Back to Onlytasks page
Onlytasks free download for Mac

Onlytasks Reviews

8.2
30 October 2015

Manage your daily tasks in an easy and comfortable way.

Polocanada
25 April 2011

Most helpful

The cost for this application is pretty steep. Mac interface could be better. Egretlist and Nozbe on iPhone go beyond but Onlytask is simple and easy. Although there is a way to sync notes with Evernote in both directions, it's not native support and I hope this will be added in the future. Tip: to synchronize with Evernote, you need to put a special string (.OTONotes.) which you are going to put BEFORE and AFTER the text in the Evernote note. It works with plain text only, make sure you copy whole string without the quotes).... ".OTONotes." BEFORE AND AFTER TEXT .OTONotes.
Like (3)
Version 4.1

Read 15 Onlytasks User Reviews

Rate this app:

When and why the hell did note apps get so expensive?
Like (1)
Version 6.9
Maclover1-1
30 August 2013
Very practical, I love my Evernote and like keeping it as a hub on my Mac and Android phone and using the Apple tools for tasking (Calendar/Reminders). This is the perfect addition for me. Very clever.
Like
Version 6.4
Islandmike
20 May 2012
The developer continues to make frequent changes and I've had several emails back and forth over the last few months. He seems sincere in his desire to try to make the program work for as many ideas as possible -- this is not to be dismissed too lightly these days -- many developers are very set in their ways or don't get back or take any suggestions. He is also polite. The issues under 10.6.8 seem to have been resolved but I have also moved on to 10.7 -- and the program works very well with Lion. I find myself using it all the time. And I've looked at other products but still come back to this one for daily stuff. It doesn't do every last thing -- but more complex applications can be used when needed -- this is very helpful for basic day to day and I actually put it to use day to day -- a big plus, no program as nice or fancy as they may be does you much use if you don't actually continue to use it. There are many of these to-do and task managers out there, but spend some time with this one -- you might be pleasantly surprised and find it very proactive like I did over time.. It is not dirt cheap, but for me the cost is well offset by the fact it gets put to work on a regular basis. Reliable software, works so good I use it like second nature, a developer that is responsive and works along with you -- that's a A in my book.
Like (2)
Version 5.4
Islandmike
04 February 2012
Those under 10.6.8 -- watch out. If you have a notebook with tasks and delete it, then try to rename another notebook you can experience a crash. I was hoping this newest version would have corrected but the bug is still there. The developer seems to have trouble detecting issues on non 10.7 system which is unfortunate but still he should not release the software with a known bug in it in my opinion. Other than that I really much like this -- not too overloaded with features -- with this you tend to actually use it. Very intuitive -- no long read of a manual necessary you can get right to working with it from day one hour one. I use it for my day to day duties -- those get down and get dirty things we all must attend to. For more complex schedules I need to track I use The HIt List and for things like remembering to enter data into my diary or feeding the dogs on time I have iMonTime flash me a notice on my screen -- so I am a three application user.
Like (1)
Version 5.1
Kono
13 June 2011
First of all - it works as advertised. It is worth the money, if you, like me, use Evernote on daily basis and switch between Mac and Windows. It is easy to manage tasks via OnlyTasks (I set up two additional Notebooks for this purpose - GTD and Done). True, it could be prettier, but it is not to looka at, it is to get the stuff done. Overall 4 stars
Like (1)
Version 4.3
2 answer(s)
Escribano
Escribano
11 July 2011
Please, ideas to make it Prettier, ;)
Like
Kono
Kono
11 July 2011
The App Icon is too big (too wide, too much space taken) and ugly. Maybe tilting it and putting in some perspective (vide: iCal, Mail) could help. The second thing is icons inside the app - not too pretty either, to be honest with you. The same is with toolbar Icons, though, they can stay as they are, except for "Edit icon". I got used to default look of a task.
Like
Braduro
13 June 2011
I must concur. The reviews with higher ratings are not telling the whole story. This product would be greatly improved by a document on how the ideal user sets up their evernote account, and because Evernote does not dictate how each individual relates to their service, OnlyTasks will make little to no sense out of the box. More likely it will create disarray. I'm giving it more than one star for innovation and stability, but after bringing all these issues up over a year ago while still not witnessing any communication to help set up or on the overall philosophy of the app, I had to chime in with a review. Egrelist on the other hand, does not take for granted that people might be unfamilar with GTD or utilize some other task management program. Rather than correlate notes into tasks, which is what Onlytasks does (and again might be meaningless to most people who don't consider notes in Evernote to be synonymous with Tasks), Egrelist correlates Tasks with Tasks, and the syncing has become quite reliable. You then associate only those tags and notebooks that complement what you're trying to do with your tasks in Egrelist.
Like (1)
Version 4.3
Polocanada
25 April 2011
The cost for this application is pretty steep. Mac interface could be better. Egretlist and Nozbe on iPhone go beyond but Onlytask is simple and easy. Although there is a way to sync notes with Evernote in both directions, it's not native support and I hope this will be added in the future. Tip: to synchronize with Evernote, you need to put a special string (.OTONotes.) which you are going to put BEFORE and AFTER the text in the Evernote note. It works with plain text only, make sure you copy whole string without the quotes).... ".OTONotes." BEFORE AND AFTER TEXT .OTONotes.
Like (3)
Version 4.1
3 answer(s)
Polocanada
Polocanada
25 April 2011
... So again, not sure I was I clear.. If I want THIS TEXT TO BE SYNCHRONIZED BACK AND FORTH WITH EVERNOTE, I need to put the ".OTONotes." and after the text. Then it will be synchronized across Onlytasks & Evernote
Like
Polocanada
Polocanada
25 April 2011
Ahhhh. What's wrong with my typing: Put it before and after the text. Hope it's clear now.
Like
Escribano
Escribano
13 June 2011
.OTONotes. Before .OTCNotes. After You can see it in my page: www.contaes.es/onlytasks.html
Like
Noser
25 February 2011
I am not agree at all. The previous comment is not fare. It looks nice and even better than most of other famous software (eg omnifocus)
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
25 February 2011
I would agree with Wzrdjr. I think that it is mostly due to the icons, though. It looks as if the developer grabbed some free icons from different places and different sets and combined them for this app. If the developer buys 1 stock set of icons from the same family to use in this app it would increase the level of professionalism greatly.
Like (2)
Wzrdjr
25 February 2011
UGLY. Will be happy to buy it when it looks more like a mac program.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Asian
25 December 2010
Thanks Escribano. I have just downloaded the B2 from your web. The font panel in preferences works fine. Thank you. I have another suggestion, it is about the bottom panel for notes. Could we see on the right side of the screen ?. I do not know if this is complex or not, if you have several tasks on the view, a side panel allow to concentrate better on the task you are working with. In addition, in a future you could split the side panel to show notes and linked files. In general, the application results very easy to use, looks nice, it is stable and fast. I´ll be using it during next weeks on a daily basis, so I will send you a message if I miss something. Thanks again & Feliz Navidad y Feliz 2011
Like (1)
Version 4.0B1
1 answer(s)
Queneles
Queneles
27 December 2010
Good ideas, there are now in my todo list. thank you very much
Like
Asian
18 December 2010
Look nice. The font size is too small for a high resolution screen.
Like (1)
Version 4.0B1
3 answer(s)
Queneles
Queneles
19 December 2010
In everywhere or in a specific place?
Like
Asian
Asian
21 December 2010
In the toolbar may be fine if you do not use the small size option, but in the other parts (side panel, task view, etc,) the size is too small on my screen. I play a little with the application, but without an option to increase the font size is quite difficult to use. An alternative could be a zoom for task view.
Like
Queneles
Queneles
22 December 2010
In beta2 (in a few days) you can select the font and size for side panel and for the text in tasks' table (one for the title and another for the rest of text of the task). Thank you very much for your comment.
Like (1)
Maclover1-1
07 October 2010
Got much better since I tried it last. Not sure why it needs to put notes between tags (as such.. OTONotes) but it is a minor issue. I'll try to see if switching to Evernote as my main note gathering AND ToDo lister will be comfortable in regular use over time using this.. that would be nice since I have Evernote on my Android phone.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.1
Maclover1-1
05 July 2010
The Evernote-bridging idea is a good concept.. EXCEPT this does nothing more than creating notes...with a due date (Woopdeedoo) in Evernote.. er.. and those dates are 12.14.1969 in my attemps.. All the dates say that... ! ROFLMAO Go figure.. all my notebooks/notes have correct dates except the entries from this weird useless app.. 1969 lol This feels more like a Beta 0.031 than a 3.1 version. AppCleaner to the rescue lol
Like
Version 3.1
Ang
04 July 2010
This software is a very good idea !!! But for the moment it is not really usable... Sub-tasks + notes + add files Thanks to the developper
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Peedeebee
03 July 2010
A couple of suggestions: Subtasks, or items under headings When a task or notebook is created, title could already be selected so you could just type the name without having to click in it first. Press Enter on the keyboard rather than having to click on OK.
Like
Version 3.1