Back to Rename X page
Rename X free download for Mac

Rename X Reviews

1.4.0
04 October 2019

Hassle-free file renaming application.

Markie205
23 November 2013

Most helpful

Very good and intuitive. Would like to see two pref changes to make work even easier, 1. Allow users to select default for extension case (i.e, upper or lower). I always have to change from upper to lower, so would like Rename to do this automatically if I select that preference. 2. Allow users to select default for Before/After. Default now is Before, but I always use After. Those changes would allow me to do everything without picking up mouse (which slows work flow). But thank you to developer for a great product. --
Like (4)
Version 1.7.0

Read 36 Rename X User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bassrun
25 October 2019
This app is now $1.99 in the App Store.
Like
Version 1.4.0
malleoniss
30 March 2017
There is a problem with the function "Find". Said I am finding for "ee" and repalcing it with "uu" on the folder name of "tee see fee" It will search for the match from left, and once found the match, it will not bother about the rest. The result will be "tuu see fee"
Like
Version 1.7.0
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
05 March 2019
malleoniss,

I think it prolly can't believe anyone would really name a folder "tee see fee," thus it only performs the bare minimum.

Try replacing the "u's" in a folder named "rub-a-dub-dub, three men in a tub."

Or all the "e's" in "Lesser leather never weathered wetter weather better."

Then the "ou's" in "could you, would you, with a goat?"

Lemme know how that goes for ya - I'll gladly post more snippets if you need 'em ;-)
Like
Pathos
Pathos
30 August 2019
Hi malleoniss, check out version 1.3, find and replace is much improved
Like
Version 1.3.0
Hotscientist
07 March 2016
What is it with this horrible MacUpdate installer? Allegedly installs Rename in the Application folder (but it doesn't appear there) but then comes a window trying to change one of the scripts on the Mac???
Like
Version 1.7.0
Freenergy
30 December 2015
fantastica
Like
Version 1.7.0
Hugo-and-Luigi
30 July 2015
Simple, efficient, and free.
Like
Version 1.7.0
jer74
22 May 2015
Downloaded but then deleted. Unnecessary as Yosemite now has batch renaming built-in using Finder. Just search on the web for how-to's.
Like
Version 1.7.0
1 answer(s)
Pathos
Pathos
30 August 2019
Hi, jer74, you are right, renaming is build in MacOs these days. We like previewing batch renaming before pushing OK.
Like
Version 1.3.0
porg
26 February 2015
-- Window width is limited to ridicous 600 pixels, this limits the file name preview table radically! - No RegEx - UI not Retina compatible, but Retinizer successfully scales up the resolution. + Feature to add to Spotlight comment. (Never saw this in a batch renaming tool before) Either the old name or another arbitrary string.
Like
Version 1.7.0
Quirop-Pa
26 November 2014
Simple, intuitiva y eficaz. Además, gratis. La mejor.
Like
Version 1.7.0
danielarts
19 November 2014
The best rename app and free!
Like
Version 1.7.0
Makosuke
03 November 2014
This is a great little app of the "just works" variety. It's not fancy, but it quickly and efficiently batch renames large numbers of files very easily, with clearly labeled options, and a clear display of what the results of the rename operation will be before you do it. There's really only one feature I personally would love to see added: The ability to append a random string of letters/numbers (or, heck, just numbers) to filenames. That's something that even the new Yosemite batch rename command can't do, and the terminal commands for it are a bit on the hairy side.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.0
Markie205
23 November 2013
Very good and intuitive. Would like to see two pref changes to make work even easier, 1. Allow users to select default for extension case (i.e, upper or lower). I always have to change from upper to lower, so would like Rename to do this automatically if I select that preference. 2. Allow users to select default for Before/After. Default now is Before, but I always use After. Those changes would allow me to do everything without picking up mouse (which slows work flow). But thank you to developer for a great product. --
Like (4)
Version 1.7.0
Pripyat
11 September 2013
Slow with large amounts of files and not signed using a valid developer ID.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.2
lemon-kun
13 August 2013
Simple, quick, works perfectly…
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
Hoodahmahn
06 January 2013
I was looking for a simple app to batch rename a collection of files. Rename does a great job for this one specific task. Simple, relatively quick -- dependent on the resources of your computer, and great price! :)
Like (2)
Version 1.6.2
MartinD-
05 January 2013
Rename doesn't work when trying to rename a large number of files. CPU usage goes up to 100% and I have to force quit the application. Else, it is a great alternative to the more expensive A Better Finder Rename.
Like
Version 1.6.2
Almegalli
19 August 2012
(( everything should be as simple as possible but not simpler than that ))... Albert Einstein. this app does it's job in a very effective way and yet very simple.... now that's genius.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
davidcrowe18
31 July 2012
Great app. I've been using for quite a while and it never fails.
Like
Version 1.6.2
Mrhooks
21 July 2012
Great app, but it closes when I type certain characters in the "Find" field - * and @ so far. I don't even have to hit Return or anything - the instant I type one of those characters, I get a message saying Rename has to close.
Like
Version 1.6.2
Fishscale
11 June 2012
Great little free app. Best tool for renaming files, no need for regex knowledge but still as powerful imo. As for the review below mine, that claims rename is not working on Lion, it works great. It has worked on Lion for me since I discovered it about 5-6 months ago... End result: it DOES work on Lion and is a great free app. Thank you dev!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.2
1 answer(s)
Hkim
Hkim
13 June 2012
Thank you for confirming that it does work on Lion. I read another review that claimed that it did not work in Lion. This is still my favorite.
Like
Hkim
04 June 2012
Though this does not currently work under Lion, under Snow Leopard (and earlier versions) this is one of the best utilities for batch renaming files. It is quite easy to use as well.
Like
Version 1.6.0
Carl1966
01 May 2012
Nice app. I never really used anything like this before, I always renamed files individually when editing (video, audio, and photos). I use it mainly when backing up to external HD's, I can tag the files by date, location or whatever makes searching and indexing simple. I would like to see an Undo button in case of user error on the input. It may already be there but I have yet to find it, if anybody knows I would appreciate it.
Like
Version 1.6.0
Unicorn
25 February 2012
You can't change the name into another language unless you do it manually. Also, I can't change the name of locked apps. (such as app store, mail, etc.) The language I'm specifically trying to use is Japanese. Every time I type something in the program, the text doesn't appear. It also crashed for some reason. (Lion 10.7.3)
Like
Version 1.6.0
paulusue1219
14 February 2012
Don't know if anybody knows this, as I came across this quite by accident. I have been able to rename files, folders etc. by right-clicking the name of the item, then select get info. When the info window opens, I just click on the name of the file/item to activate the name line and just change it. Call me dumbo?
Like
Version 1.6.0
2 answer(s)
Danshock
Danshock
27 March 2012
OK, dumbo. ;-) Seriously, though, you can rename a single file just by clicking in the file name (or select a file and press Return on your keyboard) - no need to Get Info. However, this app is for batch-renaming a bunch of files in some kind of easy-to-program fashion. Not the same thing at all.
Like
benwkramer
benwkramer
04 February 2017
Hey Paul, been trying to get in touch - try me at benwkramer@gmail.com
Like
star-affinity
10 February 2012
Good software, but needs a new (better) icon.
Like
Version 1.6.0
1 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
13 March 2012
I see version 1.6.0 has a new and better icon! :)
Like
Markie205
04 February 2012
Upgraded to Lion and could no longer use my long-time standby Renamer for Mac. Tried a few others, but Rename works like a champ, even better and quicker than my former application. Five stars and thank you to the developer. --
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
09 December 2012
Why were you unable to use it on Lion? It's worked fine for me all year on Lion, now on 10.7.5.
Like
Markie205
Markie205
10 December 2012
BigJohnson, Who knows what these machines do? I switched to RENAME when I could no longer use RENAMER FOR MAC. MB --
Like
lemon-kun
08 January 2012
Now this is a fine little app. It's very easy to use and it has a quite impressive feature set. Much easier and better than anything else I've tried. Rename is definitively on my donate-list…
Like
Version 1.5.0
ronoho
01 December 2011
Program does exactly what it needs to do, nothing more, nothing less. Perfect!
Like
Version 1.5.0
piccobello
08 August 2011
Very good application. No need to buy any shareware, this app satisfy all your needs. Unfortunately, the GUI should be a bit more intuitive.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
Edmund-Jacobsen
26 May 2011
What a great app. I was just about to pay for a shareware app, but found this one. It's actually better - it does what it's supposed to. Great!
Like (2)
Version 1.5.0
cpichado
04 May 2011
This did exactly what it was supposed, and QUICKLY! I just wish the big nametag wasn't on it.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
Bobp63
06 January 2011
Handles common bulk renaming tasks with ease, utilizing a simple interface. The fact that it's free makes it THE top choice, if like me, bulk renaming is a seldom preformed activity. My sincere thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 1.5.0
Lumicide
06 November 2010
I'm looking to rename a bunch of files with file names like logfile.s123.uvwxyz.txt All I really need is the middle part of the file name s123 and the extension .txt. The file name could be easily generated searching for the regular expression .*(\d*).* and replacing it with \1 turning it into 123.txt Unfortunately this software can not do that. It doesn’t make use of \1 in the replace string. Instead it just ignores the \1 and outputs nothing.
Like
Version 1.5.0
Gary-L-Gray
03 November 2010
This little app is simple, easy to use, does what it claims to do, and is free. I highly recommend it for renaming files in the Finder.
Like
Version 1.5.0
PorkPieHat
08 June 2010
A lovely app, and I applaud the developer for keeping it free. However, Rename (and perhaps my idiosy as well) caused a major problem. Using the OS 10.6 Finder's own 'Make Alias' command, I made a new folder located in the Documents folder that only contains aliases of all my applications (for use as a launcher in Classic Menu's Apple menu). However, that process added ".alias" to the end of all my applications' names (e.g. "Safari.app" became "Safari.app alias"). So, I used Rename to remove the last 6 characters from all of my applications' aliases, but that resulted in all my apps (not the aliases) being converted to FOLDERS because Rename removed all of the ".app" extensions because Rename performed that operation on the WRONG FOLDER: Even though I dragged and dropped all of my applications' ALIASES from my Classic Menu Items folder into Rename's file list, Rename ignored those aliases and instead renamed everything in my Applications folder! Now I have to use Rename again to add back the ".app" extensions, but then I must go through all of them to fix the name of all the folders and ReadMe files that were in my Applications folder when I ran Rename. My point is that this is powerful software, and it can majorly screw up your system if you don't test it on a few unimportant apps, folders and other files before you batch-Rename anything. Lesson Learned.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0
2 answer(s)
PorkPieHat
PorkPieHat
29 August 2010
MOMIJIGARI, maybe you should just learn how not to be a D1CK.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.0
Mores
Mores
27 February 2013
Must agree with Momijisomething, despite his rather harsh tone. This problem would arise with any renamer simply due to the fact that you were using aliases without knowing how they work.
Like
Roro01
15 May 2010
For Snow Leopard it is better to use RenameItems Service as it enables you to rename directly from the contextual menu.
Like
Version 1.1.0
Shadymac
23 March 2010
What a brilliant little app! fantastic!!! It is simple and very easy to use not so frustrating as some of the over done renaming tools! It gives you a simple way to rename files via drag and drop for batch naming, sequencing etc in a straightforward fashion. One minor issue, the app when opened, opens dead centre of the screen, if it can open around the sides that will be brill when selecting files and drag and dropping them into the apps interface. Also it will be great also if you can just drag and drop on to the app icon itself will make things hugely simple. Thank you for making this app, I hope it remains free, but I will definitely make a donation!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.0