for seeing what apps are running and getting to things in context; for window previews however it is probably preferable, and there is so much aded value to Switché on top of Cmd-Tab (exclusions, open with, reveal etc) that it is a price I am prepared to pay. Perhaps the future will bring some other options here.
Like (4)
Version 2.13
1 answer(s)
Nicksloan
Nicksloan
12 October 2010
Thanks for the tip about PullTab Fishscale, though in fact I find it quite convenient to map Switché to other keys and retain Cmd-tab for occasionally accessing those apps which I have excluded from Switché.
Like
Version 2.24
Jonsi
02 October 2010
This is an interesting app combining app switching and window switching. However it is a memory hog, using more than 90 MB of real mem. LiteSwitch + Witch use laee than 30 MB.
Like (1)
Version 2.13
1 answer(s)
Kapeli
Kapeli
03 October 2010
Switche is using around 40 MB of memory for me. It can, however, use around 90 MB if you have a lot of windows open. This is because Switche uses a cache to improve its performance. This cache is automatically cleared by your system if it needs extra memory. If you want to read more about how it works, check out the class reference for NSCache.
Like (4)
Version 2.13
Larsen2k4
02 October 2010
I've just tried the new 2.x version, but returned to 1.x - I prefer the use of Exposé - that's why I bought it :)
Like (2)
Version 2.13
1 answer(s)
sam-bauer
sam-bauer
04 October 2010
Me too, 1.x made me make use of Expose for the first time. 2.x coverflow looks nice but is not an improvement for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.14
Px9-855
02 October 2010
I've never preferred the whole coverflow-look, i.e. the reflections are too strong and there's too much flicking for the eye to keep up. Still, Switché is better than the rest imo so thank you for being able to at least put it in a smaller window rather than fullscreen.
Like (1)
Version 2.12
Greg-C-
02 October 2010
I try it, and I have to say I like it, simple, prompt, works most of the time. Will try it one more day before I decide if I should buy it. one comment is that however when I check "Ignore application without any open windows", my Adobe Illustrator CS4 with windows open doesn't show in either application switch nor window switch. I understand Adobe series is along with the most hard to deal with windows, I was just hoping our beloved developer will have time to look into it and see if there is any quit fix (i have try to put AI into the filter and make it high, no luck) Another question is that if there is any way to turn back to traditional look of the switch. I kind of like the enlarge one, but I am more comfortable with the original. A feature request as a two-display user: I really like to see if the full-window mode can only blank the main display I am using while keep another display showing what it is supposed to show. Cheers for the great work
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Kapeli
Kapeli
02 October 2010
Adobe Illustrator is impossible to work with. It has a main window, a canvas, and a lot of other windows that are the contents of that canvas. Switche can't recompose those windows to show a relevant preview. Try the Low and Medium filter, it should make Switche show previews of Illustrator. The fullscreen on all screens is unintentional, I will look into it and change it as soon as possible. What do you mean by the traditional look of the switch?
Like
Version 2.12
Robotank
02 October 2010
Switché 2 is awesome--it's LiteSwitch and Witch in one app, and it's now free of the limitations of Exposé. The developer is fantastic too. He's helpful and extremely responsive to feature requests and bug reports.
Like
Version 2.0
Drdul
02 October 2010
When Switché is active, some keyboard shortcuts that include the Command key are rendered inactive in all applications. Cmd-H to hide and Cmd-, for prefs, for example.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Kapeli
Kapeli
02 October 2010
I'm not able to replicate this bug. Can you please email me using the form at http://kapeli.com/contact and specify what keyboard shortcuts do you use to activate Switche?
Like
Version 2.0
Stevie-Ackerman
02 October 2010
I really like the way this software allows you to tab through apps and windows. It is very easy to configure and use. In addition, the price is a very reasonable cost for the time it saves. The only thing I would like changed is to have the window open a little wider or just make the size somewhat configurable.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Kapeli
Kapeli
02 October 2010
You can now change the size in version 2.1.
Like
Version 2.0
Stevie-Ackerman
Stevie-Ackerman
02 October 2010
I only have two words for you... Amazingly responsive! I really like the way it has been implemented too.
Like
Version 2.0
-M-S-
17 September 2010
I was going to make this a review but really haven't been able to use it enough to qualify the following as a "review". But here's my experience: I routinely have 10-25 apps running at a time and Siwtché just doesn't seem to be able to handle this configuration with so many windows open. I hit command-tab and I am taken to an app all nicely Exposé'd... then I hit command-tab again and if I'm lucky, about half the time, it will switch to the next app... I try it a third time, and it usually gets stuck -- it doesn't cycle through any more apps. I'm always keen to check out new utilities that can boost my productivity but from my experience, if you're a seasoned user with an established workflow, the learning curve that it most of these tools require (learning curve = ability to seamlessly integrate it into your workflow without thinking) negates whatever small benefits they deliver. In this case, the end result is also less desirable for me since Mac OS X's command-tab is instantaneous and Switché was super laggy for me. I run 4GB of RAM on a mid-2010 i5 17" MacBook Pro, so that should be enough horsepower.
Like (1)
Version 1.11
3 answer(s)
Kapeli
Kapeli
01 October 2010
Please try version 2.0 and let me know how it goes.
Like
Version 1.11
-M-S-
-M-S-
02 October 2010
It's better, but still fairly laggy for quick switches. I'm not sure why you decided to make switching applications Full Screen by default, I feel a bit like I'm using Mac OS X Kindergarten Edition when my 24" display has a gigantic application icon it and nothing else (I'm sure it's useful for people who have poor vision, though). But you can no longer application switch/window switch in the same keystroke, right? It looks like you took out that feature when you moved away from leveraging Expose. Now I have cycle all apps or cycle all windows as options, right?
Like
Version 2.12
Kapeli
Kapeli
02 October 2010
I will change the default. Switche can't display windows and applications at the same time. Check out DockView's display in CMD+Tab feature for that.
Like
Version 2.12
Px9-855
12 August 2010
Tried this with a lot of skepticism but it turned out a lot better than I thought. Switché makes the command + tab function more up to date in both looks and use. I also feel like I am in more control of command + tab operation. Previously, if the mouse pointer happened to be over some app in the regular command+tab window when activated I would detour and end up in another app than I intended. With Switché that user quirk doesn't seem happen. Thank you, this really improved my workflow. One small wish though, can you please add 'H' as a hotkey for 'Hide Application' (in the same way 'Q' and 'W' are currently used)?
Like (4)
Version 1.07
2 answer(s)
Px9-855
Px9-855
12 August 2010
...and I bought a license. :)
Like (1)
Version 1.07
Kapeli
Kapeli
01 October 2010
Switche 2.0 can now hide applications and minimize windows.
Like
Version 1.11
Frank-Martin
03 August 2010
I really appreciate the creativity of this software. I doubt that it is genuinely useful for most, but thank you for sharing it with us, and thank you for being willing to experiment!
Like (3)
Version 1.05