Back to Movavi Video Converter page
Movavi Video Converter free download for Mac

Movavi Video Converter Reviews

20.0.1
26 November 2019

Easy-to-use video and audio file converter.

labman57
26 October 2018

Most helpful

How does the version manage to jump from v.8.4 to v.19.0???
Like (2)
Version 19.0.0

Read 20 Movavi Video Converter User Reviews

Rate this app:

labman57
26 October 2018
How does the version manage to jump from v.8.4 to v.19.0???
Like (2)
Version 19.0.0
1 answer(s)
maryhart-1
maryhart-1
29 December 2018
It is weird. Did the developer make a mistake?
Like (1)
Corlit
13 April 2017
On Mac, version 7 is full of bugs. Do not upgrade version 6. Soft not to use. Version 6 did its job: but it is untraceable.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.0
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
11 June 2017
Another star for Movavi (at least version 6...): I download mp4 audio podcasts from the BBC, unreadable by QuickTime or any portable device I have; the only app that can remux them to m4a without conversion is this one!
Like
Aargl
13 March 2016
I've tried it on various conversions, compared to Handbrake and iFFmpeg. - repacking of a .mkv in a .mp4 container with the so-called "Superspeed" setting: 18s (8s for iFFmpeg...) - whenever there is actual conversion, it performs equal or slower than the two others - the only point where Movavi beats flat its competitors is when trimming mp4 to mp4, there, the "Superspeed" thing is amazingly fast! (quite instantaneous where iFFmpeg took 45s!) So if you only have to trim a lot of movies, with no conversion, cropping or else, go for it!
Like
Version 6.2
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
19 March 2016
Since that review, I've discovered Remux and MKVtoolnix, two free alternatives for remuxing...
As for the cutting work, Movavi is not precise at all, even if you seem to be setting your IN/OUT points to the frame, at least if you plan to use the values it shows in another software.
Like (1)
RogerKatz
16 July 2015
Version 5.1.0 is available for $0.99 (ninety-nine cents) at a Mac App Store sale today.
Like
Version 5.1.2
neartheredrocks
28 December 2014
Is Movavi just another alias company for Wondershare (and its various offsprings)?

Without having tested this application I dare to say that absolutely no video converter software can beat HandBrake. I can only encourage everybody to try this excellent free and open-source application.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.0
1 answer(s)
ras-2
ras-2
06 January 2015
So are you saying Handbrake will keep my original dates on my Mac?
Like
ras-2
26 December 2014
Can anyone who isn't related to an video converter please tell me which one will convert videos and keep the original date on them once converted.? I bought Movavi and even with the new version which was supposed to fix this prob…its not fixed! It's driving me crazy, as I have to manually change the dates of each video once converted. OR is it something within my MAC???
Like
Version 5.1.0
1 answer(s)
DirkTheMenace
DirkTheMenace
27 December 2014
I think IFFmpeg can keep the original date.
Like
Shendarwang
17 November 2014
Too expensive! I do not have so much money to buy this converter. So I selected the similar software total video converter pro with $14.99. I can accept this price. And I have used this app for a few weeks, it is good for me!
Like
Version 5.0.0
Wwinter86
14 November 2014
The fastest encoding speed I've ever seen in a Video Converter.
Like
Version 5.0.0
Steeps-Patrick
14 December 2013
Bad app, bad GUI, bad results, bad developper Avoid
Like (10)
Version 4.1.0
GeogProf
15 September 2012
Pure crap. Instead, consider this: The best video converter by farrrrr is also one of the cheapest — iFFmpeg, which easily and QUICKLY handles nearly any video transcoding job, and it only costs $12! It’s a front end for FFmpeg (vastly superior to other such FFmpeg GUIs), which is an open source transcoder/streamer/anythingyouwanter that’s under continuous development by some of the most talented and generous folks in the biz. I’m not the only one to think so highly of iFFmpeg, it’s one of the highest rated applications on MacUpdate.com at well over 4.5 stars — very few apps have been able to sustain such a rating with so many raters (over 170 think iFFmpeg is the best)! Check it out at http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35846/iffmpeg.
Like (8)
Version 3.1.1
Anon42
14 September 2012
Another warning about this app. It checks for two or more copies of itself and if there are *resets* your Launch Services. So if you already made the mistake of keeping a previous version and attempt to execute a newer version before erasing the older version your current Launch Services settings are toast and revert to their initial defaults.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.1
Flavum
27 August 2012
It's disappointing that MU has no screening process in place to filter out the deluge of duplicate, code-stealing Chinese video conversion applications like this (nothing against the Chinese - just the source of this particular scourge happens to be China). I look forward to the day when Digiarty, Xilisoft, Movavi, MacX and others of their ilk are no longer listed here.
Like (5)
Version 3.1.0
5 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
27 August 2012
We do a have a review process for app submissions. I'll take a closer look at this developer. ;) Don't worry -- we're not asleep at the wheel. ;) Thanks!
Like (1)
Flavum
Flavum
09 September 2012
Steeps Patrick - Be sure to check out: http://www.macheist.com/forums/viewtopic.php?pid=393693 Scroll down to the post by "Miah".
Like (1)
Flavum
Flavum
09 September 2012
That last remark was for MacUpdate Warren, not Mr. Patrick. Sorry about that - I can't edit my post.
Like
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
10 September 2012
Flavum, The comment from Miah links me to another thread that references this article: http://www.macworld.com/article/1153685/speaking_spammers.html. That's a spammer list that we are aware of and do take into consideration when reviewing various applications. I don't see Movavi on the list, but I do see the similarities. On the other hand, if this app is of poor quality, and our users' reviews reflect that, don't you think there is some value in that?
Like
Jimblue
Jimblue
11 May 2013
Warren said >>On the other hand, if this app is of poor quality, and our users' reviews reflect that, don't you think there is some value in that?< < there is. i got this app free a couple of weeks ago and am going to uninstall it right now with CleanApp.
Like
Steeps-Patrick
24 July 2012
I throw this at the pile of awful converters. Even for free this lacks any quality. Avoid this crap. But Nightsbird seems to love Movavi stuff - but hey .. Nightsbird is the dev himself .. figures.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
GeogProf
25 April 2012
Complete drivel. Doesn’t do 1/50th of what iFFmpeg does yet costs 4 times more. And the quality of its output is laughable. Crap.
Like (2)
Version 2.9.1
Paulbryers
23 March 2012
It doesn't work. I tried converting for my AppleTV and it won't play. It is useless for me. Hence 1
Like (3)
Version 2.8.1
DonkeyKong
05 December 2011
$40 and no trial? Thats what we get from AppStore apps. No thanks.
Like (4)
Version 2.8.1
1 answer(s)
Wwinter86
Wwinter86
14 November 2014
There is a trial and it's very fast.
Like
N-Flick
08 April 2011
Rubbish. Sub-par quality based on open source libs. iSkysoft, Wondershare, Xillisoft and Movavi are identical trash! None are worth the effort to download even if offered for free! Expect no support either. None of these vendors have any idea what kind of garbage they are peddling from Jun Xu! Read more about these scams -> http://www.macheist.com/forums/viewtopic.php?pid=393693#p393693
Like (4)
Version 2.8.0
Steeps-Patrick
28 January 2011
- Quality is not on par with other converters. Sometimes even very very bad results. - Freezed a couple of times during converting. (Had to Force Quiting) - No WebM support - Just too expensive Not recommended. Handbrake and iFFmpeg are way better imo
Like (3)
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
N-Flick
N-Flick
08 April 2011
I prefer VisualHub's quality over any of these Chinese cheap imitations. There are close to 100 of these BS programs from numerous vendors all using the same open source rubbish with sub-par quality. Even this trash was offered for free I wouldn't waste my time on it.
Like (2)
Jeff-H-
01 July 2010
This is such a great piece of software! In the past I had an occasion where I needed a video file converted from one format to another...I checked out iVideo Converter (what this software was named then), used it and then soft of forgot about it. Recently my partners and I were faced with having to convert thousands of videos into flv (Flash) format...there are a couple other ways to get this done but they are all painfully slow and really pull all the resources from your CPU. Enter Movavi Video Converter! Simple, VERY FAST, True DRAG N DROP...a real pleasure to use! Very recommended! $99 bundle on their site!
Like (1)
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
PorkPieHat
PorkPieHat
13 October 2010
JEFF H.'s review is what journalists often call a 'B.J.' - an interview that is more fluff and propaganda than insightful and revealing. It's a B.S. B.J. that's not at all O.K.
Like (11)
Version 2.6
Flavum
19 March 2010
How does this program qualify as shareware? Looks like any other commercial application to me - especially at $40.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.1