Back to MultiBrowser page
MultiBrowser free download for Mac

MultiBrowser Reviews

1.1.1
16 September 2010

Control mulitple Internet browsers at once.

Jazzyguy
06 September 2010

Most helpful

Great App! Extremely Useful!
Like (4)
Version 1.1.0

Read 26 MultiBrowser User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lumac52
18 April 2019
Still an indispensable tool on macOS Mojave. Works like a charm!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Lumac52
18 April 2019
Still an indispensable tool on macOS Mojave. Works like a charm!
Like
Version 1.1.1
sweetcharlie
07 October 2016
Still working with Sierra. DMG file contains everything needed to install.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Fontgoddess
Fontgoddess
05 November 2016
This absolutely amazes me.
Like
jacver57
jacver57
03 March 2017
Hi,
I am using it too but I have a question, maybe it is a bug, but when I select in the popup menu the browser I wish to use, I am not transferred directly to the browser. I didn't find any prefs on that saying open the browser and go to it!!!
Please if you have some idea!!
Thanks.
Like
sweetcharlie
29 January 2016
This MacUpdate installer seems to be missing the preference pane file that came with the developers original package and the app won't work without it. Seeing how the app still works in El Capitan, how can this be rectified?
Like
Version 1.1.1
3 answer(s)
sweetcharlie
sweetcharlie
01 February 2016
I was able to get the preference pane file via a backup - http://www.4shared.com/zip/Ed22m88Oce/MultiBrowserprefPane.html
Like
scottpietka
scottpietka
19 April 2016
Hello @sweetcharlie. I am trying to download that zip file you shared, but I can't get it to work. Did you have success? I got a new computer and I can't get that file to download to load the preferences page.
Thank you,
Scott
Like
sweetcharlie
sweetcharlie
23 April 2016
@scottpietka you should be able to download the file by creating a free account with 4shared.

I've also uploaded the file to here: http://www.filedropper.com/multibrowserprefpane use the "download this file" button and not any other download buttons on the page should there be multiple.
Like
VadimVH
23 October 2014
Is there anybody who has tested Multibrowser on Yosemite guys?
Like
Version 1.1.1
2 answer(s)
Rollerdl
Rollerdl
02 November 2014
Still working perfectly fine for me in Yosemite. :)
Like
Lumac52
Lumac52
11 December 2014
Works great. I just had to ctrl-click-open both the app and the prefpane the first time to get by the OS X security restrictions, then it worked smoothly.
Like
Eridani
28 January 2014
And still amazingly working on Mavericks!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Icharlie
18 July 2013
This app is awesome! Let you choose which browser to open, so you can let different browsers have their purpose
Like
Version 1.1.1
MikeUnderwood
09 September 2012
Hi, I hope someone can help me out here. I have sent a couple of emails to the developer with no response, so I think the project might be dead. But I love MultiBrowser but since my upgrade to Mountain Lion it will not work. It keeps telling me MultiBrowser should not be run directly. If MultiBrowser is enabled (from the Preference Pane) it will automatically run when you click a link. I am not trying to run it directly, I am clicking on a link and while the Multibrower window comes up so does the message. I have tried removing and reinstalling the application a couple of times and that has not fixed the issue Thanks for any suggestions. Mike
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
edwintrejo
edwintrejo
06 February 2013
Try http://www.choosyosx.com/
Like (1)
Robio
25 June 2012
As a QA engineer, I'm always working in multiple browsers at once. I've been using MultiBrowser for a couple years now, and I don't know what I'd do without it. I've donated twice because it's been of such good value to me. I haven't upgraded to Lion yet — here's hoping it's Lion compatible!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Sw-tester
11 August 2011
After using this for a while it works great. A bonus feature is if I accidentally click a link I can click cancel and not open the link.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Sw-tester
30 April 2011
a hot key to enable and disable would make this super great.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Steven-Goodheart
18 February 2011
Love it. Does exactly what is says, is easy to use, readily configurable. For someone who bounces around from browser to browser, like me, this is a godsend. Plus, it's free! Thanks!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Bikerfunjoe
22 November 2010
It's a fact, some websites look and/or work better in different browsers. For example, my WordPress site editor does some quirky things in Safari, but works great in Firefox. Google Docs and GMail work better in Chrome (makes sense, Google wrote Chrome). There's lots of reasons you might want to view a website in one particular browser and that one may not be your default. MultiBrowser lets you choose which browser you want to open a link with and does so beautifully. After installing the MultiBrowser PrefPane and setting MultiBrowser as your default browser, whenever you click on a link in an e-mail or any other document, MultiBrowser pops up a list of the browsers installed on your Mac and lets you choose which one to open the link with. It couldn't be easier. Additionally, the MultiBrowser popup is very attractive and completely configurable. It reminds me of Growl notifications except the list pops up at the mouse pointer. Kudos for the developers. By making this free, they've done a great service to the Mac community.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
auser
20 September 2010
Bug : I have a 'Firefox 3.app' and a 'Firefox 4.app'. I added both to selection. But MultiBrowser shows both as Firefox 4.
Like
Version 1.1.1
3 answer(s)
auser
auser
25 September 2010
Additionally, removing both, and re-adding only 'Firefox 3.app' still shows it as 'Firefox 4' now. No amount of removal and re-add seems to fix it.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Tesseract-Software
Tesseract-Software
08 November 2010
Sorry for taking so long to answer this. MB keeps track and launches applications by using their "bundle id". A nice benefit of this is that if you move one of your browsers to a different location on your hard drive, MB will still be able to launch it. Anyways, the problem is that Firefox 3 and Firefox 4 have the same bundle id because they are both Firefox; that bundle id is "com.mozilla.firefox". So, if you have two programs with the same bundle id, then OS X will choose one when MB tries to launch it (or get information about it); I'm not sure how OS X decides which one to use though. I realize now that MB would be quite useful for somebody who has more than one version of the same browser, so I'll try to figure out a way around this issue for the next update. I'm going to be fairly busy for a while and won't have much time to work on MB, so in the meantime, you can try a work-around by changing the bundle id of one of the Firefoxes. The bundle id is defined in the info.plist file in the application bundle. You can find a lot of information about info.plist from this website (and the key you want is "CFBundleIdentifier") http://www.mactipsandtricks.com/articles/Wiley_HT_appBundles.lasso
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1
auser
auser
08 November 2010
Thanks. I changed the bundle identifier and that works as you explained.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
auser
20 September 2010
Thanks for implementing automatic cursor move to the chosen browser.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Jatyas
17 September 2010
I can't see to download this software...
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Jazzyguy
06 September 2010
Great App! Extremely Useful!
Like (4)
Version 1.1.0
Yaba-daba-do
06 September 2010
You have to set it up first, Go to preferences click on MB then click on the main tab then click on the drop down then click on MB to make it your default. Then click on the browsers tab then click on search for browsers. Then you should be golden!
Like (3)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
06 September 2010
Yup! I forgot one crucial step! Changing the preference in safari to Multibrowser! Thanks for the tip! I have to give the app 5 Stars again!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
Jazzyguy
06 September 2010
Although I enjoyed using it with the prior version I tried it in this current version and it just did not work.I installed the app and the preference pane.I clicked on a link in my mail and the unix firewall came up as usual asking me if I wanted to open it. I said yes and nothing happened. I clicked the link a second time and the Unix built in again asked me if I wanted to open it I said yes and again nothing happened. I trashed the preference pane and the app as well as the preferences and crash reporter after installing it twice.I am using a MacBook Pro with 10.5.8 and 4GB of Ram.
Like
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
Tesseract-Software
Tesseract-Software
07 September 2010
While you can change the preference from within Safari, you can also change it from the MultiBrowser preference pane on the Main Tab as "YABA-DABA-DO ;-)" explained above.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
Yaba-daba-do
05 September 2010
Very polished,very nice! Great free App. I have one suggestion for the Dev. Would it be possible to make an option to right click on the desk top and have the list of browsers come up that way also? And include my mail browsers? And not limited to links? That would be super slick and quick for “speed” users! Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
1 answer(s)
Tesseract-Software
Tesseract-Software
07 September 2010
Thanks; I'm glad you like the app. To be able to right-click the desktop to open the list of browsers would require a contextual menu plugin. Snow Leopard handles these differently than Leopard, so I'd have to make two different versions. MultiBrowser is also designed to open a link, not to simply launch browsers, so I'd have to change that as well. So, I don't think I'll be adding this feature - it would be a lot of work and its not really part of my "goal" with MultiBrowser. What exactly is a mail browser? Do you mean mail clients (e.g. Mail.app, Thunderbird)? You can add any program to MultiBrowser (even ones that are not actually browsers); they will probably just open and do nothing instead of opening the link you clicked on. As for not being limited to links, it sounds like you want a replacement for the Dock. Something where you can right click and get a list of applications to launch. There are many apps that try to replace or supplement the Dock; I suggest that you look at some of those. This feature is outside the scope of what I want to do with MultiBrowser.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
Jeanne75018
05 September 2010
A very useful utility. Version 1.1 brings new great options. A "must-have" !
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
John-Sawyer-CJS
04 September 2010
Looks interesting--I'll have to give it a try. Though I've never heard of a "combo-box", which is a term this utility uses when referring to a popup list.
Like
Version 1.1.0
3 answer(s)
Tesseract-Software
Tesseract-Software
04 September 2010
A "combo-box" is basically a popup list that allows you to also enter text directly (you can find out more here if you are interested: http://developer.apple.com/mac/library/documentation/UserExperience/Conceptual/AppleHIGuidelines/XHIGControls/XHIGControls.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP30000359-BAAGGAHH). However, you are correct in that I should have used the term "popup list" (or "popup menu") instead of "combo-box". I'll probably wait until the next update to change this; I don't think its so critical that it warrants its own update.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.0
auser
auser
04 September 2010
Thanks, except! At least in preview mode, it looks to be useless because I can choose 'First' for my first browser. That gets highlighted but the mouse focus is still on the middle item! So it still involves me moving the mouse to the correct entry.
Like
Version 1.1.0
auser
auser
04 September 2010
Forum bug. My previous comment is for the previous thread.
Like
Version 1.1.0
auser
17 April 2010
Excellent! It it could let me specify which browser to focus as default rather than picking the middle item in the list, that'd make it super excellent.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
Tesseract-Software
Tesseract-Software
04 September 2010
Just added this in version 1.1.0; thanks for the suggestion.
Like
Version 1.1.0
Jazzyguy
17 April 2010
This is FUNTASTIC!!!! I love this app and it works flawlessly.This may very well be Freeware of the Year!
Like (3)
Version 1.0.0
dajonel
16 April 2010
Very nice. It's easy to use and very polished. The only thing I can ask is that the developer finds some way to not require the app. It would be even better with just the prefpane.
Like
Version 1.0.0
Roaming-Nomad
16 April 2010
Nice idea. It works and its free! No complaints.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.0