Back to Compartments page
Compartments free download for Mac

Compartments Reviews

2.1.1
23 January 2014

Home inventory application.

Xplicit
06 February 2011

Most helpful

Please, please please add drag and drop for images and attachments. I'd love to buy this, but not without those features. Thanks.
Like (6)
Version 1.5.1

Read 11 Compartments User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jakob-joergensen
29 July 2014
Installed Positively surprised No metric Useless outside USA Deleted again
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
gryphonent
13 July 2013
No export/import function, no update in over a year… probably dead. I liked it at first sight, but it has too many shortcomings. No field for manufacturer and store website… I reckon it's all going into the notes. What a mess. Potential, but sadly neglected by the developer.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.5
Xplicit
06 February 2011
Please, please please add drag and drop for images and attachments. I'd love to buy this, but not without those features. Thanks.
Like (6)
Version 1.5.1
Jimblue
28 December 2010
I've been overwhelmed lately by things I have to do and get done, but I wanted to say a few things about Compartments. I'll write a thorough review in a few months. 1) Free upgrades for life. 2) With one license you can use Compartments on as many computers as you like so long as they are your (the buyer of the software) computers. 3) Compartments has been on sale for $10 during the entire month of December, and it’s not hard to find Compartments on sale for $10 with a little effort and patience. This software is well worth $10 for what it does. 4) Their web pages are well thought out and will tell/teach of many related things you can do with Compartments concerning home inventory. 5) The developer is working on ver. 2.0 and is open to suggestions, but please keep in mind he would like to keep the app simple and easy to use. Since this software is basically being developed by just one man, he is working in a vacuum and could use our encouragement I’m sure. i think the simpleness of this software, as well as Chronicle, is great. I haven’t used it enough to give it a review just yet though.
Like (5)
Version 1.4
Tk
15 October 2010
Overall I'm pleased with Compartments. It is very easy to use. I like the notion of defining all the rooms in the house easily and then adding items in what order I choose. Adding photographs is a good idea for insurance purposes. I also really like the capability to define define collections of items that are independent of specific locations. As an example, you could create a equipment of fishing equipment since it really is not permanent in just one room. It would be neat to map "Collections" objects to specific rooms. I also discovered the quick item load which allows one to "batch" load a list of items at one time. Then you can go back and add details. The reports are easy to read. I would like to see additional reports types or the ability to customize reports. I'd also like to see an expansed list of standard named items and to be able to add items and the resue them instead of rekeying. I expect Compartments to grow in features (e.g. reporting) over time. But I hope they keep it simple. I admit I tend to experiment with a new tool pretty much without studying the help to see how intuitive it is. I found it pretty easy to learn but I did check a could of items in Help.
Like (3)
Version 1.3.1
357sig
23 August 2010
Developer- There is no application such as this for gun collectors on the Mac platform. This application already does about 85% of would would be needed to be an excellent collections cataloging application. I am an avid gun collector with a serious need for an elegant application to track my collection and the various pieces of information relevant to each particular weapon. There's an untapped market out there and we gun owners are moving more and more to the Mac and away from windows. Sincerely, 357Sig@SigP239.com
Like (4)
Version 1.3
5 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
08 September 2010
Being European, the concept of a guns collection sounds a bit scary, but it did trigger the idea to use this for my fountain pens
Like (9)
Version 1.3.1
Nalts
Nalts
09 September 2010
@Minor- With your being European, I thought you think most things are scary! Hahaha! ;-) All in fun, mate.
Like (5)
Version 1.3.1
Miner
Miner
09 September 2010
@Nalts: No offense taken! The pen is mightier than the gun, eh, sword, anyway! ;-)
Like (10)
Version 1.3.1
Nalts
Nalts
09 September 2010
Touché!
Like (6)
Version 1.3.1
Mvasilakis
Mvasilakis
22 December 2014
I would jump all over this as a way to catalog guns & serial numbers but the app does not encrypt it's information so it's a no go for me.

You are correct though. Gun cataloging software for the mac is nonexistent. I use 1pasword to store my gun and serial # info in case it ever get's stolen and I need the info available. (But 1pass doesn't yet have custom categories so you are stuck stuffing it in some other category.)
Like
Roodogc
23 July 2010
Great software, easy to use, excellent price point, excellent support (immediate answers). Every good as Home Inventory by Binary.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
Goochisan
23 July 2010
Can't say enough good things about Little Fin and their products! I recently bought Compartments based on my experiences with their other product, Chronicle, which I've grown to depend on. The developer is very active and responsive to users, and maintains a democratic bug/feature/wishlist message board via UserVoice… All this plus "Free Upgrades for Life" makes this purchase a MUST!
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1
cjred
29 June 2010
Thanks LittleFIn for the warranty function! loving this inventory app
Like (3)
Version 1.2.0
ben-marko
17 May 2010
Nice, but a bit too simplistic with this release. Needs to be much more comprehensive - as the previous poster said, warranty info is needed. Plus serials, insurance, and when warranties expire (like an alarm of some sort). Right now this doesn't offer up anything you can't do with an Excel spreadsheet.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Littlefin
Littlefin
29 June 2010
Thanks for the feedback! We've added warranty info, serial numbers, and file attachments (such as receipts) now. We've also completely redone the reports system to make it more comprehensive and totally customizable. I hope you find it more useful!
Like (8)
Version 1.2.0
cjred
01 May 2010
Hoping for this product to have warranty data of the items. otherwise great software!
Like
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
Littlefin
Littlefin
09 May 2010
Thanks for the comment! Yes, warranty info is coming soon.
Like
Version 1.0.1