Back to Jitouch page
Jitouch free download for Mac

Jitouch Reviews

2.74
13 May 2019

Expands the gestures for Multi-Touch trackpad and Magic Mouse (beta).

JetsSetter
01 August 2010

Most helpful

Jitouch offers tremendous opportunities for facilities management in Mac OS X. Since recently, the utility adds support for Magic Mouse&Magic Trackpad. Instructions and diagrams, describing the work of the gestures, are unmatched. The latter features a new version: fully customizable actions, gestures of support, based on the alphanumeric characters, the ability to switch between Spaces and tabs Safari in OS X... Thanks to developers for a very useful product! Best Regards Vitaly!
Like (6)
Version 2.3

Read 29 Jitouch User Reviews

Rate this app:

Tlance
02 May 2017
Many more actions than BetterTouchTool, etc. (have purchased BBT). There is an Alpha version on their site which is working flawlessly for me on Sierra - 15" MacBook Pro / TouchBar.
Like
Version 2.7
AJ Jones
14 December 2016
"Unlike any other software you've seen". says all you need to know. The app seriously is a good utility and well made app. , but I couldnt imagine my Mac life without BTT. Not only is it somehow cheaper with much more functionality than Jitouch, but it is also very actively developed.
Like (1)
Version 2.7
Tlance
03 December 2016
Anyone have success with jitouch on Sierra? On Sierra on a TouchBar MacBook Pro?
Like (1)
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
Kristin-9d71415c
Kristin-9d71415c
16 March 2017
I can't get it to work on my TouchBar MacBook Pro running Sierra. I have an older iMac that is running Sierra and Jitouch just fine, but somehow the TouchBar MacBook Pro is breaking it.
Like (1)
gravitime
25 November 2016
Yes, Jitouch is the most accurate gesture app I have ever used, No, the developers behind this suck. There are some gestures/functions that only jitouch can do but BTT cant, and vice versa. Fortunately, the two apps dont conflict with each other, so you can us both at the same time.
Like
Version 2.7
Lvdoc
04 October 2016
Just to reiterate, I paid for this and NEVER received a license and NEVER heard from the developer. Pay at your own risk.
Like
Version 2.7
stevenzli
09 November 2015
Agreed that Jitouch is more intuitive to use than BetterTouchTool. There's quite a few that can not be accomplished by BTT easily, like quit application (under cursor), move/resize window, and straight line drawing (which I use in combination with WindowTidy for window management).
However the Jitouch devs aren't actively developing the program is a bit sad. I wonder how much force touch support they provide at latest version.
Like
Version 2.61
fukurokujo
07 November 2015
JITouch is the only gesture app that has an acceptable accuracy for gestures like pinky to index to work, sadly the developer seems to be a bit uhm slow. Unfortunately due to mentioned accuracy, better touch tool is a bit unusable as JITouch's gestures are too intuitive to switch to the not so accurate and therefore non intuitive gestures of better touch tool
Like (1)
Version 2.61
stefidar
29 September 2015
Who ever made this either he is not a very good programmer or he is doing something else right now and abandoned the program.
Jitouch never worked properly on Yosemite and Macbook 12" forcetouch, the guy never answers support requests or emails, he is non existant.
Stay away, use BetterTouchTool and support the active developer.
Like
Version 2.61
Fra
23 April 2015
Yosemite support ! Really ? But too late ! I now use BetterTouchTool.
Like
Version 2.61
SawtoothRising
23 April 2015
nice updated guys! loving my force touch trackpad even more now this works again
Like
Version 2.61
Xenophile
25 June 2014
Both BetterTouchTool and MagicPrefs do what Jitouch does, do it for free, and IMO BTT does it better.
Like
Version 2.53
Lvdoc
16 January 2014
I'm just going to reiterate that this developer took my money and NEVER EVER sent me a license or responded to any of my e-mail inquiries about that matter. DO NOT GIVE THIS PERSON ONE CENT OF YOUR MONEY, EVER! BetterTouchTool is free and gives you more options anyway. Period.
Like
Version 2.53
SawtoothRising
10 November 2013
ok users updating to 10.9 need to allow accessibility to *both* system preferences and jitouch in the privacy tab of security and privacy.
Like
Version 2.52
Lvdoc
19 September 2012
Never never never never NEVER buy this! I NEVER got my license, even though I have a receipt to prove I bought it. And the developer NEVER ever once responded to any of my inquiries. BUYER BEWARE! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT!
Like
Version 2.52
Lvdoc
16 August 2012
An update, but I never got my license or a response? The developer is still out there but dissing paying customers? I will warn you all again - NEVER give this person money. Stick with Better Touch Tool.
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Lvdoc
30 July 2012
Do NOT give any money to this person! I NEVER received my license, and the developer NEVER replied to any of my e-mails. Use BetterTouchTool. It's FREE and it's still in development.
Like (1)
Version 2.42
Lvdoc
19 April 2012
Stick with BetterTouchTool. I paid my money for a license days ago and have yet to receive any kind of serial number or correspondence. Yes, I check my junk mail folder for it. Buyer beware; I got ripped off.
Like (1)
Version 2.42
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
19 April 2012
To clarify, I paid 6 days ago. Any other reputable developer has always given me some kind of response within 2 days. PayPal was right quick to take my money, though.
Like (1)
Smayer97
15 September 2011
This is confusing. Both the download for OS 10.6 & 10.7 have the same version, 2.4.2. Does this mean that 10.6 is still supported?
Like
Version 2.42
TheRealHershey
21 August 2011
Just wondering if anyone else has this problem: Occasionally, usually every other click or so (50 - 70% of the time), I have to double click/tap for it to actually activate/change to what I'm clicking on, be it a link in Chrome or a native app's button - it happens everywhere. It started happening on my old MBP, but I that was also after I (and I) went though a 50MPH motorcycle wreck, so I figured it had something to do with that...but it's happening on my brand-new 2011 MBA, too. Even if I go into the JiTouch Prefpane and turn it off/un-activate it for the trackpad, it continues to happen. Everything with the magic mouse works great, and I love the app for that alone, but the random need to double click/tap is quite annoying.
Like (3)
Version 2.42
3 answer(s)
enigma2k
enigma2k
07 September 2011
yes, I am having the same annoying problem! I really would love Jitouch if there wouldn't be this annoying bug. Hope they will fix it soon.
Like (2)
Max01
Max01
03 October 2011
My friend and I got the exact same problem on our MacBooks. (MBP (2010) and MBA (2011)). If you just delete the app, everything works fine again.
Like (1)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
09 April 2012
I just bought a Magic Trackpad for my old MBP, running 10.7.3. I haven't tried Jitouch yet, but I am finding that BetterTouchTool seems to be having the same kind of problem you're describing here. Maybe it's not Jitouch's fault. I'll give this a spin and see what happens.
Like
Moxiesozo
01 August 2011
-- Very troubling. Both this and the competing MagicPrefs now require 10.7.x to operate, thus eliminating/ignoring Snow Leopard users from enjoying updates and improvements. Sad.
Like
Version 2.42
SawtoothRising
24 July 2011
people who have upgraded to 10.7 will need to move most of the OS gestures (excluding "swipe between pages" on the more gestures tab) to 4 finger and 3finger+thumb then jitouch's gestures like one fix two swipe will work again
Like
Version 2.41
Lopoz
02 April 2011
Works great for customizing both my Magic Mouse AND my built-in Trackpad! BTT doesn't have a native prefpane and I'm constantly having trouble triggering the gestures. It also feels quite buggy and un-intuitive, IMO. I found MagicPrefs lacking in the number of gestures to program and it was constantly bugging me about updating some plug-ins through Growl, which I found very annoying.. Jitouch has a nice number of gestures, which trigger 90-95% of the time, a lot better than the accuracy I was getting with e.g. BTT. Again, these are my experiences, and may not be in line with what other are finding. I also found the way of explaining the gestures very intuitive (pop-up animation when hovering over a gesture), which is a major plus over BTT. All in all, I think Jitouch delivers the best overall package for customizing your Magic Mouse AND your Trackpad.
Like (2)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Lopoz
Lopoz
02 April 2011
I forgot to mention that the percentage of gesture triggering was referring to when I'm using my Magic Mouse. I'm finding that the triggering of gestures using Jitouch is much more reliable than BTT and MagicPrefs.
Like (1)
macroms
18 March 2011
I've started using jiTouch and the possibilities are crazy! Combine this app with QuickSilver Triggers (keyboard shortcuts) for more, even better multi-touch controls! Just imagine having gestures mapped for all standard browser controls (new tab, close tab, back/forward, etc.) + application commands like Quit or Hide, + Expose + Alt-Tab menu, allowing you to operate your entire mac (excluding typing :) with a trackpad. Lower rating for stability because the app have crashed and froze on me before, but interestingly there are periods of time when it works flawlessly for days. Might be something to do with other app compatibility. I understand that there are lots of users who prefer using ONLY the keyboard, but you should still give this app a try and utilize as many finger gestures as possible. Hours of fun (or frustration) guaranteed!
Like
Version 2.4
Neilio
21 February 2011
This is great when it works, but it doesn't work at all on the new Macbook Airs, sadly, and support is completely unresponsive. Pity, as this has a lot of little features that BetterTouchTool doesn't support (like app-specific actions). If you're using a 2010 MBA, I'd recommend you look elsewhere.
Like
Version 2.4
Povilas
14 December 2010
Bought it just few days ago and i can say it's best of it's kind. It has taps, clicks and swipes that make sense (combination). It's very clear, easy to understand. All in all it's worth the money. Only problem i have now is that some swipes doesn't work sometimes. For example switching spaces sometimes works perfectly for hours, but sometimes it just gets stuck for a minute or so. Not a deal breaker though. Thanks :)
Like (3)
Version 2.3
liang-case
09 November 2010
Hey, Is there any workaround for the latest MBA w/ 10.6.4? Jitouch doesn't work on these machines. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
liang-case
liang-case
02 April 2011
Yeah! Finally got JiTouch work on 2010 Late MBA! Thanks the Developer. You desire the credit.
Like
JetsSetter
01 August 2010
Jitouch offers tremendous opportunities for facilities management in Mac OS X. Since recently, the utility adds support for Magic Mouse&Magic Trackpad. Instructions and diagrams, describing the work of the gestures, are unmatched. The latter features a new version: fully customizable actions, gestures of support, based on the alphanumeric characters, the ability to switch between Spaces and tabs Safari in OS X... Thanks to developers for a very useful product! Best Regards Vitaly!
Like (6)
Version 2.3
Borlox
07 June 2010
Requires "access for assistive devices" to be enabled, which potentially allows any application to act as a keylogger. Not for the security conscious.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
ottffssentz
27 May 2010
very very nice app I have used this for about 2months and had no trouble so far. well worth $6. just one thing. i really wish it had more gesture options like BTT. i just saw the BTT demo on youtube and really liked the corner/middle taps for play and pause itunes and such. but this one doesnt have that. Thats why i took 1 star off from the features section. I would like to use both jitouch and BTT but sadly i use 10.5 Other then that awesome product. Works nice.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
SawtoothRising
SawtoothRising
29 May 2010
there isn't really a lack of gestures, considering you have around 18 finger gestures, 52 letters and 5 direction gestures and that's just for the trackpad. I currently have a few gestures I don't have functions for. Picking up on your issue with the lack of iTunes control, Apple keyboards have had media keys for a good while now which controls iTunes (among other media apps) globally making effort to control iTunes with a gesture rather redundant.
Like (3)
Version 2.2