Back to iSedora Media Server page
iSedora Media Server free download for Mac

iSedora Media Server Reviews

2.2.2
11 March 2016

Advanced DLNA media server.

antoniong
25 May 2010

Most helpful

The first (and only?) Mediaserver on the Mac that does transcoding and it thus able to play almost all formats on most DNLA equipped TV's. Easy to install, flexible. Only drawback: a bit expensive.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.8

Read 16 iSedora Media Server User Reviews

Rate this app:

Peteintas
19 July 2015
Version 2.1 is a substantial improvement over the 1.7.9 release. Excellent transcoding performance. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 2.1.0
Bicha1
26 August 2013
I recently spent 25 dollars on a license and now isedora is not working. I have emailed for support over 10 times and not one reply. I would not spend any money buying this product. Very disappointing. I used this for many years and it was a great product but now it seems that no one is taking care of this and they have given up. You can still buy it but no one is on the other side to help. It's too bad because this was a good product. DO NOT BUY. It's like throwing out 25 dollars.
Like
Version 1.7.9
Steve39
19 May 2013
Been using Isedora for a couple of years, now suddenly my Panasonic TV and recorders don't work with 1.7.9, they work as they have previously done with 1.7.8 and earlier versions. I have emailed Support twice, they have not replied. What was once an excellent product with good support is now useless. What a shame! Ratings apply to 1.7.9, not the previous versions.
Like
Version 1.7.9
Khama
07 May 2013
Well I would love to give this a review, but the website and link are STILL DOWN. Cannot open website, and cannot download app.
Like
Version 1.7.9
Steve39
17 November 2011
This application has the great benefit for me that it works with my rather fussy Panasonic TV. I moved it to a new iMac but did not remove the registration before doing so. As suggested I emailed Isedora Support and got a response within hours. So good service as well.
Like
Version 1.7.5
folivares
29 October 2011
THE ONLY solution I've found to display SUBTITLES when streaming from my Mac to my XBOX 360. I think it's a little expensive. Very easy to use and little configuration to be done upon installation. As of lately I've noticed that I need to "reboot" the server on Mac to display any new files to the folders where I am streaming from. Other than that, pretty good piece of software (expensive but good).
Like
Version 1.7.5
oskram
02 September 2011
I feel compelled to mention my experience of the Demo. In short; It can transcode FLAC files to DLNA serve to my Sony DLNA-compliant HiFi wirelessly without issue. It can run for an hour in Demo mode at no cost and with full functionality. It can be installed by mere mortals. To pay for this software I need to see the developer website to review my options. I am currently unable to get there. ie. down I would recommend that the Demo is a 5 star software. I only care about sending FLAC and easy file source definition so keep that in mind when reading my review.
Like
Version 1.7.5
ichocobo
14 August 2011
DON´T BUY THIS SOFTWARE, it simply does not work on a mac, it disconnects randomly and it´s not capable of resuming to the right point. support is awful and they always blame on others to be the problem. i just can´t believe good ratings for this. PROBLEMS APPEAR WHEN THE SOFTWARE IS RUNNING A COUPLE OF HOURS OR MORE, SO DON´T TRUST THE DEMO.
Like
Version 1.7.5
Nickname-here
25 March 2011
My HD video doesn't play with the correct aspect ratio on my Sony Bravia TV, i'v emailed them via there website twice and have yet to get a reply or fix :( The one thing that this app does well is keep the audio/video in sync, 99.99% of other apps i'v tried ether don't work at all or the audio/video is out of sync.
Like
Version 1.7.5
Steve39
07 February 2011
Works very well when connected by Ethernet to my Panasonic TV. Particularly good at transcoding video using the embedded VLC. A trouble free application.
Like
Version 1.7.5
colosuss
09 October 2010
The best DLNA server I have ever used. Simple in use with my sony 40ex503 and is compatible with a lot of vide formats (rmvb, avi,mkv itc.) and reads subtitles. Shame it doesn't support dvd ISO :( expect that it is perfect software. It has my 100% recommended.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
Paulnojustpaul
03 October 2010
IMHO this is the leader of the pack when it comes to Mac OS X based DLNA servers. The interface is intuitive and unobtrusive, you're almost left wondering why some of the other offerings are complex. The on-the-fly transcoding is completely transparent with the host Mac (2.8GHz MacBook Pro in this case) not even raising a sweat on 720p MKVs. Streaming to a Sony Bravia over wireless, this was the only one that flawlessly worked, recognising every file I threw at it. Snappy response times in navigation and playback, too. Generous demo time limit (60 mins per session, relaunch to repeat as many times as you like) but I ended up registering it within a day. It already stomps all over our existing dedicated media player hardware. Thanks for a top effort guys!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
Stassi
27 August 2010
Curious - I have an ASUS O!Play, which does an amazing job of reading just about any format on my computer, and it receives wirelessly. Its only real drawback is that it doesn't do internet streaming, except for some hard-coded sites on the device. So, my question is - does iSedora offer internet streaming, for example, from internet tv sites? I'd also LOVE to be able to access Hulu and Netflix (although, I think that may be asking too much). Anybody got input on this?
Like
Version 1.6.8
2 answer(s)
antoniong
antoniong
10 September 2010
No, it will only stream(and transcode) files that are on you Mac.
Like
Version 1.7.0
Stassi
Stassi
10 September 2010
Thank you! he O!Play actually does some great transcoding from my computer on it's own - but their offerings for online content is seriously lacking. Anyone know of a media server on the Mac that WILL stream internet tv and radio (and my iTunes playlists) to an O!Play? T
Like
Version 1.7.0
mpiekielnik
09 August 2010
Well, looks like developer is listening, so here we have: 'Starter' license now includes a whole year of updates, while 'Personal' one is valid for a full two years. It is also clarified that 'Multiroom' license costs $69. So, what more are you waiting for??
Like
Version 1.6.3
mpiekielnik
30 July 2010
iSedora is compilation of open source components, as almost every other DLNA servers out there (Playback, PS3 Media Server etc.). All tied in Java application which doesn't mean it is somewhat limited or slow. It works pretty snappy, in my opinion better than MediaLink, which I used with my PS3 since years, and better than Playback, which I bought recently in great hope it will push ALL my media to my shiny new Sony BluRay player (as it refuses to work with MediaLink at all). I do not understand why Yazsoft developers doesn't want to implement transcoding in their Playback as it works BRILLIANTLY in iSedora. Thanks to embedded VLC, you can precisely choose which formats has to be transcoded, so you can enjoy hassle free viewing with your device. What's more, this way it is possible to choose between multiple audio and SUBTITLE streams on any device! All works excellent on my set (MacBook Pro and Sony BDP-S370 over "n" WiFi) for streams up to 720p. 1080 streams needs to be pumped by wired Ethernet. I experienced some troubles with playing some AAC encoded audio files, but I am pretty sure it is because of DRM. The biggest drawback of iSedora is its PRICE. Developer offers multiple license types, and the lowest one costs $25, which gives you right to stream to ONE device and get updates for 6 MONTHS only! If you want to download new releases for a whole year expect to pay $49! If you want to stream to more than one device, you have to contact developer for a price (all we know is you will get 3 years support then). Just to compare: MediaLink license with unlimited updates costs $20, when triple license pack of Playback is priced at $15...
Like (2)
Version 1.5.7
antoniong
25 May 2010
The first (and only?) Mediaserver on the Mac that does transcoding and it thus able to play almost all formats on most DNLA equipped TV's. Easy to install, flexible. Only drawback: a bit expensive.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.8
2 answer(s)
Dr-cody
Dr-cody
25 May 2010
Definably not the only media server on the mac. Ever heard of: • PS3 Media Server (free + transcoding + Multi Core support) • MediaLink (Great integration in the system via simple prefpane, Transcoding, cheap) • Twonky Media Server (does what is does) PS3 Media Server does all the lifting for me and works great.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.8
antoniong
antoniong
25 May 2010
Till today I have tested every Media Server (Eyeconnect, Playback, Twonky, Medialink, PS3 MS, and a few really exotics). None is able to directly play (nearly) all movies on a DNLA certified Sony TV! PS3, Medialink: only play onto PS3 and not TV of Mediaplayers. So very limited usefull. Twonky: indeed does the job but at what sacrifice? Just try to find that 1 particular movie you now want to see. EyeTV recordings can only be played using Playback, Eyeconnect but not on all Media Players, not on most TV's. iSedora does play them. Without the need of any time-consuming conversion. In the past few months I have really seen any combination of Media Server and Media Client where the server has to be Mac-based.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.8