Back to TotalFinder page
TotalFinder free download for Mac

TotalFinder Reviews

1.12.3
20 December 2019

Adds tabs, hotkeys, and other tweaks to the Finder.

YHC
10 April 2019

Most helpful

It became a Buggy app on macOS Mojave. I am too tired to tell all, so I just left an example, If you open DMG file, "Tab" function will be broken. This developer is very weak. According to Acknowledgements in this app, I think he just collected some Free Projects on GitHub, and make "TotalFinder." So now, he cannot handle this app, cannot solve any Critical bug. I think I will delete this app.
Like (2)
Version 1.11.8

Read 418 TotalFinder User Reviews

Rate this app:

khal72
20 December 2019
I've been using this app for several years and it would be really hard for me to do without it. It's the only app I know that has a double window with independent menus and the visor mode is just amazing.
Like
Version 1.12.3
Rob-h
02 December 2019
I'd love to use this because PathFinder is becoming a p.i.t.a. with it's bugs, but compromising my Mac by turning off SIP is just not worth it.
Like
Version 1.12.2
YHC
10 April 2019
It became a Buggy app on macOS Mojave. I am too tired to tell all, so I just left an example, If you open DMG file, "Tab" function will be broken. This developer is very weak. According to Acknowledgements in this app, I think he just collected some Free Projects on GitHub, and make "TotalFinder." So now, he cannot handle this app, cannot solve any Critical bug. I think I will delete this app.
Like (2)
Version 1.11.8
1 answer(s)
YHC
YHC
04 September 2019
Angry! Too many bugs on macOS Mojave! If the developer doesn't want to fix it until macOS Catalina, and charge me money by then, I must delete this app and change to use XtraFinder. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.11.8
Macinman
23 February 2019
There are a couple notes I wanted to leave after trying TF again this morning after a few years not using it. The first: everyone already knows, is it requires disabling SIP to use, and run.
The second, which was the main one that frustrated me personally, and why I uninstalled it again, was, it resized all my Finder windows, after install, and opening a window. I uninstalled it, and opened a window that was my original size and navigated in that window to the one that had been resized to restore it. I haven't used TotalFinder since before El Capitan as I just haven't needed the features, even though I paid for a license for it. When I used it, I loved what it had to offer. If there is a way to stop it from resizing windows, I'll try it again.

Thanks.

P.S. I forgot to mention in the original post that I tried TF version 1.11.8 (latest)
I tried it on Mojave 10.14.3 (latest release.)
27" 5K iMac.
Like
Version 1.11.8
roundfile
27 December 2018
Love This Add-On but One Wish..... I adore the ability to merge two open windows - that was a genius design move. I love the old-school labels - kudos on that as well. There are a lot of GREAT features and this was well worth my $12 for the superb-but-subtle added functionality. My ONE WISH (Binary Age - you listening?) would be to add the old-school Window Shade Effect where you double-click on the top bar of any window and it rolls UP so you just see the name of the window (e.g. Desktop, Documents, specific personal folder, etc) and the top bar. I LOVED that in older Mac OS versions and have always paid to add that feature when they took it out, but now its impossible to find. BINARY AGE - Please Add A Window Shade Effect !!! Thank you for listening. :)
p.s. Using on High Sierra without a glitch.
Like
Version 1.11.3
1 answer(s)
Tony-Hartt
Tony-Hartt
13 February 2019
This will give you the window shade https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/47471/windowmizer
Like (1)
khal72
28 September 2018
Best finder alternative
Like
Version 1.11.2
rijck
22 September 2018
A fantastic app. After trying Path Finder and Commander One I went with Total Finder as it is fast, unobtrusive and I love the ability to show/hide a dual pane finder window with the tap of a hot key. Runs perfectly on High Sierra. Highly Recommended.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.10
jehpo
11 September 2018
Do not launch at startup, even if it is displayed in the panel Launch in systems preferences ... (with Sierra)
Like
Version 1.10.10
EdwardN2327
12 August 2018
Does not work with Mojave Beta 5
Like
Version 1.10.10
1 answer(s)
aaffonso
aaffonso
26 September 2018
So you give a 2-star because the software doesn't work on a BETA version of OS? Nothing good to say, nothing bad, just an impulsive personal frustration.
Like (9)
Wcstaney
09 August 2018
Works great!
Like
Version 1.10.10
Scott-Salbo
10 July 2018
Pathfinder is great, but just too complicated for anyone but true power users. If all you want is extra Finder functionality that puts everything you could want (including mac utilities) a click or two away, TotalFinder is near perfect. One complaint...it crashes a bit too often.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.10
Maclover1-1
05 April 2018
I was so sick of having to focus on a side before applying an action in Path Finder that I switched to TotalFinder which toolboxes in dual mode on each side are linked to the side they're on (logical!). However I have a couple of little gripes.. toolbar tools like DropBox or Defautl folder's DFX.app always open on the right side in dual Mode, even if invoked from the left.. and the DFX drawer app does not work with TF.. Apart from that great app, no memory hog (which is a big plus).. and for those worrying about SIP deactivation.. it is only temporary as you first install TF then you can reactivate SIP (and updates are applied without having to touch SIP again).
Like (3)
Version 1.10.9
1 answer(s)
jehpo
jehpo
11 September 2018
Exactly the same for me ...
Like
Helmo-Hass
04 April 2018
What's New Version 1.10.9: Fixed and improved Crash Watcher app. Uploading crash reports stopped working. Fixed flaky redrawing of Colored Labels in List View mode. Fixed alias files losing Colored Labels. Fixed Visor refocus behavior. Well actually latest release is 1.10.10 and doesn't solve @ all Crash Watcher app. problem which continue to crash. This time only when restarting, Still has major problems integrating with System. Finder slowing down, dragging windows by lower side makes a mess. and so on... Tested XtraFinder and frankly seem more stable,
Like
Version 1.10.9
Filchescat
04 April 2018
Running totally transparently (except for the features) on a 6,1 MacPro under 10.13.4 - no hiccups, no wierdness at all, just cool colored labels and Finder enhancements. It is a bit of an effort to install by first disabling then re-enabling SIP, but the last time it had to be done was within 10.12.12. Decent price (a one-timer) as well. Same for it's companion app, TotalSpaces.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.9
skendaro
27 February 2018
If I had to have just one app installed on my Mac this would be it. I work with a lot of files and the features it brings to Finder such as dual pane, tabbed browsing, and cut and paste are must haves and should be baked into the OS.
Like
Version 1.10.7
1 answer(s)
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
05 April 2018
Cut & Paste and tabbed browsing ARE "baked into the OS"
Like
SALAMA Youssef
15 December 2017
TotalFinder for Mac offers a number of powerful upgrades over the default tools found in the OS X Finder. I tested TotalFinder on Macbook Pro 13 (mid-2012) the application was fast ... no CPU slowdown. The latest version is compatible with High seirra 10.13.2 and with a beautiful design and various tools and with an easy to use menu. I highly recommend buying this app and I give 5 stars
Like (1)
Version 1.10.5
Zoz
05 December 2017
I've come to continuously switch among TotalFinder, ExtraFinder and Finder... Every now and then, their updates become unstable or too buggy. This again is the case with TotalFinder 1.10.5, in which I've found two bugs already (after a few hours use): small triangle buttons disappear from folders in some tabs--making it impossible to open them unless leaving the tab--without any discernible pattern of folder types or contents, and coloured tags do not show when page is scrolled up or down (this applies to newly visible items, the ones that were originally visible have the coloured strip as they should). In the latter case, the "new" items have only colour buttons as in the original Finder. Furthermore, the coloured strip can extend all the way across the page or stop in the first column. Both bugs have been reported to the BinaryAge but their only way to do so is by posting the info on the Forum, which is kind of weird and inefficient (admittedly, you can contact them directly but they kind of discourage this by suggestion to limit such contacts to "e.g. lost licence, etc."). It's on MacBook Pro 9,2 and running macOS 10.13.1.
Like (2)
Version 1.10.5
Foulger
17 November 2017
Latest update causes finder to crashing 10.13.2 beta 4 and preferences have to be deleted to bring finder back. Now going to xtrafinder which is far less buggy
Like (1)
Version 1.10.2
Albabe
09 October 2017
How's this working in High Sierra? Does it have an "Open Folders in New Window" function?
Like
Version 1.9.3
Mr.Ash
27 August 2017
Can't be recommeded from my side. Total Finder run's very unstable and crashes during every session on my MacBook (late 2008, 10.11) or iMac (late 2015, 10.12). Of course all requierd things like disabling SIP (boot from recovery, run terminal and insert csrutil disable) are performed in advance, but no success to get Total Finder to run smoothely. I recommend to use Xtra Finder, which is totally free and runs perfectly on all my computers without any crashes.
Like
Version 1.9.3
1 answer(s)
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
16 October 2017
My experience is completely the opposite. Although Xtra Finder runs on my Mac mini with High Sierra, it is somewhat unstable. I have not had any problems with Total Finder. I like the fact it is constantly being improved.
Like
Rjmorita
20 June 2017
This is weird. I'm running 1.9.6.
Like
Version 1.9.3
3 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
20 June 2017
Not weird, 1.9.6 is a beta/pre-release (as of this date). 1.9.3 is the stable production release. Look under your TotalFinder Preferences/Updates. There is a check box there "Include pre-releases", it probably is checked. If you don't want pre-releases, uncheck the box. For those who do run pre-releases, be aware, there is a reason it is called 'pre' - release, it can be unstable, it can have bugs.
https://totalfinder.binaryage.com/changes

As for MacUpdate posting 1.9.3 today, on July 19, as a 'new' release, the 1.9.3 release came out nearly 3 months ago, April 27. MacUpdate just keeps taking longer and longer to post; and they wonder why people won't pay for the MacUpdate service/app?
Like (4)
herbert68
herbert68
20 June 2017
Yes, same here. Weird indeed.

EDIT: Thanks MCR for clarifying., not weird anymore. Makes sense, all is good.
Like
Potatoes
Potatoes
01 July 2017
Thanks MCR for explaining that TotalFinder can now run with SIP enabled. I so much miss TotalFinder, which I stopped using after the introduction of SIP. I'm going to re-install. Hope the developer can email everyone who has previously been using this great plugin. I didn't know about the SIP enabled ability before stumbling on your comment. Thanks.
Like
higherterrain-com
20 June 2017
No worth it without System Integrity Protection. Start working on what the app needs with SIP enabled.
Like
Version 1.9.3
Astraloid
08 April 2017
The best. Can't live without this.
Like
Version 1.8.2
Mac-Freak
03 April 2017
New Version 1.9.1 Work with SIP fully enabled. https://downloads.binaryage.com/TotalFinder-1.9.1.dmg
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
2 answer(s)
polocanada
polocanada
11 April 2017
Can you elaborate what you mean "with SIP fully enabled"?

The vendors page clearly says part of SIP must remain disabled to get TF to work.

https://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-integrity-protection
Like (2)
Paul-Claude
Paul-Claude
20 June 2017
TotalFinder can be newly launched with System Integrity Protection fully enabled

https://totalfinder.binaryage.com/changes
Like (1)
Mac-Freak
22 March 2017
New Version 1.9.0 Work with SIP fully enabled. https://downloads.binaryage.com/TotalFinder-1.9.0.dmg
Like
Version 1.8.2
dehmel
11 March 2017
great app, syncing fast (iOS and MacOS, iCloud ans Dropbox), big options. I love it!
Like
Version 1.8.2
Mcr
01 November 2016
TotalFinder is up to version 1.8.1. BTW, it IS POSSIBLE to use TotalFinder with SIP fully enabled, you just have to partially disable SIP, install, move some files, then re-enable SIP: http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-osax Version 1.8.1 is running very stable for me under 10.11.6 and 10.12.1, with CUSTOM colored sidebar icons.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.12
Mcr
27 September 2016
As of this date, there is Version 1.8.x available now, compatible with Sierra, El Cap, Yosemite and Mavericks. I'm running with the modified SIP setting that allows code injection but still protects against access to system folders and have no issues. Additionally, look at the developers work around that allows to install TF and then RE-ENABLE SIP completely afterwards, for the best of both worlds. see my post here under user Michael1 on how to get custom icons in the sidebar http://discuss.binaryage.com/t/feature-request-custom-icons-in-sidebar/4663/4 still works in Sierra
Like
Version 1.7.12
sanechechek84
14 September 2016
I think we should remember about tasks when talking about file managers. It is not a habit-question, it’s question about features, which you need for your work. For example Total Finder. They’re talking that it’s the big brother to Finder. But it is problem! Because it doesn’t have features, which power users need (unlike Nimble Commander, for instance): finder-like column view, live filtering by typing, archives browsing, file coloring filter etc. May be it’s not necessary for regular users, but it is for IT specialist. That’s why plenty of them chose more powerful file managers.
Like
Version 1.7.12
Astraloid
05 May 2016
can't live without it
Like
Version 1.7.12
Seanc
03 April 2016
Long time user of TotalFinder, and still use it on my Yosemite machines (where I give it 5 stars), but it really shouldn't be listed as compatible with 10.11.4. Even the ReadMe file included with the v1.7.12 update says "Not compatible with El Capitan without a system tweak." The term "compatible" implies no need to tweak anything, much less the OS itself.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.12
2 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
04 April 2016
Good point, as noted by the developer; http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-integrity-protection
Like
BinaryAge
BinaryAge
04 April 2016
We're working very hard to make this process much easier and hopefully fully automated.

The problem is, when we said TF was "not fully compatible", a large number of users got the impression the app didn't work at all and development was abandoned, which is not true.

BTW, it is possible to use TotalFinder with SIP fully enabled, you just have to partially disable SIP, install, move some stuff, then re-enable SIP:
http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-osax
Like (1)
Andy49
03 April 2016
Why is this program listed as a new version when the version number is the same as the last one? where's the update?
Like
Version 1.7.12
1 answer(s)
BinaryAge
BinaryAge
04 April 2016
It was an update to listing itself (description, images, etc.)
Like
Dan-D
03 April 2016
The release notes of the latest version says "NEW: Compatibility with OS X 10.11.4. El Capitan". Is it now finally possible to install TotalFinder w/o disabling SIP? (There is still the warning about installing TF w/ SIP disabled on the developers homepage?) Is it now fully El Capitan compatible or not?
Like
Version 1.7.12
1 answer(s)
BinaryAge
BinaryAge
04 April 2016
It is possible to use TotalFinder with SIP fully enabled, you just have to partially disable SIP, install, move some stuff, then re-enable SIP:
http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-osax

We're actively working to make this process much easier and hopefully automated!
Like
Mehdi-Dubucq
03 April 2016
Compatible OS X El Capitan à condition de désactivé la sécurité SIP "System Integrity Protection" qui est quand même une grosse sécurité contre les attaques susceptible de modifier des fichiers systèmes. Du coup, pour moi, Total Finder n'est pas compatible avec El Capitan.

http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-integrity-protection
Like (1)
Version 1.7.12
1 answer(s)
BinaryAge
BinaryAge
04 April 2016
It is possible to use TotalFinder with SIP fully enabled, you just have to partially disable SIP, install, move some stuff, then re-enable SIP:
http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-osax

We're actively working to make this process much easier and hopefully automated!
Like
Mehdi-Dubucq
03 April 2016
N'est pas compatible El Capitan, sauf en désactivant une des plus importante sécurité de l'OS, le SIP "System Integrity Protection"

http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-integrity-protection
Like (1)
Version 1.7.12
2 answer(s)
F451
F451
03 April 2016
A half-star is completely unwarranted. This developer has been forthright regarding all Apple OS developments that affect this app. Many of us value this developer's app and remain thankful for its continued development. The relationship between end user and enterprise needs to be reciprocal one that entails the end user taking accountability as well as enterprise. If you believe that SIP is the final word in end user protection then you are both uninitiated and inexperienced. Read Apple's end user agreement to learn the extent to which Apple declares its responsibility.

Your rating achieves nothing but to dissuade future app development of both this developer and others. It saddens me to see how in the thirty years plus I've owned Apple products how the Apple end user has changed. It's as if end user'entitlement' rules the Apple world today...sad.
Like (3)
BinaryAge
BinaryAge
04 April 2016
@F451 Very well put. We are very actively working to improve customer understanding of System Integrity Protection (SIP), and improve/automate the process of installing and running our products with SIP enabled.

**It is possible to use TotalFinder with SIP fully enabled**, you just have to partially disable SIP, install, move some stuff, then re-enable SIP:
http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-osax

Also, another developer has joined to lead development:
http://blog.binaryage.com/meet-steve-the-new-lead

All exciting news I hope!
Like
bumper314
02 February 2016
Here is an honest, but disgusting statement from an Apple employee regarding Apple's end-game for app's like TotalFinder:

Apple's end game is to push for apps they approve via the MAS. If an app gets into system [root] settings, they won't approve it. Using SIP will deny its use, thus forming an end game. Either the developer abides by set rules via the MAS (OS X Mac App Store) or the app/developer folds.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.10
WordWeaver
20 January 2016
I am a long-time user of TotalFinder, having purchased it in November of 2010. At that time -- and in consecutive updates prior to Yosemite -- TotalFinder worked great. It gave me tabbed windows prior to Apple introducing them in Yosemite, as well as colorful icons in the sidebar. Then Yosemite came along, followed by El Capitan, and tabbed windows became an integral part of Mac OS X. But we also lost our colorful sidebar icons and were forced to accept Apple's bland gray color scheme. Blah! I still don't like it! More headaches -- for developers and end users alike -- ensued with the introduction of SIP, or System Integrity Protection. While I obviously understand the necessity of SIP, nevertheless, suddenly, it became a hassle to install third-party apps such as TotalFinder. Personally, after jumping through the "Disable SIP Hoop" a number of times, I finally surrendered to Apple and stopped using TotalFinder, because I now had the tabbed windows that I needed built into the system. But to be honest, I still miss the colored sidebar icons and an easy, risk-free way to keep folders on top, without having to tweak something somewhere in the System files. All that to say this: While TotalFinder was great in its day, sadly -- and as the developer notes on the page below -- its days are numbered for a variety of reasons. So before you disable SIP and decide to install TotalFinder, I encourage you to read what the developer has to say here: http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-integrity-protection
Like (5)
Version 1.7.10
1 answer(s)
BinaryAge
BinaryAge
04 April 2016
Don't lose hope, we're still cranking away on TotalFinder: http://blog.binaryage.com/meet-steve-the-new-lead
Like
Leesa
25 October 2015
I'm one of those Mac Users who likes the Old Function that Apple in their always Infinite Wisdom (#snark) has removed from their Recent OSs: Always Open Folders in New Windows. Does this return this old Function?
Like
Version 1.6.27
Tdstout
18 October 2015
TotalFinder seems to be working fine for me after disabling SIP. Nice to have it back again.
Like
Version 1.6.27
RogerKatz
18 October 2015
version 1.7.8 is the current version. According to the developer's website, it is "Compatible with OS X 10.9 and 10.10", but "Not compatible with OS X 10.11: needs a tweak!"
Like
Version 1.6.27
Filchescat
11 October 2015
Keep it coming. Disabling SIP is necessary and it's not a deal breaker. The latest TotalFinder was released 10.11.15 (how appropriate) and it now colors the sidebar again. Under 10.11. There are a number of these highly usable system mods that SIP broke. Have faith - this developer is among the talented.
Like
Version 1.6.27
1 answer(s)
Eveningclouds
Eveningclouds
11 October 2015
Long-time user of TF. I disabled SIP just to install it on El Cap. Colored labels function is incompletely implemented now but other features I need work. I did try XtraFinder (also need to disable SIP), but there the new tab button produces a new window and not a dual tab, but the labels work. Seems Apple has messed everything up with its new restriction, and neither TF nor XF work correctly.
Like
Bigboysdad
05 October 2015
I'm about to upgrade to El Capitan, si it's time to say goodbye to Total Finder. There is essential software I can not use my Mac without, including Carbon Copy Cloner/Chronosync, Default Folder and 'till today, Total Finder. I would like to take the opportunity to thank the developers for this essential piece of software.
Like (2)
Version 1.6.27
Mcoyle
04 October 2015
The newest version (1.7.3) is working great for me in 10.11 after disabling SIP. You also need to disable SIP to use cDock, LiteIcon, Default Folder and I'm sure many other tweaks. Here are instructions: http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-integrity-protection
Like
Version 1.6.27
larrymcj
01 October 2015
Yet another way Apple restricts us from using third party apps that do the things they leave out of their own system software. I can't imagine Finder without TotalFinder, but I'm sure I'll survive.

FWIW, here's a link to the developer's site on how to completely uninstall TotalFinder using Terminal if you've already installed El Capitan. It works flawlessly, I used it on two Macs.

http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/uninstallation
Like (1)
Version 1.6.27
1 answer(s)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
30 October 2015
Apple Security is what limits user ability to modify the system software. But you can disable System Integrity Protection to run Total Finder - at your risk. So it doesn't restrict you from using Total Finder.

But realize that the vast majority of users want Apple Security. Security limits options. But that is the price one pays to maintain one's privacy, one's freedom from malware including viruses.

This choice of freedom from privacy intrusions and malware over free modification of system software is why Total Finder's developer is halting its development.
Like
Brighton-Pete
30 September 2015
R.I.P. Total Finder! I just installed El Capitan. Too bad Apple has done this to you. I loved you, but now I must part ways with you. If you are not upgrading to El Capitan, by all means... get this!
Like
Version 1.6.27
Mcoyle
05 August 2015
It's really important that we let Apple know that System Integrity Protection is limiting the way we have enjoyed using our computers. If you're beta testing El Capitan, file a bug report. It takes 30 seconds. So far, I've done it for LiteIcon, TotalFinder and cDock. These are all utilities that I love using to customize my Mac and I want them back!
Like (5)
Version 1.6.27
5 answer(s)
ben-marko
ben-marko
23 September 2015
Thanks for the tip, I will do the same. I really need cdock and TotalFinder.
Like
ben-marko
ben-marko
23 September 2015
Update: With SIP disabled, TotalFinder will install. But it does not render Finder windows correctly. It looks like the display needs to be tweaked before it is usable.
Like
CollinBl
CollinBl
04 October 2015
Ben - could you post a bit more info on SIP and disabling it?
Like
Mcoyle
Mcoyle
04 October 2015
Here is how to disable SIP

http://totalfinder.binaryage.com/system-integrity-protection
Like
ben-marko
ben-marko
05 October 2015
I did get TotalFinder to display correctly, I do not know what I did to fix it, though. Here is how to shut off SIP (rootless):

1. Restart your Mac.

2. Before OS X starts up, hold down Command-R and keep it held down until you see an Apple icon and a progress bar. Release. This boots you into Recovery.

3. From the Utilities menu, select Terminal.

4. At the prompt type exactly the following and then press Return:

csrutil disable

Terminal should display a message that SIP was disabled.

5. From the  menu, select Restart.

You can re-enable SIP by following the above steps, but using csrutil enable instead.
Like (1)
jack2001
14 July 2015
questa app è in assoluto la migliore del suo genere. PROVATELA
Like
Version 1.6.27
Helmo-Hass
06 July 2015
well... What's New Version 1.6.27: IMPROVED Compatibility with OS X 10.10.3. Yosemite Did someone tell the dev we'r already on 10.10.4? Anyway the only thing i really noticed is since after beta 1.6.23 this application has broken something on the way. Somehow now all external drives opens in a separate window, No tab at all Major bug with Deskovery, which now cease to work if both installed, Dmg still opens in tabbed mode again, which is a real pain an other few imported bugs absent from v1.6.23 Honestly can't really say i noticed any improvement so uninstalled and happy again
Like (1)
Version 1.6.27
2 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
06 July 2015
With all due respect, you are using TWO products (Deskovery and TF) that both modify the behavior of Finder., at a very deep level. Not only is it possible that two such products would interfere with each other, it is very likely they would. Both are using runtime modifications to change Finder and Window behavior.

I don't use Deskovery, and on my system external drives open in a tab in the current window and on my system DMG opens in a non tabbed mode.

I respect that you/re having issues, and I'm not discounting it, but it is fair to point out to people reading your comments that you are using TF along with another app that also modifies Finder and System behavior.

As for your comment about someone telling the dev that 10.10.4 is now out, note that 1.6.27 has been out since June 24, and prior to that was in a long beta period during the time 10.10.3 was current. June 24 was prior to the release and 10.10.4. MacUpdate is very LATE posting this TF update, as it is now July 6, and using release notes from June 24th. Finally, the improved compatibility with 10.10.3 likely extends to 10.10.4 as well. I am a developer who beta tested 10.10.4 and used TF during the entire time I was running 10.10.4 betas, without any issues.

For the record, I don't use any other programs that modify Finder or windows behavior. Anyone who does use other Finder, UI or windowing mods, well obviously, your mileage may vary.

Peace.
Like (3)
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
07 July 2015
@ Mcr
For the record i've been using both product together since a long time, with no troubles.
Now please if you can;t catch some humor (about 10.10.4) i really suggest you to avoid replying to subjects, and if can read well you'll notice i mention 1.6.23 which was also a beta, latest stable in fact was 1.6.17.
That said I confirm this release IS NOT IMPROVED at all, and its worst in term of compatibility then its predecessors.

cheers
Like
Mcr
06 July 2015
TF is one of my few 'must have' mods. Having said that, there are very good reasons NOT to turn off System Integrity Protection (SIP), which at least for now, is the only way for TF to run in El Capitan. I've submitted developer feedback to Apple to come up with a way to allow system mods from KNOWN AND SAFE developers while still protecting against unauthorized changes (malware and viruses). Perhaps a whitelist along with a special certification signature. Right now SIP is global, all or nothing proposition. I encourage other developers to give their feedback if they agree. For all the years I have been using TF going back to 10.5, THANK YOU BINARYAGE. And what a wonderful gesture to discount the product, especially so early on before El Cap's release, even though you didn't have to. You still could have charged full price now for people still using Yosemite, but you were upfront about what's coming and chose to discount the price. I respect greatly for that, more developers should follow your example.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.27
Jim-Leff
06 July 2015
Note that this app (like TotalSpaces) has been discounted 50% (to $9) due to the fact that it will not work in El Capitan (though there is a workaround: turn off the new "System Integrity Protection"). More info at http://blog.binaryage.com/el-capitan-update/
Like
Version 1.6.17