Back to TrashMe page
TrashMe free download for Mac

TrashMe Reviews2.1.23

22 October 2020

Uninstall your applications by deleting all related files.

How would you rate TrashMe?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
JacAbu
JacAbu
May 24 2019
2.1.21
4.0
May 24 2019
4.0
Version: 2.1.21
Works well but I continue to receive crash messages for the TrashMeHelper App that I installed from the web site.
Picon
Picon
Apr 14 2018
2.1.17
5.0
Apr 14 2018
5.0
Version: 2.1.17
After thoroughly testing many uninstallers (see my comment under AppDelete), this one tied for best app at finding related files that should be trashed along with the app you are throwing away. I was really surprised at how well this app did at finding related files that many other "bigger name" apps missed. Kudos to the developer!
tomlaoshi
tomlaoshi
Oct 4 2017
2.1.16
4.0
Oct 4 2017
4.0
Version: 2.1.16
I'm still using the ancient free version - LOVE IT! I use it for just about everything I need to delete since it cleans up all the residual files. I'm sure the paid version is just as good, if not better.
Webjib
Webjib
Feb 15 2017
2.1.16
0.0
Feb 15 2017
0.0
Version: 2.1.16
We offer a 20% discount with the coupon code TRASHME20 (only for a few days).
lacwbo
lacwbo
Jun 14 2015
2.1.9
0.0
Jun 14 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.9
I can't compare it to other similar apps, if there is not trial version. So I guess I'll stick with the ones I have.
lacwbo
lacwbo
Jun 14 2015
2.1.9
0.0
Jun 14 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.9
Sorry; no trial; no buy. I'm not going to spend anything on an app that I cannot try first.
jack2001
jack2001
Dec 7 2014
2.1.8
0.5
Dec 7 2014
0.5
Version: 2.1.8
possibile che questa applicazione non si possa scaricare in demo, ma solo in una versione free ??
Jude22
Jude22
Nov 28 2014
2.1.8
5.0
Nov 28 2014
5.0
Version: 2.1.8
This review leaps ahead in time. I begged the developer to let me see his beta for version 2.1.9. It gets rid of more files in more places that developers put files of their apps than virtually all the other uninstallers. There is no concern for anxiety over deleting the wrong file and the new beta algorithm is better than ever. Side by side tests with the best uninstallers show TrashMe to uninstall as many or more files. It appears that the developer will be releasing this new version pretty soon. It is not free but the fee is nominal. What is this obsession with freebee software? Why is $7.99 too expensive for the best!?
SHRIMPS
SHRIMPS
Dec 11 2012
2.1.5
5.0
Dec 11 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.5
I've tried many free and paid trash apps and compared them with TrashMe side by side. TrashMe was the one that I found to get rid of the most files. I love how it stays out of sight until I trash an app and then quickly disappears. It's very simple to use.
Steved
Steved
Dec 11 2012
2.1.5
5.0
Dec 11 2012
5.0
Version: 2.1.5
Like the next commentator, I too don't have the latest version of TrashMe, but the older (free) version works just fine on SL. Years ago I compared all the free or trial ware uninstaller apps at that time and found TrashMe and iTrash to find the greatest number of associated files with the least amount of error. I already purchased iTrash and it works fine. I assume the newest version of TrashMe also works fine, and if I didn't already have a great uninstaller app, I would probably buy this one. As far as all the whiners complaining about developers wanting to earn a few dollars, "Get a life." If you don't want to pay for anything besides free, then don't, but please stop whining and downgrading ratings just because you're a cheapskate. Seems to me that most small developer app prices have dropped dramatically within the past few years, and I can remember when the best rated uninstaller app cost about $20, and gas was about $2 a gallon.
Rsmacupdate
Rsmacupdate
Nov 17 2012
2.1.4
0.0
Nov 17 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1.4
I am not a TrashMe user. I am just looking at the various apps that perform this function. I have an observation or two. There was to trial version to try it out. This made it impossible to compare with the other trials I was able to download. This preventing my further pursuit. It also seems to not support Snow Leopard. There are, in some reports, more users on Snow Leopard than any other version. Even if this report is inaccurate, the users on SL are significant. Although I have both Lion and Mountain Lion, I prefer SL so this placed TrashMe out of the running for me.
BlackMacX
BlackMacX
Aug 6 2012
2.1.3
4.0
Aug 6 2012
4.0
Version: 2.1.3
Great little app, cleans out files related to applications you want to trash as well as Preference Panes, Dashboard Widgets and more. For the price, I know people have and will complain; but honestly, it is a great application and one that is well worth the money. If you want a freeware app, go for it; but don't be surprised (though commercial ware also can succumb too) if the application dies after awhile due to either lack of developer ability (either due to cost of keeping the application updated vs time it takes them to do the updating or whatever reason really) or lack of general user base support. I have used other similar applications prior to using TrashMe, loved them and then moved to TrashMe when it was freeware. I paid for the v2 upgrade as it is a good application, hasn't ever pooched my system and has added features that help me do my maintaining of my Mac. The only issue I have really ever had with TrashMe is the TrashMe Helper application that frequently crashes on me. But that's not a serious issue (for me).
EudoraBryant
EudoraBryant
Aug 2 2012
2.1.2
0.0
Aug 2 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1.2
The free one no longer updates. I have changed to Appcleaner. Appcleaner is a very simple and useful application.
Max66
Max66
Apr 15 2012
2.1.1
3.5
Apr 15 2012
3.5
Version: 2.1.1
I got the App when it was free. Now I see it is not longer free and only available from the App Store :-( Technically, it is a very good App. However, now that it is no longer free and the free version no longer updated, I give a lower rating.
Canisbos
Canisbos
Nov 7 2011
2.1.1
0.0
Nov 7 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Does TrashMe now find files in the following folders? ~/Library/Saved Application State ~/Library/Caches/com.apple.helpd/Generated" ~/Library/Preferences/SDMHelpData" I used to use the old freeware version, and I noticed that these were the main areas where iTrash found files that TrashMe (freeware) did not.
Hal2007
Hal2007
Aug 8 2011
2.0.1
5.0
Aug 8 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Best of breed, hands down. But, AppCleaner is free and good, too. I need an argument to buy it. How about adding an archive feature, like AppDelete or CleanApp have? This killer feature would finally convince me to spend the money.
GuerillaTech
GuerillaTech
Jul 28 2011
2.0.1
4.5
Jul 28 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0.1
TrashMe is my choice program when it comes to cleanly deleting apps. I upgraded to Lion, so I upgraded TrashMe as well. Overall, the app is a nice improvement. My only gripe is that it seems to have lost the ability to find and display orphaned files for deletion. Is this feature truly gone, or am i missing it somewhere in the app? If it is gone, are there any plans to add it back in the future?
Cindi168
Cindi168
Jul 27 2011
2.0.1
4.5
Jul 27 2011
4.5
Version: 2.0.1
I don't think it's fair to give this app a bad review based solely on its change of price. Developing an app is not cheap, if you want better support, frequent updates, that's the price you have to pay. Plus, the app is only under $10, it always amazes me how some people will spend thousands on a mac without thinking but will agaonize over spending $5 for an app. So on with the review... There's no shortage of uninstaller apps for mac, even with the ability to delete apps in launchpad, other files are leftover. I've used trashme since SL and it is in my opinion the best uninstaller for my needs. I've tried appzapper and appcleaner before using trashme on SL, the biggest problem i had with those apps was that they didn't find as many relevant files to delete as trashme. Not to mention appzapper is $13, unstable and crashes all the time, and hasn't received an update in over a year and a half. I did my research and wasn't interested in apps that ran in the background to monitor my trash because those tend to not play nice with apps that updated over sparkle, so I settled on trashme because it was free and it worked extremely well and received frequent updates. Once I upgraded to Lion and found out trashme was updated to support it, I was happy but kind of bummed it is not free anymore. So I went back to the free appcleaner, but after using it, it kept finding extra and irrevelant files (i could just uncheck to not delete it but it was still annoying). Then I read the trashme developer's comment underneath and that convinced me to buy trashme (i paid the introductory price), and i'm glad i did. The new UI is beautiful and fits with lion seamlessly, but more impressive is its function... it really finds all the right files to delete! It's nice that it also protects your favorite apps, can delete widgets and also has a smart delete function that monitors your trash for deleted apps and also removes the leftover files. I also like how the app is updated regularly, and you pay once to receive lifetime updates. One thing I'd like to point out is that it would be nice if the developer included the previous version for download for people still on SL or leopard. I really hope this app has a long lifespan and the developers continue to make this app even better, so lets support them by purchasing this app. If you think the price is too much then there's plenty of other alternatives, but I think trashme is the best and $7 is not too much to ask for such a polished app.
iTruth
iTruth
Jul 26 2011
2.0.1
5.0
Jul 26 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Awesome app, works as advertised. Dragging and dropping apps to Trash leaves too many files behind on your Mac that just sit there forever. Not good to say the least. I've been using this since version 1.0 and I love it. TrashMe is the best!
Steven-Sky
Steven-Sky
Jul 21 2011
2.0
2.0
Jul 21 2011
2.0
Version: 2.0
Previous free, now you have to pay. Shame The new UI is not nice imo but thats personal. There are other (free and not free)alternatives that perform better.
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
Jun 12 2011
1.5.2
4.5
Jun 12 2011
4.5
Version: 1.5.2
problems detecting trashed apps. please fix it
Jolly-joker
Jolly-joker
Apr 10 2011
1.5.2
4.5
Apr 10 2011
4.5
Version: 1.5.2
After a long period trying applications of this kind, I've decided to use "TrashMe" because: 1) it usually finds files really related to the app we are deleting, 2) it's free, 3) it has nice interface, 4) it detects when put an app in the trash (like other apps do). But, like all the other apps of this kind, It misses an important feature: to include system files with the same name of the app in the results of the scan for related files! If the developer will include that feature, it will be really the best app to uninstall apps! For the moment you can do this thing manually, and it will shows often folders and files related: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4355?viewlocale=en_US
Dana_Nau
Dana_Nau
Mar 18 2011
1.5.2
5.0
Mar 18 2011
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
Like some others who have posted here, I've tried using TrashMe and several other uninstall apps. TrashMe consistently did the best job of finding all of the relevant files without finding any irrelevant ones. So I used it to uninstall all of the others :-) The only problem I ever had with TrashMe was a few weeks ago when I tried to use it on an older version of OS X, and got a message saying it was incompatible. It might be useful if the developer could post links to older versions of TrashMe, because I believe one of them would have been compatible.
Hendricx
Hendricx
Mar 11 2011
1.5.2
2.5
Mar 11 2011
2.5
Version: 1.5.2
As a test I dropped some apps on Trashme. Apps with spaces in there filename give huge problems. Several unrelated items are shown to the user to delete. Also application with the apple in it give unwanted hits. Free but not very unreliable. Not recommended.
Shane-Smith
Shane-Smith
Mar 11 2011
1.5.2
5.0
Mar 11 2011
5.0
Version: 1.5.2
I've tried several uninstall applications, some free, some paid, and this is my favourite one. When it comes to finding all related files TrashMe and iTrash are comparable. I did have some problems with iTrash when it reached version 1, but they soon got resolved. What really won me over to TrashMe are the features and UI. My only complaint is I wish there was a PPC version for my work computer. There I'm using iTrash, no choice.
Lumac52
Lumac52
Jan 24 2011
1.5.1
5.0
Jan 24 2011
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
Excellent! I tested all the free solutions I could find on MacUpdate, as well two paid solutions: AppDelete and AppZapper. TrashMe consistently found files that none of these other programs could find. So in other words, it's the best solution I could find, and it's free. Thanks to the developer! (I'm thinking of donating...) (PS: the only problem I had, which also happend with several of the other programs, was one unexpected crash. But with an uninstaller program, a crash is a harmless event.)
Stanleycup99
Stanleycup99
Dec 18 2010
1.5.1
0.0
Dec 18 2010
0.0
Version: 1.5.1
Wow, the application looks useful, but the developer's attitude towards criticism leaves much to be desired. It totally turned me off from trying the application. To the dev: Consider changing your approach to how you deal with your customers. Whether you are charging for the app or not, you are entering bits into their hard drives, and they have trusted you with that. The least you can do is offer a professional approach--even if they are not following the same protocol. "Yelling" at them, berating them publicly, and crying about whether their reports are useful or not, is not the way to conduct a business--for profit or not. Otherwise, expect many people to be scared away from your tools. Good luck.
sebos
sebos
Dec 13 2010
1.5.1
5.0
Dec 13 2010
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
As everybody said below: perfect solution. - Safe: remove only what has to be removed. I never any problem which is the first goal! - Performance: remove all linked files. - Simple to use: only drag and drop, or find application(s) to remove. And last but not least: it's a freeware. So, thanks a lot guys for this nice app. Request for a future version: something to find orphan files (like orphan preferences, etc...)
Mcyukon
Mcyukon
Dec 13 2010
1.5.1
5.0
Dec 13 2010
5.0
Version: 1.5.1
Application is a pleasure to use and is very good at finding all the scattered files. It's Smart Detection mode works very well when deleting applications, only when an application is several folders deep and you delete the topmost folder does it sometimes not recognize the application and launch TrashMe. Developer is friendly, helpful and pretty quick to add reasonable suggestions.
taja
taja
Oct 5 2010
1.5
5.0
Oct 5 2010
5.0
Version: 1.5
Great app. One suggestion. Could you add an option to protect particular preferences files as well as applications? This can be useful, e.g. I regularly download and delete browser nightly builds, and don't want to delete my preference files accidentally.
Pepelepugh
Pepelepugh
Aug 29 2010
1.4.2
5.0
Aug 29 2010
5.0
Version: 1.4.2
TrashMe has lately become a indispensable fixture in my Utilities folder. Superb application in every respect. The Orphans feature is very useful for finding detritus left behind by previously deleted apps. There are lots of other neat features subtlety located within the gui and in the preferences window. Seriously great job with the design of this app. Very straightforward and an absolute pleasure to use.
Roman-Valenta
Roman-Valenta
Aug 13 2010
1.4.2
5.0
Aug 13 2010
5.0
Version: 1.4.2
This is cleanly the best trashing app for .app files. It finds almost every file associated with the corresponding application. The only issue I experienced was crash while trashing a lot of apps together and they were over 1 GB. If it ever happens again - I will surely send you crash log. Thanks for or great app and good luck in further development.
taja
taja
Jun 21 2010
1.4.2
5.0
Jun 21 2010
5.0
Version: 1.4.2
Trash Me has all the key features of other uninstaller apps; the ability to search and delete dashboard widgets, system preference panes, plugins, orphans, and most importantly, application files. This is the basic functionality you'd expect. For me though, the only thing that makes an uninstaller app worth using is the ability to find related files automatically when you add something to the trash. Much more convenient and easy to remember than dragging a file to an uninstaller app. Trash Me 'smartmode' does this, and does it better than AppDelete, which occasionally leaves the application window open after deleting. Trash Me also finds a lot more files than the only other free alternative, the (now abandoned) AppCleaner. Though AppCleaner is prettier. The GUI does seem similar to the other apps. But then again, how many different looks can an uninstaller have? I've also tried AppZapper and AppDelete and none of them offer much more in the way of features than Trash Me. More importantly, Trash Me is free - all of its still-developed competitors are $7 or more. A few minor suggestions I think would make it a lot nicer to use: I think the smart detection window that comes up when you send an app to the trash would seem a lot less intrusive if it was a slightly transparent bezel window (as with AppCleaner). Otherwise it still feels clunkly like an app starting up and closing. The preferences should be streamlined - it doesn't really need 4 separate sections. The app should also remember what apps, widgets etc were displayed last time with a less intrusive refresh option, rather than reloading them all again. Keyboard shortcuts would be nice. e.g. cmd+f to go to filter, switch list/icon view, enter to find related files, cmd+a to select all, shift-click so you can select more than one object in list view.
Cjbolland
Cjbolland
Jun 6 2010
1.4.1
2.0
Jun 6 2010
2.0
Version: 1.4.1
This version sometimes hangs when searching is in progress. It eventually releases the hang issue but it can take 30 seconds or more. I cannot remember this occurring with the previous version. In addition it still finds a lot of unrelated files. Too dangerous to use imo Also, the Putback feature does not work in every occasion. A bit of a lottery it seems. The smart mode seems to be working with this version. As with the previous versions, I still cannot recommend this at this stage.
Fuhayer
Fuhayer
Jun 1 2010
1.4
0.0
Jun 1 2010
0.0
Version: 1.4
i tested it to the others and really liked this one. i use it as my uninstaller on my iMac. thanks to the developer.
Pukky
Pukky
May 31 2010
1.4
5.0
May 31 2010
5.0
Version: 1.4
Excellent uninstall utility for mac. I use this a lot, it has a lot of features, and besides is free!
aguycalledkwest
aguycalledkwest
May 30 2010
1.4
0.0
May 30 2010
0.0
Version: 1.4
TrashMe is a aight app...but CleanApp is WAY better..
Ca
Ca
May 30 2010
1.4
0.0
May 30 2010
0.0
Version: 1.4
It does what it says and it does it pretty well :)
Shooters
Shooters
May 24 2010
1.3
3.0
May 24 2010
3.0
Version: 1.3
I registered iTrash some weeks ago but I am always open to new arrivals at the uninstall scene. 8-) The first issue I noticed, it gives several unlinked files as a result. Inexperienced users can get in trouble when deleting those files. Secondly, the smart mode barely works. When I drop something to the trash nothing happens. Shouldn't it trigger TrashMe? And yes, I enabled it correctly. In the activity monitor a task called TrashMe Helper is present. Because I initially thought it could interfere with iTrash ghost mode I disabled the ghost mode but it still does not work. Further, it claims to find hidden files but the hidden registration file of Logic Pro is not found. iTrash recovers this hidden file. The GUI is not my cup of tea. Yes, this is more or less personal taste but I definitely prefer iTrash clean look. Conclusion: it is not bad for a free uninstaller. Certainly the best free uninstaller. But the cheap iTrash is still much better.
dajonel
dajonel
May 23 2010
1.3
5.0
May 23 2010
5.0
Version: 1.3
This is ridiculous. These negative reviews (especially 2-stars) are not useful nor needed. I have used this app since it was released and while it periodically experiences hiccups, it runs very smoothly and has a very nice, native implementation. This quickly replaced AppDelete; TrashMe is much better. Also, TrashMe is actively developed and moreover, it is free. The only smoother implementation is iTrash, but it is not very native and I just don't like the feel of it. 5 stars, at minimum.
Cjbolland
Cjbolland
May 21 2010
1.3
2.0
May 21 2010
2.0
Version: 1.3
As with any previous version, the smart mode is not working very well. When dragging a program to the trash, it sometimes popsup and sometimes it doesn't. When it does, it is hogging my system with heavy cpu load. Version 1.3 has the same issues. Also, it seems to find a lot more unrelated files then the previous versions. So that is a step backwards imo The new putback feature is neat but it sometimes skips selected files! They are not deleted at! Great it is free though, but when it doesn't work very well it has no use for me. I still cannot recommend this at this stage. But I will keep an eye on further enhancements.
Hal2007
Hal2007
May 21 2010
1.3
5.0
May 21 2010
5.0
Version: 1.3
Phantastic update! This is getting better and better with every release. And because it's free, competing products don't look too good compared with this. It now even finds Growl tickets. The developer listened to my comment and implemented it. Great software from a great developer. Thanks for this!
Mehmet-Merih
Mehmet-Merih
May 21 2010
1.3
0.0
May 21 2010
0.0
Version: 1.3
It is amazing. I think it is going to be the best one among others. Thank you dev for this great product.
Guest
Guest
May 20 2010
1.2.1
0.0
May 20 2010
0.0
Version: 1.2.1
My suggestion to the developer is to use the "Sherlock" program as a search engine, this way TrashMe will be able to find items related to an application anywhere on the machine and whether visible or not.
Guest
Guest
May 5 2010
1.2.1
0.0
May 5 2010
0.0
Version: 1.2.1
As I wrote in my previous comment - as long as this application would not be able to find ALL the items belonging to the application to be trashed it will continue to be useless. The changes the developer made are merely cosmetic.
Gitte79
Gitte79
May 4 2010
1.2.1
2.0
May 4 2010
2.0
Version: 1.2.1
Maybe it is my setup but TrashMe is not working as it should. When dropping applications into the trash most times TrashMe ignores them. However, when iTrashMe shows it has a heavy load on my cpu, even when it has stopped scanning files. I use AppCleaner smartdelete with no issues whatsoever. Disabling AppCleaner smartdelete does not fix the problem I have with TrashMe. Because I only want a background task uninstaller TrashMe is useless for me. My setup: Mac Pro - OS X 10.6.3 PS I have mailed the same info to the dev. Maybe he can fix it in a next release.
O5220803
O5220803
May 3 2010
1.2
0.0
May 3 2010
0.0
Version: 1.2
While trying to launch TrashMe 1.2 on my Intel Mac Mini with OSX 10.6.3, I got the following message: "You can't open the application “TrashMe” because it's not supported on this type of Mac." My question,"What type of Mac it the app talking about?"
Guest
Guest
Apr 23 2010
1.1
0.0
Apr 23 2010
0.0
Version: 1.1
It can only search for related items in the user's library Application Support and Preferences. It cannot find items in the main HD library, invisible items and even items elsewhere in the user's library. Therefore, it is only useful for trashing simple small applications. This application would have been perfect if it could have searching abilities like the application Find Any File i.e if it could find items related to an application anywhere on the machine and whether visible or not.
Anael
Anael
Apr 20 2010
1.1
5.0
Apr 20 2010
5.0
Version: 1.1
I removed five applications successfully. I appreciated to see the version number of the applications. An other good point, small bugs announced to the author was corrected quickly and successfully in this version. For being distinguished more from the others, TrashMe should be more specificities. But, my point of view, TrashMe is already on the same level as its concurents (free or not), perhaps better. (excuse me for my English)
Cjbolland
Cjbolland
Apr 19 2010
1.1
2.0
Apr 19 2010
2.0
Version: 1.1
@RORO01 : though it is not a appdelete ripoff, it is however a ripoff of appcleaner!!! Just take a look at both ui, it is almost the same. Hell, even the background task has almost the same name (Smartdelete vs Smartmode). Further more, it uses the same small enable/disable led indicator which is not OS X-a-like. It gotta be nicked too. The processname is also the same Appcleaner_helper vs Trashme_helper. Coincidence? Personally I do not like the ui of both appcleaner and trashme. Too messy. Anyhow, most important it fails to find many related files compared to others (even appcleaner). Dragging Photoshop freezed the program and I had to force quiting the app. But hey, it is free so we cannot complain. There is still much improvement needed to get it going with the rest of the bunch. At this stage I cannot recommend this.