Back to Divvy page
Divvy free download for Mac

Divvy Reviews

1.5.1
11 February 2017

Create custom workspaces, dividing your screen for efficiency.

Jeff-Nailen
10 May 2010

Most helpful

Sweet. Similar to SizeUp but with more screen options.
Like (3)
Version 1.0

Read 47 Divvy User Reviews

Rate this app:

TinuCH1976
21 February 2017
great app... easy to configure and use... easy backup and restore of your shortcuts
Like
Version 1.5.1
Quiiick
05 February 2017
Divvy version 1.5.1 is available now. Divvy 1.5.1 fixes crash when waking from sleep on the late 2016 MacBook Pros with Touch Bar.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Quiiick
04 November 2016
Divvy version 1.5 is now available. Thanks to the developer for keeping this very useful software up to date!
Like
Version 1.4.2
MacUpdate-Ishaq
16 February 2016
While window management on a Mac desktop has become an increasingly crowded field, Divvy’s visual, intuitive layout keeps it in the upper echelon of these utilities. As soon as the layout grid is called up, a click and drag of the mouse draws out the uniform portion of your screen that the app will be taking up. A live preview of the space taken up, in the form of a giant translucent blue rectangle, makes organization a breeze. Change the granularity of your grid to create even more precise layouts. Unlike many other layout tools, Divvy offers a perfect balance between immediate simplicity and precise specificity, particularly for users with high-resolution displays. The only downside is the limited use Divvy makes of keyboard shortcuts; with some additional honing in on the speed with which users can reorganize on-the-fly, Divvy could stand peerlessly atop this field. But until then, it’s still beyond capable and will quickly become a staple app on any user’s Mac.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
Samer12455
08 September 2015
Hi I used the free version for a while before updating. It's the simplest tool that I've found to divide up the applications on my screen. I set a hotkey and use it to launch the program. I have two large monitors and sometimes things can get lost or confusing. Divvy's perfect for getting all my open programs under control so thanks!
Like
Version 1.4.1
Severose
21 August 2015
Very clean app, I own it on both Windows and Mac and it works flawlessly on both. It's easy to tell that the dev put a lot of effort into this app, there's no feature missing. You can even customize the snapping grid! Add to that fantastic, responsive customer service and you've got an unbeatable product.
Like
Version 1.4.1
Quiiick
16 October 2014
Great app! But I'm not at all fond of the new icon in version 1.4. Too complicated and less concise than the old one. A step backwards.
Like
Version 1.4
EugeneWang7997
07 November 2013
I love this app but it's not working on Mavericks 10.9 though even with 1.3.7
Like
Version 1.3.7
3 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
05 December 2013
It works well on Mavericks in my experience.
Like
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
25 December 2013
same problem here. each time you restart the mac the "Divvy permission problem" come out. please fix it!
Like
Mizage
Mizage
21 January 2014
You find full instructions for Mavericks here: http://mizage.com/help/accessibility.html#10.9 Along with this workaround for anyone who's having issues: http://mizage.clarify-it.com/d/6ervmn
Like
Pattithepotato
14 July 2013
I've been using Divvy for years now and it has become so integrated into my workflow that I don't know what I would do if I suddenly didn't have it anymore. It works seamlessly for me using a dual display setup. I have 5 main layouts assigned to 5 different hot keys that I routinely use, but I love how I can also easily customize my windows on-the-fly when I need to. (Tip: You can hold down the option key to get an even finer grid for defining your layout.) The developers are quite responsive too. I once had a problem with changing the my windows in MS Office applications, but this was quickly fixed in the next update. Awesome!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.6
Winstonsmith
24 May 2013
I purchased this a few minutes ago and wow is it simple. With dual monitors and 14 applications going I was moving stuff around like a pro. Not that I need to do this habitually, quite the opposite. It was just fun doing it. Slick. Hats off to MacUpdate too. The ability to have MacUpdate Desktop automatically download and install the program is sweet and a second click (or two) puts the serial and associated details in my 1Password. (I gave it five stars for everything because it wouldn't let me out without rating everything. I'll come back and re-rate if it doesn't measure up.)
Like
Version 1.3.6
io-witter
29 January 2013
Yes, it is over-priced - but that might just be me getting old! *laughs* Think of it as paying for something that is highly functional and purposely made without bells and whistles: It does what it does and simply and well - and without having to attend a seminar to work it. PLUS I have an extra monitor hooked into my mac: each time the power saver kicked in all the windows ended up on the Mac screen: with Divvy the windows stay where they are put, and for that alone it was worth the cost.
Like
Version 1.3.5
Stormchild
12 July 2012
Moom costs less and does more.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.5
Thomas-Holtz
08 December 2011
So much of the OS X interface is designed for small MacBook screens now. I have this incredible 27" screen on my iMac, and I just don't need to run most apps in fullscreen mode. I use Divvy on a regular basis, with the keyboard shortcuts, to tile windows all over the screen and keep apps open side-by-side. Great stuff.
Like
Version 1.3.4
JohnKHeath
29 October 2011
A small but very practical and convenient utility. I don’t use it that much but when doing artwork, it comes in handy every time.
Like
Version 1.3.4
trungpt
22 September 2011
Up to now, everything works as expected. Microsoft Office products like Word are quite slow to follow the Divvy commands.
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
Ables
01 August 2011
A good and useful app, using steps are simple.
Like
Version 1.3
Zokdok
27 July 2011
Nice add-on, I use the global shortcuts with some settings a lot! Also just learned about the subdivision the grid with 'alt'. Still needs some fixes for Lion though. Especially when setting a window to fill the screen when the dock is present (at the right). The window gets too big and jumps to the left.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Zokdok
Zokdok
28 July 2011
Great support. After contacting the developer with the issue, he came back with questions etc very quickly. Bugfix is underway :)
Like (1)
Vinkri
08 June 2011
Divvy is a very useful tool. I often have to navigate between many windows. Very easy to get them properly aligned. However, $14 is too much for that kind of features. And the screen division is not always suitable. I use it all the time, but it lacks some flexibility and should be cheaper.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.3
Pwenzel
01 June 2011
I'm one of those people who has to have his drink coaster aligned parallel to the table. I also like to have my windows arranged just as well. Divvy is the perfect bar coaster re-arranger for OSX.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
Peter-Emil
23 May 2011
Works like a charm and I really miss it when on a mac without... only the Adobe Family won't take Divvy's orders :(
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
Churkl
10 May 2011
Mac doesn't offer a way to tile apps on the screen until Window does. Divvy basically fill in that gap and even better assignable hot key. With a few keystroke, I can Full screen, 1/2 screen, center, etc... Simple to use and easy to setup.
Like
Version 1.2.3
mezzin
29 April 2011
The best window divide and very flexible.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
GeorgStachena
01 April 2011
shortcuts make this little tool even more precious
Like
Version 1.2.3
daigorobr
26 March 2011
Heaven on Earth. Better than this would only be able to have app-specific presets.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
2 answer(s)
Philih
Philih
29 March 2011
Only with app-specific presets and shortcuts is this app useful. Everything else would be useless. I don't want do press shortcuts all the live-long day.
Like
Peter-Emil
Peter-Emil
23 May 2011
@Philih: you prefer mousing all day? I really like the shortcuts. Only thing is that so many programs use so many shortcuts ... hard to keep up without cheatsheets.
Like
mirama
24 March 2011
ok
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
CStringham
23 March 2011
This program solves one of my biggest complaints about OSX. Resizing windows should be this easy at the get go. I honestly don't know what I would do without this product!
Like
Version 1.2.3
xati-ba
21 March 2011
Got this as part of the spring bundle. An absolutely excellent time saving app that saves you the frustration of moving windows around. Just set a few global shortcuts like alt+1 for full screen, alt+2 for left half, and you won't even have to launch the Divvy menu to rearrange your workspace. I can no longer live without this app.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
hugelshofer
18 March 2011
the good ratings and the useful comments make me curious. is this really good for HardCore GUI Power Users ?? (using Exposé in a "Minority Report" style - with my special Mouse instead of gloves) 2. Question: does this work as well in dual Display Environment?
Like
Version 1.2.3
1 answer(s)
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
18 March 2011
should have read the FAQ on the dev site ;o) ________________________________________________ Quote: Does Divvy work on multiple monitors? Absolutely! Divvy will display its panel on every monitor you have connected. You can use Divvy to move windows between monitors by dragging out a selection in the Divvy panel on the monitor you want the window to go to. Additionally, if you use shortcuts, the window will move to the monitor on which the mouse cursor currently resides. ________________________________________________ any User experiences ???
Like
Mikebenda
03 January 2011
From reading the comments, this seemed to be exactly the kind of utility I'd enjoy using. I've often struggled arranging the windows so that I could see a website while typing a Pages document; or so that I could read the instructions in an email while working in InDesign. It seemed to work fine for a few hours then, after increasing the number of rows and columns, it just stopped working completely. Clicking on the menu item would highlight it, but that was it. Unfortunately I had to delete it.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.3
4 answer(s)
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
04 January 2011
Update: After trying a few other similar utilities, I realize that I like this one the best so I've reinstalled it and hoping for the best!
Like (3)
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
05 January 2011
Update #2: Divvy seems to be working fine for two days now. I'm not sure what the problem was that caused it to freeze before but I've not had problems since. After checking out a few more window managment utilities I have to say that I like this one the best. My only wish would be that I could select other application windows while still in the Divvy window. Perhaps by having the icons of the other running applications appear in a separate field to the right of the currently selected application icon? This would be faster and more efficient.
Like (2)
!Robert!
!Robert!
19 January 2011
Open Divvy-Panel -> Preferences (General) -> Keep panel open until dismissed (check this checkbox) That's it!
Like (1)
Ryde
Ryde
27 January 2011
Or even better, without having to turn on "Keep panel open until dismissed": Press and hold the Shift key if you want to resize multiple windows one after another. Shift will tell the panel to stay on-screen!
Like (1)
NateuMacs
02 January 2011
Quick, Easy and does the job well.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anon-Bud
11 December 2010
Great little utility that has really helped me to improve my window workflow. Easy to use with any number of user-configurable settings, all of which can be called up with a single keystroke!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Jkelner
01 December 2010
Divvy is a must have for all Max OSX users. Its easy to use interface with a minimalistic presence. The application is light, and will not take up substantial space. More so, the features that it offers should be a necessity for all Mac users. Divvy finally allows us to quit tugging on the dreaded bottom right corner of the window. Rather, it allows you to use a grid system to select the area of the screen the selected application will use. Not only that, but the management of the company is extremely friendly and quick to aid in any questions or suggestions you might have. Buy this app! You will not be disappointed.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Idegel
21 November 2010
Divvy is a simple idea, and an immensely huge time saver, especially for people who like precision in window placement. It is hard to summarize how useful it has been, so I recommend trying it out; you will absolutely love it. It is unobtrusive and well implemented, and the developer is quick to respond!
Like
Version 1.2.2
Mutant
13 October 2010
This is a pretty nice app to have around, but the default grid is not what I want. An option/preference to create as many grids (rows/columns) would make this app ideal. right now I'm finding that I resize my apps only to have to make them just a little smaller or bigger. If I was able to make the divvy grid have more rows/columns I could then have the precision I want.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Mizage-Apps
Mizage-Apps
04 November 2010
Be sure to check out the documentation that comes with Divvy, there are actually several ways to control the number of row/columns in the grid. One way is with some built in hotkeys such as Cmd+Plus (the plus key) to add rows, Cmd+Minus (the minus key) to remove row, Cmd+Shift+Plus to add columns, and Cmd+Shift+Minus to remove columns. You can also adjust the grid in the Appearance preferences. Also, as already mentioned, you can press the Option key to instantly subdivide the grid for finer control.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.2
ivan
28 September 2010
I purchased this and it is now one of my "must-have" apps for daily activities. I do presentations on my Mac often and Divvy saves me so much time in having to re-work all my app windows after each presentation. Highly recommended!
Like
Version 1.1.4
!Robert!
04 September 2010
Currently, I am using Version 1.2.1 (398). Some people suggested global shortcuts. The new version of Divvy includes global shortcuts, although I like to activate Divvy in the first place and then use my customized shortcuts instead of using global shortcuts at once, I believe this option is still very useful and handy! I have not noticed any problems with arranging or resizing any application, including iTunes. I even tried to change the image of a VirtualPrivateNetwork connection (some kind of a remote connection to a given server, similar to Cloud Computing or Parallel's Desktop but not on your own machine) which at least changed to position on my screen but not the size as I intended to. I assume that is not Divvy's problem more a security standard implemented within the VPN. A must have for MAC OS X. I use it daily. However, I have not tried out this application with a second screen! My iMac (27") is big enough for daily work but not for programming which I do daily, too. When I get another 27" screen I will review my review again.
Like
Version 1.1.4
1 answer(s)
!Robert!
!Robert!
04 January 2011
I use it daily, it is an outstanding little tool which saves me a lot of time! This is MUST-HAVE app.
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
02 August 2010
Why is this version just now being shown today? Version 1.1.4 was released on 7/22. By the way, 5 stars for this awesome app. I love it.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.4
Veryvito
04 June 2010
Didn't take me long to purchase this after trying it out for an evening. I'm not a fan of window managers in general (although, strangely enough, I seem to own a lot of them), but this one "just works" and stays out of the way until you need it. The video on the developer's page explains all you need to know to start working with it immediately. Nice job!
Like
Version 1.1.2
Fariborz
25 May 2010
I also bought this application just now. It's simply fantastic and functions as promised. As it's a new concept it takes some time to get used to but once you get the hang of it you wonder how you ever lived without it. Highly recommended. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like
Version 1.1.1
davyboy
25 May 2010
Wow! I evaluated all of the current offerings for window management. Divvy was the simplest, most capable, easiest to learn app I could find. I bought it within 1 week or less of using it.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Sonnendeck
22 May 2010
Brilliant, very useful! The only thing I miss is an option to snap back a window to the first position. Maybe the developer could think about this.
Like
Version 1.1
Fou-Step
17 May 2010
I'm using the tryout and I would buy this if there was an option to set a shortcut that no matter what application is running, it will immediately resize and locate the windows to the given setting. (Without the need of activating the application first).
Like
Version 1.0.2
2 answer(s)
Irradiated-Software
Irradiated-Software
20 May 2010
We are currently discussing the addition of global shortcuts to Divvy in the near future.
Like
Version 1.1
Nicksloan
Nicksloan
28 May 2010
Global shortcuts might be a nice option, but please do keep Divvy-only shortcuts as well.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
JetsSetter
16 May 2010
Divvy - quick, simple and elegant utility. Being the most powerful window manager, Divvy stays away as much as you want at any time and come to your aid. Divvy - a small application to the menu bar, which allows you to resize any active window. When activated Divvy appears small transparent window with a grid, which virtually splits the screen 6 at 6 cells. To move or resize any window by selecting the cells in this field. It is very simple. Divvy allows you to create an unlimited number of shortcuts to various provisions of the windows. For example, you can create a shortcut to the left half of the screen and the hotkey on the platform 4 x 4 squares in the center. Effects of shortcuts is not limited to one application and they work for any active window. In addition, you can set a global hotkey to call the main window. By default, HUD-pane disappears when you select the cells, but in the settings can be enabled manually hide the program. And in conclusion I say that I was satisfied with the program Divvy. Best Regards Vitaly!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.2
Mehmet-Merih
16 May 2010
absolutely amazing.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.2
Grug
13 May 2010
very good windows manager. it change my life.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Grug
13 May 2010
very good windows manager. it change my life.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Jeff-Nailen
10 May 2010
Sweet. Similar to SizeUp but with more screen options.
Like (3)
Version 1.0