Back to TrashMe page
TrashMe free download for Mac

TrashMe Reviews

2.1.21
30 January 2019

Uninstall your applications by deleting all related files.

Hal2007
21 May 2010

Most helpful

Phantastic update! This is getting better and better with every release. And because it's free, competing products don't look too good compared with this. It now even finds Growl tickets. The developer listened to my comment and implemented it. Great software from a great developer. Thanks for this!
Like (7)
Version 1.3

Read 55 TrashMe User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bremen
24 May 2019
Works well but I continue to receive crash messages for the TrashMeHelper App that I installed from the web site.
Like
Version 2.1.21
Picon
14 April 2018
After thoroughly testing many uninstallers (see my comment under AppDelete), this one tied for best app at finding related files that should be trashed along with the app you are throwing away. I was really surprised at how well this app did at finding related files that many other "bigger name" apps missed. Kudos to the developer!
Like
Version 2.1.17
1 answer(s)
Jibapps
Jibapps
16 May 2018
Thanks for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed TrashMe!
Like
tomlaoshi
04 October 2017
I'm still using the ancient free version - LOVE IT! I use it for just about everything I need to delete since it cleans up all the residual files. I'm sure the paid version is just as good, if not better.
Like
Version 2.1.16
Jibapps
15 February 2017
We offer a 20% discount with the coupon code TRASHME20 (only for a few days).
Like
Version 2.1.16
lacwbo
14 June 2015
I can't compare it to other similar apps, if there is not trial version. So I guess I'll stick with the ones I have.
Like
Version 2.1.9
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
01 May 2016
A demo is now available on our website. http://www.jibapps.com/en/products/trashme/
Like (1)
lacwbo
14 June 2015
Sorry; no trial; no buy. I'm not going to spend anything on an app that I cannot try first.
Like
Version 2.1.9
jack2001
07 December 2014
possibile che questa applicazione non si possa scaricare in demo, ma solo in una versione free ??
Like
Version 2.1.8
Jude22
28 November 2014
This review leaps ahead in time. I begged the developer to let me see his beta for version 2.1.9. It gets rid of more files in more places that developers put files of their apps than virtually all the other uninstallers. There is no concern for anxiety over deleting the wrong file and the new beta algorithm is better than ever. Side by side tests with the best uninstallers show TrashMe to uninstall as many or more files. It appears that the developer will be releasing this new version pretty soon. It is not free but the fee is nominal. What is this obsession with freebee software? Why is $7.99 too expensive for the best!?
Like (1)
Version 2.1.8
6 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
17 April 2015
Half a year later still no version 2.1.9. What happened there?
Like
Jude22
Jude22
13 October 2015
Version 2.1.11 is now out, I understand, and it is better in its deletion algorithm than virtually any other uninstaller out there. I tested it using Thomas Templeton's Find Any File against many other uninstaller and freebees and it is an objective fact that it can do more! For instance, TrashMe now searches the "private" folder (hidden) and removes a lot of file remnants that are there which other uninstallers don't and does it accurately and safely. There is a cache cleaner and the developer told me in an email that in the next version he will be putting in a batch log deletion ability. Come on, guys. You may not be able to test before buying but I have after forking out the cash and it is much much better for the small amount of money I paid than most other uninstallers, certainly better than the freebees.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
01 May 2016
This is vague. Is it better than AppDelete?
Like
Jude22
Jude22
01 May 2016
Odysseus, what do you mean "This is vague"? Do you want me to write a review called the history of TrashMe is 30 volumes? All I can say is that version 2.1.12 is out now and a new Add-on was just put out too. The developer did not call his next version 2.1.9 as i thought... my mistake. Still I use FindAnyFile by Thomas Templeton and can find remnants that uninstallers do not yet uninstall. I happen to know that TrashMe and AppDelete by Reggie Ashworth are on about the same par. I tested them side by side against my FindAnyFile findings. However, there is to my knowledge no trial versions of either uninstaller so you must spring out the little bit of money to buy either one. TrashMe has a slightly different feature set than AppDelete so the choice has to be which features you want or need.
Like
Odysseus
Odysseus
02 May 2016
I meant the "I tested it using Thomas Templeton's Find Any File against many other uninstaller and freebees and it is an objective fact that it can do more!" is vague because you didn't explicitly mention to which other uninstaller you compared it.
Like
Jude22
Jude22
02 May 2016
Odysseus,
Sorry for misunderstanding you! After discovering FindAnyFile where one puts in its search the name of the developer and/or the unique name of the app you just uninstalled using a particular uninstaller, I usually found many remnants that were not uninstalled at all, particularly a ton of files in a hidden file and its sub-files called "private", etc. i tried many many uninstallers side by side with FindAnyFile and no freebee nor even CleanMyMac 2 even touched certain remnants at all. The developer's own Uninstallers that come with antivirus apps turned out to be the worst surprisingly. I wrote to Jib and told him about my methods and he started using my method and improved his algorithm beyond almost every other app. i also send the same procedure to the developer of AppDelete and he did likewise. Today, as it stands, even the best uninstallers can't cope with certain eccentric apps which follow no logic which can be safely put in an uninstaller's algorithm and so TrashMe and AppDelete cannot unfortunately deal with those crazy apps. I have to use FindAnyFile and my common sense wits to rid my iMac of all the rest of the remnants of those apps. But with TrashMe and with AppDelete, it is becoming increasing less necessary for me to run FindAnyFile after running these two uninstallers because they are so thorough. Like I said, the feature sets are different in TrashMe and AppDelete so you have to choose between them based on your preference in features. For me iTrash is out because it's algorithm produces many hits, a lot of them false positives. This, to me, is dangerous whereas TrashMe and AppDelete are foolproof. Lastly, TrashMe is very pretty as UI's go. I believe that I just read that Jib has a trial version on its site and there is a little addon file on the site which overcomes all the limitations that Apple imposes on the TrashMe which is sold on the Apple Store. Finally, to repeat, there is not 2.1.9 yet because the developer of TrashMe numbered his next version differently than I expected him to.
Like
SHRIMPS
11 December 2012
I've tried many free and paid trash apps and compared them with TrashMe side by side. TrashMe was the one that I found to get rid of the most files. I love how it stays out of sight until I trash an app and then quickly disappears. It's very simple to use.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.5
Steved
11 December 2012
Like the next commentator, I too don't have the latest version of TrashMe, but the older (free) version works just fine on SL. Years ago I compared all the free or trial ware uninstaller apps at that time and found TrashMe and iTrash to find the greatest number of associated files with the least amount of error. I already purchased iTrash and it works fine. I assume the newest version of TrashMe also works fine, and if I didn't already have a great uninstaller app, I would probably buy this one. As far as all the whiners complaining about developers wanting to earn a few dollars, "Get a life." If you don't want to pay for anything besides free, then don't, but please stop whining and downgrading ratings just because you're a cheapskate. Seems to me that most small developer app prices have dropped dramatically within the past few years, and I can remember when the best rated uninstaller app cost about $20, and gas was about $2 a gallon.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.5
Rsmacupdate
17 November 2012
I am not a TrashMe user. I am just looking at the various apps that perform this function. I have an observation or two. There was to trial version to try it out. This made it impossible to compare with the other trials I was able to download. This preventing my further pursuit. It also seems to not support Snow Leopard. There are, in some reports, more users on Snow Leopard than any other version. Even if this report is inaccurate, the users on SL are significant. Although I have both Lion and Mountain Lion, I prefer SL so this placed TrashMe out of the running for me.
Like
Version 2.1.4
BlackMacX
06 August 2012
Great little app, cleans out files related to applications you want to trash as well as Preference Panes, Dashboard Widgets and more. For the price, I know people have and will complain; but honestly, it is a great application and one that is well worth the money. If you want a freeware app, go for it; but don't be surprised (though commercial ware also can succumb too) if the application dies after awhile due to either lack of developer ability (either due to cost of keeping the application updated vs time it takes them to do the updating or whatever reason really) or lack of general user base support. I have used other similar applications prior to using TrashMe, loved them and then moved to TrashMe when it was freeware. I paid for the v2 upgrade as it is a good application, hasn't ever pooched my system and has added features that help me do my maintaining of my Mac. The only issue I have really ever had with TrashMe is the TrashMe Helper application that frequently crashes on me. But that's not a serious issue (for me).
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
3 answer(s)
Jibapps
Jibapps
07 August 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Are you sure the helper is crashing with latest version? This should not be the case anymore.
Like
BlackMacX
BlackMacX
07 August 2012
I will email you separately with log output; but yes, it still is crashing with the latest version.
Like
BlackMacX
BlackMacX
07 August 2012
I should clarify for both Jibapps and all users, that my crashing is likely due to the fact that I have my Saved Application State folder empty and locked so it isn't saved too. I don't like the folder's function/use and that is why I have it setup as it is. I have followed the safest, simplest method to keep it from being used.
Like
EudoraBryant
02 August 2012
The free one no longer updates. I have changed to Appcleaner. Appcleaner is a very simple and useful application.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.2
Max66
15 April 2012
I got the App when it was free. Now I see it is not longer free and only available from the App Store :-( Technically, it is a very good App. However, now that it is no longer free and the free version no longer updated, I give a lower rating.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
5 answer(s)
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
01 August 2012
Couldn't agree more. Don't see why I ought to have to pay for a minor 0.0.X upgrade. Think I'll switch to another product.
Like
Jib
Jib
06 August 2012
@Dana Sutton : as I may understand your point of view, TrashMe 2.X is not a minor upgrade. This is a different version from version 1.x that was free. Lot of improvements, new UI, new features.
Like
BlackMacX
BlackMacX
06 August 2012
@Dana Sutton and Max66, have either of you really tried the application in it's new version? If you don't like it (having purchased it from the AppStore, you can get a refund). As Jib (the developer) noted, this isn't a minor upgrade and also putting a lower rating due to it no longer being freeware and being only available via the App Store isn't a reason to lower the rating. @Dana Sutton: The developer is allowed to make money from their efforts and if you don't like it, find something else to use; but don't use that as justification for lowering the rating (without real backup proof that the app isn't fit for purpose) **I am not defending the developer here, just noting that as a user, I think the $6.99 for the app is well worth it (considering that I use it probably 2-3 times a month (or more) to help keep things clean (along with some other apps, like Onyx (there is an app with paying for; and CarbonCopy Cloner (another freeware moved to commercial ware, that is great and well worth the $$)). Make the choice that is right for you; rating though based on going from freeware to paid and for being only available in the AppStore really aren't (IMO) valid.
Like
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
07 August 2012
Jib, was Trashme renumbered from v. 1 to v. 2 at the same time it was moved to the Apple Store and made a paid app. If the answer is yes, then I apologize. If the answer is no, then I don't. There are a couple of other considerations here. First,as a consumer I am aware that because of Apple's sandboxing rules, it is possible that when an app. becomes distributed through the Store it will have LESS functionality, not more. Second, there are several freeware apps., not distributed through the store, that do essentially what this one does.
Like
Jibapps
Jibapps
07 August 2012
@Dana Sutton : TrashMe 2 is not a renumbered version, but a new version, built from scratch. Many tools are now included (manage favorite apps, modify hidden system preferences, delete junk files, force empty Trash...), UI has been largely improved, and related files results too. And many other small improvements. Other competitors are more expensive (iTrash, AppZapper, AppDelete...).
Like
Canisbos
07 November 2011
Does TrashMe now find files in the following folders? ~/Library/Saved Application State ~/Library/Caches/com.apple.helpd/Generated" ~/Library/Preferences/SDMHelpData" I used to use the old freeware version, and I noticed that these were the main areas where iTrash found files that TrashMe (freeware) did not.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Hal2007
08 August 2011
Best of breed, hands down. But, AppCleaner is free and good, too. I need an argument to buy it. How about adding an archive feature, like AppDelete or CleanApp have? This killer feature would finally convince me to spend the money.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
GuerillaTech
28 July 2011
TrashMe is my choice program when it comes to cleanly deleting apps. I upgraded to Lion, so I upgraded TrashMe as well. Overall, the app is a nice improvement. My only gripe is that it seems to have lost the ability to find and display orphaned files for deletion. Is this feature truly gone, or am i missing it somewhere in the app? If it is gone, are there any plans to add it back in the future?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Jib
Jib
28 July 2011
The orphans feature will come back in future update, it was not fully ready for version 2.0. Thanks for your feedback and your patience!
Like
Cindi168
27 July 2011
I don't think it's fair to give this app a bad review based solely on its change of price. Developing an app is not cheap, if you want better support, frequent updates, that's the price you have to pay. Plus, the app is only under $10, it always amazes me how some people will spend thousands on a mac without thinking but will agaonize over spending $5 for an app. So on with the review... There's no shortage of uninstaller apps for mac, even with the ability to delete apps in launchpad, other files are leftover. I've used trashme since SL and it is in my opinion the best uninstaller for my needs. I've tried appzapper and appcleaner before using trashme on SL, the biggest problem i had with those apps was that they didn't find as many relevant files to delete as trashme. Not to mention appzapper is $13, unstable and crashes all the time, and hasn't received an update in over a year and a half. I did my research and wasn't interested in apps that ran in the background to monitor my trash because those tend to not play nice with apps that updated over sparkle, so I settled on trashme because it was free and it worked extremely well and received frequent updates. Once I upgraded to Lion and found out trashme was updated to support it, I was happy but kind of bummed it is not free anymore. So I went back to the free appcleaner, but after using it, it kept finding extra and irrevelant files (i could just uncheck to not delete it but it was still annoying). Then I read the trashme developer's comment underneath and that convinced me to buy trashme (i paid the introductory price), and i'm glad i did. The new UI is beautiful and fits with lion seamlessly, but more impressive is its function... it really finds all the right files to delete! It's nice that it also protects your favorite apps, can delete widgets and also has a smart delete function that monitors your trash for deleted apps and also removes the leftover files. I also like how the app is updated regularly, and you pay once to receive lifetime updates. One thing I'd like to point out is that it would be nice if the developer included the previous version for download for people still on SL or leopard. I really hope this app has a long lifespan and the developers continue to make this app even better, so lets support them by purchasing this app. If you think the price is too much then there's plenty of other alternatives, but I think trashme is the best and $7 is not too much to ask for such a polished app.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Jib
Jib
28 July 2011
Thanks for your feedback. Version 2.1 will be availale soon with some improvements and bug fixes. Major new features are on their way, so stay tuned! BTW, TrashMe 2.0 works on both Snow Leopard and Lion versions, as previous vesions.
Like
iTruth
26 July 2011
Awesome app, works as advertised. Dragging and dropping apps to Trash leaves too many files behind on your Mac that just sit there forever. Not good to say the least. I've been using this since version 1.0 and I love it. TrashMe is the best!
Like
Version 2.0.1
Steven-Sky
21 July 2011
Previous free, now you have to pay. Shame The new UI is not nice imo but thats personal. There are other (free and not free)alternatives that perform better.
Like (3)
Version 2.0
3 answer(s)
Jib
Jib
21 July 2011
I completely understand your point, I decided to ask as small fee because it's a lot of work behind TrashMe (and being on the Mac App Store is not free fro me). Then people have the choice between several uninstallers, isn't it good ?
Like (4)
End-user-guy
End-user-guy
25 July 2011
I'm torn on this one. I've been using TrashMe for quite some time, since AppTrap bit me, and it's been perfect at deletions. The other functions can be very useful as well, lots of power built into TrashMe. What pained me was the sudden pay only update with the advent of Lion. I'm going to pay because it's worth it, but I feel cornered having gone to Lion and then finding this version of TrashMe has been optimized for it. Actually, I'm uneasy NOT upgrading TrashMe, and there's the rub. No one twisted Jib's arm to go on the Mac Store … did they? Ka•ching!
Like
Jib
Jib
26 July 2011
@End_user_guy : actually the arrival of TrashMe on the Mac App Store has nothing to do with Lion (it was planned for months) and TrashMe is not particularly optimized for Lion (I've just fixed bugs occuring with this OS). Many many many users asked me everyday when TrashMe will get available on the MAS. But I understand you're disappointed. Please also consider that the current discount price is very very small, and you get life-time updates, even if I add new features. Last, the average donation before the arrival on the store was around 10 $USD, so I guess people valued TrashMe more than I do ;)
Like (2)
Jolly-joker
12 June 2011
problems detecting trashed apps. please fix it
Like
Version 1.5.2
Jolly-joker
10 April 2011
After a long period trying applications of this kind, I've decided to use "TrashMe" because: 1) it usually finds files really related to the app we are deleting, 2) it's free, 3) it has nice interface, 4) it detects when put an app in the trash (like other apps do). But, like all the other apps of this kind, It misses an important feature: to include system files with the same name of the app in the results of the scan for related files! If the developer will include that feature, it will be really the best app to uninstall apps! For the moment you can do this thing manually, and it will shows often folders and files related: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4355?viewlocale=en_US
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
31 August 2011
Now I'm using the great and free AppCleaner 2..
Like
Dana_Nau
18 March 2011
Like some others who have posted here, I've tried using TrashMe and several other uninstall apps. TrashMe consistently did the best job of finding all of the relevant files without finding any irrelevant ones. So I used it to uninstall all of the others :-) The only problem I ever had with TrashMe was a few weeks ago when I tried to use it on an older version of OS X, and got a message saying it was incompatible. It might be useful if the developer could post links to older versions of TrashMe, because I believe one of them would have been compatible.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Hendricx
11 March 2011
As a test I dropped some apps on Trashme. Apps with spaces in there filename give huge problems. Several unrelated items are shown to the user to delete. Also application with the apple in it give unwanted hits. Free but not very unreliable. Not recommended.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Jib
Jib
11 March 2011
Hi, Could you give me some example of apps with spaces in their names ? Because I did not encounter such a problem with those apps. And another example with the word "Apple" ? Thanks for your help.
Like
Shane-Smith
11 March 2011
I've tried several uninstall applications, some free, some paid, and this is my favourite one. When it comes to finding all related files TrashMe and iTrash are comparable. I did have some problems with iTrash when it reached version 1, but they soon got resolved. What really won me over to TrashMe are the features and UI. My only complaint is I wish there was a PPC version for my work computer. There I'm using iTrash, no choice.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Lumac52
24 January 2011
Excellent! I tested all the free solutions I could find on MacUpdate, as well two paid solutions: AppDelete and AppZapper. TrashMe consistently found files that none of these other programs could find. So in other words, it's the best solution I could find, and it's free. Thanks to the developer! (I'm thinking of donating...) (PS: the only problem I had, which also happend with several of the other programs, was one unexpected crash. But with an uninstaller program, a crash is a harmless event.)
Like (2)
Version 1.5.1
Stanleycup99
18 December 2010
Wow, the application looks useful, but the developer's attitude towards criticism leaves much to be desired. It totally turned me off from trying the application. To the dev: Consider changing your approach to how you deal with your customers. Whether you are charging for the app or not, you are entering bits into their hard drives, and they have trusted you with that. The least you can do is offer a professional approach--even if they are not following the same protocol. "Yelling" at them, berating them publicly, and crying about whether their reports are useful or not, is not the way to conduct a business--for profit or not. Otherwise, expect many people to be scared away from your tools. Good luck.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
11 January 2011
What are you referring to? In my experience - I sent him an email about one of his other apps, TunesArt - this developer has been responsive and friendly.
Like (2)
sebos
13 December 2010
As everybody said below: perfect solution. - Safe: remove only what has to be removed. I never any problem which is the first goal! - Performance: remove all linked files. - Simple to use: only drag and drop, or find application(s) to remove. And last but not least: it's a freeware. So, thanks a lot guys for this nice app. Request for a future version: something to find orphan files (like orphan preferences, etc...)
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Mcyukon
13 December 2010
Application is a pleasure to use and is very good at finding all the scattered files. It's Smart Detection mode works very well when deleting applications, only when an application is several folders deep and you delete the topmost folder does it sometimes not recognize the application and launch TrashMe. Developer is friendly, helpful and pretty quick to add reasonable suggestions.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
taja
05 October 2010
Great app. One suggestion. Could you add an option to protect particular preferences files as well as applications? This can be useful, e.g. I regularly download and delete browser nightly builds, and don't want to delete my preference files accidentally.
Like
Version 1.5
Pepelepugh
29 August 2010
TrashMe has lately become a indispensable fixture in my Utilities folder. Superb application in every respect. The Orphans feature is very useful for finding detritus left behind by previously deleted apps. There are lots of other neat features subtlety located within the gui and in the preferences window. Seriously great job with the design of this app. Very straightforward and an absolute pleasure to use.
Like (5)
Version 1.4.2
Roman-Valenta
13 August 2010
This is cleanly the best trashing app for .app files. It finds almost every file associated with the corresponding application. The only issue I experienced was crash while trashing a lot of apps together and they were over 1 GB. If it ever happens again - I will surely send you crash log. Thanks for or great app and good luck in further development.
Like (5)
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Roman-Valenta
Roman-Valenta
14 August 2010
Now I uninstalled TrashMe and all of It's related files, copied to Applications folder again and it does not crash anymore.
Like
Version 1.4.2
taja
21 June 2010
Trash Me has all the key features of other uninstaller apps; the ability to search and delete dashboard widgets, system preference panes, plugins, orphans, and most importantly, application files. This is the basic functionality you'd expect. For me though, the only thing that makes an uninstaller app worth using is the ability to find related files automatically when you add something to the trash. Much more convenient and easy to remember than dragging a file to an uninstaller app. Trash Me 'smartmode' does this, and does it better than AppDelete, which occasionally leaves the application window open after deleting. Trash Me also finds a lot more files than the only other free alternative, the (now abandoned) AppCleaner. Though AppCleaner is prettier. The GUI does seem similar to the other apps. But then again, how many different looks can an uninstaller have? I've also tried AppZapper and AppDelete and none of them offer much more in the way of features than Trash Me. More importantly, Trash Me is free - all of its still-developed competitors are $7 or more. A few minor suggestions I think would make it a lot nicer to use: I think the smart detection window that comes up when you send an app to the trash would seem a lot less intrusive if it was a slightly transparent bezel window (as with AppCleaner). Otherwise it still feels clunkly like an app starting up and closing. The preferences should be streamlined - it doesn't really need 4 separate sections. The app should also remember what apps, widgets etc were displayed last time with a less intrusive refresh option, rather than reloading them all again. Keyboard shortcuts would be nice. e.g. cmd+f to go to filter, switch list/icon view, enter to find related files, cmd+a to select all, shift-click so you can select more than one object in list view.
Like (5)
Version 1.4.2
Cjbolland
06 June 2010
This version sometimes hangs when searching is in progress. It eventually releases the hang issue but it can take 30 seconds or more. I cannot remember this occurring with the previous version. In addition it still finds a lot of unrelated files. Too dangerous to use imo Also, the Putback feature does not work in every occasion. A bit of a lottery it seems. The smart mode seems to be working with this version. As with the previous versions, I still cannot recommend this at this stage.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.1
4 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
06 June 2010
Whoo this is your third review with 2 stars, I guess TrashMe is really crappy... Your review is quite useless to me : when I ask you some feedback, you don't give any real facts (see your previous post) ! I always enjoy feedback so as to improve my software, but maybe you don't want me to improve TrashMe?! So, again, please give some real facts : screenshots? video when TrashMe is hanging? name of applications for which there's too many unrelated files? Otherwise, it's not helpfull...
Like (7)
Version 1.4.1
Cjbolland
Cjbolland
06 June 2010
First, my reviews are more or less to see if you program progresses into a good direction. It is good you fixed the smart mode and eventually I would give you a three star rating for that. But the latest version introduced several other issues, including freezing of your app. That is what I do not call good progress. So I keep my rating at two stars. I understand you do not like low rating reviews, but it is merely my opinion to let you know it is not good enough at this stage. The fact I test it with every new version is because I am curious to see any progress. That said, it seems you and some fans are kicking and flaming everybody who has some negative comments (I am referring to other users - so, I am most definitely not the only one with Trashme issue) No offense intended though !
Like (3)
Version 1.4.1
Webjib
Webjib
06 June 2010
No, your don't understand. I've no problem with low ratings and criticism ! I've a problem with people telling "your app is not working" but without any real facts that could help me improving TrashMe. For example, some users told me "smart mode is not working" (such as you did), but only 1 person accepted to give the de debug log I was asking, and then I've managed to fix a bug. This person gave a 2-stars rating, but helped me, so there's no problem with negative feedback. About your problems, I really want to fix them, but please send me some screenshots or applications' name by email (jib @ jibapps.com). This is the only way to fix some problems. PS : I earn no money with TrashMe, so low ratings have no impact for me ;)
Like (9)
Version 1.4.1
Mrcham
Mrcham
20 June 2010
This version has never ever crashed or "hanged" for me. Neither did any of the previous versions for that matter. Maybe you simply need to re-install your OS? I can't see any way where blaming the Piano would be more accurate than blaming the Pianist...Not in this case. Just my 3 cents. Take care
Like (5)
Version 1.4.2
Fuhayer
01 June 2010
i tested it to the others and really liked this one. i use it as my uninstaller on my iMac. thanks to the developer.
Like (3)
Version 1.4
Pukky
31 May 2010
Excellent uninstall utility for mac. I use this a lot, it has a lot of features, and besides is free!
Like (4)
Version 1.4
5 answer(s)
Roro01
Roro01
01 June 2010
You are talking rubbish - see my comments below!
Like (4)
Version 1.4
Webjib
Webjib
01 June 2010
RORO01 : I really don't get your point ! What's your problem with TrashMe ? What's the purpose to tell convinced people that they are rubbish ?
Like (5)
Version 1.4
Roro01
Roro01
01 June 2010
Please don't get agitated. Thank you very much for your efforts. My criticism is constructive and not meant to upset you. Hopefully, one day TrashMe would be a five star application.
Like (3)
Version 1.4
dajonel
dajonel
05 June 2010
RORO01, I think you need to back off and accept the fact that MANY people are very satisfied with this application. Your comments below are absurd and the fact that you are calling people's experiences "rubbish" shows that you just want to bother a very talented developer! I know from experience that this application has not worked flawlessly, but I also know it is actively being developed, it's free, and guess what! It handles Sparkle updates much better than any other utility. Seriously. Complain to someone else. This developer has taken enough from you.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.1
rayj
rayj
05 June 2010
I certainly agree with those who sing the merits of this program: I used AppTrap for a long time but TrashMe is more versatile and in its "Smart Mode" it has the same convenient feature of automatically detecting any app that is trashed. TrashMe is significantly better at finding associated files than AppTrap: in what is necessarily a fairly limited comparison, it seems as good as the highly-praised iTrash. Many thanks to the developer. (As for RORO01's adverse comments, I'm afraid you only have to read a small selection of his posts on this site and on VersionTracker to realise you don't need to take much notice of what he says. It's one thing to make a valid criticism of a program that has a clear fault - quite another to bluster on about something just because you choose not to use it or, as appears in this case, because you haven't properly understood what it actually does.)
Like (2)
Version 1.4.1
KWESTboogieNYC
30 May 2010
TrashMe is a aight app...but CleanApp is WAY better..
Like
Version 1.4
Ca
30 May 2010
It does what it says and it does it pretty well :)
Like (4)
Version 1.4
Shooters
24 May 2010
I registered iTrash some weeks ago but I am always open to new arrivals at the uninstall scene. 8-) The first issue I noticed, it gives several unlinked files as a result. Inexperienced users can get in trouble when deleting those files. Secondly, the smart mode barely works. When I drop something to the trash nothing happens. Shouldn't it trigger TrashMe? And yes, I enabled it correctly. In the activity monitor a task called TrashMe Helper is present. Because I initially thought it could interfere with iTrash ghost mode I disabled the ghost mode but it still does not work. Further, it claims to find hidden files but the hidden registration file of Logic Pro is not found. iTrash recovers this hidden file. The GUI is not my cup of tea. Yes, this is more or less personal taste but I definitely prefer iTrash clean look. Conclusion: it is not bad for a free uninstaller. Certainly the best free uninstaller. But the cheap iTrash is still much better.
Like
Version 1.3
3 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
24 May 2010
Thanks for your feedback. About unrelated files, could you give me some examples? About the smart detection not working for you, I'm aware that some people are facing this problem. However, debugging this problem means that someone should enable the "debug mode" in Preferences and send me the required file. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.3
Shooters
Shooters
24 May 2010
Couldn't find a contact email so here it goes: 2010-05-24 19:57:03.865 TrashMeHelper[341:207] Searching Trash path... 2010-05-24 19:57:03.867 TrashMeHelper[341:207] --- Trash path found: /Users/sonus/.Trash 2010-05-24 19:57:03.868 TrashMeHelper[341:207] Searching Applications path... 2010-05-24 19:57:03.868 TrashMeHelper[341:207] --- Applications path found: /Applications 2010-05-24 19:57:03.868 TrashMeHelper[341:207] Initializing notification mechanism... 2010-05-24 19:57:03.869 TrashMeHelper[341:207] --- Notification mechanism initialized with Trash path '/Users/sonus/.Trash' 2010-05-24 19:57:03.869 TrashMeHelper[341:207] First Trash path scanning... 2010-05-24 19:57:03.870 TrashMeHelper[341:207] 0 application(s) in Trash 2010-05-24 19:57:35.406 TrashMeHelper[341:207] Trash path content was modified 2010-05-24 19:57:35.507 TrashMeHelper[341:207] Detaching a new thread to guess what was modified... 2010-05-24 19:57:35.507 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] --- Enumerating Trash content 2010-05-24 19:57:35.508 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] > App found: Transmission.app 2010-05-24 19:57:35.511 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] THIS IS A NEW APP! (we'll see later if it's not Sparkle) 2010-05-24 19:57:35.512 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] --- We've got NEW apps, let's see if it's not an auto-update by Sparkle 2010-05-24 19:57:35.512 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] > Enumerating Applications folder 2010-05-24 19:57:35.533 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] > Comparing our results with Applications 2010-05-24 19:57:35.534 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] Comparing: Transmission.app 2010-05-24 19:57:35.535 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] --- We've got NEW apps (all tests done), so let's open Transmission 2010-05-24 19:57:35.537 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] --- Error opening Transmission : Error Domain=NSCocoaErrorDomain Code=4 UserInfo=0x100202420 "The application ‚Transmission.app‚Äù could not be launched because it was not found." Underlying Error=(Error Domain=NSOSStatusErrorDomain Code=-43 "The operation couldn‚Äôt be completed. (OSStatus error -43.)" (File not found)) ({ NSLocalizedDescription = "The application \U201cTransmission.app\U201d could not be launched because it was not found."; NSURL = "file://localhost/Applications/Transmission.app/"; NSUnderlyingError = "Error Domain=NSOSStatusErrorDomain Code=-43 \"The operation couldn\U2019t be completed. (OSStatus error -43.)\" (File not found)"; }) 2010-05-24 19:57:35.538 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] Now reupdating Trash content (for further comparison) 2010-05-24 19:57:35.538 TrashMeHelper[341:4403] 1 application(s) in Trash
Like
Version 1.3
Webjib
Webjib
24 May 2010
Thanks for helping. There's something really weird, it's trying to open Transmission instead of TrashMe. Is this log looks the same for every app you put in the Trash ? For further discussion, you could contact me at : jib @ jibapps.com.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
dajonel
23 May 2010
This is ridiculous. These negative reviews (especially 2-stars) are not useful nor needed. I have used this app since it was released and while it periodically experiences hiccups, it runs very smoothly and has a very nice, native implementation. This quickly replaced AppDelete; TrashMe is much better. Also, TrashMe is actively developed and moreover, it is free. The only smoother implementation is iTrash, but it is not very native and I just don't like the feel of it. 5 stars, at minimum.
Like (5)
Version 1.3
Cjbolland
21 May 2010
As with any previous version, the smart mode is not working very well. When dragging a program to the trash, it sometimes popsup and sometimes it doesn't. When it does, it is hogging my system with heavy cpu load. Version 1.3 has the same issues. Also, it seems to find a lot more unrelated files then the previous versions. So that is a step backwards imo The new putback feature is neat but it sometimes skips selected files! They are not deleted at! Great it is free though, but when it doesn't work very well it has no use for me. I still cannot recommend this at this stage. But I will keep an eye on further enhancements.
Like (4)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
21 May 2010
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. Some people may experience troubles in using the Smart detection (mostly, nothing will happen). In that case, please enable the debug mode in Preferences, try to put some applications into the Trash and then send me the file "TrashMeDebug.log" located in your Documents folder (jib @ jibapps.com). Your help would be very appreciated. But I need to say that only few people are facing this problem. PS: I'm not sure you need to give a rating at each version.
Like (3)
Version 1.3
Hal2007
21 May 2010
Phantastic update! This is getting better and better with every release. And because it's free, competing products don't look too good compared with this. It now even finds Growl tickets. The developer listened to my comment and implemented it. Great software from a great developer. Thanks for this!
Like (7)
Version 1.3
Mehmet-Merih
21 May 2010
It is amazing. I think it is going to be the best one among others. Thank you dev for this great product.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Roro01
20 May 2010
My suggestion to the developer is to use the "Sherlock" program as a search engine, this way TrashMe will be able to find items related to an application anywhere on the machine and whether visible or not.
Like
Version 1.2.1
8 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
21 May 2010
What do you mean with "Sherlock" ? Do you mean "Spotlight" ? I think it's not a good idea because Spotlight could be disabled by user and then a search would be impossible. Searching related files is quite fast in TrashMe and now invisible files can be searched too. The hardest part is to define an algorithm which find not too much and not too few files. I've tested TrashMe with a lot of software, you can find a comparison with other uninstaller here : http://trashme.jibapps.com/images/test_120510.png
Like (1)
Version 1.3
Webjib
Webjib
30 May 2010
Instead of copy/paste same comment everywhere (as on VersionTracker), could you try to reply to my previous topic ?
Like
Version 1.3
Roro01
Roro01
31 May 2010
Go to: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sherlock_(software)
Like
Version 1.4
Webjib
Webjib
31 May 2010
Thanks. As I said, Sherlock has been replaced by Spotlight years ago (actually in Leopard). And using Spotlight, besides the disadvantages, won't give more results, it would only speed up the search a little bit.
Like
Version 1.4
Webjib
Webjib
31 May 2010
Thanks. As I said, Sherlock has been replaced by Spotlight years ago (actually in Leopard). And using Spotlight, besides the disadvantages, won't give more results, it would only speed up the search a little bit.
Like
Version 1.4
Webjib
Webjib
31 May 2010
Thanks. As I said, Sherlock has been replaced by Spotlight years ago (actually in Leopard). And using Spotlight, besides the disadvantages, won't give more results, it would only speed up the search a little bit.
Like
Version 1.4
Roro01
Roro01
01 June 2010
It seems you still didn't get it - simply use the old open source Sherlock program, as the developer of Find Any File has done.
Like
Version 1.4
Webjib
Webjib
01 June 2010
I've tested FindAnyFile. First, TrashMe doesn't need to look on all your volumes to find related files. This would be quite stupid to do that. Second, FindAnyFile is not faster than TrashMe. Third, why should I use source code targeting old Mac OS X (I guess many API will be deprecated). Fourth, FindAnyFile is mostly searching in filenames, and this is not enough to find related files. Maybe you thought TrashMe was searching only in filenames matching the application name you want to uninstall ? I've appreciated your feedback, but I make choices, maybe not the best according to your opinion, but please respect that and if you don't like TrashMe, maybe you should try other softwares. Thanks anyway (and if you want to discuss furthermore, contact me by email).
Like
Version 1.4
Roro01
05 May 2010
As I wrote in my previous comment - as long as this application would not be able to find ALL the items belonging to the application to be trashed it will continue to be useless. The changes the developer made are merely cosmetic.
Like (4)
Version 1.2.1
2 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
06 May 2010
"Useless" is maybe a strong word... And changes are not only "cosmetic" ones. What I discovered is that TrashMe finds related files without any problem for software designed for Mac (I mean, software developped using Xcode tools, and respecting apple standards). For other software, it's harder to find related files, but with each version I'm trying to improve the search algorythm.
Like (5)
Version 1.2.1
Roro01
Roro01
06 May 2010
Many thanks for your efforts to improve the search algorithm - this is exactly what this application needs. All the best. Hopefully, one day I would be able to rate it as five stars.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
Gitte79
04 May 2010
Maybe it is my setup but TrashMe is not working as it should. When dropping applications into the trash most times TrashMe ignores them. However, when iTrashMe shows it has a heavy load on my cpu, even when it has stopped scanning files. I use AppCleaner smartdelete with no issues whatsoever. Disabling AppCleaner smartdelete does not fix the problem I have with TrashMe. Because I only want a background task uninstaller TrashMe is useless for me. My setup: Mac Pro - OS X 10.6.3 PS I have mailed the same info to the dev. Maybe he can fix it in a next release.
Like (4)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
06 May 2010
I'm working on this problem. Thanks for having reported it.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
O5220803
03 May 2010
While trying to launch TrashMe 1.2 on my Intel Mac Mini with OSX 10.6.3, I got the following message: "You can't open the application “TrashMe” because it's not supported on this type of Mac." My question,"What type of Mac it the app talking about?"
Like
Version 1.2
3 answer(s)
O5220803
O5220803
03 May 2010
OK, it runs only on 64-bit machines. Too bad!
Like
Version 1.2
O5220803
O5220803
03 May 2010
The Developer provided me with a 32-bit version of TrashMe 1.2 is a well-designed application, which works as advertised on my Mac Mini Core Duo system. This application is well designed and easy to use; it does a thorough job of removing unwanted software and related file components.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Webjib
Webjib
06 May 2010
I think I'll revert back to 32/64 bits compiling in next version, because some people got problems with 64 bits on their system.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Roro01
23 April 2010
It can only search for related items in the user's library Application Support and Preferences. It cannot find items in the main HD library, invisible items and even items elsewhere in the user's library. Therefore, it is only useful for trashing simple small applications. This application would have been perfect if it could have searching abilities like the application Find Any File i.e if it could find items related to an application anywhere on the machine and whether visible or not.
Like
Version 1.1
4 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
23 April 2010
Could you give me some examples of applications where TrashMe does not find all related files ? I'll try to improve searching feature. But I can't search all you hard drive, because it would take few minutes to get results (and people would complain that TrashMe is slow compared to other applications). Otherwise, next version will have a different UI and new features asked by many people.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Roro01
Roro01
23 April 2010
Google SketchUp, GraphicConverter, Hugin, iStatPro and Switch - all have items in HD>Library>Application Support. Cenon which has items in HD>Library. It doesn't take Find Any File too long to search all the HD - try it. I use it regularly for trashing applications as it finds all the items, including invisible ones, and then you can drag the items to the trash directly from it's search results window.
Like
Version 1.1
Hal2007
Hal2007
03 May 2010
A very nice feature of iTrash and AppDelete is the removal of Growl tickets. Could you please implement that, too? TrashMe is great software, BTW. Please keep up the good work! And thanks for making it free.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Webjib
Webjib
06 May 2010
I'll look at Growl tickets and see what I can do to remove them (don't know anything about those tickets though).
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
Anael
20 April 2010
I removed five applications successfully. I appreciated to see the version number of the applications. An other good point, small bugs announced to the author was corrected quickly and successfully in this version. For being distinguished more from the others, TrashMe should be more specificities. But, my point of view, TrashMe is already on the same level as its concurents (free or not), perhaps better. (excuse me for my English)
Like (4)
Version 1.1
Cjbolland
19 April 2010
@RORO01 : though it is not a appdelete ripoff, it is however a ripoff of appcleaner!!! Just take a look at both ui, it is almost the same. Hell, even the background task has almost the same name (Smartdelete vs Smartmode). Further more, it uses the same small enable/disable led indicator which is not OS X-a-like. It gotta be nicked too. The processname is also the same Appcleaner_helper vs Trashme_helper. Coincidence? Personally I do not like the ui of both appcleaner and trashme. Too messy. Anyhow, most important it fails to find many related files compared to others (even appcleaner). Dragging Photoshop freezed the program and I had to force quiting the app. But hey, it is free so we cannot complain. There is still much improvement needed to get it going with the rest of the bunch. At this stage I cannot recommend this.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Webjib
Webjib
19 April 2010
AppCleaner is a great software that I've used for many months. However, it lacks some features like Quicklook, Reveal in Finder... Furthermore, smart delete does not work all the time for me under Snow Leopard and AppCleaner does not find some related files. That's why I started TrashMe project. About the processname, did you ever notice that the notion of "helper" is universal (for example, there's an iTunesHelper). Small enable/disable icons are similar to those found in iChat, so I don't understand your comment. Last, I tested deleting Photoshop CS4 with TrashMe and there's no freeze ?! TrashMe has been coded from scratch, this is the second release and maybe this not perfect. TrashMe will be improved in the next couple of weeks. However I've tested my application on 45 applications, and each time TrashMe was discovering at least same number of related files than other similar app. Anyway, thanks for your opinion.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Roro01
Roro01
19 April 2010
CJBOLLAND, you can complain and criticize the product as much as you want but don't put a stain on the developer integrity - see my reply to your previous comment. Even the police would not call the developer a thief in this case!!!
Like (2)
Version 1.1