Back to BookMacster page
BookMacster free download for Mac

BookMacster Reviews

2.10.22
06 April 2020

Organize and manage bookmarks, sync across browsers.

MacDefender
15 December 2018

Most helpful

Love this app. If you like me love to test/use multiple browser this is the perfect app to manage all your bookmarks for all your browsers.
Like (1)
Version 2.9.7

Read 67 BookMacster User Reviews

Rate this app:

SamHoss48
13 March 2020
This app is very difficult to work with. The instructions do not match the actions well. I have used this in the past and still find the same problems in the current version. All I need is an app that will alphabetize bookmarks and sync to several browsers. Alphabetization works well but syncing always gives error messages and is quite annoying. Way too many preference settings and way too many screens to work in. PLEASE simplify!
Like
Version 2.10.17
1 answer(s)
Sheep Systems
Sheep Systems
04 April 2020
Hello, Sam. Your request has been fulfilled. We published a simpler version of BookMacster several years ago, for people like you who want only, as you say, "an app that will alphabetize bookmarks and sync to several browsers". The app is named "Synkmark" and you can find it here on MacUpdate. After you install Synkmark, click in its main menu Synkmark > Licensing > Try or Buy > Regular License. If your BookMacster preferences are still installed, it will offer you a free license for Synkmark.
Like (1)
Version 2.10.18
MacDefender
15 December 2018
Love this app. If you like me love to test/use multiple browser this is the perfect app to manage all your bookmarks for all your browsers.
Like (1)
Version 2.9.7
Septimus
10 November 2018
My gosh. Browsing imported bookmarks feels like browsing and previewing large files on a DVD disk. Dreadful and terribly slow. It takes 2 - 3 seconds to close a folder with bookmarks..? Come on!
Like (1)
Version 2.9.2
Gary30
24 August 2018
I am an experienced user and this is a powerful app that is really best used only by geeks. The learning curve is a bit much for most folks IMHO. Please back up your existing bookmarks before using this app. If you have no idea how to find your bookmarks, and dread the difficulty in figuring that out, then this app may not be for you--a nice little test perhaps. Also, I would note that the built-in utilities for Chrome and Safari seem to be mutually excellent at transferring even the kind of complicated bookmark library that I have. That hasn't always been the case. All that said, if you can read carefully and follow instructions then this seems to be software that delivers on its promises.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.6
Anotherdesign
13 April 2018
This is software in the true, original spirit of Apple ….. it just works, and the support is first class. Yes, it may take some persistence in setting it up, but with the demise of Xmarks , this is a fantastic replacement. 1400 bookmarks, in 40 folders, 2 computers with 2 browsers on each, and all bookmarks are the same and can be added to from any device, or browser. BookMacster really does just work, so very well. The support engineer Jerry is patient, understanding, quickly responsive and SO helpful. Get this software running and bookmarks will just work.
Like
Version 2.6
tombudau
06 April 2018
BookMacster is an essential app for me that needs a little initial training but it offers a good documentation to use to use a lot of helpful functions. I’m using BookMacster for eight years now to keep my bookmarks synchronized between Safari, Firefox and Opera without any serious problem. Thanks to the responsive developer.
Like
Version 2.6
YHC
06 March 2018
It's very difficult to set settings, and I restored my iCloud Bookmarks four times, because this app messed my bookmarks. Hope someday the developer can rebuild this app. I will buy it again. I use Safari and Chrome, and I just want they both to have the same bookmarks with a real-time sync. I don't know why this app makes the simple thing difficult, we are not a developer, we are a customer, why we need to think a logical steps by ourselves (e.g. sync loop). Checking checkbox step by step is easy way for customers, for example, the first step: Which Browser Do You Have? Checkbox the second step: Do You Turn on Sync Themselves? Checkbox the third step: ...? Checkbox Thank you.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.5
1 answer(s)
Sheep Systems
Sheep Systems
17 March 2018
Thank you for the review, YHC.

We publish three other bookmarks management applications, tailored to specific use cases. Users who only want syncing among the built-in bookmarks of web browsers (Firefox, Safari, Chrome, etc.) should choose Synkmark. The user interface of Synkmark is simpler than BookMacster, because it supports only this type of syncing.

Here is what you'll experience when setting up Synkmark:

• From a list of installed web browsers found, switch on checkboxes to indicate which you want synced.
• Click "Done". Synkmark automatically imports and de-duplicates from the selected browsers.
• Follow the prompt to install our web browser extension if syncing Firefox, Chrome, Opera or Vivaldi. Browsers require your permission for this nowadays.
• A Help page appears, explaining what has already been done, and the next steps.
• Reorganize your bookmarks as desired.
• Click on "Syncing".
• As prompted, click "Export". This sends your organized bookmarks to your selected browsers.
• Quit Synkmark. Automatic syncing, in the background, now begins.

Configuring to sync with BookMacster is similar, but because BookMacster supports additional use cases, there are some additional steps, and additional cognitive overhead. Because "less is more", BookMacster is not recommended for most users. To select the appropriate app, please search for "selection guide site:sheepsystems.com".

Although there are apps which mess up bookmarks (usually by carelessly overwriting Safari's bookmarks file), our apps do not. The Help page which appears during initial configuration recommends one additional step: clearing out all browsers' bookmarks before your first export. This is to remove any pre-existing corruption.

Ah, Sync Loops. Although rare, they can ruin your day, so yes we warn users. A Sync Loop occurs if you begin syncing with one of our apps between a pair of browser installations whose bookmarks are also being synced by some other app. The two apps will continuously step on one another's work. For a picture, please search "Sync Loop site:sheepsystems.com". Our apps detect when your bookmarks are probably being damaged by a Sync Loop, stop syncing and warn you. Although we would like to warn you as soon as a Sync Loop is created, security restrictions, the fragility of reverse engineering, and lack of access to other devices prevent us from reliably knowing what you have configured in other apps.

Our apps do not ask which browsers you have installed. They are smart enough to determine that.

Including beta releases, we have built and published new versions of BookMacster 290 times since 2009; four in the last three months.

Synkmark makes syncing bookmarks among different browsers as simple and reliable as practical.
Like
Wunnspeed
07 May 2017
I'm curious, I've had a v1.0 license for quite a long time and ...stupidly.... never actually used BookMacster. Now, I actually want to use it but I'm wondering if I get the upgrade price or need to pay full price again? If I can upgrade, how does that function without v1.0 installed or downloadable to then upgrade? There doesn't seem to be an 'Upgrade from an older BookMacster' license tab. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.3.6
1 answer(s)
Sheep Systems
Sheep Systems
28 May 2017
A couple months ago we reduced the upgrade prices to a maximum of 9.95 USD, figuring that anyone who still has not upgraded to version 2 after 18 months probably does not use BookMacster very much. it would be nice to develop a pricing system based on usage one of these days.

The upgrade pricing should work automatically, based on a prior installation. For users who don't have version 1 installed any more, or for any other issues, send a email to sales@sheepsystems.com and we shall send you a coupon code.
Like
maurice-klein-breteler
02 January 2016
Great App, once set up it runs very reliable. Good ways to customize and very good documentation. Support for multiple browsers. Also the way licensing works, it's really high quality software!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.7
Jshop
02 November 2015
I have enjoyed the benefits of BookMacster for just over a year now, and it does a great job keeping my many bookmarks cleanly synced between the 3 major browsers. But I'm having a very hard time seeing any value in the "new" features in 2.0. Looking at the release notes, it seems to be minor bug fixes and the *removal* of some features. I'm all for paying for software and supporting developers, but I hope Jerry will reply and help us all understand what is significant enough about 2.x to warrant an almost full-price upgrade. For anyone reading this that doesn't yet have BookMacster and is looking for an amazing product that seamlessly/magically keeps all of your browsers synced...get this program.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
2 answer(s)
Wile-E-
Wile-E-
02 November 2015
It is worth noting that if you have only had a license for around 1 year then the upgrade price is $9.95USD. My original license is much older than that and I was required to pony up the $16.95USD.

My personal outlook regarding the upgrade cost is that I have had a license for vers. 1.x for many years and have enjoyed great support and a lot of free updates during that time. Paying a relatively small upgrade cost now for such a fantastic bookmark manager is well worth it to me.

Support has always been fast and terrific on the few occasions I have requested assistance. The assistance I requested also had nothing to do with the functioning of BookMacster. I have never once had to request support because BookMacster failed its job.

BookMacster also "just works." For me it has been seamless and invisible in syncing my bookmarks between multiple browsers and is among the first few applications that are a must-install for me in a new setup.
Like (1)
maurice-klein-breteler
maurice-klein-breteler
02 January 2016
I didn't have to buy again when I upgraded from 1.0 to the new 2.0 version. I had to apply for a new license, but it detected that I already paid once and got the new license with no additional cost.
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
29 October 2015
WARNING: BookMacster 2.0.1 is out and if you already have an earlier version installed, it shows up just like a regular update within the app and NO major upgrade notice, and THEN let's you know it's a $16.95 upgrade AFTER it's installed when you try to use it.
Like (3)
Version 1.22.41
5 answer(s)
Broz
Broz
30 October 2015
I don't usually post "me too" notes, but this one deserves it. It happened to me, except for the upgrade notice. I got no upgrade notice before OR AFTER the upgrade. I had to come here to figure out why my license doesn't work any more. I consider this pretty annoying!
Like (2)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
01 November 2015
OK, I realize that many people click through app update windows as though they were End User License Agreements :) For the first few days, the "paid upgrade" notice was only 12-point boldface. Several days ago I increased it to 16-point boldface and removed the usual document title, so this would appear as the first line instead of the second line.
Like (2)
Broz
Broz
03 November 2015
Not to belabor the point, but my 1.22.41 version showed a notice for an upgrade. The notice didn't say what version was available, nor did it say the upgrade would cost anything. It only asked if I wanted to upgrade now, upgrade on quit, or cancel. I clicked upgrade. When the app started, there was no notice of any kind. I do see "Save, Export disabled" in the upper right corner of the main window. Perhaps the upgrade notice, with the "Paid upgrade" warning doesn't appear when you have chosen the Beta upgrade path.
Like (1)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
03 November 2015
Broz, I've been thinking about this, and I wonder if the non-disclosure you've experienced is because, in Preferences > Syncing, you have switched on "Download and update automatically". So I just tried that in version 1.22.43, quit and relaunched three times, waiting a few minutes between each, and so far nothing is proved because, well … nothing has happened. I still have 1.22.43 there :( Maybe it only checks once a week. I've made a reminder to check it every day.

You may be aware that we didn't write BookMacster's Check for Update feature; it's an open-source package called Sparkle which has been used by probably thousands of non-Mac-App-Store apps, big and small, for the last ten years. So to be honest with you, I never really studied how it works in this regard.

But I'm glad you noticed the handy "Save, Export disabled" indicator in the upper right corner of the window! I added that on Saturday after reading the comment by you and JamesHarrisPhoto, just before pushing the final version 2.0.2 out the door. If you have a demo license it indicates "Fully functioning demo". Pretty neat idea, which I can say without bragging because I stole it from Cocoatech's Path Finder app :))
Like (1)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
04 November 2015
OK, I've now confirmed that this is the way the Sparkle Updater works. If, in Preferences > Updates, you have switched on the checkbox "Download and update automatically", it will do just that, and although it does show a brief dialog after the update is downloaded, but it does not show the Update News.

So, the behavior is baked into Sparkle and baked into Version 1, so the only way I could change this now would be to turn off the RSS update feed. But, in my view, that would cause more serious trouble for users whose Firefox extensions will stop working after this week. The Update News explains how to revert to Version 1, for anyone that wants to!

I've made a note to fork Sparkle and add the Update News to that window if and when we ever do a version 3, but since it took six years to get to version 2, we've got plenty of time :)

Thank you, Broz, for being persistent with this issue.
Like (2)
Maclover1-1
25 May 2015
I have not tried Opera synching for a long time as I did not use it, yet now I'd like to.. and Bookmacster seems to struggle with it and be unable to even write bookmarks to it :/
Like
Version 1.22.41
5 answer(s)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
03 November 2015
It is true that BookMacster does not support the "new" (now two years or so old) Opera version 15+. We would consider doing so if we had a reasonable number of requests, but so far there has only been two if I include your comment as a request. My conclusion is that, sadly, not enough people are using Opera any more to justify supporting it.
Like (2)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
15 March 2016
This is very disappointing to hear. I've stayed with V1 because I'm running 10.8 and while it works for me and my browsers for now, Google is retiring support for Chrome in 10.8 in April. So I'm looking for other browsers. Safari had memory problems and some of the Chrome plugins I use don't exist. Opera looks promising, but without BookMacster support I'm stuck. If you won't support Opera, I'll have to look for another bookmark program. URL Manager Pro has awoken from it's long slumber after I used it for many years. This lack of support is distressing.
Like
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
16 March 2016
Michael, the current beta version of Opera, Opera 36., requires OS X 10.7 or later. So, while that will buy you some time, you see Opera is catching up to you too.

You *can* continue to use Chrome on OS X 10.8 after April. As I understand it, Chrome will stop updating. You say you are sticking with 10.8 because "it works for me". Well, you could make the same argument for the current version 49 of Chrome.

On the other hand, I would join with Marc Pawliger of Google who advised "If you are still on one of these unsupported platforms, we encourage you to move to a newer operating system to ensure that you continue to receive the latest Chrome versions and features."

Think about it: if you care about having the latest and greatest security, you should use the the latest browser *and* the latest OS X. If you're not too concerned with security, then you shouldn't mind using an older browser along with your older OS X!
Like (1)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
16 March 2016
I may upgrade at some point. My hardware is still supported, but the "upgrade and be supported" is an old argument. It's the one that developers trot out when the customer becomes an outlier and it doesn't fit your business model to support them any longer. The people running 10.6 and the many corporations running Windows 7 Enterprise are well aware of that phrase.

So you've helped me make my decision to find another package. I haven't used BookMacster 2 since it came out, so if you did update to include support for Opera, it would most likely be that version. And now there's probably very little if any reason to support any issues with V1, so it's best I move on.
Like
Sheep Systems
Sheep Systems
12 April 2017
Update: BookMacster does now support the new Opera, and also Vivaldi and, to some extent, Epic. This support was added in Version 2.2.7, on 2016-06-26.
Like (1)
Detlevski
08 April 2015
A word of warning

Anyone using different browsers intensively will one want to find a way to sync bookmarks. I have been using Bookdog from the same developer for some years and moved on to Bookmacster. I did read the manual, read the help functions and there where periodes, sometimes months where Bookmacster did work as advertised and synced my bookmarks from multiple browsers over multiple locations and devices. But always my bookmarks were hosed every once in a while.

Of course I do have backups and did reset them, but try for yourself to reset the iCloud sync of bookmarks over multiple devices, you don't want to really do that. Past weekend I was working on a different location and added a lot of bookmarks. Yesterday I came home to discover that due to an error in Bookmacster I have lost them. Although I have no safe-sync limit, I have the backups, BM was complaining about safe-sync limits. So, hosed ... again ..
For me this is the last time I will use Bookmacster, this was one "hosing" too much.
I will now only use Bookmacster to sort and find duplicates which works well.

There is one BIG problem with this program, it isn't meant to be used by users. All the problems I have encountered during many years of use where probably not created by the developer not being capable enough, but by the clumsy interface. Don't get me wrong, I would love to use Bookmacster, but it is to unreliable. In all comments you can read exactly the thing, the interface sucks and the problem is complicated and one does have to read the manual.

The preferences are spread out over different panels, hidden under other other options and one really needs to search for settings like a safe sync. For me it feels like the developer wrote the application for himself. Of course he "knows the way" but he is obviously not capable in translating his skills and knowlegde into an app that can be used in a logical and especially organised interface.

That is what you van read in all these comments below, people who really try to use Bookmacster, because unfortunately there is no alternative for what is does, but run into problems and hard to find options.

So, after my last bookmarks mess up it's over, I will keep using BM for sorting and finding duplicates, but that's it. A pity, if the dev would partner up with someone who could help him to develop an user interface for customers it would become a killer app.
Like (8)
Version 1.22.41
Thaiwest
21 February 2015
Moved from URL Mgr Pro... Great support with frequent updates. Very powerful.
Like
Version 1.22.34
Mar6473
16 February 2014
I am so impressed with BookMacster. There is nothing else that can do what it does. I was looking for a way to manage my pinboard bookmarks on my Mac and I found it. It also nicely pushes my bookmarks to firefox and safari. What BookMacster does a lot and you need to take 10 minutes to read the manual or it can get confusing, but it works very well. The developer is also surprisingly helpful. He walked me through an issue I had and has even implemented a small feature that I was looking for in the update that was released today. This is what I love about small third-party developers. Good ones listen and and dedicated to their work.
Like (7)
Version 1.20.5
Sleav
25 November 2013
Much as I want to love BookMacster (and BookDog), they both suffer from the same issue - the developer thinks like a developer, not like a Mac user. The interface is filled with esoteric naming protocols that may be unfamiliar to the new user, the graphic interface is anything but intuitive. I do programming myself and became really frustrated trying to make it work. I have well over a thousand bookmarks and keeping them well-organized is a major challenge - and I wish this software were less grating. For instance, just try and drag a subfolder out of a folder - every folder you drag over pops open in fractions of a second, you try and let go and the difference between a folder being nested or placed outside is a few pixels of mouse position. Lots more stuff like that. Safari is just as irritating, but then that's why I was looking for a third party. This great app needs a good U/X designer to give it an overhaul
Like (13)
Version 1.19.7
2 answer(s)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
26 November 2013
Hello Sleav, Thank you for the review, particularly your words in the last sentence, "This great app". *** Regarding moving bookmarks around… Yes, BookMacster displays your Content using the standard "Outline View" provided by Mac OS X, the same as Safari. And I share your dislike for what Apple calls "spring-loaded folders". But, in response to user feedback, BookMacster has a couple of slightly-hidden features to "ding the spring". • To prevent folders from springing open while dragging over them, simply hold down the 'shift' key. There is actually a tooltip which pops up during dragging, which tells you this. Unfortunately, it's difficult to say that in less than a dozen words, and the same tooltip also reminds users about another trick, holding down the 'option' key to make a copy. • For a completely better user experience, don't drag and drop. Instead, perform a "secondary click" (right-click or control-click) on the item, click the "Move to…" or "Copy to…" contextual menu items, then use the arrow keys to navigate directly to your destination. We've gotten good feedback on these two features which I think really improve the Mac OS X "Outline View", while leaving in place the standard Mac behavior for those users that are familiar with it. http://www.sheepsystems.com/movb The first half of that 45-second video will make you an expert on Macintosh outline drag-and-drop, while the second half shows BookMacster's "Move to…" and "Copy to…". *** Regarding the esoteric names, indeed BookMacster has a few of those. For example, we refer to "Browsers" as "Clients". We struggle with these names, but would rather err on the side of correctness than oversimplification. The reason for "Clients" is that, while "Clients" are usually "Browsers", they can also be external files, or web app accounts (Delicious, etc.). *** More broadly, I know BookMacster can be challenging for the 85% of Mac users who muddle through their bookmarks and want a quick fix. We understand that some of these 85% would like a smaller, simpler solution for their specific use case, and are working on these. In the meantime, because I'm not satisfied with 3-star reviews, we're going to think about how to improve or replace that TLDNR (*) tooltip with something that makes BookMacster's great experience more discoverable. Thanks again for the feedback. Jerry Krinock (*) "Too long, did not read" http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/TLDNR
Like (15)
Sleav
Sleav
26 November 2013
This is a remarkable reply, I am truly impressed. I’m going to reactivate BookMacster (I turned it off, it was simply too frustrating) and follow SheepSystem's suggestions. FWIW I find the Mavericks Bookmark manager far MORE infuriating, for instance, good luck trying to drag and drop a bookmark in between an existing subfolder and an adjacent bookmark (one level up) immediately adjacent vertically. It’s like Whack-A-Mole. I’ll review and if they’ll let me, I’ve got to beef up this app's MacUser rating at LEAST one star just for this amazing responsiveness. I still stand by my feelings - at least for the moment - about this app's overall U/X experience, and I suspect it’s something to do with the way the developer's mind looks at these problems. I’m not sure that I need a reduced feature-set, it’s that the graphical way the information is presented is just not intuitive. But then, being a designer, I’m a pain in the ass that way. In the meantime I have to say thank you so much to Jerry for clarification, and teaching!
Like (9)
Mkay
24 October 2013
This app definitly deserves more attention. It's great way to keep your bookmarks in (cross-browser) sync. Combined with iClouds Safari sync it even keeps your bookmarks in sync with your iOS devices. Only downside (and probably what others meant by 'learning curve'): it's kind of un-macish. Far too many options, menus and nested selects might give you MS Windows flashbacks. Keep it simple. Setup is simple and straight forward though. ( ...unless you mess things up by getting curious and clicking all those checkboxes... ;) Recommended.
Like (4)
Version 1.19.1
Gary30
08 October 2013
I had long ago given up on bookmark managers and the last one I used was "URL Manager Pro" which was sort of killed or crippled by one or another version of OS X. Having settled on Safari as my browser anyway, I just forgot about managing bookmarks. However, recently Safari has had some problems and I began experimenting with other browsers. Keeping the bookmarks straight among them was virtually hopeless. However I got Bookmacster as part of a bundle and it is a pleasant surprise indeed. It is absolutely mandatory to do a backup before running this app and manipulating bookmarks because there is a lot more to this app than you might think and the settings are daunting. That said, I found the initial settings understandable enough and (deep breath) trusted that my 1500 plus bookmarks would be exported from my default browser to my other browsers. They were, and duplicates were found. The bookmarks toolbars among my browsers were changed but not much. I only work with one machine so I don't contend with syncing computers. The syncing features and settings are many and complex. I very much like that this is a third party app and not a bunch of browser plugins or system service. You run the app and the app works on the various bookmark files independently of the browsers. Once you get comfortable with running the app, you can run it as often as you like. Also, there are plenty of undo opportunities but I have not used them. I suspect I would not have paid the street price of $23 for this app, but after using it for awhile I am thinking I might consider it. There is a lot of complexity in syncing bookmarks among browsers and computers and doing it right requires some pretty good programming chops I would imagine. Since there is a demo, you can see for yourself. Just make sure you back up because you certainly can make a mess of things if you don't proceed cautiously.
Like (10)
Version 1.18.1
3 answer(s)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
15 October 2013
Thank you for the very thoughtful review, Gary. You can never have too many backups, so I certainly would not dissuade anyone from backing up as you recommend. Let me explain how to do it. I believe what you are recommending is to back up the bookmarks files of the various browsers (Chrome, Firefox, Safari, etc.) If you have a Time Machine or similar backup of your Home's Library, technically, you're done. But restoring these is more complicated. First, you have to know which files to restore. Second, you need to be careful that you don't upset any of the browsers' proprietary syncing mechanisms: Sign In to Chrome, Firefox Sync, or iCloud-Safari. Actually, in a slightly-hidden feature, BookMacster creates an archive of the web browsers' bookmarks files prior to all imports or exports, and it retains (by default) the last five. We call these "Sync Snapshots". We have a support web page which explains how to safely restore from these snapshots, how to restore from the Versions Browser in Mac OS X (requires Mac OS X 10.7 or later), and how to restore from other backups. Your bookmarks are pretty safe with all of these backups. Finally, there is a link to contact us, which we recommend to any user that wants to restore, and has any doubts about what they are doing. You should get good attention because we've not had any assistance requests in this regard for several months :) To get to that web page, visit our web site, click the "Support" tab, then "Support Articles", then "BookMacster", then "I lost all my bookmarks".
Like (3)
Gary30
Gary30
16 October 2013
@Sheep Systems That is great information about backup pitfalls and options. I am an advanced Mac user and forgot how difficult it would be for a normal user to, for example, figure out the Firefox installation. Everyone does it differently! I will keep the Sync Snapshots in mind, although I am happy with the settings as they are and don't anticipate doing anything wildly disappointing.
Like (2)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
03 February 2014
The name of the article I referred to in my previous post has been changed from "I lost all my bookmarks" to "Recovering Bookmarks of Yesterday".
Like
Aargl
18 September 2013
I'm having another trial with 1.18 and same behaviour, but I've noticed it depends on which export menu you use: - Bookmarkshelf/Export(Safari) or File/One-Time Export/Safari (as well as Auto Export) always give me +320/-320 as mentioned earlier in this page - File/Export Bookmarklet to/Safari instead gives the correct result (if no bookmark have changed) of +0/-0 I've searched a bit in the manual as I think there's a difference of scope between those functions but haven't found out... Unfortunately, there's no shortcut for the command that works as planned. It would be nice if the dev would explain clearly in the manual what are those two export commands for... The least I can say is that it's not clear to me. ;-)
Like
Version 1.18
5 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
18 September 2013
Alas! I still don't get it... my +0/0 result was not a "correct result", it just did... nothing! :-/ I hope I understand someday how this "powerful" tool works! For now, I give up.
Like
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
19 September 2013
Hello, Aargl. "Export Bookmarklet" just exports a bookmarklet to your Bookmarks Bar, which is one way of sending new bookmarks directly to BookMacster. The reason why the changes are 0/0 is because the bulk of your bookmarks are untouched. The other things you're doing… • Bookmarkshelf > Export (Safari) • File > One-Time Export > Safari if you choose "Normal" • Auto Export all do the same thing all do the same thing, which is why they all give the same result. They perform a "normal" export into Safari, which means that the Safari bookmarks are overwritten and arranged as much as possible like the content in BookMacster. This is what you need to do. The result of +320/-320 means that 320 items are being replaced, probably with the same items. We call this "churn". It usually has no effect on the outcome, but it shouldn't happen, and can cause extra syncs if you switch on syncing. There is probably what we call an "edge case" – something out of the ordinary – in your bookmarks. But we're passionate about eliminating churn in *all* cases, and the best way to reproduce and fix the problem is to get your data. So we have built a tool which you can access from within BookMacster to send us your data. If you could, please, do this when you have a few minutes: • Activate BookMacster • Click in the menu: Help ▸ Trouble Zipper Trouble Zipper may take a few seconds to download. • For Question B (Bookmarks), answer "Include Bookmarks" • In the list which appears, choose "Safari" • For Question L (Sync Logs), answer "Don't Include Sync Logs" • For Question F (Files), answer "Search" • Send us the resulting .zip as instructed. Let us know if you have any trouble. Thank you, Jerry Krinock Chief Engineer Sheep Systems San José, CA USA
Like
Aargl
Aargl
20 September 2013
Thanks a lot for your help, Jerry! I'm not keen on sending my bookmarks, which contains private data, but I'll try to reproduce the problem with a limited selection of them, on a blank profile, and will send you the result. One thing I've noticed is that once BM has exported once to Safari, it behaves as expected in the subsequent syncs. Also, checking the content of my source bookmarks (Camino) against synced Safari bookmarks from Bookit, BookDog and BM shows differences in headings (ex. : 'title' instead of 'Title') or UUIDs. So it's very likely that the bookmarks URLs are ok (I've seen no difference for one that was reported deleted/re-added) and only some other thing is changed. I'm quite sure that it's more of a difference between how Bookit works (I don't use the sync but the 'migrate' function which indeed deletes all Safari bookmarks before writing the new ones!) and how BM is writing them. Thanks again! :-)
Like
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
20 September 2013
Thanks for the follow-up, Aargl. The fact that "once BM has exported once to Safari, it behaves as expected in the subsequent syncs" means that this is not a *churn* problem. Do I understand correctly that you're still using Bookit to "migrate" to Safari? With all due respect to the legacy of Bookit, Apple has made several changes to the way Safari bookmarks are stored since the last Bookit update in 2008. If you're migrating from Camino thru Bookit to Safari, then importing to BookMacster and exporting back to Safari, although I'm still interested in knowing the root cause, I am not at all surprised to see 320 tweaks. It may just be that BookMacster is normalizing some URLs so that subsequent syncs among Chrome, Firefox and Safari will be churn-free. We've done a lot of study to get the correct formula for that. I don't quite understand where "title" is being changed to "Title". If you could explain to me why you're still using Bookit, I can probably tell you how to retire it. It might still be useable in your case, for other readers, using Bookit with iCloud-Safari syncing switched on will definitely result in disaster. Finally, in case you have not heard, the developers of Camino are recommending that you don't use Camino any more. You can read about that at http://caminobrowser.org. In case the forum filters out hyperlinks, that's "caminobrowser-dot-org". Anyhow, let us know what you find. I'm looking forward to getting this resolved.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
20 September 2013
Ah! Ah! :-D Ok, you're right, I'm using prehistoric softwares! ;-) I was on PPC until recently and have used Camino as a repository of my bookmarks for years, hence Bookit, that was doing the job of syncing it to Safari once in a while. Now I have to find an alternative. It's quite a problem to me that I still have to sync my bookmarks with my PPC machine once in a while (I know there's a legacy version of BM but my trials have not been convincing). I'll let you know. ;-) Thanks again.
Like
Maclover1-1
07 September 2013
This needs more stars! I do understand this app may be a bit daunting but it is definitely THE bookmarks manager onMac. It can handle zillion of bookmarks, it is sturdy and I just could not live without it. That and 1password for.. well.. passwords ;0) I advice any Mac user to use these two apps so make their browsing efficient (I design web sites so this is veeeeery important to me).
Like (4)
Version 1.17
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
18 September 2013
Would you be kind to explain a few things to me? You'll see my experiments in the Troubleshooting tab, here. If you understand what is my mistake (if it's not a bug of some sort), I'd be very thankful. :-)
Like
mrsidoric
08 August 2013
A word of EXTREME CAUTION: Before using ANY non-Apple app to manipulate bookmarks -- back them up to a safe place by exporting them. BookMacster was used with verify and alpha sort bookmarks. No problems with either OS X 10.8.4 Mac with iCloud sync. However iOS 6.1.4 [10B350] iPads started crashing on launch due to a problem with the BookMacster-modified bookmarks on both iPads. It has taken me a couple of weeks of work-arounds with Apple to recover, and claw my way back to where I started. Thankfully I had good backups of both iPads and my previous (unaltered) set of bookmarks. Managing bookmarks with this developers products has always been simple, productive, and safe -- but my recent experience prompts me to interject a STRONG word of warning to anyone using BookMacster until this issue is vetted.
Like
Version 1.16.2
1 answer(s)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
19 September 2013
Hello, Wizard2. Although it's impossible to go back and reconstruct what happened, with all due respect to Apple, I disagree with the finger being pointed at BookMacster as the cause of Safari crashing on iPads. After exporting, BookMacster notifies iCloud's syncing agent on your Mac. The iCloud agent starts up, reads the changes, pushes them into Apple's server in the cloud, then the server processes the changes and pushes them to the iOS devices. If Safari on your Mac crashed, it would make sense to blame BookMacster. But there is so much that goes on between BookMacster and iPad. No software is perfect, and in this case it is iCloud which more likely did something wrong. It is true that you should be careful of any non-Apple app manipulating Safari bookmarks. Older tools are not compatible with iCloud. But we spent a lot of time engineering BookMacster to play nice with iCloud, and we continue testing it.
Like
Aargl
04 August 2013
I'm sorry to add my voice in the "Bookdog against Bookmacster" rant (I like the idea of syncing multiple browsers at once and I don't care about the interface as long as it works... ;-) but I've noticed that some URL are distorted when imported: http://www.les-horaires.fr/75015/Paris-15e/La-Poste-Paris-Lourmel-38-Rue-De-Lourmel,13154.html will transform in http://www.les-horaires.fr/75015/Paris-15e/La-Poste-Paris-Lourmel-38-Rue-De-Lourmel%2C13154.html for example. ... which Bookdog doesn't do!
Like
Version 1.16.2
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
04 August 2013
Actually, the result of my unchanged bookmarks sync (which normally should return 0 changes) gives: (+316, updates: 2, moves: 2749, 0, -316) The + and - apparently being those crushed URLs. (I don't know if there's a way to check the changes in Bookdog, but as long as I can tell, the resulting sync seems ok, there)
Like
Aargl
Aargl
06 September 2013
Looks like this problem has been fixed with v1.17, though I still have +320 and -320 when my bookmarks have not changed... I suppose it's a matter of some character but it's hard to check why they are deleted and re-added... To be precise, the import seems ok, but this behaviour occurs when exporting to Safari or Firefox (haven't checked other browsers).
Like
Aargl
17 July 2013
Hi! The links on the website pointing to the 10.5 versions have not been updated: http://sheepsystems.com/files/support_articles/bkmx/OSX-10-5.html still points to Version 1.6.13 (2013-04-30) while it looks that a Version 1.6.14 (2013-05-15) exists... Version 1.6.13 refuses to read 1.16.2 documents, as it seems, and marks them "unreadable". (haven't tried 1.6.14)
Like
Version 1.16.2
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
17 July 2013
It looks that 1.6.14 is still considered beta.
Like
Aargl
Aargl
01 August 2013
I've just tried Version 1.6.14 and it reads ok 1.16.2 documents.
Like
Helmo-Hass
27 April 2013
mmm this one refuses to launch :( on 10.8 start guessing if he found a girlfriend, lately he's very absent-minded :D
Like
Version 1.14.10
5 answer(s)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
28 April 2013
Hello, Helmo. Thank you for the report, but we did more than automatic testing on this one, and the version downloaded from our site definitely launches on every 10.8 Mac we have. This is the only bad report we've received. Choose whichever you like best - (a) Redownload from our site and make sure it's decompressed before moving or launching. (b) Check in Console.app for interesting messages, (c) In the Support section of our website, download and run our Trouble Zipper and/or (d) Email us: support@sheepsystems.com or post more info on our forum.
Like (5)
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
28 April 2013
Path: /Users/USER/Applications/*/BookMacster.app/Contents/MacOS/BookMacster Identifier: com.sheepsystems.BookMacster Version: 1.14.10 (1.14.10) Code Type: X86-64 (Native) Parent Process: launchd [161] User ID: 501 Date/Time: 2013-04-28 00:11:56.037 +0200 OS Version: Mac OS X 10.8.4 (12E36) Report Version: 10 Crashed Thread: 0 Exception Type: EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP) Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000 Application Specific Information: dyld: launch, loading dependent libraries Dyld Error Message: Library not loaded: @executable_path/../Frameworks/Sparkle.framework/Versions/A/Sparkle Referenced from: /Users/helmo/Downloads/BookMacster 1.14.10/BookMacster.app/Contents/Frameworks/Bkmxwork.framework/Versions/A/Bkmxwork Reason: image not found
Like
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
28 April 2013
Thank you for posting the log, Helmo. The short explanation is that, although I see what's happening, it shouldn't be happening. There is not enough column width in these comments to get into technical details. I just started a thread on our forum for this issue. I'm told I cannot post a link in here, so try replacing the in this… http//sheepsystems.com/discuss/YaBB.pl?num=1367128100 If that doesn't work, please visit our website, sheepsystems.com and navigate to Support > Forum > BookMacster > BookMacster 1.14.10 EIther that, or just zip and send me the BookMacster 1.14.10 which you have. I know this seems to be impossible, but the one I have here seems to be different than yours.
Like (3)
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
28 April 2013
Hello Jerry, I thank you for your quick reply, unfortunately as not working i trashed that one just before posting here my comment, so can't really send it back to you. Anyway redownloaded after reading you and it just launched... go figure.
Like
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
28 April 2013
Well, I'm glad it's working. But the report Helmo posted indicates something that *could* happen, and indeed it is in an area (linking of the Sparkle framework) that we updated in BookMacster 1.14.10. So, even though we've had over 500 downloads of BookMacster 1.14.10 since yesterday, and no other trouble reports, I'm reluctant to call this a fluke. If anyone else this issue, please email support@sheepsystems.com, or else reply to that forum thread on our site which I discussed above. To check your Console as Helmo did, activate Finder and click in the menu: Go > Utilities. Launch Console.app, and type "BookMacster" into the search field to filter out other entries.
Like (2)
Helmo-Hass
15 April 2013
@devs Did you noticed your application has missing the icon.icns? otherwise all seems fine
Like (1)
Version 1.14.4
2 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
16 April 2013
Yes they did. 1.14.5 is out.
Like (2)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
15 May 2013
Yes, the previous day, we'd built a legacy version for our Mac OS X 10.5 users. Surprise! Apple's build tool forgets how to package Retina icon sets after a project is opened in a previous version of it. We reported the bug to Apple (Problem ID #13770305). It just happened again today, as we're preparing to publish BookMacsters 1.15.1 and 1.6.14. But of course now we've added a routine to our publishing script which compares all of the files in the version about to be published with all of the files in the previously-published version, and requires that any differences found be OKed by the engineer.
Like (2)
Maclover1-1
01 March 2013
This app works great for making sure all bookmarks are up to date in various browsers.. however it is so complex in its interface that one needs to channel the nerd inside to try and makes sense of it.. It really needs IMHO to be streamlined and rethought with an interface designer/user experience pro.. to make it more pleasing to regular people.. and I'm nerdy enough but this is nerdy-central. I guess all of this makes sense to the developer and you can tell he must be quite the geek ;0) IN ANY CASE.. I finally dared turning on automatic Syncing (up to now I always did it manually.. afraid to mess things up) but the software keeps coming to the front to tell me what it is doing and asking me to approve this or that.. "Export and Save" etc.. which sort of defeats the purpose.. I just want it do do its job without bothering me. So either I am not quite understanding how to set it up so it stops bothering me... and am doing it wrong (so many preferences etc).. or it really does this ? So while this is the best that actually is sturdy (unlike Webbla for one) for large quantities of bookmarks.. it could be soooo much better and geared to basic humans..). I want to give it 5 for what it does and could be and maybe a 1 for interface and ease of use.
Like (6)
Version 1.13.5
1 answer(s)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
23 March 2013
Well, BookMacster is, depending on how you count, two or three apps in one. That's good, because you can do pretty much anything bookmarks with it. It's also bad, because if you only want to do one thing, you see user interface items that you don't need. We understand this issue, and are working on addressing it. Regarding annoying warnings … BookMacster definitely errs on the side of being too careful with your bookmarks. But most of the warnings occur in two situations, which are easy to avoid… (1) Once you turn on Syncing, BookMacster becomes very careful about any changes which could cause your bookmarks to get out of sync. If you have turned on Syncing and want to edit bookmarks, or change anything in BookMacster, click the Syncing button in the toolbar again, to *Pause* syncing, or if you see a *Pause* button in a warning, click it. This tells BookMacster, "Yes, I'm doing stuff. I am in control. Just relax until I am done." When you close the document or quit BookMacster, BookMacster will give you a kindly reminder to *Resume* syncing again if desired. (2) If you are using BookMacster to *Sync* bookmarks among web browsers (Safari, Firefox, Chrome, etc.), as Maclover1.1 is, after you have set everything up, your should *Quit* BookMacster. For this use case, you do not need to run BookMacster while browsing the web. Do not add BookMacster to your Login Items. Leave it quit until the next day when you want to do bookmarks housecleaning or reorganization. (When you do, *Pause* syncing as described above.) BookMacster Agents will work silently for you, in the background. In BookMacster 1.13.6, we've reminded new users of this in a few strategic places. For now, please click the *Screencasts* section section on BookMacster's web page and pick one of our short screencasts to see how to do what you want to. Also, we're happy to answer questions on our Forum or via email. Thank you.
Like (3)
lacwbo
09 February 2013
Too bad that someone can't come up with a simple application like Bookit. Sadly Bookit has not been updated since 2008 and will not work with the current browsers or the latest OS X. That developer seems to have disappeared from the landscape. Will not answer emails etc.
Like (2)
Version 1.13.3
1 answer(s)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
22 March 2013
Ten years ago, an app like Bookit could just swoop in and manipulate bookmarks behind the web browser's back. Today, with iCloud, Google and Firefox Sync watching over those bookmarks, it's not so simple. The Bookit brothers (Wade and Will) apparently made a decision to pursue other interests instead. We decided the other way, and we have BookMacster. I've prepared a short video to show how BookMacster can do what Bookit did, in 55 seconds. It's on our site. On the BookMacster page, under Screencasts, watch "One-Time Migration".
Like (4)
Mykl.biz
06 February 2013
Observations based on trying BookMacster for a day or two: • for geeks only • high learning curve • drab and sloppy interface • some operations are slow and/or CPU hogs • seems to handle 13,000 bookmarks, once they've loaded • tag auto-complete is much faster than DeliBar • buggy (e.g. functionality disappears) • it crashes • it's not a replacement for Pukka's handling of multiple Delicious accounts side note: More impressed than ever with how well Justin Miller's Pukka worked (until it got orphaned, and his apologies for crufty coding notwithstanding). Yes, what I really want is a replacement for Pukka. This isn't it.
Like (2)
Version 1.13.1
1 answer(s)
Cubitus
Cubitus
09 February 2013
This has been my observation as well. Very powerful but the interface and the learning curve makes it unusable. I ended up loosing so much time trying to reconstruct my bookmarks that it finally was a waste of time and effort and I stopped trying.
Like (1)
Wade-Smith
12 December 2012
BookDog sorta worked, although the interface was unfathomable. BookMacSter does nothing but crash on my system.
Like (3)
Version 1.12.7
2 answer(s)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
18 January 2013
Apps shoudl never crash. We give a free license to any new user who submits a crash report.
Like
Wade-Smith
Wade-Smith
16 April 2013
I actually already have a license- had it since it was Bookdog. The new version seems to work.
Like
Steven-Goodheart
05 December 2012
Last night I spent a hour cleaning up and organizing my bookmarks using BookMacster, and it such a pleasure to use, and saved me so much time finding duplicates and in organizing some 6,000 bookmarks, down to 4,200, I just had to write a review here. Once BookMacster had helped my find and eliminate (or allow!) duplicates, I then used it to verify my links and found 350 plus dead links, which I also got rid of. One of the biggest helps was the incredibly powerful and flexible "Find" function under the Reports tab. You can search for type, tags, url, comments, date modified, last visited, verified status and on and on. With various searches, I was able to then move large groups of links to new folders, or delete, or rename, or whatever. I can't imagine massage 6,000 links without BookMacster (I'm a editor/writer, and have collected so many links over the years.) Today,my bookmarks are slimmed down and organized and are so much easier to use now. But of course, the organizing and searching and modifying powers of BookMacster aren't even the main reason I bought BookMacster; the big feature is how *easy* it is to sync my bookmarks with Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome, Opera, Omniweb, and iCab, as well as with Google. Since I'm constantly jumping around between browsers, this feature is just essential for me. Myself, I like to do "manual" syncs whenever I want, but BookMacster also has a fabulous "agents" feature that allows you to have all your browsers sync with one another behind the scenes. Like magic, if you add a link in one browser, it shows up in another when you fire that browser up. BookMacster also has Add-ons/Extensions for Firefox and Google Chrome that facilitate your synching options. I could go on and on about BookMacster, and have been using it since I "upgraded" from Bookdog, another terrific, but far less powerful bookmark program from Sheep Systems. And speaking of Sheep Systems, the few times I've had trouble with the program, the support has just been outstanding, and swift. Are there any downsides to the program? Well, it did take me a little while to "grok" the program and understand how it looked at synching and the bookshelf concept, but once I got into it and learned how it worked, it was really simple. I have no affiliation with Sheep Systems, but am just a very satisfied customer who wants to say how much I appreciate a program that I use regularly, and that saves me hours and hours of work and stress.
Like (2)
Version 1.12.5
THEE:LEE
05 November 2012
It's nice to see more developers supporting the Roccat Browser, It took the bookmarks from Roccat really well however when I relaunched Roccat after the import all my tabs were gone. I didn't have too many open but still it was quite annoying. I hope this gets fixed soon!
Like
Version 1.12.3
Jazzyguy
04 November 2012
Jerry Krinock is a great and extremely cooperative Developer who stops at nothing to help his customers. I wish other Developers would follow his credo!
Like (3)
Version 1.12.3
Tim-Knight
25 September 2012
Since Sort All under BookMarkshelf is permanently greyed out, how on earth do it get it to sort?
Like (1)
Version 1.11.9
1 answer(s)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
02 November 2012
Thank you, Tim. When the "Sort All" menu item is disabled, that means that your bookmarks are all sorted already. You're not the first person to ask this, so, in the new version 1.12.3 which we published today, the menu item title changes to say why.
Like (1)
Broz
29 July 2012
This app is really pretty good over all. It could be better, with more sensible User Interface and design. I find myself scratching my head with some functions, which should be more obvious. Some links should be buttons, like the check for duplicates link. Why would that be a text link? I could go on, but I won't. The app has been stable, fast and it accomplishes what I need. The UI and application design means most people will spend more time than they should just trying to figure out how to make it work.
Like (2)
Version 1.11.9
1 answer(s)
Broz
Broz
24 August 2012
Remember what I said about stability? Forget about it. This app has crashed on me several times, twice disastrous results. All my browsers lost all their bookmarks. Yes, I had backups and was able to recover. The UI is really bad. There are cases where this app will steal focus from another app. This is inexcusable. There is another case where a window posts an alert, and there's no escape. No cancel, no ok, no nuthin. You have to force quit the app. I would advise anyone considering this app to look elsewhere.
Like (2)
Whitebuck
28 July 2012
BookMacster is absolute garbage, designed by a developer who obviously, has not one drop of practical sense. Intelligence does not always omit incompetence! Twenty Three dollars for inadequate chaos? Your also crazy!
Like (2)
Version 1.11.7
Amazon
21 June 2012
Latest update is simply cherry on cake !!! This indispensable app is working like a swiss-watch. People which do complain about this app., should learn how to use it in first place before posting their views. I must say, that I am "dilated" with satisfaction about BookMacster.
Like (1)
Version 1.11.4
Sgginc
21 June 2012
This is one complex convoluted program! All I want to do is export my Firefox bookmarks to Chrome. You need a degree in computer software to do it. The program opens multiple alert windows and fails to install the needed updates. Warning after warning is displayed. Browsers open for permission to install and them promptly crash when continue is clicked. The simple window keeps asking for additional information to sync. Much too complicated to simply move my Firefox bookmarks to Chrome.
Like (3)
Version 1.11.4
3 answer(s)
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
21 July 2012
>>This is one complex convoluted program! All I want to do is export my Firefox bookmarks to Chrome. You need a degree in computer software to do it. LOL! It does have a learning curve, but for someone who regularly uses Safari, Firefox, Chrome, Opera, and iCab it's a godsend. May I suggest you try the *much* simpler to use BookDog from the same developer? Though, some found that program too complex, too! (Why Chrome doesn't yet just automatically import from it's competitors is a mystery to me.) As you no doubt know, Firefox easily exports your FF bookmarks to html, which is the format that Chrome asks for. That's a small pain in the butt, especially if you do it a lot -- with Bookdog, it's just one click, and you have to learn about way less horsepower than with BookMacster. Btw, I have had nothing but excellent support from this developer when I've needed it and have always found him responsive. Good luck!
Like (2)
Sgginc
Sgginc
21 July 2012
I forgot about Bookdog. It does work! Thanks.
Like (2)
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
27 July 2012
Sgginc - Most welcome!
Like (1)
Owltech
02 June 2012
I reviewed this app sometime in 2010, and have since revisited the app and revised my appraisal from in the pits to 4.5 stars. The problems were mostly that I did not want to take the time to read the directions. Although complex, the app now makes really good sense and works as claimed. The way I use it is to set Firefox as the primary source browser, add all my new book marks to it, and simply let BookMacster keep the others in synch with agents. I never import from the others, only from FF. At any rate, this is now an excellent application which I heartily recommend to others. I also wish it were on the App store. Don Gillespie owltech@larkandowl.net
Like (2)
Version 1.11.2
Jacques-P-
27 May 2012
I haven't seen anything as good for syncing bookmarks across all Mac browers, at all. It's detail oriented and the developer usually responds to questions in minutes. I'm shocked folks have given it less than four stars, to be honest.. It could be prettier, but functionally it's EXCELLENT. thanks for a great app and great support
Like (2)
Version 1.11.1
Rochade
23 May 2012
I can't understand all those negative feedbacks. Sure, BM needs some work - and sometimes you have to track down problems. But: it is the only bookmark manager I know that does its job in the background. Set it up and forget it - well almost. I had several troubles in the past - especially using delicious syncing - and the developer was always very responsive and provided solutions very within hours. So, if you are looking for a tool that is very easy to set up and to maintain you probably should use a different application. But if you want to sync all your bookmarks across most browsers and bookmark sharing sites in the background, give it a try.
Like (2)
Version 1.11.1
BlackMacX
23 May 2012
I have tried BookMacster v1.11.1 (tried it in prior versions too) and again within minutes have deleted it. Sorry, Bookdog does the job just as well, cleaner and simpler interface and setup. Also, BookMacster, every time I have used it has given me the same basic error, that the file it creates (from default settings) can't be found and therefore always asks me to open or create a new bookshelf. This has never ever worked and is why I always go back to Bookdog. I understand that there are issues with how Bookdog did things; but sorry, the developer needs to take the functionality of BookMacster and the usability of Bookdog and create a new application that has both without their respective faults. I know Bookdog won't sync with iCloud, thankfully I don't sync my iPhone (or eventual iPad) that way. I can't recommend BookMacster to anyone. I have uninstalled it on my own system now for I believe the 5th time and have gone back (yet again) to Bookdog. Please, developer, listen to users and ditch BookMacster and learn from it's failures and also Bookdog's dogged continued use. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.11.1
1 answer(s)
BlackMacX
BlackMacX
30 May 2012
As I have noted above and just want to clarify, BookMacster maybe great technically; but it's execution and UI setup leave much to be desired. It's sheer number of configurable options and switches make it both hard to setup cleanly and lead to problems quickly. Yes, I have read both the Bookdog user's guide for setting up and getting to work with BookMacster as well as the Help Center documentation; but that in part, brings me back to the point that though BookMacster may work, it's design and execution aren't user friendly for what should be an easy operation (Open X browser's bookmarks (as the primary), reconcile them with all other browser's bookmarks) and then save). It's an absolute nightmare to use this application and as I have said, Bookdog does it better overall, though lacks some newer functionality. I can't recommend BookMacster do anyone and though it maybe the best in what it does (once setup and understood), it does it very poorly from both a UI perspective and from that of a long time Mac user. Let the UI be simple and pleasant to use, the backend can do the complicated things; but let the front end be useable and convenient. Cheers.
Like (1)
Rmlowry
12 March 2012
Bring back the Dog. Bookmacster is/was too time intensive and too labor intensive. It needed to be intuitive like the Dog. I don't have that many bookmarks (about a thousand) but they have been obtained over many years and I keep them for a reason. I just had to restore my MBP again to ensure that BookMacster hadn't deleted or disorganized my bookmarks again. The third time is not the charm. It sucks. I will try to get my money back but am not holding my breath.
Like (3)
Version 1.10
1 answer(s)
Amazon
Amazon
31 March 2012
Read my last review ... This software is THE BEST THERE IS ! Period !
Like (1)
anonymous-tapir-4715
25 February 2012
I really don't want to make a career out of bookmark maintenance. Sometimes devs become so obsessed with the details of their apps, they lose perspective end up spoiling it. What was wrong with BookDog—and why should I have to pay this kind of money to upgrade—not that it is an upgrade. Not in convenience, not in usability ... Revive the Dog.
Like (3)
Version 1.10
1 answer(s)
Amazon
Amazon
27 February 2012
First of all as much as I was skeptical about new BookMacster I was also bitching about it till time I found, that BookMacster is a STATE OF ART bookmark manager. Period ! I have no problem to post initial email I have received from developer which include also a short video about "how & why" ... but I am afraid, that it may be a "NO, NO" in some respect ... and so unless I will get a "Green-Light" for posting it, I have to keep those info in my email box.
Like
Amazon
21 January 2012
OK. Here is a conclusion from very EXTENSIVE USE of this software in pass few days. Developer, Mr. Jerry did send me very detail email which lead me to master this software in a way, that BOOKMACSTER will organize in NO-TIME a HUGE LIBRARY of bookmarks in style like a SWISS-WATCH. Very IMPRESSIVE !!! It will distribute, sort and find duplicates in Safari / Firefox / Opera and Google-Chrome with ease and with absolutely perfect result. This is not all. Since I do operate iPad2 and iPhone4s plus PowerBook this organization of book-marks will be mirrored on all of these devices 100% exactly as my main station, MacPro running on 10.7.x. Supper. I can NOT be more happy with this software !!!
Like (3)
Version 1.9.7
3 answer(s)
Patnanna
Patnanna
31 January 2012
I think Mr Jerry needs to make this information available for all. I, too, feel getting started using this program is way complicated.
Like (6)
jreffner
jreffner
24 February 2012
I second this! Please make this information available to us all.
Like (3)
Ralphdaily
Ralphdaily
25 February 2012
I think most of us struggling with Bookmacster after having been very happy with bookdog with like the information in this email. I have been through the help documents on Bookmacster and they are very difficult.
Like (1)
Amazon
21 January 2012
In need for transfer of my huge book-mark lib I have purchased this app today just to reconfirm, that $20.00 has been wasted ! I lost all of my book-marks and NO~WAY to make this app work. To operate this app is beyond my Maya skills. What suppose to be simple ... is simply not. Folders will always end-up empty many of then are doubled. My previous review has received -zillion reply and so tell me someone out there in plain language as 1 / 2 / 3 / ... how you will export Safari bookmarks in to Firefox with filter for duplicates using this app ... I just can not wait for positive reply.
Like
Version 1.9.7
Amazon
23 December 2011
Total Disappointment with this software. 1 / complicated !!! 2 / show errors and errors ... that is about it ... Old version ? Fantastic. Simple slick and most important it did work 100% !!! New version is a piece of junk !
Like (1)
Version 1.9.3
Wildfox
13 December 2011
It has been two months since I here panned BookMacster for vacating some of my bookmarks folders. I did not ask for a refund because I felt that the developer had done his job. I was giving up on using it. Jerry is obviously a maestro among programmers, and his user documentation is the most precise and unambiguous I have ever seen in any program. I think that I probably tortured BookMacster into malfunctioning by exercising it too intensively for the purpose of learning to use it. Now I return to my question of whether BookMacster should ever have been written. Reviews of browsers always come from the same sources, when full time users (professional tech writers or programmers) are periodically reviewing and reassessing their own choice of browser. I dare suggest that very few users jump between numerous browsers several times per hour, which would justify the utility and complexities of BookMacster. If all my browsers did the same things well, then I would only use one of them. Chrome seems to be the master of playing well with other websites, while they have publicly stated long ago their lack of interest in the downloading functions. Firefox is great for downloading, but often bugs out or beachballs on intensive research projects. So I choose my add-ons and bookmarks differently for these two browsers. I wish that the SOP for BookMacster was the same as Bookdog, to remain idle until I see the need to stop my browsing and give the command to close all the browsers and do its thing. (My moist fantasy would be to eliminate all the electronic rummaging through all my bookmarks in all browsers, and simply drag the one bookmark folder I need from one browser to the other!) This is my reply (with comments) to the question of my not requesting a refund for the software. Hats off to you, Jerry, and I wish you well!
Like (5)
Version 1.9.3
Andy-Hewitt
04 December 2011
This is a review after using BookMacster for only a few days, but I have to write something to correct my comments earlier. The developer has been extremely active in sorting out the issues that had been noted regarding losing the bookmarks, as well as fixing some crashes. With an update being made available in a matter of hours. Thanks Jerry. Now, onto the app itself. I agree with Scuseme that it could do with a bit of 'wizarding', and it seems very daunting at first. There are a myriad of options, and it's not immediately clear that initial setup doesn't actually need to be that hard to do. However, once you get your head round the differences between BookMacster, and BookDog (which I used for many years), it becomes clearer. Much of what you had to do in BookDog manually, is now handled automatically, such as syncing. When I lost my bookmarks originally, I had imported everything from BookDog, and set-up MacBookster to try and work in a familiar way. That seems to be the mistake. It turned out better to start from scratch, create a new 'Bookshelf', and choose a source browser to import your first set of bookmarks from (in my case Safari), as they were already all synced with BookDog, it didn't really matter which. Then I set up the syncing options, and everything is working as expected. So, overall, yes, much better than BookDog (sans bugs), but a bit of a steep learning curve at first perhaps, particularly if you are used to BookDog. I suspect this will keep improving though.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.1
Scuseme
05 November 2011
I've used BookDog, and now BookMacster ever since I've started with Macs several years ago. It's a tour de force in bookmarking maintenance, encompassing almost every conceivable option to create, edit, sync, validate and archive bookmarks. I really love the flexibility it gives me to tailor my bookmarks to exactly the way I want them to appear. But because of this enormous flexibility, its ease of use is an order of magnitude more difficult than its predecessor - BookDog. I'm still trying to wrap my head around the myriad of options and when to use them (or maybe more importantly, when not to). That's why I only gave 3 stars to Ease of Use. I really think that the implementation of Wizards for its most common functions would go a long way to giving BookMacster a more mainline appeal, and help prevent the user from making catastrophic choices (like accidentally wiping out your entire bookmark collection).
Like (1)
Version 1.7.3
Wildfox
15 October 2011
Run your backups before you take on this monster! I ended up with several emptied bookmark folders in ALL of my browsers (which the developer was unable to surmise as an undesirable outcome). BookMacster forces the user to work around it by requiring the user to close browsers so that it can do updates to the browsers. This is sonotgoingtohappen. Uninstalled. Money wasted.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.3
10 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
01 December 2011
No refund from the developer?
Like
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
01 December 2011
Regarding emptying folders, I said that it was definitely possible to do that, just as it's possible to do that within the web browser, or with any other bookmarks management app. I can't reconstruct what happened with Wildfox, though. BookMacster uses Auto Save and Versions in OS X Lion, so that you can always resurrect and re-export. Regarding the necessity to quit browsers when exporting bookmarks, this is necessary not necessary with Safari, Firefox Google Chrome and Chromium, because these apps provide ways for BookMacster to alter their bookmarks while they are running. However, Opera, Camino, OmniWeb and iCab do not. While I have seen some bookmarks management apps which allow exporting to these other browsers while they are running, the browsers may overwrite whatever changes were exported later, usually when they quit. Therefore, BookMacster plays it safe. It checks if they are running, asks your approval to quit them, and then provides a button to relaunch the browser after the export is complete.
Like
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
02 December 2011
Same thing here too. I downloaded the Demo, tried setting up to give it a test, and ended up with blank bookmarks in safari and Firefox (the only two I use), not to mention having to Force Quit three times. Now uninstalled, and back with BookDog, and a restore from Time Machine. Sorry, but I don't have the time to debug, BookDog still works, so I'm sticking with that.
Like (2)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
02 December 2011
Andy, thank you for the feedback. I sure wish I knew the steps to accidentally make all your bookmarks disappear, but of course we can't go back and reconstruct that now. Recent versions of BookMacster have threshold settings which warn you if more than XX bookmarks are going to be changed. XX defaults to 25, however there is no limit on the first export, because the first export typically makes a big change if you're syncing browsers together for the first time. I do recall something in the setup wizard that made it possible to accidentally export an empty Bookmarkshelf, but that was fixed in an update several months ago. As far as refunds from the developer, sjk, refunds are usually issued upon request. We've only had one or two requests.
Like (1)
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
02 December 2011
Hi Jerry. I simply set it up to import everything from Safari, then export to everything else. It seems to have carried out the operation, and I did see the warning, but it only said the bookmarks would change, only a very few were to be deleted, so I continued. Once completed though, both browsers had empty bookmarks lists. The bookmarks do show up in the BookMacster drop down menu if you install it into the Menubar. In this time though, it froze two or three times and had to be force quit. No refund necessary, as I only tried the Demo. Cheers.
Like (1)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
02 December 2011
Thank you, Andy. OK, if BookMacster crashed during an export, anything could happen. Let us know if you ever want to try BookMacster again. BookMacster has a tool built into it for generating reports that we can use to fix issues, and when someone using a demo license finds a real issue and submits a report, we usually give them a free license. To use this tool, click in BookMacster's menu: Help ▸ Trouble Zipper. Andy, if indeed you had some hard crashes, and this occurred with a recent version, say within the last few months, I'd still like to see the crash reports. You can send them manually if you know how, or Trouble Zipper will get them for you.
Like (1)
Andy-Hewitt
Andy-Hewitt
02 December 2011
Jerry, I have mailed you the crash logs, as I'm not running BookMacster at the moment, along with a note about the blank bookmarks in the browsers. Regards, Andy.
Like (1)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
03 December 2011
We've received the reports from Andy and are on the case.
Like (1)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
04 December 2011
After analyzing Andy's report, we found a fixed a couple of bugs today. One of them caused BookMacster to hang when importing Bookdog settings from Safari, and the other caused BookMacster to sometimes crash when clicking the "Perform…" button in the Advanced Agents tab. The bugs are fixed in BookMacster 1.9.2 which is now the one you get from our website. However, we have not published this on the "Check for Update" feed because (1) the first bug only affects people upgrading from Bookdog for the first time, thus there is no sense in updating someone who is already using BookMacster (2) regarding the second bug, very few people use or even see that button and (3) we don't like to annoy users with incessant updates (Adobe Reader, anyone?) We've definitely fixed the crash that Andy reported. The hang that we fixed may have caused loss of bookmarks during Andy's first import, but we're still looking for other possible causes.
Like (1)
Jerry-Krinock
Jerry-Krinock
09 December 2011
Thanks to Andy Hewitt and one other user who we worked with privately, I'm pretty darn sure we've identified this issue of BookMacster deleting bookmarks upon first running by a few users. The issue has been fixed in BookMacster 1.9.3 which we just published and is now the current version. The issue occurred with users who had just switched from using our older app, Bookdog. Prior to BookMacster 1.9.3, when importing settings from Bookdog, BookMacster would create and activate Agents based on the user's Bookwatchdog settings. (Bookwatchdog is the background agent of Bookdog.) If the initial import failed for some reason, subsequent Agent operations could cause unexpected results, including deleting bookmarks in browsers. For example, an initial import could fail if a web browser had some settings in Bookdog, but that browser had not been used for a long time, and its bookmarks experienced bit rot. In some cases, the new Bookmarkshelf would be empty, and when an Agent activated later to export, exporting from an empty Bookmarkshelf, by default, causes bookmarks content in the exported-to browsers to reflect that emptiness. In other words, it would delete all bookmarks. We now realize that, in almost all cases, former Bookdog users are better off creating new Agents from scratch, rather than importing settings which were compromised by the limited capabilities of Bookwatchdog. It's quite easy now, since we added Simple Agents a while back. There are only three checkboxes, and their effects are illustrated with a picture. Also, by creating Agents automatically, we were violating the advice we give in our "Getting Started" page, which is that BookMacster Agents should not be activated until a user has successfully imported, reviewed and approved their Bookmarkshelf Content, and exported manually. It's common sense in activating any kind of syncing system that everything needs to be in order before you activate the robot.
Like (1)