Back to Alfred page
Alfred free download for Mac

Alfred Reviews

15 April 2021

Quick launcher for apps and more.

How would you rate Alfred?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ozshadow
ozshadow
Dec 16 2020
4.3
5.0
Dec 16 2020
5.0
Version: 4.3
A GREAT addition to MAC functionality
mugsuk
mugsuk
Aug 7 2020
4.1
3.0
Aug 7 2020
3.0
Version: 4.1
Decent enough product, but not as simple to use as Quicksilver which is not only more powerful, but free!
Gazman
Gazman
Mar 22 2020
4.0.9
5.0
Mar 22 2020
5.0
Version: 4.0.9
Like Spotlight on steroids, especially if you have the PowerPack. One of the first apps I install on a new Mac.
DRNash
DRNash
Dec 19 2019
4.0.7
0.0
Dec 19 2019
0.0
Version: 4.0.7
As all too ofetn recently on MacUpdate, today's update to v 4.0.7 leads to a wrongly labelled v 4.0.6 download ("Alfred_4.0.6_1124_4.0.7.dmg"), while the real 4.0.7 is available from Running With Crayons' own page - Get your act together MacUpdate!!!
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Dec 16 2019
4.0.6
5.0
Dec 16 2019
5.0
Version: 4.0.6
I use it alongside LaunchBar just to have a couple of features that works better for me. I prefer LaunchBar, but Alfred is the close second to me. Extremely versatile and useful in many ways. I would use it as my primary tool if LaunchBar goes belly up. For that, I already bought a Power Pack license.
tobi-4
tobi-4
Jun 5 2019
4.0.1
3.0
Jun 5 2019
3.0
Version: 4.0.1
Slight improvement over Spotlight. Has a powerful automation system, but it's too confusing to learn how to use, and there's no place to share your scripts with other people. Keeps releasing new major versions to make the expensive powerpack upgrade obsolete.
Gustav-Holm
Gustav-Holm
May 31 2019
4.0.1
5.0
May 31 2019
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
Awesome. Best app.
Jef4
Jef4
May 31 2019
4.0.1
5.0
May 31 2019
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
<3
Love the copy paste & snippsets.
Mrsin
Mrsin
May 30 2019
4.0.1
5.0
May 30 2019
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
Alfred is not just another Quick launcher, it does that but so much more. It is your Mac executive assistant. If you only choose one utility, this is it.
dscheimberg
dscheimberg
May 12 2019
3.8.1
5.0
May 12 2019
5.0
Version: 3.8.1
<font style="vertical-align: inherit;"><font style="vertical-align: inherit;">Me asombró apenas the utilicé, desmerescer a spotlight, auqnue todavía no la he estudiado mucho, la entrada se ve que va un paso más allá ....</font></font>
Aargl
Aargl
Nov 8 2018
3.7
5.0
Nov 8 2018
5.0
Version: 3.7
There's an area in which I definitely find Alfred easier than LaunchBar, it's the Web Search (that LaunchBar calls Search Template). With a single move you define the search query AND the shortcut, while with LaunchBar, you have to switch to another app, call LaunchBar, search for your Search Template, right-clic to assign the shortcut... Until now, I've run both apps in parallel, despite an attempt to switch totally to LaunchBar a few years ago... Now I'm thinking the other way around. I still have to figure how to do a few other things in Alfred, as I've just made up my mind right now, but I'm pretty confident. :-)
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Oct 8 2018
3.7
5.0
Oct 8 2018
5.0
Version: 3.7
All I can say is that this is the most impressive search tool I have ever used. With this tool I can find anything I want using any search engine. Just type in what I am looking for and choose the search engine and Alfred is up and running to help you. Simple to use. A very smart app.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 31 2018
3.6.2
0.0
Aug 31 2018
0.0
Version: 3.6.2
404 link. The correct current link is: https://cachefly.alfredapp.com/Alfred_3.6.2_922.dmg
david-384
david-384
Jul 5 2018
3.6.1
0.5
Jul 5 2018
0.5
Version: 3.6.1
Alfred has a fatal flaw. Alfred indexes items from a variety of sources: applications, messages, files, scripts, etc. When a user submits a query, it uses an adaptive algorithm to rank the items in terms of the likelihood that the user wanted this item. However, Alfred's matching algorithm is awful. If you execute the same query repeatedly in series, the adaptive algorithm reaches different conclusions about which items you wanted. Even if you TELL it: "When I enter the query 'f,' I mean that want THIS SPECIFIC ITEM," Alfred will ignore your instruction and give you other results that happen to include the term "f". The item you specifically requested *might* be the first result - or it might be the second result, or the *last* result, or nowhere in the list. This bug has been brought to the developers' attention. They are enamored with their adaptive algorithm, so they do not care and will not fix it. Don't use this garbage software. Use another package that respects users' instructions more than its own haphazard guesses.
DrPfaff
DrPfaff
Jun 14 2018
3.6.1
5.0
Jun 14 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.1
A must have app for OSX. The powerpack is more than worth it.
ray-brooks
ray-brooks
Jun 10 2018
3.6.1
5.0
Jun 10 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.1
love it for years.
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
Apr 30 2018
3.6.1
5.0
Apr 30 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6.1
I love the dark mode in Alfred and the fact that it finds things more accurately than Spotlight. The little hat with the magnifying glass is genius when it comes to an app icon and its one of the first apps that I ever install on my Mac. I couldn’t work without it and I recommend it to everyone.
Jlock
Jlock
Feb 23 2018
3.6
5.0
Feb 23 2018
5.0
Version: 3.6
Finds all of my stuff and does so quickly! I love that it also has a dark mode and the detective hat is an awesome icon!
Funjoy
Funjoy
Aug 3 2017
3.4
5.0
Aug 3 2017
5.0
Version: 3.4
I owned a previous version of LaunchBar but uninstalled it because it started slowing down, and I'd periodically hit some key or spacebar at the wrong time and it would do something contextually within the app that I was not expecting, and it got annoying. Earlier this year I read a review over at The Sweet Setup which called Alfred the best Mac app launcher. In it the reviewer specifically noted the confusing contextual commands in Launchbar. Okay, so Alfred has a free version, let me try it. Love. When searching for files it's faster than Spotlight! Now, when I want to launch an app or look for a file I use Alfred. (And when I need to search inside files or do sophisticated searches I use HoudahSpot.) I've used Alfred now for around three months. I haven't upgraded yet but I'm pretty sure I will soon, if only for its 1Password integration.
Christa_Moal
Christa_Moal
Mar 3 2017
3.3.1
5.0
Mar 3 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
Easy to use and an essential tool !
Levelbest
Levelbest
Feb 9 2017
3.3
3.0
Feb 9 2017
3.0
Version: 3.3
Alfred is OK, just OK. I want to love it as others do, but I just can't get there. I bought the power-pack right away back in version 1. Went to version 2 and now, not sure if I want to upgrade to version 3. It's good enough and it does some things pretty well. I often use it to locate a file as in, find it and then hit the right key to reveal it in finder. Sometimes when an app allows it (not all will) I will find the app and then arrow right and view the last documents it had opened. Of course, sometimes it has this information incorrect. And much of the time, even though I know something is on my Mac, Alfred simply can't see it. So, it's good enough, not deeply dependable though. Not what I would cal buggy, it’s just not seeing files a lot of the time. Which is why it is there in the first place, isn’t it? I am not a power user so I really have no clue as to what others use Alfred for or the many things it is said to do. I just know that I can't find stuff with it there is there to be found using Alfred, a lot of the time. When I have to find something I turn to opening HoudahSpot and finding it. That would never happen with Alfred. It’s still what I use everyday. It’s still great for finding most files that for some reason it has decided to recognize. But more than that, not sure I would recommended it unless you were totally into all the scripting that others do with it. I love Keyboard Maestro for making fancy power user scripts. I love HoudahSpot for finding things and staying organized and creating templates. But trusting Alfred to find things more than 75% of the time, that’s really pushing your luck.
Morlo
Morlo
Feb 8 2017
3.3
5.0
Feb 8 2017
5.0
Version: 3.3
the first app i install on a new set up, always. fast, versatile, awesome features and powerful.. just the best.. you can tell the developers work really hard, continuously releasing great updates. great support and social presence on twitter, a healthy forum for great workflows, customizable ui, tons of cool features.. alfred is the paragon of productivity apps, period.
pietz
pietz
Jun 21 2016
3.0.2
5.0
Jun 21 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0.2
im always looking for apps that improve my productivity and at the center of them all is Alfred. The Pro pack is worth every penny and having a tool similar to spotlight, but with a lot of power under the hood, makes me blaze through frequent task. i set up my most frequent search engines and can get straight to stackoverflow results with a simple shortcut. workflows give me instant results from google and amazon and other apps are starting to support Alfred workflows as well. it also replaces a clipboard app, giving me access to all of the past copies i did. very important for managing different snippets at once. i can run shell commands, access 1password or do stuff like emptying my trash without needing to touch the mouse. pretty brilliant.
Rmathes
Rmathes
Jun 2 2016
3.0.1
3.0
Jun 2 2016
3.0
Version: 3.0.1
I've been a longtime user of LaunchBar and Keyboard Maestro but heard a lot of great things about Alfred, including reading some reviews of people who ran both Alfred and LaunchBar. Alfred just came out with V3 so I decided to take the plunge and give it a go. Downloaded V3 and bought the PowerPack. Without the PowerPack the app is pretty neutered, and that's fine. I don't mind paying for quality apps. I made a serious attempt to use Alfred exclusively for a week in order to get familiar with it and give it a solid trial. I also created a few custom workflows and got sufficiently in-depth with it that I assisted a longtime Alfred user on the forums as we debugged a v2 workflow and got it working for v3. If I thought Alfred was better than LaunchBar I would've had no problem switching, I'm all about using the best tool for the job, but Alfred simply does not measure up. It's just an inferior tool for the job. Searching is slower, configuring custom searches more difficult, and search results are far less complete and robust than in LaunchBar. Functionality that is built in to LaunchBar requires custom workflows to be added on, and the bottom line with Alfred workflows is they can be buggy as hell and are easily broken as the core engine is updated. LaunchBar is just a faster, better tool than Alfred. If you have Alfred and like it, great, keep it. It's a nice app. But if you are looking for something like this and have yet to make a decision, do yourself a favor and give LaunchBar a demo trial.

I did like the Workflow functionality in Alfred, I think that's well done and pretty slick, but the few workflows I created I was pretty easily able to duplicate in Keyboard Maestro. The visual interface of Alfred for this is terrific, though.

one note: I do NOT work for LaunchBar. I've been a paying customer for many years now, I'm just well experienced in it.

One thing other than Workflows that I do like better with Alfred is they have a MUCH more active and robust user forum. The one for LaunchBar is basically dead. And I had to reach out to Alfred support about a conflict with a java app and they were great. The folks who develop LaunchBar are not great at providing support, frankly. It's a problem I wish they'd rectify. That said, just looking at the products, I'd conclude that both are high quality pieces of software but for the core launching and searching functionality, LaunchBar just does it better.
Jef4
Jef4
May 19 2016
3.0
5.0
May 19 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
Nice update. Big features!
SegN3rd
SegN3rd
May 19 2016
3.0
5.0
May 19 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0
Very convenient program, and while you can purchase additional capabilities, the free version is fully functional. I do kind of wish the iOS companion app were either less expensive, or included in the price of the Power Pack, but they provide a huge amount of functionality for free.
Jimk
Jimk
Feb 3 2016
2.8.2
5.0
Feb 3 2016
5.0
Version: 2.8.2
Alfred is a great utility. It is versatile enough to warrant its use, but simple enough that you don't need to be a programmer to use it. And it doesn't slow my Mac down like some other launchers. I bough the Mega Supporter license when it first came out, and it was well worth the investment! Highly recommended.
Arky
Arky
Jan 16 2016
2.8.2
5.0
Jan 16 2016
5.0
Version: 2.8.2
First thing you miss once you're on a different mac. Especially the custom params give me a quick access to find next transport to home/work or translate foreign words.
icengg
icengg
Jan 14 2016
2.8.2
1.0
Jan 14 2016
1.0
Version: 2.8.2
Spotlight does the same basic functionality, especially now on El Capitan. Doesn't add value for me.
Caput-Draconis
Caput-Draconis
Dec 23 2015
2.8.1
5.0
Dec 23 2015
5.0
Version: 2.8.1
If you don't have it yet GET IT NOW. It is a most useful tool and i use it constantly and prefer it to spotlight. It does a hell of a lot and with the Powerpack even more. This is the only tool you need so search no more. It has been helpful for years now and deserves the good reviews.
irwin-judson
irwin-judson
Nov 29 2015
2.8.1
0.5
Nov 29 2015
0.5
Version: 2.8.1
Alfred came with glowing recommendations. After hours of trying to make it work, no success. After more hours of trying to uninstall it, no success. Maybe I am trying to use a Lamborghini for a Volkswagen Beetle job, but still there should be a starter switch, a gearshift and a stop switch.
oladavidgomez
oladavidgomez
Oct 29 2015
2.8
5.0
Oct 29 2015
5.0
Version: 2.8
Good old Alfred, best action manager for so many years, I cant even imagine there would be any other tool for shortcuts and anything else. This is for sure Mr Must Have on any Mac!
garagethrash
garagethrash
Sep 2 2015
2.7.2
3.0
Sep 2 2015
3.0
Version: 2.7.2
It's a decent app, but many aspects of it are very non-mac like. Such as: - quick look being shift key instead of space bar - not being able to right click items and bring up contextual menus Also, while the 3rd party support of this app is the best of any launcher, there are glaring omissions not possible in alfred that something like LaunchBar has out of the box. 9 times out of 10, a feature implemented by the developer is going to be a lot more polished than a 3rd party extension, and this has been my experience in general when comparing 3rd party alfred extensions to core features of LaunchBar.
Shirkster2666
Shirkster2666
Jun 13 2015
2.7.1
5.0
Jun 13 2015
5.0
Version: 2.7.1
I use the paid version of Alfred for many years now, and simply its great!
Marioz
Marioz
May 13 2015
2.7.1
5.0
May 13 2015
5.0
Version: 2.7.1
Really an helpful app. It does really make life a simpler matter :-) They should make something similar also in Win environment
Jisss8
Jisss8
Apr 9 2015
2.6
5.0
Apr 9 2015
5.0
Version: 2.6
Great app, really usefull
mhd-msw
mhd-msw
Dec 21 2014
2.5.1
4.0
Dec 21 2014
4.0
Version: 2.5.1
How can we get discount on the powerpack?
Caiyne
Caiyne
Nov 6 2014
2.5.1
5.0
Nov 6 2014
5.0
Version: 2.5.1
I was an early adopter of this app and began using it since its early days. I made the switch from using QuickSilver which wasn't easy, as it was the thing which got me hooked on launcher apps to begin with. I believe my intention at first was to try something else temporarily until the development picks up for QuickSilver. However, it didn't take long for me to know for sure that this was the app for me for several reasons. I first noticed how much lighter it was and quicker to use. Plus I liked the direction it was heading towards and saw a lot potential in the near future. The development and newer additions to the app quickly came and even surpassed what I envisioned and at the same time, I never noticed any drop in its performance speed. I was so impressed that after using it for free for quite awhile, they introduced the power pack paid add-on and I can recall not hesitating one bit to pay and was eager to see what else they got going for its usages. It's very rare for me to make such a decision for an app purchase or add on purchase before doing any reading or research on the benefit of what you get for paying for it. To this day, I don't see any difference in the direction this team is heading and still find myself amazed sometimes from how much it's been growing without really affecting the performance of the speed and resources it needs to use. One thing that stands out most for me with this app is how closely I look at the changes and new features whenever it updates. Most apps, I never read the changes, and for the ones I do read, there's not much that I pay this much attention to. The thing that really got me into QuickSilver was its seemingly endless boundaries of what it can do. However, the management of how it was designed to be able to manage their extensive actions and things it can do became tiresome. Alfred has a great interface nice and clean and makes this management of its usage much easier.
DonkeyKong
DonkeyKong
Oct 7 2014
2.5
5.0
Oct 7 2014
5.0
Version: 2.5
Outstanding tool. Should be on any Mac installed. But it is not free as advertised.
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
Sep 5 2014
2.4
5.0
Sep 5 2014
5.0
Version: 2.4
At first I just wanted an app launcher. Then I decided some custom universal keyboard shortcuts would be nice... Oh, and it'd be nice if they could be synced... Could I get this thing to just look up CSS/HTML compatibility for me? I can? General Google searches? Definitions? Spelling suggestions? Copy/paste manager? General system functions? Complex scripted actions? Fine. Get me coffee. Ha! Didn't think s— Oh, yeah, latte works, I guess. (Seriously I've converted half of the company I work for to Alfred users.) Also, as a UI designer I take issue with the statement that the UI of Alfred is terrible. If you're an extreme power user who would prefer to have as few obfuscated steps as possible? Yep, Alfred doesn't always do that perfectly. You know when it adds those steps? When *normal* people (you know, everyone who doesn't work in IT) would need them. People think usability is about getting out of a user's way as much as possible. It's not. It's about helping users find their way. Fewer steps are better but only when fewer steps provide as clear a path as adding one more. Alfred strikes a good balance for new and less-tech-savvy users but doesn't stop power users like myself from getting things done. Also, sure it might take you 5 seconds longer in v2 for *some* tasks (by no means all) but 5 seconds spent to save you countless seconds later down the line? I was not aware that hair could be split so many times.
Steven-Sky
Steven-Sky
Aug 14 2014
2.4
5.0
Aug 14 2014
5.0
Version: 2.4
Must have tool. Period
Wts
Wts
Jul 5 2014
0.0
Jul 5 2014
0.0
Version: null
My comment is about trying to join Alfred's forum. Their captcha is ridiculous for someone like me with visibility difficulties and the audio clues were recorded in outer space with a two dollar mic. Also their registration question is beyond bizarre. Please "team" it's only a forum not entry into Fort Knok.
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
May 9 2014
2.3
5.0
May 9 2014
5.0
Version: 2.3
GREAT APPLICATION!
Abt
Abt
Mar 25 2014
2.2
5.0
Mar 25 2014
5.0
Version: 2.2
The best application I ever used in now over 20 years as a mac power user - and 15 of these years I have had worked as an mac admin, too; now not anymore: 1. Makes different applications superflously (i.e. calculator, spotlight) or reduces the use of other applications (i.e. all kind of searches, Finder, Browser searches, quicklook of files); 2. is absolutely easy to use (one shortcut to have it in front, present itself then as an one window app); 3. perfect partner for powers users who are used to keyboard and shortcuts and want to minimize timewasting mouse/trackpad usage more and more, Alfred helps speeding up; 4. does not use a lot of CPU%; 5. 100% stable (the only app I wasn't able to crash until today); 6. Basic features are free (and these are a lot of my daily used features); 7. with adding on the low cost powerpack it's simply marvellous
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 18 2014
2.2
5.0
Mar 18 2014
5.0
Version: 2.2
Great application!
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 16 2014
2.2
5.0
Mar 16 2014
5.0
Version: 2.2
Some AH doesn't apparently like Alfred so I will put a comment on this that it is a great launcher and i use it daily.
Phantasm
Phantasm
Mar 15 2014
2.2
5.0
Mar 15 2014
5.0
Version: 2.2
Alfred is the app I didn't know I needed until I used it. When you add in the workflows there is just so much you can do with only a few keystrokes. Definitely a must have app on my Mac.
Electriclewis
Electriclewis
Mar 14 2014
2.2
5.0
Mar 14 2014
5.0
Version: 2.2
Just replacing Spotlight with Alfred is missing the point. It's all about the extra commands and functions you can run from the same place. A good tip is to turn off the global keyboard shortcut for spotlight and set Alfred to use the exact same shortcut - now you can do everything that Spotlight can do as well as run commands, calculations. Finally, the real magic of Alfred is workflows - once you use these you will realise what Alfred is for
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
Mar 14 2014
2.2
5.0
Mar 14 2014
5.0
Version: 2.2
Alfred is a great launcher. I really like it!
anonymous-tapir-4715
anonymous-tapir-4715
Nov 20 2013
2.1.1
1.5
Nov 20 2013
1.5
Version: 2.1.1
Aha, what you people don't know is that if you configure Spotlight to search only Mail and Messages, you've got a nice little dropdown at the top right corner of your menubar - that one by one, shows the contents of each mail, … and hey, kids, it does a *real* search, on any ol' word … unlike world's crappiest search in Mail. Just sayin'.