Back to Fireside page
Fireside free download for Mac

Fireside Reviews

1.0
04 April 2011

Fireplace screensaver with sound.

Bushwhack
10 January 2010

Most helpful

Could have had potential seeing it appear on my RSS feed. If it doesn't work for the newest Mac OS that's a shame some people are stuck in the past. Oh well, there's other software that is out there that will work for the present.
Like (2)
Version 1.0

Read 12 Fireside User Reviews

Rate this app:

Big Johnson
03 April 2011
Doesn't work on OS X 10.6.7 Intel.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
smtips
20 March 2011
Does not work on 10.5. Macupdate should pull this or update the info. Waste of time.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
smtips
smtips
20 March 2011
Oops...that's supposed to be 10.6.5.
Like
hmfwic47
16 March 2011
Won't work on a 24 inch iMac running 10.6.6.
Like
Version 1.0
Imacmike
25 December 2010
For a mac version this is the best one I have found. For free it works as well as to be expected.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Imacmike
Imacmike
25 December 2010
Adjustment to rating. Does not work on 10.6
Like (1)
Fyreflye
23 October 2010
It crashes on my OS 10.6.4 MacBook 2.0 original edition in less than a minute when running and within a few seconds on System Preferences when I try to access options. Is anyone else having problems with it?
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Tubo
22 October 2010
Very warm - works very well. Now finally under SL - thank you very much for the upgrade! Greetings from Berlin, really cold, R.E.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
2 answer(s)
Tubo
Tubo
23 October 2010
I'm sorry to correct myself ... isn't working correctly: no crashes or problems with options, but perhaps one minute (possibly the raw length of the included fireside-film?) after the time-activated start the screensaver vanishes and gives back control to the underlying system. After doing nothing, that repeats... I don't find anything in the logs - and other screensavers don't show this behaviour. OS 10.6.4
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Turamon
Turamon
23 October 2010
Thank you all very much for your comments. The behavior which you encounter seems to happen only under Snow Leopard and seems to be connected with the looping of the movies. I will look into this and update Fireside 1.1 as soon as possible.
Like
Version 1.1
Da-La
18 July 2010
Will there ever be a Snow Leopard version of this???
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Imacmike
Imacmike
25 December 2010
Yes, it says 10.5 or later, but can not expect to much for free. They can make it donation ware and make some money for their time and effort. I would give something.
Like
Turamon
10 January 2010
Sorry for the inconveniences, the correct system requirements will be displayed asap. Thus far, Fireside 1.0 does not run on 10.6. The next version will. (Thomas -dev)
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Ranger
10 January 2010
To bad it is NOT compactible with 10.6.2. I installed it and i got the message that i can not use this version on my Imac. I have an Imac 2.66Gzh Intel c2duo, 4GB mem. Raymond
Like
Version 1.0
Bushwhack
10 January 2010
Could have had potential seeing it appear on my RSS feed. If it doesn't work for the newest Mac OS that's a shame some people are stuck in the past. Oh well, there's other software that is out there that will work for the present.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Aliendude
10 January 2010
Dev. website notes that screensaver is not compatible with 10.6
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Chas-m
Chas-m
10 January 2010
Yes, perhaps I should have investigated further, but when a program is updated TODAY and says it needs 10.5 OR LATER, I think it's fairly normal to assume it will either a) work with Snow Leopard or b) let you know during the install process that it will not work in Snow Leopard.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Chas-m
10 January 2010
Does not seem to work under 10.6 (well, 10.6.2 anyway) ... "contact developer for a newer version" ... for an program updated today?
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
dajonel
dajonel
10 January 2010
Screen savers cannot work on both 10.5 and 10.6 as far as I know. The developer probably doesn't know that.
Like
Version 1.0