Back to iVI Pro page
iVI Pro free download for Mac

iVI Pro Reviews

3.811
22 October 2017

Add videos to iTunes with a simple drag-and-drop (beta).

Theguy
17 February 2011

Most helpful

VisualHub continues to be an amazingly useful and simple conversion app, but I was looking to replace it with something that pulls metadata from the internet to streamline my video conversion and importing workflow. This app 'technically' does the job but there was one issue I could not look past when using this app, and that's the most horrible non-Mac-like user interface ever. It's just painful to use, and there are many vague options and commands that only exist by control-clicking or other non-obvious methods. Do yourself a favor and check out the free app Video Monkey (among others) before pulling out the credit card for this clunker.
Like (2)
Version 2.518

Read 19 iVI Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

incrzr
13 December 2017
iVI 4.365 is the latest version.
Like
Version 3.811
davyboy
26 March 2017
I'm amazed at how few recent reviews there have been on this fast and excellent app. I have never had a problem converting any video into any format. There are regular updates and the author is VERY responsive to any questions or feedback. For the price, there is nothing on the market as feature rich or accurate as iVI Pro.
Like
Version 3.795
greyland52
15 April 2015
With over 700 movies in iTunes (yes, I have a LARGE collection of DVD's) this saves me time and adds more information than iTunes allows me (us) to add manually.
Like
Version 3.649
Christian-hutter2
27 November 2013
The new version did fix the iTunes playback issue I did encounter during conversions. For me the best tool to convert and tag video files. But probably the best part of the package is the awesome support. If you have a problem just send an email and you will receive good and useful advise amazingly fast.
Like
Version 3.529
Forget all the freebies and $1 stuff in the app store. This is excellent and worth every cent of the $10.
Like (1)
Version 3.427
Cjbolland
14 March 2013
The color scheme and toolbar icons of the GUI are just .. hmm .. bad/ugly. Not that important though. The worse: Did not use all my i7 cores (only 2 of 8) so it was painful slow compared to handbrake. In the end just way too expensive when you can do the same with cheaper or even free tools.
Like (1)
Version 3.334
1 answer(s)
anonymous-dragonfly-4344
anonymous-dragonfly-4344
13 October 2013
Not sure how you can complain about $10 being way too expensive. I don't really care about the UI colors when the author clearly has spent a lot of time on functionality. I've been using it for a few years now and it's been awesome. I got tired of trying the ton of crap in the Apple Store and finally settled on this - couldn't be happier !
Like
Jolly-joker
24 August 2012
Hi, the conversion with Elgato Turbo.264 HD doesn't work properly! It's not fast as it should be!
Like
Version 3.257
1 answer(s)
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
24 August 2012
and there's not the possibility to drag and drop directly in iVI Pro a movie from iTunes to edit it
Like
sonytel
20 July 2012
iVI Pro 3.258 now http://southpolesoftware.com/iVI/iVI.dmg
Like
Version 3.257
Globalmouser
21 March 2012
Great price and a great feature set.
Like
Version 3.257
Bottacco
11 November 2011
Incredible app for converting TV series (it can convert any type of movie, but for TV series it is perfect). I have a workflow where Automatic finds every new episode, downloads the torrent file and opens it in Transmission, which downloads it to a specific TV folder where iVI Pro picks it up, converts it and imports it into iTunes. ¡Everything without user intervention! I did compare iVI Pro in terms of ease of use, convenience and encoding quality with other solutions (Miro Video Converter, Media Rage, DVDRemaster, Handbrake, etc...) and I think this is the best software for TV series that arrive every week. I hope you
Like
Version 3.114
1 answer(s)
22duke
22duke
23 February 2012
sounds great does it deal with rar and zip files?
Like
Jack-Foster-Mancilla
07 November 2011
This is an incredibly useful tool. It does everything I want while working in a hands on mode. BUT, it is most amazing when it runs unattended. … I have set it up with Transmission, and Catch, for unattended download, conversion, and import into the proper, movie/TV section go iTunes, which is shared to my AppleTV2. … Now I only need to check the AppleTV, to see what is new.
Like
Version 3.113
Mac5
15 April 2011
Overall its good value. It does as specified, and has not at any time failed me. I'd like to see a better interface and a faster import/conversion time for movies. Compared to the many other similar apps I've used over the years, this one would be the easiest to use, but its not quite drag and drop..
Like
Version 2.630
xati-ba
21 February 2011
I would have bought this if it cost $3
Like (1)
Version 2.519
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
07 November 2011
RealPlayer which has the downloader and converter do it and they are free.
Like
davyboy
17 February 2011
I find it suits all of my needs: runs unattended, does conversions while updating metadata, and puts the results in my itunes folder. What else can you expect?
Like
Version 2.518
Theguy
17 February 2011
VisualHub continues to be an amazingly useful and simple conversion app, but I was looking to replace it with something that pulls metadata from the internet to streamline my video conversion and importing workflow. This app 'technically' does the job but there was one issue I could not look past when using this app, and that's the most horrible non-Mac-like user interface ever. It's just painful to use, and there are many vague options and commands that only exist by control-clicking or other non-obvious methods. Do yourself a favor and check out the free app Video Monkey (among others) before pulling out the credit card for this clunker.
Like (2)
Version 2.518
1 answer(s)
Bdfu
Bdfu
17 February 2011
Are you nuts? This runs totally unattended, does a fantastic job and is intuitively Mac-like. What version are you using? VisualHub s the most un-Mac-like app in the universe. Its one step above command line. It does a great job, but is no comparison.
Like (3)
Sevan
30 August 2010
I am sorry if I was too enthusiastic for your taste. As for the details I provided, I was simply following macupdate's guidelines for writing good reviews (i.e. "be detailed and specific").
Like
Version 1.15
Mimichc
05 July 2010
I have tons of old videos that I have wanted to watch on my Apple TV but could never figure out how to convert to iTunes format. I found iVI on MacUpdate and am so excited about how it works. It couldn't have been more simple for me te use (gotta love drag and drop!) I have videos in avi and wmv that I haven't been able to watch in ages adn we were able to enjoy some old family videos when we got together for a family BBQ on the 4th! Thanks South Pole Software. One recommendation...it'd be nice if you could resize the drop window.
Like
Version 1.12
Joeyperro
03 July 2010
This software fills a gaping hole for iPad/iPhone/Apple TV users. There is nothing like it. If you want to use one of those Apple devices for video then this is a must have app. Why do I say that? It will convert any type of video and load it into iTunes in formats for iPad/iPhone/iPod and/or Apple TV. Before getting iVI I tried using Handbrake, VideoMonkey, etc. One problem with them -- they do an OK job of converting video files ..... and that is where they stop. iVI will download metadata for TV show episodes. It will automatically load converted files into iTunes. In short, iVI just works and saves you time and effort!!! For me, the key driver here is the iPad. If you want to use iPad to view video outside of your home -- like on plane trips, or waiting for your wife while she is shopping -- then you will want to get this app. Other tools let you stream video in your house, but they don't load into iTunes so you can take it with you. And they don't reate versions for Apple TV or iPad/iPod/iPhone. And for a medium collection, getting/checking meta data like title, episode number, etc is essential. Don't take my word for it. Download the trial version and see for yourself.
Like (1)
Version 1.12
5 answer(s)
Sevan
Sevan
10 August 2010
Why not use AirVideo for iPad? It will let you stream media on your home network BUT also (batch) convert video files to import them on the iPad for example. The conversion process is very quick: it usually takes 20-25min for a 45min 720p video file. It costs only 3$ for the iPad app on the AppStore and the Mac software is free. (I am not affiliated in anyway with AirVideo. Just a happy customer.)
Like (2)
Version 1.15
GeogProf
GeogProf
30 August 2010
This review is so obviously baked.
Like
Version 1.15
Sevan
Sevan
30 August 2010
I don't know exactly what do you mean when you say that my review is "baked". I was just presenting JOEYPERRO an alternative to iTVI, which does more (regarding his needs) and costs alot less.
Like
Version 1.15
GeogProf
GeogProf
30 August 2010
I meant that it is way too effusive and hits all the important marketing points to have been written unprompted by just a 'satisfied customer.' If I'm wrong, my mistake and I'm sorry. Nevertheless, you might consider writing more critical and less obsequious reviews.
Like
Version 1.15
GeogProf
GeogProf
30 August 2010
Sorry, SEVAN, I forgot to mention that my comments were aimed at JOEYPERRO's review, not yours. When anyone clicks 'Reply' to a review their comments are placed in the 'Replies' box beneath it. Is that not obvious, or did I click the wrong 'Reply' link?
Like (1)
Version 1.15
Ezchdahal
30 June 2010
I've found iVi to be invaluable to my Mac based HTPC setup. There are many transcoding utilities out there but this one has risen to the top for me. It does its job in a clear and focused manner. The UI is well thought out and the feature set is outstanding. The integration with iTunes is in a word, stunning. iVi's ability to automatically create SD and HD versions is HUGE. That feature alone is worth it for me but the iTunes candy just keeps on coming. Season/Episode/Title lookups? Excellent. Movie/TV detection? Excellent. Duplicate detection? Excellent. Finally, it's automated detection of new video files makes it a great partner for whatever Torrent client you happen to be using. New downloads are automatically detected, converted, and transferred to my iTunes library. Ready for viewing on my Macs, TV, or iPhone. This app seriously rocks. $20 bucks well spent.
Like (1)
Version 1.12