Back to MailMate page
MailMate free download for Mac

MailMate Reviews

1.13.1
05 December 2019

Mail client designed exclusively for IMAP.

Awado
05 December 2019

Most helpful

After years of struggling with Apple Mail I decided to give it a try. This is the way a mail application should be! Clean, robust and feature rich. No more crashes, lost mails, eternal downloads and so on. It just works. It fully worth the money.
Like (1)
Version 1.13.1

Read 69 MailMate User Reviews

Rate this app:

Simon3
08 December 2019
Truly powerful! Great searching capabilities. And markdown support is amazing.
Like
Version 1.13.1
Awado
05 December 2019
After years of struggling with Apple Mail I decided to give it a try. This is the way a mail application should be! Clean, robust and feature rich. No more crashes, lost mails, eternal downloads and so on. It just works. It fully worth the money.
Like (1)
Version 1.13.1
Bub1200
24 June 2019
As I understand MailMate collects mails from all accounts into only one inbox. So I have private and work mails mixed up. There was a request in 2014 in the forum to change this but was moved to "bluesky". This makes MailMate a no-go thing. Too bad.
Like (1)
Version 1.12.5
2 answer(s)
cig0
cig0
28 June 2019
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let us know, +1
Like
Grmpf
Grmpf
06 September 2019
MailMate NEVER mixes mails from different accounts together. Yes, there is a combined Inbox, but it is virtual. You can unfold this virtual folder to see the different inboxes as subfolders.
Like (3)
Version 1.12.5
Odysseus
27 May 2019
The best, in so many big and small ways. Some may be bothered by the old-fashioned mailbox list, but beauty here goes very, very deep. This is the only email client where I can unfailingly find everything I want. It's the labor of love of one developer who gives outstanding support.
Like
Version 1.12.5
prmmupd
20 March 2019
Without a question my favorite mail client. Fast, PGP and SMINE integration, powerful filters, markdown, custom keybindings, good offline support, different layouts, the list goes on and on. It takes a while to get used to it but it's worth the time.
Like
Version 1.12.4
Nicksloan
22 February 2019
For years I wanted to use MailMate but could not because of a dependence on local mailboxes, which it does not support. Eventually I rethought my approach to message archiving, fully embraced IMAP and moved over to MailMate. It has been like the enjoyment of spring after a long winter. MM does almost everything differently, and it takes a little while to understand its ways, but having done so, a steely logic becomes apparent and infinite scope for adapting it to individual preferences. The implementation of smart mailboxes is wonderfully flexible and consistent, and the combination of those with a very sophisticated search system makes MM the perfect environment for retrieving old messages —which is most of what is involved when working with emails. Add a clean, customisable interface, a very responsive developer and rock-like stability, and you have the ideal email client.
Like
Version 1.12.4
Cottser
28 January 2019
Best mail client on the Mac for power users, no question. I continue to be impressed with the usefulness of MailMate's search and filter tools and in general how customizable the app is. MailMate is worth it.
Like
Version 1.12.4
Simon3
13 December 2018
Amazingly powerful email client, great support for markdown, and great search functions.
Like
Version 1.12.3
Aargl
06 October 2018
Well, I wanted to love this app, it seemed really promising, but my trial is not really convincing...
At first, I thought "Great!" when it offered to import accounts definitions from Mail or Postbox, but it didn't work well: I had to manually edit each of my 12 accounts, add the user name and check port 993 (SSL) — it didn't seem to matter whether I put my pw at this stage or not, it would ask it again (or not!) when syncing.
Sometimes "Edit account" (menu or right-click) was not responding at first try...
Once done, I had to sync the account for something to happen, it might ask once more the pw, as mentioned earlier, but in any way, it only worked if "Save in keychain" was unchecked!!! Sometimes I had to do it a few times before it works.
All this was totally impossible for Gmail: it sends me to my default browser and once accepted by Gmail, I have once more the message to send me to my default browser... (tried many times with clean profiles in Chromium, Firefox or Safari)
After relaunching the app, I had of course to reenter each pw (SBBOD when checking "Save in keychain"...) — this only will be a showstopper, for me!
Once done, the app seemed to work quite ok except I had to do it twice or more when deleting mails...
I'm giving 2 stars because I'm a good guy ;-) but it certainly doesn't suits my configuration (it might work better in recent OSes, I'm still on OS 10.9)
Like (1)
Version 1.12
2 answer(s)
Freron Software
Freron Software
03 November 2018
Thanks for the review and the 2 stars despite all of your problems.

Gmail no longer works well with password-based setups and the account importer should probably enforce the use of OAuth2. I've noted to look into that. It sounds like this wasn't the only problem. I would of course be willing to debug that (use Help > Send Feedback). I'm guessing 50% of MailMate users have Gmail accounts.

Deleting twice is because you selected the account under SOURCES. This is actually a virtual folder showing all emails within that account. The first time you delete then it's moved to the trash mailbox of the account. The second time it's deleted for good. These folders were never really intended for casual work (the virtual Inbox is for that), but I've learned that many users have done like you. I might change it some day, but it's always hard to change something that other users now rely on.

The latest update should be better for setting up Gmail accounts from scratch. You should only need to enter your name and Gmail address.

I'm sorry that your MailMate experience was a bad one.
Like (5)
Aargl
Aargl
03 November 2018
Thanks for your explanations! :-)
Like (1)
Awado
03 October 2018
This is by far the best mail application for Mac. It's full of features and does it's job very well. I only wish it was multilingual for our clients, who are not familiar with English. But I can understand it's not an easy process doing it here.
Like (3)
Version 1.12
Bytes
14 September 2018
I don't know why it took me this long to finally audition Mailmate. I have been a longtime Postbox customer but they abandoned integrating GPG since V6.0, so I searched for another email program with similar prowess. I downloaded the MailMate trial and it was quickly evident this is the email client I've always needed. Just take my money, wow this program is lean, mean, and versatile. I love the smart mailbox flexibility and after spending a few hours digging through and setting all the various options, I have now achieved email nirvana (for me). Thanks Freron Software. Spend the time folks and discover all the abilities this svelte bit of programing can do for your email work-flow.
Like (3)
Version 1.12
Martin-Backschat
15 July 2018
After a long journey from Apple Mail and Airmail, trying out Spark and Postbox, I found MailMate at last. It works fine with all my accounts (including Exchange via IMAP) and is so much more reliable than the others! And it has so many wonderful features like the several layouts, correspondence view, fast access via menubar icon ( listing unread/flagged mails with quick actions), custom keybindings, Markdown in message composer, SpamSieve integration, great search capabilities (filters, speed, Spotlight support), robust offline support, and on and on.

The only thing I dislike is the message list view; it's a 2000er-style simple list that a lot of other mail client do better, e.g. Airmail and Spark. I miss swipe gestures and breaking down a message in the list into 2+ rows and showing an avatar to the left. I improved MailMate a bit for me by assigning touch gestures via BetterTouchTool and by setting the line height delta to 10 (via font settings), so that the list is much readable.

If you are fine with IMAP only, then Mailmate is a no-brainer and will make you happy.
Cudos to the developer!!
Like (3)
Version 1.11.2
njlash
02 March 2018
The best email app for people who are serious about email. Lean and powerful.
Like (1)
Version 1.10
Levelbest
09 February 2017
Left an earlier comment pre-sales. This is a review as now I have purchased it and I have started using it. People are right, this is the best email app I have used to date. Seen them all, most of them anyway. Powerful yet flexible. It has it all. Hands down better than all the others I have used including Mail, Outlook, MailSmith and yes, even Thunderbird. When you find an app with robust (and smart) behaviors already built in, a non nerdy interpretation of how to use it's features (ie powerful but easy to figure out) and solid developer support, you buy it and you don't look back. Glad I did it.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.6
Levelbest
07 February 2017
Nervously curious. I have tried so many Mac email programs over the years. As anyone who has done this knows, they come and they go so quickly. Claris emailer and Eudora were two of the best. I have also had a license for versions of (or free), Postbox, Thunderbird, Outlook, Nisus email, Mailsmith, and of course, (Apple) Mail. Demoed several others and found them wanting for this or that reason. PowerMail was the only one I had not tried and from reading it's reviews, looks like it isn't being developed anymore for a few years. I don't mind paying for such an app. I did that for MailSmith back in the day. Of course, like ever other email program, Mailsmith stopped development too eventually. I am encouraged that the developer seems to respond here on Macupdate. I am now watching some youtube videos on MailMate. I certainly am tired of the glitchiness of Apples Mail. Outlooks old mail folders are not readable due to MS proprietary BS. Like I said, I am nervously curious - but encouraged.
Like
Version 1.9.6
1 answer(s)
lazk
lazk
31 July 2017
curious, what do you think now, in second half of 2017, and MailMate is still not updated ? Did you switch to something else ?
I'd like to use Unibox, but hesitant to pay, since the last update was in April.
Like
Dogclaws
02 January 2017
The best. The tags are so useful, and search is great. Sometimes the flashy looks of some new app makes me wander away, but I always come back! Just wish there were an iOS app that could sync the tags.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.6
Paganel
25 November 2016
best of the best
Like (1)
Version 1.9.6
larrymcj
05 October 2016
Does anyone know if MailMate puts everything into one single file, which requires Time Machine to backup that one file every time one thing is changed.. Or does it put the mail in smaller files so if something is updated, deleted, changed, etc., it doesn't require backing up that entire large file. This is why Postbox is so bad. Even Apple Mail breaks down the mail content into smaller files.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.5
1 answer(s)
graham-30
graham-30
18 October 2016
Separate files. Each message is in its own .eml file :)
Like (2)
dabcca
16 August 2016
Does Mailmate support local mailboxes? I like to pull my mail from the server and access them from a local folder. I've been playing with the demo and see this feature missing.
Like
Version 1.9.4
1 answer(s)
theresahans
theresahans
24 September 2016
Yes, in fact it works better offline than any mail program I have found. This was the main reason I was willing to pay the price for MacMail. It gives me full access to all of my folders, without waiting forever for it to try to connect to the server.
Like (1)
Mikenesmith
08 March 2016
As an email application, this promises reliability and standards compliance over features. But it doesn't deliver. Have spent the better part of a morning trying to get one of six gmail accounts running on this -- no go. It's not fast in fetching or sending mail. It doesn't offer much in the way of display options. The insistence on markdown only is absurd. It's a 2001 interface without much in the way of redeeming speed or options. Over 2 years ago this developer promised a version 2 of Mailmate via Kickstarter campaign with a goal of $25k USD. He was pledged over $42k. That was supposed to see a v2 application released in 2014. Yes, *2014*. This program has been tweaked repeatedly since then (1.x, 1.y, 1.y.x updates), but it's very idiosyncratic. And, as with any application dependent upon a single developer, if your needs/wants don't match his, forget about it. Beyond that, once the sole developer tires of this project, or Google resets its protocols yet again, good luck with the future. It would be great if this program offered a substantive improvement over Postbox (or even Thunderbird), Airmail, etc, but it doesn't -- especially at a $50 license fee. Save your money. Even if nothing better comes along, this isn't worth the cost.
Like
Version 1.9.3
2 answer(s)
Freron-Software
Freron-Software
15 March 2016
Hi Mike.

Thanks for the review. I'm sorry you had a bad experience with MailMate. You are very welcome to contact me for debugging this issue, but I understand if you don't have time for that.

A couple of comments:

* MailMate is a fully offline IMAP email client. This means that it keeps a local copy of all emails and this can make the initial synchronization very slow for large accounts. In particular for Gmail which might throttle the bandwidth.
* Please let me know in what way MailMate is not standards compliant. Contrary to Google, this is important to me.

I'm not really sure what to reply to the rest. You are entitled to your opinion, but it feels a bit like a character assassination. I would at least like to add:

* Since the crowd funding (indiegogo) I've been able to work full time on MailMate. This is much more than the 6 months promised in the campaign.
* 2.0 is just a number. I could have bumped it a long time ago, especially if all I cared about was making money on upgrades.
* The 1.x updates include much more than tweaks and much more than I've ever promised for a 2.0 release.
* I don't see any evidence that email clients developed by more than 1 person are more likely to stay in business.

Again, I'm sorry you had a bad experience with MailMate.

Kind regards,

Benny
Like (8)
dwp-1
dwp-1
23 November 2016
Everyone has different criteria a mail app must meet to complete his expectations and workflow. MailMate is built for the user that receives a lot of mail, a few hundred but still will work just as well if you only receive a dozen emails per day. The difference with MailMate is it offers additional features targeting the power user that are not found in most email clients. MaIlMate has a large community and Benny the developer is active in the community and responds to all questions. He continually updates MailMate, listens and most times adds features that the community suggests and if he doesn't he has a god reason why. He is one person trying to make living developing a Mail app that many of us cringe at the thought of using any other mail app, I recommend trying this app again and take a look at all the terrific time saving features.

As for the Kickstarter campaign he did meet his obligation long ago. You don't like the app, fine go find another email app but please refrain from insulting Benny with your opinions about how he didn't meet his obligation with the Kick Starter campaign. What do you think he can live on 42k for the rest of his life? I happily subscribe to his quarterly subscription just for the fact he deserves to be paid for his work and great work he does!
Like (1)
Michele3
13 October 2015
Might not have the slickest UI (I like it though), but it's by far the best mail client I've ever used! Great job!
Like
Version 1.9.2
Steve-Hodgson
19 August 2015
I’ve been using MailMate for over 4 years now and it has paid back the price I paid for it several times over. I rely on this app so much that I happily paid for it again when the developer crowd-funded further development. I love the stripped-down user interface and the keyboard shortcuts that allow me to manage email messages directly from the keyboard. The application is updated frequently and support, either through the mailing list, or from the developer is best-of-class. Although it has remained at 1.x, the application has been updated regular with significant enhancements. Buying this application is paying for a better tool to do a job. If that job is important to you it may be worth it.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.1
prmmupd
20 July 2015
by far the most powerful mail client!
Like (1)
Version 1.9.1
ysgad
11 July 2015
Heads-up: Does not launch for me with the Public Beta 1 of El Capitan. Seems to be fine for a few seconds, I even see the icons in the system menu bar, but they quickly disappear and I get the crash report.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.1
1 answer(s)
Freron Software
Freron Software
29 September 2015
Version 1.9.2 has just been released and should work with El Capitan.

(For the record: The bug making 1.9.1 fail was essentially a MailMate bug which was not triggered by earlier releases of OS X.)
Like (1)
Causeypike
03 July 2015
I don't know what took me so long to start really using this program. It's really superb, and the best email program I've tried. I have a couple of Gmail accounts, one of which is large with lots of traffic. I found mac mail didn't always play nice, and wanted a reliable program that interfaced well with built in address books and other applications. I loved Airmail for its prettyness, but it still has the odd slight quirk when handling emails. Postbox and Thunderbird have their place but have been a bit clunky and don't seem to integrate so well with the mac systems. Mailplane is useful, but is basically a browser for gmail as far as I can tell. Mailmate has so many nice features. It handles threads and conversations well, and I like the extra 'correspondence' window for following threads. It integrates well with different calendar and task management programs through the useful command menu. Its search is quick, accurate and powerful. It handles multiple accounts well with an integrated inbox. It works out which email accounts I want to send from automatically according to whom I'm emailing (how clever is that?!). It's easy re working with attachments etc. It's not the very prettiest of the programs, but functionally it is really robust, very user-friendly, reliable, and a pleasure to use.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.1
wolfcw
28 May 2015
Out of all Mail.app alternatives, MailMate IMHO has the best potential for email power users. I'll certainly give v2.0 another try. When trying Version 1.9.1 (5084) with an Exchange 2013 server (via IMAP) and a 15 GB mailbox (several 100,000's of emails), I ran into the following issues: 1) initial sync took several hours, and the inbox was one of the folders to be sync'd quite late, 2) MailMate crashed on the first email I tried to write (didn't happen anymore since) and didn't even leave a draft, 3) an S/MIME-encrypted was not readable/decryptable by the recipient (works fine in Mail.app with the same user certificate and recipient), 4) PGP-signing emails did not work with a cryptic error message that does not really help me. The real no-go for me is 5) MailMate keeps complaining about unknown IMAP fetch responses (E22) for certain mailboxes and either offers to take the complete account offline or to "try later", which means I have to click away this annoying error message quite often throughout a day. Along with better (i.e., more usable) Exchange IMAP server support, it'd be great to see some other features available as plugins to Mail.app natively in MailMate, such as setting a destination folder to move a newly written mail to after sending (MailHub is great in this area!). For the time being, I'll stick to Mail.app, but I'd really like to see MailMate to improve further.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.1
1 answer(s)
Freron Software
Freron Software
29 September 2015
Sorry about the late reply (I don't come here so often). If you haven't done so already then you are welcome to send feedback via “Help > Send Feedback”. The Exchange IMAP server is unfortunately extremely buggy, but in the latest release I've tried to handle this more gracefully. It's no guarantee though. In any case, I'd like to know more about your other issues. The INBOX is, by the way, now prioritized in the initial sync.
Like
ysgad
06 May 2015
I loved the demo... Version 2 was mentioned at least 2 years ago. Still waiting for it before making the jump. Any idea on the timeline for the release of 2.0?
Like
Version 1.9.1
4 answer(s)
Grmpf
Grmpf
10 May 2015
See it as a rolling release. You can for a very long time already use the v2 features if you make the tick in the general settings. If you use the test releases (which I use from the beginning) you can be bleeding edge.
Like (2)
ysgad
ysgad
12 May 2015
Excellent Grmpf, I missed that. Did what you suggested. Works, but struggling with imports for one of my (quite full) gmail account. I had a similar problem in the past, and others here have had issues with that as well. Not fully resolved I guess. It has been three hours now, and it is still trying to import. Otherwise, I like the features.
Like
Grmpf
Grmpf
12 May 2015
This is a known problem but this is due to gmail is the throtteling the traffic. Full syncing of gmail accounts can take very long time (several hours on lage mail accounts). Currently MM is not very good in operating normal until the initial full sync is not completed (this is on the todo). But after that MM behaves very well.
Like (1)
Grmpf
Grmpf
12 May 2015
Ah, if you are using many labels then you should take a closer look into the documentation of MM related to lables/tags/keywords (Account setup -> Gmail). Otherwise, if you are using multiple lables per mail, they are synced multiple times (one per label/folder).
Like
Penguirl
25 April 2015
By far the most capable (by capable I mean to my skillset, not Mailsmith) mail client I have ever used. Everything seems to be in the right place and it all comes together beautifully, it is a pleasure to use. IMAP only but I ditched POP as fast as I could so this is a plus as far as I am concerned. Now if only I had $50 laying around… (deducting ½ star because I don’t have $50 laying around).
Like
Version 1.9.1
Macott
09 July 2014
This has been my goto email client exclusively for the last 7 months. Search is great, rules for smart mailboxes are very powerful, and it works flawless with my yahoo/gmail/icoud/countermail account. Add in the built-in menu to send an email directly to OmniFocus (and other services, but OF is my tool of choice), and you have a winning application. It also has the best support for encryption that I have found. Developer is very helpful, responsive and engaged in discussions on the mailmate mailing list. Overall I would recommend this for anyone who wants a very powerful email client.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.2
OneAfter909
26 April 2014
I initially thought MailMate was overpriced. After 5 days, I believe it's worth every penny. I've tried 9 email applications since upgrading to Mavericks. Mail with Mail Act-On had been my go-to app through ML, but is barely usable now (even with the 10.9.2 update). MailMate is the only email app I've tried that has the performance and features I need for efficient work. It's easy to file messages and to quickly open any folder in any account. Fortunately, you can change the font and line-spacing in the Mailbox and Message panels. And the search and smart folder functions are brilliant. I purchased it after using the demo for only 4 days because it has helped me save time. I only wish I hadn't wasted so many weeks on all the other less-expensive email apps.
Like (5)
Version 1.7.2
PlakatV2649
29 November 2013
I wish I could use this app, but it appears that it does not work if you have large volumes of e-mail on your imap server. The beachball spins and spins, and the program is unusable. After wasting a lot of time trying to troubleshoot, I finally found other users complaining about the same problem on MailMate's bug listserv, and the developer explaining that the program wasn't optimized for large volumes of mail. Something about all the mail being indexed in a single pool, and memory management issues. A real shame, since the features look great! But despite all the reviews that describe this as a power user's program, it looks like it's precisely power users who will have trouble.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
4 answer(s)
tvalleau
tvalleau
16 December 2013
This review would be more helpful if "large number of emails" were actually a number. 1000? 2 million? At what point does it start slowing down?
Like (4)
OneAfter909
OneAfter909
26 April 2014
One discussion from 2012 in the listserv mentions 200k messages as a point at which problems may be encountered. I found one person who complained; his thread indicates there were probably other factors leading to the performance issues. (Speaking of that listserv, the developer seems to respond promptly and thoroughly.) I have two 2008 iMacs. One is running Mavericks and the other one uses Mountain Lion. I have six email accounts. The largest has over 55,000 messages and the total number of messages is a little less than 100k. I haven't had problems with MailMate; perhaps I would if I had twice as many messages stored. When I began using MailMate, the account with the largest number of messages had a beachball that was spinning more often than the other accounts. I tried different sync schedules for that account (right-click the account under SOURCES and select Synchronization Schedules); there is now much less beachball activity, due to the sync schedule changes or due to MailMate having sufficient time to sync the numerous messages. By the way, when the beachball is spinning, it does not seem to affect performance and I am able to use that account just as if there was no beachball.
Like
Balanchine
Balanchine
18 March 2015
I have about 87,000 messages in the inbox on my Yahoo server. MailMate downloads about 72,000 of them, then I get an error message and it takes my Yahoo account offline. Unfortunately the missing messages are the most recent ones.

I love the search and smart mailbox features of MailMate, but if it can't read my inbox, then it's back to Airmail.
Like
Freron Software
Freron Software
16 April 2015
@PlakatV2649: Performance should be better in the recent 1.9 release.

@Balancine: Please contact me for debugging (Help > Send Feedback or via http://freron.com/contact). Yahoo IMAP isn't the most robust IMAP server, but it could also be a MailMate bug.
Like (2)
TomEck
07 November 2013
I just wanted to add my voice to the praise of this excellent email client. It might for some users not that eye candy but what you get is a sophisticated and most reliable email client with tons of features and a responsive developer. Highly recommend for business users but for private users, too! I recommend any interested user to give the test version a serious try!
Like (2)
Version 1.7
Sherman-Wilcox
29 October 2013
Just a brief review to say that this application is wonderful: clean, powerful, a keyboard-user's dream. It feels lean and yet has some subtle and very effective power features. Amazing technical support from the developer. Support this application!
Like (1)
Version 1.7
Tomeg
17 October 2013
1.7 MailMate update fails. System Alert says the update has an "internal inconsistency" therefore update can't be completed. Downloading from developer's site similarly fails when 1.7 updated app launches.
Like
Version 1.7
2 answer(s)
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
22 October 2013
I have no other reports about this. I would appreciate if you could contact me by email if you have time to help me find out why it doesn't work for you (go to the contact page on the homepage). Thanks in advance.
Like
Tomeg
Tomeg
23 October 2013
No problem since I updated to Mavericks! Whatever it may have been no longer is a problem. Thanks again for your (I think) help! Love this app!
Like (1)
Macmath17
17 October 2013
Caye has said it in a nutshell, and things have only improved since I wrote my review of the previous version (below Caye's). Many of the items mentioned in the reviews below have been addressed (such as seeing how the viewed email is going to look). This is not the Mac App Store; give it a test drive.
Like (1)
Version 1.7
Caye
17 October 2013
Yes it is powerful, but don't let those "for the power-user" reviews turn you away. MailMate delivers power with ease of use as well. MailMate is very fast and has search, smart mailbox (with smart submailboxes), and tagging capabilities better than any I've seen. I love the correspondence view, and the availability of Markup within the composer. The developer is extremely active and is adding capabilities all the time, as well as honing the existing capabilities. He is also extremely responsive.
Like (1)
Version 1.7
Macmath17
20 July 2013
In the last two updates, MailMate has added functionality that is simply incredible, so it is time for me to write another review. If you have not tried MailMate in the last 2 months, it is also time to run it through its paces again in the light of this functionality. I process a lot of email in a day with something at least 40 emails going out and 60 or so coming in (not counting spam or emails that I don't wish to read). Since I like a clean inbox, and I like to organize what I see coming in, that volume of mail could be very time consuming. However, with MailMate I am able to read and organize my email and keep a clean inbox with little effort and without the time-consuming hassle of moving emails to folders. This is possible because MailMate has added Tagging, and because its search functionality and its extremely smart SmartMailboxes. Some email goes with a particular project, which I tag with the project name; email which is critical but which can't be immediately answered gets a tag of 'critical' (and a tag of its project name, if it goes with a project); email which I've responded to but which I will need to move along further after I receive a reply back is tagged 'followup' (and a project tag, if relevant). Once the email is tagged, I archive it and it is no longer in the Inbox. Tagging is very quick (perhaps a keystroke) as is removing an old tag and adding a new one. Emails are now categorized by some tag of relevance and some tag of what level of reply is needed. I have a smart mailbox for Critical mail and Followup mail, and for some important projects. MailMate can organize the mail within a smart mailbox by any criteria by which you can search: header items, tags, dates, subjects, contacts, the mailer used to sent the message..., the list is almost endless. So, when I look into my Critical smart mailbox I can see all the critical mail organized within folders by Project. I can have another Critical smart mailbox which is organized inside by what day or what month the email arrived (some things are more critical than others ;-) ). So if I can put some organization behind the smart mailbox with essentially no effort. The search capability is amazing due to the ability to search by all those same items as mentioned above, as well as the nest the searches. It is next to impossible to lose any email if you remember anything about it at all. Viewing your emails is also very convenient. There are a number of layouts available, and it is possible to write your own layouts as well. My favorite is "Correspondence" in which while you're reading an email you can see (in another pane) a header each for any other email correspondence with the sender. Another layout that I use sometimes shows at a glance the relationship between each email in a thread (which was a reply to which). I don't know what others use, but I now have any functionality that I used in other email clients, and then some. [That is not to say that MailMate has every functionality of Mail (for instance), but I am sure that it has some that Mail does not] Within MailMate, it is possible to write using markup language, and not only that but it has a WYSIWYG view pane below so that you can see how it will be seen by the people reading the email. It is also easy to place pictures inline in your emails (drag-and-drop while writing as a MarkUp email). [Drag-and-drop also works from an email that you are reading to your desktop.] After writing your email you can also set a time when the email will be sent. I don't know what more I could ask it to do. I want for nothing, and I have a lot more time back since I left Mail almost 3 years ago: both because it is some much easier to use while keeping on top of your mail load, and because it is more spry in handling my 90,000 messages over 3 IMAP accounts. I am sure that I missed some items, but the review is too long already. The developer is very responsive, and that is one of those things that can't be bought (except through a license fee to this developer :-) ).
Like (7)
Version 1.6
MnogoMnogo
10 May 2013
Oh how I wish the designer of this software didn't have philosophical objections to WYSIWYG email text entry. It's really a fantastic program in all the ways that other reviews have described: quick, stable, with wonderful search capabilities. But not being able to see what your message will look like before you send it, to check that bullets, italics, indentation are all in the right places, makes it impossible for me to use the program. The developer outlines his aesthetic, moral and ethical objections to WYSIWYG for e-mail, but I honestly don't get it, and found MailMate sadly unacceptable for composing mail for this -- and only this -- reason. Please, at least make WYSIWYG an option?
Like
Version 1.5.4
1 answer(s)
Caye
Caye
30 May 2013
Write to the author and ask for a link to the current beta. Currently, there are two panes and you can see in the second pane WYG from what you type in the first pane.
Like (2)
Lumac52
06 October 2012
Really nice and useful app. Just purchased to support continued developement. I use Gmail, and just used MailMate to clear out my inbox very quickly and efficiently. I kept Apple Mail open at the same time (easier creation of new Gmail labels from within Apple Mail), as well as Gmail in my browser, and everything worked smoothly (just had to manually initiate sync within MailMate once in a while to keep things updated). A solid email client with truly powerful search --- big timesaver.
Like
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Lumac52
Lumac52
06 October 2012
A clarification: Regarding what sets MailMate apart, it's not actually the search function per se, but rather the advanced Smart Folder functionality.
Like (1)
Dm9999
28 June 2012
MailMate is a very thoughtful and reliable mail client. I appreciate the simple interface and the ability to edit and archive my emails with a few keystrokes. Some highlights are: Intelligent search capabilities, clever handling of signatures, and customization of keyboard commands. For me the possibility to disable the automatic marking of "Read" is very handy, because I share one of my IMAP-accounts with others. The developer is very helpful and responsive. I've used MailMate for several months.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
Emile100
16 June 2012
Just gave it a try, MailMate looks good but : no inline images ? I may be missing something but this is a real deal killer. I send lots of pictures and screen captures. I really hope the developer adds that.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Caye
Caye
30 May 2013
Write to the author and ask for a link to the current beta. This has changed.
Like
YankeeInParis
25 March 2012
I found this program remarkably and pleasantly lightweight and efficient... just what I was looking for in order to access my humongous IMAP database. (I was specifically looking for something less top-heavy and quirky than Thunderbird... don't even mention the native Apple offering.) Unfortunately there is not way I've yet found of deleting messages in the ordinary IMAP way, i.e. simply marking them deleted and periodially compacting folders. I'm afraid that makes MailMate unusable for me. I hope these features get added, I'll come back and try it again if they do.
Like
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
27 March 2012
Thanks for the feedback. I'm not sure how well the MacUpdate site will handle the formatting of the following, but note that using custom key bindings, you could define, for example: "d" = ( "toggleTag:", "\\Deleted"); Or you could have explicit keys for setting/removing the flag. "d" = ( "setTag:", "\\Deleted"); "D" = ( "removeTag:", "\\Deleted"); You could also override the default key binding: "\UF728" = ( "toggleTag:", "\\Deleted"); // ⌦ A red dot is displayed for each message with the Deleted flag set. With respect to “compaction”, there is no simple way to do that yet, but feature requests are always welcome. I think your request is already covered by ticket #232, but you can add comments if you like.
Like (3)
jasimon9
22 March 2012
I was so looking forward to replacing Mail, because Lion gave us the 3-column view with one hand, but with the other hand virtually destroyed the 2nd column. Apparently Apple dumbed it down to look like email on a smartphone. If you want to have a useful header list with multiple, sortable columns, you need to review to the "classic" view. And tools such as Harnly's letterbox no longer work to fix that into something useful. So I was delighted to try MailMate and see if it bridged the gap. Unfortunately for me, after first installing it, the program will not run. When trying to launch it, it simply goes into an indeterminate non-responsive state making Force Quit the only choice. I find it odd with all the complaints here that OS X Mail is sluggish and prone to hang; I find the opposite. OS X Mail is quite stable for me (although it does get sluggish); MailMate will not even run for me. I should say that I have quite a large volume of mail; probably in excess of 5GB. Don't know if that is a factor. I "should say it", even at the risk of provoking a lot of adverse comment about such a volume. Because I have not been able to use the program, I cannot give it a rating, except possibly for stability: "it will not run." But this dialog forces a rating. So what can I do? I suppose I could try a reinstall. For now, since it does not work at all, I have uninstalled it.
Like
Version 1.4.1
5 answer(s)
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
22 March 2012
Thanks for trying out MailMate. I'm sorry it didn't work for you. I do think MailMate is quite stable (I receive a very small number of crash reports) and I think it is likely that your problems are related to the volume of mail. I know some users have well beyond 100,000 messages in MailMate, but there is a practical limit to how many messages MailMate can currently handle. This is related to how MailMate is designed. All messages are essentially handled as if they were in one big mailbox and all other mailboxes are queries within this mailbox. It is extremely flexible, but it also has a price with respect to memory and cpu time. That said, you are still very much welcome to send additional details (like a hang report). I would like to make sure that your problem is related to the number of messages. You can find an email address in the contact page on the homepage. Thanks in advance.
Like (2)
jasimon9
jasimon9
22 March 2012
Thanks for getting back to me so quickly. That quick response bodes well for you and your company! Regarding my volume: I do have over 530,000 mail items, with the oldest going back to 1997. My workflow makes this level of retention mandatory. Not that I retain anything near "everything." I did send a couple of hang reports to Apple; do they forward those to you?
Like
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
22 March 2012
No, Apple does not forward any crash reports from non-App Store applications. 530K messages is more than MailMate can currently handle. The only workaround would be to synchronize fewer messages, for example, by unsubscribing some mailboxes using “Edit Subscriptions...”.
Like (1)
jasimon9
jasimon9
22 March 2012
Thanks again for your quick response. I don't think that unsubscribing some mailboxes would meet my needs, without a thorough re-partitioning of how I arrange mail. I am hoping that at some point in the future you might evolve the product to a more capable version with respect to number of messages. In the meantime, I might consider a test of the type you mention (via Edit Subscriptions) which might allow a more thorough evaluation of the product. When I first installed it, it imported the IMAP info from OS X Mail and proceeded to download everything. It would seem more practical to not do it this way, because otherwise the same problem is created. So how do I get to the Edit Subscriptions beforehand?
Like
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
22 March 2012
The import window shown when you first started also included an “Edit Subscriptions...” button. To start over (completely) you can delete: ~/Library/Application Support/MailMate/ If you proceed then I would appreciate if we could switch to email correspondence. It's much nicer to work in MailMate than in the textview of this webpage :-)
Like (2)
johnels
10 February 2012
I'd like to add the the chorus of positive feedback for this seemingly simple, yet immensly powerful mail client. I've had to move to IMAP for various reasons and MailMate is the only app I've found so far that doesn't get in the way adding unnecessary features. This came home the other day while trying to show my wife how Mac OS X Lion Mail worked... (it basically didn't). She's getting MailMate. It feels like there is a lot to come from MailMate. The developer is working really hard on this and is very responsive. I hope this project goes well enough to allow him to keep on with it. I think it has the potential to be a five-star app and I for one, am onboard.
Like (1)
Version 1.4
Mainrotor
08 February 2012
Before you buy licenses for Sparrow, Postbox, or commit to another Mail client on Mac, give MailMate a try. I followed all the reviews for Sparrow and paid for it, THEN used it for two weeks and realized it came up short. I am a very satisfied MailMate user and I want to see it survive. I think MailMate is woefully under-publicized. Good software surprises a user with thoughtful features. MailMate helps in subtle ways that just aren't obvious until you use it for a few weeks. Things like smart signatures, noticing that "attached" is in the body and asking if something needs to be attached if I forgot, and checking if I've changed a subject line in a reply do I want to start a new thread. By far my favorite feature is "Correspondence View", which is hard to describe in words. Correspondence View ROCKS! This is one of those functions that you don't know you need until you try it. It's excellent for seeing all associated emails to make the task of purging easy and fast. I finally have my grossly overwhelmed gmail account of 12,000 messages whittled down to 3,000 (and improving daily)!
Like (2)
Version 1.4
Phu
12 October 2011
Very good IMAP client: fast, easy too use, powerful search feature, full offline support. Also developer is very responsive to solve the problem.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.1
larsolsson
30 August 2011
Fast. Powerful. More flexible (search-wise) than anything I've seen since the days when Mailsmith actually mattered. Add tagging capabilities and GPG support, and you'll have me 100% (not to mention that fifth star) for the foreseeable future.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
Benny-Kjær-Nielsen
31 August 2011
Thanks for the positive review. Note that simple tagging using IMAP keywords is possible using custom key bindings. Also, there is some experimental support for GPG, but so far it can only verify/decrypt so-called ASCII armored body parts. See the chapter about Hidden Preferences in the Help Book. Feedback is welcome (by email).
Like
Macjudge
03 August 2011
After upgrading to Lion, Mail.app doesn't do the Job for me anymore and I'm now eagerly looking for an alternative. Mail clients such as Thunderbird and Postbox were out right away because I tried them in the past and didn't like them so much. I've also had a look at Outlook 2011 but I'm not a fan of it and don't need most of it's functionality. I soon stumbled upon MailMate and so far I'm very satisfied with it. There are many things I like about it: - Simplicity - It feels slightly quicker then Mail.app - Regularly updated by the Author - Very Stable so far (4 IMAP Accounts) At the moment I'm still running Mail.app and MailMate side by side as I'm trying to figure out which works more efficiently for me. I really like that MailMate is still in a rather early stage of development and since the Author seems pretty responsive I believe there's a lot of potential! There's one thing I noticed while running Mail.app and MailMate side by side. With the same EMail Accounts, doing simply replying EMails in MailMate and other Hand copying thousands of EMails to another Account in Mail.App, I've noticed that MailMate uses quite some extra RAM (172.5MB vs 257.9MB). The same thing happens when they only 'sit' there after a fresh boot up. Mail.app uses 66MB and MailMate jumped up to 124MB and stays around there. Anyway, I didn't mean to write so much. I can definitely recommend MailMate and I'm looking forward to see some more progress!
Like (4)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Mikaelf
Mikaelf
25 August 2011
Curious, what's wrong with Mail.app? One thing that you might want to check is the usage of disk space. Mail.app and other System files are compressed on disk in Mac OS X. 3rd party mail programs don't get that benefit. With the same setup between Mail.app and Postbox it was 5GB vs. 18GB used on disk. This is only for the full indexes of one mail account. I have no local folders, all mails are on the server.
Like
wickedsp1d3r
15 July 2011
I think MailMate is the best email client for the Mac. The speed, the features and the simplicity are fantastic... and the developer is very helpful and co-operative. Excellent!
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Gerrit-Kruijer
24 June 2011
Excellent piece of software. Highly recommended. Had a few questions that are answered by the developer very quickly. He is very willing to help
Like (2)
Version 1.2