Back to Prey page
Prey free download for Mac

Prey Reviews

1.9.2
18 October 2019

Track your stolen laptop.

Gcodori
22 September 2010

Most helpful

Tried the latest version on my macbook running Snow Leopard. About 10 minutes after install and every 10 minutes the alert would come on my mac (even through prey was set to monitor every 20 minutes - go figure). The first time it locked the screen and asked for the password (good thing I caught the default password before exiting). All other times it just popped up an alert. This happened even when I did NOT mark the machine as missing. So I removed the mac from being tracked by Prey. Guess what?!? Still getting the message and alert - with the added bonus of not being able to go the the prey control panel and saying it's not missing - AGAIN. But I found a solution to this problem: I uninstalled prey and chucked the file right in the trash. By the way, the uninstall program is broken - no feedback as to whether the uninstall was a success - had to manually exit from the uninstall program also (it just sits there after clicking the uninstall button). Wait until prey hits 1.0 before using on a machine. By the way, installed on my wife's android phone - waiting for the angry call that her phone suddenly locked up on her for no reason also.
Like (4)
Version 0.3.73

Read 28 Prey User Reviews

Rate this app:

cig0
22 July 2018
Worthless placebo.
Like
Version 1.8.0
geronimo07
05 June 2018
I like the free version, and consider getting a paid plan.
Like
Version 1.7.5
Eric•Woehler
10 April 2018
Not working well with High Sierra 13.3 on MacBook Pro (13" 2017 2xTB3 ports). Have installed and used HS patch but does not communicate with servers unless I manually connect device in web browser. V annoying - first problems I have had with this app for all the time (years) that I have been using it. I suspect some HS tweak/setting is responsible but can't track it down. Have reinstalled a number of times but without fail, 2 days later I get the msg that my MBP appears to be offline and is everything ok? I manually connect then wait 2 days for next email. was great under Sierra, not working under HSierra despite patch etc
Like
Version 1.7.2
RogerKatz
04 February 2018
The current sion is 1.7.3
Like
Version 1.7.2
hmfwic47
16 November 2017
On the Apple Store app there is a version 1.2, dated Nov 24, 2016.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Eric•Woehler
21 July 2017
Been using this as a background app on my MB Air, iPhone 6s and iPad 2 Air 3 device limit for free to track where my devices are easy to set up and accurately tracks my devices to within 20m or so all over the world as I travel. Nice options to flag a device is stolen or to lock it up (thankfully never had to use these options) but I would suggest others at least try the software - free to d/l and to use (up to 3 device limit). other plans for extra functions but free functions do me (and I suspect most users) just fine. Recommended
Like
Version 1.6.9
RogerKatz
23 September 2016
The current version is 1.6.1
Like
Version 1.3.6
snickers2k
02 June 2015
HOW TO UNINSTALL THIS SHITTY APP ?!?!?! DO NOT INSTALL !!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.3.6
Moxiesozo
19 April 2015
MacUpdate Admins: Version 1.3.8 is current.
Like
Version 1.3.6
Turquoise
20 November 2013
0.6.1 is here, but shhh...
Like
Version 0.5.9
Big Johnson
27 November 2012
"Free" = $60 per year. That's $300 in 5 years!
Like (1)
Version 0.5.3
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
27 November 2012
The primary functionality of Prey is completely free. The pro plans add a few additional features and allow for the tracking of more devices. I've updated our description to make this more clear.
Like (3)
Oysterhaven
07 February 2012
Had never heard of this app before reading this article today: http://www.bostonherald.com/news/regional/view.bg?articleid=1401810
Like
Version 0.5.3
Sitting-In-The-Sun
11 January 2012
bit confused. it says prey is free to use with unto 3 devices. however on the webpage it says 3 devices is $5 per month. so is it free or is it paid ?
Like (1)
Version 0.5.3
Cowicide
09 December 2011
One should know that while the app is "free", there is a monthly fee to use the app.
Like (1)
Version 0.5.3
Ironman
14 November 2011
I give 4 stars because it's free and it does work. Used the "advanced" setting with my own email and web server (not the one from prey project) I confirm this launches at boot despite some comments. The infos you get by email are very accurate. My negative comment is that if you fail putting valid infos using advanced setting, there is no check to see if infos are valid, so you have to manually change the config file, and OSX permissions. I am on MacBook Pro 2011 using 10.7.2 Recommended !
Like (1)
Version 0.5.3
scott.park
28 September 2010
I just tried Prey on my MacBook Pro running 10.5.8 and on a Netbook with XP SP3, neither worked properly. I tried all the troubleshooting steps and ended up with nothing but inconsistent behavior. After a week of searching and testing I've given up and uninstalled it. Hopefully I'll be able to try it again in the future when its more reliable. Short list of issues: - Installed fine on the Mac and verified itself, never sent any reports back when flagged as missing. - Installed on XP, but never verified even though check mode said everything was fine. Manually ran it which allowed it to verify, but never seemed to run automatically. Reinstalled several times. - Sometimes the XP install would screenshot the desktop, sometimes it wouldn't. Updating the module settings didn't always pass on down either.
Like (4)
Version 0.3.73
Gcodori
22 September 2010
Tried the latest version on my macbook running Snow Leopard. About 10 minutes after install and every 10 minutes the alert would come on my mac (even through prey was set to monitor every 20 minutes - go figure). The first time it locked the screen and asked for the password (good thing I caught the default password before exiting). All other times it just popped up an alert. This happened even when I did NOT mark the machine as missing. So I removed the mac from being tracked by Prey. Guess what?!? Still getting the message and alert - with the added bonus of not being able to go the the prey control panel and saying it's not missing - AGAIN. But I found a solution to this problem: I uninstalled prey and chucked the file right in the trash. By the way, the uninstall program is broken - no feedback as to whether the uninstall was a success - had to manually exit from the uninstall program also (it just sits there after clicking the uninstall button). Wait until prey hits 1.0 before using on a machine. By the way, installed on my wife's android phone - waiting for the angry call that her phone suddenly locked up on her for no reason also.
Like (4)
Version 0.3.73
Wachunei
28 March 2010
I've been using this software for a while, since there was no UI and now I can say this project has grown up, its new features are amazing, I just tested them and they work perfectly. The last wifi-location feature indicates a reasonable area where the laptop may be, although the screenshots and pictures give you a lot information to "prey". This is one of the best "stolen laptop" software, besides it's free and open, and has very good feedback with the dev team's mailing list. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.
Like (2)
Version 0.3.72
Yawes
28 March 2010
on Prey 0.3.72 the missing mode is still not working.i didn't have receive any alert
Like
Version 0.3.72
2 answer(s)
Warorface
Warorface
28 March 2010
That's odd, really, contact me (contact@preyproject.com) and we'll see what's going on.
Like (1)
Version 0.3.72
Yawes
Yawes
28 March 2010
finally i tried again and it works perfect. thnx for this great software
Like (1)
Version 0.3.72
Soulslave
27 March 2010
(after installing it) where can i find prey in my computer? is there pref panel or something? my laptop still says unverified on the site
Like
Version 0.3.72
1 answer(s)
Soulslave
Soulslave
27 March 2010
nevermind, i figured it out :)
Like
Version 0.3.72
Warorface
27 March 2010
We've Fixed all the problems regarding the execution of Prey. Please go to our website and get the new version or wait until it gets published here.
Like (1)
Version 0.3
Yawes
25 March 2010
once more.prey didn't run automatically i have to run terminal and put 'sudo /usr/share/prey/prey.sh'
Like
Version 0.3
Yawes
25 March 2010
OHHHhh..... my bad... didn't read the developer mssg before. i've already create a new account and instal prey once again. and it's workfine. but when i tried to turn ON the missing mode on the preyproject control panel. My laptop didn't show any alarm or show an alert message like "This is a stolen computer, and is being tracked by Prey. Please contact my_email@mailbox.com to clarify the situation."
Like
Version 0.3
Warorface
24 March 2010
Sorry for the problems with macs on 32 bits, we're Working on it, it will be fixed asap (anyway, its just to recompile as universal) .Maybe when the one who compiled it (not me) released the new version, posted the Debug one (which is only 64 bits by default) In the mid time, please be patient. We're aware of it ;) Any other Critical, not so critical, feature request, etc thing please post it on our group list that you can find in our website.
Like (1)
Version 0.3
Yawes
24 March 2010
why i can't instal the new prey software on my snow leopard 10.6.2 ?? the software can't login with my account(i've already double check the email and password) and i think i've already remove the older version of prey software (i did like the FAQ page told me on http://preyproject.com/) now my mac didn't have any anti theft software
Like
Version 0.3
1 answer(s)
Bloobie
Bloobie
24 March 2010
No problems here installing over an existing copy under 10.6.2.
Like
Version 0.3
Juancab
24 March 2010
Prey does not install on a MacBook Pro (32-bit intel). The installer on the "Universal" installer disk doesn't contain the intel binary code necessary to run on my intel-based laptop. I am not sure what the problem is, could it be that the programmer only included 64-bit intel binary code and not 32-bit code?
Like
Version 0.3
1 answer(s)
Juancab
Juancab
24 March 2010
I have confirmed that in fact the "Prey Installer" binary, when executed from the command line returns ./Prey Installer: Bad CPU type in executable. I then checked the nature of the binary with the command line "file" command returns: > file ./Prey\ Installer returns ./Prey Installer: Mach-O 64-bit executable x86_64 So the installer is 64-bit intel ONLY. This definitely does NOT qualify as a UNIVERSAL installer for MacOS X as it is advertised on their website. It doesn't include PPC or 32-bit Intel code.
Like
Version 0.3
Soulslave
23 March 2010
i dont know if i should try this app. i worry about provacy issues
Like
Version 0.3
1 answer(s)
Warorface
Warorface
23 March 2010
You can always use the Standalone Mode, that way, no information is stored at Prey's website. You can also take a look to the source code if you feel insecure about any spyware.
Like (5)
Version 0.3
JamesHarrisPhoto
23 March 2010
Isn't the name "Prey" already taken for the game by Aspyr Media?
Like (2)
Version 0.3
2 answer(s)
paulrudy
paulrudy
23 March 2010
I'm pretty sure there's no rule against more than one app using the same name. In fact, it's pretty common
Like
Version 0.3
Umijin
Umijin
24 March 2010
Actually, it's a pain in the a** when two apps have the same name. One will install over the other, unless one of them is a pref panel only. There are two apps named Iris, for example, and when developers willingly use the same name, they hurt the customers most.
Like
Version 0.3