Back to Remove-It page
Remove-It free download for Mac

Remove-It Reviews

27 March 2021

Remove unwanted files when uninstalling apps.

How would you rate Remove-It?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Feb 10 2021
1.0.4
5.0
Feb 10 2021
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
This is kind of strange, but I'm almost positive that when I left my review on 1/24/21 (below) there were no other reviews posted. Otherwise I wouldn't have bothered to note that Remove-It was the successor app to iTrash. (Which took me a while to figure out on my own.) Other reviewers (see MichaelHaeusler) had already made this clear. MacUpdate seems to have grafted the older reviews of iTrash onto Remove-It, which makes sense for the sake of continuity, and perhaps I left my review before that process was complete. Oddly enough, there is still nothing in Remove-It's description that mentions that is iTrash renamed. I just wonder if the developer was threatened with legal action for using the "iTrash" name, which evidently was used for a now long-gone and unsupported app by a different vendor. That vendor was "Circus Ponies," which I Googled, and which went out of business in 2016 after 13 years in operation. That original, now long defunct, "iTrash" still shows up in MacUpdate's search with a disclaimer saying it is no longer supported by its developer. (Really, MacUpdate, why bother keeping it here at all?) -SB
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Jan 24 2021
1.0.3
5.0
Jan 24 2021
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
In what must be the clumsiest rollout in history, Remove-It, version 1, has replaced the former iTrash, version 5, which has disappeared from MacUpdate -- except for an identically named ancient utility (from an evidently now defunct company called "Circus Ponies") last updated in 2013. If you open iTrash version 5 and click "Check for Updates," it tells you that version 6 is available. Nothing about Remove-It. The very name has been expunged from the developer's website -- no mention of the change in name and version. (Really guys? Is it that hard to send an email out to existing loyal customers and clue them in to the changes, instead of making them figure it out for themselves? At least it's a free update -- nothing to sneeze at.) The exception: if you attempt to download earlier versions of "Remove-It," they download as iTrash. Anyway, the good news (I hope) is that for its maiden run, the first app I had Remove-it remove was -- you guessed it -- iTrash 5. It found 9 files and dumped them. Not quite all, but that's why I also do a scan with Find Any File. I've always liked iTrash and I wish the developer, OsxBytes, of this program well. Four stars -- one knocked off for less than stellar customer communication on a major change like this. Next time, it'll be five stars. -SB
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jan 11 2021
1.0.2
5.0
Jan 11 2021
5.0
Version: 1.0.2
I was looking for a future-proof (i.e. arm64-ready) replacement for Synium's CleanApp, and Remove-It (formerly iTrash) is imho the best tool available. I also tested AppCleaner and AppDelete, but only Remove-It was able to match CleanApp's results. However, you need to be careful with Expert Mode… depending on the app you want to remove, some of the files in the results might not be associated with your app, and deleting those could cause problems. So you should use Expert Mode only if you really know the ins & outs of macOS, know what every file's role is etc. After deleting an app and its files with Remove-It, you should also consider manually searching your macOS volume for more remnants… I use Thomas Tempelmann's FindAnyFile, and I usually search for the app's bundle ID and display name, and sometimes FaF will detect additional files that Remove-It missed. Last, but not least, OSXBytes customer support is fantastic.
SpiessensMark
SpiessensMark
Jan 10 2021
1.0.1
5.0
Jan 10 2021
5.0
Version: 1.0.1
They did not only rename the app but made it even better. Ones in a while I test drive all uninstaller side by side and although iTrash already was on top of the game, this one reveals even more related filed in many occasions. Fantastic update and awesome app!
VLtom
VLtom
Jan 6 2021
1.0.0
5.0
Jan 6 2021
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
It is still incomprehensible that Apple does not build a decent way in macOS that when you delete an application, it automatically removes all related files as well. Anyway, as long as Apple does not provide this in its own OS, I highly recommend Remove-it! It is the only one that finds and removes almost every linked file. A really great tool
Hanssen-P
Hanssen-P
Jan 5 2021
1.0.0
5.0
Jan 5 2021
5.0
Version: 1.0.0
Nice to see the developer keeps this major update free. The devotion to keep it at its top level and friendly support is awesome to say the least. Best in its class and miles ahead to any comparable tool and competition. Thank you very much.
thinkman
thinkman
Jan 5 2021
1.0.0
1.0
Jan 5 2021
1.0
Version: 1.0.0
Bought this to replace AppDelete as it was running extremely slow under Catalina (10.15.7). Remove-it worked once until I clicked on "expert mode". That froze the App after the App notified me that Expert Mode might delete files unrelated to the App I'm trying to delete. I force-quite it, and when I opened it again, Remove-it took almost as long to collect the associated files as the defunct AppDelete. WTF!
Shallowp
Shallowp
Apr 20 2020
5.1.2
5.0
Apr 20 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.2
I used App Cleaner in the past but recently this does not effectively removes the found files when running macOS 10.15 iTrash does find the same AND do remove the files. So jumped ship to iTrash. Great tool !
Gitte79
Gitte79
Apr 7 2020
5.1
5.0
Apr 7 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1
My go-to app for removing applications. v5.1 finally fixed the problem with not removing files in the temp folders. Kudos to the devs for keeping this uptodate for Catalina.
MaxWilders
MaxWilders
Apr 6 2020
5.1
5.0
Apr 6 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1
iTrash is by very far the best uninstaller and for Catalina the only that removes all related files of the application you want to remove. All others similar apps do not work right with Catalina. recommended
anonymous-lynx-5546
anonymous-lynx-5546
Apr 6 2020
5.1
1.0
Apr 6 2020
1.0
Version: 5.1
It doesn't work right, sizes are not show correctly and it finds unrelated files. iGarbage would be a better name. Also developer abandoned older OS'es. Time to find something better.
TomJ2166
TomJ2166
Mar 26 2020
5.0.3
0.0
Mar 26 2020
0.0
Version: 5.0.3
Version 4.3.1 : Beter hands off . Freezes my computer several times. Tries to erase all kinds of files not related to what I want to delete. Better trash iTrash.
Macinman
Macinman
Nov 13 2019
5.0.2
5.0
Nov 13 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
This is a review of the Developer's Service, and a note to Macupdate. 5.0.2 had Ghost mode break this morning, and the dev gave me a beta to try which fixed the problem. Checking the site, while the info still says 5.0.2, the download, downloads the 5.0.3 version that fixes the problem. So, it appears it has been publicly released. thanks for the excellent service and response time.
Steven-Sky
Steven-Sky
Nov 13 2019
5.0.2
5.0
Nov 13 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
In my experience the best tool to remove applications.
Sigil
Sigil
Nov 11 2019
5.0.1
1.0
Nov 11 2019
1.0
Version: 5.0.1
I purchased this software 1/19 and now I have to pay for a paid upgrade 10 months later! No, thanks.
Steeps-Patrick
Steeps-Patrick
Oct 18 2019
5.0.0
5.0
Oct 18 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
I have been using this successfully for many many years and it always serves me well. Very useful app to delete unnecessary files when you delete an app.
Fariborz
Fariborz
Oct 18 2019
5.0.0
5.0
Oct 18 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
Has always been a faithful software for deleting all those bits and pieces left by deleted applications and now with the advent of Catalina it still remains the most trusted software for this purpose. I eagerly paid the small fee to upgrade to version 4 and have never been more pleased to do so. Thanks. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Christa_Moal
Christa_Moal
Oct 17 2019
5.0.0
5.0
Oct 17 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
Thank you very much for the new version. All the problems I reported regarding Catalina have all been solved. iTrash is back my favorite uninstall tool. Must have app.
Liam-
Liam-
Oct 17 2019
5.0.0
5.0
Oct 17 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
Kudos to the devs for this update! Finally removes the selected files in Catalina.
Ozzymo
Ozzymo
Oct 17 2019
5.0.0
5.0
Oct 17 2019
5.0
Version: 5.0.0
Version 5.0 is out now that says it is compatible with Catalina. It was a 4 Euro upgrade to the old version. After upgrading it is still not 100% compatible with Catalina. Ghost mode will not stay enabled after closing the program. And it took a complete uninstall and reinstall before the registration would stick. Hopefully they can put out a true Catalina compatible update quick.
Gary-box
Gary-box
Oct 5 2019
4.3.1
5.0
Oct 5 2019
5.0
Version: 4.3.1
Very good uninstaller, in fact it's by far the best. Sadly it doesn't work in macOS Catalina. It does find the files but when you ask to delete them, some files aren't deleted at all without any warning. Hope the devs does fix this in the near future.
larrymcj
larrymcj
Jul 27 2019
4.3
0.0
Jul 27 2019
0.0
Version: 4.3
Has anyone done a comparison between iTrash and AppCleaner? Thanks!
Gazman
Gazman
Jul 21 2019
4.3
5.0
Jul 21 2019
5.0
Version: 4.3
I forget how long I've used iTrash for, several years at least, and it continues to be refined and updated without adding any bloat. This is a one trick pony, but it does it extremely well. Kudos to the developer.
Macinman
Macinman
Sep 29 2018
4.1.0
5.0
Sep 29 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1.0
I'll leave a comment first, then a review after I've used the app for a while. I decided to purchase iTrash today after being informed about a year or so ago that the developer of AppDelete passed away. While AppDelegte has been a faithful working app, and even now it was still working. I knew it would probably stop at some point. I've heard good things about iTrash, and I've used it a few times already, and it has worked well already. Will do a more complete review after I've used for a while, and can give a better comparison.
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
May 8 2018
4.0.5
5.0
May 8 2018
5.0
Version: 4.0.5
An awesome uninstaller that finds tons of leftover files when I need to uninstall an app! I love the ability to have it also search for other items such as: Widgets, PrefPanes, Plugins, lost files, and LaunchDaemons & agents. It truly does find everything and remove anything else that is associated with it.
Michael-Sebrecht
Michael-Sebrecht
Apr 28 2018
4.0.5
5.0
Apr 28 2018
5.0
Version: 4.0.5
I used ITrash a long time ago and switched to Appdelete two years ago because it was better. Because Appdelete development ceased, I was looking for an alternative again. As time goes, I gave ITrash another swing and see if it had been improved. I ran Appdelete and ITrash when removing apps and compared results. ITrash found equally or more files. Especially more cache files were found, some very big in sized. Back to ITrash and my old serial still worked. Good stuff.
Sandra S.
Sandra S.
Feb 21 2018
4.0.3
4.5
Feb 21 2018
4.5
Version: 4.0.3
Works pretty good. Anyone knows if it is better than free AppCleaner app?
DonkeyKong
DonkeyKong
Dec 16 2017
4.0.2
5.0
Dec 16 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
The ultimate uninstaller packing into a great UI. Top notch.
jamesnico1980
jamesnico1980
Dec 6 2017
4.0.2
5.0
Dec 6 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.2
Fantastic tool to get rid of everything that comes along with applications. Works perfectly and have had no issues to date. I'd go so far to say this is the best uninstaller for mac !
Melis
Melis
Dec 3 2017
4.0.2
4.5
Dec 3 2017
4.5
Version: 4.0.2
Very good tool to completely remove your applications from your system.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Dec 3 2017
4.0.2
2.0
Dec 3 2017
2.0
Version: 4.0.2
iTrash 4.0.2 release info: - Improved search algorithm. - Fixed issue updating the application list after removing app. - Fixed issue retrieving app icons.
nnbbtar
nnbbtar
Nov 25 2017
4.0.1
3.0
Nov 25 2017
3.0
Version: 4.0.1
I was under the impression that I would be able to PERMANENTLY delete unwanted emails with ITrash, but obviously I was mistaken! All erased mails end up in my Archived mails! This is driving me crazy!
Herbert-Albrecht
Herbert-Albrecht
Nov 12 2017
4.0.1
5.0
Nov 12 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.1
A great peace of software. It works very fine. I compared it with Clean May Mac and it seems iTrash just works better..
cliveH
cliveH
Nov 8 2017
4.0.1
0.0
Nov 8 2017
0.0
Version: 4.0.1
Hmmm -- just bought iTrash but got the message: 'There was a problem connecting to the server "name". The server may not exist or it is unavailable at this time. Check the server name or IP address, check your network connection, and then try again.' I'm investigating the cause, which I realise isn't initiated by iTrash. However, I can't find an iTrash Help facility, or a manual. Is it in front of me and I just can't see it?
IngeMortier
IngeMortier
Oct 8 2017
4.0.0.B9
5.0
Oct 8 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.0.B9
Best in its class.
VLtom
VLtom
Sep 29 2017
4.0.0.B9
5.0
Sep 29 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.0.B9
Nice to see the developer keeps major updates completely free. The devotion to keep it at its top level and friendly support is awesome to say the least. Thank you very much.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Sep 27 2017
4.0.0.B9
2.0
Sep 27 2017
2.0
Version: 4.0.0.B9
This isn't an endorsement for iTrash, but at least today it whooped ass on AppDelete and TrashMe.

I uninstalled the Monit app/widget.

AppDelete found 32 items, most of which were only listed because they include "monit" in their names.
Things like com.apple.ActivityMonitor, Activity Monitor.app and several Little Snitch Network Monitor files.


Next I used TrashMe, which found 23 files. It also listed many Little Snitch and other files, but omitted some of the Activity Monitor ones (it still listed Activity Monitor files in the /private/var folder).

Lastly I used iTrash, which found only 12 files. But four of those were not Monit-related either. It found "Little Snitch Network Monitor.log" and three Apple files in /private/var.


Heed this warning to closely inspect the files that any app-remover wants to delete.

And as you can see, not all removers are equal. It pays (well, YOU pay) to use more than one to compare results before removal.
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
Sep 24 2017
4.0.0.B9
5.0
Sep 24 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.0.B9
The best "uninstaller" available for macOS by far and at a very reasonable price...the free upgrade to v.4 for v.3 users is the cherry on top :-)
WetNet
WetNet
Sep 17 2017
4.0.0.B9
5.0
Sep 17 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.0.B9
Download links to B9 but the "about" says B8. Get info says B9... Which is it Osxbytes?!
Jason-Milles-76
Jason-Milles-76
Sep 16 2017
4.0.0.B9
5.0
Sep 16 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.0.B9
My go-to tool for removing applications. Always does a fine job in finding linked files and folders. A big thank you to the developers for making this a free upgrade. Great job.
Bleech-Jef
Bleech-Jef
Aug 1 2017
4.0.0.B5
5.0
Aug 1 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.0.B5
Using this for years and now a new major and it's a free upgrade ! Now that's what I call customer support. Thank you for this great app.
Sixbillships
Sixbillships
Jul 28 2017
4.0.0.B5
4.5
Jul 28 2017
4.5
Version: 4.0.0.B5
I worked with the developer to help identify what might be causing the slowdown I experienced and the latest beta 5 is now working as fast as ever.
Kudos!
Pat-Geerts
Pat-Geerts
Jul 27 2017
4.0.0.B1
5.0
Jul 27 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0.0.B1
I could spit outside and hit nine just like this but iTrash clearly is a winner among uninstaller tools. It’s simple to use, easy hidden as a background service and looks business.
Sixbillships
Sixbillships
Jul 25 2017
4.0.0.B1
4.5
Jul 25 2017
4.5
Version: 4.0.0.B1
Not ready for public testing, IMHO. Extremely slow when searching - almost appears as if the app is hung. Then very slow to quit out of the app. Big step backward in performance. Reverted back to v. 3.X.X
IroniMAC
IroniMAC
Mar 12 2017
3.6.7
5.0
Mar 12 2017
5.0
Version: 3.6.7
Excellent software and I appreciate the friendly support offered. Best uninstall app bar none.
Bleech-Jef
Bleech-Jef
Feb 16 2017
3.6.6
5.0
Feb 16 2017
5.0
Version: 3.6.6
Terrific app and great customer support. Recommended.
Hendricx
Hendricx
Feb 10 2017
3.6.3
5.0
Feb 10 2017
5.0
Version: 3.6.3
An excellent uninstall app, automatic appears when you drop apps in the bin and removes all related files at the press of a button.
Osxbytes-Dev
Osxbytes-Dev
Feb 8 2017
3.6.3
5.0
Feb 8 2017
5.0
Version: 3.6.3
Dear Customers,

We highly recommend updating to iTrash 3.6.4 (MU listing hasn't updated to 3.6.4 yet).
This fixed an important issue that prevented to find related files that it did found in v3.5 (call it a serious regression bug). iTrash is now again on par or better then comparable apps. ;-)

Any questions? Please send us a mail to info@osxbytes.com
Greedyfranky
Greedyfranky
Feb 5 2017
3.6.1
5.0
Feb 5 2017
5.0
Version: 3.6.1
I used Appcleaner for years and always thought it was the best free app to remove files. For some reason Appcleaner doesn’t always effectively removed the plist files although it was listed in Appcleaner and checked for removal. When rebooting sometimes plist files were still present. I Googled about this and found out that the latest Mac OS X versions caches the plist files in memory and rewrite them when they are physically removed. That explained the problem. I wanted to know if similar apps like Appcleaner had the same problem. Tried AppDelete, Apptrap, iTrash, and CleanMyMac. Only Apptrap, iTrash and CleanMyMac took care of the cache plist files too. After rebooting the plist files are gone, at least I could not find them anymore. I have to add an important note here: mostly plist files are removed in any case with any uninstaller. It’s just sometimes it doesn’t with Appcleaner and Appdelete. Although not 100% proof, I also figured out that when the files removed with the apps have the ‘Put Back’ option enabled are removed correctly. If this option is not enabled, it is a hit and miss for some reason. For the time being I have switched to iTrash because I like the small footprint UI it has. I’m considering to buy CleanMyMac too. It is a bit expensive but has many nice features like cleaning up the whole system.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jan 30 2017
3.6.1
2.0
Jan 30 2017
2.0
Version: 3.6.1
DO NOT under any circumstances even consider using the "expert" mode! It’s as much of an expert as I am at astrophysics.

I uninstalled an app today named M3 Drive Mounter (it sucks).
AppDelete found 6 files, iTrash found 5.

Just to see if it would find the missing file, I switched to expert mode.
This time the only file found relating to the app was the app itself - the other 4 files previously listed were MIA. But 17 other unrelated files were found.

Obviously the "expert" thinks that any file that includes any part of the app’s name must be related, because all the found files include the word "drive" somewhere in their name:

DriveDX
DriveGenius
USBOverdrive
com.apple.driver.AppleHIDMouse.plist
com.apple.driver.AppleIRController.plist
com.WirelessDriver.pkg.plist
fi.dungeon.SATSMARTDriver.bom
etc.
etc.
etc.


Simply calling yourself an expert does not make you one!