Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Permute page
Permute free download for Mac

Permute Reviews3.6.6

21 July 2021

Easy-to-use, drag-and-drop video conversion.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
CharlesTheMacman
CharlesTheMacman
Jul 21 2021
3.6.6
2.0
Jul 21 2021
2.0
Version: 3.6.6
This really has a very unclear GUI. It's just click and see if it's what you expect. The icons are not only unclear but way too small. Results are mediocre and Handbreak does a whole lot better (and for free). I really can't recommend this app.
hmurchison
hmurchison
Nov 26 2020
3.5.11
4.0
Nov 26 2020
4.0
Version: 3.5.11
Works great. Simple and effective. HEVC Encoding is a bit on the slow side as compared to say Handbrake but it does the job. Noticing more websites are moving to WebP and it does a good job with static files but doesn't handle WebP animated files. I'd love to see Permute 4 start supporting new CODEC like AVIF.
PunkNugget
PunkNugget
Sep 24 2020
3.5.6
3.0
Sep 24 2020
3.0
Version: 3.5.6
App re-converts MP4 files that won't play so that they work, but when I import an .srt (subtitle) file, they NEVER convert. But at least I can watch the MP4 video in a foreign language that I can't understand. Awesome!
Valdalewis
Valdalewis
Aug 26 2020
3.5.3
0.0
Aug 26 2020
0.0
Version: 3.5.3
My computer said that it would cause damage and that I should uninstall it. don't know if that was a hoax but did so just in case. Both of my computers did the same thing right after the latest OS update Catalina 10.15.6
Cortig
Cortig
Feb 21 2020
3.4.4
5.0
Feb 21 2020
5.0
Version: 3.4.4
The app has been doing a great job for me> Fast and easy convertion, transcoding with Passthrough, extraction of the audio track, etc. The app relies heavily on videotoolbox, which explains the amazing speed. It has less granularity then ffmpeg though so the result isn’t as “compact” as what you could get tweaking the ffmpeg options, but it sure is an easy to use super efficient converter.
Johnny-n
Johnny-n
Dec 23 2018
3.0.1
3.0
Dec 23 2018
3.0
Version: 3.0.1
Well, version 2.X for the most part was great. Transcoded fast, and more often than not well. I pretty much only go from .TS files to .MP4 and I've done 5-6 with the new version 3 - first 3.0.1 all they way up to 3.0.4 and all of them resulted in nothing but an hour and a half black screen with no sound. Why 3 stars? I'm sure they'll get it right, but it's incredibly frustrating. Back to Handbrake for the time being, even though it takes like 20 times longer.
Mcclough
Mcclough
Dec 6 2018
3.0.1
1.5
Dec 6 2018
1.5
Version: 3.0.1
Some findings with this new version. - Every preset resulted in stuttering playback!!! All the converted movies stutter on several occasions. - Only the very high quality settings do produce some sort of good results. There appears to be no possibility for an average quality with acceptable file sizes and good quality. Even the free Handbrake does a much better job. - If the source is matroska or mpeg2ts, the result is always plagued with audio lagging problems. Sometimes up to 1 second. - Subtitles support is not working, or at least not on my system. they are simply ignored. - Enabling hardware accelerated encoded results in files with awful quality, even at high settings. It also crashed the app 3 times. It not usable in this version. - It only support basic codecs both audio and video. - Video and audio metadata is not copied, including tags. - The GUI is counter productive. it's clicking from here to there to do things. - Adding more then 50 files is hogging the GUI too. The previous GUI was way better and actually workable. This is a huge step back. For me it was money thrown away. I should have kept using Handbrake.
JuliaTin
JuliaTin
May 6 2017
2.4.4
5.0
May 6 2017
5.0
Version: 2.4.4
I love the app, other than the one time where my file took forever to convert, this has worked flawlessly.
Michael-Sebrecht
Michael-Sebrecht
Dec 24 2016
2.3.4
2.0
Dec 24 2016
2.0
Version: 2.3.4
Simplistic video converter suffering from delivering bad quality, even at high settings. The demo does reveal audio synchronization problems. Not sure this is a demo feature or bug.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Nov 28 2016
2.3.2
4.0
Nov 28 2016
4.0
Version: 2.3.2
Permute is a great app for those who convert a movie or music on occasion. It is simple to use and does a good job. However, for anyone looking for preferences to change the encoder, aspect ratio or any of the numerous options available in other converters I would suggest you try HandBrake. The developer is not comparing Permute with such app's as Handbrake, therefor, you can not discredit the app for not having all the features you would like. It does the job well and easy as he claims.
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
May 8 2016
2.1.7
0.0
May 8 2016
0.0
Version: 2.1.7
Please Developer recompile the ffmpeg binary or insert a good one *evermmeet is a good source. Yours? Isn't working.. at least under elCap it only crashes the application.
Shock-J
Shock-J
Apr 6 2016
2.1.3
0.0
Apr 6 2016
0.0
Version: 2.1.3
Simple is good. TOO simple can be problematic. For instance, I see no way to handle preexisting subtitle tracks at all within this application. It appears you can add an external file, but what about subtitle tracks already in the source? Does it drop the tracks or pass thru? What if I need to burn the subtitles? The only "surround" audio option is AAC? What about AC3? This app give me too little control over my output. I may be in the minority, but I prefer too many options over too few.
quser
quser
Dec 18 2014
2.0.6
5.0
Dec 18 2014
5.0
Version: 2.0.6
Great pice of software!
Micmacmo
Micmacmo
Jan 29 2013
1.3.13
4.5
Jan 29 2013
4.5
Version: 1.3.13
It's incredibly easy to use and comes pretty much preconfigured. Plus, it's very fast at converting between video formats compared to Handbreak.
Kotos0513
Kotos0513
Dec 27 2012
1.3.13
2.0
Dec 27 2012
2.0
Version: 1.3.13
All of a sudden converts EVERYTHING to mp3. V 1.3.13. Was working fine for previously. WTF ??? This is pissing me right off ! Imac 10.8.2. Have tried everything.
sebthedev
sebthedev
Nov 16 2012
1.3.12
5.0
Nov 16 2012
5.0
Version: 1.3.12
Great app! I got it for free through MacHeist, and I love it! Such an easy way to convert videos from any format without having to mess with any tricky settings. Thanks!!
cogden
cogden
Sep 30 2012
1.3.12
2.5
Sep 30 2012
2.5
Version: 1.3.12
WARNING: this update removes Snow Leopard compatibility! Their installer overwrites 1.3.11, making Permute unusable on 10.6.8 (which I and many photographers I know are still running given the loss of Rosetta and incompatibilities of Lion(s)). Not only does their installer not check and disallow installation under Snow Leopard, but also there is no download link for 1.3.11 on their website. Emails to tech support have as yet to be answered. Ugh. Random violence.
Andyrogers
Andyrogers
May 25 2012
1.3.11
0.0
May 25 2012
0.0
Version: 1.3.11
I keep getting 1.3.8 from the download link, not the latest version, and even that won’t run on my MBPro with 10.7.4 installed.
Scotty-Beam-Me-Up-Again
Scotty-Beam-Me-Up-Again
May 23 2012
1.3.10
1.5
May 23 2012
1.5
Version: 1.3.10
This suffer from bad audio sync problems on every movie I converted to the iPhone preset. The Apple TV3 preset is not working!! The encoded movie had a wrong aspect ratio resulting in funny heads. The developers calls it a 'Dead sexy interface', well 'Dead' it is already and moved it to the trashcan. Plain rubbish and not worth your hard earned dollars. The old Evom is free and always creates perfectly playable movies.
GeogProf
GeogProf
May 23 2012
1.3.10
0.0
May 23 2012
0.0
Version: 1.3.10
Both the link above and the one on the developer’s website still yield v. 1.3.8 instead of 1.3.10. This is getting ridiculous.
GeogProf
GeogProf
May 23 2012
1.3.10
0.0
May 23 2012
0.0
Version: 1.3.10
Just yesterday I discovered that the last version of Permute (1.3.8) still has some serious and confusing problems: 1. After successfully stitching together 6 WMV files (with VC-1 video & 64 Kbps WMA audio) to a single new WMV file (though the stitched file somehow ended up with 31.9 Kbps WMA), it would never again stitch together those same 6 files no matter what preset I used (multiple attempts with and without modifications using each of the following presets failed, despite that it worked fine the first time: WMV, MKV, Remux to both .mkv & .mov and Remux with Audio Conversion to both .mkv & .mov). 2. Using the Remux with Audio Conversion preset (to .mov & AC-3) on the same 6 WMV files mentioned above failed repeatedly, but finally yielded working files — with AAC audio! After fixing permissions and repairing my startup disk with Disk Utility and then rebuilding and replacing the root directory with DiskWarrior 4.4, I repeated these tests a second time to confirm that Permute was indeed creating AAC audio streams despite being set to make AC-3 streams (though it did remux the WMV’s VC-1 video streams correctly into the .mov containers). 3. Using the newly remuxed .mov files from #2 above (the ones that Permute made with VC-1 video and AAC audio despite being set to make AC-3 audio), I then used Permute’s WMV preset (set to copy both streams) — because every other preset threw errors — and again the “Stitch video files together” setting to make one big file, which unbelievably yielded a .wmv with MPEG-2 video and WMA v. 2 audio!!! Later, using completely different .avi and .mkv source files, similarly bizarre results were obtained. Attempts to stitch, remux and remux/audio convert the same above-mentioned source files using the $10 iFFmpeg 3.0.2 (using the ffmpeg 0.102 64-bit binary) each worked as expected with no anomalous/unexpected audio or video stream bitrates/formats or FFmpeg errors and all resulting files played flawlessly, so Permute’s problems are clearly not FFmpeg’s fault. Having paid for Permute a long time ago, I have tested each new version only to discover that it’s getting more and more FUBAR. Nevertheless, I’ll try this new version (1.3.10) and hope for the best [All conversions were performed on a Core2Duo 2.4 GHz Unibody MacBook Pro with 4 GB of RAM running OS 10.6.8. Selected Permute 1.3.8 conversion attempts using the same source files were again performed on a Core2Duo 2.16 GHz iMac with 3 GB of RAM also running OS 10.6.8 with equally puzzling results.]
Guest
Guest
Feb 20 2012
1.3.7
0.0
Feb 20 2012
0.0
Version: 1.3.7
Any comments about this or the previous 4 versions? Have any of the problems been solved?
J-Khulasphoc
J-Khulasphoc
Dec 21 2011
1.3.2
3.0
Dec 21 2011
3.0
Version: 1.3.2
Started off as a promising piece of software. It was meant to combine simplicity, speed and customisation. Simple? Yes. Fast? Not top of the class. Customisation? Limited options with buggy results. Could be amazing though.
mpiekielnik
mpiekielnik
Nov 29 2011
1.3.2
1.0
Nov 29 2011
1.0
Version: 1.3.2
Pretty useless. Works hard with encoding and then creates null files.
Priosantos Jan
Priosantos Jan
Oct 15 2011
1.3.2
2.5
Oct 15 2011
2.5
Version: 1.3.2
Lowered the rating! This new version is even worse. I now ALWAYS ended up in 4kb files. With previous version it only happend 1 out of 3 files or so. Now completly useless.
Priosantos Jan
Priosantos Jan
Oct 5 2011
1.3.1
2.5
Oct 5 2011
2.5
Version: 1.3.1
Though not a bad converter it is most certainly not the best. Personally I do not like the UI. Not very intuitive and most certainly when you want to dig a bit deeper it gets a mess. Has no vp8, theora and vob support. Also, the demo sometimes created 4kb files (empty?) when converting some mkv files to mp4. Not sure if the full version works any good. For less $ you can grab a copy of iFFMPEG which is far superior. As for free, Handbrake cannot be beaten.
isasc
isasc
Sep 17 2011
1.2
5.0
Sep 17 2011
5.0
Version: 1.2
With a great layout and architecture this app is the best video conversion tool. The app is base on a drag and drop interface making it so simple and nice to convert a video, you don't have to worry anymore in dealing with applications that are so complicated to achieve the same job. You may think that because PERMUTE looks so simple is not a powerful tool, but let me tell you IT IS! You can convert your videos to almost any format you want, you even have preset conversion keys to your favorite devices like Xbox, PS3, any Apple device and so on. If you want to you can edit and customize your presets the way you like it. You have six options to choose from and for me the most import ones are Copy Track and Keep Quality. They may look as the same but they are not, as Krystof from the PERMUTE staff told me "Copy track copies the video track data without any decoding/encoding. It is considered (by me) as quite an advanced feature and it doesn't have to work with all the input-preset combinations and makes the conversion super fast. On the other hand, Keep Quality does reencode the video track, while it tries to compute the bitrate information from the input file, so the picture quality is kept". The best part from my point of view and I'm sure for a lot of users is that you can keep the quality (Audio/Video) of your file and transform it to another type like M4V, for example I'm kind of person that doesn't like to transform an HD video MKV file because most of the time it will loose its quality. With PERMUTE you don't have to worry about it any more, because you are able to change video files to any format you want, just by setting up the configuration option to "keep quality" you will end up with a video just like the original MKV file. It is just amazing and so simple to do it with just a few clicks !!! If you are looking for the best video conversion tool for your Mac ! Well, this is it, I recommend it a 100%. It really works amazing and smoothly. Good Job !!!
iMacWare
iMacWare
Aug 26 2011
1.2
4.5
Aug 26 2011
4.5
Version: 1.2
Great little conversion tool!
avv3lenato
avv3lenato
Jul 27 2011
1.1.2
4.0
Jul 27 2011
4.0
Version: 1.1.2
Still missing the simple “iPhone 3G preset”. The built-in generic iPhone preset is useless for old devices like iPhone (2G-3G)/iPod (first & second generation) at 1,5 Mbit/s. Videos from your preset do not play at all on this devices! I found on OS X Lion a way to make old iPhone compatible videos: hold “option” key clicking on the desired device export menu. Cool hu?! Please update, thx!
patrickwelker
patrickwelker
Apr 2 2011
1.0.9
4.0
Apr 2 2011
4.0
Version: 1.0.9
I just converted a huge part of my library with Permute. It has a slim interface that I love to see every time I open the app. The whole application is made with 'keeping it simple' in mind. But sometimes I’d like to do more - the number one feature I miss, which apparently is very rare on nearly all OS X converters is a "pass through" setting for the video size and kbps. Batch converting didn’t handle handle too many files too well (Mac Pro 2x2,8 10GB RAM) - sometimes the queue came to a halt - so I made 12 file bundles. I like the minimal GUI and it’s totally clear that features like displaying information like frame height/width are not playing well with it. There are other apps who can help out with just that feature.
myschizobuddy-1
myschizobuddy-1
Jan 30 2011
1.0.9
0.0
Jan 30 2011
0.0
Version: 1.0.9
When converting to DVD it should ask for whether the DVD is single layer 4.7GB or Dual Layer one and then change the bitrate accordingly.
hottech
hottech
Jan 21 2011
1.0.7
1.0
Jan 21 2011
1.0
Version: 1.0.7
I'm sorry I can't see myself using this app after the first try. I really want to like it due to all those praises by your users, but the features are just not there. Maybe when it matures like Handbrake.
Robotank
Robotank
Oct 29 2010
1.0.7
0.0
Oct 29 2010
0.0
Version: 1.0.7
Permute has come a long way since I initially commented on it. It's got a great range of conversion formats and options now, and it's worked quickly and reliably in my testing. I'll probably end up buying this, as it's the closest anything has come to a successor to VisualHub.
Ang
Ang
Oct 8 2010
1.0.6
0.0
Oct 8 2010
0.0
Version: 1.0.6
Interface is really dead sexy ! To have the absolute perfect software, i pray for : - add an expert video mode for x264 (like handbrake for example or by using the quicktime export+x264 encoder) ; - add the apple Core Audio QuickTime True VBR (like XLD) ; - add the apple Core Audio QuickTime HE-AAC ; - add decomb / deinterlace. Congratulations to the developper !
zx
zx
Aug 21 2010
1.0.5
4.0
Aug 21 2010
4.0
Version: 1.0.5
Would love to see a 'Stitch Videos Together' option (aka VisualHub) thanks.
Wim-De-Smet
Wim-De-Smet
Aug 20 2010
1.0.5
0.0
Aug 20 2010
0.0
Version: 1.0.5
OMG, this is after the new VisualHub for Mac! :-O I gonna buy it right now.
Sgt-Bob-IE
Sgt-Bob-IE
Apr 8 2010
1.0.3
5.0
Apr 8 2010
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
This is a great little video encoding app. Still requires a few more little features here and there, but it is just so easy to use. I know you can get handbrake for free and it is an excellent app, I use it all the time myself, but when it comes to ease of use for doing quick encodes on a batch of files handbrake becomes a little more complicated and time consuming. However with Permute drop a bunch of files, select your preset and bam.. Sometimes thats all you need in a video encoder.. The developers are extremely responsive to issues and suggestions, which is great and convinced me to buy permute. I am looking forward to seeing what they do with this app over time. But for now it is definitely going to get use from me! Well worth it in my opinion.
Skorecky
Skorecky
Apr 6 2010
1.0.1
0.0
Apr 6 2010
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
It actually no longer requires X11 to be installed as of 1.0.2 But we were using a binary from it before that made it necessary.
Cerebrl
Cerebrl
Apr 5 2010
1.0.1
5.0
Apr 5 2010
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
I have been using Permute for over a month now. Yes, I was part of their private beta, and I have to say that these guys are amazingly in tune with feedback and suggestions from users. Permute started off as a super simple video conversion app that I may or may not use to an app that I use exclusively for all audio and video conversions. Here's the thing with Permute: It is the perfect app for > 90% of all conversions you are most likely to do unless you are an A/V professional. I am not, so Permute is everything I need and nothing more. It's simple, to the point and is super intuitive. I have not had a crash, a corrupted file or a freeze, so it is solid, stable and reliable. It's drag and drop at its best with advanced options behind the curtain if you need them. As a long time customer of Fuel Collective (I use Snippet and Swatch as well), I would recommend all their apps, Permute is just another great addition. Pros: Super simple, intuitive and fast. No complicated options or jargon to translate. Great price. Stable. Great customer support. Cons: May be too simple for the A/V professionals. No other cons that I can think of. Summary: Great app, great price, great support. It's the video conversion app for the rest of us. [Cerebrl]
csaborio
csaborio
Apr 1 2010
1.0.1
0.0
Apr 1 2010
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
It uses about 50% of my cores when converting...meh: http://img.skitch.com/20100401-rghx3xtkcb9e9igd9fspqjxs9p.jpg
Drdul
Drdul
Mar 30 2010
1.0
0.0
Mar 30 2010
0.0
Version: 1.0
Looks promising, but how come it requires X11?
Robotank
Robotank
Mar 30 2010
1.0
0.0
Mar 30 2010
0.0
Version: 1.0
Well, it's easy to use as the developer claims, and it seems to work well enough, but I cannot recommend it at all. First, its built-in presets generally use abysmally low quality settings (the MP4 preset uses a bit-rate between ~550 and ~770 or something very close to that). You can tweak the settings, but what you can do with them is very limited. Worse, it uses MPEG-4 Visual instead of H.264 for MP4 conversions, so even with a higher bit-rate you don't get very good quality. Finally, it costs $15, which is more than it's worth, especially when HandBrake is free and, with its presets, can be used almost as easily (there's also the free Evom if you want super simple, drag-and-drop conversions). Permute has a very nice interface and works very easily for non-technical users, but it needs a lot of improvement to make it worth paying for.