Back to SafariRestore page
SafariRestore free download for Mac

SafariRestore Reviews

7.1.2
26 May 2015

Save, restore, archive, and share browsing sessions.

PorkPieHat
06 May 2011

Most helpful

Sessions is ten times better. (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8247646/sessions/index.html)
Like (8)
Version 4.13

Read 17 SafariRestore User Reviews

Rate this app:

artie505
06 March 2018
A heads-up to all who are unaware that SafariRestore has morphed into SessionRestore and is now available exclusively from the Safari Extensions Gallery.
Like (1)
Version 7.1.2
Lounge-Deluxe
10 June 2015
I had an issue with Safari Restore that made it not function properly, probably due to my setup, and contacted the developer through email. Russell responded almost instantly and continued to do so, and my issue was quickly resolved with a new version of Safari Restore. Now that's exemplary support, especially considering the fact that Safari Restore has a free license. The same level of support applies to the other (paid) products of Sweetpproductions as well (I use Cookie and Invisible), so this developer is highly appreciated and recommended. A donation had been sent.
Like
Version 7.1.2
Nitroxer
02 June 2015
Encountered update glitch. Developer remedied problem and responded within a few minutes - and followed up with a explanation. The glitch and subsequent fix process may have uncovered a Safari update deficiency too (recommendation: restart Safari if an extensions update fails). Can't think of how communication and support can get any better - particularly for a free offering. Am sending donation.
Like
Version 7.1.2
Low-Flyer
21 January 2015
SafariRestore.safariextz v7.0.1 is shown in Finder as having been created/modified on Dec 4, 2014 instead of on Jan 19, 2015.
Like
Version 7.0.1
bbw7
01 June 2013
I've been using this extension for a while and have come to really appreciate it. At first I didn't really see the purpose of it, as Safari allows one to retain the tabs and URL's from previous sessions, and having an extra tab for it open upon starting up Safari confused me. But with a few minutes of diligent checking it out, it all became clear. Tthat extra tab or window with the Restore Session header is where one can choose to look at previous sessions (menu on LHS), and then choose to reopen any full session or portion of one that you need. The most useful aspect, I find, is for when I accidentally close a tab, which I have kept over several sessions. If you haven't used that tab in the current session, it doesn't seem possible to access it again via Safari's history feature, BUT with Safari Retore, I can bring up the Safari Restore tab/window and go to a previous session that had said lost URL tab at the end of a session, and get it back. Very handy, particularly for single-user machines. I can see, however, how it might be a privacy issue if you share the same computer and account with someone else Also have never found any instabilities to it that I am aware of. And as a general comment for all extensions, seeing that it has been asked here several times, to uninstall this or any extension, just go to Safari->Preferences->Extensions (which becomes a tab in Safari) and choose "uninstall". You can also just choose to disable it.
Like (2)
Version 5.6.1
SpamSurfer
06 January 2013
Oh well. When was the last time Safari was updated anyway?
Like
Version 5.6.1
2 answer(s)
Marie-Callow
Marie-Callow
18 April 2013
How can I DELETE this on my MacBook?
Like
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
14 May 2013
open Safari's pretences, go to the Extensions tab, Uninstall
Like
Spudboy
22 October 2012
How about something that does the opposite? I don't want anything restored. Thanks for any suggestions.
Like
Version 5.6
2 answer(s)
Marie-Callow
Marie-Callow
18 April 2013
Help...Don't know how this got installed..(I have Grandchildren... But I can't get rid of this.
Like
SegN3rd
SegN3rd
09 December 2013
There is more than one thing that causes Safari to re-open the last session. The re-open tabs feature causes them to re-open if you quit and relaunch Safari, but the app resume feature causes them to be restored if Safari crashes. If you want to disable any or all of these, there are good instructions at https://discussions.apple.com/message/16141542#16141542
Like
Alamak
25 August 2011
Why should I need this, now that Lion has got this functionality built in?
Like (1)
Version 5.2
4 answer(s)
John-Sawyer-CJS
John-Sawyer-CJS
27 August 2011
Then it's for people not running Lion.
Like (2)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
02 September 2011
Some people don't like to use Lion's auto-resume, as it's all or nothing. There is no way to be selective about which apps will resume.
Like (3)
Babalooz
Babalooz
18 October 2011
Sweetp Productions: "There is no way to be selective about which apps will resume." Well: http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20110724223238674
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
19 May 2013
I guess you're one of the lucky ones who have never had Safari crash, then when you re-opened it all your tabs were gone and couldn't be restored. I use Sessions, and it has restored my tabs many tabs when Safari could not. And maybe you need to restore a session from two weeks ago, lets see Safari do that!
Like (1)
PorkPieHat
06 May 2011
Sessions is ten times better. (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8247646/sessions/index.html)
Like (8)
Version 4.13
2 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
21 May 2011
I mentioned and linked to Sessions earlier.
Like (3)
Shk747
Shk747
26 August 2011
no, 11 times better ...
Like
Cosmicrepairdude
30 March 2011
I've just been trying out this and Sessions for a few days and I find they both remember the tabs from the previous session, but only the last page I looked at in each tab. There is no history for the tabs, ie, I can't click the Back button. "Reopen all windows" in the History menu does the same thing. Firefox and Chrome remember the entire session, so it's as if I never shut down. How do I get Safari to remember the actual session and not just the last page I looked at?
Like (1)
Version 4.11
7 answer(s)
Cosmicrepairdude
Cosmicrepairdude
30 March 2011
Looks like I've answered my own question - the current version of Glims seems to do this. I was hoping for something more basic, but if it works, I'm happy. Any other comments are welcome, though.
Like (1)
MisterE
MisterE
28 April 2011
If you want the previous session auto-restored, with history for each tab, Glims is the only thing I know that can do it. It's a shame too because I'd like to get rid of all input managers and SIMBL plugins and use only Safari Extensions which should cause less problems (or at least rule them out as problems when I'm troubleshooting something) but, I can't because Glims and Safari Cookies are irreplaceable. Auto-restore functionality should be built-in, come on Apple!
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
09 August 2011
@Mistere, it is built in. Go to "History" -> "Reopen All Windows From Last Session." Thats what I did until I updated to Lion, and now its built into the OS.
Like (1)
Cosmicrepairdude
Cosmicrepairdude
09 August 2011
Davidravenmoon, you seem to have missed the point of this thread, which is that "Reopen All Windows From Last Session", like SafariRestore and Sessions does NOT fully restore the last session, as there is no history for each tab. You have to use Glims to get the functionality that Firefox and Chrome provide, as I said above. I don't know if Lion does this, but it certainly isn't built into Safari.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
09 August 2011
@Cosmicrepairdude, well I can only test that on Lion, but in Lion I opened four tabs, and on each tab went to four URLs, and then quit Safari. I reopened it, and it opened with those 4 tabs with full history for each tab. I did not have to use the reopen command. So yes, it is now built into Lion.
Like
Cosmicrepairdude
Cosmicrepairdude
10 August 2011
Finally! Thanks for checking, DRM.
Like
MisterE
MisterE
10 August 2011
Yea, thanks for checking on that for me too. Now if something could only replace the features Glims adds with bookmarks and tabs I could remove it. I wonder if it still will remember the entire window's session after a bad crash?
Like
MAchintrucbidule459
24 March 2011
I've noticed a severe performance hit lately with this extension, giving me a lot of spinning beachballs each time i open a new page or click a link. Disabling it makes my navigation smooth again. (safari 5.0.4 - Mac OS X 10.6.6)
Like
Version 4.11
2 answer(s)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
27 April 2011
try reseting SafariRestore, from the Settings Tab. See if that helps.
Like
MAchintrucbidule459
MAchintrucbidule459
05 May 2011
No more problems apparently. Thanks !
Like
sjk
25 December 2010
3.0 sounds a lot more like Sessions, but there's no screen image here or on the developer site for comparison.
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
25 December 2010
Here you go: http://cl.ly/2w2c2I0V0S231Y2V1E1g
Like (2)
sjk
sjk
25 December 2010
Thanks for the quick response, Russell.
Like
Yaba-daba-do
11 September 2010
This is great that I found safariRestore 2.11, I have a bone to pick. Your app.worked great till I decided to clean out my cache? I believe that's why it does not work anymore? If I remember right “ B-4 I deleted it “ up in the upper right corner you ask for a donation? your kidding me right? you must be use to writing apps for the other company that just don't work. I have sent a compliant to Apple asking how can this be, that they allow things on there web site that don't work! If it makes you feel any better I have found 2 others that don't work either. So far the 6 others I am using work great! Oh,I did give a couple of stars for effort!
Like (1)
Version 2.11
1 answer(s)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
11 September 2010
i cleaned out my Safari cache, as you did, and didn't see any difference.... sorry it didn't work out for you. have a good day!
Like (3)
Version 2.11
Iliketrash
17 June 2010
How many piecemeal hacks to Safari will it take to equal OmniWeb? OmniWeb has an entire workspace manage built in--you can save any number of browsing sessions and recall them at any time with complete restoration of the workspace including window sizes and positions.
Like (5)
Version 1.9
4 answer(s)
anonymous-magpie-3853
anonymous-magpie-3853
17 June 2010
I tend to agree, this feature should have been built in.... along with many others.
Like (1)
Version 1.9
sjk
sjk
18 June 2010
SafariStand's "Create Shelf from Current Workspace" and Bookmark Shelf may currently be the closest thing to OW workspaces.
Like
Version 1.9
Robotank
Robotank
18 June 2010
You have a good point. Safari has always lacked several essential features that could be found in OmniWeb and iCab, among others. I used to use OmniWeb as my default browser, but development on it is next to non-existent, and has been for some time. It needs a major update, but the much-discussed OmniWeb 6 is nowhere in sight. Now that Safari officially supports extensions, it will be easier to bring up to speed with OmniWeb's advanced features without having to use too many unsupported hacks. If OmniWeb 6 ever appears, I'll probably switch back to it, but I'm not holding my breath.
Like (3)
Version 1.9
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
18 June 2010
I agree that OmniWeb could use a (minor) update, but it is still (for me) far more useful in its present state than _any_ other Mac browser. I always take a look at nearly every new browser update, including Firefox, Safari, Camino, Shiira, Chrome, etc., but OmniWeb's deep and useful (and "grown-up", as opposed to glitzy) feature set always (so far) draws me back. And development has definitely not stopped--look at the many recent updates in the "Sneaky Peak" program. A recent update, for example, is dated June 10, 2010, and includes the statement, "Also include Safari 5 as an available agent to spoof." However, I do hate it when companies convert a paid product into a free product because their motivation is substantially reduced. Similarly, I'm always suspicious of freeware because it lives right next door to abandonware.
Like (1)
Version 1.9
Bonobo
13 June 2010
Works as advertised. Only critique I'd have is that the windows are all the same standard size and not what they were, but that's a minimal issue. Thank you.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Bonobo
13 June 2010
Sadly, this doesn't work on my Mac (10.6.3, Safari 5). What it does is this: Opens my standard Home Page, and in a second tab, the extensions page of SweetP Productions. What gives?
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Bonobo
Bonobo
13 June 2010
OK, so after a restart and after deleting a few other Safari extensions (so I don't know what the reason for not functioning was :-/ ) it works, thank you! My bad for jumping the gun, sorry.
Like (2)
Version 1.5
Fishscale
12 June 2010
I have not tried this as I already use glims for this specific task, but I want to thank you Mr. Gray for making outstanding os x plugins. I could not live w/o safari adblocker or safari cookies. Thank you! Always quality and always free.
Like (3)
Version 1.5