Back to Alfred page
Alfred free download for Mac

Alfred Reviews

4.0.5
16 October 2019

Quick launcher for apps and more.

tobi-4
05 June 2019

Most helpful

Slight improvement over Spotlight. Has a powerful automation system, but it's too confusing to learn how to use, and there's no place to share your scripts with other people. Keeps releasing new major versions to make the expensive powerpack upgrade obsolete.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.1

Read 139 Alfred User Reviews

Rate this app:

tobi-4
05 June 2019
Slight improvement over Spotlight. Has a powerful automation system, but it's too confusing to learn how to use, and there's no place to share your scripts with other people. Keeps releasing new major versions to make the expensive powerpack upgrade obsolete.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.1
Gustav-Holm
31 May 2019
Awesome. Best app.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.1
Jef4
31 May 2019
<3
Love the copy paste & snippsets.
Like
Version 4.0.1
Mrsin
30 May 2019
Alfred is not just another Quick launcher, it does that but so much more. It is your Mac executive assistant. If you only choose one utility, this is it.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.1
dscheimberg
12 May 2019
<font style="vertical-align: inherit;"><font style="vertical-align: inherit;">Me asombró apenas the utilicé, desmerescer a spotlight, auqnue todavía no la he estudiado mucho, la entrada se ve que va un paso más allá ....</font></font>
Like
Version 3.8.1
Aargl
08 November 2018
There's an area in which I definitely find Alfred easier than LaunchBar, it's the Web Search (that LaunchBar calls Search Template). With a single move you define the search query AND the shortcut, while with LaunchBar, you have to switch to another app, call LaunchBar, search for your Search Template, right-clic to assign the shortcut... Until now, I've run both apps in parallel, despite an attempt to switch totally to LaunchBar a few years ago... Now I'm thinking the other way around. I still have to figure how to do a few other things in Alfred, as I've just made up my mind right now, but I'm pretty confident. :-)
Like (2)
Version 3.7
DragonMaster
08 October 2018
All I can say is that this is the most impressive search tool I have ever used. With this tool I can find anything I want using any search engine. Just type in what I am looking for and choose the search engine and Alfred is up and running to help you. Simple to use. A very smart app.
Like (1)
Version 3.7
Derekcurrie
31 August 2018
404 link. The correct current link is: https://cachefly.alfredapp.com/Alfred_3.6.2_922.dmg
Like
Version 3.6.2
david-384
05 July 2018
Alfred has a fatal flaw. Alfred indexes items from a variety of sources: applications, messages, files, scripts, etc. When a user submits a query, it uses an adaptive algorithm to rank the items in terms of the likelihood that the user wanted this item. However, Alfred's matching algorithm is awful. If you execute the same query repeatedly in series, the adaptive algorithm reaches different conclusions about which items you wanted. Even if you TELL it: "When I enter the query 'f,' I mean that want THIS SPECIFIC ITEM," Alfred will ignore your instruction and give you other results that happen to include the term "f". The item you specifically requested *might* be the first result - or it might be the second result, or the *last* result, or nowhere in the list. This bug has been brought to the developers' attention. They are enamored with their adaptive algorithm, so they do not care and will not fix it. Don't use this garbage software. Use another package that respects users' instructions more than its own haphazard guesses.
Like
Version 3.6.1
3 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
31 August 2018
Well, it's been around for 8 years. I'm on THIS site since it opened, around 1996. I have never heard anyone put forth the proposition that you've described here before.

I guess I'm wondering how this company got along all these years before your critique?
Like (4)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
07 November 2018
Alfred is not garbage software, and I own the latest version. I do, however, have problems with typing certain letters and having it NOT show the app I want when I first try to train it. Secondly, I can't find a way for you to assign custom letters to open a certain application. So if I want to type "me" to open Microsoft Excel, I can't change it to have those letter even see Excel. I'm currently using LaunchBar which does allow custom letter assignments to individual apps. Hopefully the next major update to Alfred will address this and then I'll be back to using it again.
Like (1)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
31 May 2019
Well, “david-384” has no downloads and just 2 visits since he registered two years ago - each time to give negative reviews on a products. Sounds very much like a disgruntled “competitor”.
Like (2)
DrPfaff
14 June 2018
A must have app for OSX. The powerpack is more than worth it.
Like (1)
Version 3.6.1
ray-brooks
10 June 2018
love it for years.
Like
Version 3.6.1
LeroyMorrison
30 April 2018
I love the dark mode in Alfred and the fact that it finds things more accurately than Spotlight. The little hat with the magnifying glass is genius when it comes to an app icon and its one of the first apps that I ever install on my Mac. I couldn’t work without it and I recommend it to everyone.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.1
Jlock
23 February 2018
Finds all of my stuff and does so quickly! I love that it also has a dark mode and the detective hat is an awesome icon!
Like (1)
Version 3.6
Funjoy
03 August 2017
I owned a previous version of LaunchBar but uninstalled it because it started slowing down, and I'd periodically hit some key or spacebar at the wrong time and it would do something contextually within the app that I was not expecting, and it got annoying. Earlier this year I read a review over at The Sweet Setup which called Alfred the best Mac app launcher. In it the reviewer specifically noted the confusing contextual commands in Launchbar. Okay, so Alfred has a free version, let me try it. Love. When searching for files it's faster than Spotlight! Now, when I want to launch an app or look for a file I use Alfred. (And when I need to search inside files or do sophisticated searches I use HoudahSpot.) I've used Alfred now for around three months. I haven't upgraded yet but I'm pretty sure I will soon, if only for its 1Password integration.
Like (4)
Version 3.4
2 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
22 August 2017
LaunchBar was getting slow for me as well, but after some updates it's now instant again. I like both Alfred and LaunchBar and hope they both continue to compete against each other. I've used both, but prefer LB for my custom setups. But, yeah, if LB hadn't fixed the slowdown issues I was fully prepared to move to Alfred.
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
03 October 2017
Version 6 of LaunchBar has been instant for me with no slow downs. Also you mention that you'd "periodically hit some key or spacebar at the wrong time and it would do something contextually within the app that I was not expecting, and it got annoying". Easily adjusted in the prefs.
Like
Christa-1980
03 March 2017
Easy to use and an essential tool !
Like (2)
Version 3.3.1
Levelbest
09 February 2017
Alfred is OK, just OK. I want to love it as others do, but I just can't get there. I bought the power-pack right away back in version 1. Went to version 2 and now, not sure if I want to upgrade to version 3. It's good enough and it does some things pretty well. I often use it to locate a file as in, find it and then hit the right key to reveal it in finder. Sometimes when an app allows it (not all will) I will find the app and then arrow right and view the last documents it had opened. Of course, sometimes it has this information incorrect. And much of the time, even though I know something is on my Mac, Alfred simply can't see it. So, it's good enough, not deeply dependable though. Not what I would cal buggy, it’s just not seeing files a lot of the time. Which is why it is there in the first place, isn’t it? I am not a power user so I really have no clue as to what others use Alfred for or the many things it is said to do. I just know that I can't find stuff with it there is there to be found using Alfred, a lot of the time. When I have to find something I turn to opening HoudahSpot and finding it. That would never happen with Alfred. It’s still what I use everyday. It’s still great for finding most files that for some reason it has decided to recognize. But more than that, not sure I would recommended it unless you were totally into all the scripting that others do with it. I love Keyboard Maestro for making fancy power user scripts. I love HoudahSpot for finding things and staying organized and creating templates. But trusting Alfred to find things more than 75% of the time, that’s really pushing your luck.
Like (3)
Version 3.3
1 answer(s)
aagrawal
aagrawal
15 February 2017
@LevelBest, do you know if Keyboard Maestro can automate a task of "When an App (For example, Zoom) starts, then turn OFF notifications"? I would actually like to have a few other things happen in addition to turning OFF notifications. BTW, zoom is a web conferencing app by zoom.us.

Also, for Alfred, I don't have the Powerpack and was wondering if Alfred Powerpack would allow me to create a Workflow or something that would automatically turn OFF notifications every time I start an app, say, Zoom (Zoom.us). I might like to add a few more actions besides turning OFF notifications. TIA
Like (1)
Morlo
08 February 2017
the first app i install on a new set up, always. fast, versatile, awesome features and powerful.. just the best.. you can tell the developers work really hard, continuously releasing great updates. great support and social presence on twitter, a healthy forum for great workflows, customizable ui, tons of cool features.. alfred is the paragon of productivity apps, period.
Like (2)
Version 3.3
pietz
21 June 2016
im always looking for apps that improve my productivity and at the center of them all is Alfred. The Pro pack is worth every penny and having a tool similar to spotlight, but with a lot of power under the hood, makes me blaze through frequent task. i set up my most frequent search engines and can get straight to stackoverflow results with a simple shortcut. workflows give me instant results from google and amazon and other apps are starting to support Alfred workflows as well. it also replaces a clipboard app, giving me access to all of the past copies i did. very important for managing different snippets at once. i can run shell commands, access 1password or do stuff like emptying my trash without needing to touch the mouse. pretty brilliant.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
Rmathes
02 June 2016
I've been a longtime user of LaunchBar and Keyboard Maestro but heard a lot of great things about Alfred, including reading some reviews of people who ran both Alfred and LaunchBar. Alfred just came out with V3 so I decided to take the plunge and give it a go. Downloaded V3 and bought the PowerPack. Without the PowerPack the app is pretty neutered, and that's fine. I don't mind paying for quality apps. I made a serious attempt to use Alfred exclusively for a week in order to get familiar with it and give it a solid trial. I also created a few custom workflows and got sufficiently in-depth with it that I assisted a longtime Alfred user on the forums as we debugged a v2 workflow and got it working for v3. If I thought Alfred was better than LaunchBar I would've had no problem switching, I'm all about using the best tool for the job, but Alfred simply does not measure up. It's just an inferior tool for the job. Searching is slower, configuring custom searches more difficult, and search results are far less complete and robust than in LaunchBar. Functionality that is built in to LaunchBar requires custom workflows to be added on, and the bottom line with Alfred workflows is they can be buggy as hell and are easily broken as the core engine is updated. LaunchBar is just a faster, better tool than Alfred. If you have Alfred and like it, great, keep it. It's a nice app. But if you are looking for something like this and have yet to make a decision, do yourself a favor and give LaunchBar a demo trial.

I did like the Workflow functionality in Alfred, I think that's well done and pretty slick, but the few workflows I created I was pretty easily able to duplicate in Keyboard Maestro. The visual interface of Alfred for this is terrific, though.

one note: I do NOT work for LaunchBar. I've been a paying customer for many years now, I'm just well experienced in it.

One thing other than Workflows that I do like better with Alfred is they have a MUCH more active and robust user forum. The one for LaunchBar is basically dead. And I had to reach out to Alfred support about a conflict with a java app and they were great. The folks who develop LaunchBar are not great at providing support, frankly. It's a problem I wish they'd rectify. That said, just looking at the products, I'd conclude that both are high quality pieces of software but for the core launching and searching functionality, LaunchBar just does it better.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1
3 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
15 June 2016
Hi! I'm using Alfred mainly as a substitute for an old app called Monocle, for searching the web: I type m [space] holiday and it searches for "holiday" on Mac Update, g [space] holiday for searching on Google, gm for Google Maps, etc.
I've tried to figure out how to do this in Launchbar, I've found "Search Templates" in the index but I can't understand how to call them or to edit them or to create a new one from scratch — there's only one working out of the box, actually, it's w [space] for wikipedia...
Can you give me a hint on how it works, please? If I can do it, I'd be glad to drop Alfred, just to have one less app running in the background. ;-)
Like
Rmathes
Rmathes
16 June 2016
Aargl...I couldn't see how to respond directly to your post. Something sounds weird. So let's say you invoke the launchbar shortcut which brings up the search field. If you type 'goo', what do you get? How about 'gm' or 'gi'. If I type those I get google search, google maps search and google image search, respectively. What do you get?
Like
Aargl
Aargl
16 June 2016
I had Google Sitemap Automator for goo and Get iTunes Metadata.app for gi, etc. but I finally found out! :-)
The weirdest part is how to assign a custom abbreviation (not clearly documented in Launchbar 5's help — as "Help not yet available" for Launchbar 6 website says...): you have to type the search template's name and look for it in the results (Youtube was really far in the list, even typing "youtube"...), then right-click on it and choose "Assign abbreviation" then type the letter(s) you want for it.
So for that part, I find Alfred easier — Monocle was even easier as it even built the search template itself when adding a new one!
Thanks anyway for giving me the idea to search and find this, I'm switching off Alfred right now. :-)
Launchbar is so powerful that you have to spend some time if you want to use all of its functions!
Like
Jef4
19 May 2016
Nice update. Big features!
Like
Version 3.0
SegN3rd
19 May 2016
Very convenient program, and while you can purchase additional capabilities, the free version is fully functional. I do kind of wish the iOS companion app were either less expensive, or included in the price of the Power Pack, but they provide a huge amount of functionality for free.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Jimk
03 February 2016
Alfred is a great utility. It is versatile enough to warrant its use, but simple enough that you don't need to be a programmer to use it. And it doesn't slow my Mac down like some other launchers. I bough the Mega Supporter license when it first came out, and it was well worth the investment! Highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.2
Arky
16 January 2016
First thing you miss once you're on a different mac. Especially the custom params give me a quick access to find next transport to home/work or translate foreign words.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.2
icengg
14 January 2016
Spotlight does the same basic functionality, especially now on El Capitan. Doesn't add value for me.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.2
3 answer(s)
Snoop27
Snoop27
16 March 2016
Alfred has been more than a great inspiration for 10.10 and later... It turns Spotlight as you know it now. Plus, it gives more possibilities. 1 star for such a big soft is hard, really.
Like (1)
WetNet
WetNet
16 March 2016
icengg < Of course moron like you did not even read or try the app. In your own words, "same basic functionality" the operative word BASIC. I suggest you at least go to the website and see all the offerings Alfred has before making a moronic comment like yours. . .
Like (3)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
02 April 2016
It would seem that this was just a troll "hit and run". Their "review" was the same day they joined, they have no reviews for other software, and they haven't been on since they joined (78 days ago as of this post).
Like (2)
Caput-Draconis
23 December 2015
If you don't have it yet GET IT NOW. It is a most useful tool and i use it constantly and prefer it to spotlight. It does a hell of a lot and with the Powerpack even more. This is the only tool you need so search no more. It has been helpful for years now and deserves the good reviews.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.1
irwin-judson
29 November 2015
Alfred came with glowing recommendations. After hours of trying to make it work, no success. After more hours of trying to uninstall it, no success. Maybe I am trying to use a Lamborghini for a Volkswagen Beetle job, but still there should be a starter switch, a gearshift and a stop switch.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.1
oladavidgomez
29 October 2015
Good old Alfred, best action manager for so many years, I cant even imagine there would be any other tool for shortcuts and anything else. This is for sure Mr Must Have on any Mac!
Like (2)
Version 2.8
garagethrash
02 September 2015
It's a decent app, but many aspects of it are very non-mac like. Such as: - quick look being shift key instead of space bar - not being able to right click items and bring up contextual menus Also, while the 3rd party support of this app is the best of any launcher, there are glaring omissions not possible in alfred that something like LaunchBar has out of the box. 9 times out of 10, a feature implemented by the developer is going to be a lot more polished than a 3rd party extension, and this has been my experience in general when comparing 3rd party alfred extensions to core features of LaunchBar.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.2
Shirkster2666
13 June 2015
I use the paid version of Alfred for many years now, and simply its great!
Like
Version 2.7.1
Marioz
13 May 2015
Really an helpful app. It does really make life a simpler matter :-) They should make something similar also in Win environment
Like
Version 2.7.1
Jisss8
09 April 2015
Great app, really usefull
Like
Version 2.6
mhd-msw
21 December 2014
How can we get discount on the powerpack?
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
Caiyne
06 November 2014
I was an early adopter of this app and began using it since its early days. I made the switch from using QuickSilver which wasn't easy, as it was the thing which got me hooked on launcher apps to begin with. I believe my intention at first was to try something else temporarily until the development picks up for QuickSilver. However, it didn't take long for me to know for sure that this was the app for me for several reasons. I first noticed how much lighter it was and quicker to use. Plus I liked the direction it was heading towards and saw a lot potential in the near future. The development and newer additions to the app quickly came and even surpassed what I envisioned and at the same time, I never noticed any drop in its performance speed. I was so impressed that after using it for free for quite awhile, they introduced the power pack paid add-on and I can recall not hesitating one bit to pay and was eager to see what else they got going for its usages. It's very rare for me to make such a decision for an app purchase or add on purchase before doing any reading or research on the benefit of what you get for paying for it. To this day, I don't see any difference in the direction this team is heading and still find myself amazed sometimes from how much it's been growing without really affecting the performance of the speed and resources it needs to use. One thing that stands out most for me with this app is how closely I look at the changes and new features whenever it updates. Most apps, I never read the changes, and for the ones I do read, there's not much that I pay this much attention to. The thing that really got me into QuickSilver was its seemingly endless boundaries of what it can do. However, the management of how it was designed to be able to manage their extensive actions and things it can do became tiresome. Alfred has a great interface nice and clean and makes this management of its usage much easier.
Like
Version 2.5.1
DonkeyKong
07 October 2014
Outstanding tool. Should be on any Mac installed. But it is not free as advertised.
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Vero-Pepperrell
Vero-Pepperrell
13 October 2014
The core version of Alfred is, and has always been, free. You can search your Mac and the web, create custom searches for your favourite sites, use system commands to control your Mac and theme Alfred from a range of pre-set themes. You can use this core version indefinitely.

The Powerpack (the paid part of Alfred) allows you to do much more; create workflows specific to the way you use your Mac, set up hotkeys, use Clipboard History and snippets, control your iTunes library, view your contacts in-line, create custom themes and more.

So the Powerpack isn't required, but it certainly makes Alfred more awesome :)

Cheers,
Vero
(Alfred co-founder)
Like (5)
Doug-S-
05 September 2014
At first I just wanted an app launcher. Then I decided some custom universal keyboard shortcuts would be nice... Oh, and it'd be nice if they could be synced... Could I get this thing to just look up CSS/HTML compatibility for me? I can? General Google searches? Definitions? Spelling suggestions? Copy/paste manager? General system functions? Complex scripted actions? Fine. Get me coffee. Ha! Didn't think s— Oh, yeah, latte works, I guess. (Seriously I've converted half of the company I work for to Alfred users.) Also, as a UI designer I take issue with the statement that the UI of Alfred is terrible. If you're an extreme power user who would prefer to have as few obfuscated steps as possible? Yep, Alfred doesn't always do that perfectly. You know when it adds those steps? When *normal* people (you know, everyone who doesn't work in IT) would need them. People think usability is about getting out of a user's way as much as possible. It's not. It's about helping users find their way. Fewer steps are better but only when fewer steps provide as clear a path as adding one more. Alfred strikes a good balance for new and less-tech-savvy users but doesn't stop power users like myself from getting things done. Also, sure it might take you 5 seconds longer in v2 for *some* tasks (by no means all) but 5 seconds spent to save you countless seconds later down the line? I was not aware that hair could be split so many times.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
Steven-Sky
14 August 2014
Must have tool. Period
Like (5)
Version 2.4
Wts
05 July 2014
My comment is about trying to join Alfred's forum. Their captcha is ridiculous for someone like me with visibility difficulties and the audio clues were recorded in outer space with a two dollar mic. Also their registration question is beyond bizarre. Please "team" it's only a forum not entry into Fort Knok.
Like (2)
Version
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
24 June 2015
Is "Fort Knok" anywhere near Fort Knox?

Or is that how you gain entry into Fort Knox, you "Fort Knok?"

HaHa - made you laugh! ;-)
Like
Jazzyguy
09 May 2014
GREAT APPLICATION!
Like (5)
Version 2.3
Abt
25 March 2014
The best application I ever used in now over 20 years as a mac power user - and 15 of these years I have had worked as an mac admin, too; now not anymore: 1. Makes different applications superflously (i.e. calculator, spotlight) or reduces the use of other applications (i.e. all kind of searches, Finder, Browser searches, quicklook of files); 2. is absolutely easy to use (one shortcut to have it in front, present itself then as an one window app); 3. perfect partner for powers users who are used to keyboard and shortcuts and want to minimize timewasting mouse/trackpad usage more and more, Alfred helps speeding up; 4. does not use a lot of CPU%; 5. 100% stable (the only app I wasn't able to crash until today); 6. Basic features are free (and these are a lot of my daily used features); 7. with adding on the low cost powerpack it's simply marvellous
Like (6)
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Vero-Pepperrell
Vero-Pepperrell
13 October 2014
Thanks for the kind words!

Vero
(Alfred co-founder)
Like
Jazzyguy
18 March 2014
Great application!
Like (3)
Version 2.2
Jazzyguy
16 March 2014
Some AH doesn't apparently like Alfred so I will put a comment on this that it is a great launcher and i use it daily.
Like (3)
Version 2.2
Phantasm
15 March 2014
Alfred is the app I didn't know I needed until I used it. When you add in the workflows there is just so much you can do with only a few keystrokes. Definitely a must have app on my Mac.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Electriclewis
14 March 2014
Just replacing Spotlight with Alfred is missing the point. It's all about the extra commands and functions you can run from the same place. A good tip is to turn off the global keyboard shortcut for spotlight and set Alfred to use the exact same shortcut - now you can do everything that Spotlight can do as well as run commands, calculations. Finally, the real magic of Alfred is workflows - once you use these you will realise what Alfred is for
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Jazzyguy
14 March 2014
Alfred is a great launcher. I really like it!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
zo219
20 November 2013
Aha, what you people don't know is that if you configure Spotlight to search only Mail and Messages, you've got a nice little dropdown at the top right corner of your menubar - that one by one, shows the contents of each mail, … and hey, kids, it does a *real* search, on any ol' word … unlike world's crappiest search in Mail. Just sayin'.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
4 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
13 March 2014
Why exactly does that warrant a 1,5-star review for Alfred?
Like
Molamola
Molamola
13 March 2014
Besides I know what spotlight can do (not everybody but you is stupid) - this is the reason you give Alfred 1 1/2 stars? I use both Alfred and spotlight and they both have their places where they shine (even if Alfred relies on spotlight data) - not to speak the many things Alfred does what spotlight doesn't.
Like (1)
Ulyssesric
Ulyssesric
14 March 2014
Oh ? can you tell me how to use Spotlight for spellchecking, calculation, muti-clipboard switching, 1Password matching, and Terminal command running ?
Like
Doug-S-
Doug-S-
05 September 2014
1) Because Alfred can do way more than Spotlight.

2) Because Alfred can do it faster. It's using the same database, but I get application and file results faster and like Google to Bing, Alfred almost always gives me what I want first result.
Like
AI-s
18 November 2013
A Mac is useless without Alfred, just sayin'
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
2 answer(s)
mugsuk
mugsuk
14 March 2014
Quicksilver kicks it butt in terms of power and usability; plus QS offers all this for free. Even with the power-pack Alfred does not match QS functionality.
Like (2)
AI-s
AI-s
14 March 2014
If you say so : P
Like (1)
YEEZUS
25 October 2013
Been using for a while and first app I installed after a clean install of Mavericks. Extremely useful especially with the iTunes control and Clipboard manager. I have my iTunes displayed on a dual monitor/TV and whenever I open Alfred to control iTunes people want to know how I did that. I recommend searching for some of the custom themes on the Alfred forums. Makes it look even nicer.
Like
Version 2.1
Ulyssesric
09 August 2013
Best of the can't-live-without applications that Apple should have built-in.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
1 answer(s)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
18 November 2013
Actually, the vast majority of people can do without Alfred, LaunchBar, or Quicksilver. None of them can find exactly the file you want without a lot of training. They all force you to type - when I prefer visual interaction. I hate having to train them for every file I want. For me there are thousands of files I want to instantly fine, making training a very tedious task. For those who like to type and search inexactly for things, Alfred and the other similar apps can work. Many who use them swear by them. But they tend to love typing in things in search boxes. I've tried a lot of Launcher app variations including Apple's LaunchPad. I have not found anything better than simply creating a Favorites folder in the Library then placing this folder on the right side of the dock. Simply place aliases of your favorite apps and folders there. This is the best location since you will often have your mouse close to the dock - not up at the menubar. As with anything, try and see if you love it. If you love it - more power for you.
Like
Morgan-Alex
06 August 2013
So simple yet powerful. Must have imo
Like (1)
Version 2.0.6
Markus-Winter
19 July 2013
The true measure of how useful something is can be seen when you have to use a computer which doesn't have it. I remember when Apple introduced scrolling on the trackpad with two fingers - all of a sudden I even did it on laptops which didn't have it, and hated that I had to use a different way of doing it. ALFRED is exactly the same - it lingered on my MBP for a while, being used from time to time, but it just became more and more often as I gradually got used to using it. And now I hate sitting at a computer which doesn't have it, and if I can, just install it. Buy the PowerPack even if you don't need it, just to show your appreciation and support to the developer!
Like (3)
Version 2.0.6