Back to IconBox page
IconBox free download for Mac

IconBox Reviews

2.6.6
06 January 2016

Customize and organize icons across your Mac.

md828
08 July 2010

Most helpful

Wow well done. This app is very close to CandyBar, but the interface offers several improvements and there is integration for icon downloads. I have to admit, the resemblance to CandyBar is quite striking, even the quirky icon transitions when switching collections is the same, I wonder if there is any connection from the developers? One huge request: please allow us to import our entire CandyBar libraries. I'd love to easily move my collection over to IconBox, but I'm not able to. Pros: • Get info window is integrated as a sidebar. Selecting an icon automatically shows its info. CandyBar, on the other hand, has a separate window which needs to be brought up manually for every icon and adds window clutter. • Exporting to PNG correctly shows 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512 sizes. CandyBar is broken here and will not allow the user to export to 256, it only shows 255. Cons: • When importing an icontainer, the icons are imported individually not as a collection. This is horrible design/bug. If I import a Star Trek set, I want the set to be imported as a collection with its icon, and author info etc. • I can't drag icons, or icontainers to the IconBox icon to import. • The groups, boxes and library for organization seem confusing. I imported an icontainer and it asked me to create a library. The "library" seems to act like a box, I can put a box and a "library" inside of a group. What's a library for? I'm confused. • Delete key doesn't work when trying to delete a group or box. • When searching for icons, when selecting an icon in search results, it's not possible to find out which collection the icon belongs to. Finally some serious competition to CandyBar. I'm looking forward to fixes and new features. The challenge now is whether there will be significant progress periodically, or whether it will fall into life support like candybar and keep design flaws and bugs for eternity. Let hope it's the former.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.0

Read 62 IconBox User Reviews

Rate this app:

JamesHarrisPhoto
18 November 2019
Still works fine on Catalina even though development has stopped.
Like
Version 2.6.6
Psychiatry
18 August 2017
It is dead. It is abandoned. The developer did not have the decency to keep a website where we can download it. Nor did he even announced he had abandoned the app. Sad. I can't rely on it since IconBox ERASED all of the icons I had stored in it. So I don't recommend it for storing your icon collections. Luckily, Candy Bar still works. Yes, you cannot replace system icons since that function can no longer be updated. But for icon storage, organization, and for applying icons to non-system files, it works great. Panic, the company that developed CandyBar, has great software engineers so I expect Candy Bar to work for a while longer, particularly since it is a 64-bit app.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
02 April 2018
LiteIcon can allow you to replace system icons.
Continue to use CandyBar.
DO NOT use IconBox. Sad.
Like (1)
Maclover1-1
07 June 2017
NOT DEVELOPED ANYMORE, SAD. I moved from Candybar to this.. and am left an Orphan again. Dev should at least sell it or give it to some other dev happy to maintain it.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
06 July 2017
Same here. Candybar was awesome even for organizing icons only. I don't need any fancy system icon replacement automation suite. Just a nice app that'll let me organize my icons… Now I wanted to reinstall it on my new Mac and although I paid for this software now it's just gone. Just like that.
Like (1)
M-Prewitt
21 April 2017
Software cannot be registered (using previously purchased license codes). Software registration process is broken, developer website has been shut down.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.6
MikeyBlueEyes
19 January 2017
DANGER WILL ROBINSON! The developer site link is dead-ended and there is no access to support. Approach this purchase with caution.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.6
Dee4
24 October 2016
Developer's website no longer appears to exist. Keep being routed to a generic website and cannot locate on worldwide web. Has it been discontinued?
Like (1)
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
MikeyBlueEyes
MikeyBlueEyes
19 January 2017
as of today the situation seems the same-Hey MacUpdate...should you be selling unsupported software?
Like
marnold2000
21 August 2016
I'm thinking about buying this software but need to know if it works in Sierra or not. Does anyone know? Thanks!
Like
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
19 November 2016
It works on sierra just fine, but the developer's website is no more and it looks like it has been discontinued.
Like
skyeword
28 June 2016
Why is the developer answering questions as if the app is still active and not clarifying the true state of this software? Still getting the daily sucker to pay for it perhaps? An exceptional app. Why the poor attitude?
Like
Version 2.6.6
Luxury820511
30 January 2016
"Invalid License Key"......... What should I do???
Like
Version 2.6.6
3 answer(s)
Jlock
Jlock
01 February 2016
Hi Luxury820511,

If you're having issues with your license key, please contact us at support. You can do this by clicking on this link: http://support.macupdate.com/contact/
Like
theqse
theqse
14 January 2017
Jlock, I want to migrate my icons to IconJar, but have not found a way to do it. It does not read iContainers and even if I export as a zip, it saves the icons as folders, which iconJar can't read. Do you know a way to export the library, in categories included? Thanks!
Like
tmo1138
tmo1138
27 November 2017
"What should I do???"

Move to another product.
Like
Raro
27 January 2016
Why is this app so heavy (305.8 MB)?
Like
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
Soenens
Soenens
29 January 2016
Because it contains all the backup system icons i case you need a restore...
Like (1)
James-Learner
22 January 2016
Valid license "invalid"; "won't take same license twice online " messageWhat can I do to use the license I paid for?
Like
Version 2.6.6
4 answer(s)
Soenens
Soenens
23 January 2016
Hi James, this is surely not a message coming from IconBox. Can you send me a screenshot? Thanks in advance, Florian.
Like
James-Learner
James-Learner
24 January 2016
Hi Florian, this IS a message from IconBox.. I changed my email and license number but the message is the same than with the correct info :Screen shot Icon Box 2016-01-23 à 23.04.12
Like
Soenens
Soenens
25 January 2016
Hi James, replied via email. However, i don't see the message "won't take same license twice online" in your screenshot... ;-)
Like
James-Learner
James-Learner
27 January 2016
Thanks Florian, the problem was in the name I used to register. Now everything is solved: I am registered.
Looking forward to using your nice software. Thanks.
Like
Eviandem
09 January 2016
Developer does not respond at all to questions, after upgrade to El Capitan (license problems)
Like
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
Soenens
Soenens
09 January 2016
Hi, please try entering your email address in both fields. If that doesn't work, let me know. Thanks in advance.
Like (1)
Nicksloan
07 January 2016
Why 308 MB? Previous versions, as far as I can tell, were 20 to 30 MB.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
Soenens
Soenens
09 January 2016
It's been quite a while that it is that large. We bundle the original system icons with the app for restore purposes. Best regards, Florian.
Like (1)
lursay
18 December 2015
NOT working under el Capitan and have lost my money since purchasing via Appstore which is no more linked to the soft and these hooligans do not answer to any of my mails. Keep away
Like (1)
Version 2.6.5
2 answer(s)
Ahasver
Ahasver
06 January 2016
I agree they don't answer emails or twitter questions. But it was just updated and should work in El Capitain. My license key doesn't work so I couldn't even try. And still no answer.
Like
Soenens
Soenens
09 January 2016
Hi, please try entering your email address in both fields. If that doesn't work, let me know. Thanks in advance.
Like
Nimai-pandit
25 May 2015
Is this still under development? Would be grateful if we were told to pull out before losing data. It's just decent etiquette to let us know what's going on.

Thank you,
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
1 answer(s)
Junglerolf
Junglerolf
26 July 2015
agree. so is it not? www.iconboxapp.com/ is blank and does not even give error message in browser.
Like
spider916
03 April 2015
No Yosemite support :(
Like
Version 2.6.0
Caiyne
30 March 2015
No development..Did this kind of app die for Mac OS? I don't see any kind of apps in development that are like IconBox (or CandyBar). I used to love this app and used it a lot. I love icons and being able to organize them and sort them into custom categories and easily be able to use them to change an icon or export them for other uses. Anyone find or use another app in place of this one? Also one that works with Yosemite?
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
1 answer(s)
Junglerolf
Junglerolf
26 July 2015
loved app too. what a shame. why would there be no such app on OSX anymore?! Mac is visually/graphically the most appealing OS, even was 1st OS to add icons, so strange no one is doing an iPhoto for icons. As for IconBox or CandyBar, if they no longer develop great apps, guess it was not profitable and no one cares to buy apps off to resume dev?
Like
Kzx72
26 November 2014
Not working with Yosemite 10.X for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
macupdatefturpin
20 November 2014
I need to download the 2.5 v I can not find it following the email instructions.
Like
Version 2.6.0
macupdatefturpin
20 November 2014
How can I download the 2.5 version that I bought? I can not use the same license.
Like
Version 2.6.0
gluhring
01 November 2014
IconBox has been my preferred icon changer and librarian for many years. Even when CandyBar was still alive, as soon as I tried IconBox I switched over. It is a little slow at times but only when searching for icons in the apps on your Mac. It's not like you change your app icons every day. Import/Export functions are great. I just stopped by here to check on Yosemite compatability & saw the previous 2 comments. 5 Stars to help counteract the last reviewer (obviously dealing with limitations not pertaining to IconBox) Your note to the previous reviewer stating that you needed some encouragement to continue development. Keep it up Florian! It's a very good app. Now, one of a kind.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
1 answer(s)
Junglerolf
Junglerolf
26 July 2015
indeed, Florian, keep it up, we love iB! hope you and family are alright? if you have no more time, could you do a bi-yearly or yearly update to keep up with OS? or sell it to a dev? if not, why do you think no one else besides you and Panic are bothering with OSX icon manager? thanks for iB. all the Best.
Like
Maclover1-1
15 August 2014
Good app to organize all my icons since Candybar passed away.. but extremely slow as in "not quite compatible" with Yosemite. I hope the dev will keep developing it.. or I'll be an IconManagementApp orphan again :0( I'm not using this to customize my Mac but to organize my icons collections. We really need an app like this and at this point it is the only one I'm aware of. This is 4 stars for encouragement, make it stable and faster with Yosemite soon and you get 5 stars.
Like
Version 2.6.0
1 answer(s)
Florke
Florke
22 September 2014
We are working on it and this review gives us even more courage to go on with IconBox ;-)
Like
Iaian7
29 January 2014
Helper app installation (to enable changing icons of Mac App Store purchases) is broken in the app preferences, and the only way I could get it working was to download a separate installer from the website. Not a good start. Unfortunately, I'm also entirely unable to license the app! No matter what information I enter (following instructions elsewhere on MacUpdate including registered email, purchase email, or full name) my valid license is refused. I emailed support 6 days ago and still haven't heard back. No resolution.
Like
Version 2.6.0
3 answer(s)
Iaian7
Iaian7
29 January 2014
I finally got the registration to work, but still no help from the developer...not sure what's going on there. :(
Like
jbert38
jbert38
21 February 2014
I have the same problem and support does not respond. How did you do?
Like
Iaian7
Iaian7
21 February 2014
Have you tried using your email address instead of your name? I'd originally used my payment email (via paypal), but it was a different address that I'd registered with when signing up for an app bundle. Confusing. :(
Like (1)
Xevious-Mann
14 January 2014
Developer site returns page not found on download link. The main site loads blank. An app you can't even get is pretty useless.
Like
Version 2.6.0
mdbl
16 December 2013
Works great for adding missing icons for WINE apps or X Window applications on my mac. I am pleased overall with this app. Tech support reached me within one business day regarding a Licence Key Issue. (btw if your macbundle Licence key doesn't work enter your email as your name.) Other people prolly know that trick but this was my first macbundle purchase and I'm mostly pleased. Cons: Hangs when accessing folders with a huge amount of icons.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.0
2 answer(s)
mdbl
mdbl
16 December 2013
P.S. Runs fine under Mavericks for me as of the date of review.
Like
Franceg
Franceg
17 December 2013
Many thanks for License trick !!
Like
Enzan
14 December 2013
Still installs and runs on 10.6.8.
Like
Version 2.6.0
Shmk
13 December 2013
Doesn't work in Mavericks, it won't even install the icon helper tool so I can't really do anything with it. Until these issues are addressed I think it is misleading to say it works with mavericks.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.0
n@ncy
12 December 2013
Was happy to see this app was updated, because CandyBar is abandoned. However: this only works half. I have logged out several times, relaunched finder and dock and there are still icons that simply won't change. It says it's compatible with Mavericks, but I guess not? Such a shame because I've used both this app and CandyBar so much in the past and really need it, still. Hope things will get fixed otherwise I'll have to restore to the painful manual changes...
Like
Version 2.6.0
3 answer(s)
n@ncy
n@ncy
12 December 2013
Also, after using Iconbox to change some systemicons, I now get this error when I insert a CD: "The system extension “/System/Library/Extensions/IOStorageFamily.kext” was installed improperly and cannot be used. Please try reinstalling it, or contact the product’s vendor for an update." which results in me not being able to see/open te cd since it won't show on the desktop or any app. Not good! (I have not tested this with dvd's or usb drives, but might be the same issue)
Like
n@ncy
n@ncy
14 December 2013
It turns out USB drives are not recognised either anymore, due to this. IconBox basically ruined my Mac and this is NOT acceptable. Turns out the Mavericks update is basically still in Beta testing and this should have been mentioned. Be warned: using IconBox under Mavericks will mess with your system up to the point you won't be able to use USB drives and/or CD's/DVD's anymore, because 'IOStorageFamily.kext' is being edited and displaying errors. I can't even manually open my TimeMachine sparsebundle anymore for the same reasons. Hope to hear from the developer about this.
Like
n@ncy
n@ncy
17 December 2013
Still replying to my own review. Anyway, UPDATE: repairing permissions seems to solve the issue concerning system icons. I still think this should be mentioned somewhere since it took an entire system install for me to discover where the problem came from. Not needed.
Like
AndreHuertas6607
08 December 2013
Does Not work with Mavericks... Tried everything!!
Like
Version 2.6.0
4 answer(s)
AndreHuertas6607
AndreHuertas6607
08 December 2013
Wasted $15.00 dollars.. False advertising, says it supports Mav 10.9!!
Like
Florke
Florke
09 December 2013
Hi, what exactly doesn't work?
Like
AndreHuertas6607
AndreHuertas6607
09 December 2013
When I attempt to swap an icon out for sets I have in my library, they don't load, the program asks me to logout, but when I log back in, the icons don't change into the new ones I've assigned. The dock section is also non functional as well.. Please advise.
Like
HarrijM
HarrijM
11 December 2013
Nothing works !! Create new box NO add smart box NO import icons NO import icontainer NO Simply said absolutely nothing happens when using the menu. How simple explanation is this .. Really nothing works ... Well the program opens.. so thats something...
Like (1)
Maclover1-1
05 December 2013
I was able to import all my Candybar and iCOntainers and folders of .icns but not any icons in png's (have loads of those..). Also I wish it'd import .svg icons.. I actually "only" need this tool as a place/hub to keep my web design icons, not to toy around customizing the OS appearance (which I could not care less about). SO I'm not yet impressed.. I was hoping this would be much better.. I can just hope this evolves into this direction.
Like
Version 2.6.0
1 answer(s)
Florke
Florke
06 December 2013
Hi, png's shouldn't be any problem. Do you get an error message when importing png's?
Like
IzacWylde
04 December 2013
Current Issues: 1. IconBox Helper Tool - I was unable to properly install this from the application preferences; It would prompt for my admin password, but never install. I was able to download the standalone helper from the website, which did install. 2. Changing Volume Icons and Home Folder Icons - I found some icons, copied them to their desired locations, clicked the checkmark, logged out via the prompt, then when I logged back in, nothing changed for the Home Folder or Macintosh HD volume. Restarting also failed to apply the icons. I was able to manually change them with the same icons following http://support.apple.com/kb/ht2493 . 3. Online Icon Finder - Every time I use the search tool, I'm able to find tons of great icons, that when I drag to the download box, downloads a blank file.
Like
Version 2.6.0
2 answer(s)
Brianng88
Brianng88
23 December 2013
Same here!
Like
Christos-M
Christos-M
21 July 2014
+1
Like
HarrijM
04 December 2013
Uhh...... this doesn't work on my mavericks ?? Try to import Candybar stuff and yes I see the icons being converted on the go, but when its finished.....yep NOTHING ?? Create a new box , smart box..... and yep... NOTHING happens..... beats me but its crap and cost me money
Like
Version 2.6.0
6 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
04 December 2013
Are you using 2.6?
Like
HarrijM
HarrijM
04 December 2013
Ofcourse
Like
pl-svn
pl-svn
04 December 2013
almost the same here: progress bar shows for less than a second (7000+ icons in CandyBar) but nothing is imported contacted support via email and so far (24+ hours) no answer :-/
Like
Soenens
Soenens
05 December 2013
Hi HarrijM, have you sent an email describing the problem? We are answering all emails in the best possible way. Also, it has been tested with a 10000+ CandyBar collection with no problems so we need to e able to isolate the problem in order to fix it. Looking forward to your email, Best regards, Florian.
Like
HarrijM
HarrijM
05 December 2013
Hello Florian, thanks for your reply. do you have an email so i can sent you some sreendumps ?
Like
Florke
Florke
05 December 2013
Hi HarrijM, that'll be info@iconboxapp.com More info on our website www.iconboxapp.com Cheers, Florian.
Like
Kenbotwinick
13 November 2013
When is this going to be updated? You say it has "active development" unlike Candybar, yet the last version of Candybar is actually more recent than the last version of this "actively developed" app... Which is over 1.5 years old... Also, I just downloaded and tried the trial. I went to the "Icon of the Day" and downloaded it into my empty "My Box". Then I went to My Box to look at it. Nothing there. So then I went to Downloaded and there it was at 16 px, even though the default icon size is set to 128 px. Then I went back to My Box, and lo and behold it was now there... Buggy. Then I wanted to try and import my CandyBar Collection. I know the trial is limited to 250 (or something like that) and I have more than that in CandyBar. But I figured it would import the first 250. Nope. Didn't do anything. At all. Except tell me how long it was going to take to import. And then immediately returned as if it was done. No icons imported. I'd like to support this as my CandyBar replacement. But considering it's over 1.5 years since it was updated, and I ran into 2 really noticeable bugs right away, I'm steering clear until the next update...
Like (1)
Version 2.5.9
4 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
21 November 2013
An update with Mavericks support is due out very soon (December).
Like
Kenbotwinick
Kenbotwinick
21 November 2013
I really look forward to it and hope it works great. Thanks.
Like
Soenens
Soenens
23 November 2013
Thanks Misha, indeed, an update is on it's way. Please be patient a little more. Best regards, Florian.
Like
Kenbotwinick
Kenbotwinick
04 December 2013
Would love to try 2.6, but it tells me my 15 day trial has expired since I had tried 2.5 so long ago. 2.6 should reset the trial period.
Like
Psychiatry
27 October 2013
IconBox is a replacement for CandyBar. And it has a developer who is interested in updating it, unlike CandyBar, which was abandoned by its developer Panic and IconFactory. It literally does everything CandyBar can do including storing and organizing icons. Unfortunately, it currently cannot replace the system icons such as the default folder icon in Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks. This is a key feature for this software. Certainly, there are constraints imposed by selling it in the Mac App Store. But I would gladly pay for it again on the developer's site.
Like
Version 2.5.9
1 answer(s)
Soenens
Soenens
29 October 2013
Hi, thanks for the feedback. We will try to do the best possible but even out of the Mac App Store, not everything in the system will be customizable, at least not without infecting the Operating System. So hold on and expect un update when we think it's ready. Cheers.
Like (1)
hugelshofer
16 February 2013
I dont believe it. testing it again under Mac OS X Snow Leopard (10.6.8) with a fresh install. searching for some icons in the search tab and I am looking at icons without a picture. kinda Ghost icons. What is it useful for? :wondering: Then I drop an icon and another down left in the download area. Even dropping an icon that has no (picture) preview. Afterwards I want to look at my new icons and change to the Organize tab. I dont when exactly, but this d..mn App crashes (again). Are you kidding me? I definitely lost my trust in this Developer. They should go out and work in the gardening business or i dot now where, BUT please let us alone the Apple world with this crappy Software Code. Fazit: those $ 20. I spent are the most wasteful dollars I spent in my whole life. Shame on the Developers.
Like
Version 2.5.9
Mark-Lee
07 February 2013
"Arrange Icons by" thingy needs to have Ascending/Descending option.
Like
Version 2.5.9
pl-svn
11 January 2012
... v2.5.4 fixes a "potential" crash? a *guaranteed* crash sounds more appropriate :-p oh... and each time I update through sparkle the app, instead of relaunching, crashes (but update succeeds). always did since v2.0! v.1, years ago, was pretty good but since development stopped for years and CandyBar became such a great, flawless, product... this is the last crash I'll tolerate: bye-bye, IconBox!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.4
1 answer(s)
Soenens
Soenens
11 January 2012
Believe me if i say it's a potential crash. We (and some testusers) were only able to reproduce it in about 30% of our searches. That said, sorry about Sparkle crashing but we didn't create Sparkle and again, it only happens on some installments. Glad you like to competition, just want to say that we put effort in releasing updates on a regular basis and i'm pretty sure that it also still has flaws if you use it thoroughly. Best regards, Florian.
Like (1)
hugelshofer
04 January 2012
since you dropped PPC Support (now Intel only), would you please update the specs! that's the least you can do ;-)
Like
Version 2.5.3
2 answer(s)
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
04 January 2012
and a download link for the old PPC version would be nice
Like
Florian Soenens
Florian Soenens
11 January 2012
Hey, did what you asked ;-) See the link below to the last PPC supporting version: http://www.iconboxapp.com/download/IconBox2.1.3.zip Best, Florian
Like (2)
Andrew-Rosenblum
21 December 2011
Overall a pretty bad app. I bought it because I thought it would be cool to customize some of my icons, but I can't seem to get it to do that. The most useful feature I've found is it provides me links to websites where I can get icons. Most of those websites I've been on before - didn't need to spend money to get a list of already free websites. Besides that, the app seems to do nothing else. Not worth the money.
Like
Version 2.5.3
5 answer(s)
Soenens
Soenens
21 December 2011
Hi, the core functionality of IconBox is and always will be organizing your icon collection. If you're not an icon aficionado, don't buy it. Besides doing nothing, there's the x-ray feature, the iconfinder feature which let's you search through over 150.000 icons and the icon-of-the-day. I suppose you should do a post on iTunes and iPhoto also, saying, "it just organizes my music" or "it just helps me arrange my images". Sorry but rating our app "pretty bad" because it's not what you need is like saying, "people, don't buy a porsche, i just bought one and all it does is ride..." I'd appreciate an email more than some silly post that tries to bring our app down.
Like (2)
Andrew-Rosenblum
Andrew-Rosenblum
21 December 2011
As a fellow developer I understand where your coming from and how you feel. However, It is my opinion that this app is pretty useless. I've found it allocates a significantly amount of my computer's processing power and it provides little functionality at that cost. That makes me suspect you have memory management issues. However, I fully explored the app and have found minimal useful functions. Your comment seems to imply that I don't like the app because all it does is "[organize] [my] icon collection". I bought the app for precisely that reason - to organize my icons and provide a nice interface for getting and using more icons. However, my experience has been the app wasn't capable of doing, really anything. The app, while killing all my processing power, didn't let me organize my icons, set new icons for apps, or find new icons. I bought this app to do the features it is advertised as doing. And it fell short on all of them. As a side note, as a developer myself, I understand your feelings and I defend my apps as well. I also appreciate an e-mail is better than a public post, but in my case, I wanted to objectively say this app either needs a major revision, or someone should defiantly not spend $25 on it.
Like (1)
Andrew-Rosenblum
Andrew-Rosenblum
21 December 2011
I have 8 apps on the app store and 35,000 downloads. I was not trying to be rude, and I'm sorry if my comments came off that way. I was only trying to provide some feedback to the developer and post my thoughts on this app for potential buys. Your comment was rude and unnecessary.
Like (1)
Soenens
Soenens
22 December 2011
Sorry Andrew but you didn't mention any potential bug; you RATED our app 1 and a half star because you think it's useless to you. Also you mention not being able to organize? It's just a mather of dragging icons into it or am i missing something?
Like
Soenens
Soenens
22 December 2011
Sorry, i now see that you mentioned "potential buys" and not "bugs". Missed that part. Anyway, people can download and run our app as a full functional 15-day trial, so you had the chance to "try before you buy". And yes, we have a lot of happy users, using it on a daily basis.
Like
Frfra
06 December 2011
help me!! today i've bought the winter bundle but iconbox says that the key is invalid.. what i've to do now? thanks
Like
Version 2.5.1
3 answer(s)
Stefonline
Stefonline
07 December 2011
Same behavior for me !
Like
Florke
Florke
07 December 2011
Hi, please be sure to enter your email address in both the name and the email field. hope this helps, Florian.
Like
Monzterdk
Monzterdk
28 August 2012
HMM are any of you using names that contains æøå etc. maybe they cant handle ie. danish letters !! my serial also don't work either. !!!
Like
jpfernandez
06 December 2011
Perfect, that's all.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Tim27
04 December 2011
Is 2.5 a paid update? When I open IconBox 2.1.3 the Check for Updates menu item is grayed out.
Like
Version 2.5.1
3 answer(s)
Florian Soenens
Florian Soenens
04 December 2011
Hi, IconBox 2.5+ is a free update for registered users of version 2+ The menu item shouldn't be grayed out, just checked it over here. Are you able to change the auto-update settings in Preferences? Please keep us in touch via support@iconboxapp.com. Best regards, Florian.
Like (1)
Tim27
Tim27
06 December 2011
Thank you for the quick response. For some reason it was grayed out. I quit and opened it again and it was still grayed out. Then on the third re-launch it became selectable. Strange. But, it worked.
Like
Florian Soenens
Florian Soenens
06 December 2011
Hey Tim, glad to hear that. Strange indeed. I hope you have a chance to update to 2.5 now. Please let us know how it fares... Best, Florian.
Like
Junglerolf
01 December 2011
finally 2.5, thanks. i downloaded 2.5. it does improve on the 2.0. what was the best OSX icon organizer is now even better. the simple GUI is even simpler, more obvious, more intuitive. it's quite a flexible app. no competitor comes close to its 4 modes. it does not just organize like CandyBar, but does it better, faster. you can also customize the OS directly + has icon tools built-in i.e. X-ray app icons : ) not to mention it's the only icon app that links to icon sources online + allows you to directly download icons on the web within the app! quite powerful. it's much more practical & powerful than CandyBar, plus has much slicker GUI vs. CandyBard which has not been updated for features or UI, just bugs. i used to like & use CB, but iB is so much more. honestly, IconBox 2.5 has a little glitch left, with sorting but it should be ironed out. Apart from that, IB is my favorite OSX app. i recommend it without a problem. i do hope the developer keeps up the development efforts to the benefit of us users - otherwise it looks meagre on Mac for icon apps. good job so far, thanks!
Like
Version 2.5.0
zx
01 December 2011
I really wanted to switch from Candybar but the app is full of bugs! disappearing icons, hangs etc. The developer got the right idea but the programing is very poor. ★ It's really a shame since Panic aren't into improving Candybar.
Like (3)
Version 2.5.0
4 answer(s)
Florian Soenens
Florian Soenens
01 December 2011
Hi, i'm sorry to hear that. Have you tried out the latest version yet and still experience this issue of icons vanishing? It was a known problem but should have been fixed since version 2.0.9 (See Torgobob's review on this page) I noticed that you rated CandyBar a 1 star also a while ago so i just wanted to say that we have a lot of users using IconBox on a daily basis, packed with icons. If possible, we would appreciate an email (support@iconboxapp.com) with your major issues and will be more than happy to try to solve them. Best regards, Florian
Like (1)
zx
zx
02 December 2011
Yes, using 2.5.0 And please don't get me wrong because i think that IconBox is now superior to CandyBar...! But CandyBar is usually bug free. You guys really need to realize that we really need a trusted system. When it comes to photos, music, backups, icons....crushing bugs shuld be above everthing! Imagine arranging thousands of Icons just to find out that they are missing, not deleted etc. Also, CandyBar is 99% bug free except one bug(see my comments) that they can't solve since 2009! And that's why CandyBar is useless to me. Btw, i know that Apple greyed out the system Sidebar...but you really needs to find out a solution for that. Like icon groups view or somthing like that. Colors are a must.
Like (2)
zx
zx
02 December 2011
Mayby it's just me but i trashed all files related to IconBox and downloaded a fresh copy. Now the sidebar is blank..i am importing icons but can't see them on the Sidebar or in the app! Not showing up in Library/Application Support/IconBox2 also.
Like (1)
jerrold
jerrold
05 December 2011
Agreed. I downloaded every IconBox update hoping it would fix the various crashes and glitches, but it never did. Eventually deleted app and tagged in my mind as "crashy."
Like (3)
hugelshofer
02 November 2011
it keeps crashing I just searched for som pics in the online search section (iconfinder.com) in IconBox. when I download an icon it keeps crashing. and BTW it crashed even during update process (I did delete Cache files)
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
4 answer(s)
Florke
Florke
14 November 2011
Hi, sorry to hear that. Would it be possible to send us an email to support@iconboxapp.com? I assume we had a conversation on Twitter also recently so we are still awaiting the crash report. Thanks in advance. Florian.
Like (1)
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
15 November 2011
I did send an eMail on Nov 3rd with zipped Crash/logfiles. was wondering why I got no response ;-(
Like (1)
-M-S-
-M-S-
30 November 2011
You might want to try 2.5, released today.
Like
Florian Soenens
Florian Soenens
30 November 2011
Hi hugelshofer, i hope the issues are solved with our latest release as the IconFinder feature has been completely re-written. Best regards, Florian.
Like
Randy-Crawford
28 September 2011
My use for IconBxo is really pretty simple. I need a way to store and organize a large number of icons and then visualize them or search them. This does that perfectly. It also converts the icons to pngs for me whenever I need that. Everything I've needed so far, this app has done very nicely. I would not hesitate to recommend it, especially considering there are very few other apps out there that do what this does.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
BearTracks
12 June 2011
Well, I really like this app. I wanted an alternative to Candy Bar mostly because Candy Bar can't search for apps and it takes ages to scroll through my list of apps looking for the one I want to change. When I was using it seemed to work well, and didn't crash like others were saying. However, when I went to restore a lot of icons, the app hung for a while then crashed, and after I launched it again and hit restore it only did a partial job, leaving quite a number of my apps (including system ones!) with botched icons. Unfortunately it's gonna have to remain that way because it crashed during the restore process. :/ Waiting for Lion so I can get a fresh reinstall of my apps so they look decent at least. Please, dev, if you can see this try to make your restore process stable or something! It really is a hassle to fix this mess. =)
Like (3)
Version 2.1.2
dabcca
30 April 2011
This program simply does not work. I can not add any icons and it crashes when I try use it. Absolutely ridiculous that they would ask for money for this.
Like
Version 2.1.1
2 answer(s)
Chickenbyte
Chickenbyte
30 April 2011
Sorry to hear that but not being able to import at all sounds like an isolated issue and it would help if you send us an email (preferably with the crash log) describing the issue. We have happy customers using IconBox extensively for all their icon organizing so posting half star reviews harms us, as you probably know and and we didn't have the chance to look into it or defend ourself. So please send us an email to support@iconboxapp.com and we will definitely do our very best to solve your issue, even if it's an isolated one. Best regards, Florian.
Like (2)
sethjaygoldberg
sethjaygoldberg
03 June 2011
Developer Answer is BS... It is not isolated (happens on all 3 of my macs) and I have mailed support multiple times with no response. App concept is good... app execution is bad.
Like (1)
P=NP
04 April 2011
I like the concept of the application, although it's not very stable and seems to be riddled with bugs. It crashes every time I'm using it, whether it be simply clicking the preview button or just scrolling through icons. Hopefully the developer will fix the issues soon - otherwise I would definitely recommend finding something else.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.0
Gregorgy
28 March 2011
I bought this because I thought I needed it. I didn't - it was play-play. So I changed a whole lotta icons to Wall E and then I clean forgot about it. Time passes. So, the other day, I need to change an icon on something I rolled myself and figured what Icon software do I have and I remembered this. Can it do the job, I wondered. Dragged the 512 PNG, clicked export and DONE. The 512 down to the 16x16 icons - created ICNS without issue. Thank you IB! Just one thing - the four modes and the things they do are not that intuitive.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.0
2 answer(s)
Florke
Florke
02 December 2011
Hi Gregory, about the 4 modes, you were absolutely right! Glad to announce that with version 2.5, the toolbar has been re-written completely so it should be a lot more intuitive now. Cheers, Florian.
Like
Gregorgy
Gregorgy
02 December 2011
Sweet stuff Florian. Sweet Stuff!
Like