Back to MakeMKV page
MakeMKV free download for Mac

MakeMKV Reviews

1.14.5
06 September 2019

One-click video converter, with Blu-ray compatibility (beta).

antoniong
05 April 2014

Most helpful

great program and I would like to buy it. But 50 Dollar is way too high for max. 5 DVD's that I need to convert yearly. Lowering the price would certainly push sales.
Like (7)
Version 1.8.9

Read 76 MakeMKV User Reviews

Rate this app:

ritaxu
12 March 2019
For any of you who wants to switch to other program to try out new experience, I recommend DVDFab to you guys. It provides fastest DVD & Blu-ray copy, ripper software to Copy Blu-ray & DVD to portable devices, convert your favorite movie to any media format including DVDR and iPad/iPhone/iPod. (https://www.dvdfab.cn/)
Like
Version 1.12.2
simonejsandifer
02 December 2018
Thanks for shear it.....Download Latest Version↪►►<a href="https://pcgetup.com/makemkv-key-registration-code-free/"> MakeMKV Registration Code</a>...... You are doing right job.
Like
Version 1.12.2
VanRijn63
27 December 2017
Love this app. Does exactly what it says it will do. Can't fault it.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.8
dmu
27 November 2017
When it works, it's great. I get a nice gigantic mkv file that I can convert to a better (smaller) format. It's not the most intuitive process and I wish you could pick other outputs, but it's all we've got. However, the deal-breaker is that it only works with about 15-25% of discs I've tried. Most of the time there's like 300 versions of the film that it wants to import. The scenes are all out of order for 299 of them. Only one is correct, and MakeMKV doesn't know which one, so it wants to do them all. This is clearly a key part of the Blu-Ray encryption process, and MakeMKV cannot handle it. Therefore it's almost worthless to try. I would love to find a Blu-Ray ripper that actually works so I can watch my BD collection on the Apple TV, but I've searched the web high and low and it simply doesn't exist on the Mac. Most are fake, or simply fail completely. I want my movies in digital format, but I feel safer having a physical format to pull from if something ever goes wrong. I'm beginning to think that I have no choice but to go all digital because there just isn't a viable Blu-Ray option.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.8
Pvcornelius
26 June 2017
For quite a while now, I’ve kept Mac DVDRipper Pro and HandBrake on my Mac, not because I’ve had frequent need for them but because I’ve occasionally had use for them. MakeMKV fell into that “potentially useful” category, too, so it’s also had a place on my Mac, although the instances in which I’ve played with it have been almost vanishingly rare. Well, I’ve finally discovered a use for MakeMKV: keeping me from wasting purchased Blu-rays in the event that my Blu-ray player application acts up. I bought and registered Macgo Blu-ray Player early last year when my initial testing demonstrated that with a Blu-ray capable external optical drive I could play Blu-rays on my Mac mini. So I bought my first Blu-ray movie and tried it out, only to discover a couple of significant flaws, one of them a deal breaker. (For details, see my review of Macgo Blu-ray Player Pro.) In an attempt to determine whether the failure was due to the player program or to the disc itself, I fired up MakeMKV to see whether I could rip the movie to my hard drive. That proved successful, and the rip played flawlessly with VLC, demonstrating that the disc was fine and the limitation was in the player program. I immediately bought a license for MakeMKV, and I consider it money well spent. Those flaws in Macgo Blu-ray Player have since been corrected in the Pro version, and so far, it works well with my first Blu-ray and with the handful I’ve purchased since. But it’s nice to know that there’s a fallback available, and that as long as you have a Blu-ray capable optical drive, it’s not necessary to have a Blu-ray player application to watch Blu-rays on your Mac. The price you pay for that, though? The time it takes to rip. And storage space. You’ll need lots of storage space. My MakeMKV rip of the Mondo Vision Blu-ray of Possession, for example, resulted in an .mkv file that was 36.28 GB. Life is trade-offs. But options are good.
Like (6)
Version 1.10.6
1 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
22 November 2017
Have you been able to rip UHD discs yet? I got myself a UHD disc player, and my 4K TV supports HDR. However, the drive I have on the mac, can't read the new format. Just wondered if anyone with a mac has been successful to transfer a 4k HDR movie to streaming.
Like
Jweisbin
06 June 2017
Great app. Does what it says.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.6
Quantumpanda
01 November 2016
I'm not going to put this in a review, because it's not really significant to the app's functions, but it's really annoying when a beta app tells you that the version you're using is out of date but can't download a new version itself or even link you to the web site. It just brings up the dialog saying it's too old, with an unclickable URL in it, and quits as soon as you close the dialog. Not Helpful At All.
Like
Version 1.10.2
dwp-1
15 July 2016
Purchased MakeMKV a couple years ago and have been very pleased with my purchase. The app is fast and works on everything I throw at it.. The developer updates the app several times a year. He also offers a very fair trial that seemed to have no limitations, including time. I received my registration promptly.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.0
h3r0tn0
11 July 2016
GET MAKEMKV KEY , MAKEMKV COUPON CODES AT http://goo.gl/y7HZ1j
Like
Version 1.9.10
Bdkennedy1
02 April 2016
Paid the $50 and never received the registration code after over a week. Emailed my purchase information and received no response.
Like
Version 1.9.9
3 answer(s)
Wgscott
Wgscott
18 April 2016
Meanwhile, they give out the beta codes so it can be used for free. If possible, stop your payment, and then consider buying it when it is out of the free beta mode.
Like (1)
Macinman
Macinman
18 April 2016
I paid for MakeMKV about 6 months ago, or so. I didn't have any purhcasei ssues. I know it's beta and free for use, but I wanted to show support and have a license ready for when it's out of beta. It's been a great program.
Like (1)
TCalhau
TCalhau
19 April 2016
I also bought a license for gratitude to the developer keep this great application. I haven't had any problem with my license.
Like (1)
TCalhau
16 January 2016
The BEST! =D New Version: --- MakeMKV v1.9.9 (17.1.2016) Added support for AACS v58 Improved BDAV discs compatibility Improved handling for BDAV discs with mastering errors Small miscellaneous improvements ---
Like (1)
Version 1.9.8
TeRRyZx
11 January 2016
Works easily and makes great conversions
Like
Version 1.9.8
Caput-Draconis
23 December 2015
Best product out there. Works like a charm.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.8
Macinman
23 October 2015
I had tried MakeMKV in the past but felt like, at that time I didn't need it since I already had pad for apps to manage DVDs. Now that I have access to blu-rays that's another story. I had been using Aurora blu-ray copy to strip the DFM and make an iso file and then use iFFmpeg to convert for streaming. I finally hit a disc that this method wouldn't do so tried MakeMKV worked perfectly and solved the issue. Also does things much faster then what my other method had been doing.

Instantly paid the 50 s bucks and have found it a well worth purchase. I'm putting my Plex Media Library back together in much quicker time then what I did the first time.

Since i don't have a Multi channel decoder I just pass the video through iFFmpeg now and create an MKV file with stereo AAC from the MKV from MakeMKV. Much quicker this way as well.

Great job to both the developer(s) of both MakeMKV and iFFmpeg.

Oh, wanted to add, I am able to stream full BD quality video now to the TV.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.7
jreffner
23 August 2015
Simply superb software! It rips virtually everything I throw at it, and it does it quickly. Most importantly it allows you to easily remove unwanted languages, subtitles, and extras. Or you can keep it all. Best thing is that it is al labeled well, so I can tell what I'm removing pretty easily (i.e. Finnish subs, English language, etc.). On top of that, the interface is extremely easy to use and well designed. Literally 2 clicks and you can rip the entire disc. They don't charge extra for BD ripping, you just get DVD and BD rips for the $50.00. There aren't many pieces of software that does this (avoid the Chinese lookalikes under several different names), and this one does it well. It's still free in the beta period, but I paid them long ago and feel I got a great deal. I'm appreciative of their efforts. Try it, and if you agree with me, then buy it.
Like (4)
Version 1.9.5
TCalhau
03 June 2015
This application near perfection! Updated ^^
Like (3)
Version 1.9.3
AnneXin-1
26 May 2015
MakeMKV seems to work great with any medium, whether it's Blu-ray, DVD, or CD. It does a great job of ripping already purchased movies. I haven't run into any issues at all. Great job with the application development!

Price could be a bit lower, but it's essentially $4.16 a month. Worth it for me!
Like (3)
Version 1.9.2
SSacha
08 April 2015
This application is near perfection! To be perfect lack only remove Cinavia protection!
Like (4)
Version 1.9.2
iMiNiMaL
07 April 2015
The Best!!!!!!!
Like (3)
Version 1.9.2
TCalhau
07 April 2015
Today (7.4.2015) was released MakeMKV v1.9.2

* Added support for AACS v52
* Added full support for BDAV discs
* Improved handling for discs with mastering errors
* Small miscellaneous improvements
* Bug fixes:
- Frame duration was missing for TextST and certain PGS subtitles (can be fixed by re-opening MKV file in MakeMKV)
- MakeMKV could crash or produce invalid data when reading DVD with 20-bit LPCM audio
Like (3)
Version 1.9.1
TCalhau
23 January 2015
Updated! Simply essential! Thanks :-)
Like (3)
Version 1.9.1
1 answer(s)
TCalhau
TCalhau
13 March 2015
My newest purchase: MakeMKV v1.9.1 ^^

See: https://cl.ly/aCAp/My_MakeMKV.png
Like (2)
TCalhau
29 October 2014
The current version of MakeMKV is: 1.8.14 and was released on: 21-Sep-2014
Like (2)
Version 1.8.13
Unohoo
05 September 2014
Doesn't run under Yosemite public beta #2
Like
Version 1.8.13
1 answer(s)
TCalhau
TCalhau
13 March 2015
The 1.9.1 version works perfectly on OS X Yosemite!
Like (1)
SpiessensMark
02 September 2014
Nice MKV muxer/demuxer. If only the price was right !
Like (1)
Version 1.8.13
1 answer(s)
lurkingremlin
lurkingremlin
05 October 2015
Could be higher, yeah ;) Glad it isn't.
Like
Markoh
02 September 2014
Best DVD/BluRay ripper ever.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.13
Derekcurrie
01 July 2014
v1.8.11 is out: http://www.makemkv.com/download/
Like (2)
Version 1.8.10
lurkingremlin
25 June 2014
"One-click video converter, with Blu-ray compatibility (beta). Free ($50.00)" I love that ;)
Like
Version 1.8.10
YalinO2934
25 April 2014
çok hoş program. elimden geldiği kadar teşekkür ediyorum size.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.10
Curmudgeon51
16 April 2014
A great program and I use it to rip BDD discs when no other program I've tried will do so. Worth every yen it costs.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.10
antoniong
05 April 2014
great program and I would like to buy it. But 50 Dollar is way too high for max. 5 DVD's that I need to convert yearly. Lowering the price would certainly push sales.
Like (7)
Version 1.8.9
14 answer(s)
Maltz2
Maltz2
16 April 2014
I posted this before, but it's bumped off the first page... That price is comparable to other similar tools such as AnyDVD HD. And as long as it's in Beta, it's free. You can get beta codes here. They expire and you have to get a new one every few months unless you pay. http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1053
Like (1)
antoniong
antoniong
16 April 2014
@maltz2: I know I can get the code but that's not my point. My point is that I would buy it but the price is out of proportion. Comparison to AnyDVD is no important since one could also compare it to Handbrake.
Like
Maltz2
Maltz2
18 August 2014
MakeMKV and Handbrake do different things. Handbrake is an encoder and cannot rip discs by itself, especially Blu Ray. MakeMKV strictly rips and does no re-encoding, but is capable of ripping DVD and Blu Ray discs, as can AnyDVD HD, thus the basis of my comparison. I am unaware of any free (or even cheap) program that can rip Blu Ray.

If you're using it just for DVD's, then yeah, this is overkill and there are several other options that you should probably choose from.
Like
antoniong
antoniong
18 August 2014
I know th differences. Also I know that Pavture Blurayconverter costing 28 Dollars does a great job.

My only point is that I do not mind buying but in my opinion (and most likely very many people) 50 Dollars is just too high. 25 or 30 would be more reasonable and bring in many more paying customers.
Like
Maltz2
Maltz2
18 August 2014
You're still comparing apples and oranges, though. Their blu ray converter products (which are $39, not $28, according to the website) don't rip in full quality (they re-encode for specific devices) and cannot rip the full disc including menus, 3D, etc. The Pavtube product that most closely compares to the feature set of MakeMKV is BDMagic, which they sell for $49.

But fair enough, the price is too high for you to want to pay for what it does. Buying something with fewer features at a lower price that still meets your needs is certainly your prerogative. That doesn't necessarily make the price itself unreasonable, though.

Ultimately, It's not too surprising that such niche software isn't super cheap. The market is very small - we Mac users with a blu ray drive are a pretty rare breed. :)
Like (1)
Waveman
Waveman
18 August 2014
Antoniong is correct, $20.00 US for this is more inline, and would possibly triple your sales. Volume of sales is the only way to make this worthwhile for the company and the customer.
Like (1)
Maltz2
Maltz2
18 August 2014
What is this $20 option? I have a friend who is wanting some blu ray ripping software in the near future. MakeMKV, being free during the beta, is currently what he's leaning towards.
Like
Waveman
Waveman
18 August 2014
Maltz2 : there is no "option" the price is as stated, $50 US.
Many in this discussion feel that is to high a price and that the product would sell better with a lower price-point.
Every person here would buy this at a lower cost, every one of those same people is a lost sale.
Go re-figure your pricing if you want sales to increase..
Like (1)
Maltz2
Maltz2
18 August 2014
You said $20 was more in line... in line with what? What I mean was, what can I buy for $20 that will rip a blu ray disc?
Like
antoniong
antoniong
19 August 2014
@maltz2:

In line with what?

Inline with the amount I think is reasonable to spend on a product that does a fast job of converting .iso (containing blurry or DVD) to a regular .MKV file. More and more people do not have a DVD-reader anymore so that aspect is unimportant.

price of other products is also unimportant. Important for a developer is the answer to "At what price can I sell the maximum legal copies and doing that preventing illegal or demo use". To many the answer is about 20/25 dollars and certainly not 50 and what others ask is unimportant.


Like
Waveman
Waveman
19 August 2014
Seriously: Maltz2 what's your disconnect?
$20 is a fair price for this software. not $50.
Like
Maltz2
Maltz2
19 August 2014
I was only trying to find out what product was $20 so I could recommend it to my friend. I misunderstood your usage of "in-line" comparing this to the hypothetical price of something that doesn't actually exist.

Here's a thought experiment... Why is $20 "fair" but not $50? What about $30? or $5? Just because that's what *you* are willing to pay? My point was simply that "what I'd like to pay" and "what is a fair price" are rarely the same thing; a point on which we will apparently have to agree to disagree.

This software has been free for the 5 years since they first released a Mac version, and quite some time before that for PC. That's beyond generous. I just can't fathom someone using highly-niche software for free for years and then complaining about eventually having to pay the same price as every other equivalent product on the market. Someday. Or not, if they choose to shop elsewhere. What a sense of entitlement.

I wish you good hunting on your quest for a $20 blu ray ripper.
Like (1)
larysius
larysius
18 February 2015
I agree with Maltz2. You guys complain about the price, but there aren't any products that rip unprocessed, unencoded copies of bluray discs in this structure at the price point you want. If you want free encoders, go with Handbrake, but it doesn't decrypt. Makemkv decrypts and makes a 1:1 copy of your blurays without reencoding it. You can also go with anydvdhd for $119? or DVD fab for around the same price, but wait, it doesn't decrypt anymore because the government got to them. So quit your complaining about $30 for crying out loud.
Like
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
05 April 2015
If this were in the App Store, I wouldn't pay more than $20.
Like
Heartman
26 February 2014
Absolutely the best DVD/Blu Ray ripper around. Easy to use, great results. Author is very responsive if you find an occasional disc that gives you trouble. Worth every penny! Dang rating system won't let me edit my star rating. Accidentally clicked on 4.5, should be FIVE STARS.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.9
Bdkennedy1
13 February 2014
Can't justify the price for this for beta software. I would rather go back to ripping DVD's than pay $50 for this. Even if it weren't beta, I wouldn't pay anymore than $20.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.8
Machobbes
11 November 2013
It's works well for me, and I like it - except for the horrible icon I have to change with every update.
Like
Version 1.8.6
2 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
11 November 2013
What do you change it to? :)
Like
Machobbes
Machobbes
12 November 2013
@ Star-Affinity: Nothing special. I take an icon of the Flurry set from the Iconfactory - see my avatar. Maybe you can turn it sideways and modify it a bit?
Like (1)
Robertcoogan
30 October 2013
Pretty solid and simple program. Does exactly as advertised, even under Mavericks with no issues. I had a copy of Mac the Ripper that stopped working - so it is nice to see that there is another to turn to. $50 seems a bit steep, though.
Like
Version 1.8.5
Beige
13 September 2013
MKV2VOB for Mac is far better and free: http://sourceforge.net/projects/mkv2vobmac/
Like (1)
Version 1.8.5
1 answer(s)
Flavum
Flavum
13 September 2013
Doesn't MKV2VOB do the opposite of MakeMKV? It converts *from* MKV to other formats, while MakeMKV *creates* MKV files from other formats?
Like (5)
Afcgbbob
23 July 2013
Will someone please tell me what is so great about MKV Files? I have yet to download a MKV file and not have trouble with playback. 9 out of 10 times QuickTime cannot handle it, The file will freeze, pix-elate, freeze and the audio will go out of sync as it plays. Even the Swiss-Army-Knife VLC has trouble with it as well. I have other players as well and some of them do not even recognize it as a movie. I miss a great deal of my TV shows so I have to download it to my Mac. By doing this for a while I was able to figure out those who DL MKV and those who can DL AVI, WMV, MPEG4 and FLV files with no problems at all. All of these files are easy to make conversions with them VisualHub. I do have that last updated version and it works like a champ on my G5. I can take these files and turn them into an ISO DVD for my player and burn them. If I try to do MKV file I get Apple Script errors galore and freezing. I am not putting MakeMKV as a program down at all if you are one that does not play so bad as it does on my Mac. I have tried at least 100 MKV files with the same result. When possible I try to stick to AVI files because I have never found a bug in any AVI file I DL. For those who had good luck with MKV files then this program is perfect for you. I have all the major plug-ins needed for QuickTime and they do not help. So I ask if anyone can tell me what if any I am doing wrong, just please tell me. My apology to the Author, I just had to say this and in no way was it meant at to put down your program. It does what you designed what it is suppose to do. It is the format that I just despise unless I am missing some plug-in that I am not aware of. End of Line...
Like (1)
Version 1.8.4
3 answer(s)
anonymous-dingo-653
anonymous-dingo-653
29 August 2013
Get off QuickTime and get a real player that natively handles all Apple formats and nearly everything else in the world... VLC
Like (2)
Flavum
Flavum
13 September 2013
Bob - Unfortunately, the issues you're having are most likely related to your Mac. The last G5 was released almost 8 years ago, and will not be able to handle large, HD video files of any type. It's just a matter of processing power. Even my 2008 iMac performs admirably. Also worth remembering is that "mkv" is just a container for the video & audio files contained within - probably x264 video and AC3 audio. Until you upgrade your hardware, you're going to continue having trouble as more and more movies and TV shows are released in high-nitrate HD formats.
Like (3)
Flavum
Flavum
13 September 2013
"high-nitrate" should read "high-bitrate". Auto-correct screwed me again. =/
Like
Kewl
21 July 2013
Perfectly rips DVDs and Blu-rays, perserving the audio and video data. Nothing more to say...
Like (1)
Version 1.8.4
Holypoly
08 July 2013
Can't get it to run under Mountain Lion, constantly getting "stream server could not be started" errors. Works fine under Snow Leopard (same MBP 8,2; but different partition). Strangely enough, on my MBP 8,1 I get frequent " (ipc/send) invalid destination port" errors when viewing BDs on an ATD, which won't go away even when restarting MKV and VLC 2.0.7. However, until Apple stops banning BD video from Macs, MakeMKV is a very worthwhile solution - thank you, GuinpinSoft.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
1 answer(s)
StevenHCarter
StevenHCarter
27 August 2013
Blue-ray is not banned by Apple, they just chose not to pay the license fees. You can buy an expensive blu-ray player at OWC or eBay that will work fine with a Mac.
Like (2)
Holypoly
22 May 2013
"MakeMKV contains both freeware and shareware functionality. More information can be found here." No such information - except that I now know that my shopping cart is empty, but then I already knew that ;))))) The link provided is to an empty shopping cart at Avangate...
Like (1)
Version 1.8.3
antoniong
10 April 2013
50 Dollars???????????
Like
Version 1.8.0
3 answer(s)
Maltz2
Maltz2
24 April 2013
That price is comparable to other similar tools, such as AnyDVD HD. And as long as it's in Beta, it's free. http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1053 I've paid though, because I want to support the project, and as a bonus, I don't have to go get a new key every few months. :)
Like (3)
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
13 February 2014
Well why did my beta software just expire then?
Like
Maltz2
Maltz2
16 April 2014
Go back to the link and get a new code. It says right there in the post when the current code expires, but they will post new ones as long as it's in beta.
Like
snickers2k
24 January 2013
Great tool! The only thing i miss, is to rearrange the languages and subtitles and the option to not show the subtitle in the first place.
Like
Version 1.7.10
Holypoly
06 January 2013
Next version is out. MakeMKV v1.7.10 ( 2.1.2013 ) Improved handling for DVD discs with mastering errors Many miscellaneous improvements
Like (2)
Version 1.7.9
DirkTheMenace
11 November 2012
Wasn't this free before?? Has the dev becomes greedy? Hmmmmm
Like (1)
Version 1.7.9
7 answer(s)
Joshmunkey
Joshmunkey
02 December 2012
No. The information on the dev's site has always stated that the application in beta is free, though eventually it will be shareware once it exits beta stage. From their home page: "All features (including Blu-ray decryption and processing) are free during BETA."
Like (2)
H3L0
H3L0
01 March 2013
Funny thing is that it still says BETA and it's not free so…
Like
Joshmunkey
Joshmunkey
01 March 2013
@H3L0 Are you not able to get it to run? I just opened the application again (1.8.0) and it is still functioning and free to use. So long as it is still in beta, it will remain free according to the dev.
Like (1)
H3L0
H3L0
01 March 2013
On 1.7.9 it wants me to pay for it, I will update to 1.8.0 and see.
Like
Joshmunkey
Joshmunkey
01 March 2013
@H3L0 The prompt you may have seen could have been the one telling you that your version has expired. The dev built that in so that, after a certain period, the user would be forced to upgrade to the newer beta version. If you opened up 1.7.9 today, it would give the expired warning. If you want to keep an older version and not upgrade, roll back the date set on your machine in System Preferences.
Like
H3L0
H3L0
01 March 2013
I updated to 1.8.0 and get "Evaluation period has expired, shareware functionality unavailable."
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
05 June 2013
So DirkTheMenace can you come round and remove the leaves from gutters? …don't "become greedy" and expect any payment.
Like
Joshmunkey
05 November 2012
MakeMKV has always worked without a hitch on my system (iMac, 10.6.8) though the DASPI 1.3 kext basically tanked my system upon install. I had done the usual preventative measures of permission checks, restarts, etc before install, but even then install forced a blank folder icon at reboot and forced me to reset SMC. Thankfully I was able to pull it back into order and uninstall. MakeMKV: Worth the download. DASPI: YMMV
Like (1)
Version 1.7.9
Ctopper
20 October 2012
When it works, it's wonderful but I get too high a rate of failures with this software. I am now going over to the Windows side to see if there is anything better there. No, I'm not giving up my Mac, I'm talking about Bootcamp.
Like
Version 1.7.8
Frederico-Palmeira
03 October 2012
First time I use this software and version 1.7.71 does not work on any of my Mac: 15 "MBP '11, 13" MBP Mac mini '12 or '11. DASPI v1.3 installed and always the same SCSI error: hardware error 44A0. I'm very disappointed!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.7
Y-Guy
18 August 2012
This really should be marked as Shareware not Free.
Like
Version 1.7.7
4 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
18 August 2012
Thanks for the heads-up! Sometimes, it can be hard to tell from looking at the developer's page. What pricing options does the app give?
Like
Haibara
Haibara
11 September 2012
According to the order page linked to from the MakeMKV site, the only price listed is $50. However, I've always heard that you only have to pay if you want to work with anything Blu-Ray related in MakeMKV - it's free for everything else. (I could be wrong.) And, as mentioned previously, it's supposed to be free while in beta... the latest temporary key can be found here: http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1053
Like
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
11 September 2012
The information is here: http://www.makemkv.com/buy/ I've added some information to our listing to reflect that. I don't know how you access that information on the developer's site except through an in-app purchase option, which is a bit confusing.
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
16 October 2012
Here’s what the developer’s website says about MakeMKV’s freeware and shareware functionality: "You may use MakeMKV to convert or stream DVD and AVCHD discs for free, as much as you want. Converting or streaming Blu-ray discs is shareware functionality. You can use shareware functionality for free during 30-days trial period. If you like MakeMKV and you want to use it after your 30-days trial version expires, you need to purchase a registration key. Registration key is valid for all MakeMKV versions on all platforms. There is no expiration time or any subscriptions. MakeMKV is sold as "try-before-you-buy" software. You can try it for 30 days for free, so you have enough time to verify the program's functionality. GuinpinSoft Inc. doesn't refund your money if you are not satisfied with our products. The only shareware limitation is the expiration date. If shareware version does not work for you, registration will not change much. We urge you to test it out before you buy it and hope you will want to join our satisfied users!” And here’s what the download’s ReadMe file says about the BETA restriction (note that the 2nd point in this paragraph suggests it’s not necessary to use the temporary key that Halbara kindly informed us about in his/her post above — in any case, I’ve never needed it): “...it is time-limited — it will stop functioning after 60 days. You can always download the latest version from makemkv.com that will reset the expiration date."
Like
Marioz
17 August 2012
Developer issued a 1.7.7.1 version after sometime, as some feedback on 1.7.7 version was negative. The actual version works perfectly on ML. Thnks.
Like
Version 1.7.7
1 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
17 August 2012
I'm not seeing a download link for 1.7.7.1 yet. Where are you seeing that?
Like
Andrej
29 July 2012
This is NOT FREE, it's shareware. I get a message "This functionality is shareware. You may evaluate it for 30 days after what you would need to purchase an activation key if you like the functionality." It's 2012, people, can someone just make an app that does it for free without the wild goose chase? I just want to play my movies wherever I want. (Also: I don't see a way to just submit a comment without also rating the software, so I just put 3 stars everywhere. Can someone fix this as well?)
Like (3)
Version 1.7.6
1 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
17 August 2012
The "Write a Review" link is a bit misleading, as there's a "Comment" option to choose from the drop-down menu on the following site (default is "Review"). That'll make the rating options disappear.
Like (2)
Beige
29 June 2012
http://sourceforge.net/projects/mkv2vobmac/files/ you're welcome
Like (1)
Version 1.7.6
2 answer(s)
Koibito-San
Koibito-San
07 February 2013
Thanks. Don't know why people snubbed their frownies at you. However, if this appears on MacUpdate, it should get a "similar software link." If not, the devs should be notified so they get better exposure.
Like (1)
Beige
Beige
13 September 2013
I probably got a negative because the devs are spamming the ratings.
Like