Back to Lyn page
Lyn free download for Mac

Lyn Reviews

1.11
05 March 2019

Lightweight image browser and viewer.

Lopoz
17 March 2010

Most helpful

I like where the app is going, but it's in desperate need of a proper icon!
Like (6)
Version 1.0b7

Read 52 Lyn User Reviews

Rate this app:

zlazkow
09 July 2019
problem with the memory was fixed I think, and it is the best image manager and viewer together with XnViewMP.
Like
Version 1.11
dcnyc10
21 March 2019
Pretty good
Like
Version 1.11
Uncoy
26 September 2018
I like Lyn a lot and own a copy. I also own a 4K display which I'm using in Retina mode. Unfortunately "Zoom to Full Size" does not give per pixel blow up (1.5 screens with my 6000 x 4000 pixel images) but blow up to 2x (my screen is set at 2560 x 1440 Retina). I hope the developer gets around to adding full Retina support. It's not there now. This is really a problem as it means that even in fit to window mode the pixels may not be 1 to 1 (at first glance it appears they may be). More time wasting testing for me and less trust and certainty in the use of Lyn. Lyn promises to be Retina aware. I hope Mirko can iron out these Retina bugs. In the meantime, I've had to switch to LilyView for browsing images (Preview does not work properly in Retina mode on a 4K monitor either). LilyView behaves as expected. It's from the same team who developed DaisyDisk (another application I really like). LilyView doesn't have much of the advanced folder browsing and file/EXIF management tools that Lyn offers, so I'll be using the two in parallel for now.
Like
Version 1.9.8
zlazkow
26 March 2018
I like Lyn, but unfortunately it gobbles a lot and lot of memory. Slows down my iMac to a crawl when it's open. Even when it's not open but sitting in the dock, still heavy. It is not lightweight at all.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.6
2 answer(s)
fsgrafix
fsgrafix
20 April 2018
Agree. If you have a lot of images (60K) it essentially chokes the app. There is a serious memory leak problem with this app. If you have just a few hundred or so you're ok but as your library grows it becomes useless. I run a late iMac with 32G M
Like (2)
zlazkow
zlazkow
22 April 2018
@ fsgrafix...what do you suggest to use instead ? Is Pixave better ? Or to go back to Photos ?
Like
Zx81
31 December 2017
IMO, the best image viewer, simple, effective, powerful. Constantly updated, great support. It's a no brainer.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.5
Igor-Freiberger
20 December 2017
Using it for five years now. The interface is badly designed (terrible spacing among groups and folders in left panel, toolbar items seems unfinished). Developer choose to add some image adjust tools but never improved the interface. Anyway, the app does quite well what it is designed to do. Tried other image viewers and decided to keep Lyn due to its simplicity and good performance.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.4
lazk
26 March 2017
I'm using Lyn(full version) for the last couple weeks. It shows everything on your computer. And I mean everything, including your home folder, documents...etc. In short, all of Finder is there. You can only "hide" it. So, Lyn is not only photo organizer. It is just like an enhanced Finder. No, I don't need it. Unbound on the other hand, is strictly photo organizer in the most simple way. It will organize only photos which you will bring in.
Like
Version 1.8.7
1 answer(s)
lazk
lazk
21 April 2017
want to correct myself:
I was using XnView, which is very fast, although the interface is very different, but I like it. It does the same thing, it shows every single image on your computer, just like Lyn. I mentioned also Unbound. It has a problem loading over 11,000 images. But the developer promised to fix it.
So, I'm going back to Lyn.
Something else, I removed all my images from Photos, and placed them in a folder on Desktop, and on external hard drive.
Like (1)
Tommy-Gun
06 November 2016
This is actually a good app. Although the GUI isn't very modern to today standards it is very easy and simple that just works without a steep learning curve. The price is a bit too high imo. Still worth checing out.
Like
Version 1.8.2
philip-baxter
17 April 2016
I've been looking for an OS X alternative to the excellent FastStone on Windows. So far this is the closest I've found but it's sadly quite inferior to FastStone. My main gripes are -1: It's slow, really slow. It generates thumbnails every time I enter a folder (caching it seems isn't something Lyn can do) and it's a slow process. Then scrolling through screens of thumbnails is oddly clunky and juddery. They're just thumbnails, this should be lightning fast. 2: There's no option to scale up smaller images to fill the screen automatically. They can be manually zoomed (in large increments), but without filtering, so they look really ugly. 3: It crashes quite a bit. It's a start, but I think the dev could improve this significantly.
Like (3)
Version 1.6
2 answer(s)
siamlotus
siamlotus
07 May 2016
Try ViewIt. It's all I use on a Mac to view images : http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/10355/viewit
Like (1)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
09 May 2016
@ philip_baxter: Though I can't compare Lyn with FastStone as i've never done Windows, you might try Emulsion (which is what I currently use) or you can look at phaseone.com Media Pro where you can get a decent price if you've ever used iView Media Pro or Expression Media..
Like (1)
bohdanz-1
20 December 2015
I don't know what's happened to the developer. There is NOT response to the constant crashes that occur every time I launch this app. He has not replied and it's been three weeks over 40 crashes. This is a very bad piece of software that showed promise.
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
14 April 2016
I think I already wrote this on MU.
"if it aint broke dont fix it"
Nonetheless, it would be a pity if it was abandoned.
I just downloaded iFotosoft Photo viewer. At the moment, just what I need to quickly view photos (JPEGs and RAWs), faster than Xee, and even faster than Lyn which I still use, though.
Like
Filp
22 September 2015
The fastest, cleanest and most all-around useful image viewer I've found.
Like
Version 1.6
silverlaker
31 August 2015
Promising but still in its infancy. Two problems already (and I've bought this app so I am hoping it improves) 1. even though the app promises you can send selected images to social media and smugmug.com, one gets error messages every after your app like smugmug.com says you're set up and ready to go. That's not good. 2. numerous efforts to get a reply from support are futile. These folks don't understand the word 'customer support' or don't care to. Wish I could be more supportive but for now... no
Like
Version 1.5.11
Dualist
14 March 2015
Nice app — I especially like that it plays and loops GIFs in the file browser. However, it doesn't play and loop GIFs during a slide show. That's not really surprising because there doesn't appear to be an app out there anywhere that actually does that. There is one very popular graphic app that plays the GIF in a slideshow but doesn't loop it; it plays it once then moves on to the next. It would awesome if Lyn could do what the others can't.
Like
Version 1.5.8
fncurtis
24 January 2015
I have used Lyn for the last 6 months and thanks to fast updates from the developer Mirco, I have been more and more pleased with its performance. I was a victim of ACDSee for Mac lack of development, especially when the OS was updated. Lyn came to my rescue.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.8
1 answer(s)
lazk
lazk
29 March 2017
are you still using Lyn ?
If you do, do you know if there is a way to remove Places, Volumes, Devices ?
Because Lyn appears to be just like Finder with better viewing options.
Like
Drdul
17 July 2014
Lyn is a fast, clean image viewer with some nice features. I particularly like the ability to connect multiple iPhoto libraries, which means that I can use Lyn instead of iPhoto as much as possible. I also like the folder tree on the left side of the window, which is an essential feature that is unfortunately missing from many other image viewers. The developer has responded quickly to my few questions and bug reports, and it's reassuring to know that Lyn continues to be actively supported, unlike a couple of other image viewing apps I have purchased in the past that are now abandoned.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Jazzyguy
03 October 2013
This version is Excellent. I like the GUI and it certainly is a great and versatile application.
Like (2)
Version 1.3.3
Anguka
21 June 2013
Problems identified with the previous version haver now been fixed and I am happily using this neat application again.
Like
Version 1.3
Anguka
03 June 2013
As a long term supporter since its early days I find that Lyn has the potential to be top of the class, with easy, clear usage for examining and comparing image files . . BUT, unfortunately, the zoom settings do not work satisfactorily (using OS 10.8.3). Testing with a mixed sample, in Lyn's List View: 1. On "Zoom to actual size" all samples showed appropriately. 2. On "Zoom to fill screen" some JPG files responded to fill the display screen showing the complete image, but others, and all the PNG, ICNS, TIF and GIF files, expanded to fill the screen on the smallest dimension resulting in the window having to be scrolled in order to see the rest of therimage. 3. On "Zoom to fit screen" no images appeared at all with a single click, while a double click produce separate little icons on the desktop. I have not yet been able to set the application to reliably show an entire image at is maximum possible size in the viewer window, a basic necessity for a viewer as in Phoenix Slides, Sequential, and MultiThumbs, and until such time as Lyn can do so I will regretfully leave it alone and use the others which do.
Like
Version 1.2.15
CoolSwitcher
26 March 2013
still fuzzy images on retina display when start slideshow
Like
Version 1.3b2
Drtyrell969
23 February 2013
Time to support video!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.11
Jazzyguy
14 September 2012
Very great in every way. Excellent GUI and very Mac-Like!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.6
Prlab
07 August 2012
Works really well but I need to use this with Postbox, but my emails to the company asking if Postbox can be supported go unanswered.
Like
Version 1.2.4
2 answer(s)
Prlab
Prlab
04 October 2012
They fixed the problem within hours. Works really well now,
Like (1)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
24 October 2012
So between your first comment on 6 Aug and your reply to self on 4 Oct works out to "hours?" Boy, how time flies! :-)
Like (4)
Jazzyguy
31 May 2012
Invalid Checksum! .DMG won't open
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Vandulus
Vandulus
31 May 2012
Might be your download is corrupt. DMG file opened and new version ran without any problems.
Like
Greedyfranky
30 April 2012
Very nice for searching images. Did crashed two times though.
Like
Version 1.2
Jazzyguy
29 April 2012
This version works great in Lion but on my Snow Leopard Macs running 10.6.8 it shows spinning beach balls. Going back to 1.1 I was Ok on the Snow Leopard Macs. This version works gratin Lion.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
23 May 2012
same problem here - and i only can forcequit it... :(
Like
zo219
24 February 2012
Lyn is well worth $20. What are you going to view your photos with? iPhoto? Please. Picasa? Sure—if you're running an old enough OS. Picasa doesn't even bother to launch in Lion-and you know how helpful Google is. Although both will wrap your photos in packages because—we're too dumb to deal with our own folders? Download the demo. This app, not those monster of bloat, is what Apple should supply.
Like (1)
Version 1.2b4
2 answer(s)
Uniquepito
Uniquepito
23 May 2012
Xee :-) It's cheaper than this...
Like (1)
Penguirl
Penguirl
07 June 2012
Preview. CocoaSlideShow. FFView. JetPhoto Studio. Phoenix Slides. JustLooking. Sequential. JView. etc…
Like (1)
Penguirl
02 February 2012
Nice looking photo viewer/browser/whatever, but it's not $20 nice.
Like (3)
Version 1.2b3
2 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
19 August 2012
Then don't buy it. PS: Have you ever thought about how expensive it is to develop good software? No? Maybe you should try it then and see for yourself.
Like (1)
Penguirl
Penguirl
19 August 2012
There's plenty of software that I will gladly pay for - OmniWeb for example, and I would pay for it again if it would sustain development. But image viewers are not something I see enough difference in to be worth buying. To each their own.
Like
onamac
30 January 2012
I used to use MediaBoard One and needed to replace it. So now, I tried out several other apps and bought Lyn. I feel Lyn stands out from the others I tried, for the following reasons: • Great developer. I've gotten help and resolution quickly and courteously. • Lyn is very fast. • It does not require its own database. This means you don't have to import the images nor link to them, or spend time indexing anything. As I mentioned, I used to use MediaBoard One (apparently abandoned). My hard drive that contained my images crashed so now MediaBoard only shows the aliases of those linked images. It would have to be rebuilt using that exact structure / names, to be functional without having to reindex everything. Even as links, that app took a while to index. Lyn is always ready to go and when you make a quick structure change, add a folder or whatever, it is reflected in Lyn without fuss. • Lyn utilizes the Finder and does so very well. Some other apps using the Finder can be a little dangerous where a person could inadvertently alter or delete an image or file structure without realizing it. There was one app that was so sensitive with mouse movement that merely clicking on a folder grabbed it and moved it somewhere before you could let go of it. I find Lyn to be very safe in that regard. • Clean interface. It also allows you to change the background color so if you want to make a PDF or image of those image thumbnails, you can do so with a background of your choice. It also has a button to email a selected image or images —handy for client proofing, for example. • Tagging. • Is efficient and includes PPC. Nice that he makes the effort to support a total Mac user base. I hope this helps anyone comparing apps.
Like (2)
Version 1.2b3
Jazzyguy
01 September 2011
I have been a supporter and devotee of this application from the start. I love the way it displays your pictures and I love its GUI. The developer deserves credit for making a great application.
Like (3)
Version 1.1b4
Helangen
06 August 2011
I'm looking for an program to browse and sort images from the web. I'm not interested in some sort of database because I am relocating most of the pictures after a short while and put them away. I just need a good image viewer with the capability to show me the contents of folders and sub-folders. Now if Lyn would be able to sort away the images to different folders from within the app (ctrl-click or whatever) it would just perfect. Tagging of course would be nice, too but I'm confident that this is going to happen soon.
Like
Version 1.1b2
1 answer(s)
Mirkov
Mirkov
13 August 2011
A very minimal and manual tagging implementation is already there. Just write your keywords in the Keywords' IPTC field as comma-separated values and they will be saved as an OpenMeta tag. Advanced tagging features will be implemented soon, but after the facebook/flickr sharing. Not sure what you want to achieve with the other feature, please send me details! :)
Like (1)
Maclover1-1
29 July 2011
Anyone working with images on Mac should own Graphic Converter IMHO.. it is a viewer, an editor, a converter.. it can access Core Filters.. batch process.. I mean there are so many apps for working with images out there that only can do this or that.. yet GC does pretty much all they do.. in one single fast app that's been tried and proven for ages.. and is very well supported/developed… I never paid for an upgrade fee once and have owned it pretty mush since it came out..
Like (2)
Version 1.1b2
Neploleppard
17 July 2011
License: Free Price: $20 First of all, is iPhoto "too much" for everyone that this light weight version is necessary? Lastly, let's not lie about the "Free" app, okay? This is clearly, VERY clearly, not free.
Like
Version 1.1b1
2 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
17 July 2011
I'd hate to be blunt, but can you read? The license information says "shareware". Your mention of a "lie" is very inappropriate...
Like (6)
Dgeo
Dgeo
27 July 2011
iPhoto, just as iTunes are good for organising your media. Want to quickly view a couple of images you downloaded from the Web or scan a folder of photos in a USB stick ? Lyn might help where iPhoto, Preview, and QuickLook can not. Nevertheless, for $20 Lyn is both expensive and underpowered compared to free offerings that exist in other platforms (IrfanView anyone ?).
Like (3)
Dlwhite
11 May 2011
This is very promising, but for the $$, I'd like to cross-breed it with Photon, and make it about 75% faster.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
1900b
13 March 2011
This is the best picture viewer the mac by far! With newer features coming with future releases (like tagging) this could go straight to 5 stars for me. Hoping that the price of the app doesn't go up with the starrs.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Drdul
11 March 2011
I've been looking for a long time for a simple image viewer with a clean interface. Lyn fits the bill, and at a great price, too. The best part is the responsive developer. I emailed him with a couple of bugs related to TIFF files, and he worked diligently for a few days to fix them, emailing me several times to clarify specific issues and to test new builds. I'm only giving Lyn 4.5 stars instead of 5 because it doesn't (yet) read IPTC information in XMP sidecar files (the developer is working on it), and I can't (yet) customize the places in the sidebar.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
Jimblue
05 March 2011
$10 to buy. not bad.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Tim27
12 February 2011
Would be nice if it could see PDF and PSD files. Two major file formats that are supported in Snow Leopard. Otherwise a nice program.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b29
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
12 February 2011
Oops, my mistake, it can see PSDs, but I am unable to see PDFs.
Like (1)
Screentom
05 February 2011
Great! Thanks very much, good job.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b29
Zx81
23 January 2011
I have been using Lyn for a few days. What does not convince me so far : No tagging, no rating. Slow No keyword applicable to photos
Like (2)
Version 1.0b28
7 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
30 January 2011
Whaddya mean "NO TAGGING"???? Click the info icon and tag away all you want.
Like (2)
Zx81
Zx81
30 January 2011
I must be missing something, then. When I click on the info button ("Inspector"), I get the "Main"data (File size, file name...), the exif data and , in my case the "Pentax's makernote" (colorspace, model...), but no tag or keyword capacity. Where can I find these? The only sorting capacity I have found is the colour label.
Like (2)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
30 January 2011
I see what you mean but you can change the File name to whatever you want.
Like (3)
Mirkov
Mirkov
31 January 2011
Rating, keywords and tagging should be available in the next release. What do you mean with 'slow'?
Like (3)
Zx81
Zx81
31 January 2011
I mentioned "slow" because the rendering of thumbnails is slow on my 2.16 Ghz MacBook Pro (an old timer, but I try all my apps on this one before installing on my new iMac) When I scroll down or up, the redrawing of thumbnails takes time and is not instantaneous at all. AtomicView is much faster, although I cannot get used to its GUI (too configurable for my taste) In fact, I miss iView Media Pro!
Like (1)
Mirkov
Mirkov
01 February 2011
It seems faster because it saves a small preview in a database like iPhoto, Picasa and so on. Lyn at the moment does not use a thumbnails database but only an internal cache for the visible images.
Like (5)
Zx81
Zx81
16 April 2011
I bought the app and use it as a first sorting utility (delete/keep) on my laptop before transfering images to my iMac HD at home. Perfectly happy with it. Workflow may sound weird but it works for me.
Like (2)
Penguirl
18 January 2011
Lyn sounds like a great piece of software, the one thing that keeps me from trying it is the fact that it is beta (don't mind that) that is going to expire (red flag). Once the beta expires, will there be a new beta that also expires? A freeware release? Shareware? Commercial? $5.00? $50.00? Not knowing what the developer has planned I think I'll stay away.
Like (3)
Version 1.0b28
Uncoy
05 January 2011
A fantastic piece of software. A great replacement for most of iView MediaPro's browsing functionality. If only Lyn had the ability to hardcode a quick rating into each picture which we could then use to do selects (not into a database!, we want to be able to move our photos around from computer to computer for rating and editing), along with right click to open in an editing application of one's choice, Lyn would be the great piece of photo software this year. Bravo! Makes the iPhoto team look like tools and the Aperture team look sleepy.
Like
Version 1.0b28
mpiekielnik
30 December 2010
It could be a clear winner if only could show iPhoto library in a flat list view... I am desperatley looking for iPhoto'10 replacement. Apple ruined perfect photo management app with latest "upgrade".
Like (1)
Version 1.0b28
Darksammy5
29 December 2010
This is a vary underrated piece of software. Think Picasa minus the suck and bloat. animated gif player still needs some work, but past that, this is the best photo browser/viewer for mac. period.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b28
Designer
28 November 2010
Oh I really hope they do something about the icon in the next beta or even the full release. The whole app feels effortlessly Mac-like and very professional. It's just my opinion but I feel the current icon/branding - call it whatever you want - just cheapens the experience for me.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b25
1 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
28 December 2010
Sorry not to share your concern about the icon ; if the alternative is poor icon+great app vs poor app+great icon, I suppose the choice is clear. Just downloaded Lyn looking for a replacement for iPhoto. So far, works great for me.
Like (2)
Designer
20 November 2010
Great app. Have to agree that the icon is really poor. Would be great to see something a little more mac-like/professional in the next update or two.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b24
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
28 November 2010
Do you mean next 2 major versions or next beta's? Only 1 beta left by now to fulfill your demand ;-) At least it's not another blue globe thingy in my dock...
Like
Version 1.0b25
Vandulus
14 October 2010
Lyn has replaced Graphic Converter as my image browser of choice due to its simplicity and speed. For whatever reason, I've never been overly fond of iPhoto and have been trying various image browsers ever since switching to Mac. Lyn does crash occasionally, but that's to be expected as it's still in beta. I'm eagerly awaiting the final 1.0 release.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b20
Lessirey
25 July 2010
I can see a promising app in the making, i been always waiting for something like this. personally, i think a better icon would do for the app and also toolbar icons in the view. and when i enable hide unknown formats option, it initially lists all formats and then the unknown files disappear one by one, though kind of fast.. it would be great if only the known files are shown when the folder is selected with the hide unknown formats option enabled keep up the good work.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b15
Terskac
18 July 2010
Why does someone use an app like this instead of just using iPhoto? I use iPhoto quite a bit and wonder if something like this is a better solution.
Like
Version 1.0b14
2 answer(s)
Ben-Gold
Ben-Gold
19 July 2010
If you're a graphic designer and you have to work with hundreds of images for a project, then an app like this makes more sense than iPhone which is for long term organization of images. If I just need to browse photos quickly without having to import them into iPhoto, which then stores them in an iPhoto Library file, then I'm going to want an app like this.
Like (7)
Version 1.0b14
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
21 October 2010
iPhoto is not exactly an image browser, those who use it for this function are fundamentally wrong. iPhoto (just like iTunes) deals / deal with copies of the originals, which are kept untouched. Therefore, for mere image browsing, you should use something else, either the Finder in Cover Flow mode. GraphicConverter, for example, is a lot more convenient tool for this or indeed this one application we are talking about.
Like (2)
Version 1.0b21
Lopoz
17 March 2010
I like where the app is going, but it's in desperate need of a proper icon!
Like (6)
Version 1.0b7
Fontbot
10 February 2010
This app has great potential, I hope to see it developed further. It's very fast for browsing folders of images. What's annoying is that it displays non-image files in the browser as blank thumbnails, and in the larger image window as black nothing. The current inability to filter out unsupported file types limits its usefulness for browsing folders containing more than just images.
Like (4)
Version 1.0b5