Back to gfxCardStatus page
gfxCardStatus free download for Mac

gfxCardStatus Reviews

2.3
24 September 2012

Keeps track of which graphics card your MacBook Pro is using.

truthhurts
08 May 2010

Most helpful

Does what it says on the tin. We all knew this was coming when the new MacBook Pros came out, but I didn't expect the first entry to be this well done! Also, do note that there's a Paypal donate on the author's page. I'm sure he'd love it if folks used it. ;-)
Like (5)
Version 1.6.1

Read 31 gfxCardStatus User Reviews

Rate this app:

jkesler
25 April 2018
If you are having compatibility and stability issues using gfxCardStatus, one alternative is gSwitch https://codyschrank.github.io/gSwitch/ Unfortunately, I have been getting kernel panics or screen freezes using gfxCardStatus and Mac OS 10.13.x together on a 2016 MBP :(
Like
Version 2.3
energenetic1111
23 November 2016
This program was working great as a workaround for the Logic Board graphics card issue on my 2010 Macbook Pro, until I upgraded to Mac OS Sierra. When I was still using El Capitan, it allowed me to use the Integrated Only function, which prevented crashes due to the graphics card issue. But now, in Sierra, when I try to use Integrated Only, I get an error message that I cannot use it, because several programs plus gfxCS itself are all on a dependencies list, which precludes integrated-only mode. Currently, I can still use Discreet Only Mode, but it still periodically crashes (although less than with Dynamic Switching). Because of this, I am looking at possibly having to roll back to El Capitan, which the fascists at Apple do not make an easy task (backup required, El Capitan installer not available, etc.). Has a solution to this problem been found? There are many Macs with this same graphics card issue, so I can't be the only one running into this problem. Please respond.
Like
Version 2.3
anonymous-thrush-1121
25 October 2016
steveschow fork and release 2.4.3i for macOS Sierra, https://github.com/steveschow/gfxCardStatus/releases/tag/v2.4.3i
Like (2)
Version 2.3
anonymous-dingo-1034
08 November 2014
On Macbook pro 8.2, with OS X 10.10, app causes artifacts on screen when GPU is switching. :(
Like
Version 2.3
Freezer
27 July 2014
You know what would be really nice? A settable list of applications/processes that are allowed to use discrete gfx with all others being forced to use integrated. It would basically function like it was in "integrated" mode for all apps that were not on that list. This I would pay for.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Molamola
17 January 2014
Unfortunately german localization is broken in the 2.3 build, which was confirmed by the author in 10/2012 and promised a fix "relatively soon". I believe it is corrected in the sources for ages now, but the official built is still broken since more than a year - which is why I am still on 2.2.1. Please, publish a build which fixes the issues of the 2.3 release, not everybody wants/is able to build from sources.
Like
Version 2.3
bb553
13 November 2012
Since a lot of MacBook Pro users with NVidia graphic cards have been able to get second displays - including even analog televisions, detected with gfxCardStatus (when nothing else worked), I've been asked if there is a version of gfxCardStatus or any similar utility for: a) Intel CPU Mac Pro Towers b) G5 and G4 PowerPC Towers c) G4 PowerPC Powerbooks ?
Like
Version 2.3
ellmo
06 October 2012
I honestly registered just to say thank you for this little app. I dunno how, but it single-handedly solved a problem I had with my brand new MBP - it would insist on running integrated Intel gpu when running World of Warcraft (which resulted in 9-11fps). I tried everything in system preferences (I started with forcing the system to use dedicated gpu - no effect), then I used your app. Forced dedicated for a second. Ran the game. Et voilla. Now I can not only enjoy my hardware's full capability, I can also see which gpu is used when and what forces it. That is above great!
Like
Version 2.3
Nontroppo
24 September 2012
Great update, working very well on a retinaMBP on 10.8.2, thanks for a great little utility...
Like
Version 2.3
Drdul
24 September 2012
Bummer! The one feature I used gfxCardStatus for has now been removed. It's no longer possible to force my MacBook pro to use the integrated graphics when running on the battery. According to the dev's blog, it sounds like 10.8.2 is much better at controlling use of the discrete graphics, plus the feature sounds like it was buggy, so I can understand why it's been removed. The dev advises leaving the app set on dynamic switching and using it purely as an informational tool. If that's really all it's suitable for, I no longer have much reason to use gfxCardStatus.
Like (2)
Version 2.3
Frank-Martin
24 September 2012
This version (2.3) requires Lion. Won't start up under Snow Leopard.
Like (2)
Version 2.3
5 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
24 September 2012
Yup, and it simply updated, and now I can't launch it. Is there a link to an earlier version somewhere? (If I find one, I'll post it here.)
Like (1)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
24 September 2012
Okay, version 2.2.1 is still available here: http://is.gd/CklYt7
Like (2)
Cody Krieger
Cody Krieger
24 September 2012
Sorry about that Frank! I meant to make update checker only present the update dialog if you were on 10.7 or newer. Fixed. :)
Like (1)
treelo
treelo
28 September 2012
That's a shame, the link for 2.2.1 there has been updated to 2.3. Any chance of getting a 2.2.1 link on your website, Cody?
Like
kingofgab
kingofgab
05 October 2012
As of right now, this links are active if you want v2.2.1 - I have results; working great on my MVP 17" Intel Core i7 (late 2011) running Snow Leopard: http://www.downloadcrew.com/article/27732-gfxcardstatus http://download.techworld.com/3328418/gfxcardstatus-221/
Like
JoaquimN
24 September 2012
I have been using this app for quite a long time and after this last update I can already see some improvement running on ML 10.8.2. I would love to see a new feature in order to decide which apps use either discrete or integrated graphics card. That would be amazing! Anyone would suggest me something? Thanks, keep the good work, mate.
Like
Version 2.3
DarkLoki
01 July 2012
I was running the previous version of this on my Macbook Fine, until I updated today. Dedicated works, however switching to intel messes up. It goes to a black screen with white lines on the top right hand corner. Does this mean my Intel is Fried? I highly believe this to be a software error because I mean I just ran an update and then these problems came up. TAke me back to the old version :( FYI I'm running the GT 330m Nvidia i7 2.66
Like
Version 2.2.1
Ythara
25 June 2012
I admit I leave it on Dynamic most of the time. But it's great even just to keep an eye on which apps request the GPU and which don't. Thanks to gfxCardStatus I've been able to choose what apps to use, so I don't risk having some little software that does very simple tasks switching my whole system to the discrete card and holding it like that all day long. I'm perfectly fine with Photoshop asking for the NVidia card, but it's pretty stupid when a little Twitter client does it.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
shidevil
25 June 2012
Great app!
Like
Version 2.2.1
JML54
19 November 2011
On some Macs with dual cards, such as my 2011 MBP, use of the Energy Saver automatic graphics switching will trigger a display problem when logging out and logging back in: the display will be stuck on a lower-resolution option until restart. You can't get back the highest resolution and have black bars at the top and bottom of the screen (the higher resolution setting is not available on the integrated card, and for some reason the system won't permit the change). This seems to be an Apple bug triggered by some update in the past couple of months, at least on my MBP. See http://tinyurl.com/72hsgtt for more information. This application allows me to choose the card to use when I want to save battery power and have no external display connected. But it resets automatic switching if it was turned off before the app was run. As far as I can tell, the app does permit power-source-based switching without the login display resolution problem! I have to test the effects on an external projector display next week when I'm in a classroom, however; it may limit the resolution available to me when running on battery power and connecting a projector. I just installed your app, and am at home, unable to test it fully.
Like
Version 2.1
4 answer(s)
JML54
JML54
20 November 2011
[sigh] Setting gfxCardStatus to "dynamic switching" simply sets the automatic graphics card choice via the Energy Saver tab in System Preferences, and the problem with the display resolution appears again after user switching. Once in a while the resolution problem disappears, but it happens 90% of the time. So just use the manual switching options.
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
29 January 2012
Great, MacUpdate's servers were down today and now some of my previous post(s) are gone? Ughh... curse you, cloud... We should all just go back to email and email listserves....
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
29 January 2012
I guess since Macupdate borked both of our replies after it's server went down the other day, I'll just copy from my email notification: > "gfxCardStatus continues to work fine and solves all the display > resolution issues, regardless of what's connected to serve as an external > display. Turning off the Mac's automatic switching solves the login > issue." That's a horrible workaround for me. I really want the automatic switching to work to save battery life when it can. Oh well.
Like
JML54
JML54
29 January 2012
My update comment vanished. Oh, well... This app works fine regardless of what display is connected when I logout and login. I don't mind the manual control over the selection; in fact, until Apple does something about the underlying bug, this is the ONLY solution that works. I appreciate the manual control and the ease of changing which card is in use.
Like
Libertyforall1776
14 September 2011
FYI, I just noticed a message from VMWare Fusion 4.0.1 saying "VMware Fusion is not compatible with gfxCardStatus software installed on your Mac. Graphics switching while a virtual machine is running can cause the virtual machine to crash. To prevent damage to your virtual machines it is recommended that dynamic switching be disabled while VMware Fusion is running."
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Younkint
Younkint
24 September 2012
Thanks for the head's up. Applies to me.
Like
Antoinesynopsis
30 July 2011
This soft saves my battery. Very simple to use. Good work.
Like
Version 2.1
Abbott
27 July 2011
This (v2.1) is a fine app except for one important gotcha: on my Thunderbolt MBP, the app renders the Thunderbolt port useless for connecting an external display. Quitting gfxCardStatus does not solve the problem—you must reboot the machine. I've reproduced the problem using both a projector and a 20" ACD connected to the computer using both an Apple and a third party Mini DisplayPort-to-DVI connector. I have sent an email to the developer, but thought it would be useful to share this tidbit with potential users.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Abbott
Abbott
28 July 2011
Update: I'd been trying to drive the display using the integrated graphics chip, and it turns out that the chip in my MBP won't drive an external display. Changing to Dynamic Switching fixed things, so my review now goes to 4.5 stars Thanks to the developer for quickly replying and helping me.
Like
Libertyforall1776
07 July 2011
Awesome little app! I am really surprised this can switch GPUs on the fly and wonder why Apple forces a logout and you can do it on the fly? The dev did not cover this in his website FAQ...
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
2 answer(s)
Chadcn
Chadcn
09 July 2011
Um, Apple doesn't force a logout. It automatically changes when you use an app that takes advantage of certain APIs.
Like (2)
Cody Krieger
Cody Krieger
20 July 2011
Glad you like it, Libertyforall1776! :) Chadcn: Incorrect - 2008-early 2010 models with dual-NVIDIA GPUs forced a logout. Newer ones with automatic graphics switching automatically switch.
Like (2)
anonymous-wombat-32
19 March 2011
Very informative utility. useful for the Mid-2009 MacBook Pros which usually have to log out to swap graphics cards, this program can swap them on the fly.
Like
Version 2.0.1
HACK-Design
21 January 2011
Very useful e stable plugin
Like (1)
Version 2.0
A-One69
13 January 2011
Brilliant. Can't believe I didn't know about this before today. Finally a way to easily switch graphics cards without logging out on my late 2008 MacBook Pro with Dual NVIDIA GeForce 9400M/9600M GT. Genius. Why on earth isn't this built in as standard to the OS? Weird. Developer deserves our donations!
Like
Version 2.0
By
18 December 2010
Works just great, an indispensable utility for my late 2008 MacBook Pro! Very responsive developer, extremely helpful!
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Kbeat
17 December 2010
I've been using the app since it was first released. 1.8 worked great, however after updating to 2.0, I can no longer control the brightness on my LED Apple Cinema display. I'm removing it for now and assume that the dev, who is usually quick about fixing bugs, will have an update out soon.
Like
Version 2.0
New-User
19 November 2010
Works as advertised, has several very useful features. Ability to force the integrated GPU when on battery power is essential IMO and should have been implemented by Apple in the first place. Only negative is that the program takes approximately 25MB RAM on startup, seams absurdly large for something with such a minimal UI.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.1
Vieri2x
24 May 2010
It works with my MacBook Pro 17" Intel Duo Core Duo 3,06 GHz as well. I can switch graphics cards (NVIDIA GeFORCE 9400M & NVIDIA GeFORCE 9600 GT) from the menu bar instead using orefs and loggin' out. Quick and helpful. Thanks!!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.5
truthhurts
08 May 2010
Does what it says on the tin. We all knew this was coming when the new MacBook Pros came out, but I didn't expect the first entry to be this well done! Also, do note that there's a Paypal donate on the author's page. I'm sure he'd love it if folks used it. ;-)
Like (5)
Version 1.6.1
Bunker
08 May 2010
The best software companion to the new macbook pros. Now it can force manual switching to Intel built-in graphics! This is a killer feature. Given MacOS's proclivity to flick to the nvidia chip when any program wants to access core image (this is often for me), gfxCardStatus actually lets you choose battery life over performance.
Like (4)
Version 1.6
Infosec
01 May 2010
Works great. Thank you very much to the developer that provided this to us for free!
Like (4)
Version 1.5
Esquare61
01 May 2010
Very handy tool for owners of the new Core i5 and i7 series Macbooks. This feature in particular is invaluable: Dependent process list - see which applications are currently using the 330M, if it's the active GPU!
Like (1)
Version 1.5