Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to MPlayerX page
MPlayerX free download for Mac

MPlayerX Reviews1.1.4

11 September 2016

Alternative, modern media player.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
Oct 1 2020
1.1.4
1.0
Oct 1 2020
1.0
Version: 1.1.4
No updates on this version since 2016, AppStore updates is from 8 years ago. Used this app but stay away now. Often it crashes and are moved to trash, other times you only get audio. VLC is now my media player.
kochiravi
kochiravi
Mar 14 2020
1.1.4
1.0
Mar 14 2020
1.0
Version: 1.1.4
Bought this app Version 1.0.14 online from mac App store... Video is frozen. Audio only is coming. Advices?
Nuttawut
Nuttawut
Jan 10 2020
1.1.4
5.0
Jan 10 2020
5.0
Version: 1.1.4
Must say over all the years I have been using this I have never had a problem. Its my go-to app of choice.
miracle.li1991
miracle.li1991
Jan 29 2019
1.1.4
5.0
Jan 29 2019
5.0
Version: 1.1.4
great player!
calthyechild
calthyechild
Aug 5 2018
1.1.4
1.5
Aug 5 2018
1.5
Version: 1.1.4
It works in that it plays the glitchy MKV file that VLC player was failing to play. However, I will be removing it as soon as I am done watching the series I downloaded in MKV format. The install had 4 different sneaky extra things that wanted to be added (Yahoo everything, Opera browser, and a couple other things) and it changed its formatting each time for how you deny these installs, so if you were not paying attention you would end up with these extra programs. It also DID NOT ASK to install Mac Defender which immediately started giving me popups to scan my Mac. Not discrete at all. I force-quit that and removed it in Applications. I would not be surprised if, as reported in other reviews, this entire program is Malware. However, it DOES function as a simple and lite media player that doesn't have the MKV glitch in Mavericks that VLC Player has. So I am not giving it 0 stars. It does do the thing it set out to do, but beware of extra programs coming along for the ride.
anonymous-aardvark-2081
anonymous-aardvark-2081
Jan 6 2018
1.1.4
4.5
Jan 6 2018
4.5
Version: 1.1.4
I've been using mplayerx for years with no problems. It's a light and user friendly media player that plays many files. I hope development is still ongoing.
ManuelMarcus4633
ManuelMarcus4633
Dec 29 2017
1.1.4
1.0
Dec 29 2017
1.0
Version: 1.1.4
It's outdated and seems to be dead. No update since a year.
rayan99-alahmadi
rayan99-alahmadi
Nov 9 2017
1.1.4
5.0
Nov 9 2017
5.0
Version: 1.1.4
ok
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Oct 1 2017
1.1.4
0.5
Oct 1 2017
0.5
Version: 1.1.4
A malware. Steer clear of.
Wonderwarthog
Wonderwarthog
Jul 6 2017
1.1.4
0.5
Jul 6 2017
0.5
Version: 1.1.4
The installer now installs various unrelated apps, do not use this! Also MPlayer spawns background processes that eat all CPU. What a shame this used to be the coolest video player on the Mac.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Oct 20 2016
1.1.4
0.5
Oct 20 2016
0.5
Version: 1.1.4
MacUpdate needs to REMOVE this malware NOW. It's now a well-known piece of malware. Look it up in any search engine.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Oct 9 2016
1.1.4
1.0
Oct 9 2016
1.0
Version: 1.1.4
Still infected in the new update. Deleted with AppCleaner. See info here https://blog.malwarebytes.com/threat-analysis/2016/09/pup-friday-mplayerx/

Can't play more than first title on DVDs. Audio often out of sync on stellar hardware. Good riddance!
mpx
mpx
Sep 29 2016
1.1.4
0.5
Sep 29 2016
0.5
Version: 1.1.4
It was really good app. But now it violates GPL and trying to install malware. Bugs included. RIP.
Scion777
Scion777
Sep 25 2016
1.1.4
1.0
Sep 25 2016
1.0
Version: 1.1.4
Version 1.1.4 will not run on Sierra, despite the comment from Dev. "Internal exception" error
pacocap
pacocap
Sep 24 2016
1.1.4
1.0
Sep 24 2016
1.0
Version: 1.1.4
I had been using MPlayerX for years and never really liked it. It always took a full minute to open even the smallest video file. It often froze on larger files. But when I found that the latest version from the developer at codeplex, the same version offered on this site (which has now been replaced by the safe version from sourceforge), contained 16 out of 45 malware positives at Virustotal, that was it. I looked for and found a much better alternative called 'mpv', which is based on 'mplayer', but has many more features. It loads immediately, unlike MPlayerX, which takes at least a minute to load a video. It handles playlists, or you can select a bunch of videos and open them all, like a playlist, with 'CMD-o'. It has many more features than command-line 'mplayer', and is an app, so you can open files from Finder in it. It is highly configurable if you don't mind reading the docs and editing a config file. After experiencing 'mpv' I will never go back to MPlayerX.

Home page:
https://mpv.io/

Install page:
https://mpv.io/installation/

Primary builds for latest versions of OS X:
https://laboratory.stolendata.net/~djinn/mpv_osx/

Builds for older versions of OS X:
http://sva.wakku.to/~chris/mpv_builds/

Noraa
Noraa
Sep 24 2016
1.1.4
0.5
Sep 24 2016
0.5
Version: 1.1.4
The player itself is great, I like the UI, I like the keyboard controls, etc. However, as a result of the disgusting installer which quite literally tries to install malware on your Mac I simply can't in good conscious use the player anymore. I have switched back to VLC, even though I don't like it as much. Perhaps if enough people express there disdain the developer will comes to his (her?) senses and remove the crap from the installer.
lora-s
lora-s
Sep 23 2016
1.1.4
3.0
Sep 23 2016
3.0
Version: 1.1.4
This player makes me fall in love. Now I play all kinds of media files and videos without converting them first, thanks to MPlayer.
panzerkampf
panzerkampf
Sep 19 2016
1.1.4
3.0
Sep 19 2016
3.0
Version: 1.1.4
I have no reasons to trust it. Malwarebytes has detected it as malware.
Joseluismen
Joseluismen
Sep 18 2016
1.1.4
0.5
Sep 18 2016
0.5
Version: 1.1.4
The installer download of the Web of the developer tries to install malware. In order to install " a clean " version it is necessary to go to MU. But, she is really clean? I do not entrust myself. MalwareBytes asks to me to erase it. I will do and it.
A1D
A1D
Sep 14 2016
1.1.4
5.0
Sep 14 2016
5.0
Version: 1.1.4
Malwarebytes detected mPlayerX (https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/33261/mplayerx) as a malware. And there is no explanation. What is wrong with it?
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
Sep 12 2016
1.1.4
0.0
Sep 12 2016
0.0
Version: 1.1.4
Malwarebyte threat found: Library/Preferences/org.niltsh.MPlayerX.plist Deleted, installed again with next start.
sjk
sjk
Sep 11 2016
1.1.3
0.0
Sep 11 2016
0.0
Version: 1.1.3
PUP Friday: MPlayerX | Malwarebytes Labs https://blog.malwarebytes.com/threat-analysis/2016/09/pup-friday-mplayerx/
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
Sep 8 2016
1.1.3
1.0
Sep 8 2016
1.0
Version: 1.1.3
Realy misssing a MacSierra update for this app. Cause for now its uselesss for Sierra users.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Aug 23 2016
1.1.3
1.0
Aug 23 2016
1.0
Version: 1.1.3
With the latest version in OS X 10.11 MPlayerX still, after all these years, can't keep video and audio in sync. as in all versions since 2009 for me This on a quadcore MBP. With VLC, even on 2007 hardware, there isn't as much as a glitch with 1080p material. The performance is ridiculous.
Swampsnake
Swampsnake
Aug 6 2016
1.1.3
3.5
Aug 6 2016
3.5
Version: 1.1.3
5 stars for the app, but -1000000 for the installer. Like an idiot I let MacUpdate Destop app install this after a system reload and got the infected version. I did then get the link from Sourceforge (thanks pacocap) and downloaded from there, but now the app will run from the downloads folder but not after I've dragged it into the Apps folder?!?! Anybody any ideas? Commencing major Google session, or another reload....
Noraa
Noraa
Aug 6 2016
1.1.3
0.5
Aug 6 2016
0.5
Version: 1.1.3
The software is great, but the installer is just godawful. I would rate the software itself at 4 or 4.5 stars, the installer...a negative 1? I guess I'll compromise and give it 2.5 stars. At least you can still download the binary directly - but how many people have been duped by the installer and ended up installing all sorts of crapware.
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
Jul 11 2016
1.1.3
1.0
Jul 11 2016
1.0
Version: 1.1.3
Cant get it to work under MacOS Sierra Public Beta. So beware.
RobertBeckey58
RobertBeckey58
Jul 8 2016
1.1.3
4.0
Jul 8 2016
4.0
Version: 1.1.3
I have use MPlayerX several months and have to say it is a good player for Mac users. It is fast and designed intutive.
pacocap
pacocap
Jun 14 2016
1.1.3
1.0
Jun 14 2016
1.0
Version: 1.1.3
WARNING! This 1.8MB INSTALLER of v1.1.3 contains MALWARE! Virustotal found 15/45 malware positives:

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/c3369f10aa8e7605a55d0ba2dc46f9319c6e9d5df8643163e9428ae4130f247f/analysis/

Frankly, I find it hard to believe that this site, a major purveyor of OS X software, had not scanned this file themselves and banned it. I will never download any app from this site again without scanning it at VT.

Get the full 38.8MB ZIP file of the actual app at VideoHelp. It contains no malware:

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/d48abb4b42ecbde2ba99b6afcb0ae14cf3d5a160b758eeb3cb9c533ebe7bda58/analysis/

I found out from the VideoHelp moderator that they get the clean standalone app ZIP file from SourceForge. I downloaded it there and it is identical.
donikatz
donikatz
Jun 14 2016
1.1.3
5.0
Jun 14 2016
5.0
Version: 1.1.3
Still the best and now once again a 5* app with v.1.1.3 (pixelation fix for hardware decoding). Why is MPlayerX better than VLC? The "Keep windows on top: While playing" option.
Jorcealva
Jorcealva
Jun 14 2016
1.1.3
4.0
Jun 14 2016
4.0
Version: 1.1.3
Not bad after 1st trial. It is pretty fast and smooth even when I play 4k videos.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jun 13 2016
1.1.3
0.0
Jun 13 2016
0.0
Version: 1.1.3
The download link results in a 'Forbidden' page.

Try updating from inside MPlayerX, if you have it already. Alternatively, try the link below or :simply go to the developer page and click on through to the download.
https://mpx.codeplex.com/downloads/get/1566333

Note: What downloads from the developer site is v1.1.1. Install, then run MPlayerX and it will prompt you that new version 1.1.3 is available and will ask if you'd like to install it. Hit OK and the v1.1.3 update will install and run.
donikatz
donikatz
May 24 2016
1.1.1
5.0
May 24 2016
5.0
Version: 1.1.1
Still the best, even with the annoying seek pixelation issues in El Capitan. Why? Because of the "Keep windows on top: While playing" option. Unless VLC is eventually willing to add this essential feature, I'm sticking with MPlayerX. -1 star for the pixelation issue.
Alrescha
Alrescha
Apr 23 2016
1.1.1
0.5
Apr 23 2016
0.5
Version: 1.1.1
I will be the first to admit that I haven't been paying attention lately, so I do not know when this happened, but I downloaded the DMG directly from the developer and got an installer with "Double click the icon to start the installation wizard". My answer to all such things is "no". either I drag and drop the app or I use something else. Sure, there are some very good reasons why this will not work for some specialized apps, but a media player is not one of them. A.
A1D
A1D
Feb 15 2016
1.1.1
5.0
Feb 15 2016
5.0
Version: 1.1.1
First few words about the adware.
That is fully Macupdate responsibility, they've packed the app in the installer with added additional "features".
Unfortunately Macupdates went same slippery way as SourceForge. We all know this story...
To download clean files, you need to go to the developer's website.

Now about the MplayerX.
I have complete stopped using this app simply because of the pixelation problem.
Loved it before, switched to VLC.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jan 18 2016
1.1.1
0.0
Jan 18 2016
0.0
Version: 1.1.1
I wouldn't use it based solely on its having its controls at the top of the window.
Why should I have to run my cursor all the way through a video I'm watching to reach the controls?

If I park my cursor at the top I wouldn't need to, but that's backward from every other player I've used, so not natural.

If there's an option to change this, there should have been additional screenshots.
Smeenex
Smeenex
Dec 25 2015
1.1.1
1.0
Dec 25 2015
1.0
Version: 1.1.1
Bundled with CRAPWARE!
Caput-Draconis
Caput-Draconis
Dec 23 2015
1.1.1
5.0
Dec 23 2015
5.0
Version: 1.1.1
Using it for years now and still have it as my standard video/audio player. Amazing app and beats the new Quicktime.
MarcoB001
MarcoB001
Dec 5 2015
1.1.1
2.0
Dec 5 2015
2.0
Version: 1.1.1
I use MplayerX for a long time. One of the things I like about it, is that when you press the arrow keys it skips 10s, up or down.
This new version has some problems I really don't like. On my Mac, when you start a MPEG4 movie, the imagem has squares that after -/+10s clear up. If you use arrows to skip, that squares appear again. I installed Perian but had no effect on it.
I hate the installer with the adware.
JBX
JBX
Nov 3 2015
1.1.1
3.0
Nov 3 2015
3.0
Version: 1.1.1
Beware link on MU downloads MU installer and not the app. Also at the dev site it states v1.1.1 however the link is for 10450 and install is v1.1.0. App has old icon and not what is shown above. Something fishy here.
Woodjoe
Woodjoe
Nov 2 2015
1.1.1
5.0
Nov 2 2015
5.0
Version: 1.1.1
It was by far the best media player for OS X, it has hardware acceleration and thus it is saving battery time while VLC still doesn't use it...

BUT:
The developer is bundling adware (I would even describe it as malware) with it... so keep your hands off.
Steinar-Helgesen
Steinar-Helgesen
Oct 30 2015
1.1.1
1.0
Oct 30 2015
1.0
Version: 1.1.1
So trust or not? Installed via Macupdate.com software. Don't really like what Nilsch has done but been my player for years.
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
Oct 30 2015
1.1.1
0.0
Oct 30 2015
0.0
Version: 1.1.1
Cannot be installed
CraigC5591
CraigC5591
Oct 30 2015
1.1.1
0.5
Oct 30 2015
0.5
Version: 1.1.1
Spamware/Adware infested "installer". Avoid this version at all costs. Look for previous 1.0.22.1 which is still available as a complete download...
Yoshita
Yoshita
Aug 31 2015
1.1.0
0.0
Aug 31 2015
0.0
Version: 1.1.0
I'm really trying to understand how the developer of this excellent utility reasoned as he decided to sell it for 2€ in the AppStore, yet giving it away for free elsewhere. Oh right, and the AppStore is still at v.1.014.
anonymous-lynx-5545
anonymous-lynx-5545
Aug 16 2015
1.1.0
4.0
Aug 16 2015
4.0
Version: 1.1.0
MPlayer(X) has been my number #1 for a long time. It never disappointed me until now. Version 1.1.0 doesn't play very well some frame rates. Didn't anyone noticed yet?
idomodo
idomodo
Aug 10 2015
1.1.0
0.5
Aug 10 2015
0.5
Version: 1.1.0
The last version is fucked up. Look for "MPlayerX-1.0.22.1.zip" on google.
JohnF1664
JohnF1664
Jul 31 2015
1.1.0
4.5
Jul 31 2015
4.5
Version: 1.1.0
Works great
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Jul 25 2015
1.1.0
5.0
Jul 25 2015
5.0
Version: 1.1.0
For many years I had been using Movist, but since I upgraded to Mavericks, Movist doesn't work anymore like before. It still has more features than MPlayerX, but MPlayerX remembers last play position, which in Movist is not accurate anymore. Thank you!
JBX
JBX
Jul 19 2015
1.1.0
3.0
Jul 19 2015
3.0
Version: 1.1.0
Meh!... I want to downgrade. This new version preferences for the controller do not work. Like transparency and hide time. Lucky I have 10.0.22 on another drive.